Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo G505s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo G505s

Affordable 15.6” notebook powered by AMD

Average customer rating:
4.386 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
1
37 of 44(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo G505s
Review 1 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheFireBringer

First laptop I've bought the best laptop I've used

Date:22 July 2014
"vary fast laptop better then most for the price and good for gaming! would recommend for anyone who is looking for a good buy that's not to expensive"
Review 2 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hunter2

Quality computer

Date:18 July 2014
"Good product. keyboard feels good (in my opinion, others have stated that it feels cheap/ flexible). CD tray does feel weak, be careful with it. Came with a mind-numbing amount of bloatware.
Got mine with the 1TB HDD, but am switching to a 240 Gig SSD. I mention that because accessing the hard drive is exceptionally easy and quick (3 screws). Also, boot speeds are surprisingly fast (windows 8), even with a HDD.
WORD OF WARNGING: don't mess with the battery control settings from Lenovo. Was trying stuff out, accidentally put it to a mode where it always said "plugged in, not charging" and it took me forever to figure out what the problem was."
Review 3 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fishslayah

Worst laptop EVER!!

Date:09 July 2014
"I took the advice of my wife's co-worker at Staples and purchased a Lenovo G505S. The first one wouldn't stay on (even though it was plugged into the outlet) long enough for me to complete the set up. The second one (a replacement for the first) also randomly shuts down - often while I'm in the middle of typing - then it doesn't return me to the screen I was last on 99% of the time. When I bought the laptop with the thought of using it at my workplace to program heating and cooling systems, I needed something RELIABLE. Since I also bought Square Trade for this, I'm apt to return this to them and get my money back toward a different company's product."
Review 4 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alan

great laptop for price

Date:06 July 2014
"i have had his laptop for about 2 weeks now and so far i have no problems and am quite pleased. i researched for a long time to decide which laptop i wanted. it needed to be cheap as i am headed to college but i also wanted it to be able to handle some gaming. i dont play a ton but every once in a while i play skyrm or call of duty block ops 2. this laptop has done with everything that i have wanted. and was expecting. it runs all the games i have just fine. it does run a little warm when gaming but i just keep an eye on it and have a cooling mat coming in the mail. most laptops get warm while gaming. i would recommend this laptop to anybody who is looking for a fast but cheap laptop."
Review 5 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robin

Gift

Date:03 July 2014
"Still learning the new system 8.1 but it works well so far. The only negative to date is regarding e-mail. I have two different e-mail addresses and it will only allow me to use one."
Review 6 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sjm3

G505s Notebook

Date:24 June 2014
"Good features all around. Good value. It does run a little hot."
Review 7 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chris

A Good Buy!

Date:19 June 2014
"I'd be the first to admit that I was a little skeptic about buying a computer from a company that I wouldn't normally think of when shopping. After a little shopping around, I realized that it was the best (and more cost effective) option than it's Intel counterparts. Very Satisfied!"
Review 8 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gebberoo

Good Value Laptop

Date:12 June 2014
"When I bought the Laptop it wasn't the shiniest, fastest laptop out there but for the price it was well worth it. The A8 processor and graphics card work well for light gaming.
Run a video game (League of Legends) on it regularly on low detail and works great. Fast hard drive load speed in game and steady frame rate. (could probably up the graphics but I would rather have it run flawlessly all the time)
Sometimes seems like it freezes (1-2 seconds) upon opening a new program, but I normally have other programs open in the background.
Fast start up time with Windows 8; it is non-touch but have it start at desktop (normal windows) start up each time.
Keyboard is just a tiny bit different than a standard keyboard, takes a little time to get use to. Still mishit keys a bit, especially the delete and backspace key. But its a Laptop and compact.
Good battery life for web surfing"
Review 9 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nikkelz

great laptop

Date:10 June 2014
"bought this for my 8 year old son in march and after all the games i bought him,he's still very happy with his laptop"
Review 10 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Atrium

its pretty good

Date:07 June 2014
"I'm not the biggest gamer in the world,but it has played all of the games I've bought....all but 1 it has played perfectly.Its everything i need in a computer fast online and off windows 8 takes alot of flack but when you get use to it it's not too bad,overall i think its a good PC its everything i need with some of the specs that i want."
Review 11 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clodtech

Amazing

Date:04 June 2014
"This is my second laptop purchased from Lenovo, and just like my first purchase it is also Amazing! They're both dependable and reliable work horses."
Review 12 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tinroof

Excellent Computer

Date:03 June 2014
"The AMD A10 quad-core is blazing fast and handles multitasking with ease. It has 6 GB RAM and more memory than you'll probably ever need. It's the perfect hybrid if you want the features of a 17" class computer with the weight, battery life and portability of a 15" class."
Review 13 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
henry

great deal

Date:02 June 2014
"Fast and reliable. Excellent machine"
Review 14 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wils

Great Purchase

Date:01 June 2014
"I have enjoyed my Lenovo for the past 2 months. The keyboard positioning took a little getting used to. I have enjoyed the features and the programs and the performance of the computer.
My one complaint is the battery life, depending on what I'm doing it can drain quickly.
Overall I am very satisfied with my Lenovo."
Review 15 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jimmie

G505S

Date:01 June 2014
"I get bombarded with adds that I have to delete and uninstall."
Review 16 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
James

Excellent system

Date:31 May 2014
"I have owned various different systems during my life and Lenovo is by far one of the best."
Review 17 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sirrmat000

Fantastic Laptop

Date:31 May 2014
"I did days worth of research to find the best laptop for me. As a high school senior getting ready to enter into my first year of college, getting my first laptop was a little daunting. After browsing around, the G505s from Lenovo kept showing itself up in the top lists, every website and blog praising it for being more powerful yet cheaper than your average laptop. I decided to get it, and after using it for a few months now, I don't regret a single thing about my purchase."
Review 18 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
madness

more than worth the money

Date:31 May 2014
"I bought it for school but since gotten into online gaming and the A10 handles demanding games surprisingly well ... with some of the settings turned down of course. ff14 has seen hundred plus hours in the last two weeks. g505s never showed it was working. as long as u keep it off your lap. excellent buy !"
Review 19 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chewbacca60

Awesome

Date:31 May 2014
"Previous laptop was a MSI 17" gamer , with dedicated graphics card . That computer would Not run several newer games including Witcher 2 and MOH Warfighter . This Laptop Does and without glitches . On Sale , was less than $400 .
It Also is Not loaded with Bloatware as many computers and laptops are . Any unwanted software is easily removed without hassles .
Although windows 8 is installed , screen is not a touch screen , But I actually did not want that feature and 8 is pretty easy to learn . Sure it is a little different , but as with every version , you learn it ."
Review 20 for Lenovo G505s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
staceywilder

new laptop

Date:30 May 2014
"I have found this laptop to be about average In part because I had to go to a smaller screen. I find that the one touch recovery is hard to update. The Lenovo accutype keyboared is however awsome making it somewhat easier to type with you less likely to hit the wrong key. I also find the graphics for a "normal" user (ie no hd video games as I don't play them I can't comment) excellent as well as the dolby souround sound."