Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T420s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T420s

Our fastest slim & light business option.

Average customer rating:
4.46 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
43 of 50(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T420s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thinkpadUser

T420S review

Date:24 April 2012
"Recently purchased T420s ( i7 processor, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD) and have been using for about one month, before this I was using T60.
below are few pros and cons about T420S according to my experience after using T60.
I presonally like Thinkpad laptops and I hope they would maintain quality and support , as i don't see any other laptop(other then apple) better then thinkpad.
pros:
1) light weight. I found the weight amazingly light.
2) Creating Less Heat.
3) Battery life is around 4 Hrs if you charge is smartly and discharge it fully.
Cons:
1) Screen is wide I like the old T60 Screen which is more square shaped. i don't know why most of the laptops are keeping these kind of screens. i presonally feel that wide screen wast lot of space when one is working on a document or programming.
if X220 has square screen than its better to buy X220 reather then T420s.. at least you would have mobility."
Review 2 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
svladb

Dual impression

Date:19 April 2012
"I’ve it for over six months by now and have dual impression about it.
The good things: performance, size, materials – generally very comfortable to use. It replaced my desktop as well and, with docking station, comfortably handles three (24”, 24” 20”) monitors.
I would say that it is probably the best by design for my goals.
Now bad things: the first delivered was crashing every few hours and, eventually, Lenovo replaced it. The motherboard in second died in a few weeks. The third had noisy fan. That part is special. Fan is not noisy by design. In my case, and I bet in many others, it was due to the fact that fan was hitting part of the casing. There is a very tiny open space around the fan. One of our engineers just opened the laptop and adjusted (actually aligned) the offending part and noise was gone.
Actually, it is a reason for my review. A lot of customers complain about that noise. None of the advices that I saw mentioned the case that I had. The simple indication that it is a mechanical problem is that noise is not consistent and can occur at any time on any speed. I installed TPFanControl and sometime had noise under 2000 RPM and sometime no noise on 4000RPM. This is why we decided that it was mechanical problem. BTW, after it was fixed, the noise from fan literally doesn’t exist.
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
frames

Buyers Remorse

Date:13 April 2012
"I'm very dissapointed in this particular model.
One of the best machines out there, if only it was reliable. I had only Dells over a 10 year span prior to this laptop and no problems. I have had this t420s for 8 months and had a hard drive, a fan, and the Nvidia card all go out on me.
I'm a Computer Engineer myself, and I believe the fan is too small to cool the i7 quad-core and 2 graphics cards adequately. It's much smaller than any fan in my Dells, which only have 2 core Centrinos at best. This is why the fan is noisy. But be warned that if your fan suddenly ceases to be noisy, you will overheat. My graphics card suffered a nasty burn because of it.
Just make sure to buy the extended warranty if you are considering this machine."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeremyPad

Best Purchase Ever

Date:09 April 2012
"I bought my ThinkPad 420s in the fall for school. So far it has surpassed my expectations in nearly all features. The only thing that has been a problem is the fingerprint scanner and that has only been the past week.
The 420s connects easily to networks at school, work, and anywhere else I take my laptop. Boot up time is a snap, ready to go in about one minute. The keys are easy to find, I rarely hit the wrong one. I really like how light this computer is because I carry it in my backpack while riding my bike and don't notice much of a difference on top of everything else in my bag. Other little things like the keyboard light, web cam, and red button make my computing experience very enjoyable. I would recommend Lenovo products to anyone. Thanks for making great products!
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GF49

GOOD BUY

Date:07 April 2012
"Great overall computer for on the go. I am also a current Mac user, so I have high expectations. Laptop is very fast, once it's been on, or awake for longer than 5 minutes. It handles working on multiple tasks very well, and OMG the keyboard is without question the best. Very light, but a tough computer."
Review 6 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Strattified

Good Laptop

Date:19 March 2012
"I have to make a choice between this and Mac-book. For an engineering student, if i have to work with solid-works, visual studio etc. this laptop is the best and i made a right choice .
PRO: Sturdy, Quiet,Fast, Reliable and many more
CON: Battery life not as promised ~3 hours
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlewBya

A Work Horse

Date:17 March 2012
"I had the Lenovo T61p and like it enough to order the T520 when the other one was damaged in an auot accident. I love the T520. The boot up is really quick, the screen is clearer, the speed is noticably faster and the sound is great. If feels lighter too. Best of all, is the battery life. On one charge its good to go coast-to-coast. Overall, this is a great machine, and worth the wait for shipping."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TravelBot

Great laptop for traveling

Date:26 February 2012
"I've been using this laptop for about two months. It was a replacement for an old T61. There are a couple of features that made the upgrade worthwhile - (1) lighter weight yet still providing a full Lenovo keyboard and 14" screen (2) solid state drive so my fears of hard disk crash are gone (3) Enough consumer features such as the HD camera so that I enjoy entertainment and keep in touch with family while on the road.
The SSD isn't overly big but it holds all of my work files, pictures, a number of family video clips and some workout videos.
Overall this laptop is great and I've recommended it to my peers.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jpop

Top Notch Device, Almost Quirk-Free

Date:25 February 2012
"An upgrade from two generations (my past 12 years or so) of Think Pads, with a hold on the good (keyboard, eraser head) and significant improvement of screen brightness and battery life -- as well as the expected weight trimming and increased speed. The T420S is fast, sleek, and fun to use. No significant promotional icons to slow things down. The SSD is very fast, and it will presumably be more stable than a traditional hard drive, although the hard drive on my previous Thinkpads gave no hints of problem for all the years I used them -- and occasionally still do.
Could anything be better? Well, although the screen is superb, with a matte finish that is sharp and absent of the reflections of the high gloss screens in most other laptops, the aspect ratio means more scrolling on the page than before, and probably most users do not use this machine the majority of the time for movies. The quick SSD is smallish in size at 160 GB, but undoubtedly we will see big bumps in capacity in the near future.
Overall, I have enjoyed this machine immensely for the last two months I've owned it. I had thought hard about a tablet, but there is just too much that this laptop does a whole lot better."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
happycustomer

Thinkpad 420s Overall

Date:23 February 2012
"Overall - a great machine. bomber construction to ensure long life and plenty of firepower for personal and business applications. Seamless wireless connections and fast boot ups."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Raider1

Great Equipment

Date:22 February 2012
"Our sales people love the light weight, speed and dependable performance on these laptops. The built in webcam makes it simple for video conferencing and it is easier to work from home with the light weight."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makalehua
Location:Hilo Hawaii
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent!!!!

Date:08 February 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution
"So far this is the best laptop that I ever bought! Price was very reasonable."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sunan126
Location:Austin, TX
Owned Product:1-6 months

not so good

Date:07 February 2012
Pros: Weight, Build Quality, Display resolution, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Display performance, fan noise
"My T420s has fan noise problem, also the grid pixel display is bad. Don't buy this type, try some others, t420 or x220."
Review 14 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halo
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:7-12 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Decent Laptop

Date:02 February 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Build Quality, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Battery
"The Thinkpad T420s works incredibly well with Linux. I have tested both gnome 3 and unity under the Ubuntu distribution.
Not a good machine for watching movies, forget about playing 3d games. Speakers are adequate. Ports are placed in the back which is inconvenient.
The keyboard is ergonomic and comfortable. There is less friction when resting my palms next to the touch-pad than other laptops like HP. Chassis is built well.
No incidences of overheating, and the fan is quiet.
Average Battery life is around 3 hours, maximum 4-5 hours with a dimmed screen.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ThinkFAIL
Location:Vienna, VA
Owned Product:Just got it

Nice laptop, but where's that HDMI port?

Date:24 January 2012
"I'm not sure why ThinkPad engineers didn't think about making the "standard" HDMI port available on all ThinkPad's, specifically the T420s. Does a few dollars licensing fee for HDMI eat into the model's bottom line? This is an epic failure on Lenovo's part. The T420s is a nice unit, but without an HDMI port, that's a deal-breaker for many, including myself."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jonathan
Location:Monterey Park, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent Laptop!

Date:13 January 2012
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Storage
"This Laptop is highly reliable. The durability shouldn't be questioned when it comes to the T series. The T420s far exceeds the lightness in weight when compared to other Laptops in its class (macbook pro 13" *COUGH*)
It's speed is amazing, the screen display is crisp and it includes the anti-glare display unlike *competitors*. The ports are acceptable, but I still wonder why there isn't an HDMI port included.. Overall, this Laptop stands as one of the best made by Lenovo. Highly recommend it!
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BabbleOn
Location:Kansas City, MO
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great choice.....Lightweight and FAST

Date:09 January 2012
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Storage, Screen size
"I have been using this laptop for a few days and can't believe how light it is. Feels about the same as my Ipad with the Folio Case and Keyboard. Just weighed it on the food scale. 4lbs 3oz with the bay battery in. Not bad at all, considering my last laptop was almost 8 lbs. Graphics are nice, and the startup is lightning fast...unbelievable really. Even being this light, the materials and build seem very solid, and the keyboard typing is awesome...and quiet. Very happy so far...and can't wait to see what else this thing can do."
Review 18 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
buddy
Location:Lansdale, PA
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Quad
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Work Horse

Date:08 January 2012
"Have used one in the Legal Dept. for over 5 years. Never a problem. Great machine for heavy work. Bring it home to work - no problem. In fact 4 of us each have one and we all have had no problems. Love mine."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clu999
Location:Washington D.C.
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

best laptop in PC world

Date:03 January 2012
"Best laptop in all classes. I've used Sony, Toshiba, Dell, HP. all of those so called laptops. This is the only best one among all others.
It's really reliable, with high quality battery last forever, not heat at all... too much to mention here.
Overall, this laptop make me feel proud to say "I'm a PC""
Review 20 for ThinkPad T420s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HumanFactor
Location:Roswell, Georgia
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Ergonomics

Date:26 December 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Build Quality, Display performance, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Storage
"I am a Principal at a charter school, and I needed a very portable device with all the features. ThinkPad is a SOLID device. I chose the 420s over the regular 420 model, because I wanted a lighter unit. The battery life is ample. I really like the ThinkLight feature for low-light keyboarding. I know the trend is sleeker designs, but I must say the 420 keyboard and layout are the best in the industry. Very happy with this purchase."