Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Tablet 2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad Tablet 2

Average customer rating:
3.286 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
12
28 of 49(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Tablet 2
Review 1 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cal808
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:1.5 GB

exactly what I was looking for!!!!!

Date:April 14, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
"I had purchase the Surface, and it was very disappointing. So I returned it, and found the Thinkpad Tablet two!! I purchase the tablet, keyboard and the case to carry it all!!!! This tablet does everything I need it to do. I use it mainly for work, having the ability to use full office is what drew me to this tablet. I've ran word, excel, and power point with no problems. I even use it to due my Monday briefs!!! The key board works perfectly!!! linking it to the tablet is so simple!!! The price is a little more than whats out there but this is a Thinkpad!!! I have no issues when surfing the web!!! The Pad is very small but very powerfull!!! Love it!! Even the pen works perfectly!!! not one regret!!!!"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mehta
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB

New Era

Date:April 15, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage
"Its new era of technology"
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User
Owned Product:Less than a month

Tablet and DVD burner

Date:January 19, 2013
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Display performance
Cons: Included Software, Software compatibility
"I like the Lenovo - it is fast and easy to use.
However, I just found out the DVD burner I ordered to use with the tablet runs with windows 7, but isn't compatible with windows 8 on the tablet.
The first customer service rep I talked to spent an hour setting up my case number, then was no help at all. Second rep was excellent and did good trouble shooting."
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Flytier

Getting Better

Date:July 23, 2014
"I rated this very poorly a few months ago. Well, since then, I have had two boards replaced, BIOS replaced, rear camera replaced and software issues remedied. I think it's where it's supposed to be now and seems to work well. So, given the issues I have had and other reviews, I conclude there was poor quality processes in place for the production of these machines. The lucky ones got a very nice machine. The unlucky ones got an expensive paperweight. As others have said, not what is expected of ThinkPad products which I have come to depend on for high quality machines. So, I have raised my reviews of the tablet but it's taken almost a year to make it work well enough to give modest ratings. I noticed that this tablet is not for sale any longer. Not surprised."
Review 5 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lothos710

Redemption for Windows 8

Date:June 24, 2014
"I have never liked Windows 8 I have always said it would be great as a tablet Software but nothing more, I have never touched a surface tablet so I never experienced windows 8 on a touch screen capable device, however I will lighten up on windows 8 being total Junk. and Microsoft can accept this review thanks to my ThinkPad Tablet 2, I am 100% satisfied with my tablet, and about 89 % happy with windows 8, the OS is missing features but the tablet works and responds great, Thanks Lenovo"
Review 6 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Thomas

Poor reliability

Date:June 8, 2014
"In a school environment we were equipped with these laptops. Everyone ran into problems daily with these tablet 2's. I lost files using this laptop that were vital to my grade and often people ran into problems with the laptop connecting to the keyboard. The charging port was weak and I ran into problems with it. (such as the pins in it bending out of shape) I am in tech support and me, as well as other people had blue screens. All in all for a basic tablet this MAYBE would work but I'm genuinely surprised at the quality of this tablet especially coming from Lenovo."
Review 7 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MrSeniorGeek

Disappointed with this tablet

Date:June 4, 2014
"Have had a history of blue-screens, I think perhaps from immature drivers because my Windows 8 desktops do not bluescreen. Also needs to be reboot often because Windows pushes out updates frequently that require reboots. That means often waiting on it to download, update, and reboot far more often than with Android or iPad tables. (I have one of each)
Ordered one for personal use and stopped using it for lack of good touch apps and awkward use as an ultrabook / notebook replacement for desktop apps. Also ordered one to try out at a client, and after 15 months it will not power on.
Some fault is with Windows 8, and some with Lenovo. Bottom line, less than 1 and ½ years later neither of these two ThinkPad Tablet 2’s are being used. I wouldn't recommend this tablet."
Review 8 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hardtoplease

Thinkpad 2 Keyboard

Date:June 3, 2014
"This is for those who complain that the keyboard is not attached. Consider the flexibility of connecting your tablet to a screen (of any size) and being able to type and use the cursor from bed or across the room. The TPT2 design remains unmatched in tabletdom. I've owned one for a year and haven't seen a tablet that rivals it."
Review 9 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
reagan01

Poor performance

Date:June 2, 2014
"Slow response. Took several reboots to get the tablet configured."
Review 10 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Barrytoons

Don't waste your money

Date:May 15, 2014
"Got it for Christmas this past year so have had it about 5 months now.
Expensive, does not deliver on promises. Slow, freezes frequently, hard to navigate, poor resolution.
Our iPad blows it away.
Poor purchase on my part."
Review 11 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tella

My first tablet

Date:May 7, 2014
"This is my first tablet purchased, before buying I considered and compared to and Apple tablet then I find out that this tablet will work as a pretty much like computer laptop or desk top, excellent productive item, I add many future and the work very well, I have reduced the use of my desk top about 50% , with the tablet I am able to check and work any where not just stock on my desk chair. The only objection I have is the keyboard how easy is knocked off the tablet stand should be a little more security attachment. Recommend 100 % and enjoy."
Review 12 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mjsDisappointed

Incredibly disappointing tablet

Date:April 22, 2014
"We bought 3 of these for business use.
At best they had pretty average responsiveness, but regularly froze for extended periods, rendering them useless within a working environment.
Analysis showed minimal processes running at the time.
Battery life is ok, nothing special, but not actually bad.
It does look the part, but you would expect that of almost any tab, and if the extent of your usage is a bit of internet browsing, you might be ok, however it is hard to imagine a more underpowered, frustrating machine.
We have had to shelve them and buy other units as they couldnt perform the job required, which was to run one single, very low requirement app."
Review 13 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JTeague

Loved it when tested but not sure now.

Date:April 4, 2014
"We have purchased 31 of the Thinkpad Tablet2 with the AT&T LTE built in. Docking stations and the keyboard and case listed in accessories. Of the initial 31 purchased 4 went back for repairs before they could even be configured. Five more after introduced to the field for other mechanical or build defects
So one third of the units were of poor build quality."
Review 14 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ZOONY
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8

not happy

Date:March 29, 2014
"Slow and clunky with windows 8 software
why do some models come without a stylus it makes no sense
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
naddy69
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Memory:2 GB

Great Win 8.1 tablet

Date:March 23, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Included software, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"Why do people write a review for an obviously defective product? All of the bad reviews here are defective. Hello? Return it and get one that works. I am currently watching March Madness hoops on mine with the March Madness Live app. I have installed some desktop stuff too. Lots of good apps in the store. A full Windows computer in your hand is incredible. These things blow an Iwhatever out of the water.
No cons that I can see. Seriously, I don't know what people are complaining about."
Review 16 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CrochetTat
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Not as expected

Date:March 14, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight
"I thought this would be a great replacement for my desktop, and portable. I could never get the digitizer pen to work. I read the directions and did the calibration which only froze the tablet so I had to reboot it. It won't do some wi-fi things because it says my modem is too slow which it is not. I have not used Netflix since it won't download the app, and I have tried other things but can only do email and solitare. Too expensive for so little usage, and not at all what the Lenovo specialist led me to believe via chat.
Save your money for a laptop, or Kindle or iPad instead...they cost less than this tablet.
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Augustine
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Poor aftersales service and poor Quality Product

Date:February 18, 2014
"Just waste of Money.. Please do not bother buying. you will waste your money."
Review 18 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hb861
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Memory:2 GB

great tablet, useless keyboard dock

Date:January 16, 2014
Pros: Weight, Build Quality
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"only buy this as a tablet. the keyboard bluetooth dock is horrible to use as you can only use on a flat hard surface. Do get the dock with hdmi and bluetooth mouse. i need a tablet/laptop for work not a pure tablet so will return thisnand get a yoga."
Review 19 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jonny
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Memory:2 GB

Truly the best tablet for work

Date:December 30, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
"The Thinkpad Tablet 2 is simply a hand-held computer that's perfect for MS Office and any legacy programs one might use for business. Legacy programs can be easily loaded via download or by using the optional dock and a USB DVD/CD drive. The optional keyboard really makes getting work done on the tablet much easier. Slipping the tablet into the optional sleeve automatically puts the tablet to sleep and wakes it upon the tablet's removal. For its size, form factor, features and options - the Thinkpad Tablet 2 was my first choice for tablet computing."
Review 20 for ThinkPad Tablet 2
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SanForza
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Memory:2 GB

Still impressed a year later

Date:December 11, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, pressure sensitive pen
"I purchased my tablet through Lenovo and have been using it for a year come Jan. 14. I purchased it for architecture and designing, using Autodesk Sketchbook Pro. So far, I'm very impressed with the capabilities of the tablet.
The stylus is very responsive and works greats with Sketchbook Pro. Pressure sensitivity is everything. There is a button on the side to act as a right click. A restart can solve any unresponsiveness.
The usb port is very useful, but won't support devices that require a powered port. The battery is slow to charge but lasts 10 hrs. The disk space is good and is easily expandable. Overall I'm very pleased with the tablet and the update to Windows 8.1 was excellent."