Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Average customer rating:
3.292 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
20
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 star
23
59 of 113(52%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Brian

The keyboard is an abomination

Date:May 21, 2014
"This would be the perfect ultrabook if the keyboard layout were the same as the previous generation X1 Carbon. The adaptive row is a gimmick and the delete/backspace change is infuriating. Had to return the laptop because I simply could not deal with the stupid layout. Lenovo, please stop making changes for the sake of making changes."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mark

The new keyboard is a disaster

Date:May 17, 2014
"The latest model has eliminated the dedicated trackpoint buttons, and instead requires you to effect mouse clicks by pressing on the touchpad below the keyboard. It's hard enough to do a left click, but pretty much impossible to do a right click without multiple frustrating attempts at banging on the pad. The changes have pretty much rendered the trackpoint useless. The keyboard has several other gratuitous layout changes that make no sense and frustrate users who expect various keys to be where they have always been. Woe to the user who must switch between this laptop and some other keyboard on a regular basis. I can't begin to say how frustrated I am by these changes. Lenovo has ruined what I had previously considered to be the best laptop."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bill

Amazing machine if you can stand the adaptive keys

Date:June 25, 2014
"I've only ever owned ThinkPads. Love them. When the 2013 X1 carbon came out, I had a wishlist of improvement and they're all satisfied by the 2014 edition! You can get use to the new key format, but the adaptive keys are just not practical for business use. Short list of issues:
- It's too easy to accidentally brush the buttons. They're close to other keys and require zero pressure.
- Important functions (such as mute) are now more than 1 action away.
- And others....
I hope Lenovo reconsiders this or provides options for future models."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Alex

My Kingdom for an IBM Keyboard - & extra batteries

Date:June 3, 2014
"The X1 Carbon is ultra light and has fine battery life, however the inability to change batteries makes it a sub-optimal choice for road warriors, and the need to carry external CD burner and an Ethernet dongle are a pain in the neck.
The new keyboard layout is an improvement over the Gen 1, however the elimination of Fn keys makes it unusable for power users who need quick access to certain hotkeys.
Perhaps Gen 3 will do better."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chris

Returned My X1 Carbon Touch

Date:April 30, 2014
"Marketed as a business ultrabook, I wanted a classic thinkpad in a slim form. Unfortunately, the negatives outweighed the positives, and this laptop was a letdown: (1) The adaptive keyboard was awkward and gimmicky- a real nuisance when, for example, building models in Excel, constantly having to look at this bar to hit it exactly right and deliberately. No tactile feedback. (2) The keyboard layout changes took more time to get used to than I cared (3) the touchpad seemed hypersensitive at times and unresponsive at others. And, without the articulated buttons (vs old touchpad), the joystick control is now useless and obsolete… I bought the X1 Carbon to increase productivity, but found it to be doing just the opposite."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ajay

Sadness... The Final Step from Business PC

Date:April 26, 2014
"I've owned about six ThinkPad laptops over the last 10 years; always part of the X70 - X220 series. This time I decided to purchase the X1 Carbon. As outlined in number of posts, the new function bar is absolutely terrible and the software for that bar is at best glitchy. The limitation to 8 meg of ram just sucks. The caps lock system does not coordinate with what shows up on the screen.
The software associated with mouse is also glitchy. Sometimes, the right-click option to simply doesn't work without rebooting your computer and camera functions such as the three finger click also don't work.
The support for all of these issues is virtally nonexistent as well, which really has sealed the fate for me with Lenovo."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Khaled

x1 Carbon

Date:April 25, 2014
"Touch pad is horrible without buttons. It is very difficult for a fast user like me to navigate and click the touchpad without accidentally moving the cursor. I am a software developer, I always loved Thinkad for its precise trackpoint and touch pad. Please bring back the buttons.. TrackPoint is still good. And Lenovo, you never listened to our requests of the 7 row keyboard. There are few things we love about our Thinkpad tradition. A genetically improved human body with 3 hands may be efficient, but not what we would like. I think it is still possible to hold on to traditional design and improve. Because once you loose those signatures, game will be over. Thinkpad is more than just a high performance laptop. It is a passion for many of us."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mdelgado

Wow. So disappointed

Date:April 22, 2014
"Firstly, 20 year fan here of IBM / Lenovo. This was my 18th lenovo
Pros: Light, Thin, Good fit, finish, feel.
Cons: High DPI screen is HORRIBLE. 90% of apps are NOT built for higher DPI, yet. Most notably, Adobe, Skype, even Chrome all render horribly.. As in micro size fonts, icons etc... Yes, I know you can hand adjust every app - but not worth the time. I want a laptop where i dont HAVE to do that. And at this price, i shouldnt have to.
Next: Keyboard / trackpad / mouse. Lenovo slipped here. The trackpad is one button... yes one. So unless your thumb / finder is EXACTLY where it is supposed to be, you miss the hit and you get a right click or a middle click when you're trying to ge
No slot for memory card? ugh.
Dynamic Function keys? useless so far.
"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chngyml
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Ruined the Thinkpad brand

Date:March 26, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"Being a business-centric laptop, it's got all the good specs from the CPU to the display. However, it just boggles my mind that they'd change the keyboard layout so dramatically and even remove the physical mouse buttons.
I also use function keys a lot and find the adaptive keyboard unresponsive and "uncommonly unintuitive". They also don't coexist with volume/brightness controls.
Productivity is definitely down. Words can't describe how much I hate this keyboard and integrated mouse buttons even after using the laptop for a few weeks. I simply can't convince myself to buy another Thinkpad if the old keyboard and mouse buttons are not brought back in future models."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
astrid
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Beautiful but flawed

Date:March 19, 2014
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, trackpad, adaptive keys
"I recently purchased the X1 4th gen Carbon and there's a lot to love and a few major flaws. It's beautiful, the fit and finish are perfect, fast, light, great display, durable, etc. Two areas that are major fails are the adaptive keyboard and the updated trackpad. The loss of dedicated function keys and controls is a serious barrier to serious users. Having to scroll through the options bar to find needed tools is slow and counter intuitive and the toggle to select the appropriate bar is somewhat unresponsive. The trackpad is large, feels cheap and heavy to use as a click button if you are a trackpoint user. My thumb is tired after every session. This is my 6th Lenovo and the first one I dislike."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jake
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good performance; terrible keyboard

Date:March 13, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Memory, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"So far this laptop performs great, but the keyboard is a real design flaw, in my opinion. A few keys have been moved around (home, end, ~), which is a little annoying, but you can adapt to that. Even worse than those keys is the touch screen ("Adaptive Keyboard") F1 - F12 keys. These have stopped working on me multiple times, and the computer has trouble remembering custom settings I have set up. It is very frustrating, particularly if you are working in Excel frequently.
For some people the keyboard may be an issue, but I have coworkers that are fine with it. Just an FYI for all potential buyers."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MGDP
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Small, light and Beautiful

Date:March 11, 2014
Pros: Weight, Software compatibility, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals
"Love:
-keyboard: Traditional caps lock key was stupid, home/end key is more functional.
-display: Love the incredibly crisp display. 14" in a smaller thinkpad!
Don't love:
-Adaptive keyboard: It's too sensitive, I tap it on accident a lot when I'm typing numbers.
-Batter life: I haven't noticed a huge battery life (not 9 hours) but I may be using my screen in too bright of a setting.
-Ultranav buttons: I had a much more tactile and intuitive feel with the previous thinkpad's separate buttons.
"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LuisO
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome concept poor ecxecution

Date:March 8, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Keyboard/peripherals
"The Adaptive Keyboard is horrible! The large touchpad is terrible. Its almost imposible to use. It makes the red button, the main feature of thinkpads very difficult to use. You have no idea if you are pressing the left right or center buttons. The touchpad is entirely too big.
Batery life is a little better than the previos generation but still needs a long way to go before becomming acceptable.
This could have been the perfect laptop. For the price it should have been."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cemkur
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Worst possible keyboard ever, for an avid TP user

Date:March 6, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"Overall, this is a very good machine, very lightweight, slim, powerful, and very good battery life compared to the first gen X1, however, the new keyboard, and the mouse are just terrible, why would they change such a proven ThinkPad keyboard design to this, I cannot understand. The location of the Del, BackSpace, Home, End, and more than anything the whole touch function keys are not easily usable. I may have to go back to my first generation X1 Carbon Touch, if I cannot get used to this new keyboard, which seems very likely at this point."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TriRunt
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Input Nightmare!

Date:March 5, 2014
Pros: Weight, Video card, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Wireless card, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
"Keyboard is a nightmare! Being touch sensitive it’s impossible not 2 hit when reaching 2 the top left accidently launching something! Can't complete an email w/o “Outlook Help” every 10 sec as u barely make contact w/this touch magnet; Frustrations! Split Backspace/Delete = 50/50 shot of hitting what ur after. Ur going 2 backspace over a char or accidently delete lines below. Touchpad-mess. 2 much play & sensitivity so ur cursor floats (constantly)! Ur fighting 2 do what should be the simplest of tasks; clicking an onscreen button or into the area u need. Finally u want to throw it into the wall & it won't break cause its Carbon! If Lenovo would of left Gen 1 keyboard/pad they would have a decent LT but no they had 2 screw it up! Wireless/BT adapter not reliable locks/drops!) SSD is slow!"
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Andrew
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Not impressed

Date:February 15, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: missing sd card reader, keyboard layout, adaptive keyboard
"The laptop new WQHD display is a huge improvement over the last year model. No more screen door effects.
However, it has a horrible keyboard layout and the new "adaptive feature" is a gimmick.
It is also missing a SD-card reader. Overall, it was not worth the upgrade over last year model. I will be returning this and looking for something else."
1 People found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TechGuy

Ruined the ThinkPad brand

Date:April 11, 2014
"Having extensive experience with the ThinkPad X and T series as a tech who sets up and supports them, I am now getting serious complaints regarding every frequent hardware change within even the same ThinkPad model lines!
The ThinkPad brand was built on business stability and productivity, NOT fancy gimmicks and the trend towards becoming an Apple.
As the IT person, I am beginning to consider switch my company's laptops to another brand if Lenovo doesn't stop play around with their ThinkPad brand."
2 People found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kdougs

Not functional

Date:July 18, 2014
"I use this laptop for work. When docked to the USB dock, it has painful lag (typing comes in seconds later, and is missing half the characters I've typed). It doesn't have enough RAM to manage multiple applications at once (i.e. Excel and Lync, or Outlook and movies). When not docked, it works well as a lightweight meeting laptop, but the touchscreen isn't a selling point, and again doesn't have the RAM or computing power to really function at this price point."
Review 19 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JamesM

Worst Ever

Date:July 4, 2014
"This is my 4th Lenovo. I eagerly ordered it because the previous 3 were the best laptops and desktops I have ever owned. This one, the most expensive, is absolute rubbish. The new keyboard, flipped backspace/delete keys, single trackpoint, etc., all horrible. There is some issue with screen resolution, so right out of the box some pages loaded in gigantic scale while others microscopic...I can't seem to correct it. The laptop feels like junk and behaves like junk and is terribly, terribly disappointing. This, the 4th, is my last Lenovo product."
Review 20 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MKBT

Great Student Laptop

Date:July 3, 2014
"I have now had this laptop for a year and am continually amazed by its quality. Although I wasn't sure I would use the touch screen, I have found it makes working in Windows 8 a breeze. I have very rarely had issues with the machine. It is fast, reliable, and loaded with features. As a college student whose main activities include using Microsoft Office, streaming video, and playing games I have been extremely impressed. It is always entertaining to sit in class, unlock my laptop using my fingerprint, touch the screen to get to my notes (which look incredible in OneNote) and see the jealousy of other students and their overpriced, "stylish" white laptops. This machine is highly practical and I would recommend it to any student."