Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad U310 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U310

Colorful 13.3" super-slim laptops.

Average customer rating:
3.524 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
12 of 21(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U310
Review 1 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mikemike
Location:Winter Park, FL
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Good looking Computer but...

Date:July 6, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Build Quality, Battery, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Wireless card, Support, Warranty, Included Software
"I love the mobility and looks of this computer. When everything is working it is plenty fast and responsive. I have two problems with this notebook U310.
The first and somewhat minor is the trackpad. When browsing websites it is very easy to accidentally zoom in and out. It gets very annoying.
Number 2 and the major issue is the wifi card. Sometimes it connects to my wireless network and sometimes it doesn't. All my other devices work fine so its just this notebook. Really not cool! I have been on with Tech Support 3 times and have gotten three different answers that haven't worked. Tried to return it within the 21 day return policy, but now its too late only because I was trying all the unsucessful troubleshooting. Now I am stuck with this computer and can only send it away to maybe get fixed. Wish I could just return it at this point and get a refund."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
olsodobashi
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

I've bought a RocketPC

Date:March 23, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
"I bought this laptop 3 months ago and am very pleased with it.
Performance, I can't even tell how fast this laptop goes :)
The design is amazing and is really light, which is a big pro for me because I have to take my laptop everywhere I go. In fact, when I compare it's weight with my old ThinkPad Edge 14, I feel like I'm not even carrying it at all :)
I've read a lot about the WiFi issues and to be honest I've had a few problems with public WiFi not connecting properly, but the overall is GREAT!
I don't know if I can upgrade it's memory to 8GB though, I've read a lot of mixed thoughts about it :/"
Review 3 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ddyf1984
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Worst laptop ever

Date:January 7, 2014
Cons: Warranty, Durability
"DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! This is the worst laptop among two dozen laptops I have used during the last 10 years. The hinge cracked just after half of a year's normal usage and I can't close the lid. If you google "U310 hinge problem", you will find other customers all over the world complaining about the same problem. Build quality is so poor. The customer service told me that the repair cost is about $500, although I only spent $640 for the laptop. This is a manufacturing defect and why do they want to charge to customers??? Lenovo products have significantly dragged down my good expectations and experience with thinkpad products. I will never buy another Lenovo product in the future. Don't waste your money at this product or you will feel regretful very soon."
Review 4 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Swetznj
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Overall a good purchase

Date:December 12, 2013
Pros: Processor, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Support
"I like the price. windows on a touch screen is as much fun as my nexus 10. Battery lasts 4.5 hours with a lot of YouTube and Netflix.
WIFI card is a MAJOR flaw. weak signal. But I didn't want to spend $100 more for another 13 ultrabook.
SOLUTION. Buy a inexpensive wifi usb card on Amazon for $10 and it works PERFECT.
Dolby doesnt work with 8.1 upgrade. Ill live"
Review 5 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maxenergy
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Value for my Money

Date:September 25, 2013
Pros: Warranty, Included software, Durability, Memory, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance
"I just bought this U310 touch screen about a week ago.
I don't know how much you folks paid for it .
I paid about XXXX..brand new but no choice on colors and its only a Core i3.
I like the design and the solid feel of the whole thing.Pretty fast from sleep mode,about 8 seconds.
So I hope I can use it for the next three years.
Wifi is OK with mine.(30 to 35 kbps)as I have a super fast router.I think screen and keyboard are the weak points.But touchpad is one of the smoothest ever come across. Battery life is just over 4 to 5 hrs only.
Really good value for the money I paid.......
"
Review 6 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ComputerDependent
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5

Not Worth the Price

Date:September 25, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Warranty, Support, Software compatibility, Durability
"The first few months of having this laptop was a dream. It booted up in record time, the processing was amazing, and the battery time was excellent.
However, 6 months later, I got several blue screens of death, which led to complete failure to boot. So I sent it to the factory for repair.
Another 3 months later, I ran into issues AGAIN. Support told me it was a hard drive issue, so I sent it AGAIN to get my hard drive re-imaged. 4 months after that (11 months of owning this computer), I have issues AGAIN. I was told it was possibly a motherboard issue.
THREE separate issues within 11 months of owning this computer. Now, I have to spend more money to purchase another laptop to replace this computer. Not worth all the hassle."
Review 7 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Derpsauce
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not what I had expected...

Date:August 13, 2013
Pros: Weight
Cons: Storage, Memory, Processor
"Beware buyers! The laptop will slowly slow down as you put more things onto it... I have only used it about a month... The speed was perfect... until a month after.... The computer is slower then my windows custom xp '97.... I'm thinking of returning this trash...."
Review 8 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenna
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop!

Date:July 26, 2013
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Display resolution
"I upgraded to the U310 Touch from an old Acer laptop that I got 6 years ago. Needless to say, I have been very pleased! I was concerned with reviews people wrote of wifi problems, but that hasn't occurred on mine (yet..?) I've had this ultrabook for about a week, and everything has been smooth. The touchscreen even makes Windows 8 somewhat bearable! (not the greatest windows 8 fan in the world). Screen is a bit glossy but I'm fine with that. Touchpad keys are a little hard to press, but if you have another mouse then that shouldn't be a problem! I have had no hardware issues. This ultrabook is considered a bit heavy in the ultrabook family at just under 4lbs, but considering my old nearly 7lbs laptop, this is perfect for me!"
Review 9 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jewduh
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2 GB

Lenovo Lemon

Date:July 13, 2013
Cons: Display resolution, Support, Display performance, wifi
"there are so many of the u series with wifi problems. You can share a desk with your router and still have low speeds. I can never watch a video, let alone take advantage of the built in widi. Unless you want a ether net cable, I would not recommend. Maybe an asus or hp is what you should get."
Review 10 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Russ
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Extremely pleased

Date:May 29, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: none
"Have had this ultrabook for a few weeks now, and extremely pleased with the performance, style, and function. After read other reviews I was concerned, but went with this ultrabook U310 as recommended by my son. Once I booted up and started setting up I noticed what others were saying about the touch pad, but once you make your personal preference changes (i.e. turned off tap to click, adjusted touch pad sensitivity) all worked great. Also, have not experienced any issue with the network card or connectivity.
As for the battery, no issues here.... Have been getting 7+ hours on the battery between charges.
In all this Ultrabook is well worth the money.... Well constructed, great screen, fit & finish is excellent, functionality, performance & battery life top notch."
Review 11 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hill3
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

A Troublesome Product

Date:March 26, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Wireless card
Cons: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, customer service
"The notebook is lightweight and performs rather well. However, its metal case is too slippery for it to be safely portable. The touchpad is supersensitive. If any part of your hands or shirt-sleeves touches the touchpad when you type, the cursor jumps away. I have lost a lot of time repositioning the cursor and retyping what is messed up when the cursor jumps off--and the cursor jumps off often in my case. It is a troublesome notebook.
The battery lasts less than two hours when you watch video programs."
Review 12 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BeQu
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3

Great on the go

Date:January 6, 2013
Pros: Weight
"I bought this laptop because I had previously had a 17" Dell that wasn't functional for walking around on a huge college campus. This laptop is super lightweight and slim which makes it extremely portable. A big plus. It's a great laptop considering money constraints. It looks almost exactly like a Mac. The only thing I regret is getting the i3 version rather than the i5 or i7. My previous laptop had an i7 and was (and is, after 4 years) much faster. And the only big disappointment was the speakers; the sound isn't great, to say the least."
Review 13 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tommya
Location:Canada
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not bad

Date:October 12, 2012
Pros: Weight, Screen size
Cons: ssd too small for win7
"Got it today. Light, and small, it's good. Note: the SSD is not big enough to install Win7, in fact it comes installed on the HD instead. You can install apps on the SSD but not Windows. After I get done uninstalling all the trial software, it's gonna be my baby!"
Review 14 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stan
Location:Boston, Ma
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Horrible computer

Date:September 30, 2012
Pros: Screen size, Storage
Cons: Wireless card, Build Quality
"Bought one at Staples.
The network card conected intermitantly, hen crashed totally.
My options were to return it to the store which I did as I was in the return period.
Also the top of the screen was split from the backing.
The build quality on this computer was horrible.
I bought Lenovo because of what others said was their good build quality, not this line.
"
Review 15 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Eli7
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5

Ok but not great

Date:September 7, 2012
Pros: Weight, speed at startup
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Software compatibility, Display performance
"This PC is decent but lacks the wow factor. It's light (for a PC), start up is fast (mine is 3 weeks old so my machine's memory is not too packed yet) yet 2 major flaws in my view:
- Battery life is nowhere near the claimed 6 hours: it's more 2.5 hours
- Network connection issues: an auto update of Windows 7 basically prevented my laptop to connect to any Wifi network again, 2 days after its purchase... kind of counterproductive for a computer. Granted this may be more due to a Microsoft bug than Lenovo, yet it was extremely irritating. In the end, I had to uninstall the Windows update to be able to connect to the internet again.
I am disappointed."
Review 16 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BenR
Location:Seattle
Owned Product:1-6 months

Amazing Ultrabook/laptop for value

Date:August 5, 2012
"For the price and options of this laptop you can not beat it. I love everything about this ultrabook, nothing negative to say. LOVE the functionality of the trackpad and gestures. A huge plus versus other ultrabooks is that the U310 produces little to know heat during normal use. Sounds of the fans running are almost non existent. Overall I am extremely happy I went with the U310 versus the other ultrabooks I was considering. Absolutely amazing machine!"
Review 17 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Skye
Location:Des Moines,IA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:Intel Core i5

Best Purchase EVER!

Date:July 21, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Screen size, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: color options
"This was my first laptop I ever had. I just got it for college, and it was well worth it! I love the overall beauty of the u310 ultrabook. I love that this ultrabook has the appearance of a macbook pro. The track pad is almost identical to a macbook pro, with the hand gestures to scroll and such. This ultrabook's great quality and super low price was such a great deal! I got the aqua blue one without the 32GB SSD and my ultrabook is still fast. It is great for simple computing and for school. The screen does glare a little when put in a super bright area, but it doesn't bother me. Overall I would highly recommend this ultrabook for work or play!!! :D"
Review 18 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BriGuy
Location:Auburn, AL
Owned Product:Less than a month

I'm in love...

Date:July 10, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: color options, display design
"This is a phenomenal value. The computer is FAST, boots in about 50 seconds and resumes from sleep in fewer than 2 seconds. I’ve loaded a couple games, and though it is not a gaming computer it can handle its own with the i5 processor. The screen, like every other glossy screen on the market, has difficulties with glare in direct sunlight but has a more then decent resolution for the price. At 40% brightness I get a bit shy 6 hrs battery life depending on what I am using it for.
The design is beautiful but has a few drawbacks. While I really like the tapered edges giving it the “book look” it does make it difficult to open with one hand – I’ve found putting a finger on both sides of the notebook and opening together is the most efficient, as there is no center indentation for opening at the front of the laptop as found on other notebooks- really not that big of a deal to me. Let’s be honest, the color selection stinks, I opted for the graphite as baby blue and pink seemed a bit 12-year-old girl to me, but hey, to each their own. The red color option only available in the larger screen size? Why? Finally the LCD screen is offset from the bezel surrounding it making it so that the bezel and LCD are not flush. This leaves about a 1 - 1 ½ mm shelf where dust and debris can accumulate – I would have preferred it flush as found on other ultra books.
This is still a 5/5 in terms of value. You are getting the quality, reliability and power that I’ve come to love Lenovo for, with the convenience, aesthetic appeal, and additional mobility that comes with an ultra book. Did I mention its amazing price? I got mine for about half the price the boys in Cupertino are charging for their offering. This would make a great laptop for college or business, just stick with the graphite if you’re using it for the latter. Bravo Lenovo."
Review 19 for IdeaPad U310
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SonofNun

One of the best low-price Ultrabooks

Date:June 19, 2012
"I've been using this laptop for a little while and I'm loving it! It has a nice, very slim design, and great battery life.
I bought the model with the i3-1.4Ghz processor, and was a little put off by the speed, but it just took a little getting used to since I previously used a very fast processor.
My previous laptop was about 1.5" thick, with a large 15.6" screen. I was tired of lugging a big, heavy laptop around, and I love having an ultraportable laptop. The U310 is 0.71" thick, less than half of my last laptop, and a little over 3lbs. Also about half the weight of my last laptop.
My model came with a 500Gb hard drive, which is nice and large. Usually the lower-priced laptops start at 320Gb. I'm keeping the 500Gb as a backup drive, but I replaced it with a 128Gb Solid State Drive to speed things up.
Battery life is awesome. I can get upwards of 8 hours on a single charge under normal use. My last laptop only got at most 4 hours.
One complaint I have, and it may be a little petty, is the super-glossy bezel around the screen. It is forever picking up fingerprints and smears. Annoying, but definitely not a deal-breaker.
Overall, this is a great laptop that I would recommend to anyone who couldn't afford any of the more expensive $1000+ Ultrabooks."
Ratings-Only Reviews for IdeaPad U310
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5