Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T430 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T430

14” powerhouse with productivity-ready features & leading wireless options.

Average customer rating:
4.186 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
3
57 of 70(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T430
Review 1 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

worth every dime

Date:20 January 2015
" I absolutely hate spending money on laptops. Being that the usual life expectancy is 3-4 years tops, it makes it almost pointless to actually spend good money for a good product when youre going to be doing it again in such a short time.This laptop works like it did the day I got it, and shows no sign of slowing. I easily expect to have it for 6-8 years. I doubt I'll ever shop for computers from any other company. Thankfully some companies still make things well as opposed to just making things that sell. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent Laptop!

Date:05 January 2015
" It is an excellent laptop, extra battery and performance is very good. Very versatile and dynamic. I recommend everyone use the Lenovo laptop, will not be disappointed. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Computer!

Date:05 January 2015
" I got this computer for College and it is absolutely awesome! My Dad has used ThinkPad's since the early 2000's and they have always proved to be durable and long lasting, not to mention able to take a beating. It has easily handled all I could throw at it from graphics intensive games to long essay writing. Battery life is great with the 9 cell battery I can get between 6-9 hours of work done or 4-5 hours of gaming. the keyboard is good although former ThinkPad users will know that the old one was better. the ThinkLight is very useful when trying not to disturb your roommate or seat partner on an airplane. It gets a little warm after more than an hour or so of intense gaming but that is to be expected from any laptop. Highly recommend the upgrade to NVIDA Graphics and the 9 cell battery. If looking at a New ThinkPad T series either wait for the T450 or buy one of these excellent T430's. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

T430S

Date:06 December 2014
" I have had my T430s for ~1year.
USAGE: For work
PROS: The extra bright backlight is great for outdoors. nice LCD, battery life is good, keyboard backlight. replacing CD/DVD with battery is a big plus when traveling.
CONS: Touch pad freezes. Plastic is brittle compared to the older Lenovo products . I notice some wifi compatibility issues. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yang

T430 <3

Date:02 August 2014
" I am a dead thinkpad fan now. I will keep using this until I die.
The design is so sexy I'd prefer 2 thinkpad over 2 wives. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AliLotfi

Professional choice

Date:02 July 2014
" In more than 10 months I used this product, I never feel any problem with it
Sometimes it's features are UNBELIEVABLE!
You could really rely on it, everywhere every time
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chale

Good machine all round

Date:02 May 2014
" I acquired this computer from someone who got it from another guy who had used it for a couple of years! I love the keyboard in terms of the tactile experience of the keys but the re-(dys)arrangement of the keys from a standard keyboard is not helpful. My biggest concern is the fact that the computer doesnt seem to connect with a data projector. I have tried in three different situations but could not get it to communicate with a projector. Is this a defect in my laptop or is it a design iisue? Please help! "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fbp123

13 Hour battery life? (NOT)

Date:01 May 2014
" This is a descent laptop and consistent with expectations for a Lenovo product. Over the past two years it has been reliable, performance good and more than sufficient for my purposes.
One of the things that drew me to this model was the alleged 13 hour battery life.
I ordered the largest battery they offer, which ungraciously pokes out the back, instead of the more common bump on the bottom.
Fiddling with the power settings does not help a lot.
Lenovo claims great battery life on this unit, yet it has never lasted 4:00 hours and working hard will deplete the oversize battery in a about 2 hours. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ThinkpadGeek
Owned Product:7-12 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not the old IBM thinkpad we knew and loved

Date:24 March 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Durability
" This is a decent laptop. But if you thought you were buying a modern replacement for the old IBM Thinkpad you will be disappointed. The old keyboard is gone; the new chicklet keyboard has mediocre feel. The build quality is down some too. Holding the laptop in one hand causes the chassis to flex enough so the CD tray pops out. Thank goodness they still have the TrackStick!
If Lenovo comes out with a future T-series with the old keyboard, keeps the TrackStick, and goes back to the old build quality, I will be the first in line to buy it. Otherwise, it become just another business class laptop. Nothing to distinguish it from the pack. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JEFF
Owned Product:13-18 months

SCREEN DEAD AFTER 13 MONTHS USING

Date:21 March 2014
" SCREEN DEAD AFTER 13 MONTHS USING.DO NOT BUY IT. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
computerguy
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Best choice ever

Date:17 March 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
" I use to have a dell inspiron 1720. It is a 7 year old computer that sucks in this day in age. When I got this new laptop I was surprised on how fast It is. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mexikaner
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not as good as they make them out to be.

Date:07 March 2014
Cons: Battery, Build Quality, Display performance
" Honestly I was expecting something good when I first got this brand new Lenovo T430, especially being a ThinkPad. But I was surprised to see that these computers are very cheap compared to my MacBook Pro which I've had for past 5 years. I mean come on... the A key broke off within 2 weeks of using this computer!... Would never buy another Lenovo product ever again. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Edward
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Thinkpad, as always

Date:02 December 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Weight
" Thinkpad series always has the best quality among different PCs and even Macs, including this model. Everything wents great on the first day except I'm a little bit unaccustomed to the new keyboard setting. I love the old keyboard setting, and that's one major reason I chose Thinkpad again. This new keyboard model is weird to use at first. Yes, it's weird. I made some typo mistakes at first because its difference from the old one. However, after 2 hours getting this model, I was completely used to it and enjoyed it a lot.
Cons: This model is heavy comparing to ultrabooks especially if you buy the 9-cell Lithium battery version, but its supreme quality and performance can cover all the immobility it has.
Wireless card is worse than Macs'
"
Review 14 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nitish
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

To much optimisation | Failed for me

Date:30 October 2013
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
" T430 is an excellent model, but then it has taken away my favorite key from the pad. The key that used to be placed b/w Alt and Ctrl in the previous version (the one that can be used as an alternative to right click). Since I am pretty equipped with shortcuts, its absence has crippled me. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tracy
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Super disappointed

Date:28 October 2013
" I am a loyal customer of Thinkpad T series, and very satisfied with my old T series laptops, T61 and T400. That's the reason why I decide to buy a new T430 which is a total disaster.
The LCD screen of the new T430 has vertical stripes when pressing the edge. The speaker makes strange noises under mid to high volume.
This is definitely my last Thinkpad laptop, and I will never recommend Thinkpad computers to my friends as I used to do.
Sooooo disappointed. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rguns
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Beast mode

Date:03 October 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage
" Might not be the most mobile or light laptop out there, but this thing can last all day on its extended battery and runs on beast mode. I got the upgraded i7 processor and graphics card. ThinkPads are made to be deployed to large companies = easy to work with and switch out parts. I've got this thing running on 16 gbs of RAM AND I switched out the stock 300gb SATA for a 225 gb SSD. This thing is stupid fast and has plenty of space. This is my first Thinkpad and I had heard about the fantastic keyboards. I originally had thought to myself... really?... what constitutes a "good" keyboard? This thing makes me more accurate and faster than any other keyboard I've ever used. Go figure right? In short, I'm sold. ThinkPads rock! "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sTEAMroller999
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Doing the twist with success

Date:21 September 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance
" I love my ThinkPad twist and do not go anywhere without it. The touch screen allows me to multitask by being able to finish up with one project while beginning another. Not wasting any time it works like magic like I expect a computer to work, above and beyond the call of duty. The windows 8 touch screen allows you to work gracefully and diligently. When you learn to get past the mistakes of the operator, you move on to adjust pressure, timing acquiring precision mechanics that will allow your work to become an orchestra of movements strumming your pc with each stroke uniquely making it yours. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
plusforce
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

It is missing an important LED for Ac adapter

Date:03 September 2013
Pros: Processor, Display resolution
Cons: Weight, no led for ac adapter, no beep for ac adapter, can not see color of battery ledit is in backside
" It has no LED for you to know that AC adapter is plugged in or not ! in the windows you can see a sign for that but if you are not in windows (The other OS or during installing OS) there is no way to understand your ac adapter is working or not ! Also it is missing that Beep when you connect AC adapter. They put a button with LED for Disable/Enable the microphone but they forgot to put any sign for AC adapter which is really disappointing for Lenovo. So just should have a power management app to see your AC Adapter and Battery status. They have eliminated LED for Capslock , I would accept it but wish they put a LED for battery and AC Adapter instead of LED for Microphone !! "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chronos
Owned Product:Just got it

Beware of the new keyboard

Date:27 August 2013
Cons: Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Durability
" Couldn't believe the bad reviews of the new keyboard until I tested myself. Currently owning also a T410.
Build quality is unchanged from the T410, as is the key travel of the new keyboard.
The new keyboard layout has no relation to the standard desktop keyboards anymore- a nighmare for touch typists. Much has been said about how bad/average the new keyboard layout is, and I'm not going to repeat it- google yourself.
Key shape: chiclet keyboards are more prone to missed keystrokes, as you're able to hit the key closer to the edge. This is unfortunately also true for the new Lenovo keyboard.
I returned the T430, and I will wait with the purchase of a new Thinkpad until Lenovo returns old keyboards, at least as an option. I invite fellow IT professionals to do the same.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kent
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Where's the FireWire???

Date:27 August 2013
" Just got the T430 and replaced my old T410. Like it a lot, but suddenly it hit me: There's no FireWire port!!! What is going on? The T530 has it but not T430... I'm lost without it. Bummer. "