Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T420 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T420

Our most popular business tool with the no-frill features you demand.

Average customer rating:
4.082 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
25
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
5
74 of 97(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T420
Review 1 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

The best computer I ever purchased

Date:30 July 2015
" This computer is fast does not come with a lot of bloat ware. I like the fact that you can by parts that are replaceable if needed. The computer is ruggard and will not break if it fell. I love the necessary software that Lenovo put on the computer too. I love this computer. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Exactly What I Was Looking For

Date:28 April 2015
" I need a laptop for occasional travel and prefer one that emulates my Win7 desktop. Reluctant to spend big $$ on a new laptop, I purchased a factory refurbished T420 from my local Micro Center for 1/4 the original price. Used portable devices sometimes turn out to be a pig in a poke, but I was lucky - this no-nonsense workhorse looks and performs like a brand new product.
I found its rechargeable battery to be in good shape, with plenty of life. The DVD drive, multiple ports, and user-interchangeable components are a huge plus. The unit is bigger and heavier than most of today's portables, but I can live with that.
I deducted a star only because the backlit display is mediocre. For purposes of graphic design or photo editing, image and color quality are subpar. But the display is certainly adequate for running any other productivity apps. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Used Laptop

Date:31 March 2015
" I purchased the Thinkpad T420 used for a great deal about a week ago. I have upgraded the hard drive to SSD (very easy task on the T420) and could not be happier. The snappy Core i5 and SDD handle anything I can throw at it and are great on battery.
Would recommend to any of my friends! "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Favorite Laptop EVER

Date:21 March 2015
" I love the speed and feel of this laptop. It is very comfortable. I still like the beveled keys. 14 inch, no extra 10 key. Love the size. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I bought this model for the keyboard

Date:21 March 2015
" It has the best laptop keyboard I've seen. It does everything I need and more. It's the second one I've owned in this line. It's a little heavy, but it's perfect for me. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Long lasting Laptop

Date:06 January 2015
" The best feature of my laptop is the springy rebouncing effect of the keypad. The keys just keep going on and strong.
The spec of my laptop is normal but durable despite of my rough handling.
I will defintely recommend to my friends to buy one T-series Thinkpad to use for coming 5 years and more. Why? The laptop just keep going. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great machine

Date:21 November 2014
" After owning a Lenovo T410 for a few years, which I passed on to a family member, but which had served me very well, I bought a T420
The screen on the T420 is great with a very high resolution 1600 x 900 and very bright. Despite this , even with the screen set to its highest level, I find battery life very good too. The machine is very cool running and doesnt get hot even on turbo-boost (i5)
I replaced the hard-drive with a Samsung SSD and since then the machine has also been lightning fast, enough that I can run VMs at decent speeds on it
A very good machine which has proved very reliable "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Don't buy _ poor henge quality

Date:21 October 2014
" I've been using lenovo/ IBM products since 5 years by now, but this type the / t420/ was disappointing to me in every aspect. Be aware that the henge will break in the first two or three month. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MrBlack
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Worst Computer Ever

Date:18 February 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Support, Durability, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Storage, Video card, Wireless card, Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Processor, Display performance
" So slow and unreliable. Sometimes the screen just goes black and I have to force the computer to go to sleep, which sometimes takes up to 30 minutes. When it turns back on, my entire web browser is just black and all the data and information from the tabs are gone. When I open a new tab, it's also black. The only way to fix this is by exiting out and reopening the web browser,which makes you lose all your current tabs and data. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ayjc
Location:New York, New York
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Awful Computer

Date:06 October 2012
Pros: Security Features
Cons: Wireless card, Memory, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Bluetooth, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Processor, Screen size, Durability, Storage, Video card, Warranty, Display resolution, Battery, Security Features, Included Software, Software compatibility, Display performance
" This computer is so awful. I hate it. It is sooooo slow. The design is bulky and ugly. The casing is cheap and flimsy. The computer itself is super slow and unreliable. The keyboard stops working without warning and so does the trackpad. The screen is pixely and disgusting . Do NOT buy this computer. You can buy a much better computer for wayyyy cheaper The only thing that is ok is the fingerprint unlock feature. The Battery is awful and doesnt last. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Busytrav
Location:Asia
Owned Product:18-24 months

Very happy with it

Date:20 September 2012
" I got to say that this notebook is a hit with me - a former mac lover. For my work. I basically require a desk-top / lap-top solution as it is my main pc, but I need to travel frequently. It is a bit on the heavy side, but this is forgiven as it's built to withstand a lot of abuse!
Pros - The cool hinges, the screen light, the matt finish, the screen, and the usb (yellow) on hinge spine which can be used while computer is closed - this has been a life-saver at airports, etc, recharging my phones and ipods.
Cons - as with other reviewers, by FAR the worst thing is the trackpad and buttons. The buttons are a rubbish design and even after 2 years, I am still pressing 'right' instead of 'left'. Also, the DVD eject button position is just plain silly! Unlike below, I would also say the ThinkVantage button is a waste of time - bloatware if you ask me.
I used to own a SV for work and it was the worst computer i have ever, ever owned. I would never again buy one- my next notebook will also be a Lenovo, and the one after that, and that .... "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TVyas

Amazing Machine t420 usa

Date:09 June 2012
" Lenovo t420 core-i5 2540m, 4G ram, 250 nits 1600 x 900 screen, 320GB 7200rpm hdd, Nvidia nvs 4200m + HD3000 graphics (optimus), LInux x64 fedora 16 OS, 9 cell battery 85whr, 2 yr warranty (bought Aug, 2011)
Pros:
*) Sturdy/rugged construction (fell on tile floor from 2 ft just after receiving 1 year ago, no damage)
*) Amazing 250 nits brighness, workable in bright sunlight
*) 5-6 hours useful battery life on HD-3000 intel (internal graphics + linux x64 fedora 16) @ full brightness
*) gr8 keyboard
*) night lamp on top 2 work in dark
*) fn/ctrl keys swappable
*) nice discounts for students.
cons:
*) horrible (to me) spikes on touchpad. I CORRECTED IT BY USING 2 LAYERS OF ADHESIVE-TAPE ON IT AND NOW IT'S LIKE AN HP or APPLE touchpad
*) Speakers not so great
*) single socket for mic/speaker instead of usual 2 3.5 mm sockets.
Other thoughts:
*) control key should be bigger and f/n key should be smaller i think.
*) lenovo can learn from hp compaq's 6910p model's touchpad.
*) I love it.. & highly recommend it for travellers/students & business guys. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YSSS

Great stable machine, there's no substitute!

Date:03 June 2012
" This is my first Lenovo product and I'm very happy. I bought it with 8gb ram, SSD and i7 cpu.
I just found out that in the bios you can swap the left FN key with the CTRL key so that takes away the only annoying point I had with this machine. I hope some of the reviewers below here complaining about that key location read my post : YOU CAN SWITCH THE LEFT LOWER FN KEY IN THE BIOS WITH THE CTRL KEY !!
I use this laptop around 12 to 14 hours a day. I'm using this thing everywhere, professionally and personally. It's a great machine. I come from using macbook pro's but windows7 got me back to the dark side. I'm very happy with the machine, it's blazing fast and it's utterly stable. Never had a problem. I did deleted the standard installation and re-installed everything from the bottom up.
I'm really happy with this product and would refer this to anybody looking for a professional tool. It's not cheap but it's one of the best out there. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MDuck

All that worry for nothing. Great laptop.

Date:31 May 2012
" When I purchased my T420 about 8 months ago I was reading these same reviews and stressed about whether I'd hate the widescreen size, whether my scrollpad would stop working randomly, battery life, etc etc. Eventually I decided to get it anyway (in part because practically everyone in my engineering department owns a Thinkpad), and turns out this is a great laptop. So far it's stood up great to reputation.
I'm a grad student and haul this thing in my backpack to class/lab daily with just a little foam slipcover thing to protect it, and it's held up just fine. I can go from off or sleep mode to using the internet within 8 seconds (something that took my old laptop 3-4 minutes!), fingerprint reader works way better than my last one, my 9-cell battery still lasts me ~8 hours (maybe more?) of steady internet usage and doesn't add much bulk (I'd recommend it), laptop never gets hot. The non-glossy screen is great and I don't mind the widescreen at all.
My only gripes about the computer are relatively minor - someone else mentioned that the CD tray opens on its own all the time, and that's unfortunately true. Never been a real problem, just an annoyance. I have also had Solidworks crash a couple of times and run slowly/jerkily a few more times but that could as much be SW as the laptop (and the fact that I tend to have 10 parts open as well as a dozen internet tabs...). No other application has crashed, nor has the laptop itself crashed. I'm also not a big fan of the matte, fingerprint-prone cover or the bumps on the scrollpad but otherwise I have to say I don't find the laptop nearly as ugly/blocky as I expected it to be from seeing older Thinkpads.
Overall a great buy! "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ThinkNot

Not Good.

Date:24 May 2012
" I purchased a T420 to replace a very old T42. I don't like the T420 and will probably replace it with a Macbook Air. The widescreen format has too much horizontal and not enough vertical space. Unless you use this PC primarily for watching movies (as opposed to work that involves reading things) this is a poor choice of a screen format by Lenovo. The Mac screen format provides more usable vertical space.
The trackpoint on the T420 is much less "exact" (for lack of a better word) than the trackpoint on my old T42. It's like driving a hovercraft, which is unfortunate since the trackpoint is the main reason I purchased this laptop. I hate touch pads. The worst part of the machine are the mouse buttons. They require a fair amount of effort to hold down, making scrolling difficult. Also, they tend to unintentionally release when in use scrolling. I can't count the number of times I have accidentally closed windows when scrolling up because of how fickle the mouse buttons are.
I loved my old T42 and I expected better from this machine. It will be available on eBay soon. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shailesh

Ordinary laptop without any noticeable feature

Date:20 May 2012
" I am not too happy with this laptop at all. touchpad is horrible. It never scrolls correctly. Function key placement on bottom left corner is very bad. It should be CTRL key. Delete key should be on top right corner. If I put system into sleep, it wakeup automatically and stays awake forever. There is no front facing light source which could be helpful in dark places. Webcam is ok. Display is awful, did not like it all.
Overall ordinary laptop without any noticeable feature. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gianpaolo

Best Laptop owned to date

Date:14 May 2012
" I've had numerous of laptops over the past 14 years and I bought my first lenovo last year and havne't looked back yet. I have dropped, banged, stacked numerous of items on my T420 and never one issue. My old toshiba cracked after I banged it into a wall (not on purpose) my old HP's harddrives would fail just over 1 year and my Gateway memory died after 6 months.
Its true what they say, you get what you pay for. I dont need my laptop to look pretty i need it to work, if i cannot work I dont make any money. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
junior

the worst laptop i have ever bought

Date:28 April 2012
" the computer only lasted about 3 hours because of hardware issues... thought this was supposed to be a reliable lap top "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MudcatGrant

Simple process

Date:26 April 2012
" I generally don't like change and "upgrades." I had kept my old Thinkpad for probably 7 years. I was simply running out of memory and HAD to upgrade. The process was simple and easy. This Thinkpad is SO lightweight and easy to use. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T420
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nik0

Best laptop I've ever owned

Date:24 April 2012
" I bought my T420 fully loaded directly from Lenovo website a little over a year ago. I used my laptop last year in Iraq and currently I am in Afghanistan. When Lenovo says their laptops are rugged and tough, they really mean it. I ordered my T420 with Intel Core i7 vPro processor, Nvidia Geforce discreet graphics processor, LED display, finger print reader............so on and so forth and so far I am delighted with this equipment. I love typing on this laptop. Display is very sharp. Looks great too! Battery life could be better since I upgraded mine to a nine cell. Speaker volume is one thing this laptop comes short. As far as equipment integrity goes, I have one complaint, I bought a removable hard drive that I use for backup. I swap my drive with my DVD-RW drive once a week to do my backup. After about a year, the locking mechanism underneath the drive bay came loose and fell off. The external drive and UltrayBay still works but the locking mechanism is missing. Hopefully Lenovo will fix that on the next gen laptops. "