Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
E32
IX2
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated

Powerful, up-to-the-minute entertainment processing

Average customer rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 of 24(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
junski26
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

I Love Games

Date:September 18, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Support, Battery, Software compatibility
"Pros: Video card, Build Quality, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage and TAKE NOTE: I installed a Crucial M4 128GB SSD mSATA + 640GB and A-M-A-Z-I-N-G F-A-S-T for boot-up/shutdown!!
Cons : Support / Battery / Software compatibility"
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DenG

Lenovo Product + Service

Date:February 22, 2012
"I am 1000% satisfied with my Lenovo experience and highly recommend them to everyone."
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satish
Location:Denver, CO
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Dont be fooled by the specifications.

Date:January 11, 2012
Pros: Screen size, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance, poor performance
"I am a software professional, and am not the average user. So i know what to expect out of a windows based pc.
So, i ve owned this laptop for almost 3 months now. Honestly, i think my 5 year laptop performs on par or slightly better compared to the y460p.
On paper, the specifications on this laptop look great, and one would expect it to scream through even the most resource intensive programs.
But this laptop frequently hangs while watching youtube videos or while doing simple browsing. It has some features which i see no use for.
The build of the laptop is very ordinary but does not have anything i can complain too much about. It does have a very clunky noisey keyboard.
Do yourself a favor, and don't buy this laptop even if they advertise a bargain. I ve only lost my patience with this. I d pay no more than 500 on this."
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nln2469
Location:HOUSTON, TX
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

best value

Date:December 17, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Storage
Cons: Security Features
"bought this from cnet.com for less than $550.0
its best for price and speed and graphics.
core i5 would be better , but core i3 is good."
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aregensb
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Happy with my Y460p

Date:October 22, 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Software compatibility, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Storage
"I was looking for a laptop with good mobility and enough power to play some games with pretty intense graphics.
I was not disappointed in my purchase. It is a bit heavier than I would like, but you don't get lighter than this unless you get a netbook, and I wanted more power than that. The screen may be too small for some people, but it's the right size for me. The laptop does get hot when I start playing mmos. I should think that a laptop fan underneath would easily fix that problem. Overall, a good purchase and a nice value."
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1StopJeff
Location:Granite Bay, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

My first Lenovo but it won't be my last

Date:October 14, 2011
Pros: Weight, Bluetooth, Video card, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Memory
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, power connector
"I have now owned laptops by IBM, Sony, HP and Acer and this is by far the best laptop I have ever owned. I purchased it configured with the Second Gen Core i7 and 8G of RAM, 1GB discrete Gfx Card and the system just screams.
Pros: Blazingly fast, fast boot, light, good battery life, nice screen.
Cons: When resting my left hand on the laptop it can mess with the mouse and keyboard funtionality, Power plug is small and comes loose easily.
I paid less than $1k for this laptop which is just amazing considering the performance and features."
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HiGrade
Location:Miami, FL
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Machine

Date:October 14, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display resolution, Processor, Memory, Storage
"Great product. Fast, great speakers, noproblems. I absolutley love this laptop!!!"
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Karl
Location:Miami
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Who Needs a Desktop

Date:October 9, 2011
Pros: Video card, Build Quality, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Battery, Software compatibility
"This is the first computer I've purchase for my self. I spent (no joke) 40 hours researching which computer would be the best for me. Funny thing is I learned just as much from reviews from people on the net as I did using different computers to researched my future computer. The size of the computer is awesome and easy to more around from place to place. The Hdmi out put allows you to turn this in to a desktop and with the various usb connectors for a keyboard and mouse. Best thing is when the power goes out, HA you still using your computer thanks to the battery. Now as a laptop the battery life is a little short but considering the processing speed... that battery lasts a good amount of time if you reduce the amount of power consumption of the processor and screen. The video card is good, get to play most of the higher end games (not all). Oh yeah! the JBL speakers are amazing! Over all this is a great all around computer for a awesome price."
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MikeinLB
Location:Long Beach, CA
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Value

Date:October 6, 2011
Pros: Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Weight, Build Quality, Battery, video quality, shipping time
"I bought this laptop direct from Lenovo. Took almost a month to deliver which was a con. I bought a netbook previously and promised myself never again. It was so slow. I like gaming so I was looking for a blend between affordable and powerful graphics. I got the Y460p on sale just shy of $1,000. 8GB RAM, i7 and a Radeon 6550M video card. This machine is raging fast! Love the keyboard. A bit heavy for a smaller laptop and the battery life is non-existent but the newer models have significantly improved the battery issue. The only major concern I have is that the screen flickers from time to time when the screen is moved. I am wondering if it is a loose connector. Also, the screen itself is very average. It is 1680x1050 but the quality is very "meh". As for a wish list of missing features; a touchpoint like you find on the Think Pads, a better screen, a matte finish and a backlit keyboard. If they threw those in, I would have ponied up a couple hundred extra dollars."
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Keshav
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Not worth the money

Date:October 5, 2011
Pros: Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Input/Output compatibility, Memory, Storage
Cons: Bluetooth, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Processor, Build Quality, Display resolution, Battery, Security Features, Included Software, Display performance
"I bought it with core i7, 8gb ram and so on. Many times it just stops working until I restart. Not fast at all. Very dissapointed. I could have spent one third and gotten a laptop with similar performance.
Low battery life -knew before I bought it
Slow -the biggest dissapointment
Expensive
Stops working for no reason at times
"
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Farshad
Location:Berkeley
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Simply Good

Date:October 5, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Weight, Display resolution, Display performance
"If you want to have the ability to run any software (and game), and if in your criteria of choosing a laptop you consider portability and professional look, this laptop offers good value.
(core i7 version with 8GB of ram)
"
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buffalo2
Location:Baltimore, MD
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Very nice purchase

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Included Software, Display performance
"The I7 processor speed comes close to the T410s solid state drive and I5 processor. AMD video card seems to be a bit sluggish when using two screens.
Hard drive seems to be adequate and the built in speakers are nice.
"
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mino
Location:Baltimore
Owned Product:1-6 months

Good for travel

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"Not too heavy, yet very powerful. The only thing I don't like is the fan noise."
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rasesh581
Location:Charleston, SC
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good for more advanced users

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Warranty, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Battery
"Good for gaming, good for multimedia, good for programming, good for everyday tasks, decent battery life"
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hehejiji
Location:Lexington,KY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

pretty good

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Security Features, Video card, Processor, Memory
Cons: Weight, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
"it's a good laptop. If it have bigger and more brilliant screen with 16:10, larger hard drive, smarter and more sensitive touchpad, then it will be perfect."
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KelC
Location:Vancouver BC
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Ideapad Y460p [development machine!]

Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, price
Cons: Weight, ac adapter is huge
"I was looking for a semi-compact laptop to replace my aging desktop but (for programming reasons) desired a true quad core laptop.
The y460p (model number:4395) came configured with a true quad core cpu (i7-2630qm), 8 gigs or ram and lots of other bells n whistles. First thing i did was swap the HD for a SSD drive and install my favorite flavor of linux.
Machine boots in under 5 secs! This machine is a dream to work on. When the system is under heavy load all the fans spin faster and the machine produces a good amount of heat out the side port. This is a power machine: all the power of a desktop in the semi-compact form of a 14".
Very satisfied with the build quality. The case is plastic and not metal. The ac power adapter is almost heavier than the laptop! Its is a real monster. 120w 19.5 volts 6.15 amps all to power the quad core i wasn't willing to sacrifice on.
When u factor in the price (under 1000) with the feature set this laptop was an absolute steel for me. I am a long time user of ThinkPads (over a decade, but no true quad-core in the thinkpad lineup had me looking elsewhere). I was quite skeptical at first regarding buying an ideapad. But after 6 months i am very happy to say i'm overly satisfied with my first Ideapad purchase and will likely buy another :)"
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chong
Location:Delaware
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

acceptable

Date:October 4, 2011
"All the feature as what I consider of was nice, the main thing is that the CD drive is little Loose when you carry it round for while."
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
giadartis
Location:Buffalo, NY
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome Performance!

Date:September 3, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, asthetics
Cons: Display resolution, Included Software, finger print magnet on palm rest
"-Intel core i7-2630QM ( 2.00GHz 1333MHz 6MB)
-750gig Hardrive 5400 spin
-8gigs of 1333 DDR3 Ram
-ATI 6550m Graphics card
-Bluetooth
-Dolby Surround w/JBL speakers
This laptop has the specs of a gaming laptop for a mobility laptops price! (paid $799 plus tax)
There is no noticeable flex to the keyboard unless some force is applied. I had zero dead pixels, and i get a little over 3h on energy saver mode (it performs well in this mode) while surfing the web with he screen brightness being at 2/3. It has some cool visual setting features that change the sound quality and the screen color quality to fit the needs of watching a movie or surfing the web. This laptop has amazing sound that is quite loud! It is very fast. I can play crysis on medium with no micro lagging issues as some of my friends acer computers experience. It runs League of legends at the highest settings as well as Team fortress 2.
I also love the textured touchpad. Once you try it you will never want to go back to the smooth ones. It has a strong/durable plastic chassis with a brushed alluminum/plastic screen backing (its a hybrid) connected by chromed metal hinges. My only complaint is that the palm rest area is a bit of a fingerprint magnet. Also like most laptops with an optical drive, you dont want to pick it up from that side, because you can sometimes open up the tray to the optical drive. It doesnt get very, hot, it has plenty of vents and enough space between a surface to the laptop bottom to help it breath. The camera is of decent quality in both regular and low light conditions. The keyboard has a nice feedback with a satisfying dual mouse clicker (both right and left mouse)
The only cons of this laptop was that i wish i could have customized more features to it. (aka a faster spin hardrive, slot drive, a bigger screen resolution and the option to have a higher capacity battery). I wouldnt have minded paying a little more for some of those features.
I love my laptop and i am a returning lenovo customer!"
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y460p - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5