Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X1 Carbon or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

14" & less than 3lbs, business-class Ultrabook™ with robust security, multimedia, WWAN support, & more.

Average customer rating:
3.139 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 star
5
16 of 43(37%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TechGuy

Ruined the ThinkPad brand

Date:April 11, 2014
"Having extensive experience with the ThinkPad X and T series as a tech who sets up and supports them, I am now getting serious complaints regarding every frequent hardware change within even the same ThinkPad model lines!
The ThinkPad brand was built on business stability and productivity, NOT fancy gimmicks and the trend towards becoming an Apple.
As the IT person, I am beginning to consider switch my company's laptops to another brand if Lenovo doesn't stop play around with their ThinkPad brand."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Benjamin

i returned this laptop

Date:April 3, 2014
"Hi,
I returned this laptop within 3 days. I did not like the new keyboard layout and the screen was too white. It was hard to read text. My previous carbon X1 had better graphics.
Costumer service not well organized. You have to explain the same thing many times."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Maxdi

First problem in less than 2 months

Date:April 16, 2014
"I am very disappointed with this purchase. I had high expectations. I paid over 2000$ for an ultrabook whose touchscreen is already not working after 2 months. Durability, reliance,... Where?
I am now without machine and I have a thesis to write and work to do.
I will not buy Lenovo anymore."
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kait

Very satisfied

Date:April 12, 2014
"Thin, quiet, light-weight yet powerful.
8.1 pro with the latest update, it wasn't a far cry from the original windows desktop scheme. Yet it still provides a smoot transition between desktop and tablet mode.
I saw a lot negative comments around keyboard layout and the adaptive keys.
First off, there are free key remappers out there on CNET so you can easily remap keys anyway you want. And I did just that to move my left ctrl key.
Secondly, defaults of the adaptive keys can also be configured. I just set it to F1 ~ 12 keys.
It's not perfct, but close to my standard. I love it much more than the mac book pro I had for the last 3 years."
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeremy
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best ultrabook 2014

Date:March 29, 2014
"Perfect all around ultrabook!"
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
X1CarbonTouchi7
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

A slim beauty, but very UNRELIABLE drivers

Date:March 26, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Video card, Display resolution, Wireless card, Battery, Included Software, unreliable!, adaptive keyboard
"Pros:
Gorgeous; Lightweight yet feels pretty sturdy; Best-in-class keyboard and only track pad better is a Mac; Overall, hardware is tough to beat.
Cons:
PRICEY! Paid about 2k & still need more space; No Win 7 downgrade option. Win 8 is awful (touch is must); Extreme high-res screen wreaks havoc on some programs; Two finger scroll too fast; Adaptive keyboard is a gimick. Needed to change settings to make it more functional to avoid scrolling through the other 3 options every time I wanted to get to function row; BIGGEST ISSUE: reliability of drivers! I've already had to reinstall the fingerprint reader twice, the track pad once and the laptop suddenly forgot it had wi-fi capability. INCREDIBLY FRUSTRATING.
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chngyml
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Ruined the Thinkpad brand

Date:March 26, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"Being a business-centric laptop, it's got all the good specs from the CPU to the display. However, it just boggles my mind that they'd change the keyboard layout so dramatically and even remove the physical mouse buttons.
I also use function keys a lot and find the adaptive keyboard unresponsive and "uncommonly unintuitive". They also don't coexist with volume/brightness controls.
Productivity is definitely down. Words can't describe how much I hate this keyboard and integrated mouse buttons even after using the laptop for a few weeks. I simply can't convince myself to buy another Thinkpad if the old keyboard and mouse buttons are not brought back in future models."
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1stgenx1carbonowner
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

In Theory, the Changes were good

Date:March 25, 2014
Pros: Weight, Bluetooth, Screen size, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Included Software
"But in reality, they are horrible. Adaptive keyboard row is probably not necessary for 90% of the users. What happened to the dedicated mute and physical volume keys?? These are indispensable during presentations or web conferencing. Changing the keyboard layout may be advantageous to some, but no caps lock is annoying after using essentially the same keyboard layout for 20 years. Adding a dedicated ethernet port and hdmi output was a great idea (but you forgot to include an SD slot on a $1400 laptop!!!!). Like many have said, this thing will NOT GIVE YOU 9 HRS of battery!! Not even 7!! MAYBE 6...more like 4 on normal use. Definitely not an upgrade from the first gen x1 carbon. And instead of a super-high res QWXA screen or whatever, give the consumer a choice for a 1080p IPS panel."
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thinkpad
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good but

Date:March 19, 2014
"X1 Carbon 2014 NEED:
1-Screen brightness
2-The dimensions of the screen
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
astrid
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Beautiful but flawed

Date:March 19, 2014
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, trackpad, adaptive keys
"I recently purchased the X1 4th gen Carbon and there's a lot to love and a few major flaws. It's beautiful, the fit and finish are perfect, fast, light, great display, durable, etc. Two areas that are major fails are the adaptive keyboard and the updated trackpad. The loss of dedicated function keys and controls is a serious barrier to serious users. Having to scroll through the options bar to find needed tools is slow and counter intuitive and the toggle to select the appropriate bar is somewhat unresponsive. The trackpad is large, feels cheap and heavy to use as a click button if you are a trackpoint user. My thumb is tired after every session. This is my 6th Lenovo and the first one I dislike."
Review 11 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kmiecik
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Time for class action lawsuit?

Date:March 18, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Battery, Screen size, ability to use for pesentations, video input connectivity, ethernet dongle
"Fact: you will not get near 9 hours of battery life.
To machine is too wide.
The keyboard is great, if you are female.
Needs one more USB port.
Need to come with dongles to connect to Ethernet and VGA (for projectors not for monitor)"
Review 12 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ccm4
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

worst purchase ever

Date:March 14, 2014
Pros: Battery, Processor, Display performance
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, vga connector
"If you travel a great deal and use your laptop for presentations, stay away from this computer. The engineers at Lenovo should be embarrassed at the size and weight of their AC adaptor and at this price point it is simply unacceptable. To make matters worse, the design decision to drop the VGA connector in favor of microUSB connector is a major pain. The connector is often forgotten or lost, leaving you in a major bind. Putting up with such things is common for Mac users, but at least they are getting a superior operating system and user interface."
Review 13 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dlite
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Terrible Quality Control

Date:March 14, 2014
Pros: Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Warranty, Support, Durability
"I research the X1 Carbon for a while before finally pulling the trigger on purchasing despite mixed reviews. I also considered a Macbook Air, a Samsung Ativ Pro 9 and a Dell 13. I went with the X1 because of the size and weigh. When I got the machine it was well-made, loved the size and look and it ran quickly.
Unfortunately, the adaptive strip was defective and I have since been caught in limbo with Lenovo's repair department. Two weeks without a brand new machine because the part is on hold. No communication from Lenovo and no attempt to resolve. I should have just returned it and been done with Lenovo.
When you buy a computer, you are also buying the quality of the manufacturer that stands behind the product, and Lenovo has not been what I had hoped and expected."
Review 14 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PN14
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good but not as expected

Date:March 14, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Build Quality, Display performance
"Disappointment: build quality. Very cheap trackpad and housing (when tapping on the plastic next to trackpad, it sounds loose) and plastic. Positive: speed is very good. I had issues with connecting a hard drive that works perfectly on my X201. The screen quality is ok, but by far not as good as on my private non-Windows computer. Good non glare. Miss one additional USB. Monitor connector is awful as you always have to carry the adapter. Battery life only ok.
If you are required to go with Windows, I would recommend this computer.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jake
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good performance; terrible keyboard

Date:March 13, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Memory, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"So far this laptop performs great, but the keyboard is a real design flaw, in my opinion. A few keys have been moved around (home, end, ~), which is a little annoying, but you can adapt to that. Even worse than those keys is the touch screen ("Adaptive Keyboard") F1 - F12 keys. These have stopped working on me multiple times, and the computer has trouble remembering custom settings I have set up. It is very frustrating, particularly if you are working in Excel frequently.
For some people the keyboard may be an issue, but I have coworkers that are fine with it. Just an FYI for all potential buyers."
Review 16 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DWA1
Owned Product:Just got it

What a JOKE!!

Date:March 13, 2014
Cons: touch pad only works half the time!!
"After months of research I finally purchased the X1. I have only been playing around with it for a few hours and the touch pad only works half the time. Lot's of times you can click the pad and nothing happens and it just freezes up. And when that happens the touchscreen also freezes up. What a complete joke!! I am always amazed that companies release stuff that is not reliable and works like you know what!! WHAT A JOKE!!!"
Review 17 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MGDP
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Small, light and Beautiful

Date:March 11, 2014
Pros: Weight, Software compatibility, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals
"Love:
-keyboard: Traditional caps lock key was stupid, home/end key is more functional.
-display: Love the incredibly crisp display. 14" in a smaller thinkpad!
Don't love:
-Adaptive keyboard: It's too sensitive, I tap it on accident a lot when I'm typing numbers.
-Batter life: I haven't noticed a huge battery life (not 9 hours) but I may be using my screen in too bright of a setting.
-Ultranav buttons: I had a much more tactile and intuitive feel with the previous thinkpad's separate buttons.
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LuisO
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome concept poor ecxecution

Date:March 8, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Keyboard/peripherals
"The Adaptive Keyboard is horrible! The large touchpad is terrible. Its almost imposible to use. It makes the red button, the main feature of thinkpads very difficult to use. You have no idea if you are pressing the left right or center buttons. The touchpad is entirely too big.
Batery life is a little better than the previos generation but still needs a long way to go before becomming acceptable.
This could have been the perfect laptop. For the price it should have been."
Review 19 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wolverine
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

bad keyboard design

Date:March 7, 2014
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals
"One of the best thing about thinkpad laptops is keyboard design. At this laptop, there is completely different keyboard layout. it should be like on T series i.e. like classical desktop keyboard layout."
Review 20 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DaveInAustin
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Please Fix Adaptive Keyboard Poor Software

Date:March 7, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Memory, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility
"LENOVO will PLEASE UPDATE THE DRIVERS:
1) Let me make the Fn keys the default
2) Let me turn off the other modes.
3) If you won't do this, please let me add applications that make Fn pop up automatically
4) PLEASE LET ME DISABLE ALL THE AUTO-POPUPS!!!! The Adaptive Keyboard config panel is popping up for no obvious reason every 2-3 minutes. EXTREMELY ANNOYING! Please make this a MANUAL CONFIG panel. Put it in the control panel.
This unit comes with way too many things that try to automatically automatically pop up and interrupt what you are doing. Completely destroys productivity. At least I was able to uninstall the Dragon and Absolute stuff.
PLEASE UPDATE THE DRIVERS FOR THIS MACHINE!"