Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E431

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E431

Average customer rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
18 of 27(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E431
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

amazing laptop, however...

Date:March 20, 2015
" the laptop is one of the best on the market. fast quick easy to upgrade. thinkpad models have good support. however... the plastic casing on the laptop specifically by the fan is extremely cheap and bad. it has started cracking off piece by piece. regarding the trackpad, it works extremely fast and is great! but, takes like a month to get used to it - then amazing. i would buy again! "
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE

Date:December 24, 2014
" I AM USING THIS LAPTOP FROM THREE MONTHS AND IT HAS HIGHLY IMPRESSED ME. I THINK
I SPENT MY MONEY IN A RIGHT PLACE. THE SPEED, SECURITY FEATURES, DISPLAY, LOOK,
BATTERY LIFE EVERYTHING IS FABULOUS. THIS IS MY SECOND PURCHASE OF A LENOVO PRODUCT AND I COULD SAY THAT IT HAS HIGHLY IMPRESSED ME.
MARVELLOUS PRODUCT INDEED.
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Great performance wraped in a cheap plastic casing

Date:November 30, 2014
" I have had this computer for 1.5 years. I bought it in Aug 2013 it's now Nov 30 2014. I waited to review this product because I wanted to spend a lot of time with it as I find those who review a product a few days, weeks or even months after purchase are still in the honeymoon phase and are not objective.
Mine is a windows 7 I5 3210 processor. For everyday use it's amazing. My wife is a teacher and does a lot of power point,, word processing and it's great for that. I stream a lot of video and download music and it's great for that as well. This is the fastest computer we have ever had, but that's were all the good ends. I hate the track pad so much that I bough ta mouse. The usb connections are loose, the plastic bezel around the screen cracked and finally broke in the upper left corner.
All in all I love the guts of this computer but hate the build quality, if I had to do it again I would have bought a different brand with the same internals.
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best product for daily usage

Date:September 13, 2014
" Provide better solutions as having long battery life.
less heats generated, less warming of laptop,
you can work for long time without affecting its performance. Best keyboard love to work with, portable and easy to carry.
As I am Using it for last 1 year average 12 hours a Day. I am 200% Satisfied.
Go ahead, and try the laptop "
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Dont't buy, poor reliability

Date:September 7, 2014
" I bought this laptop and it is having reliability issues.
Trackpad goes crazy (cursor moves by its own, I can't control is using external mouse or trackpad etc), keyboard gets stuck, camera gets stuck. These happens frequently and machine recovers from failure mode automatically after 30 min or so.
Worst part is, have updated all driver and software etc. I also sent the machine to Lenovo for service once. 1 month after service, alll issues appeared again on the laptop.
Definitely never buy. Waste of money! "
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Arun

Never used worst mouse(track) pad ever before

Date:August 11, 2014
" I have used think pad (IBM) starting from around 2000. In between changes to too many brands and model. But i never used Desk top, rather used only laptops.
After seen the spec - Lenovo E 431, i have preferred to use this one, but never experienced mouse (track) pad such worst ever before..
Its too much complicated to use and never user friendly.
I have informed our IT dept to replace the system immediately with other brands... "
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Naveed

Cam is pathetic

Date:July 28, 2014
" I will not recommend this laptop its cam is pathetic and always got stuck with Skype after 5 minutes call tried a lot other than that is fair enough but I'll not recommend it. Not satisfied with machine. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lama

Excellent Buy!

Date:June 7, 2014
" My ThinkPad has been pleasantly fast and reliable.
This is my first ThinkPad and have recommended to family and friends. It does everything I need it to do and much more.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PLLen

Worst Trackpad ever!

Date:June 1, 2014
" This computer carries the worst trackpad we have ever used! You absolutely need an external mouse if you really want to use it.
Also hooking it up to an Airport Extreme seems to be useless even after updating to the latest drivers.
Made our company want to switch to Mac. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JMB100C

had to be repaired from scratch 2x in <5 months

Date:April 8, 2014
" This has been a terrible computer for me. I had to send it back for complete operating system replacement within 6 days of getting the machine and now I need to send it back again to get the operating system replaced again because the battery is getting a poor rating and the Lenovo technicians have no clue what to do about it. I only got the machine in December. And it's not that great even when it's "working". Be very cautious about this product and this company "
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AnonnymousJ
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium

Superb Keyboard & Frustrating Mouse

Date:March 29, 2014
Pros: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, fast accurate keys
Cons: Screen size, mouse
" I purchased this laptop solely because the keyboard is amazing. I am a writer and I can type SO FAST on this without even thinking about it. If you write - buy a Lenovo with the Accutype keys.
The MAJOR con is that the mousepad right-click is often unresponsive. I can't even use the nice red trackball because the right-click doesn't register when I use it (and yes I have played with the settings). It's very frustrating to have to right-click in a very specific way, or a few times to get it to register!! I will have to purchase an external mouse to do editing!
Keys are made VERY cheaply. The keys are already worn off where I type &I've only had the computer for a few months. (My T41 took about 4 years to wear down). "
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobn
Owned Product:Just got it

Must buy

Date:March 16, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Security Features, Memory
" Touch screen and finger scanner "
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MyNameIsEarl
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Hate the touchpad/mouseclicker

Date:January 22, 2014
Cons: combination touchpad/mouse clicker
" I have always used thinkpads which is why I purchased this one. I have been extremely unhappy with the combination touchpad/clicker. It only works about half the time- I click and nothing happens. If I had it to do over again, I would not buy this laptop for that reason. It makes me angry every time I use it. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
buon
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

More and less what I expected

Date:December 12, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Display resolution, Display performance
" I knew that e431 is not a perfect one but anyway I decided to buy it. The bigest concern was about touchpad which actually is not that bad... (but only when you tapping instead of using buttons which might be quite annoying). I have the version with 8gb, i5 and ssd what makes very fast for normal user.
I would recomend buy it with HD+ cause I have the 1366x786 which is not perfect... Anyway the screen is the major cons in my opinion.
Overall I'm happy with my laptop and I would recommend. But if you won't to edit pictures ect then go for something else. It doesn't have a right screen for that kind of stuff.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Komo
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Best low-cost "business-like" laptop

Date:November 30, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
Cons: Display resolution, Display performance
" After i read a tons of reviews all over the internet i was really worried about touchpad and battery life.
Touchpad is big and sensitive just enough.
Battery: if you want to buy this system i recommend you to pay 10$ extra for 62Wh battery. It's only 10 bucks and my battery life is about 4-8 hours (depend on using. 8+hrs w/ wifi-off, screen on 50 perc or less)
There are 2 things that i'm not happy about:
Display: i don't mind low-resolution. It's just fine for me. Matte finish is also great but viewing angles are just terrible and sometimes i see kind of "flickering" on the screen.
Keyboard mount: right-bottom corner of keyboard is noisy when using right arrow. Probably just need more tight.
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pavel
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great machine except battery

Date:November 19, 2013
Pros: Processor, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
Cons: Battery, Weight
" I have this machine about 12 months and it has been excellent, performance is perfect. I added extra RAM and upgraded my hdd with Seagate 1TB and the machine is excellent for video cutting or Lightroom 5 RAW photo editing. The only issue I have is with the battery, it had to be replaced after 5 months and now just 2 weeks after warranty the replaced battery reads only 41% of its capacity after 85 charging cycles. After calling with Lenovo, I will have to pay for that - that is why I rated 4 stars "
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ggoal
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Money Well Spent

Date:November 13, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, touch screen
Cons: touch pad
" I got the touchscreen version of this laptop ,which helps when you get frustrated with the touch pad, very fun to use with windows 8. I chose 8 Gb of memory, the hd+ display, and the 62 WH battery. While the extra memory isn't needed I'm glad I added it. The screen is pretty good for watching videos. The extra battery life is definitely something you might want to get or just buy an extra battery to take with you. overall great product surprised by the processing speed and the great sound, for a laptop, produced by the speakers. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pazo
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Very Nice Notebook

Date:November 4, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Screen size
" I am pleased with the E431. It is a nice notebook with good performance. I do not find the touch pad as bad as some described it. It actually works well for applications like Word and Excel. For gaming or graphics get a Bluetooth mouse. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blob
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good for the price

Date:October 23, 2013
Pros: Processor, Durability, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Display performance, trackpad
" Trackpad is very annoying, too loud, pointer always moves when trying to perform a left or right click. TrackPoint also becomes completely unusable with this configuration. If you don't want to carry around a mouse don't buy this computer, seriously.
Display is ugly.
For Ubuntu users: I could not make the fingerprint reader work at all, there is no official or unofficial driver for this chip that I know of.
Also I could not get the NVidia video chip come to life after trying for 2 days with 13.10 and 13.04. This does not mean it's impossible. Some say it works with 12.04 out of the box; I'm yet to confirm that.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dinosaur
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Outstanding Keyboard, WIN 7--Hooray! Great value

Date:October 6, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: touchpad
" After using it for a month I liked it so much I bought a second one to replace my Google Chromebook. The keyboard is phenomenal, the screen is terrific for my use (I'm a business user), the processor is dynamite. I've been using PC based machines since 1981 and this is my first ThinkPad. The thing is quiet, incredibly cool and a great value. I had difficulty becoming comfortable with with the touchpad so I bought a $20.00 Logitech wireless unit from Amazon and am pleased with that. I use the computer as a second machine at a second office location so the mouse does not interfere with the functionality of the computer. I've bought dozens of computers and this one is definitely worth the price and the wait! "