Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Z470 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Z470

Futuristic design and mobile multimedia in a 14" laptop.

Average customer rating:
3.961 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
18 of 26(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Z470
Review 1 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nimz
Location:NY
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not reliable

Date:January 24, 2012
Pros: Storage
Cons: Memory, Processor
"The ideapad Z470 is not a reliable laptop... I got one and found over-heating problem due to the excessive functioning of CPU and RAM... So I had a replacement and the new was the exact replicate of the old one with the same problem
The laptop is not recommended !!"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
janec
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

im inlove with it

Date:November 25, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Battery
"i've been using it for 9 months now and its still good as new.. i use it to play games such as Dota 2 and its amazing.. would recommend this to girls who wants stylish kind of lappy.. it may overheat in long hours of usage and may automatically shutdown so my advice for the users is to remove the battery when using it too long and just plug the charger.. :)"
Review 3 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kripik3890
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Broken before a year

Date:September 23, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Support, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Warranty, Support, Battery, Bluetooth, Security Features, Included Software, Build Quality, Durability, casing
"Overall the performance really good. I played some games like COD, Battlefield, The Sims etc works perfectly. But later after 11 months brought it, the casing is broken. Everytime i open the LCD, i need to be super extra careful because its getting worst everytime i open & close the lid. REALLY POOR! The case from the plastic is really bad idea. Some parts also broken without any reasonable reasons."
Review 4 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fazal
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:3.5 GB

I notice some unusual noise near the fan

Date:July 16, 2013
"Just bought my ideapad z47- laptop 5 days ago, and I notice some unusual noise near the fan.It sounds like scratching or something but its not that loud. I don't know, is it somehow related to updating my chipset drivers? Because I updated my chipset drivers recently but I already rolled it back to the last previous driver since Im encountering this unusual noise. Do you guys have any idea? Is it the fan or hard disk? Is it only a dust in the fan or an existing issue? Is my laptop ok? Thanks guys."
Review 5 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LuckyBoyFM
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

The best Laptop i ever have!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:February 1, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
"I recommend this laptop to everyone especially for gamers cause it has the best performnce that could a laptop ever had so i recommend this thing"
Review 6 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Starwars
Location:Thailand
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Serious Performance issues

Date:November 1, 2012
Cons: Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Display performance, lousy performance
"Pl. suggest performance improvement tips as such i bought z470 lenova i7 core with 8gb ram and 750 gb hdd..with all this high end tech specs..i have serious problems with
>> launching s/w like MS Word or Excel or any software for that matter..the mouse goes into the spinning mode of launching..which is ridiculous like when i launch the windows explorer..the green highlight bar moves like a snail on the top bar..
>> Sleep mode - when the laptop goes into sleep or when the laptop is idle for sometime it goes into auto sleep and when i on it or revive it then it takes not less than 1-2 mins sometimes 3-4 mins to enable me to work on it..
any tips or changes in the o/s level or anything pl. publish your thoughts..it will helpful..
BTW- when i bought this in Singapore the machine did not even boot up till 5-8 mins and they agreed to exchange the laptop for a new z470 within 1 day..bought at Harvey Norman Funan center singapore..
Agreed most of you have given a good review but i am one unfortunate guy with a lousy piece and its frustrating that with such high end specs i cant launch few applications with good performance..
appreciate your tips and points to improve the performance.. Cheers (::"
Review 7 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
student
Location:canton ny
Owned Product:Just got it

yucky touchpad/clicker

Date:July 23, 2012
"just got this and its pretty nice, lightweight and runs fast, but the mouse pad and click bar are very hard to use you have to press hard and keep pressing hard to scroll down a page or drag something, also the geometric triangle thing on the back stands out alot more than in the picture and looks a bit silly"
Review 8 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adriano

Excelent Perfomance !!

Date:June 20, 2012
"The Lenovo Z470 Laptop have an incredible perfomance. I 'll recomend it to all my friends. I'm very happy to have bought this laptop. The features and perfomance are amazing!. Simply a great laptop."
Review 9 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
arjay

Good performance

Date:May 24, 2012
"i got this portable and I can say that I'm very satisfied with the performance (Gaming, Office, and browsing). I'm not sure why others complaining about overheating. Like they said use common sense don't block the vents to allow cool air to go in. Install the thermal control software and set it too cool if you're having problems with heat. "common sense".
BTW, get a netbook if you don't want a hot portable. This laptop is installed with i5/i7 chips known to get hot... well because of its performance."
Review 10 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Aniruddha

Overheating and low battery

Date:May 4, 2012
"I have purchased this a month ago. 8 GB RAM and i5 processor. But, it overheats with a simple gaming application like Angry Birds. Internal Temperature goes as high as 95 deg C. I tried keeping it flat surface as suggested but didn't help. You can not keep it on lap.
It is in turn affecting battery life and get discharged within few minutes.
Disappointed."
Review 11 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mitch

Lenovo is in a league of its own

Date:April 21, 2012
"Great laptop and reliable. You must keep the vents free to keep it cool. That means do not use it directly on a bed. If you do, be sure to have it on a flat surface...use common sense!"
Review 12 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Adder

Z470 Crashes when picked up

Date:April 18, 2012
"I got this product for my wife in Dec '12. It has worked well for 4 months, but recently whenever we pick it up with one hand on the left side next to the trackpad, we get a blue screen of death. The only remarkable thing about this experience has been that I haven't seen a blue screen of death in a Long time, so that brought back some !fond memories of losing college term papers.
I chalk our experience up to poor construction. I'll be working with customer support to fix it... but I shouldn't have to."
Review 13 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mari

Looks nice but it is too noisy and gets extra hot

Date:April 12, 2012
"I was very excited when I got my laptop, but it is so noisy and it gets too hot even when it is set to cool. Because it gets so hot, it shutts down frequently. I don't know if I was just unlucky with my laptop or all Idea Pads Z470 are like this."
Review 14 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GermainOU

Best option!!

Date:March 10, 2012
"I chose Lenovo Idea Pad because I have had good previous experiences with ThinkPad products. Now I was looking for something for personal use, while thinkpad are good for business. The Ideapad has everything I need and good performance over all applications.
People won't be dissappointed with an IdeaPad Z470
"
Review 15 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DarkWingz

LENOVO NOTEBOOK 14.1" Z470 PINK

Date:March 2, 2012
"Awesome Notebook got it for my wife she loves it!The14.1" LED DISPLAY is just big enough without being in the way when she is lying on the bed Chatting to here Facebook friends or looking up an Recipe or 2 using the WiFi And it looks great in Pink what more does the Lady`s need :)"
Review 16 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
konglong
Location:Singapore
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

1st lenovo ever

Date:February 3, 2012
Pros: Weight, Build Quality, Battery, Processor, Storage
Cons: Memory, Screen size
"this is my first lenovo notebook and so far i'm pretty satisfied with it. i'm a gamer and so far this notebook has exceeded my expectations. it can be compared to more expensive brands such as dell's alienware but in terms of pricing, this notebook wins hands down. however i feel that lenovo should have thrown in a HDD with 7200rpm instead of the standard 5400rpm as that would increase the loading speed. overall i would still say that this a fantastic notebook and definitely worth buying."
Review 17 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
coldspring
Location:Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good all rounder notebook

Date:January 3, 2012
Pros: Video card, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: webcam low res
"Bought the Ideapad Z470 for my son. The Z looks better than the G series, although the black color cover is a fingerprint magnet. The form factor is also just right, not too heavy and large to be portable, yet usable screen size.
The local dealer provided us with a free RAM upgrade to 8GB and we got the spec of Core i5 2.3 GHz processor, 750GB hard disk and most importantly, nVidia GT540M graphics. My son was skeptical at first, but after installing Skyrim and running it at medium settings, he's convinced it will work for him.
The left side of the Z470 does get a little hot when playing games, but no hangs so far and the large vent is doing its job of cooling the notebook.
Everything works well in our configuration and the only small disappointment is that webcam is only 0.3 megapixel (640x480 resolution). Lenovo should increase to 2 megapixels to be more competitive.
After first charge, battery lasts for above 3 hours.
Highly recommended."
Review 18 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mike
Location:Manila
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

good product

Date:December 21, 2011
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Video card
"im into gaming that's why i bought this laptop first because of its good value with high specs, compare to others with the same feature but so much expensive, im using this for only less than a month, just worried about the video card nvdia 1gb cuda, one time it was not detected but the laptop still runs, gaming good wise."
Review 19 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
vicky
Location:bangalore
Owned Product:7-12 months

laptop

Date:December 3, 2011
"its quite fantastic....brought it for my office use....great performance"
Review 20 for IdeaPad Z470
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WarningU2
Location:Burlington, ON
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium

Very Pleased

Date:November 30, 2011
"Bought this for my wife for Xmas ... fired it up to make sure it would work (connect to the network etc). Very impressed and pleased with my purchase thus far. Laptop configured with no issues, reboots quickly and seems very responsive when using ... Windows 7 is a new to me so that took a bit of digging. My only disappointment ... there doesn't appear to be any manual or documentation on the machine included in the box."