Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad U430p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U430p

A n affordable 15.6” Ultrabook with a long-life battery

Average customer rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
17 of 24(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U430p
Review 1 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

first computer purchase in 10 years

Date:02 January 2015
" I have been looking for a new, light weight computer with all the latest features and Lenovo was recommended by a co-worker.I checked out Web sight and was impressed with features and price. And I am happy with computer. Still learning my way around. "
Review 2 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love It!

Date:28 December 2014
" It is the but Tech buy that I have ever made.
Good job Lenovo!
"
Review 3 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this laptop!!

Date:20 December 2014
" This computer is beautiful. I love the back lit keyboard, and the screen display is the best I've seen in a personal laptop. I can run several browsers and apps simultaneously. The speakers are impressive, and the laptop is unbelievably light. I can use my laptop for an extended amount of time (4+ hours) at high power without worrying about finding a place to charge it. I don't think I've ever fallen in love with a laptop so quickly! "
Review 4 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Buy

Date:26 November 2014
" I am not a techie. Just an old guy who wanted a little smaller laptop. I thought I had bought a touch screen, but oh well. I am now getting used to Windows 8.1 and am learning to like it. Really the only issue I have is cosmetics. The metal case is slippery and I worry that I am going to drop it.. The bottom line, I really like it.. has some really nice features and I would recommend it to anyone. "
Review 5 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Mixed feelings

Date:24 November 2014
" First of all, I had to send back the two first u430p I received. The first one was wobbly (really wobbly), and I worked with the second one some days before I realized I couldn't access the BIOS. I had though enough time to form a first opinion.
Performance: with my configuration (i5 4210u, 8gb), matches my expectations (mostly for compiling).
Screen FHD LED (1920x1080): disappointing. Color are nice, but you have to be *exactly* in front of the screen to enjoy it.
Construction: poor. The laptop is very light, but also very soft. On the two computers I had, pieces did not fit perfectly.
Keyboard: I like it, but it's somehow subjective.
Other: smooth installation of Ubuntu 14.04.
Conclusion: for the price I paid, this computer is ok. I don't want to make reliability conclusions based on my experience, I just hope the third one will be flawless... "
Review 6 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Huge problem

Date:04 November 2014
" After 1 week working very well, suddenly when I wanted one day to turn it on, it said in a blue page like Dos:
"Default Boot Device Missing or Boot Failed. Insert Recovery Media and Hit any key Then Select 'Boot Manager' to choose a new Boot Device or to Boot Recovery Media"
But there isn't anything to choose, only I can click OK and then there is nothing happened!!!
I cannot use my laptop anymore!!
"
Review 7 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop, one flaw

Date:29 October 2014
" So far this seems like a solidly built, feature smart laptop. I love the backlit keyboard -- that dramatically increases the usability for me. It boots fast, runs all my major Adobe applications with ease, and is light and portable (by my standards).
But there's one significant design flaw. This computer has a touch screen. The screen is hyper sensitive to fingerprints. Even the slightest touch leaves a mark. I know this problem is surmountable: my phone (HTC One M7) has a touch screen, but unless my fingers are greasy, they don't leave a mark. I've tried installing a screen protector, and that helps, but getting it on straight, in the right position, and without bubbles is impossible.
C'mon Lenovo, make a touch screen that's actually a pleasure to use. "
Review 8 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Amazing laptop for it's value!

Date:26 October 2014
" First of all, this laptop costed me $697, and for that price I got a laptop with a 14" Full HD display, i5 processor, 8 gb sd ram, among other perks. What I had in mind when I bought this laptop was my need for a considerably light weight laptop (ultrabook, if you will) with an amazing keyboard. And that was precisely what I got! I simply love the ergonomics of this laptop. Also, I wanted this laptop for work, so what I needed was a laptop that could get my office work done -on the go- and without crashing. So far, I haven't got any complain because it's functionality are still just right for my needs. Another thing, 14" display it's just perfect for me. I previously owned an 11" laptop, which was pretty light weighted, but it didn't feel good for me when it came to writing documents or making presentations, and it had way slower performance that made me regret that purchase. Definitively, not the case with Lenovo's U430p. I highly recommend this laptop. "
Review 9 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice laptop

Date:11 October 2014
" Light & compact, good keyboard and good battery life. Miss not having a HDD activity light.
Wish it was available with Windows 7, or a choice during setup. "
Review 10 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lots of pluses, one big minus

Date:10 October 2014
" Great little Ultrabook except for the Intel 7260 wireless card. In our business environment maintaining connectivity is essential and not being able to has caused major headaches. Even with IT conferring with Intel on optimizing the cards, limiting the channels in use, etc we have still had to add USB adapters and disable the internal 7260. "
Review 11 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid laptop w/alot of nice features

Date:10 October 2014
" If you move away from the "specs" obsession, the U430p offers alot of bang for the buck. It's relatively thin and light, making it easy to transport. The keyboard is backlit, which is great, and has a nice feel and travel. I've used an 11 inch screen for so long, I've forgotten how "roomy" 14 inches feels when working on documents. The screen could be a little brighter but it is clear and has minimal glare. The battery lasts all day and the SSD cache has it booting up from sleep in seconds when I pop the hood, with hardly any battery drain. Once I figured out how to make Windows 8 work and feel like Windows 7, this has become my favorite computers in my small fleet. Couldn't be happier!! "
Review 12 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay - made a mistake in purchasing

Date:10 October 2014
" I admit it - I made an error when I purchased this laptop. I completely missed the fact that nowhere on the lenovo site describing this computer does it say "touchscreen." I (foolishly) didn't look for it because the lenovo U430 I looked at at Best Buy WAS a touchscreen - it never occurred to me that some members of the same model number family would have a touchscreen while others don't.
Oops.
That being said, I absolutely LOVE the hybrid drive and the speed at which the computer responds on start up or from stand by. It is positively incredible and it (to a substantial degree) makes up for the fact that this is not a touch screen. The battery life is also great - it sips power (rather than gulp it) unlike it's predecessor
I will always have buyers remorse for not getting the touch screen, and I have learned an obnoxious lesson about buying from the web, where I can't touch the thing - but that will be (somewhat) tempered by the fact that it is ridiculously fast when it wakes up. "
Review 13 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

decent for the price

Date:08 October 2014
" windows 8 is not a great experience.... especially on a non-touch screen. I went for the bait of a lower price and took the non-touch option. I quite dont like it. "
Review 14 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent piece

Date:05 October 2014
" the start and stop time are good and fast. Piece looks like a cherry. no issue till date. "
Review 15 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

the machine is fine

Date:12 September 2014
" Windows 8 is annoying, you should put in win7 as an option, other than that the machine is fine so far. "
Review 16 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for typing

Date:01 September 2014
" My uses for this computer are writing books and doing research related to them.
The computer has a great keyboard for typing and works well. The speed is a little slower than my other computers, but exactly what I expected.
Its light weight and fun color add to the pleasure of owning it.
This computer is exactly what I needed and I use it everyday. "
Review 17 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

don't like the mouse

Date:28 August 2014
" so, I use mine purely for Microsoft Word and it is the only thing I installed.
pros: battery life, light weight, looks good, price
con: mouse is horrible, I had to install my own usb mouse, don't like the keypad mouse, it is not smooth or consistent and I feel like I have to put pressure to make it move accurately, don't know if there is a way to adjust it.
by the way, sign up for their email and you will get a coupon in your email. "
Review 18 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good laptop

Date:19 August 2014
" I am very pleased with this laptop.
Pros:
--very long battery life (I've gotten 7 hours of intermittent use)
--very fast operating and start-up/shut-down
--sleek and light
--comfortable keyboard
Cons:
--no disc drive
--Windows 8 does not suit a non-touch device well, but I've had great success with installing a program to make it run like Windows 7
--no separate keys on the touch pad can make for awkward controlling on occasion
"
Review 19 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

still not sure

Date:02 August 2014
" getting to know my Lenovo , I am finding it is slow at times, downloaded google and chrome twice and they don't open. When I click on link in FB it takes me to the desktop home page and doesn't open.
Hoping it's my just my ignorence of my new computer and I will adjust.
"
Review 20 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

does what i expected

Date:10 June 2014
" Decent looking laptop. Don't expect high performance. Does everyday tasks just fine "