Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad U400 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U400

14" designer laptop with discrete graphics power.

Average customer rating:
3.926 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
21 of 27(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U400
Review 1 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappyBuyer
Location:Rochester, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:3 GB

Glad I purchased!

Date:July 28, 2012
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Durability, Screen size, Build Quality, Processor, Memory
Cons: Battery, trackpad
"I was looking for a laptop for university. I was looking at other manufacturers such as HP, Dell, Sony, Acer, Toshiba, and ASUS. I didn't feel safe buying a HP or a Dell due to many complaints about their reliability from online reviews as well as statements from friends and family. The Sony looked great and felt great but I didn't feel like it was worth it because there was not enough features that made it worth the extra money. I didn't like the look of the Toshiba and how thick and ugly their designs were, the only Toshiba I liked was their Ultrabook which was way too expensive. The ASUS was very cheaply built which made me not want to buy it. I previously had a Acer which was very reliable, however, it was still very cheaply built. I wanted a laptop that was sturdy, affordable, and stylish. My High School had Lenovo ThinkPad laptops so I decided to look at Lenovo. I was glad I did, I loved the IdeaPad series, especially the stylish U-Series. I need a CD Drive so I bought the U400. Even though I really REALLY wanted the Clementine Orange colour. The gray colour is actually very very attractive and stylish, it makes the laptop a very understated modern appearance that is truly fantastic. The laptop is very well built. You can tell there is a very big difference from a laptop made from a cheap -hollow plastic and a well built aluminum. Needless to say build quality is great. The breathable keyboard sounds silly but it really does work. The keyboard and mouse pad stays nice and cool no matter how long you use it. The trackpad is a tad sensitive, but you can get used to it or if you really hate it, can avoid it by disabling it and buying a normal mouse. Speakers are great, there is no lights on the keyboard, but, I don't find the need for one so I don't mind at the least. The battery will last 4-5 hours. The longest I've gotten it so far was just shy of 5 hours. Screen is a bit low on resolution. I have the second generation Intel core i5 on mine and it's smooth and a great choice. I'm not much of a computer gamer so I can't tell you how games will perform on it. Over all I recommend this laptop and will buy future Lenovo products!!"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nuttynut
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Decent Computer

Date:January 19, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"This computer is pretty nice. The graphics are good and it is very portable. It also can upload things pretty well. However the battery doesn't last more than 4 hours, the touch pad is extremely finicky, and it heats up after an hour of using it. The cd drive is hard to use too. I would recommend this to people who are on a tight budget. It is a decent computer but it does have it faults."
Review 3 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
grandcenter
Location:New York
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo is not IBM

Date:November 14, 2012
Pros: Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: slot dvd driver
"I buy this U400 in a pretty good price, for its nice looks, slim design, all metal shell, and Lenovo brand.
The machine is so far so good, but I must say the dvd slot driver is too bad, even a brand-new dvd disc is hard to be read, and the windows system stop response and keep trying to read the dvd, there is no emergency eject hole on this slot dvd driver, so several time I have to reboot, make me disappoint, total a junk dvd driver.
another problem, every time I use the U400, whenever I plug in AC or use the battery, the battery indicator is always light, is this a problem?
"
Review 4 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sierra
Location:Florida
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Do not buy this computer

Date:October 30, 2012
Pros: Memory
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"I bought this computer because I've always been a fan of lenovo thinkpads and wanted something that was more portable and nicer looking. I thought the u400 might be a great fit.
Although it LOOKS nice, this computer is such a piece of junk.
First of all, don't ignore all the reviews that mention how funky the touch pad is. It's very bizarre and unresponsive! When I have a friend using my computer, they always hand it back to me because they can't manage to get the mouse to scroll where they need to. For a while after buying this computer, I continued to use my old thinkpad to do all my work and web browsing because it was so painful to use this computer for simple tasks. Imagine how annoyed I was after paying close to 1k for this computer that I thought would be an "upgrade".
Second, and this is the problem I'm having right now, the computer has major internet connectivity problem. It doesn't connect, needs a lot of prodding in order to connect, and lately, Chrome and Firefox are both failing on this computer for some reason.
If this computer were cheap or old, I guess I wouldn't be so annoyed, but the fact is, it's only half a year old, and ever since the first week I started using it, I was looking forward to the day that I can finally replace it."
Review 5 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
odiseo
Location:El Paso, Tx
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not so good

Date:October 18, 2012
Pros: Weight, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Processor, Battery, Display performance
"Heats up a lot after a few hours of use, dvd/cd's get stuck on drive, battery only lasts 2 hours and it came with a dead pixel on screen. Internal wireless antenna gets very weak signal.
Mouse pad almost unusable something strange whit it. Display very glossy, if little light hits it impossible to read.
Very hard to open up to change hd, almost impossible to do it without braking a few plastic peaces.
"
Review 6 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ColumbusStudent
Location:Columbus, OH
Owned Product:1-6 months

Solid Laptop!

Date:September 10, 2012
"I was drawn to laptop by the combination of affordability, speed and looks. The large screen and user friendly design has been everything I had hoped for. However, this computer is far from perfect.
As you can see, I gave mobility a low rating. The battery life is poor at best. If you don't have an outlet available, don't take this laptop!
Design: I do enjoy the general sleek look of the keys and aluminum casing. However, design has interfered with function! The touch pad is way too big and nearly impossible to avoid when typing. I take most of my notes on this and I always seem to end typing in some unintended spot.
Other: My other complaint is that several of the keys are already squeaking pretty bad after only two months of use! A bit disappointing.
Overall, if you can find this computer for a deal, it won't let you down. But, if you can upgrade, I would go for it!"
Review 7 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
austonh
Location:UT
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Exceptional Laptop

Date:September 1, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory
Cons: Storage
"I love everything about this laptop, the design. all of the nice lenovo software and recovery and most importantly the size and weight of the laptop. Its like squeezing a 14 in into a 13 inch platform. It also comes with an optical drive.
If you want an attractive lightweight laptop, then you probably have to buy this one if you want to stick with a windows platform.
The only thing I would change is the hard drive; from a 750gig 5400rpm to a 750gig 7200rpm or faster."
Review 8 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kiran
Location:Los Angeles
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5

Great laptop but can't deserve 5 star

Date:August 26, 2012
Pros: Durability, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Processor, Memory
Cons: Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, Battery
"I would have rated 4.5 to 5...but function keys are bizarre and ridiculous. Had to hold 'Fn' key to use function keys. Not sure who is going to use brightness, contrast etc. so often instead of function keys???
While typing I am constantly hitting trackpad unknowingly and cursor jumping all over...need to get used to it."
Review 9 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
soby001
Location:Allentown, PA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop for the price

Date:August 2, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Screen size, Build Quality, Processor
Cons: Display resolution
"I'm satisfied with the 2notebook. I am a mac user and recently decided to give it a try to pc again. I used to have a very old pc and from my experience it was more problems than productivity.
I find the U400 to be reliable, fast reboot time (very close to Mac Book Pro). Design wise, it is very nice body looks alike the mac book pro 13'' but it still hold various difference from it. I will recommend this notebook to a friend. It is a great buy for the price. Make sure you do not change the track pad settings without having an external mouse. I lock myself out of it and i was not able to use the track pad. Great responsiveness when opening programs. Beats any notebook from Toshiba.
"
Review 10 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
justboughlenovo
Location:Seattle WA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Love everything but the trackpad

Date:July 30, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Battery, Processor, Memory
Cons: Display performance, trackpad
"I bought a U400 top of the line about 4 months ago, I love everything about my lenovo except the cypress trackpad, ITS HORRIBLE. the sensitivity is awful, it doesn't respond when it needs to and it jumps around when doesn't need to. I updated to the latest version from dell support website and it fixed half of the issues, but still not nearly as good as the Mac Books pads and well off from the other trackpads on the market, other than that, love it."
Review 11 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laureneliz
Location:Florida
Owned Product:1-6 months

Couldn't Be Happier!

Date:July 23, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, disk drive, affordable
Cons: no lock slot
"My Lenovo U400 is really the perfect laptop. It is lightweight and easily fits into my backpack for school. The design is comparable to a Macbook without a doubt. It boots quicker than I could ever imagine and the keyboard and mouse are comfortable to use. However, I wish the laptop had a lock slot (it might have one -- but I still haven't found it yet). Besides that, this laptop is a great deal and the disk drive makes it better than any other Ultrabook out on the market today. I honestly couldn't be happier with my Lenovo purchase!"
Review 12 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ABRA

Beautiful, Solid & Fast Laptop

Date:June 5, 2012
"You get what you pay for. This laptop is a bit expensive comparing to few others in Market these days but, it comes with Much more style. Plastic is long gone guys, this laptop is all UNI BODY Aluminum Sheet. Never heats up and i5 (4 Core) runs as fast as any i5.
Amazingly it has 2 Graphic Cards, one for regular work and saves battry, and other is a 1GB Dedicated ATI Card with Exceptional Graphics.
Bottom line is its right next to a MAC BOOK PRO."
Review 13 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jkweon96

Lenovo u400

Date:April 21, 2012
"Ok, this laptop is an average compared to some other laptop. My friends say that this looks like a copy of the macbook, which is very true (design isnt original). Next the aluminum has a very cheap feel, i use my usb alot and because this computer has a tight space for the usb, the aluminum bends inward and outwards and feels like it has dents in them. Also the book design is very sharp on the edges, i got cut a couple of times while putting and taking out of my backpack. Lastly i wished that this laptop came with a keyboard cover; the aluminum is a dark color and the dust is very noticeable. The only thing that made this computer ok, was the graphics card."
Review 14 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dylantechy

Lenovo - Ideapad U400 14"

Date:April 18, 2012
"PROS:
Ideapad Start time:
Compared to the other NEW line of Ultrabooks, the Lenovo U400 compares really well with boot time.
Ideapad Guts:
On the mid range i5 model, the track-pad is amazing, unlike most notebooks on the market this track-pad is usable.
The OK feature about this laptop is the switch able graphics, between the standard Intel Graphics and the AMD Radeon HD 6470M 1GB.
The screen is of most standard laptops, and at the standard 1366x768 resolution.
The case is a VERY AMAZING, A SELLING POINT OF THIS LAPTOP. The laptop is in a closed aluminum case to protect it from drops and breaks. Its not your average design plastic. Very nice job LENOVO.
The keyboard is very well laid out, although it is not Back-Lit.
The performance of this laptop for normal everyday tasks and Moderate gaming was outstanding.
CONS:
Not many for this laptop
Majorly NEEDED BACK-LIT KEYBOARD. Everyone loves a back-lit keyboard whats to lose. For its portability you would think Lenovo would include a BL Keyboard, for traveling in airplanes or times of need.
Like most laptops though, the resolution of the screen could be higher. From 1366x768 to 1600x900.
OVERALL:
LENOVO should be proud of this laptop even though it should include a Back-Lit Keyboard, this machine is very close to Amazing. A FORSURE recommend."
Review 15 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
review

Finicky trackpad and unsatisfying user experience

Date:April 4, 2012
"Yes, the computer is beautiful
but the user experience is totally unsatisfying.
Before purchasing, I had encountered reviews online about the finicky trackpad, but I chose to ignore them because I thought its other advantages would outweigh it. But the trackpad is indeed a horrible trackpad- and had I truly known how bad it was, I would not have purchased this computer."
Review 16 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike

Looks Like a Mac!

Date:April 1, 2012
"I love Macs, but i can't afford them, This looks the same, therefore it is the same! Awesome!
All you need is the sticker you get with the iPhone and it is complete!"
Review 17 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Schuster

Great, compact laptop

Date:March 26, 2012
"I can honestly say that this is one of the best purchases I have made. Previous to this laptop I had a Samsung and it was very unreliable. I decided to go with the i7 500 gb u400 and it is really great. It is ultra quiet and boot time is extremely fast. I have never owned a computer that matched this speed. The edge of the computer is somewhat uncomfortably sharp, but not a deal breaker. A backlit keyboard and larger shift and backspace key would have been a nice addition. It also has better sound than I anticipated. The large trackpad is a feature that is outstanding, but isn't mentioned very much in the product desrciption.
Overall, I couldn't be happier with my computer. It is sleek, stylish, makes my friends jealous, and is very powerful.
"
Review 18 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vito

Nice, small laptop

Date:March 14, 2012
"I must say, I really like this laptop.
It can be used for some light gaming here and there, it can run Skyrim pretty decent.
It looks really nice, thin, lightweight, it really doesn't look like a macbook as it seems in some of the pictures but has its own style to it.
The edge is a little uncomfortable when you have your wrist on it while typing.
The keyboard is a little smaller than normal, it would have been nice to have it stretched across more.
I not a huge fan of switchable graphics, its pretty annoying to set which program to run the dedicated card and which to run on the integrated card. I wish I was able just to turn one on and keep it on for everything.
Overall though I happy with my purchase, and overall really do like my new laptop. It runs great, its quite hardly tells its running, and even with only one fan opening on the side, it still manages to run cool, you can hardly tell the machine is on while its running. The screen is pretty nice, I was worried about the glossy screen but when you use it you can hardly tells its glossy only when its off. and Nonetheless I got a pretty good deal on my laptop.
"
Review 19 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrEcho

Don't call it a Mac Book!

Date:March 10, 2012
"The Good: Keyboard, display, responsiveness, track pad (Yes I said track pad) Form Factor, weight.
The Bad: Limited configuration options, noisy unreliable DVD drive. Hard to self upgrade.
The keyboard is very good! not too stiff or loose. Keys have good travel and are nicely spaced. Yes it takes getting used to some of the key because they have been truncated though there is ample space for regular size keys. THis seems to be a purely aesthetic choice. The display is good resolution wise, while those comparing this to much more expensive machines will complain. It has limited viewing angles, but at 14 inches this will not be your main viewing screen so as long as I can see it fine I don't care about the jerks looking over my shoulder on the plane.The track works beautifully now that the driver has been updated. Still not quite as responsive as other machines that I won't name, but again I think that's more down to Windows 7 then the hardware. The i7 8GB of Ram machine I purchased is very snappy and fast. Programs open instantly. System boots in under 20 seconds, instant;y wakes from sleep and shuts down quickly. Size and weight is ideal. Feels solid and sturdy, yet light enough that you can throw on a sleeve and put it under your arm like a book.
The bad.... Even if you offer to pay more,Lenov will not under any circumstance alter their standard configs. What you see is what you get.I had to put an SSD drive in mine which required modification to the SSD. Removing the cover on the machine was no problem. Putting it back however, not so easy. The DVD drive though quick is very noisy making whirring and clicking sounds as if it's going to die. About every other time I put an optical disk in it, it gets stuck. This means I have to turn the machine on it's side to use gravity to help get it out and the pull the small edge of the disk protrudes from the drive. Not cool man! Overall, considering I rarely use DVD's anyway not the end of the world but not happy about it.
With that being said I would still buy this machine again, after all who needs a back lit keyboard when your monitor should provide enough light on the keys?... Best bang for your buck!"
Review 20 for IdeaPad U400
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Johnson

Just a little short of a wonderful computer...

Date:March 6, 2012
"PERFECT computer, except...
...no back-lit keyboard!
Good luck typing in dark lecture halls or dimly-lit coffee shops or outdoors at night or anywhere else you need light (students should just play it safe with a Macbook Pro instead.)
Other than that, a great device."