Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo Y510p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo Y510p

A 15.6” gaming and multimedia powerhouse

Average customer rating:
4.175 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (103 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
39
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
7
87 of 103(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo Y510p
Review 1 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

where to start..

Date:25 April 2015
" i love the way it looks, not one complaint there. As far as performance...its just not there. The computer struggles with the most basic games on medium settings while plugged in. I had a acer for four years before this and figured how can this not be an upgrade....i was wrong. Also another big complaint is the wireless card does not support 5ghz wifi... my nexus tablet does...my 2 year old phone does... my toaster probably does. Also i usually give up trying to browse on wifi because it will randomly drop. Give up and just use my tablet. The battery life is meh but didnt expect much. The mouse pad is terrible. It will randomly decide to not let you scroll down and up until you restart. I should of looked into returning but never needed had the time and or effort but regret it now. Maybe i got a melon but disappointment doesn't really sum up my feelings. "
Review 2 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent for the price

Date:24 December 2014
" I got this as a bit of a bargain gaming laptop, and it performs quite well. There are some minor CPU heating issues as far as I can tell. The finish on the computer does make any dust seem quite apparent.
There is also the keys seem to... fade after some time. My shift key currently has a large red spot on it where the black finish has worn off, for instance. That is cosmetic, and does not concern me much.
Overall, its good, and I am going to recommend it for people who are looking for a good semi-gaming laptop in this price range! :D
"
Review 3 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good system

Date:26 November 2014
" This system works like a charm. It does everything I need it to do and more. It is good for gaming and everything else. The only problem I have is that lenovo system update is not working. It says that there are no applicable packages yet when I go online, it says there are a lot of updates. This needs to be fixed as soon as possible. Thank you! "
Review 4 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Buy

Date:23 October 2014
" This computer is excellent with the only downside being the battery life. With Asphalt 8 running on a fully charged battery I only get an hour before it dies. Somewhat disappointing for a $1100 computer. Other than that its great. "
Review 5 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

lenovo y series purchase from amizon.

Date:16 October 2014
" Windows preinstall had low level corruption affecting performance. Laptop was a optimal for price however no recovery cds were with purchase. No option to create recovery disks without purchase of cd/dvdr expansion because of dule graphics cards "
Review 6 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop for the price.

Date:30 September 2014
" The dual SLI means I can throw just about anything at it and it doesn't blink. It does however get pretty hot. I purchased a large cooler for it to sit on that connects to the USB port and it still gets hot. Also the hybrid drive is great! I'd prefer this over a true ssd since I use this to game and need the storage. I wish however that replacing the HD didn't void your warranty since it's pretty easy to do. "
Review 7 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth the research!!

Date:17 September 2014
" I wanted to purchase a gaming laptop since my mid-range laptop was getting slightly outdated. I researched the top 5 gaming laptops under a grand and I saw this one on the list. So I began researching all of its specifications, RAM, CPU, and saw that it was a high end gaming laptop. I purchased the SLI version of this laptop and I'm very impressed so far with the performance and handling of this beast.
I did have a little trouble with the touchpad, but searching in the forums helped me with that.
So in the end, this laptop has specs that are very good for it's price.
"
Review 8 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Product

Date:13 September 2014
" This is the second laptop that I have purchased from Lenovo. The laptops were purchase for both of my children who are in college. Both of them found the laptops perfect for school, great internet surfing, and also game playing. I would recommend Lenovo to any person.
Thank you,
Guy
"
Review 9 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I should be arrested for robbery

Date:15 August 2014
" My model: y510p with 16GB RAM, 1TB HDD + 24GB SSHD, NVIDIA GeForce GT755M 2GB SLI
This laptop was a fantastic deal. You cannot get this much power in a nice-looking and well-made machine for this price. The components are incredibly fast, with the mammoth amount of RAM more than anyone would need and ranking this PC in the 98th percentile on SystemRequirementsLab's Rank My Computer. The middle-class GT 755M becomes an upper class (check out notebookcheck.com) when combined with a second GPU in SLI configuration. SLI tech is much better these days and is consistently faster than ATI's variant. I can run Skyrim in ultra with no lag, and every game I've thrown at it so far can either run maxed out or close to it. The screen is a beauty, too. Crisp, easy to read, not taxing on the eyes. The hard drive is the one downside, and is a bit slow, but I installed some stuff to the SSD. The keys are fantastic and the backlight is great to show off. For the price, this laptop is a steal.
"
Review 10 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding

Date:31 July 2014
" This is my second Lenovo laptop and I must say that they outdid themselves again. The ThinkPad T410 was already terrific and now the IdeaPad Y510 is just even better. Very powerful, very fast, not too big, not too small. It doesn't get too warm when playing games and such. The screen display is unbelievably beautiful and is perfect if you're a movie person or gaming person. I played my golf video game on this PC and the display is outstanding. The speakers are also some of the best you'll ever hear. The audio is one of the most powerful features on this PC and I love it. I was skeptical about Windows 8 at first but after trying out the Windows 8.1 update on this machine which was already installed, I really do love it. You still get to do the same things like a Windows 7 but the start button is beautiful and full of unique features such as a very cool and beautiful search engine, apps such as game apps, music apps, reading apps, etc and this PC handles it all!! Great for work too!! "
Review 11 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Such a disappointment

Date:25 July 2014
" This will be in bullet points:
+Relatively expensive laptop
+Looks nice
+Feels good
+/-Windows 8.1 (you decide!)
+Keyboard!
-Touchpad
-Support for Touchpad issue
-Fact that one fix appears to be installing drivers for a Toshiba!
-No Online Chat to resolve
-No normal rate number to discuss issue
-Touchpad only works when configured for 'corpse sensitivity', even then very jittery
-Issue appears to be ongoing and unresolved.
Would consider trying a different laptop if this had happened after a years hard use. Definitely not interested when issue appears out of the box
In summary, only buy if you're happy to spend a grand on a defective product with windows 8.1 pre-installed. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

One Solid Purchase

Date:18 July 2014
" My son (a gamer) bought one of these and loved it. I don't game but wanted the speed. So I bought one. I owned a previous Lenovo laptop for nearly ten years and am expecting the same quality out of this one. Six months later, so far so good. The only issues I have is the bloatware that comes with it (removed most of it); the extra sensitive touchpad and associated clunky mouse buttons (still working with it); and the sharp edge around the top of the surface that cuts into my wrists (living with it). I love the backlit keyboard which I have needed on occasion. I stream sporting events through this beast and am happy to report that the source stream is my limiting factor; not my computer nor my internet connection. Happy Camper. "
Review 13 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

performance laptop

Date:18 July 2014
" fast, high performance almost faultless. if i'm being niggly the trackpad could be improved. This is a great performance laptop and will most games at there highest settings "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great PC but shipping was horribly bad

Date:13 July 2014
" Before anything, the computer is great but shipping for me atleast took over one month (just throwing that out there). Now, I really like the computer for the specs it has. I feel i could have dedicated buttons at the least for the volume and the lighting of the keyboard. I bought the model with single gpu and when you game that gets hot. I feel that they should have put the dvd drive on the left side of the laptop and the gpu on the right since your moving keys are on the hottest part of the computer. I feel the msata it brings is completely useless since windows comes pre-installed in the 5400 hdd and the msata is no large enough to fit the entire OS. Besides those things this computer is really good and I do recommend it to anyone looking for a budget gaming laptop. I only hope you do get a good shipping service. "
Review 15 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

dont buy it for gaming on steam

Date:13 July 2014
" if you buy alot of game on steam only 2-out-of-a-1000 you will play the game without lag but for going on webs fast and easy it is a good one but buy it from places like (pcworld or curry) like for a 899.99 to 1,400 pounds
its good but not good on steam! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Waste of $1100

Date:08 July 2014
" I returned the xbox one and purchased this "gaming" laptop for my son... this is anything but a gaming computer. Half of the game purchased from steam can not be opened nevermind played, & the ones that can be played lag so bad that the games cant even be played. Biggest waste of $1100... "
Review 17 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Purchase

Date:07 July 2014
" Solid computer with a lot of power for the price. Some features that seem a little un-necessary like the ability to start the computer up in compatibility mode being a separate option. I am sure I will use this option one day for an obscure reason but it could reduce the price to leave it off. Other than that it is a little thick and heavy putting it more in the desktop replacement category even if it is 15.6 inch monitor. "
Review 18 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice machine - a few issues.

Date:07 July 2014
" Well protected when it arrived (it took almost a month from the order date to arrive). Everything appeared to work - I was happy. Until, I tried to use the USB 3.0 ports! Windows 8.1 drivers do NOT appear to work properly. After some research, it seems that this is a common problem with 8.1 machines. I am happy with the machine. If you depend on USB 3.0 ports - NOT ready for prime time! "
Review 19 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best purchase ever

Date:04 July 2014
" this is my second laptop i ever bought and i absolutely love it, i use it for school, work and gaming and i never felt happier about anything i ever bought before. "
Review 20 for Lenovo Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Google laptop in overall, but with bad touchpad

Date:03 July 2014
" Pros:
- Performance
- Screen (not best in the class, but very good)
- Build quality
- Value for money
Cons:
- The touchpad buttons are pressed very deep and very loud
- Laptop heats up under the left hand
"