Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E431 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E431

14" small business laptop optimized for Windows 8 with improved graphics support, enhanced multimedia, & new ThinkPad TrackPad.

Average customer rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
14 of 18(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E431
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JMB100C

had to be repaired from scratch 2x in <5 months

Date:April 8, 2014
"This has been a terrible computer for me. I had to send it back for complete operating system replacement within 6 days of getting the machine and now I need to send it back again to get the operating system replaced again because the battery is getting a poor rating and the Lenovo technicians have no clue what to do about it. I only got the machine in December. And it's not that great even when it's "working". Be very cautious about this product and this company"
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AnonnymousJ
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium

Superb Keyboard & Frustrating Mouse

Date:March 29, 2014
Pros: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, fast accurate keys
Cons: Screen size, mouse
"I purchased this laptop solely because the keyboard is amazing. I am a writer and I can type SO FAST on this without even thinking about it. If you write - buy a Lenovo with the Accutype keys.
The MAJOR con is that the mousepad right-click is often unresponsive. I can't even use the nice red trackball because the right-click doesn't register when I use it (and yes I have played with the settings). It's very frustrating to have to right-click in a very specific way, or a few times to get it to register!! I will have to purchase an external mouse to do editing!
Keys are made VERY cheaply. The keys are already worn off where I type &I've only had the computer for a few months. (My T41 took about 4 years to wear down)."
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobn
Owned Product:Just got it

Must buy

Date:March 16, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Security Features, Memory
"Touch screen and finger scanner"
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MyNameIsEarl
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Hate the touchpad/mouseclicker

Date:January 22, 2014
Cons: combination touchpad/mouse clicker
"I have always used thinkpads which is why I purchased this one. I have been extremely unhappy with the combination touchpad/clicker. It only works about half the time- I click and nothing happens. If I had it to do over again, I would not buy this laptop for that reason. It makes me angry every time I use it."
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
buon
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

More and less what I expected

Date:December 12, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Display resolution, Display performance
"I knew that e431 is not a perfect one but anyway I decided to buy it. The bigest concern was about touchpad which actually is not that bad... (but only when you tapping instead of using buttons which might be quite annoying). I have the version with 8gb, i5 and ssd what makes very fast for normal user.
I would recomend buy it with HD+ cause I have the 1366x786 which is not perfect... Anyway the screen is the major cons in my opinion.
Overall I'm happy with my laptop and I would recommend. But if you won't to edit pictures ect then go for something else. It doesn't have a right screen for that kind of stuff.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Komo
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Best low-cost "business-like" laptop

Date:November 30, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
Cons: Display resolution, Display performance
"After i read a tons of reviews all over the internet i was really worried about touchpad and battery life.
Touchpad is big and sensitive just enough.
Battery: if you want to buy this system i recommend you to pay 10$ extra for 62Wh battery. It's only 10 bucks and my battery life is about 4-8 hours (depend on using. 8+hrs w/ wifi-off, screen on 50 perc or less)
There are 2 things that i'm not happy about:
Display: i don't mind low-resolution. It's just fine for me. Matte finish is also great but viewing angles are just terrible and sometimes i see kind of "flickering" on the screen.
Keyboard mount: right-bottom corner of keyboard is noisy when using right arrow. Probably just need more tight.
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pavel
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great machine except battery

Date:November 19, 2013
Pros: Processor, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
Cons: Battery, Weight
"I have this machine about 12 months and it has been excellent, performance is perfect. I added extra RAM and upgraded my hdd with Seagate 1TB and the machine is excellent for video cutting or Lightroom 5 RAW photo editing. The only issue I have is with the battery, it had to be replaced after 5 months and now just 2 weeks after warranty the replaced battery reads only 41% of its capacity after 85 charging cycles. After calling with Lenovo, I will have to pay for that - that is why I rated 4 stars"
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ggoal
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Money Well Spent

Date:November 13, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, touch screen
Cons: touch pad
"I got the touchscreen version of this laptop ,which helps when you get frustrated with the touch pad, very fun to use with windows 8. I chose 8 Gb of memory, the hd+ display, and the 62 WH battery. While the extra memory isn't needed I'm glad I added it. The screen is pretty good for watching videos. The extra battery life is definitely something you might want to get or just buy an extra battery to take with you. overall great product surprised by the processing speed and the great sound, for a laptop, produced by the speakers."
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pazo
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Very Nice Notebook

Date:November 4, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Screen size
"I am pleased with the E431. It is a nice notebook with good performance. I do not find the touch pad as bad as some described it. It actually works well for applications like Word and Excel. For gaming or graphics get a Bluetooth mouse."
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blob
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good for the price

Date:October 23, 2013
Pros: Processor, Durability, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Display performance, trackpad
"Trackpad is very annoying, too loud, pointer always moves when trying to perform a left or right click. TrackPoint also becomes completely unusable with this configuration. If you don't want to carry around a mouse don't buy this computer, seriously.
Display is ugly.
For Ubuntu users: I could not make the fingerprint reader work at all, there is no official or unofficial driver for this chip that I know of.
Also I could not get the NVidia video chip come to life after trying for 2 days with 13.10 and 13.04. This does not mean it's impossible. Some say it works with 12.04 out of the box; I'm yet to confirm that.
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dinosaur
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Outstanding Keyboard, WIN 7--Hooray! Great value

Date:October 6, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: touchpad
"After using it for a month I liked it so much I bought a second one to replace my Google Chromebook. The keyboard is phenomenal, the screen is terrific for my use (I'm a business user), the processor is dynamite. I've been using PC based machines since 1981 and this is my first ThinkPad. The thing is quiet, incredibly cool and a great value. I had difficulty becoming comfortable with with the touchpad so I bought a $20.00 Logitech wireless unit from Amazon and am pleased with that. I use the computer as a second machine at a second office location so the mouse does not interfere with the functionality of the computer. I've bought dozens of computers and this one is definitely worth the price and the wait!"
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
clhefton
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Terrible Trackpad, bad screen

Date:October 5, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"Trackpad: TERRIBLE. It's too big, moves every time you press to click, it's impossible to right click in the miniscule area provided for right clicking (and I enlarged the area in settings) and settings are so complex it's nigh impossible to fix.
Screen: Extremely dull, and broke in a week.
WiFi: It rarely finds good signal and can't handle much bandwidth.
Keyboard: Awkward. I had to switch the Fn and Ctrl keys because they're backwards. Home, End, and Delete are almost inaccessible and so tiny they're hard to hit.
Battery: Cancelled out by the need to turn the screen up."
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NewUser
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

First Edge ThinkPad

Date:October 3, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty
Cons: square ac head
"Power jack is square shaped so cant share charger from other ThinkPads (i have 2 X230 laptops), Touchpad needs getting used to or just get a usb mouse. Feels a little fragile while closing Dvd tray.
Performance wise its good, solid laptop. Putting aside minor problems its still a good buy."
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
klkapaun
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Thinkpad Edge E431

Date:September 4, 2013
Cons: touchpad
"Mine includes the Intel Core i5 and am using Windows 7 at the moment. So, I did a crazy amount of research before buying. It is hard to try and find a review that matches 100% of what you are buying. After reading many reviews, I knew going in that the touchpad was an issue, but figured I would either get used to it, or get a mouse. I am in agreement with other reviewers that the touchpad is annoying, and even though I have been using it for a month, I won't keep using it. I'll be buying that mouse! This is the major design flaw. The keyboard and buttons are nice size and feel good when using it. The battery life is good, but I feel that is a personal issue - what is good for me, might not be good for others."
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Raghu
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Bad Tocuh/mouse Pad

Date:August 23, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Processor, Build Quality, Screen size, Display performance, tocuh pad
"I bough this laptop for my work, i had to return it soon just because i could not using new touch pad comfortably. I wish they could have continued the same touch pad of old modle E430 which was really awesome."
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wolfgang
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:3 GB

Best budget laptop ever!!

Date:August 9, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"I love mine, I bought it for school and it's extremely solid, I use the fingerprint reader to log in. I end up using the trackpoint 100% of the time. The keyboard is the best keyboard i've ever typed on. I have had minor driver issues with windows 8, I find that you can't leave it running 24/7 for more then a week or so without them concurring, but after a restart it's usually fine."
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roger
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Everything I hoped it would be!

Date:August 1, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance
"I considered this laptop for the longest time but was wary of it because I couldn't find any reviews! So I decided to post my own about this laptop.
Pros
-Battery life is as advertised
-Processing speed
-Gaming isn't bad for a business laptop
-Portability
-Durability
I bought this laptop as a Computer Science student, and it runs all of my applications and software engineering projects flawlessly. A great buy for a great price!
Cons
-Every computer has its flaws, but I have yet to come across one for this computer. I would definitely recommend it!
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nitya
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Value for Money

Date:June 4, 2013
"This is nice one who looks value for money and wanted to use professionally."