Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling

15" powerful 2nd generation ThinkPad Edge with Intel® processor

Average customer rating:
3.915 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
34 of 47(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

thinkpad heaven

Date:26 September 2014
"i am somewhat of a digital geek though i am a 78 yr. old woman. I have more digital stuff then you would find in an adolescent home, so i know a good 'puter when i see one. I waited impatiently for my new 'puter and was not disappointed. it arrived when expected, securely packed but easy to access. i booted her up and she was beautiful. screen was crisp as were all the all the features. i added gotomy computer as i was using a previous Thinkpad to hold all my programs. it worked wonderfully and i am so happy. the touch pad and navigation buttons took a bit of practice but i am very pleased"
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bvprulz
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Surprisingly Good

Date:21 November 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Included software, Software compatibility, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, audio
Cons: Display resolution, no backlit keyboard
"I have been using an E520 provided to me by my company. Though I initially did not like it (somehow never thought Lenovo was awesome), I am now a fan of this machine. My particular machine has been reliable, though one of my colleagues laptop (same model) failed to start few times. Guess it is a known fault.
But apart from that, you get all you need from a laptop. The keyboard is sexy, mouse track pad is great (multi-touch), screen is OK, sound is awesome.. Can carry it with one hand and looks very nice.. Never had heating issues which i believe is common on laptops nwdays..
All in all, I love this machine..and respect Lenovo now.."
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1veryangry
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Wasted money

Date:14 November 2013
Pros: Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Video card, Warranty, Included Software, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Durability
"From the start there was no sound. Laptop was not even two months old and they wanted me to send it in for 10 days for repairs! I wanted a replacement and should have had one. I have told everyone I know that product is not worth a cent spent on."
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jake
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium

Waste of money

Date:27 October 2013
Cons: Warranty, Support, Battery, Build Quality, Durability
"Awful, awful computer and a terrible overall purchase. It has been my misfortune to own this laptop for less than 2 years, in which time it has had to be sent in for servicing so many times I've lost count, at least 5 or 6. Now that my warranty is up, and my computer is experiencing another problem that won't allow it to boot (surprise), I am going to have to pay MORE money AGAIN to get it fixed. This is insane and getting to the point where I am simply considering buying an entirely new laptop. And it most certainly will not be a Lenovo."
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Someone
Owned Product:2 years+
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

my first laptop

Date:28 September 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Battery, Included Software, Software compatibility, no keyboard led-lighting
"I am a programmer running arch-linux. Keyboard is GREAT! I love its layout mainly page up/down, home/end and the printscreen key between alt gr and right ctrl. However I it would be even beter if there is long left shift instead of extended backslash - but I think this is country-dependent. Even though I love the keyboard, it lacks led-lighting. there is one more think I dislike on this keyboard - F1-F12 keys has larger function icon rather than their labels.
Long story short: This notebook has such a great keyboard with a few features missing, thats wh I bought it. Others functions are working very well. It is ideal for me."
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rino
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Worst purchase Ever

Date:10 April 2013
"I have a Lenovo ThinkPad E520 nothing then troubles. One month after purchasing operating system crushed. Repaired, 6 months later memory extended failure. Now it freezes constantly....just out of warranty! Think before you get one!!!"
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thalley
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop - For the price

Date:25 December 2012
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Screen size, Build Quality
Cons: Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals
"I've owned and used my E520 daily for 1½ year now, and never had any problems with it. It's a very good computer if you don't want to spend a lot of money of the high end computers, and just want something that's reliable, cheap, and does what's needed from a computer."
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JOHN
Location:DALLAS, TX
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

MANUFACTURER DEFECT! DO NOT BUY!

Date:21 November 2012
Cons: Build Quality
"GOOGLE "LENOVO E520 WON'T TURN ON" BEFORE MAKING ANY DECISION TO BUY THIS $600 PAPER WEIGHT."
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
John
Location:San Diego, CA
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2.5 GB

Manufacturer Defect! Do Not Buy!

Date:11 November 2012
Cons: motherboard, eeprom
"All you have to do is google "lenovo e520 won't turn on" and you'll see thousands of postings. Faulty EEPROM fries out motherboard, this is a piece of garbage machine. If you buy it after reading this, you get what you deserve."
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Zata
Location:Scandinavia, Europe
Owned Product:7-12 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not a real ThinkPad!

Date:09 July 2012
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Durability, Display resolution
"I bought ThinkPad Edge E520 for my lil one last Christmas to be able to study. After just 6 months the laptop just at once in my hands stopped working. It is in the repair shop now. This is not a real ThinkPad. X, T, W series - yes! Edge never again! Never!"
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
workhorse

small business E520

Date:23 April 2012
"I bought the E520 after getting 7 years out of my old T60. I have hopes that this one will last as long and prove to be as durable and reliable as my T60. So far, so good. I drag my laptops everywhere and don't have time for something to break. I trust my small business to Lenovo, and so far everything else I tried seems not hardy enough. It is sleek looking and works fast, and does it all, while being light-weight as well. Definitely recommend it."
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
whiteg
Location:Dublin
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Oh dear....

Date:14 March 2012
Pros: Weight, Battery
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, keyboard layout and quality is really bad
"Just fired up my e520. I'm a developer and I was so looking forward to getting this laptop. Been watching all the promo videos for days now. My first impression when taking it out of the box was how light it was. I could'nt wait to try out the much raved about keyboard. Now I am really disappointed. My old HP had a better feel to it. This keyboard is cheap and nasty. Also, being a coder, the CTRL key and the up-down-left-right keys are the most important keys to me. Lenovo has put the Fn key where the CTRL should be and they have made the up-down keys small. How ridiculous is that!! Other than that, its quiet and doesnt overheat. But, I am still disappointed. Dont believe the videos!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RAArj
Location:LONDON
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

NOISY AND NOT FAST ENOUGH

Date:03 March 2012
"I bought high end i5 processor and now got 8Gb RAM,the laptop is good looking and key board in good.For i5 this is not fast enough slower than my i3 desktop even after upgrading to 8gb RAM. The matt finish screen is not great for HD & pictures.TOO NOISY I AM ASKING THE SERVICE DEPT TO LOOK UP THIS.Overall Noisy & same speed as my old Pentium two HP Laptop."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mbphd

disappointed with keyboard layout

Date:02 March 2012
"I bought the E520 after owning an IBM Think Pad R52 for many years. I do a lot of word processing. Not much of a tech-y. teh E520 (which I orderred custom-built) is of course much faster, the design is very nice. I wanted something sleeker, which it is.
Two problems with the key board: 1. the placement of the DELETE button: it is now a very thin key in a row above the square keys and next to the INSERT button. so I am constantly hitting the INSERT button instead of the delete. Much time spent correcting a correction. The number pad on the right side is unnecessary and i wish I had noticed that before I bought it.
2. the "r" key seems to stick such that I am always getting 2 r's. I haven't called on this.
3. the size of the laptop is deceiving. I orderred the 15 inch. but it doesn't fit in my computer roller case (for traveling) because it is really 17 inches across, too wide for it.
i always liked the feel of the IBM think Pad keyboard and this one is still good. but I wish I had noticed the layout before I bought. Mine is only 4 months old. the machine itself seems to be very good. so far."
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rdkaro

The Edge Factor E520

Date:28 February 2012
"After my mom's 3rd hand pc finally crashed, I decided to buy her a new pc, after surfing the web for a great deal, the Edge E520 gave a good impression. I use to do intern for IBM so when it arrived I like that look of the Edge cause reminded me of the old Thinkpads but cooler. Overall it has been performing pretty solid. Sometimes the DVD will spin so loud that you think it going to explode, could be the type of disk that its accessing. The thinkVantage software is also annoying with all the reminders. The good, solid performs well. The bad, annoying reminders and loud DVD access."
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sanders

Good for the first 6 months

Date:23 February 2012
"I bought a lenovo because I heard great things about their hardware. I ended up getting a thinkpad edge because they were price competitively. For the first six months the computer performed fairly well. It wasnt till about 5 months ago that it started slowing down. Its now to point where it will hardly function. I took it Staples for a diagnostics and they said that the motherboard was bad. Unfortunately, I am just out of the 1 year warranty range so Lenovo support would not help me at all. I think Lenovo is good but I think thats it their higher end models that carry that reputation. I would not get an edge because I think that they use lower quality materials compared to their other models because it is a base model. If you get an edge, make sure you get at least 2 year service warranty."
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PCGeek

Best notebook ever owned.

Date:22 February 2012
"After owning many brands on notebooks I finally purchased a Lenovo Edge E520. This has been the best notebook purchase I have ever made out of approximately 10 of various brands. As long as Lenovo continues with what they are doing I wil continue to be a avid user of their notebooks. I use it for work, home and entertainment.
Great notebook and great service!"
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
snowens
Location:CA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Could be better

Date:20 February 2012
Pros: Processor, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Durability, Display resolution, Battery, lcd portion of the case
"Purchased the z570 and the e520, I like the e520 better, better keyboard. Biggest gripe is the case, the LCD portion of the case is made out of a flexable rubber type of plastic. It's very easy to bend the LCD portion of the laptop, i would say it's too flexable. Mine came with a 7200rpm drive and an i5 processor, it has plenty of speed, the speakers are terrible. Other than the LCD display being flexable I have few complaints. Battery seems to be good for about 3hrs or so."
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wuenchy
Location:MN
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Laptop

Date:18 February 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"This is very well priced laptop. I would rate this laptop to a high end laptop with a good price.
It performed great at 4gigs ram,after I upgraded to 8 gigs of ram now it flys. I have many lenovo products and had never been let down. They have great support and download support. I have been in the IT field for 30 yrs and lenovo has it going for them.
Thanks Lenovo for great products.
Wuenchy
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E520 - Best Selling
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OpenWindows
Location:Northern NJ
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Kind of Bulky

Date:10 February 2012
Pros: Durability, value
Cons: Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Battery
"It was a good value, but there were tradeoffs:
The First machine received had nonfunctioning keys...it took two weeks for a new one to be sent, with fingerpointing between Lenovo and the online vendor, and the online vendor finally did the right thing and resolved the issue.
They've squeezed a number pad in, like many others, at the expense of standard key placement and sizes for special keys like PageUp and the DELETE keys. It really wasn't needed for my use, and it only makes the keyboard unfamiliar. This makes a touch typist frustrated with more errors and more time wasted as we have to hunt for keys!
The fingerprint security is convenient and impressive. Also, I tend to keep lots of windows open, and the system performs better than my previous laptop.
It is a workhorse and a good value; If you want a sleeker, thinner, less bulky look, and a lighter machine, there are better options."