Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Y510p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p

A 15.6” gaming and multimedia powerhouse

Average customer rating:
4.207 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
36
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
6
78 of 92(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y510p
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ReturningLevonoBuyer

One Solid Purchase

Date:18 July 2014
"My son (a gamer) bought one of these and loved it. I don't game but wanted the speed. So I bought one. I owned a previous Lenovo laptop for nearly ten years and am expecting the same quality out of this one. Six months later, so far so good. The only issues I have is the bloatware that comes with it (removed most of it); the extra sensitive touchpad and associated clunky mouse buttons (still working with it); and the sharp edge around the top of the surface that cuts into my wrists (living with it). I love the backlit keyboard which I have needed on occasion. I stream sporting events through this beast and am happy to report that the source stream is my limiting factor; not my computer nor my internet connection. Happy Camper."
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beltandeath

performance laptop

Date:18 July 2014
"fast, high performance almost faultless. if i'm being niggly the trackpad could be improved. This is a great performance laptop and will most games at there highest settings"
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Josh

Great PC but shipping was horribly bad

Date:13 July 2014
"Before anything, the computer is great but shipping for me atleast took over one month (just throwing that out there). Now, I really like the computer for the specs it has. I feel i could have dedicated buttons at the least for the volume and the lighting of the keyboard. I bought the model with single gpu and when you game that gets hot. I feel that they should have put the dvd drive on the left side of the laptop and the gpu on the right since your moving keys are on the hottest part of the computer. I feel the msata it brings is completely useless since windows comes pre-installed in the 5400 hdd and the msata is no large enough to fit the entire OS. Besides those things this computer is really good and I do recommend it to anyone looking for a budget gaming laptop. I only hope you do get a good shipping service."
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jhon

dont buy it for gaming on steam

Date:13 July 2014
"if you buy alot of game on steam only 2-out-of-a-1000 you will play the game without lag but for going on webs fast and easy it is a good one but buy it from places like (pcworld or curry) like for a 899.99 to 1,400 pounds
its good but not good on steam!"
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JJBean

Waste of $1100

Date:08 July 2014
"I returned the xbox one and purchased this "gaming" laptop for my son... this is anything but a gaming computer. Half of the game purchased from steam can not be opened nevermind played, & the ones that can be played lag so bad that the games cant even be played. Biggest waste of $1100..."
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
codecracker2

Great Purchase

Date:07 July 2014
"Solid computer with a lot of power for the price. Some features that seem a little un-necessary like the ability to start the computer up in compatibility mode being a separate option. I am sure I will use this option one day for an obscure reason but it could reduce the price to leave it off. Other than that it is a little thick and heavy putting it more in the desktop replacement category even if it is 15.6 inch monitor."
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GVanM

Nice machine - a few issues.

Date:07 July 2014
"Well protected when it arrived (it took almost a month from the order date to arrive). Everything appeared to work - I was happy. Until, I tried to use the USB 3.0 ports! Windows 8.1 drivers do NOT appear to work properly. After some research, it seems that this is a common problem with 8.1 machines. I am happy with the machine. If you depend on USB 3.0 ports - NOT ready for prime time!"
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
prodigy

best purchase ever

Date:04 July 2014
"this is my second laptop i ever bought and i absolutely love it, i use it for school, work and gaming and i never felt happier about anything i ever bought before."
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tasadar

Google laptop in overall, but with bad touchpad

Date:03 July 2014
"Pros:
- Performance
- Screen (not best in the class, but very good)
- Build quality
- Value for money
Cons:
- The touchpad buttons are pressed very deep and very loud
- Laptop heats up under the left hand
"
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dirtryder

Very Impressive

Date:02 July 2014
"The parts on this computer are incredible for the price, and the overall look of the case is great, brushed black all the way around. The keyboard is beautiful, with the red backlights on every key and the black around it, overall very happy with the purchase."
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
johnny

perfect for gaming

Date:30 June 2014
"Got this beast when it was on sale for 899 and its the best computer I've owned I did a lot of researching for a cheap gaming laptop but there aren't many out there with luck I found this laptop for 500 dollars off! The version I bought came with just the single graphics card but still runs almost all games on high settings with little to no lagg at all the i7 backs the machine up with plenty of power to run just about everything! the track pad isn't the best but if you have a mouse then who really cares. Keyboard looks amazing and the screen and speakers are amazing!! This computer is great and would recommend it to anyone. I read the negative reviews on this laptop and I haven't experienced a single thing wrong with the computer besides a not perfect trackpad. Great computer defintetly a good purchase"
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thomie

Bad product

Date:25 June 2014
"10 days after I bought it, it gave blue screens. I sent if for repair. Then I got the same problem twice! In total 3 times my laptop was not functioning in 3 months time.. Terrible experience."
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amyk

Lenovo y510 review

Date:25 June 2014
"Overall this is a great machine, the only reason I did not give 5* on performance is bc of the heat it produces when in use is rather excessive. However, I got a cooling pad for it and now the heat is no longer an issue. Great product!"
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AwesomeNance

one of the best systems I've used

Date:25 June 2014
"Great computer! I love it"
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FMN84

IdeaPad Y510p

Date:24 June 2014
"I bought this laptop for as an affordable gaming laptop. It has performed well in that regard. I am not a big fan of the trackpad, but it is does the job. My only gripe is that it when unplugged the laptop defaults to the Intel graphic processor and not the Nvidia. Even when I change the power or graphics settings the frame rates are slow if it is not plugged into a power source. It can get a little hot, but overall I am happy with it."
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Major001

Good laptop

Date:24 June 2014
"Everything about the laptop is great. the interface is a little tricky to get used to but that's just the integration of windows 8. Great laptop. Terrible customer service to get it tho."
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
stokeus87

y510p

Date:20 June 2014
"My only complaint is, sometimes when I'm gaming it will activate the left mouse button for no reason. I've even changed the mouse. It still does it. Not sure why."
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bill

Perfect

Date:18 June 2014
"I was looking for a Graphic Design PC and the Y510 p was on sale for $500 off. This thing is a beast. I had photoshop, illustrator, and the internet all open (with multiple open windows) and no lag. A tough design--so gamers can slam it around--also means that I can use this as a mobile workstation without babying it. I don't mind the case, which some have said picks up fingerprints. One gripe is the track pad. Feels cheap where the rest of the computer is rock solid. (Luckily, I'm almost always using a wireless mouse.) Screen is excellent. My only other complaint is Windows 8 but I don't blame Lenovo for that. I'm really impressed with the performance and speed and I'm thrilled with my purchase."
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MeggieG

By far the best budget gaming laptop you can buy.

Date:15 June 2014
"I've had this laptop for a month now so and I love it! It's super fast, plays all the high end games at max settings. I love all the features like the light up keyboard and the built in dust remover. Overall it's just an extremely great laptop that's perfect for gaming and for the price, it's practically a steal. This laptop holds up it's own against the high end PC I built from scratch. I can play Skyrim (which granted, is an older game now but still) at max settings and I get ~100 FPS.
My only complaint is the wifi adapter built into it (which to be fair is by intel, not lenovo) is a little buggy sometimes. That's why I took one point off in reliability. I would just recommend getting a wifi adapter that you can plug into a USB drive.
But still, I would recommend this laptop strongly if you're looking for a nice gaming laptop for a great price."
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y510p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CuongNguyen

Excellent overall laptop

Date:13 June 2014
"Best all around laptop and a serious gaming machine . Solidly built with aluminum casing and slim enough. Not having the touch screen is a big blessing. Came with Windows 8.1 but after 2 months of use I changed to Win 7 Ultimate. Replaced the HD with a 1TB SSD and with the 24GB SSD cache drive this machine kills! This is i7 Quad/16GB/SLI with windows performance index 7.6/7.8/7.9/7.9/7.9 out of 7.9 (very respectable). Hardware-wise this machine is solid and capable. The touchpad can be improved (compare to Apple MBP). Not accurate and sensitive. Having 4 USB ports would be better instead of 3 (the powered one is good to have). Locations of the USB port & audio/mic inputs should be move toward the rear side as they get in the way of mouse usa. The polish/coating materials are sensitive to finger prints. Battery life is decent, screen is super bright (nicer than many other laptop but not on par with Apple MBP retina). Red highlighted keyboards are really cool. Not heavy."