Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Tablet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi

Average customer rating:
3.696 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
4
15 of 23(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
Review 1 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nozlaf
Location:Victoria, Australia
Owned Product:1-6 months

Essential business tool

Date:15 July 2012
Pros: Durability, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Battery
"The lenovo thinkpad tablet is the ultimate business tablet, the tegra 2 chipset provides excellent speed while the usb host port and the stylus provide access to essential business tools such as having proper signatures entered directly on screen and the ability to directly interface with pretty much any USB device."
Review 2 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FabensTX

Sturdy business tablet

Date:18 June 2012
"This tablet is very well made but it might be a little on the heavy side compared to other tablets in the market. Cosmetic wise, this tablet has a matte feel on the back which provides good grip. The screen is crisp and clear for everyday use. It also comes with a 5MP back camera no flash included and a 2MP front facing camera. One must consider the fact that this tablet is mostly business oritented. It comes with hardware buttons unlike other tablets that only provide software buttons. The stylus comes seperate, and it's a great addtion when used in note taking apps. Business oritented apps are also included on this tablet.
The current software on the tablet is Honeycomb, though an update to Google's Ice Cream Sandwich is in the works.
So in the end, if you're looking for a business oriented tablet, the Lenovo Thinkpad Tablet is your best choice. I gave it 4 stars only because the tablet is on the heavy side, other than that it's a perfect tablet."
Review 3 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ITProf

Tablet only looks good...

Date:12 June 2012
"I reviewed this tablet on the 9th of February, with my first impressions. I feel that I now have much more experience with this tablet.
The OS is very very flaky. I cannot navigate on the web without the browser closing on me. The CPU is very under powered to handle all of the third party lenovo apps. I have not installed any games or other apps with the exception of Citrix goto meeting and 2xClient to remote desktop to my server. I have tried to integrate this tablet into my work, but the note taking with 'digitized' pen doesn't really work well. The speaker is worse than I originally thought, I find myself cupping my hand around it to create the enclosure to increase the decibels...
The screen is very laggy, too slow.
Moreover, Android 4.0 was supposed to be released in May of 2012, May passed and the certification date for USA as published by Lenovo was then pushed to June 10. Still no ICS.
The gallery pics disappear half the time. My internally stored pictures just become not available until I restart the tablet.
I can leave the tablet on the charger all night and still only get about 79% of a charge... which I guess isn't bad, but I can watch maybe 1 movie and drain it about 60%.
My exchange email will not sync with this device periodically, (while my android phone syncs just fine during these mysterious outages)...
The only thing that I really like about this tablet is the build quality. I love the feel and the screen. But the auto brightness doesn't work well on this... it never really adjusts.
Sorry Lenovo, but I had extremely high hopes for this tablet, I did extensive research and waiting to see which tablet would be right for me. My W20 laptop is amazing, I love it. But the tablet is very much lacking."
Review 4 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
P6524

ThinkPad Tablet

Date:28 May 2012
"Great tablet. At times has slow response but overall not bad. The speaker is probably the only major negative on the tablet. Expecting ICS 4.0 will enhance performance when released."
Review 5 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
test

bad product

Date:28 May 2012
"I have been using Lenovo think pad tablet for 5 months and let me give you my experiment. This device really bad for business it has so lag with a keyboard, brows, touch screen Lenovo said the Lenovo think pad has gorilla glass and my screen has so scratches I only use the pen nothing else which means the glass is weak on the other hand the think pad is really heavy and heavy such as a laptop if Lenovo wants the device heavy it should have full specifications and long battery live also when you put the device to the charger it takes a long time to charge . Stay away from this product there many new tablet better than this"
Review 6 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mikem

not worth the money!

Date:11 May 2012
"In comparison with other tablet I use from another manufacturer this tablet seems like a lemon. The applications constantly force close. Typing on the on screen keyboard has so much lag it is unbearable. Web browsing is slow and sites that have any complex product search engines rarely work and if they do they are so slow that you can not truly use this to be productive. I don't know of it is the hardware that has issues or the operating system (honeycomb), nevertheless this product is unrefined. The note taking pen is worthless you are better off typing your notes into after market apps. I bought it because I felt that the ports would be advantageous, I have yet to use them. In retrospect a tablet without all of these peripherals would probably boot faster and operate faster. I am only hoping that if they ever update to ICS like they keep talking about that it will run faster. In my opinion stay away from this product, there has to better choices."
Review 7 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Helixmoon

Great tablet great value

Date:24 April 2012
"The Thinkpad Tablet is an excellent Android tablet and can hold its own against the other big name players. The screen is bright and extremely legible in any lighting. As with other tablets, the speed is acceptable and overall everything about the tablet is very good.
The only gripe I have is the wireless. The wireless is not even as strong as my Samsung Epic 4G phone and other wireless devices I own. The wireless on this tablet cannot locate the home wireless network if the SSID is not broadcasting. To me, that's a security flaw for something that's suppose to be business use. I have to keep the broadcast enabled in order for the wireless to connect and once it does, it connects very fast.
However, turn off broadcasting and restart the tablet and it cannot find it; even if I'm in the room where the antenna is (I have a Linksys E4200 router). This is the reason why I cannot give it a 5 star rating.
Nevertheless, to end this on a positive note, I'm still happy with the tablet and would consider buying another again."
Review 8 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BB23

Decent..but lacking

Date:30 March 2012
"I've had this tablet since the product was released. It's not a bad device, there are just many out there that are better. We were testing various devices for our work environment and this is what I picked based upon my experience w/ the Thinkpad line over the years.
Stand out deficiencies -
- Terrible speaker, can barely hear it at full volumn and quality of sound is poor. Compared to iPad or Xoom, it's aweful.
- It's slow. Web browsing, app starting, etc. Again compared to other devices.
- It's bulky. I don't mind, it's built very well, but it may bother others looking for a more sleek/slim tablet feel.
- SD Card reader, hasn't worked well for me and has been disappointing.
- Boot time - slow compared to everyone else. Very frustrating when I've been sitting next to another tablet and just waiting for it to boot...
- I get "application is not responding, wait/force close" a lot more than I've seen on other tablets I'm testing.
So, that's the bad. The good (and other notes)
- Nice screen, looks great.
- Pen works well, although I find little use for it.
- Built in ports (usb, micro usb, hdmi, etc.) all handy.
- Durablility. It's build very well.
- Keyboard/case option is nice for typing, makes it just like a little laptop.
- Apps, comes w/ decent apps for business use and security purposes. (encryption included)
- I have noticed better performance w/ recent updates. Still has some catching up to do tho.
- App Shop is mediocre.
- Switching apps is great and this part works well on the TP Tablet.
That's all - not a bad tablet but I wish I would have picked something else most of the time. As I'm using this and others are sitting next to me using ipad or other popular droids is when I notice it the most... For the same money there are better, faster, nicer devices.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neal

Great Buy!!

Date:08 March 2012
"This is a great produce. Has a lot of quality components that many other tablets dont have. I also go several accessories which are all great as well. This was my first Lenovo product and most likely wont be the last as long as they keep the quality up. Thanks."
Review 10 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Relliktra

Good assest while deployed

Date:22 February 2012
"I brought the thinkpad tablet (64gb) during my deployment to Afghanistan after my laptop got smashed during a convoy. It is by far the best purchase I made in 2011, I love the fact that it has a FULL usb slot and a FULL SD card slot so I can use my thumbdrive or SD card to store data on veiw it on my thinkpad and not take up space on the device. I love the Doc App so I can view my Word Documents and Excel spreedsheets on the go replacing the need for my laptop while on mission."
Review 11 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gcmesser
Location:Raleigh, NC
Owned Product:1-6 months

Works great for a math tutor!

Date:19 February 2012
Pros: Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory
Cons: Weight, Battery
"I mainly chose the Lenovo Thinkpad Tablet becasue it uses the stylus and I can work out math solutions with any formulas using the stylus pen and send them immediately as PDFs to a student. This is much faster than doing on notebook paper, firing up the flatbed scanner and sending. I use the Writepad APP which works great with the stylus and you can set it for input only from the pen. So far apps have run great. The CNN app drains the battery in sleep mode so I removed the CNN app but other apps have run great. Very fast email or web browsing. Love it!"
Review 12 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
purpuratus
Location:Massachusetts
Owned Product:1-6 months

Good General Purpose Tablet

Date:13 February 2012
Pros: Durability, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Memory, Storage
Cons: Battery, Included Software, microusb plug for power
"I use the tablet a lot for work, and some for entertainment. My main reason for buying it was that it was not an iPad, ran Android, and worked with Flash. The iPad is nice, but without Flash, it can't do everything I need it to do. I did wish that there wasn't a separate lenovo market from the regular Android market, as I think the tablet gets a little confused.
Battery life is not great, and the microUSB plug for power is too loose. If I don't get it in just right, my tablet doesn't charge. It does sync pretty well with my lenovo laptop, and is pretty easy to transfer files over. Docs to Go is okay, but QuickOffice is better in that you can at least move files from Google Docs to your tablet.
Like someone else, the handwriting recognition wasn't great, as it kept recognizing my palm instead of ignoring it.
Overall though, I'm still happy with the purchase and really like being able to use SD cards to store additional files or movies to keep the kids entertained."
Review 13 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ITProf
Location:New York
Owned Product:1-6 months

Not bad, but could be better

Date:09 February 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Video card, Battery, Included Software, Software compatibility, Display performance, charging, operating system, lenovo proprietary apps
"First I will start with saying that Lenovo's customer service is very good, always very helpful and friendly. 5 stars for CS.
Cons:
I needed a tablet for work and entertainment. I travel a lot. I have used the tablet now for 1 month. I am not too impressed with it. I have not loaded any other apps from the market place. It is slower than I had expected. The touch response lags. When the screen turns on from wake, you have to wait for a couple of seconds to enter your unlock code. The icons sometimes have to be touched a couple of times in order to launch the app. The operating system is somewhat unreliable. The apps force close (such as email, and browsing, and citrix) more than expected.
Charging the tablet is also a little annoying. Be prepared to have this thing plugged in for a while. Unless you buy the charging dock, but who wants to travel with that?
The copying utility is a little 'Archaic'. you cant create folders and it is very choppy. This means that I will have to install another utility from the market.
The on board speaker isn't the greatest. It does its job, but could be a little better to follow Lenovo's quality standards.
The software keys are a bit cumbersome, they depress too easily and are pushed when you don't want them to be. I may just have gorilla hands.
Pros:
The USB and Card slots are great. the classic lenovo feel to the backing is wonderful. Gorilla glass is also nice. Its a bit heavy, which I like.
Undecided:
The digitizer pen, perhaps I have not figured out how to use it, but it is supposed to only recognize the pen, and not my hand. But this feature has not worked for me. I have toggled the settings back and forth and nothing really changes. I will have to call customer support.
Installing the antivirus software on the tablet has also slowed it down a little.
Overall I think the Thinkpad tablet needs more computing power to run the pre-installed lenovo apps."
Review 14 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gabepwashere
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Quad
Memory:4 GB or more

I like it, you will too!

Date:31 January 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Wireless card, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Processor, Battery
"I bought this as a "I got into college" present for myself. What I had in mind was portability and note taking for classes and such. I went through my listings of what i could get. I was originally looking at the Thinkpad Tablet X220 at around $900, but that was just above my budget. I looked at this tablet and found what I needed: Note Taking Apps with Stylus (that has its own secret compartment!), and a keyboard attachment. When I recieved the Tablet in the mail, I obviously played with it for a good week or two until I got down to business at school. I will only list the cons here, everything else is fine. The speed is... well... the drawback. I find myself watching as words on the pre-installed Word Application (which feels more like a dumbed down version of the Notepad found on computers... without spell check and shortcut keys such as Control+whatever to do whatever) slowly appearing seconds after I had originally typed what I wanted. This is the processor, it is not fast enough to keep up with me and I am not a fast typer at all. Next is the problem with certain files being unable to open on the tablet... or being lost in the folders... or the folders that you need to make manually. I am sure there is a solution to this problem... but why wasnt it fixed prior to release? I did pay a hefty amount for this, didnt I? Battery life is the last problem. At first, the battery will make it through several days without recharge... then out of nowhere you will need to charge atleast 2 times a day if you are active on your tablet. In the end the Tablet was a great deal and I am glad I bought it. I have come to trust Lenovo ever since I bought my K-Series desktop from them two years ago. My family has 2 laptops, 1 desktop and 2 tablets from Lenovo. Keep up the good work people!"
Review 15 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
egilwh
Location:Norway
Owned Product:1-6 months

Too many HW issues, unlike Lenovo!

Date:17 January 2012
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Support, Battery, Weight, Included Software, Build Quality
"I like the TPT, but there are too many HW design failures, the micro USB breaks off easily on many early deliveries, the power button breaks on many early deliveries, my GPS won't work if I have the 3G SIM card inserted.... In addition there are still a lot of bugs in the software. I believe that Lenovo eventually will get the hang of it, but...."
Review 16 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
futurehoteliere
Location:Dublin - Ireland
Owned Product:Less than a month
Memory:3 GB

top shelf product

Date:01 January 2012
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Storage
Cons: no digital pen included
"I bought this product for Christmas as I travel a lot and work in hotels on a daily basis. I find it irreplaceable - don't bother compare this tablet to competition tablets like the iPad etc. because it works on a different level! if you want a tablet for performance this is the one for you! the only thing I feel could have been better is the pen. this is not included in the 16GB WiFi model. $30 extra... otherwise - best tablet I have ever used, fact!"
Review 17 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sully
Location:Old Bridge, NJ
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Solid Hand Writing Recognition

Date:31 December 2011
Pros: Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor
Cons: Weight, Included Software
"Purchased a Tablet for my daughter to utilize in College. Currently we own two IPads and have been disappointed with utilizing these devices to take notes.
In HS, my daughter utilized a tablet computer. This device provides her with similar tools and services to keep her notes organized and always on time with projects.
This tablet is a must have for students and business people alike.
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sergio
Location:China Ningbo
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows XP Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

THE Tablet that we expect!

Date:11 October 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"After the purchase of my Thinkpad laptop, I kept a beautiful brand image of Lenovo. A friend made me try it, and the Thinkpad tablet now responds to all my expectations in terms of reliability, pro-activity, strength and power above all! Absolutely wonderful, I rush to buy it me unless you bid me. Lenovo thank you again!"
Review 19 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
olega
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Owned Product:Just got it

turn off the tablet to charge it. seriously

Date:04 October 2011
Pros: Software compatibility, Video card, Display performance, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Support, Durability, Battery
"I got this tablet. and I was very pleased with it. Now it's time to charge the battery. The charge speed - >1% in 1 hour. Called lenovo support.
The solution: you need to turn off the table to charge it. This baby going back!!!
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad Tablet - 16GB with WiFi
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MobileDoc
Location:Charlotte, NC
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Pretty impressive so far

Date:01 September 2011
Pros: Warranty, Durability, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory
"Well, this is an initial impression so I will come back in a couple of months after I use it in my business. Solidly built, a bit bulkier than the Ipad but that is to be expected since it has more ports to connect. The pen is interesting. I have not yet figured out how/when to use. I am sure that will come with greater usage. I guess I now have to see if apps important to me are available. People say that the IPad is better because it has over 100,000 apps. I say that is a disadvantage. I only use 7 apps and I might carry 25 on my device. To me, its a bit foolish to use that as a reason to only consider Apple products. If Lenovo can weather the Apple storm (poor HP) this seems like a great alternative in the enterprise space. I do think this product is a better complement to my laptop. Seems like the dance is a bit better. My Apple "I" devices are good but they are an awkward dance at best. My initial impressions is that this is a good device, strong performance, great quality. I love the Gorilla glass screen. While the finger prints seem to be more noticeable, its still a crisper picture than anything I've seen to date. Great start out of the box Lenovo. Let's see if you can go the distance."