Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U430 Touch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo IdeaPad U430 Touch

Average customer rating:
3.688 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
1
21 of 32(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U430 Touch
Review 1 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

touchpad drives me crazy. DEAL breaker

Date:January 29, 2015
" I have had mine now for about 4 months and have decided to buy a different laptop from a different company. Pros: 1)looks nice, 2) lightweight, 3)didn't have stuff I didn't need like number keypad and dvd drive. 4)battery life is good, 5)haven't had and issues with performance. Cons: touchpad is the worst. I just cannot get over how difficult it is to move around the cursor with the pad, it is very unresponsive and I felt like it was taunting me. This was deal breaker for me, just couldn't get used to it. I thought the keyboard was nice and easy to type but after months of using it, I just didn't like how the keys felt and made a lot of typing errors, but it was mostly the touchpad that I couldn't handle, no way to adjust the setting. I bought Lenovo for its reputation, never will I buy this brand again, at least not a laptop unless they make a better touchpad. "
Review 2 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent Performance

Date:January 20, 2015
" I read some professional reviews and decided to give this ultrabook a try. Runs Windows 8.x smoothly has 8gb of ram. I'm very pleased with the fit and finsh, very clean looking product. I would definitely purchase a Lenovo product in the future! "
Review 3 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

The best laptop I have used

Date:January 6, 2015
" Bought this for a steal deal on black friday and is definitely the my best purchase ever! The touch screen is smooth and works like a charm. The laptop is incredibly light and has a premium finish and look.
The i5 processor with 8GB RAM, allows me to play games and also do my development work. Really satisfied. "
Review 4 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Love this machine

Date:January 5, 2015
" Great value, ease of use. Love the versatility of the unit. Highly recommend! "
Review 5 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo U430 touch

Date:January 5, 2015
" This laptop has its pros and cons.
Pros:
1o point Touchscreen
HD display
Backlit keyboard
1.7-2.4 ghz processor
Windows 8
Aluminum body
Cons:
Battery life is low if used with full brightness(4-5 hours)
My "v" button broke
Display gets dirty easily
(Note: I spilled beverage on accident on it 2 times and it still works) "
Review 6 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Problems with Wifi, but otherwise great computer

Date:January 5, 2015
" I love the look and weight of this computer- I ride my bike to work every day, so this slim, lightweight computer is perfect for me. I like the touchscreen since I do some drawing for my job and it's often easier to do by hand rather than mouse. I clean the screen with diluted isopropyl alcohol weekly and it gets rid of all the fingerprints.
I love that it has three USB ports, HMDI, SD, and ethernet port, really great features for such a slim laptop.
I've been having issues with the wifi, however, and I have to use the ethernet cord at my work to have internet access. I'm also not crazy about Windows 8.1. The start screen is pretty but not helpful. Most of the apps I either don't use, or it switches to desktop mode to run them anyway. I also hate how 'streamlining' things like the networks panel means that although all of my networks are displayed very nicely, it's all visual: I can't do anything from that panel- I have to go through control panel to access any settings. "
Review 7 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent Laptop

Date:January 4, 2015
" U430 is a great laptop. The only reason did not give 5 stars for performance is that the 10 hour battery life is only about 6 hours in regular use which is better than most 6 hour laptops which give about 3-4 hours of regular use. Otherwise, there are no cons about this laptop. "
Review 8 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Great until it crashed in less than a month

Date:December 10, 2014
" I bought this computer with several recommendations and was loving it, I liked the touch screen and the overall feel of the computer, until yesterday, less than a month after I bought it, the system completely crashed. I was watching Netflix and all of a sudden, the computer completely froze. After trying everything, I turned it off, and then it wouldn't reboot, getting the blue screen of death. I ended up calling Lenovo Support and the only option was to reset my computer back to factory settings, losing everything I had on it. I can't express how frustrated I am that a brand new computer would do this and there is no guarantee that it won't do it again. "
Review 9 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Disappointed

Date:December 2, 2014
" 1. As soon as I got it out of the box I was having issues connecting to a WiFi network. I was told the WiFi card in these computers is very cheap and makes it hard to get a good connection in general, but particularly in a college campus with several routers, which is where I use this computer. I also could not connect to the faster 5G network on campus because of this cheap WiFi card.
2. The screen is very glary. This computer cannot be used in well lit rooms as it is almost impossible to see anything on the screen even with max brightness.
3. After closing it and opening it 3 times without shutting it down it gets as slow as a windows 95 PC.
4. Headset/microphone jack are integrated into a single port. This makes it impossible to put on earphones without a microphone and use the integrated mic from the computer. I even tried a headset with a mic and it doesn't work. You need to not use headphones in order to use the mic.
5. The touchpad is very uncomfortable to use. "
Review 10 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

best laptop I have used

Date:December 2, 2014
" This is a pretty great laptop and I love it but the battery life is not 10 hours. its at best around 5 hours "
Review 11 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Laptop so far

Date:October 29, 2014
" I've read many people saying it is slow.... 3rd party software messages, glitches...
well, I've just received the laptop and installed a fresh version of Win 8.1! No 3rd party software! CLEAN! works amazingly! fast, fluid! its an amazing laptop overall! its very pretty and sleek!
the only complains I have are the build quality that in my case there are some gaps on the build quality and the display (I have the i7 with 1080p screen) , it needs to be calibrated wich I didnt calibrate so far, but after I do, Im prety sure it will be amazing!
fantastic laptop.
I've been using it for almost 3 weeks (now sent to warranty to fix build faulty construction) and it always worked fine in terms of hardware and software! Nothing else to point out
for the Price I paid 699£ for an i7, 1080p display, 8gb ram and dedicated 730m nvidia card, I don't think I could be asking for more. couldn't find any other laptop with similar specs at same price!
"
Review 12 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointing, overpriced, terrible notebook.

Date:October 14, 2014
" I've had my Lenovo for about 4 months after someone dropped coffee on my Sony Vaio. I paid a similar price to the Vaio for this impressive looking laptop, and I'm severely disappointed.
It's already acting like it's 5 years old, with constant glitches such as the wireless card failing, or the sound not working, or maybe it chooses that it doesn't want to shut down. I have to restart it time and time again as I find certain aspects stop working.
And the third party software will not go away, as I type I'm getting message after message from pre-installed software.
Battery life is awful. Graphics under-performs. I would never go to Lenovo again. "
Review 13 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I Love this ultrabook!

Date:September 4, 2014
" This ultrabook is thin, powerful and beautiful! With a cool aluminum exterior and a powerful I5 processor this is by far my favorite notebook for on the go work. If you can get used to Windows 8.1 (once you do I think you'll love it) this will get the job done and then some. This is my second Lenovo. I think if they keep producing this level of product they will have a customer for life. Also how about that sound quality? Best sound in any computer I've had. "
Review 14 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ellie

Disappointed

Date:August 25, 2014
" Nice looking, perfect size and some cool apps. Easy to use and navigate.
Major problem is with the built in touch mouse on keyboard. Freezes up every 5 minutes. Disappears at times. Also screen freezes up-goes gray, then blue often. One more thing.....very, very slow.
I will be returning this computer but the chances are I was just unlucky to buy this computer not working properly, although new. I am sure not all of these specific computers have these problems. However, I will Not take a chance on this specific computer again. Looking at different options now. "
Review 15 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
samuel

Battle of the Battery

Date:August 21, 2014
" I bought this computer for graduate school and for the first few days it was amazing. but for some reason the battery will not charge, but the status will say "plugged in not charging". My irritation with this is exacerbated by the fact that occasionally it will begin to work again...such as when I brought it in to the store. I have no idea what the problem is, but the techies at best by said that they could find no issue with it, though there clearly is. "
Review 16 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobby

best laptop ever

Date:August 5, 2014
" amazinly fast reliable easy to use simply amazing "
Review 17 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Minotaur

Nice unit

Date:July 22, 2014
" I really like the touch screen. Ideapad is ideal for me. More than what I expected with great performance. "
Review 18 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kaurtina

Ports stopped working and low battery life

Date:July 13, 2014
" I like the light feel of the laptop and keyboard is nice. But 6 months in the ports for USB and Scandisk have stopped responding. And the battery only lasts 5 hours now. Not happy with deceptive advertisement. "
Review 19 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ared

Very disappointed

Date:July 11, 2014
" I did a lot of research before choosing the IdeaPad and was most convinced by multiple positive reviews, the relative light weight of the product for traveling and Lenovo's good reputation. I did not expect the extremely sluggish performance to be such a drag on my productivity. Waiting five and more seconds for a response is not OK. After consulting with Lenovo's customer service folks, I am led to believe it's a widespread Win 8.1 issue. Hopefully MS will fix this pressing issue pronto, and Lenovo will push hard since (so I hear) it seems to be hitting Lenovo more than others.
I did not realize the weight and high reflectivity of the touch glass, artifacts of the whole touch craze but not good for easy viewing or for travel. I'm trying to be patient, but if I bought this at a normal store, I'd be returning it.
"
Review 20 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RMDAZ

Great value

Date:July 3, 2014
" This laptop/tablet is a great value. It has nice speed and is very light. It's great for general surfing the web.
The only negative comment is that uou have to pay for Lenovo support.
"