Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Keyboards or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint - US English

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint - US English

Average customer rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint - US English
Review 1 for ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint - US English
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JAM7

Perfect keyboard!

Date:07 August 2014
" I have always loved the Lenovo laptop keyboards. When I decided to get a keyboard and monitor for my desk, I was thrilled to find this one. I LOVE the trackpoint (never been a track pad fan) and this is a nice compact size . .I don't need the extended, long keyboard for the work I do. So happy to have found this, and it works great! "
Review 2 for ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint - US English
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mms0

great keyboard, remnant of the past

Date:24 July 2014
" The new redesigned keyboards from Lenovo, just don't feel the same way as old IBM keyboards do. This one at least retains the proper layout, a physical key function key row, physical mouse click buttons (vs touch) this makes it useable unlike all new ThinkPad laptop keyboards.
'Those who do' need a function key row that is a real key not touch based, and need to find the mouse click button in the dark without any hesitation, something you can't do with a flat piece of plastic.
Interaction is physical, 'glass' and 'touch' trend doesn't change the fact we live in a physical world. Touch is great but as with everything we tend to push things to silly excess.
Thinks go improve: provide backlighting the way Microsoft Surface keyboards are back lit, improve plastic to be more like old style ThinkPad keyboards, have a Bluetooth version. And don't change the layout! I need my big delete and esc keys! Fingerprint scanner wouldn't hurt. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint - US English
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
unplugged5150

the best keyboard ever

Date:21 May 2014
" Feels like a thinkpad, but I use at work and at home on my desktops. Now, if lenovo is listening/reading these reviews. Please give us a full desktop size keyboard, with full trackpoint like this one! Bluetooth options would be great as well. Most touch typists and thinkpad purists prefer the older style keyboard, not the new chiclet style. Thank you! "
Review 4 for ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint - US English
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheMidnightCoder

Best keyboard ever

Date:20 May 2014
" I've been using laptops for 20 years. Many ThinkPad's but also Dell & Acer. The original ThinkPad keyboard with the TrackPoint mouse is by far the best layout keyboard ever IF you use the home row. The TrackPoint is perfectly placed so your hands never leave the home row while using the mouse. Right now I have a dell laptop, but use this ThinkPad keyboard with it. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint - US English
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hankified

LENOVO PLEASE MAKE A BLUETOOH / WIRELESS VERSION!

Date:10 April 2014
" I love love love the thinkpad keyboard layout. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint - US English
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomK
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Silence is golden

Date:05 February 2014
" I'd had it with clickety-clack on the keyboard attached to my docking station for the ThinkPad W510. I bought this with fingers crossed after speaking with a rep. You will not be disappointed if you are looking for silent touch and the great feel of the ThinkPad keyboard. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint - US English
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheJew
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Keyboard for serious people

Date:06 September 2013
Pros: Build Quality
Cons: pricey for a plastic thing
" This is a typing machine. Perfect key stiffness, travel, size and shape. Precise contacts. Presence of important keys for real IT people like Pause/Break and the home/end quadrant is very well placed. The lack of touch pad is just perfect, you won't even need to disable it at the driver. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint - US English
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
techgeek
Location:Cary North Carolina
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows XP Home

#1 keyboard choosen by serious typist

Date:05 October 2012
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals
" This keyboard is exactly the same type used in Thinkpads that is always highly rated as the best in the industry. Once you get use to the trackpoint you will never go back to a touchpad. I highly recommend this keyboard. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint - US English
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iABHORtouchpads
Location:Missouri
Owned Product:1-6 months

Exactly what I need

Date:26 July 2012
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals, no touchpad
" Do you hate moving your hands from keyboard to mouse? Do you hate touchpads? Me too. This is now my go-to keyboard for all of my desktop systems. It also works perfectly with my Mac mini --- so you can now use a Mac with the pleasure of the TrackPoint! It also has a built-in palmrest, **without** the horrid touchpad (just like my Thinkpad X201, similarly sized and same comfortable feel). I hope Lenovo continues to make/sell these for a long time. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint - US English
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Frank

Great Alternative

Date:26 April 2012
" Using a mouse was causing me wrist problems, so the trackpoint has been a great solution when I'm in the office and I have my laptop docked (I have never liked using touch pads). My only complaint is that the V key tends to pop off, but otherwise it's a great alternative, especially if you're already used to the more compact format of a laptop keyboard. "