Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated

A stylish, no-compromise, thin and light laptop with superior performance, battery, communication, and entertainment features.

Average customer rating:
3.82 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
3
20 of 39(51%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
Review 21 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Winnitoo
Location:Gulf Breeze Fl.
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not the best Laptop i ever Purchase made

Date:03 October 2011
Cons: Battery
"Lousy Battery only 2 hrs. after full charge no matter what i do. Audio system totally wakoo had be sent back for repair. so far so good. Otherwise OK"
Review 22 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
squall54
Location:quincy,ma
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good but not perfect

Date:28 September 2011
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Display performance, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Memory, Video card, Display resolution, Battery
"I like everything on X1 except the battery, usually it's gone by one and half hours, it doesn't make sense for me if it can charge rapidly, the battery just doesn't last that long, 3 hours? this is a lie. The HDMI is really good, i have tried it on my sony V5100 HDTV, it was sweat... touch pad is fine but I would prefer the one on T series or even X220's."
Review 23 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alzahaby
Location:Egypt
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows XP Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

The best laptop ever

Date:16 September 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"Thank you Lenovo
You are an amazing company
I have purchased 3 laptops for me 8 years ago
You deserve to be the Number one in the world market in marketing not 3 .
I recommend it to all my friends.
Just to get into the website and select Pc or laptop help to find option.
Believe me X1 is the best in the market for small or large business or for study ,travel,life and every work you need to use it in.
It is the best laptop ever used.
"
Review 24 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TerpitsMaknat
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Didn't pay for this so it's ok.

Date:14 September 2011
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Display resolution, Battery
"Work got me this laptop to replace my Dell XPS. This is the first Thinkpad I have ever used and overall, this has been ok, at best. I am not that impressed. As with other reviews, I find the battery life mediocre. The screen as well is not good at all. It is highly reflective, almost like a mirror already when viewing a dark background. But I do like the portability and the slim profile. I find the track pad highly sensitive. It would throw off my typing at the slightest contact. Physical keyboard is good, especially the backlighting capability. Took me a while to get used to the the placement of the Fn key. Still hitting it at times intending to hit Ctrl. Trackpoint is ok but I never use it. It is hard having 2 peripheral monitors."
Review 25 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ThinkPadfan
Location:Branson, MO
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:2 GB

Very satisfied

Date:13 September 2011
Pros: Weight, Software compatibility, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"Have had my X1 for a few weeks. Very impressed with the design. Keyboard lay out is much more comoftable than my previous T60p. Even the smaller screen works very well, since it is very high definition and well lit. Other reviews mention reflective glass. That has not proven to be a big issue for me, after all I have that same issue with Ipad. Use the port replicator for connecting everything in the office in place of the older style docking station. Installed all USB drivers for connected equipment with no problems. Very light! Battery life about 3 hrs with lots of devices connected. Good battery mangement options and automated shut down/recovery. Not a problem! If you have worked with thinkpads before, this is a smooth transition with no time wasted in trying to figure out new systems and network issues."
Review 26 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Continentalthinkpadist
Location:Hong Kong
Owned Product:1-6 months

Poor effort from Lenovo

Date:13 September 2011
Pros: Processor
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution, Battery, screen ratio
"Abysmal battery life, glare-laden screen, low resolution, 16:9 ratio, poor keyboard, no USB 3, no discrete graphics. This is the worst thinkpad I've ever come across. Go for the T420s - it's much better"
Review 27 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarcXW
Location:New York
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Amazing Product

Date:01 September 2011
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Keyboard/peripherals, intel hd graphics much better than previously
Cons: Display resolution
"I've purchased the thinkpad X1 a couple of weeks ago and I couldn't be happier with it.
The build quality, as always for a thinkpad, is excellent. The screen is very bright, although unfortunately does suffer from some glare, but that is due to Gorilla Glass so I think the added protection is worth it, and the thinkvantage suite is genuinely useful. The laptop came bloatware free. Even though the battery life could be better, I can easily take it with me and work on it for 5-6 hours even without the slice battery. The computer is very responsive and fast and Intel's new integrated HD graphics are a huge leap forward from other generations of Intel integrated graphics. Despite the laptop's thinness, all the necessary ports are available, although I do dislike the fact that a lot of them are on the back.
Overall, I think this is a very good, powerful product and one with a beautiful design on top of that. I would easily recommend this to anyone."
Review 28 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Piusvii
Location:Arizona
Owned Product:Less than a week

X1 Disappointing

Date:25 August 2011
Pros: Processor
Cons: Wireless card, Memory, Display resolution
"On the bright side, this laptop has a great keyboard. After that... Coming from an TP X200s w/1440x900 screen, the size of this with worse resolution was a major letdown. In addition, the wireless didn't work right out of the box. It would see various access points but could not connect. This was true for at least 4 different access points (each of different make) that I use all the time. The shape is weird on all sides with a odd wedged taper. And there's a giant bezel for a not very big, not high res screen. It's on it's way back in spite of the 15% restocking fee. My x200s was lighter and had better resolution. Wish it had the chicklet, backlit keyboard. That's all I really wanted from this."
Review 29 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RaulM
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

sub standard

Date:07 August 2011
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Processor, Support, Memory, Storage
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Battery, Software compatibility
"From excited to serious let down. The battery life is miserable, no where near what my X220 can do. As for performance, yes its slightly better but the larger foot print does not make it truly mobile. SSD drive is great but so is the one in my X220. Keyboard lighting is a great feature, one that all laptops should have. I'm not a gamer, but do travel quite a bit need and need mobility, speed and battery life. needing to pack my power supply for short flights does not seem like a light travel bag solution for me. The keyboard layout and feel is different as well and has taken me to time to adjust. Overall I am very disappointed. the mouse touch pad does not have button so getting it to right click has been a challenge, I lose a lot of time needing to always double, and sometimes triple right click to get in to menus. Wasted money I think, I will just pass on to someone who does not know what to expect from a true Thinkpad."
Review 30 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PersonWithAX1
Location:Eugene, OR
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Power house in disguise

Date:01 August 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Build Quality, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Battery
"The X1 puts the notebook back into notebook computer. The size and weight of this system makes it very comfortable to carry around, almost like a 150 page spiral notebook.
The poor battery life is supplemented by the quick-charging battery. This laptop isn't for long road trips, or extensive plane rides, but as long as you have access to a power socket every 3 or 4 hours, 20 minutes is enough to charge it for the next period of time.
Design wise, this machine has some issues: All the ports are in the back, with the exception of those on the left side, under a plastic flap. The back ports are annoying to get to, and the plastic flap is impossible to open without tilting the computer back, and even then it's difficult to open without long fingernails. However, it is very, very durable-feeling. The hinge itself, is a foot long steel pipe, anchored by 2 inch long metal hinges- those things aren't going to break anytime soon. The whole system is solid, very little flex even when I purposely try to bend it.
Keyboard design also has its flaws. The page up/down keys are right next to the arrow keys, making it easy to mess up. Also, the keys need to be pushed all the way down, or they won't register, this is a nice feature but takes some time getting used to. That being said, the moment I started typing on this keyboard, it felt natural, whereas I usually need a few days to become accustomed to most keyboards. A most wonderful typing experience, even if its a chiclet keyboard.
Finally, performance. This computer delivers incredible performance for its size and weight. In response to the review citing a MacBook Air would be a better buy, the MacBook Air cannot hope to match the speed of this computer under heavy loads, because Apple under-powers their CPUs. This computer plows through physics simulations as if it was playing solitaire. Under heavy loads, the computer remains cool and quiet (at a low hum) only warming up near the fan."
Review 31 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tspeng
Location:Torrance, CA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great X1, but could be better.

Date:09 July 2011
Pros: Build Quality, Display resolution, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Battery
"I had this X1 for 3 weeks now. I love the X1 overall. I upgraded a few things...like bluetooth, i5, and intel wifi N 6300.
Why other viewers had issue with CAP lock...if you click on the Capslock button and look at the bottom right corner, it tells you if Caps Lock is On or Off.
The Up arrow button works just fine...what issue?
I love both PC and Mac. It depend on my needs and functions. (ie: I use Mac for iPhoto...I wish it can be install on my X1 -PC )
Here are my opinions:
Pro:
1. great key board that can be light up. - Macbook Air does not - Apple cutting cost?. (I was going to buy the M-Air if they had this feature)
2. HDMI, Mini Displayport, and USB 3.0 --great options.
3. great screen that can match the Macbook. crisp and sharp...need to do self adjustment.
4. LOVE the red Trackpoint. It should be on every PC and Mac. I had max out the speed.
5. the design and location of these buttons are very organized. Clean and Sexy looking PC.
Con:
1. Touchpad -is good, but not CLOSE to Mac touchpad responsiveness or smoothness. - I had max out the speed and sensitive touch, however it can't match the Mac touchpad. I like the idea that it can do the multitouch.
2. Finger ID scan is a good idear, but it takes a few times to unlock...I have to wet my finger and clean it before I can get it to work. - sometime fustrating after 3-5 tries.
3. battery life vs performance... Lenovo need to do a better job. It is almost there...I would pay more to get a better quality Li battery without increase the size. --If Macbook-Air can do it, why PC can not?
4. last small issue...I wish Lenovo can send me a DVD of my Windows 7 license. -for my backup copy when I upgrade to a new hard drive in the future.
"
Review 32 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chris
Location:Buffalo, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Very good ThinkPad

Date:07 July 2011
"This is a great ThinkPad. The keyboard is fantastic, the construction is excellent, and the screen is the best I've seen on a ThinkPad. The only nit-picks -- not as light as a MacBook Air -- but that's the trade-off for ruggedness -- and it runs Windows. But what can you do? I'm very happy with it."
Review 33 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jayb
Location:Minneapolis
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

MAC Book Air with Windows better choice...

Date:05 July 2011
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory
Cons: Build Quality, Durability, Battery
"After looking closely at the system I find that for the same price you would get better battery life and a more durable system - not to mention better looking if you simply bought a Mac Book Air 13 inch and installed Windows on it (unless you preferred MAC OS of-course). The Mac Book Air comes with 256GB SSD and therefore performs very well. If this system is configured with the 160 GB SSD (as big as they'll sell you), Bluetooth, and no other changes you end up at the same price but with a smaller disk."
Review 34 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
marduk
Location:Raleigh, NC
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows XP Home
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Pretty good for portability

Date:29 June 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display performance, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Bluetooth, Battery, loud fan
"For the most part I like this laptop. There are a few things I would change. Also I wanted to respond to the earlier review about running Linux on it.
Pros:
* Very light and easy to carry No CD/DVD. No VGA that i don't use.
* Backlit keyboard
* Some complain about the keyboard but I find I'm rather productive on it (I'm a computer programmer).
* Graphics are pretty snappy.
* All-around performance is pretty good.
* Runs Linux pretty well
* Sound quality is better than expected.
* USB3
Cons:
* Runs hot. Default fan settings have the fan running pretty much constantly. And the fan is *loud* when at full speed. I use software control for the fan.
* I too have a problem with the "up" key. How did this ever get past QA?
* I am not terribly excited about the glossy screen, but at the same time I've gotten used to it. It doesn't appear to me as horrible as the reports I've heard. I use it pretty much all day in different lighting conditions and have no eye strain (and I have bad eyes).
* Built-in mic pics up a lot of ambient noise. But most software (e.g. Skype knows how to filter it out and for "professional" recording one should never use a built-in mic).
* Bluetooth is not standard
.
Other:
* The trackpad seems kinda quirky. I've booted under various live media and I guess depending on the drivers you theget different behavior. I've not had problems with unresponsiveness though.
I always have the CAPS key remapped to CTRL, so I don't have the CAPS issue, but I did wonder about how you know if CAPS is on.
I have really good graphics performance, especially compared to my old ThinkPad. I too am running GNOME3/gnome-shell. And it performs better than my older ThinkPad, which was already adequated
Likewise, when I plug in something in the headphone jack, it mutes the speakers as expected.
Battery life could be better... but it's not horrible. May consider getting the slice later"
Review 35 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Baha
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Little less than what I expected.

Date:17 June 2011
Pros: Weight, Processor, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display performance
"I got this laptop 3 days ago, and here are some pros and cons I have noted. Note that I mainly use this laptop for programming and everyday use (watching videos, surfing the net, etc.). I don't do much gaming (no 3d gaming at all).
Cons:
1) The UP key in the keyboard needs to be pressed harder (sometimes multiple times) to work.
2) No way to know if CAPS LOCK key is on or off except for typing and seeing it.
3) Trackpad sometimes isn't responsive.
4) Screen is too glossy and reflection level is too high. Image/Text quality is also not so good (compared to my 3.5 year old 15'' Macbook Pro)
5) Battery lasts at most 3.5-4 hours for normal use: browsing the net, watching some youtube videos, etc..
6) Animation effects are slow in GNOME 3 (gnome-shell, not fallback mode). I guess it has to do with Intel HD graphics drivers. I also should note that animation effects on Windows 7 work as expected.
7) Headphone doesn't work (doesn't disable speakers) under Linux (Arch, GNOME 3)
Pros:
1) Very easy to carry around.
2) Off-keyboard, dedicated volume control buttons.
3) Sleek design (no CD/DVD drive - it's a PRO to me). Has all the necessary ports.
4) Doesn't get overheated, or fans don't make that much noise (compared to that old Macbook Pro I had).
5) Sound quality is very good for a 13'' laptop.
6) As a whole, the computer works very fast.
7) Easy-to-use bios, where I can specify the boot order. I know this is true with all PC's, but it is especially true for me because now I can boot anything from a USB key (impossible in Mac, unless you are booting Mac OSX).
8) Would have been perfect for me if it was a 14'' laptop.
Overall I am very impressed, and already started to love this laptop. Time will tell if I can live with those cons. ;)"
Review 36 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
westering
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:Less than a week

Avoid with caution... this is NOT a thinkpad!

Date:05 June 2011
Pros: none over other thinkpads
Cons: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance
"Let me begin with saying that I have used thinkpads for the past 10 years and absolutely loved them. I am so obsessed that I have literally owned all models produced in that time frame, and the X1 is one of those products that were so inadequate that compelled me to write a review to warn others against it.
The X1 has a 13.3 inch screen. At that form factor one would expect it to be a laptop that you work with at home/office as well as bring with you when you travel.
Sadly, the meager 4 hours (yes, from my own experience, it only runs 4 hours with moderate brightness and internet browsing) you get from the built-in battery effectively prohibits you from using it all day away from the grid. The new 'rapidcharge' function is essentially rubbish and does not make up for the poor battery power: if a laptop can be used all day long with a single charge, the only time you would charge it is when you sleep. The X220 is something that achieves that.
Perhaps the development team thought that since the battery life was poor, no one was gonna use the X1 for extended periods, that they introduced the second - for me and most thinkpad fans and business professionals, simply unforgivable - mistake: a glossy screen. Yes, the Corning® Gorilla® Glass gimmick IS a glossy screen. The selling point is that it is hard. Why on earth would anyone need a hard screen? Because they make a habit of smashing the screen with a hammer any other day? It's just simply inconceivable. Everyone knows that images look sharper on a glossy screen, e.g. Macbooks, but when it comes to working, e.g. typing on microsoft word for hours, the matte screen IS the way to go. It essentially eliminates eye strain, as well as the haunting reflection of yourself on the glass panel. Thinkpads are effectively the only laptops left that have matte screens, and it is the reason why they are so popular. It is a dangerous direction to go. I would definitely NOT be buying thinkpads anymore if they switched to glossy screens....
... which brings on the third major flaw of the X1: the keyboard. We all love the legendary thinkpad keyboard - it's an oasis within the desert of cheap, inferior 'chiclets' that you find on macbooks, Asus, etc. We all rejoice at the crispy click, indent and rebound when you hit the key. It makes our juices all running. The X1 keyboard is a chiclet keyboard, but it is even worse than the macbook. Typing on it for an hour already gave me wrist pains, while I could literally work on my T410s for 8 hours without feeling anything - it's like playing a piano when I type on the traditional thinkpad keyboard.
Another flaw is relatively minor: The X1 has no DVD drive. While you don't use that every now and then, it does come in handy when you want to play a DVD, install a software, or what not. And at 13.3 inches, it is essentially the industry standard. The 13.3 inch X301 (which is a much older product) already has it. What it means is that there is no ultrabay for you to fit in an extra battery, so you will have to rely on the dreadful 'slice' battery which does not latch properly onto the main machine.
As for the main selling points, or 'pros' of the machine, they aren't really that great. They say that the build quality is good. Well, the build quality has always been EXCELLENT on the X and T series, so that's not a big deal. They say it's light. Well, the X220 is even lighter! They say the processors are great, well, the X220 (which is even smaller) already has the i7 and even USB 3.0!
There seems to be another major downside that I haven't talked about yet, but it's all too obvious: the price. The X1 with the i3 starts at $1100, but at that price you can already get an X220 with an i7, not to mention the X220's double to triple battery life, better keyboard, better screen, so on and so forth. The only ones who will buy the X1 are the ones who are fooled by advertising gimmicks. They are better off with a Macbook air actually!
To conclude, the X1 lacks good battery power, has an eye-unfriendly glossy screen, a wrist-wrecking keyboard, and is exorbitantly priced. For those reasons it is NOT a thinkpad, and we must say a clear message to Lenovo that we DO NOT want them to go to such a direction. Give us back the real proper thinkpads."
Review 37 for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jinbo
Location:Charlotte
Owned Product:Just got it

Best laptop ever!!!

Date:24 May 2011
Pros: Processor, Durability, Bluetooth
Cons: outward appearance
"This is the best laptop for outdoor business and experiments. Moreover, the beautiful look will greatly increase the passion of our work! I would like to say thank you, thinkpad designers!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for ThinkPad X1 - Top Rated
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21-38 of 38