Lenovo - For Those Who Do.
FaceBook Like Like us on Facebook
Laptops & Netbooks        Desktops & all-in-ones        Accessories       Software        Lenovo Deals
Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U430 Touch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo IdeaPad U430 Touch

Average customer rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 of 16(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U430 Touch
Review 1 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Minotaur

Nice unit

Date:July 22, 2014
"I really like the touch screen. Ideapad is ideal for me. More than what I expected with great performance."
Review 2 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kaurtina

Ports stopped working and low battery life

Date:July 13, 2014
"I like the light feel of the laptop and keyboard is nice. But 6 months in the ports for USB and Scandisk have stopped responding. And the battery only lasts 5 hours now. Not happy with deceptive advertisement."
Review 3 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ared

Very disappointed

Date:July 11, 2014
"I did a lot of research before choosing the IdeaPad and was most convinced by multiple positive reviews, the relative light weight of the product for traveling and Lenovo's good reputation. I did not expect the extremely sluggish performance to be such a drag on my productivity. Waiting five and more seconds for a response is not OK. After consulting with Lenovo's customer service folks, I am led to believe it's a widespread Win 8.1 issue. Hopefully MS will fix this pressing issue pronto, and Lenovo will push hard since (so I hear) it seems to be hitting Lenovo more than others.
I did not realize the weight and high reflectivity of the touch glass, artifacts of the whole touch craze but not good for easy viewing or for travel. I'm trying to be patient, but if I bought this at a normal store, I'd be returning it.
"
Review 4 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RMDAZ

Great value

Date:July 3, 2014
"This laptop/tablet is a great value. It has nice speed and is very light. It's great for general surfing the web.
The only negative comment is that uou have to pay for Lenovo support.
"
Review 5 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jonathan

Good product, weird battery issue

Date:June 24, 2014
"I love the computer, but dislike that 2 months in the battery would not charge. I think it might be resolved from tech support re-installing drivers, but that was an hour of my life I was not planning to spend like that."
Review 6 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ExperiencedUser

Disappointed

Date:June 14, 2014
"I had high expectations when I bought the laptop. Everything works well except for the touch pad. The pointer is squirrely and wanders all over in spite of adjusting everything I can locate with Lenovo help and on line forums. Very frustrating and apparently a problem shared by many with these machines."
Review 7 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DomR

U430 Touch, great laptop except the battery

Date:June 10, 2014
"Bought this laptop about 3 months ago, I was looking for something light and easy to travel with, so this laptop is good for that. The Pros: it starts up quick, the keyboard is excellent, and the unit is light and easy to carry. Cons: My biggest issue is the battery life and screen. The website claims a battery life of "up to 10 hours", I have never come close to 6 hours and that's with the screen turned down so much it was difficult to see. With Wifi and screen on at about 80%, the battery is 3.5, maybe 4 hrs max. Overall the laptop looks great, keyboard is excellent and has all the bells and whistles, just make sure you are close to a power source. Gave the performance a 1 due to the fact the battery lasts as long as my old laptop did after 4.5yrs of use."
Review 8 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
faraz

Good deal

Date:June 4, 2014
"Bought it in pretty good deal, but good for daily home use"
Review 9 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sonnysmustang

Ok but some glitches

Date:June 1, 2014
"It performs well but has some strange problems. Intermittently makes a grinding noise. touch screen is hard to use accurately without a stylus. I don't like the internal battery since it will be hard to change when this one dies. Hard drive definitely needs to be larger due to the size of todays programs. Not a lot of upgrades available for the unit. What you buy is what you get"
Review 10 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
whubba42

Sweet labtop!!!!

Date:May 28, 2014
"Very fast labtop and great features! !!"
Review 11 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kevin

Good Ultrabook

Date:May 14, 2014
"This is a good ultrabook. It's lightweight, great performance with i7, and good features. The only downside so far is the touchpad. It works ok but it could be much better."
Review 12 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Josh2704

Great Purchase!!

Date:April 27, 2014
"I did a lot of research on this computer before purchasing it. It is the best laptop for the money. Extremely fast computer with the intel Core i7 processor! I do wish it had more ram though. Touchscreen is extremely responsive and the backlit keys are wonderful at night. I would recommend this to any home computer user. I do wish it fully turned into a tablet, but for the price and the responsiveness of the laptop, having a full tablet was one thing I could do without. Thanks for a great/affordable product Lenovo!"
Review 13 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
vilanova

very cool

Date:April 20, 2014
"This product is easy to use, very reliable, and has a cool design."
Review 14 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joey

Great performing laptop for a great price

Date:April 12, 2014
"The only complaint I have about this laptop is that the screen isnt as high of a resolution as I would have liked it to be, I'm picky though its by no means a low quality screen but it doesn't compare to the marbook pro or some Sony and samsung models. The touch feature is very helpful coming from a windows 8 laptop without it gives you a much higher appreciation for windows 8 the keyboard layout takes some getting used to (the backlit feature is very nice) overall I would rate this laptop as an 8.4/10 (highly recommend)"
Review 15 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kirby9099

Best For The Price

Date:April 10, 2014
"The quality of the build is pretty good. I wasnt going to purchase another lenovo since my last one wasnt that impressive for $1k price tag. But i purchased this based on the reviews over the Asus one that was $899 and similar but had less ram. The processor could be a little faster, but other than that im really glad i decided to stick with lenovo and give them another shot. This laptop has the similar looks to the macbook air, but runs windows so its a win for me."
Review 16 for IdeaPad U430 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SlightlyConfused
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8

Good but not what I expected

Date:February 3, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: webcam is low quality, right clicking is questionable, no tablet mode
"I love this laptop. I really do. It's light, looks great physically, and the visuals are stunning. I only have a couple of issues with it:
1.) Clicking can be picky. It seems like right clicking is very sketchy. I've had this laptop a little over a week, so there's no wear and tear.
2.) This laptop was advertised as being able to flip into tablet mode. That's not the case...so what's the point of the touch screen? I'm an artist and was hoping I'd be able to flip this into tablet mode whenever I needed to do some drawing. I'm not sure if this was misinformation by Lenovo or what.
3.) The webcam's quality is pretty terrible."