Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo G505s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo G505s

Affordable 15.6” notebook powered by AMD

Average customer rating:
4.439 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
1
49 of 57(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo G505s
Review 1 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Really pleased !!!

Date:17 December 2014
" Two or three years ago, we purchased a Z570 and are still using it with pleasure. When the time came that our old Acer bit the dust, it was natural to look again to Lenovo. Our new G505s is a great machine and I'm looking forward to using both laptops for along time.
I particularly enjoy the feel of the keyboard which is not always a comfort on some laptops. Also the double Function key (Fn) is a very useful tool.
Thanks again! "
Review 2 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Nice computer, poor keyboard

Date:13 October 2014
" I have had no issues with the computer and its features but I really have to say it has been the worst keyboard I have ever used. I consistently have to re-strike the keyboard to have it connect and end up back spacing a lot to fix keyboard errors/missed strokes. Hard to recommend a good computer when that is the main issue.
I use a Lenovo at work and it has a great keyboard.
"
Review 3 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great laptop.

Date:10 October 2014
" I purchased this laptop about a year ago and so far I am very satisfied. I haven't had any issues with it. Plays decent graphic games, no issues running multiple programs, good battery life (around 4-5 hours depending on usage), decent camera, big screen and sleek design. This laptop is a good work laptop, as it doesn't mind being thrown in a backpack and being shook around. This laptop has even had a fall or two with no consequences. The speakers are typical of a laptop and make sure vent holes are uncovered when in heavy use. The only mistake was getting one with Windows 8 on it. If you're not getting a touchscreen machine; don't get windows 8! Stick with 7 if the option is available. So far so good Lenovo! Lets see how this baby does over the next couple years! "
Review 4 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good not great

Date:06 October 2014
" This lap top is pretty fast, which is good. The CPU, AMD not Intel, and 6 of RAM are a nice combo. Windows 8 was better with the upgrade to 8.1 which allows me to only use the desktop. Windows 8 is a waste on a non touch machine. It seems fairly durable.
For a refurbished it seems like new. It is a little larger and heavier than I would have liked, but I needed to have a CD/DVD and they are on the way out it looks like, for laptops.
So, I say good but not great.
"
Review 5 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I Like it better than dell

Date:29 September 2014
" i love the speed and all the features that come with it "
Review 6 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great for left handed people

Date:17 September 2014
" Usually if laptops have a huge touch pad I can not use them because I am left handed! This one is just right! "
Review 7 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

My first laptop.

Date:14 September 2014
" I love my new G505s laptop. It's fast, reliable and I love it. I only wish it was a touch screen. "
Review 8 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good buy for your money!

Date:11 September 2014
" I had been using Dell laptops for several years due to affordability but my recent experience with the last one left a bad taste in my mouth. I use my laptops primarily for web browsing and gaming. After a bit of homework the Lenovo series kept ending up on affordable gaming rig lists. So I bought one and have not been disappointed.
It runs fantastically. While I cannot play some of the more higher end games, I can play a majority of the ones I want or couldn't play on my old Dell. It has great built in software to help you monitor the health of your laptop and is fast and smooth in almost every aspect. "
Review 9 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chuck

Great Deal!

Date:25 August 2014
" This computer packs a lot for the price. It has been reliable, fast and has plenty of memory. My only issues is not with the machine. It is the operating system. I despise Windows 8. "
Review 10 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flipper

I like it

Date:23 August 2014
" I'm not very computer-savvy, this model was recommended to me by a friend who's a computer-wizard, compared to me anyway. I've always had PCs so this is my first laptop. It's very fast and has been completely reliable. My only complaint is that I'm not crazy about the track pad, but I resolved that by purchasing a USB mouse for about $8. Otherwise I'm quite happy with it. "
Review 11 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daniel

Best Performance for the Money.

Date:20 August 2014
" Bought this laptop for $500 at MicroCenter, and I've been nothing but pleased with what I got for my money. It can easily handle my Quickbooks (a system resource hog on my old laptop), but with Crossfired Radeon graphics cards, HDMI port, and a quad-core APU, this baby is even capable of moderate gaming. The only upgrade I made was to add a couple of gigs of RAM ($50). Highly recommend this laptop. "
Review 12 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RFish

Very good value

Date:15 August 2014
" I've only had the laptop for a couple of days but I really enjoy it. It does everything I need it to do and more. I really like the way it looks and I enjoy the way the keyboard feels. I've been able to run League of legends and Diablo 3 (for any gamers) no problem. The problems that I had with it (not a very a major problem) is the amount of time it took to setup and the laptop is a little slow on startup. "
Review 13 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yellowjacket

So far excellent

Date:15 August 2014
" Got the G505s as I no longer have highly demanding computer requirements but still want decent speed and storage. I got both in this unit. I have only had it a few days and have migrated a large amount of data from my former machine. All functions are working better than expected. It is quick. Complaints I have read about the display just aren't an issue at all. Upgrading to Windows 8.1 was the best decision as it delivers everything in a manner that is both accessible, intuitive and convenient. Any limitations I have run up against have mainly to do with me and not the G505s. So far it has behaved flawlessly. While the keyboard is not up to the standard of the Thinkpads, I didn't expect it to be for such a reasonable price and being a budget computer to boot. It meets my needs and beyond. It is the everyman/woman machine. "
Review 14 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheFireBringer

First laptop I've bought the best laptop I've used

Date:22 July 2014
" vary fast laptop better then most for the price and good for gaming! would recommend for anyone who is looking for a good buy that's not to expensive "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hunter2

Quality computer

Date:18 July 2014
" Good product. keyboard feels good (in my opinion, others have stated that it feels cheap/ flexible). CD tray does feel weak, be careful with it. Came with a mind-numbing amount of bloatware.
Got mine with the 1TB HDD, but am switching to a 240 Gig SSD. I mention that because accessing the hard drive is exceptionally easy and quick (3 screws). Also, boot speeds are surprisingly fast (windows 8), even with a HDD.
WORD OF WARNGING: don't mess with the battery control settings from Lenovo. Was trying stuff out, accidentally put it to a mode where it always said "plugged in, not charging" and it took me forever to figure out what the problem was. "
Review 16 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fishslayah

Worst laptop EVER!!

Date:09 July 2014
" I took the advice of my wife's co-worker at Staples and purchased a Lenovo G505S. The first one wouldn't stay on (even though it was plugged into the outlet) long enough for me to complete the set up. The second one (a replacement for the first) also randomly shuts down - often while I'm in the middle of typing - then it doesn't return me to the screen I was last on 99% of the time. When I bought the laptop with the thought of using it at my workplace to program heating and cooling systems, I needed something RELIABLE. Since I also bought Square Trade for this, I'm apt to return this to them and get my money back toward a different company's product. "
Review 17 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alan

great laptop for price

Date:06 July 2014
" i have had his laptop for about 2 weeks now and so far i have no problems and am quite pleased. i researched for a long time to decide which laptop i wanted. it needed to be cheap as i am headed to college but i also wanted it to be able to handle some gaming. i dont play a ton but every once in a while i play skyrm or call of duty block ops 2. this laptop has done with everything that i have wanted. and was expecting. it runs all the games i have just fine. it does run a little warm when gaming but i just keep an eye on it and have a cooling mat coming in the mail. most laptops get warm while gaming. i would recommend this laptop to anybody who is looking for a fast but cheap laptop. "
Review 18 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robin

Gift

Date:03 July 2014
" Still learning the new system 8.1 but it works well so far. The only negative to date is regarding e-mail. I have two different e-mail addresses and it will only allow me to use one. "
Review 19 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sjm3

G505s Notebook

Date:24 June 2014
" Good features all around. Good value. It does run a little hot. "
Review 20 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chris

A Good Buy!

Date:19 June 2014
" I'd be the first to admit that I was a little skeptic about buying a computer from a company that I wouldn't normally think of when shopping. After a little shopping around, I realized that it was the best (and more cost effective) option than it's Intel counterparts. Very Satisfied! "