Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Helix or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Helix

11.6" Helix combines the performance of a business Ultrabook™ with the mobility of a 10-finger touch tablet. Includes detachable keyboard base.

Average customer rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
28 of 35(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Helix
Review 1 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
behagai
Owned Product:Just got it

the best ever!

Date:May 21, 2013
"can't wait to start working with it"
0 People found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BenT

Superior concept, but buggy beyond excuse

Date:April 2, 2014
"Here are the complaints:
1) Bluetooth disappears when you pull the tablet off the keyboard. Hard boot is the only thing that brings it back.
2) It's impossible to precisely calibrate the pen. The calibration is worse the closer you get to the edge of the screen (almost impossible to write right next to the edge).
3) Touch pad clicking often right clicks when a left click is intended (it has a hard time differentiating).
4) The TrackPoint (red mouse nub) occasionally drifts.
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
offworldexpress
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Convertible

Date:March 25, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Screen size, Storage
"I have had the helix for a year now and there some things I would like to say. First off it is great and all those who complain are wrong. Those people complaining about the fan, well its the only tablet I have found that is i7, so stop complaining. Those who said things about 3d graphics are wrong. I have no issue with Skyrim and all that. In fact I am a game developer with unity 3d, and the helix shows outstanding performance. Those complaining about memory, I have the biggest software's known to man running on my helix, and I still got 80gb left. And finally there is no issue with the ports, I run 30 usb devices in my studio, and the helix has got no problem with it. So I will end saying
best 2000 ever spent, buy it"
Review 4 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wowme
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome Buy

Date:March 19, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Memory, Input/Output compatibility
"I was hesitant about buying a Lenovo product, but they were the only company that has a a tablet with I7 processor. I needed a tablet that could handle the work I needed to do. I bit the bullet and decided to purchase one, it was one of the best decisions I've made. I love it. I have replaced my workhorse PC with this tablet. I upgraded to 8.1 and I'm thinking about converting our entire environment to windows 8. The battery life is great and there are awesome apps available as well. I wish there were more USB ports. Memory only goes up to 8GB RAM too bad it can't expand to 16GB"
Review 5 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pete
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Not as good as expected

Date:March 5, 2014
Pros: Battery, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Storage, Wireless card, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Screen size, Display performance
"I was very happy with my 3+ years old ThinkPad, and hence ordered this latest and the greatest. It is a good concept but the product itself is not living up to the expectations. For instance, it overheats (you may not be able to hold the tablet on your hand very long); its Wi-Fi connection drops our constantly (while other computers staying connected). I wish I had returned it. Now it is too late and I have to live with it... Also, it has an odd screen ratio that will not work nicely/crisply with any screen resolution other than the default one."
Review 6 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeltez42
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Love This Thinkpad - Solid Business Laptop

Date:February 12, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: no fingerprint reader
"I have had this since July 2013. The only thing this is missing in the finger print reader. I run intensive software like GIS and CAD. Yes, I totally tricked this out. Wish this could have had more memory (16gb) and a bigger hard drive, but hey, my professors are jealous because my "tablet" runs computations and models faster than our servers. They fell of their chairs when they found out it was also a laptop.
It does run a bit hot from time to time but I rarely use it as a tablet and I live in a cold climate. I really have not had any other problems with it so far. It also travels well."
Review 7 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sunny
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Best

Date:January 27, 2014
"Nice production"
Review 8 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bill
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:512KB

Awesome hardware but Windows 8.1 a killer

Date:January 21, 2014
Pros: Weight, Build Quality
Cons: Software compatibility
"I so wanted a convertible touch laptop/tablet -- and the hardware is awesome. A typically great Lenovo. BUT I returned it with regret because Windows 8.1 is SO BAD it was useless. Windows crashed. It DOES NOT play nice with g-mail, Google calendar, I-tunes and several other products I rely on because those companies have refused to make Windows 8 versions. The interface is clunky but I didn't mind that. It crashed consistently. I even called microsoft about those issues and their "solution" was for me to move all of my e-mail, calendar and music onto their systems and software. That was not an acceptable solution for me. Microsoft is doomed until it makes a version of Windows that works and plays well with others"
Review 9 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaveStarpoint
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Wow: A Total WINNER in Business

Date:January 20, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Warranty, Support, Weight, batteries disconnect
"I am a corporate trainer and travel 40 weeks a year globally. I am tough on tablets. I have been an early adopter from the beginning. Tablets have always had their limits and issues. My last tablet before the Helix was a Surface Pro. The Surface Pro did not really live up to the job and had serious flaws for the business user. I purchased the Lenovo Helix. Perfect in all ways! This machine is awesome. It over-delivers. It is tough, perfect when operating in my presentations and designed to please. The only issue was the batteries can disconnect inside the machine. I paid $100 and got that fixed and it has not been a problem since. But screen, power, quality and toughness are outstanding. I love this machine and will one day just upgrade to the next. I am sold on Lenovo! Homerun machine."
Review 10 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cori
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Memory:4 GB or more

Flexible Tablet and multipurpose device

Date:December 22, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Input/Output compatibility
"The mouse click is different than other Thinkpads. I wish it had the same setup on the T430, where there were separate clicking functions with a clear left and right clicking button. I wish there was a tutorial on exactly where to click to get the desired results. Often I click nothing happens. (press the 5 position clickpad - don't even know what they are)
I wish it had a full size Micro SD card slot.
Net: Net is that this is a nice machine for the purpose of having a true tablet and laptop in one. Users will need to carry around a little bag of accessories. These include the new charger, an mini HDMI to VGA adapter, an SD reader.
I like the feel of the keyboard. The stylus is very nice for drawing."
Review 11 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sydius
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great machine, a few problems

Date:December 22, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Video card, Battery, Processor, Display performance
"I've experienced flaws with using a stylus with the ThinkPad Helix (touch will often stop working until after a restart), the integrated graphics chip is not good enough for 3D games, the display suffers from an odd ghosting effect, the fans are quite loud, the latch connecting the tablet to the base does not open far enough, and I wish it used the newer Haswell CPUs. Despite those flaws, I would still recommend the device."
Review 12 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nate
Owned Product:Less than a week

missing one thing

Date:November 20, 2013
"wasnt soo thoughtfully designed, missing a Ethernet port for work purposes !"
Review 13 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chuck
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Laptop Purchase I've Ever Made

Date:November 13, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"I've ordered my Lenovo Thinkpad Helix they day they were available. I've had mine for several months now and I love it. There are a few minor cons like no backlit keyboard and the fact that the screen when in laptop mode doesn't recline back further, but those minor inconveniences are noise when compared to everything this hybrid latop / tablet does well.
I have the 8GB model with the Core i7 processor and 256GB SSD. It boots up in about 8 seconds and gives me about 8 hours of very usable battery life when docked with the keyboard.
The keyboard has a great feel to it and the touch screen is responsive with excellent viewing angles. The two USB 3.0 ports on the back of the keyboard dock are great and the mini-display port is an added nice-to-have when connecting to dual-external monitors."
Review 14 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sasa
Owned Product:Just got it

worst that expected

Date:November 10, 2013
"Pros: design, keyboard
Cons: overheating, unreliable performance: slow, hangups. no backlit keyboard (why?), lack of connections (needs adapter). Screen is not bright enough and reflective.
I hope the next model will be more reliable and has some basic features like backlit keyboard etc. - I can not understand how Lenovo let this product released like this.
For 2013 and later the unit needs to be more compact - the thickness needs to be reduced.
I also suggest a version with larger and higher resolution screen and the current one needs to be replaced - resolution, brightness, and reflection.
The overheating and loudness unacceptable."
Review 15 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rukut
Owned Product:Less than a week

Best convertible but severe screen burn-in

Date:November 8, 2013
"it is the best convertible i have ever seen. with great performance and batterylife. but every helix owner have a problem. screen displays ghosting, image sticking and burn-in. Just wait on desktop for a minute and than turn back to windows retro UI (with blue background, otherweise cant see the difference good). voila! look to corners. i have internet explorer logo in leftdown corner. thats normal for a 2000 bucks machine... thank you lenovo. (sorry for my english) dont buy it"
Review 16 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Amru
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Slow response to inputs/outputs

Date:November 2, 2013
Pros: Battery, Warranty, Included software, Durability, Build Quality
Cons: Storage, Video card, Memory, Processor, Display performance
"It freezes a lot and the CPU is not as prompt as other laptop. I find it more difficult and slower to use the helix than using Thinkpad X, T, and W series."
Review 17 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
robdal
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Almost there

Date:October 28, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Memory, Screen size
"Create the same machine with a 13" display, 512GB SSD SATA3 drive and upgradable to 16MB RAM and I will buy it"
Review 18 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Terminator
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Machine

Date:October 15, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Included software, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Video card, Warranty, Memory, Support, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Software compatibility, Processor, Durability
"Machine is good, the specs are good. But there should be an option to have Linux flavours installed or at least support for Linux drivers. Forcing customer to buy WinCrap is not always a good idea. SSDs are cheaper now but still offering the lowest space in this price is not a great deal. Upgrade to good SDD space to 250GB is almost $200, and you can buy this much of SSD space under $170 now. Last but not the least, the lenovo Keyboard they are bragging about, usually starts deteriorating and sends funky input due to faulty designs. I have owned many thinkpads, and all end up the same way."
Review 19 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ITMed
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent Machine

Date:October 5, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Support, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Processor
"Great Machine. I just hope for a Haswell refresh. Especially, now with Dell coming out with their Venue Pro 11!!! I bought my wife a Helix for work and now I want one for my self. We will see who comes to the plate 1st with a premium Haswell device. Dell, Le ovoid or even Microsoft with the Pro 2."
Review 20 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RushSwope
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great creative machine

Date:October 3, 2013
Pros: Warranty, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display resolution, only pressure sensitive fullhd screen i could find
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, no backlit keyboard, some lenovo bloatware
"I bought my Helix about a month ago in lieu of a yoga for the purpose of being a mobile creative machine. I am a video game artist who needs to do work on the road alot so I was looking for a machine with a stylus, pressure sensitive screen, 1920 1080 screen, i7, SSD, and at least 8 gigs of RAM. Obviously I had a lot of demands but this was the ONLY laptop I found that met all these demands. I searched for a month in all companies and Lenovo was the only company I really liked.
The screen is super bright and really crisp and handles Maya, Zbrush, and photoshop quite swell. Windows 8 is great if you have a touchscreen so it works fine on this device. Being able to detach this from the keyboard and still have the full power of a real computer is great when painting in photoshop."