Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad S215

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo IdeaPad S215

Average customer rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
11 of 15(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad S215
Review 1 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Budget Notebook I Had

Date:February 9, 2015
" I'm a software developer. I needed a small yet powerful enough 'friend' to accompany me on occasional business trips. I use it for watching series, creating presentations, doing serious Java development and some light gaming.
In order to be able to do this I've opted for the 8Gb model and replaced the HDD with an SSD. Finally I've ditched Windows and running Ubuntu instead. Works like a charm!
It is one year old now and I still can imagine doing actual work with this 2-3 years from now. "
Review 2 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Not as good as my old Lenovo

Date:December 4, 2014
" Battery only lasts an hour on a good day. Wireless internet speed gets slower the longer you use it until it is worse than dial-up. "
Review 3 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

A bit disappointed

Date:November 28, 2014
" It is indeed compact, light weight and attractive. It is not however user friendly. Once you open a program, it is difficult to close without using crtl + esc. Windows 8 is a program which has NOT been receiving rave reviews. Don't know what to do. I am NOT enjoying it so I went out to purchase a refurbished HP G61-632NR Notebook from an electronics store in the neighborhood. This is what I am using to respond to your survey. Money wasted. "
Review 4 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

DO NOT BUY

Date:November 18, 2014
" I bought this laptop in September 2014 for business school (needed a PC for a statistics course) and wow, am I disappointed. It crashed during two separate exams and Lenovo will NOT accept a refund/return after 30 days. I am going to try to sell the computer on eBay, but I dishonest selling such a poor product. Do NOT waste your time and money on this poor, unreliable product, and given my experience with Lenovo's unforgiving customer service, I don't recommend buying ANY computer from this company. "
Review 5 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

fast for being so little

Date:November 2, 2014
" This thing is fast for being so little, I've had other "netbooks" in the past, but none of them performed as well as this one does, A+ Lenovo "
Review 6 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Perfect

Date:October 19, 2014
" I have used this product as a student and it meets all my needs and expectations perfectly. Powerful enough to work with spreadsheets and documents and great tools for multimedia as well. I definitely would recommend this to anyone looking for an affordable laptop which is worth every penny spent. "
Review 7 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

My 1st Laptop AMAZING

Date:October 9, 2014
" I was given this laptop as a birthday present and i completly LOVE IT so far i havent had any issue's, runs great battery last long. Will def. recommend to somone else. "
Review 8 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent

Date:September 15, 2014
" Small and lightweight. Works perfectly for what I need it for. I am in school and it works great "
Review 9 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gigglesnorf

Best Purchase Ever

Date:August 26, 2014
" It was the best thing I've ever bought I would recommend this to anyone. "
Review 10 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ebelheard

Small and Powerful for a Competitive Price

Date:July 23, 2014
" I purchased this laptop as a highly portable solution for productivity on business trips, looking up recipes in the kitchen, streaming video, and using the internet at home or on trips.
A Chromebook wouldn't work because I needed Microsoft Office in order to edit .pptx and .docx files from business collaborators. This compatibility is essential for editing graphics on presentations and papers, openoffice or an office app won't cut it.
Because the full license for Office was included in the price, this was the cheapest laptop for this size and performance. It would have been competitive even without this.
In terms of speed, it takes Office about 10 seconds to load the first time after startup, and about 2-3 seconds after that. So I have not bothered to upgrade the RAM.
No complaints other than my frustration at Windows 8 not being as friendly for PC users as Windows 7. This is what I took a star off for under features and reliability. "
Review 11 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jwideapad

impressed

Date:May 28, 2014
" Great for home/personal use. Perfect form factor, light, very portable, feels solid unlike two thinkpads I owned in the past (T40 and T400) which fell apart within a year. Keyboard is toddler proof to the extent that tiny hands can't pull any of the keys out. Impressed by the 4 core AMD processor. Chrome appears to run well. Office apps run well. Games (Diablo 3) run well. Battery life is good (4-6 hours if you let the computer manage it for you and follow the battery monitor's recommendations). Cons: touch pad is a little hard to get used to if you are used to track point, the screen is hard to see outdoors, and the power plug jack on the side rather than the back is a little annoying. "
Review 12 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nick1

Underpowered and not worth your money

Date:May 27, 2014
" I bought this computer because it was small and light. I thought I didn't need anything too powerful as it was mostly for surfing the web and emails. However this computer is so under-powered it can barely switch between browser windows without pausing. My advice is to walk right on past this and to a more powerful computer. "
Review 13 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoulfulThinker

Smoking Little Machine

Date:May 7, 2014
" The processing speed is really good, great graphics and the size is fantastic. My only issue was just getting use to 8.1 because I'm an old dinosaur in my 40's. "
Review 14 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
aasgharae

hello

Date:April 15, 2014
" best for aasgharae "
Review 15 for IdeaPad S215
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
leo00

Pretty nice

Date:April 13, 2014
" This is a fine little laptop, it's not a performance laptop, but for everyday web surfing and general office stuff it works amazing! Battery like is good, about 4-5 of general use. For the price you can't beat it. "