Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo G470 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo G470

Average customer rating:
3.969 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
26 of 32(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo G470
Review 1 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JDPenn
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Poor build quality

Date:November 23, 2013
Cons: Warranty, Support, Build Quality, Durability
"This laptop worked great for a year, but then the power connector outlet broke (by normal use) and I was unable to charge my battery or use my laptop. The build quality for the power connector outlet was just terrible. The motherboard was is also glitching and automatically runs "Ctrl+f" continuously, yet Lenovo support has no explanation or help. Will never buy again!"
Review 2 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plumanegra
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Hardcore General-Purpose Laptop

Date:August 18, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance, excellent performance for an intel hd graphics crd
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, Build Quality, note: custom overclocked processor drains battery
"Not the best machine in the world, but it is the best exponent in his field.
The first time I tried it was amazing. I expected a regular performance, fast processing and no crash on common tasks. But I was surprised, the incredible graphics performance and supports advanced special effects. I absolutely recommend it to anyone looking for a excellent computer with excellent performance for playing games casually or maybe graphic design. This machine supports existing software without problems.
My computer settings:
Core i5 2450m 2.5 GHz
4 GB DDR3 RAM
500 GB HDD
Intel HD Graphics 3000
Windows Minimum value: 4.7
Processor value: 7.0
Memory value: 7.1
Graphics memory value: 6.2
Excelent mark for a casual computer"
Review 3 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fabby
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good value for money laptop

Date:June 12, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, keyboard sunken design
Cons: Warranty, Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, dvd ram drive seems to contain virus, speakers seem to be receiving some noise channels, metalplate shortcircuit when 2nd video port hooked
"Great value for money, all required features including a graphics accelerator, great keyboard sunken design that allows one to optimize space permitting the placement of a book on top of it and doubling as a file-holder with the monitor as back-support. Only real complain is the battery power which really only stretches 2+ hours which is adequate for home use (watch tv while using it at sofa) or presentation use but no sufficient for outdoor use. However the DVD Ram drive seems to contain a virus vibrating according to a rhythm pre-programmed by someone and the speakers seems to be connected to some illegal proprietory channels with people mixing irritating sounds of other people into whatever music/sounds your DVD plays like someone having to go through a unnecessary "middleman" channel."
Review 4 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ankur
Owned Product:13-18 months

UNRESPONSIVE!

Date:April 18, 2013
"I have a lenovo i3-2330CPU @2.2GHz
2GB ram
Windows 7 64 bit.
From Day 1 my laptop has benn very slow and extremely unresponsive.
It tales me 3-5 mins to close all the programs before i could shut down.
I tried to recover/reinstall thewindows and drivers, but still the same.
Is there any solution to it at all?"
Review 5 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
juned
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

a laptop for daily use

Date:February 12, 2013
""amazing super fast laptop i like it""
Review 6 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
fahmi
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:2 GB

standard performance, low price

Date:December 21, 2012
"nice price for this product, with standard performance we get low price.. if we can manage and setting some software running with this product, then we got some best performance"
Review 7 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Martin
Location:Toluca, México
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Fancy, reliable, cheap, powerful

Date:August 1, 2012
Pros: Weight, Software compatibility, Wireless card, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Input/Output compatibility
"I´ve bought my lenovo last month, I hadn´t a big budget, so I bought the g470 with pentium dual-core, actualy I was a little afraid about the capacities of the machine, but I´m very impressed of the quality of the computer, first, I loved the design it´s simple and elegant, the laptop it´s very fast, the pre-charged software of Lenovo adds lots of useful characteristics to the product.
The laptop runs the same way that others with a higher price and supports all of the tipical activities of an enginnering student, since text processor until CAD
It has a very comfortable keyboard, also, the wireless is one of the strongest I´ve ever seen, it´s a very impressive machine.
"
Review 8 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Javad
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

All features are good but the battery

Date:July 26, 2012
Pros: Display resolution, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Screen size, Battery
"I bought a G470 Core-I5 10 months ago. I runs very well and I was satisfied with my purchase till today that the battery suddenly stopped working. Battery life before dying was good. I wish the warranty include the battery."
Review 9 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enan
Location:Philippines
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2 GB

Best Laptop I owned

Date:July 19, 2012
"Never I ever have such a laptop computer that boots quickly. Within 10 sec you can start your work. Love the features and the video. Use it to communicate with my family in the Philippines and I'm so proud to show it to my friends. 2 years ago I brought this ACER and it always gets hot specially when playing games and chatting with my wife. With Lenovo G470 you have everything you wanted in a laptop computer. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR OFW'S."
Review 10 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
niko92
Location:Tacoma, WA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:2.5 GB

School Recommended

Date:July 7, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Screen size, Battery
"As a college studentm it was hard for me to find a computer that would cater to my needs, especially when it came to reliability and efficiency. The G470 was easy to manage, school work wasn't a problem to organize on the desktop or the on hardware files. I also found the graphics to be entertaining and innovative so that I am not looking at some dull screen saver.
The exterior design was nothing to fancy but worked well with mainting a professional look with my internships and etc. The various features within the computer such as the comfortable keyboard, as well as the easy-to-handle keyboard mouse made buying the G470 that much worth it. I have had this computer for about 6 months and it has been very reliable in keeping up with school work, my job and even other activities such as watching movies and playing games."
Review 11 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thusitha

Great value for the price

Date:July 2, 2012
"I purchased this laptop before few weeks and this satisfies my all pc needs quite well and I'm happy with it. And the other thing is the affordable price that lenovo offered to this Lap.
With ATI Radeon HD 6370 I can even play modern games with much more easily.This lap is quite cooler when comparing to the other branded laptops like Hp or Dell.
And also the Lenovo enhanced experience 2.0 serve me well when starting up the PC.It only takes from 35 - 40 seconds to boot up the machine after installed about 120 applications on it.I do my all University stuffs and 3D modeling stuffs with this laptop very easily.
The 14 inches screen great for mobility and very easy to carry any where.
Overall I would recommend this laptop for anyone who would looking for a great piece of laptop for a relatively cheap price with great service.
"
Review 12 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
suburbanite

Pretty Good

Date:June 7, 2012
"CONS
Slow HDD bottlenecks the machine’s performance which is otherwise good with its i5-2450m and 1333mhz RAM.
My machine came with a lot of bloatware including not only the usual antivirus SW but also “oovoo” and other SW which seems redundant or unnecessary.
Lots of processes running in the background due to the bloatware.
Glossy top gets hairline scratches extremely easily. And I mean extremely easily. This glossy plastic feels like the weakest part of the chassis and should’ve been passed over in favor of a matte plastic that is a bit more robust, even if at the cost of a little more weight.
I've had a bluescreen already which I think was due to the Lenovo power management SW, though it resolved quickly
I think the Lenovo power management software adds little to the oem MS power management SW- do a search for “power options”. I’m contemplating removing it and/or doing a clean Windows 7 install.
No dedicated volume control buttons. Even my lame, ancient Lenovo G530 had those.
PROS
The keyboard is excellent and is the reason why I got a Lenovo. If you’re considering a Lenovo, find a store that has the new Accutype keyboard and you won’t want to get anything else. I tried typing on Sony, HP, and Toshiba keyboards and their flat, featureless keys didn’t compare to those of a Lenovo. Even if this is Lenovo’s only advantage, it’s certainly a significant one.
Strong processor which can turbo boost to 3.1Ghz or can be underclocked with both Lenovo’s power management SW and the MS Power Options’ utility- choose “Power Saver”.
Screen size and overall width and length of the machine are just about perfect. You don’t carry around the awkward bulk of a 15.4”+ notebook but you still get a fairly big screen and keyboard. It’s easy to slide into and out of a shoulder bag sized for 15.4” machines.
User-serviceable. Unlike with an ultrabook or probably any Mac, you can access the CPU, RAM, HDD, etc. You can even replace the ODD with a SSD/HDD if you want via a drive caddy from NewModeUS or similar.
Overall good fit and finish with little chassis flex. Could be both better and worse. Brushed aluminum palm rest feels good.
Clear audio. Both my old Lenovo G530 and my present Lenovo K330 have noisy onboard soundcards, as evidenced by the hissing background noise they pick up with no track is playing. For whatever reason, my G470 doesn’t have this problem and I can listen to lossless music via my Sennheiser HD 25-1 ii’s straight through the G470’s 3.5mm headphone port. No external soundcard necessary.
CONCLUSION
Though I wish I had waited for the G480, I think this machine was worth it for me. It’s just about the right size for someone who doesn’t want a full-size machine but wants a big-enough display and keyboard, the latter being nothing short of excellent. Its build quality is good and its performance is good even with this slow HDD. Of course a SSD would make it downright quick though I think a clean install of Windows would likely make a difference in both performance and battery life. The icing on the cake for this machine is the clear audio through its 3.5mm headphone port.
"
Review 13 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sarah

Best Budget Laptop =)

Date:May 29, 2012
"I just bought mine yesterday. I had around $450 budget and I was actually planning to buy a netbook. The netbook I liked was sold out so I got this one. This is actually a good buy for its price. Like the storelady said, it has everything!
I bought the one with the celeron processor since I only need it for web browsing and skype, so just basic computing. It is fast for said usage. Mine boots in 2 minutes. I am very happy with that. =)
The design is simple, so that qualifies as elegant-looking for me. Typing on the keyboard was great, and for a touch-typist I am impressed. The touchpad also didn't feel cheap. I felt it was sturdy.
However, I had an issue earlier with turning on the wifi. I had already turned the switch in front but it still wasn't detecting wireless networks. Good thing is Lenovo has great customer support. I got help from chat support quickly and the problem was fixed immediately. No need to return ;)
I am also happy with the battery life. It's good for around 6 hours, or 3 hours with wifi turned on. It took about 2.5 hours to charge.
The only thing I didn't like was the webcam. It doesn't have good image. The image looked very dim despite adjusting settings.
And compared to a netbook, it is of course heavier. I carried mine separately from my shoulder bag because it was heavy! Carrying it alone is ok though.
Using the laptop it can also get a little hot. But not hot that it will burn you when you touch it. Just a little warm, harmless kind of warm.
Overall, I am very happy with my Lenovo and I would recommend it to everyone."
Review 14 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KittyKat

Great value and keyboard

Date:April 20, 2012
"I got the G470 in December and in the 4 months I've had it, I've been very satisfied. One reason I got it was the new Lenovo keyboard design with the BIG letters and symbols. Very easy to see and use and much better than my Samsung. Not having the "Chicklet" suspended keys like Acers makes it much easier to keep clean. It does get a little warm on the left side when on for long periods, but not a leg burner like my Macbook Pro was. Speakers are typically sub par but adequate for anything but music for long periods. Only complaint is rather low volume even when turned up all the way. Battery life is also better than the Samsung at about 4-5 hours (no gaming) before the warning at 7%. As for the black ribbed plastic case showing fingerprints, I can only say to everyone: WASH YOUR HANDS MORE OFTEN !!! I live in Thailand and got my G470 for a really decent price compared to other brands. This was the best value in a 14" laptop. I hesitated buying a Lenovo because I'd heard that warranty service can be very frustrating. Hopefully, I'll never find out. I would recommend this model to anyone looking for a basic, decent, lightweight laptop at a very affordable price. I only wish it was available in other colors."
Review 15 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tundra

Great laptop!

Date:April 19, 2012
"Ok, first I am no computer expert at all so take this review with a grain of salt.
Bought the G470 about 8 months ago and so far it has been a great laptop. I have had a Sony Vaio and a Dell laptop and both of those were not very good laptops.
This Lenovo has been good as advertised.
Plenty of power and speed and boots up very fast. I have the i5 processor, 8 GB's of memory and 750 hard drive. I have banged it around a little and hasn't even flinched.
I'm using it for school (obtaining my Master's) and work and the laptop just performs.
Been very happy so far and I'm about to buy a 13.3 in Lenovo for the wife for her job/home."
Review 16 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alex

Not perfect, but pretty good.

Date:April 10, 2012
"Just bought the G470, and after a weekend's worth of use I'm fairly pleased.
Every action is smooth and responsive. It's light and comfortable for lap use, with a good battery life. I had to work with the resolution a bit to get HDMI to work properly, but that's probably just the TV I'm using.
While most features work well, I do have a few complaints.
I'm not sure what material the body is made out of, but it attracts fingerprints and skin oils like crazy.
I paid for the 750 GB hard drive, but its actual capacity is only 654 GB. Really? I understand the need to lose a few gigs for formatting or whatever, but almost a hundred? Pretty disappointing. You can do better, Lenovo (or whoever manufactures the HDs)"
Review 17 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hong

All ways my first chose

Date:February 22, 2012
"All my laptop are lenovo,but I like IBM name better"
Review 18 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
janitha

Good one

Date:February 22, 2012
"I really like Lenovo G470 I recently bought and it is worthy for the price. Only drawback in Lenovo products I see is they charge to send a person to repair a defect during the warranty period also. Other than that, I recommend Lenovo for anyone."
Review 19 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drjay
Location:Boca Raton, FL
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Bang for the Buck!

Date:January 12, 2012
Pros: Weight, Processor, Security Features, Support, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, purchase value
Cons: Battery
"The G470 has proven to be a great asset for my work and private use. I am extremely satisfied with the computers sleek look and excellent performance. It's a pleasure placing it in my lap and not "burning" myself from the heat that other laptops emit. I couldn't be happier to get such a high quality product, especially at a reasonable price. Lenovo has earned a loyal customer!"
Review 20 for Lenovo G470
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FIRSTCHORD
Location:PHUKET THAILAND
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB

lenovo g470 the best value

Date:January 12, 2012
Pros: Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, price
Cons: Weight
"pro's: i got it for only $350 usd - Lenovo g470 color view screen is good, can be up grade to 4gb ram - & 500 Hdd - the casing is fair, looks durable.
con's: regarding veriface ther are times when i activate/open my lenovog470, it just open w/out veriface logon even if veriface is active.
note: indoors :to make ur battery life longer take it out if u use only elec.plug in
so ur battery well last more longer'
overall LENOVO IS ONE OF THE BEST NOTEBOOK!!!"