Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors

Extra battery capacity

Average customer rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lima1
Location:Anchorage, Ak.
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:3 GB

Fantastic Laptop

Date:December 23, 2011
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution
"Never owned a Lenovo. I'm now a convert.
This laptop is perfect for my business and personal use. Light weight, fast processor (i5) & nice keyboard at a fair price. The key board lighting is a great addition.
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Erie, PA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Thinkpad Edge 13" "Fully Loaded"

Date:November 22, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Video card, Bluetooth, Weight, Battery, Included software, Build Quality
Cons: keyboard needs back light option, ssd option
"This laptop is truly a great machine; I travel for my job and would consider myself a road warier. From a specs department, the ThinkPad Edge comes in exactly where it should, considering its market placement between netbooks and full-sized notebooks. It features an ultra-low voltage (ULV), dual core Intel Core 2 Duo processor and integrated graphics. But that combo is indeed entirely acceptable for both desktop and digital media applications(including full-screen movie playback). It ships with an impressive 4 GB of RAM and Windows 7. I think the only thing I would change on this machine is the keyboard, although I love its tactile versatility, I struggle in poor lighting conditions and would have loved a back light option. Next time please Lenovo !!!
However, this machine was worth every cent and have no issues in recommending this laptop to anyone.
For those of you who select it, enjoy !!!"
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Storyteller
Location:Minnesota
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Smart Purchase

Date:November 19, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Screen size, Display performance, Weight, Battery, Durability, 9-cell battery design
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, plastic bumpers, shiny black lid
"My Thinkpad Edge-13" is perhaps the best purchase I've made this year. As a working professional and grad student, my old Thinkpad (a 2002 R-40) just could no longer keep up or meet my needs. After doing some extensive comparitive research and an honest assessment of how I use my laptop I decided to stay within the Thinkpad family of products because I discovered that I was completely lost and frustrated without the little red "trackpoint" button. What I really needed was a computer that still had the trackpoint, but was lighter, faster, and yes, a little smaller. The Edge-13 has been a perfect match to my needs. Its size and weight are ideal--a wondeful compromise between a netbook and a more traditional laptop. I can carry this around all day in my briefcase and hardly know it's there. The battery design and life are exceptional. The Lenovo designer who configured the extra cells to "bump out" on the bottom of the computer is a genius. Not only does this new configuration give the back of the computer a comfortable lift when it sits on a table, it also acts as nice grip when you are carrying the closed computer. Battery life is exceptional. If I dial down the screen brightness, I can go more than 6 hours without a recharge! My only disappointment with my Edge-13 is the keyboard. (Why I only give 2 stars for design) After 11 months of daily use I still haven't gotten used to the new "island" style keyboard. The spacing of the keys is ever so slightly too far apart and I find myself making too many typing mistakes. I want my old Thinkpad keyboard back. Over all, this is has been a fabulous product for me. My only advice to prospective buyers is opt for the models WITHOUT the shiny black lid; it easily scratches, reveals every smudge and fingerprint and looks very worn after just a couple of weeks--not a very professional look when pulling it from your briefcase to make a presentation to clients."
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zain
Location:Johannesburg, JHB
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Greatest Buy Ever

Date:November 19, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Bluetooth, Weight, Battery, Included software, Software compatibility, Durability, Security Features, Build Quality
Cons: Display performance, Video card, Warranty
"I am most glad to have made this purchase of my Lenovo Thinkpad Edge. It is the lightest and quickest Lenovo that I have used in this size. And actually don't think I will use any other size after this. The built in WWAN makes my life so much easier and the sleek styling of the RED cover makes my appearence less of a corperate to the outside world. The Speed and reliablity of this Thinkpad has greatly exceeded my expectations and the built in features just puts my mind at ease that all my sensitive information is safe and secure with the built in airbag. I must say its a brilliant idea."
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
xinli
Location:Martin, Tennessee
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent laptop!

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Memory, Storage, Keyboard/peripherals, Wireless card, Display resolution, Screen size, Bluetooth, Weight, Battery, Durability
Cons: Input/Output compatibility
"This is one of the best choices I have ever made on electronic products. I love my 13' black smooth version, i think the smooth version inherited the tradition of a thinkpad. Slim but reliable,it also has a decent battery life it lasts for a whole school day. I just love the texture of the material they put on this thinkpad. not like those kinds of cheap glossy plastic out there."
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fluffylamb
Location:Bracebridge Ontario Canada
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:3 GB

13" Edge is Good Value

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance, Weight, Battery, Included software, Software compatibility, Support, Build Quality
"Good value for the money.
Portable, long battery life, great keyboard.
Generally fast enough
Good reliability.
Lenovo Tools a big help.
Got new battery under warranty for free...no hassles."
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlOfFlipside
Location:San Jose, CA
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Solid machine; a bit bland in style

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Storage, Display resolution, Bluetooth, Weight, Battery, Durability, Warranty, Build Quality
Cons: keyboard not illuminated, power brick too bulky
"Pros - great keyboard design. The top row is used for common functions like volume and brightness instead of the useless function keys (function keys are still available, but require that you press and hold the Fn key). The display is bright and clear. Everything works as it should. Battery life is very good - you can get 4-5 hours of web surfing on a charge.
As for performance, the cpu and graphics won't blow you away, but I run photoshop CS 3 on a 4 gig Edge and it's pretty snappy. Other apps open and perform well. However, I've noticed some stuttering on certain videos and MS Office 2K7 takes a long time to close.
I have the 7200 rpm drive, but haven't noticed that it performs any faster than 5400 rpm unit in an ideapad 350 (basically same machine, with a slightly different keyboard) we bought at the same time.
I'm not crazy about the design - next to the ideapad 350, the Edge looks pretty frumpy.
I'd really like to see a backlit keyboard and a magsafe-like power connector."
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rocco
Location:BOSTON
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:3 GB

Great 13 inch!

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Weight, Battery, Warranty, Support, love the ergonomics
Cons: Display performance
"When I looked for a 13 inch, I was impressed by the EDGE. Although it's CPU isn't the most powerful the ergonomics and the price are great. I've had the box for more than 6 months and still look forward to using it at home after work. I've since put in a hybrid SSD+HDD drive that has made it even faster and fun to use. If it had a backlit keyboard, it would be a perfect travelling and all around laptop."
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
p0wrusr
Location:Seattle, WA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:3 GB

Balanced design with some compromises

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Weight, Battery, Software compatibility, Support
Cons: Build Quality, touchpad, noise
"When I went researching my next notebook computer for work, the following features were a "must": Small screen, lightweight, long battery life, dual-core CPU, good keyboard, gigabit Ethernet and Windows 7 Professional 32-bit. GB Ethernet is great for backups over the network and remote sessions, Win7 32-bit provides the best compatibility with the multitude of weird software and drivers that I have to run for work, and the Pro version allows me to run some legacy software under an included, virtualized Windows XP operating system that (almost) seamlessly integrates into the regular desktop. All my "musts" this device performs fine at. Size, weight, keyboard and battery life are great and it performs very well for all my tasks. In addition, the screen is bright enough so that I can work outside and read everything with no problem at all, something I've never had before. I am definitely satisfied.
That said, the device is not entirely without flaws: The touchpad leaves something to be desired. Tuning its settings in Device Manager helped but it still is not as responsive as I would like, especially using multi-touch. I would have loved to have function keyas and the special-function keys for volume, brightness etc. not multiplexed but in separate rows and would gladly give up the extra set of touchpad buttons for that. Also, the fan is not exactly low-noise when it turns on, similar to other Thinkpads, and I wish they would have put a more silent harddrive in. I would have liked the eSATA port and ExpressCard slot which the 15" model has and the single indicator LED takes some getting used to (no Wifi indicator). Finally, even though I chose the matte black model, the surface does show fingerprints and the lid doesn't use the high-quality rubberized material of other Thinkpads.
Overall though, the good outweighs the bad and I would buy it again."
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hien34
Location:Houston, TX
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:AMD
Memory:3 GB

Great value for a portable workstation

Date:November 18, 2010
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals, Weight, Durability, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, thickness
"After reviewing a lot of different choices in this category (HP, Dell, even Apple), I decided on the Thinkpad Edge because of the Lenovo/Thinkpad heritage of making a great _work_ laptop. The size is very portable (wish it was a bit slimmer) and the keyboard is just awesome (of course)! Plenty of power for general tasks like email, browsing, office, etc. and I'm even using VMs on it via Virtualbox and they're performing well enough. Please note, the 1366x768 screen is glossy, but I prefer those.
The page up/down buttons are small by the directional keys, but I didn't care about that since I seldom use those. Additionally, there are no status indicator LEDs besides the single "power" light that lights up the "i" in Thinkpad.
For getting things done wherever you are - this Thinkpad Edge 13 is a great choice at a great price!"
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JustinY
Location:San Francisco, CA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

great deal

Date:November 10, 2010
Pros: Memory, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Weight, Battery
Cons: Processor, Build Quality
"Recently purchase this machine, I have to say it is a great buy.
Pros:
It has a decent keyboard, and the keys are very responsive. Just be aware of that F1 to F12 are replaced by those common function keys, which I find it more pleasing because I don't remember when is the last time I use those F keys.
It is very light, only 3.6lb ( 4 cell battery), which is nothing compare to my y450.
The battery last very long. I can manage to use it over 4 hours for a single charge.
Cons:
Unlike the traditional Thinkpads, the material seems too fragile to me.
The processor is already out-dated, I would like to see Lenovo keep in-pace with mainstream laptop maker to upgrade its thinkpad line with the newest intel core i ulv processor, however, I have to say I don't feel any slow with this machine while I am browsing the web, listening to the music and programming.
That's it. That is all I want to say about my new machine. The overall experience is very positive.
Lastly, keep in mind, this is ultraportal machine which supposes not to replace your main machine, so don't expect this to play game.
"
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
juzi
Location:flushing ny
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows Vista Business
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB

new edge

Date:November 7, 2010
Pros: Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
"i prefer the thinkpad series for a long time , it is a new design new looking ,"
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drew1704
Location:Newyork,NY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows Vista Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB

Best portable laptop

Date:September 10, 2010
Pros: Processor, Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Screen size, Display performance, Weight, Battery, Durability, Warranty, Support
Cons: Memory
"TP edge is the best portable laptop ,everything is good except sound quality, sound is too slow for listening..."
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ITDeveloper
Location:Kenosha, WI
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Lightweight and runs FOREVER on battery!

Date:April 17, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance, Weight, Battery, battery battery!, led screen, no optical drive (lighter weight)
Cons: 4gb ram limit, no optical drive
"Holy cow - I'm testing this model for a company-wide rollout and I have to say that I'm impressed! Thin, super lightweight without compromising on performance.
Possibly the most notable features are a.) the fact that it's only 3.6lbs and b.) the awesome battery life. My boss did her "see how long it goes with wi-fi and streaming video and music" test and it lasted over 6 hours. I've been running on battery for 5 hours with 3 hours reportedly remaining on the battery indicator (wifi-enabled, multiple RDP sessions, browsing around on the internet, and a huge 4-hour download) using the power-saver mode and have not noticed any reduction in functionality. The only differences I have noticed are dimmed display and disabling of the aero transparency.
It’s zippy too – opens Word and Outlook in less than 1 second.
The keyboard layout is simpler and is a pleasure to type on. The trackpad seems larger and, as another reviewer mentioned, the multi-touch feature makes zooming easier too.
For the techie folks - the Intel® Core™ 2 Duo SU7300 Processor supports Intel VT-x and I've successfully been able to build a couple 64-bit WinServer 2008 R2 virtual machines as guest VMs and they seem to run pretty well for an ultra-portable laptop, plus enough HDD storage to actually keep a couple VMs. One limitation - 4GB Max RAM.
The lack of an optical drive might be one hindrance for some, but for most of our users it's a benefit by reducing the weight by about a pound.
I've had it for 3 days now and I'm already considering buying one for my personal use.
Well played Lenovo, well played..."
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3Times7
Location:Florida
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Great for the Money

Date:February 5, 2010
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance, Battery, Support, Build Quality, windows 7 enhanced experience
Cons: lack of optical drive
"This is a great little laptop. The battery life has hovered around 5.5 hours, with wi-fi on, using a customized power plan. Unlike other designs the battery protrudes from the bottom of the laptop, instead of the rear, this gives the laptop a pleasing tilt when sitting on a table.
The Windows 7 Pro 64 Enhanced Experience OS is working flawlessly with very quick boot and shut down times, even though out of the box the laptop is running over 70 processes. This is our first experience with Windows 7 and it has not been a disappointment. We have been clinging to XP, so this is a relief.
The keyboard is wonderful to type on, with only slight flex. The new layout is very functional, but the best part is typing is a breeze.
The touchpad works well, multi-touch is somewhat useful, zooming is a little handy when reading. The trackpoint is no different from previous units and works well.
The display is beautiful and easy on the eyes, setting cleartype for your own preference is recommended.
All in all this is a very nice laptop for the money, performance is great for its class, the build quality is acceptable, and the keyboard is the best we've used on a laptop. The enhanced experience makes for quick access, we generally hibernate on lid close and just open it when we need something. The wakeup period is extremely quick, waiting for wi-fi is the only slight delay.
The added cost over other less expensive units has been more than justified. Thanks lenovo!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for ThinkPad Edge 13" with Intel processors
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5