Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo G505 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo G505

Affordable 15.6” notebook powered by AMD

Average customer rating:
3.381 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
14 of 21(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo G505
Review 1 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

not for me....

Date:28 September 2014
"Not a big fan of the windows 8... maybe Ilike windows 7.. more user friendly."
Review 2 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Extremely slow

Date:16 September 2014
"The computer is very very slow. It takes approximately 10 seconds to load a webpage. I haven't even installed software yet or loaded anything onto it. It was this way out of the box. I will probably return it."
Review 3 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wille

Good Could be Better

Date:20 August 2014
"I have it for one year and I had problems. I just got it back from warranty repair, replacing the mother board and 2 USB ports that did not work.
Service on repairs was excellent under warranty, Geek Squad did a excellent job and and kept me informed through the whole process.
"
Review 4 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nnana123

not very pleased right noe

Date:29 July 2014
"Had a lenovo for five years so I bought this one. It is not satisfactory! Can't keep it logged on to internet; using same router, etc that I used with my old one and the one I use for my phone and tablets.
It moves too slow with everything. I must sit and wait for the internet, etc.
Am thinking seriously about returning it.
"
Review 5 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Walker

Worst Laptop I've Ever Used

Date:20 July 2014
"This laptop is unbelievably slow. I've had laptops before the Pentium was invented that were faster than this. It takes about 20 minutes to turn on the laptop and open chrome to navigate to a website. I can type a whole sentence out and literally go to the washroom and come back before it shows up on the screen.
It is not spec'd anywhere near what it should have to run Windows 8 with any confidence.
Using this laptop is the most frustrating thing I've ever gone through.
Lenovo this laptop is embarrassing, and if I could get my money back I would. I can't even sell this laptop to anyone because I know as soon as they use it they'll be knocking on my door looking for their money back."
Review 6 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AZbadman

review of computer

Date:19 July 2014
"I have been using the Lenovo computer for about two months now. I am happily surprised by its reliability, and performance. I was previously using a touch screen, but even though this one is not, it is still very easy to use."
Review 7 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sonyfan

Awful decision to buy it.

Date:24 June 2014
"I suppose you get whet you pay for but I hoped to get a lot better from the G505 from Lenovo.
It is so slow (4 hours+ to download an iTunes update) and then when you go to the Lenovo site, after being offered a new customer discount the model name/number is not recognised so you can't even buy more memory. it doesn't even have the 1TB hard drive as per the Lenovo site specification information.
A nightmare.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bramma

Almost perfect

Date:23 June 2014
"The right shift key seems to be situated a bit lower than on my previous PC and I keep hitting enter which fouls me up, though I don't expect this to be a problem forever. The PC is mostly easy to use. I wish, however, that the purchaser could decide what operating system he or she wants. It is mostly Microsoft 8 that I find difficult to deal with and would much rather go back to 7 or even earlier."
Review 9 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
raross

great value

Date:04 June 2014
"overall this was a great purchase.was looking for a tablet. but found this at the same price as the tablets i was looking at"
Review 10 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grizzly

awesome purchase

Date:01 June 2014
"This has been one of the best investments my family has ever made."
Review 11 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigO

Very good deal

Date:31 May 2014
"So far my laptop has performed very nicely. The only real problem that I can point to as a novice laptop user is, that there is not any way to tell if the number lock is activated, unless you try to use a number and it does not type. Would it have killed you guys to put an indicator light on the number lock key? But all-in-all a very good deal for the price."
Review 12 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thomas

You Get What You Pay For

Date:30 May 2014
"Over all, the laptop isn't bad compared to what I paid for it. I would recommend it if you're looking for durability because it has energy management features that help you boost performance or conserve energy. It also helps you conserve battery lifespan if you desire. The build appears durable because it's not made of cheap plastic.
The cons of this laptop is that the internet is often laggy, especially if you're using ethernet cables (it can be somewhat improved if you boost performance). It also does not come with a writing program like Microsoft Word. Further purchases are necessary to use them. Other than these two setbacks, I believe this is a pretty good laptop."
Review 13 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jasper46

Lenovo 505

Date:29 May 2014
"When I first purchased this product, I wasn't sure if it had enough power or memory to get by in college with today's standards. I have been quite surprised by the overall performance and it has more than enough memory for me. I can't imagine not having this computer to use in my every day school and work. Great job guys, I am extremely satisfied with my purchase and would tell this to anyone! Thank You!!"
Review 14 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dmohead

G505

Date:28 May 2014
"The performance on this unit is a bit lacking."
Review 15 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
angie

top line quality

Date:28 May 2014
"I am very happy with my Lenovo laptop. It is beyond my expectations. I had a compac before this and it did not run as good as this one."
Review 16 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mljadaddy09

junk

Date:28 May 2014
"I was rent to own this laptop but only after 5 days the junk would not even reboot or nothing so I took it back!!! IT WAS THE WORSE LAPTOP EVER!!! GATEWAY WORKS BETTER THEN THESE DO N PROLLY EVER WILL!!!"
Review 17 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pete

Cofusing

Date:28 May 2014
"It has taken me quite awhile to get as far as I have.
It is difficult to know where to go when I need to see something.
I do not like this new windows option. The old style was much easier to navigate.
"
Review 18 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lala

Looove! For the most part

Date:12 May 2014
"Okay! I LOVE my PC!
Love Windows 8!
Love the live tiles and being able to personalize.
the only con is: When I upgrade to Windows 8.1 I can NOT CONNECT TO WI-FI without a usb thumb drive. In windows 8 I can ! so Basically, There are a lot of apps that ONLY OWRK in 8.1. I feel like my pc id outdated now and I only just bought it!
I have installed and re-installed windows 8.1 at least six times and IT will not let me connect to Wi-Fi as windows 8 does. THIS IS MY ONLY PROBLEM, OTHERWISE it would be 5 stars on everything!
"
Review 19 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
whitehatter

I am still learning how to navigate it.

Date:10 May 2014
"Wow. What a new experince,I am very impressed with the Lenovo.Easier than what I expected. Thanks Lenovo"
Review 20 for Lenovo G505
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ladybird51
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8

Excellence Plus

Date:25 December 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"Got this as a Christmas present and was able to use it immediately. Lovely clear screen very impressed"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.