Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T430 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T430

14” powerhouse with productivity-ready features & leading wireless options.

Average customer rating:
4.234 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
3
63 of 77(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T430
Review 21 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

To much optimisation | Failed for me

Date:30 October 2013
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
" T430 is an excellent model, but then it has taken away my favorite key from the pad. The key that used to be placed b/w Alt and Ctrl in the previous version (the one that can be used as an alternative to right click). Since I am pretty equipped with shortcuts, its absence has crippled me. "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 22 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months

Super disappointed

Date:28 October 2013
" I am a loyal customer of Thinkpad T series, and very satisfied with my old T series laptops, T61 and T400. That's the reason why I decide to buy a new T430 which is a total disaster.
The LCD screen of the new T430 has vertical stripes when pressing the edge. The speaker makes strange noises under mid to high volume.
This is definitely my last Thinkpad laptop, and I will never recommend Thinkpad computers to my friends as I used to do.
Sooooo disappointed. "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 23 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months

Beast mode

Date:03 October 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage
" Might not be the most mobile or light laptop out there, but this thing can last all day on its extended battery and runs on beast mode. I got the upgraded i7 processor and graphics card. ThinkPads are made to be deployed to large companies = easy to work with and switch out parts. I've got this thing running on 16 gbs of RAM AND I switched out the stock 300gb SATA for a 225 gb SSD. This thing is stupid fast and has plenty of space. This is my first Thinkpad and I had heard about the fantastic keyboards. I originally had thought to myself... really?... what constitutes a "good" keyboard? This thing makes me more accurate and faster than any other keyboard I've ever used. Go figure right? In short, I'm sold. ThinkPads rock! "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 24 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months

Doing the twist with success

Date:21 September 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance
" I love my ThinkPad twist and do not go anywhere without it. The touch screen allows me to multitask by being able to finish up with one project while beginning another. Not wasting any time it works like magic like I expect a computer to work, above and beyond the call of duty. The windows 8 touch screen allows you to work gracefully and diligently. When you learn to get past the mistakes of the operator, you move on to adjust pressure, timing acquiring precision mechanics that will allow your work to become an orchestra of movements strumming your pc with each stroke uniquely making it yours. "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 25 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Owned Product:Less than a month

It is missing an important LED for Ac adapter

Date:03 September 2013
Pros: Processor, Display resolution
Cons: Weight, no led for ac adapter, no beep for ac adapter, can not see color of battery ledit is in backside
" It has no LED for you to know that AC adapter is plugged in or not ! in the windows you can see a sign for that but if you are not in windows (The other OS or during installing OS) there is no way to understand your ac adapter is working or not ! Also it is missing that Beep when you connect AC adapter. They put a button with LED for Disable/Enable the microphone but they forgot to put any sign for AC adapter which is really disappointing for Lenovo. So just should have a power management app to see your AC Adapter and Battery status. They have eliminated LED for Capslock , I would accept it but wish they put a LED for battery and AC Adapter instead of LED for Microphone !! "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 26 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Owned Product:Just got it

Beware of the new keyboard

Date:27 August 2013
Cons: Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Durability
" Couldn't believe the bad reviews of the new keyboard until I tested myself. Currently owning also a T410.
Build quality is unchanged from the T410, as is the key travel of the new keyboard.
The new keyboard layout has no relation to the standard desktop keyboards anymore- a nighmare for touch typists. Much has been said about how bad/average the new keyboard layout is, and I'm not going to repeat it- google yourself.
Key shape: chiclet keyboards are more prone to missed keystrokes, as you're able to hit the key closer to the edge. This is unfortunately also true for the new Lenovo keyboard.
I returned the T430, and I will wait with the purchase of a new Thinkpad until Lenovo returns old keyboards, at least as an option. I invite fellow IT professionals to do the same.
"
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 27 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Owned Product:Less than a week

Where's the FireWire???

Date:27 August 2013
" Just got the T430 and replaced my old T410. Like it a lot, but suddenly it hit me: There's no FireWire port!!! What is going on? The T530 has it but not T430... I'm lost without it. Bummer. "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 28 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Bullet Proof (end for college students!)

Date:22 August 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
" If you are considering this for your college student it is hands down the most durable, reliable, functional and cost effective you will make! I am a 35 year IT veteran road warrior consultant and Director of IT. I have used the T series for years, purchased them for several companies. personally own several and supplied all my kids with them for college. In all the years I have used and supported them (about 100 T series) I have repaired one screen (dropped off a bus) and 2 keyboards (one had a cup of hot chocolate spilled on it). They may not look sexy but titanium hinges, magnesium frames and professional quality components (like batteries) mean these things wear like iron. Couple the Lenovo toolset for backup/restore, firmware updates and you are set. "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 29 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Had this at work and bought one for me

Date:22 August 2013
Pros: Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
" I worked for IBM for 10 years. When I retired, I needed a computer for myself. I immediately thought of getting the same one I had at work, which was reliable, had great support, and incredible features. I could have bought another brand and model, but am very happy with my purchase. "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 30 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Minor upgrade

Date:22 August 2013
" I just upgraded from a T410 to the 430. The new one is a solid laptop but the difference is actually quite small. The SSD disk gives less startup boost than expected. I would have preferred a small SSD and a large conventional disk. The lack of HDMI is also a drawback. I had finally gotten around to buying a DisplayPort-to HDMI-adapter for my 410 ($25). On the T430 the DisplayPort is a mini one, so I will have to get a new adapter...The USB on the left side are hard to access, since they are recessed. The most dramatic change though is the new keboard layout. The keys feel good but the layout is a bit confusing.
Overall: Great laptop but a few glitches.
"
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 31 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months

Best Purchase

Date:07 August 2013
" My cousin purchased this one and this is one of the most amazing laptops from lenovo "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 32 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Owned Product:7-12 months

Unexpectedly Bad

Date:02 August 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Storage, Video card, Wireless card, Memory, Input/Output compatibility, Security Features, Included Software, Software compatibility, Processor, Display performance
" I had heard from others that this laptop was good. However, it has consistently disappointed me over the last few months. It has awful memory (very little amount) and will almost monthly require a reboot. Also, the wifi is just terrible. You have to constantly reset the wifi adapater or something. And don't get this with Windows 8; this OS is just horrible. "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 33 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:Less than a week

Just What I expected from Thinkpad

Date:31 July 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, texture of the keyboard palm rest not just flat!
" Love the look of this machine. I've had thinkpads for a very long time and always loved the feel of their keyboards and the look and of course who can forget that little red dot in the middle for a pointer, love it!!!! The machine runs beautifully and over all very very happy I bought another Thinkpad. Love the keyboard palm rest texture, perfect, just what I wanted. Thank you thinkpad for making another great product! Always and forever a Thinkpad user!!!! "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 34 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Owned Product:Less than a month

no regrets

Date:28 May 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Video card, Weight, Display performance
" I have been using the T430 for about a week now, i have the T430 2346QU model, i5 4gb ram, intel hd 4000, 500gb hdd.
Pros
The overall performance is very good, especially with the free win 8 upgrade makes the computer even faster to boot. I love the durability, and the new style keyboard is great for typing. I have no problem with the 1366.x 760 resolution (i only use for business). The batery life is execptional ( i have the 6 cell) and the lenovo solution menu helps a lot for retriving updates.
Cons
The only slight draw back is the T430 is a bit heavy for a 14" laptop. But then again you get the extra protection and 4 usb ports. "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 35 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:Less than a month

Solid, lightweight, durable laptop

Date:09 May 2013
Pros: Warranty, Processor, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution
Cons: case partially blocks usb 3.0 ports
" Great laptop! Small, light, durable, and very fast. Keyboard is top-notch. Easy to carry, 5+ hour battery life with standard battery, and easy access to memory and mSATA slot.
USB 3.0 ports are overhung by the case on the left side. Not a deal-breaker for me, but it's something to be aware of.
Thinkpad build quality is worth the money! I can LEAN on this laptop when working and not worry about hurting it. The Lenovo outlet has really good deals, and minimizes the price difference.
Several of the options I chose and recommend:
Skip Nvidia graphics if battery life is a major concern
1600x900 screen is brighter, has better color, and shows more than the lower-resolution option.
"
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 36 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months

T Series forever!

Date:27 April 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
" Pretty similar to the old ThinkPad (had one that just died after 5 yrs). I love the chiclet keyboard - was so used to the old keyboard but had absolutely no issues transferring over. I think the keys are actually easier to type on. I got the base model computer because I'm cheap, and it's super fast and I love the rapid boot - boots in a minute or less. I also LOVE the fact that you can still get a matte LED screen, I absolutely detest the new screens on laptops these days, they have so much glare. The roll cage feature is great - I dropped my last ThinkPad 3 times, each time from several feet high, and NOTHING happened to it. It's also very light, and battery life is pretty good, been getting about 3.5 hours with full brightness and everything running. "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 37 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:7-12 months

PERFECT FOR MY JOB

Date:13 April 2013
Pros: Battery, Processor, Wireless card, Build Quality
" This thinkpad was the solution for all the problems that Ihad with my PC.
I can process on batch db of more tan 50K registers and keep working on Excel, Word and otutlook at the same time without problem.
"
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 38 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months

Exactly what I wanted (except the camera)

Date:26 March 2013
Pros: Battery, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Included Software, the camera
" The laptop is excellent. It has a great keyboard, processor, and if you include the Nvidia (switchable) graphics card the graphics are great as well. The only thing that would have made the laptop perfect would be a better front-facing camera, compared to the competitors the quality is low and insufficient for any web conferencing you may wish to do with it. And if you are deciding on the operating system, between windows 7 & 8, I would definitely go with windows 7. This is because windows 8 is not useful if you don't have a touchscreen! The amount of extra stuff that Lenovo installs on your machine is also very annoying; if you decide on windows 8, most of it was designed for windows 7 and the other stuff is useless. "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 39 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Consistently dependable

Date:26 March 2013
Pros: Weight, Screen size
" We've always used Thinkpads at my companies for our mobile salesmen; the build is durable and stylish, and the trackpoint nub is always in demand them. "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com
Review 40 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:7-12 months

Great Computer for kids and everyone

Date:14 March 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Video card, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Display resolution, Keyboard/peripherals
" if you are looking for a great price and reliability then look no longer this is a great unit and does everything, great package , love it "
Written by a customer while visiting lenovo.com