Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T420 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T420

Our most popular business tool with the no-frill features you demand.

Average customer rating:
4.055 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
22
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
5
68 of 91(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T420
Review 1 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great machine

Date:21 November 2014
" After owning a Lenovo T410 for a few years, which I passed on to a family member, but which had served me very well, I bought a T420
The screen on the T420 is great with a very high resolution 1600 x 900 and very bright. Despite this , even with the screen set to its highest level, I find battery life very good too. The machine is very cool running and doesnt get hot even on turbo-boost (i5)
I replaced the hard-drive with a Samsung SSD and since then the machine has also been lightning fast, enough that I can run VMs at decent speeds on it
A very good machine which has proved very reliable "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Don't buy _ poor henge quality

Date:21 October 2014
" I've been using lenovo/ IBM products since 5 years by now, but this type the / t420/ was disappointing to me in every aspect. Be aware that the henge will break in the first two or three month. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MrBlack
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Worst Computer Ever

Date:18 February 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Support, Durability, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Storage, Video card, Wireless card, Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Processor, Display performance
" So slow and unreliable. Sometimes the screen just goes black and I have to force the computer to go to sleep, which sometimes takes up to 30 minutes. When it turns back on, my entire web browser is just black and all the data and information from the tabs are gone. When I open a new tab, it's also black. The only way to fix this is by exiting out and reopening the web browser,which makes you lose all your current tabs and data. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ayjc
Location:New York, New York
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Awful Computer

Date:06 October 2012
Pros: Security Features
Cons: Wireless card, Memory, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Bluetooth, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Processor, Screen size, Durability, Storage, Video card, Warranty, Display resolution, Battery, Security Features, Included Software, Software compatibility, Display performance
" This computer is so awful. I hate it. It is sooooo slow. The design is bulky and ugly. The casing is cheap and flimsy. The computer itself is super slow and unreliable. The keyboard stops working without warning and so does the trackpad. The screen is pixely and disgusting . Do NOT buy this computer. You can buy a much better computer for wayyyy cheaper The only thing that is ok is the fingerprint unlock feature. The Battery is awful and doesnt last. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Busytrav
Location:Asia
Owned Product:18-24 months

Very happy with it

Date:20 September 2012
" I got to say that this notebook is a hit with me - a former mac lover. For my work. I basically require a desk-top / lap-top solution as it is my main pc, but I need to travel frequently. It is a bit on the heavy side, but this is forgiven as it's built to withstand a lot of abuse!
Pros - The cool hinges, the screen light, the matt finish, the screen, and the usb (yellow) on hinge spine which can be used while computer is closed - this has been a life-saver at airports, etc, recharging my phones and ipods.
Cons - as with other reviewers, by FAR the worst thing is the trackpad and buttons. The buttons are a rubbish design and even after 2 years, I am still pressing 'right' instead of 'left'. Also, the DVD eject button position is just plain silly! Unlike below, I would also say the ThinkVantage button is a waste of time - bloatware if you ask me.
I used to own a SV for work and it was the worst computer i have ever, ever owned. I would never again buy one- my next notebook will also be a Lenovo, and the one after that, and that .... "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TVyas

Amazing Machine t420 usa

Date:09 June 2012
" Lenovo t420 core-i5 2540m, 4G ram, 250 nits 1600 x 900 screen, 320GB 7200rpm hdd, Nvidia nvs 4200m + HD3000 graphics (optimus), LInux x64 fedora 16 OS, 9 cell battery 85whr, 2 yr warranty (bought Aug, 2011)
Pros:
*) Sturdy/rugged construction (fell on tile floor from 2 ft just after receiving 1 year ago, no damage)
*) Amazing 250 nits brighness, workable in bright sunlight
*) 5-6 hours useful battery life on HD-3000 intel (internal graphics + linux x64 fedora 16) @ full brightness
*) gr8 keyboard
*) night lamp on top 2 work in dark
*) fn/ctrl keys swappable
*) nice discounts for students.
cons:
*) horrible (to me) spikes on touchpad. I CORRECTED IT BY USING 2 LAYERS OF ADHESIVE-TAPE ON IT AND NOW IT'S LIKE AN HP or APPLE touchpad
*) Speakers not so great
*) single socket for mic/speaker instead of usual 2 3.5 mm sockets.
Other thoughts:
*) control key should be bigger and f/n key should be smaller i think.
*) lenovo can learn from hp compaq's 6910p model's touchpad.
*) I love it.. & highly recommend it for travellers/students & business guys. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YSSS

Great stable machine, there's no substitute!

Date:03 June 2012
" This is my first Lenovo product and I'm very happy. I bought it with 8gb ram, SSD and i7 cpu.
I just found out that in the bios you can swap the left FN key with the CTRL key so that takes away the only annoying point I had with this machine. I hope some of the reviewers below here complaining about that key location read my post : YOU CAN SWITCH THE LEFT LOWER FN KEY IN THE BIOS WITH THE CTRL KEY !!
I use this laptop around 12 to 14 hours a day. I'm using this thing everywhere, professionally and personally. It's a great machine. I come from using macbook pro's but windows7 got me back to the dark side. I'm very happy with the machine, it's blazing fast and it's utterly stable. Never had a problem. I did deleted the standard installation and re-installed everything from the bottom up.
I'm really happy with this product and would refer this to anybody looking for a professional tool. It's not cheap but it's one of the best out there. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MDuck

All that worry for nothing. Great laptop.

Date:31 May 2012
" When I purchased my T420 about 8 months ago I was reading these same reviews and stressed about whether I'd hate the widescreen size, whether my scrollpad would stop working randomly, battery life, etc etc. Eventually I decided to get it anyway (in part because practically everyone in my engineering department owns a Thinkpad), and turns out this is a great laptop. So far it's stood up great to reputation.
I'm a grad student and haul this thing in my backpack to class/lab daily with just a little foam slipcover thing to protect it, and it's held up just fine. I can go from off or sleep mode to using the internet within 8 seconds (something that took my old laptop 3-4 minutes!), fingerprint reader works way better than my last one, my 9-cell battery still lasts me ~8 hours (maybe more?) of steady internet usage and doesn't add much bulk (I'd recommend it), laptop never gets hot. The non-glossy screen is great and I don't mind the widescreen at all.
My only gripes about the computer are relatively minor - someone else mentioned that the CD tray opens on its own all the time, and that's unfortunately true. Never been a real problem, just an annoyance. I have also had Solidworks crash a couple of times and run slowly/jerkily a few more times but that could as much be SW as the laptop (and the fact that I tend to have 10 parts open as well as a dozen internet tabs...). No other application has crashed, nor has the laptop itself crashed. I'm also not a big fan of the matte, fingerprint-prone cover or the bumps on the scrollpad but otherwise I have to say I don't find the laptop nearly as ugly/blocky as I expected it to be from seeing older Thinkpads.
Overall a great buy! "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ThinkNot

Not Good.

Date:24 May 2012
" I purchased a T420 to replace a very old T42. I don't like the T420 and will probably replace it with a Macbook Air. The widescreen format has too much horizontal and not enough vertical space. Unless you use this PC primarily for watching movies (as opposed to work that involves reading things) this is a poor choice of a screen format by Lenovo. The Mac screen format provides more usable vertical space.
The trackpoint on the T420 is much less "exact" (for lack of a better word) than the trackpoint on my old T42. It's like driving a hovercraft, which is unfortunate since the trackpoint is the main reason I purchased this laptop. I hate touch pads. The worst part of the machine are the mouse buttons. They require a fair amount of effort to hold down, making scrolling difficult. Also, they tend to unintentionally release when in use scrolling. I can't count the number of times I have accidentally closed windows when scrolling up because of how fickle the mouse buttons are.
I loved my old T42 and I expected better from this machine. It will be available on eBay soon. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shailesh

Ordinary laptop without any noticeable feature

Date:20 May 2012
" I am not too happy with this laptop at all. touchpad is horrible. It never scrolls correctly. Function key placement on bottom left corner is very bad. It should be CTRL key. Delete key should be on top right corner. If I put system into sleep, it wakeup automatically and stays awake forever. There is no front facing light source which could be helpful in dark places. Webcam is ok. Display is awful, did not like it all.
Overall ordinary laptop without any noticeable feature. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gianpaolo

Best Laptop owned to date

Date:14 May 2012
" I've had numerous of laptops over the past 14 years and I bought my first lenovo last year and havne't looked back yet. I have dropped, banged, stacked numerous of items on my T420 and never one issue. My old toshiba cracked after I banged it into a wall (not on purpose) my old HP's harddrives would fail just over 1 year and my Gateway memory died after 6 months.
Its true what they say, you get what you pay for. I dont need my laptop to look pretty i need it to work, if i cannot work I dont make any money. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
junior

the worst laptop i have ever bought

Date:28 April 2012
" the computer only lasted about 3 hours because of hardware issues... thought this was supposed to be a reliable lap top "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MudcatGrant

Simple process

Date:26 April 2012
" I generally don't like change and "upgrades." I had kept my old Thinkpad for probably 7 years. I was simply running out of memory and HAD to upgrade. The process was simple and easy. This Thinkpad is SO lightweight and easy to use. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nik0

Best laptop I've ever owned

Date:24 April 2012
" I bought my T420 fully loaded directly from Lenovo website a little over a year ago. I used my laptop last year in Iraq and currently I am in Afghanistan. When Lenovo says their laptops are rugged and tough, they really mean it. I ordered my T420 with Intel Core i7 vPro processor, Nvidia Geforce discreet graphics processor, LED display, finger print reader............so on and so forth and so far I am delighted with this equipment. I love typing on this laptop. Display is very sharp. Looks great too! Battery life could be better since I upgraded mine to a nine cell. Speaker volume is one thing this laptop comes short. As far as equipment integrity goes, I have one complaint, I bought a removable hard drive that I use for backup. I swap my drive with my DVD-RW drive once a week to do my backup. After about a year, the locking mechanism underneath the drive bay came loose and fell off. The external drive and UltrayBay still works but the locking mechanism is missing. Hopefully Lenovo will fix that on the next gen laptops. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PsychDr

Disappointing fo the price

Date:24 April 2012
" I own a T420s which is highly upgraded. The original cost was around 2,500. After 22 months of use, it is now needing the fan replaced and the hard drive replaced. So much for "durable" and "high performer". I enjoyed it while it lasted, however I expected much more from Lenovo, especially for the cost. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NavyMurse

Mil Spec

Date:17 April 2012
" I primarily use this computer at home, however I also use it for duty as a Navy Reserve training officer. I wanted a mil-spec computer and Lenovo offers the most for the money. I bought the upgraded display, upgraded wireless card, 500GB hard drive 7400 rpm, and card reader. I thought I needed the T420S or Edge420S, but the T420 is already thin and light. I can't see needing anything thinner or lighter. The construction is top notch. The frame doesn't bend or twist when picked up from the corner or edge. The hinges are solid. The shell material is more like a polymer handgun rather than plastic. It doesn't feel like the other laptops out there. The keyboard is the best I've ever used. I prefer it over my wife's MacBook Pro. Track point is cool but takes a little getting accustomed to. My colleagues are jealous of my built in card reader since they need a corded card reader. I can access secure military sites with minor tweaks and appropriate mil software (and a little help from my IT guy). Work at home is now easier and I don't have to pack a separate card reader for field exercises. I plan to take this laptop into field hospitals and other field conditions as well as home use. There are plenty of USB ports. The Display Port ++ can be connected to an adapter for use with HDMI input on TV. Audio and video will work with said adaptor. Optical drive to break up boredom with DVD's. VGA out for old projectors still in use for power point displays. There was no bloatware present. Lenovo included it's own applications which I find helpful. The battery manager is my favorite and I am still learning the others. I do not play games so the i5 and upgraded display are plenty fast and more than adequate for my needs. I bought this laptop for reliabilty, toughness, and speed. The look is professional and understated, much like a German car. I have not been disappointed. No problems whatsoever. I can't wait to get this machine out in the field. This is my first ThinkPad and I can already see why it has a cult following. Did I mention it's Mil-Spec! "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bonzo

not happy with my purchase

Date:12 April 2012
" I just bought a thinkpad t420s and not very happy,
i like to listen to music and sometimes a movie but cannot do on the thinkpad the volume is so low you
cannot hear any sound out of the speakers unless you move your ears close to the speakers,i paid £1300 for this laptop top of the range you expect decent sound enough to hear,i went to Apple shop today and listened to all their laptop including the 11" air they all got decent sound quite loud,my cheap mobile phone got better sound than my thinkpad 420s really.
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
techy

extremely good laptop compared to others

Date:27 March 2012
" I am an avid tech guy who is constantly reading about the newest gadgets and computers. When I needed a new laptop I did my usual research and settled on my T420. It was the best purchase I have made. I instantly fell in love with the track-point and disabled the touch-pad instantly. I have had to troubleshoot several different laptops since I've had mine and when I have to use the regular touchpad on a laptop it makes me cringe! I also love how fast the 420 boots up and shuts down. Maybe 20 second boot up from fully shutdown and it will shutdown in about 10 seconds. As far as everything else battery life is fantastic mine lasts the claimed 5 1/2 hours easily. The disc drive is easy to bump and it will just pop open but that is my only complaint about the whole machine. I would highly recommend this laptop for someone that just wants a fast machine that is going to take a beating and just work when you need it. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sirano

Unacceptable

Date:16 March 2012
" This laptop can be very unreliable. In my experience, I have encountered various issues such as:
a) the touchpad will die without warning. I will be using the touchpad to navigate on the computer and it will stop responding mid-scroll. The only way to get it responding again is to restart the computer
b) similar to the touchpad issue, the computer will, without warning, act as though I am holding down the control key. This is especially apparent when I go to type in a new URL, starting with "www." Before this issue, I didn't know that ctrl+w closes a window. Now I do know, thanks to my lenovo thinkpad
c) Blue screen occurs at random. Some days my laptop is especially fiesty, and will give me the blue screen three to five times in a single day. Everything stops, data is lost, and you have to take ten minutes to restart the computer.
I have had other issues as well, but those three are the most apparent and most unacceptable about this product. I do not recommend this computer. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mclain

Somewhat Disappointing

Date:13 March 2012
" I configured my T420 to be a power number-cruncher and it has performed to my expectations. The battery life is also good. The mouse pad has a wide scroll area and constantly and unexpectedly moves my page when I am trying to move the pointer. It is insensitive to "clicks" but is constantly doing unexpected "drag and drops". The sound is poor quality and volume cannot be turned up high enough to hear away from the laptop. The microphone is insensitive and cannot pick up when I am away from the laptop. The power supply is overweight for a traveler's laptop and has no provisions for easy storage. The DVD drive is constantly self-ejecting for no reason. The case shows fingerprints and these are difficult to clean. The video quality was poorer than expected and a downgrade from another laptop that had a lesser quality video card than this T420. I thought maybe I had a lemon but a friend's Thinkpad has the same problems. "