Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T430s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T430s

Slim, light & extra-durable 14" laptop with non-compromising features.

Average customer rating:
3.966 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
6
41 of 59(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T430s
Review 21 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
James
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro

Best Laptop, but need improvement

Date:21 March 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Video card, Battery, Weight, Display performance
"I purchased this T430S on last Christmas. It is very good 14" thin laptop. I have had my 15" T61 for many years and love it.
But, I did not keep this T430S because of its quality of sound and display. The sound is not easy on the ear compared with T61 that I have. Another is the color of display. I am happy with anti-glare screen with high resolution. But, the color on the screen looks pale.
Though T Series is for business design, not for entertainment use, as T series is so famous for its reputation as ThinkPad. I wish Lenovo can offer more flexible on Display when customers do "customize" online.
I am waiting for coming T440/T440S/T540S to any different.
Overall, ThinkPad T series is still the best laptop if you compare with other brand."
Review 22 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1feraluser
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

My first laptop

Date:10 March 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance, design
Cons: Support, Included Software, full documentation of all features
"Since my first computer in 1988 I always built and maintained my own desktop computers feeling that this was the best way to spend my money. Recently I decided that laptops now fulfill the roll of most desktops and with peripheral devices, can exceed most for the average advanced user.
Now when I travel I can take the same device with me. When I was made the decision on what laptop to purchase that was easy to travel and yet had the technology to operate as a full desktop while at my desk, the T430 model was the best designed laptop and was backed by serious programs and options giving it everything I need."
Review 23 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
L2TW
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

great laptop terrible keyboard

Date:09 March 2013
Pros: Build Quality
Cons: keyboard layout
"perfect laptop, except this terrible layout for keyboard buttons. i'm not sure what is the purpose of changing the buttons layout.
old layout was a replica of a normal keyboard. new one have all major "sensitive" buttons (like the insert button) side by side, so very often you would find yourself clicking the wrong button..
lenovo should offer the 2 layouts, the old thinkpad and this new one, and let people choose.. if it was my call i would fire the engineers who dumped the old keyboard for this one"
Review 24 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Valli
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Dont go with T430s

Date:08 March 2013
Pros: Weight, Screen size
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Keyboard/peripherals
"problems with the Laptop,
keyboard is worst one i saw up to now, and battery life.
the response of the keys are too bad,
And arrangement of keys are also very bad.
few keys are arranged up and down. what the quality testing process they follow before handover the product to customer we don't know
Before that I used DELL latitude, it is too rough and tough, I am feeling very bad for my decision.
second thing battery, wow it is another super problem, they announced 7hrs but even 2hrs is not working.
the guys who want to just see the slim Laptop go with the T430s other wise go with other one.
What we will do even my system is full powerful, solid and etc.... without KEYBOARD for Laptop. worst keyboard.
Thanks,
Valli
"
Review 25 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RStan
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Investment

Date:24 February 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: included memory
"After being a Mac user for a number of years, I finally decided that I needed something more business-oriented for work and school. I chose the T430s for two key reasons:
1. The keyboard. The Keyboard on the ThinkPad is the #1 feature hands down. It isn't even a contest. Everything else simply feels cheap. I type faster, make fewer mistakes, and notice less fatigue than I do on lesser keyboards.
2. Durability. I do not feel like I have to baby my ThinkPad. I try to, but it has to go everywhere with me.The quality of the construction, and the solid feel of the ThinkPad make it so that I do not have to worry about destroying it.
"
Review 26 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
laser
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

bad USB

Date:21 February 2013
"bad USB"
Review 27 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Molly
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Teaching Partner

Date:06 February 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"I bought a T series Thinkpad over the summer and it has become my constant companion ever since. It has been the most reliable, powerful, and all around awesome laptop I have ever owned. When I bought it, I had originally purchased it as a school/work device, something I could do my work on and do some light gaming with. When I started teaching first grade, this laptop became my best friend. I carried it from meeting to meeting, planned on it, used it for solar system demonstrations, everything. Now, it is mainly used as a teaching buddy. I almost always have it hooked into my Promethean Board and I am constantly using it to teach with. I have been so impressed with how much of a workhorse this computer has been, especially compared with the apple laptops the school provides us."
Review 28 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
colin1898
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Products but bad battery

Date:19 January 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Battery
"This is my fourth Thinkpad laptops. Currently I have T400, X230 and T430s. T430s is very light and windows 8 is super fast; windows metro is interesting but not very useful to me. You need some time (about one week) to get used to windows 8. The new keyboard and its layout is not that bad, though not as good as the previous keyboard. Also I like the 1600×900 screens and the backlit keys.
The only big problem I have is with the battery. It runs out at in less than two hours, about half capacity of my T400 laptop and this is not desirable. In addition, two USBs are at the back side of the laptop, and one foot-pad is on the battery so I cannot remove battery when plugging in!"
Review 29 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeG
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Nice hardware, but wish it had an IPS screen

Date:13 January 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, serviceability
Cons: Included Software, Display performance, windows 8
"Starting from the high bar of being a Thinkpad, here are the low points:
Windows 8: terrible enough that I ended up returning the machine and getting one with Windows 7. (No penalty, thank you Lenovo).
Keyboard feel: great.
Keyboard layout: worse than past, but livable.
Screen: very poor. Vertical angle is bad (banding even when straight on), horizontal is worse. Wish it had an IPS option, or I had bought a different model with IPS. Almost a deal-breaker.
Bloatware: excessive, including sadly some Thinkvantage tools.
Extended battery warranty only allows ONE battery swap. Caveat emptor.
Overall, it's a Thinkpad, which makes it a nice machine to begin with, but the rough edges spoil things a bit."
Review 30 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Erty
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Compact and powerful working horse

Date:24 December 2012
Pros: Processor, Durability, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Screen size, Display performance
"The laptop is both portable and powerful enough to replace a desktop. Unfortunately, there are some nasty cons as well. The screen is a disappointment. Colors are distorted and viewing angles are awful. Moving your head few cm affects what you see. Look at the center and you will see color distortion near the corners. This is ok when you work with text, but watching movies is already a bit unpleasant. The screen is not suitable for any graphics related job. It is a bad joke to match such a screen with discrete graphics. Mobility is fair, but not great: battery life below average (with ultrabay battery ~7-8 hrs for normal activity and brightness). The laptop is large for 14'' screen, its case can support 15'' as well. Connections on the rear and stone-age design do not need any comments."
Review 31 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kenneth
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Owned Product:Less than a week

Most features have improved, but mouse is terrible

Date:16 December 2012
Pros: Battery, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals, keyboard backlight
Cons: Build Quality, mouse
"I just upgraded to the T430s from the T410s.
In most respects this is a much better machine: I love the "chicklet" keyboard, the CPU is faster, it now wakes from sleep mode almost instantly, and the new keyboard backlight is great.
However, the buttons on the mouse no longer work reliably. I never used an external mouse with the T410s, but the internal mouse works so poorly on the T430s that I have no choice."
Review 32 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aliensthetruth
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop, not so great keyboard

Date:04 December 2012
"I have loved Lenovo products for years and am constantly excited to see the latest offerings. My employer's official platform is Lenovo, so I've used your machines for nearly all of my 13+ year career here. Our latest model is the T430S, from a performance standpoint, it's great.
The only drawback I have found is the keyboard. I much prefer the keyboard from the T420S. I do not like the placement of the home, end, insert, delete, page up and down. I liked having the back and forward buttons around the arrows, the new top right corner is different from all of our previous models. T43, T60, T400, T410, T420, etc.
It is not information technology focused as I often use page up/down, home insert and delete. At work I use a docking station with multiple monitors, with a regular keyboard. However, while away from work I often have to turn on the light to be able to see the keys since they are no longer isolated at the top right. The T420 had the extra large delete button, which was great, as I found the use of it to be much more frequent than insert. Now, there's no way to identify it without memorizing the new placement or looking."
Review 33 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ems3
Location:Baltimore, MD
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5

One of the worst laptops I have ever had

Date:02 December 2012
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Build Quality, Durability, Storage, fingerprint scanner
"I have had this laptop since August. The fingerprint scanner died. The speakers are not great. The computer has already had a virus and I have never had a virus on any of my other computers before. The hard drive is already filled there is not enough memory on it. Overall really disappointed in this computer for the price."
Review 34 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ThinkPadMania
Location:Tempe, AZ
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Another great Lenovo ThinkPad!

Date:01 December 2012
Pros: Weight, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Included Software
"This is my second Lenovo ThinkPad. I still have my almost-six-year-old IBM Lenovo ThinkPad Z61m which is rather slow for today's standard. It was a beast five or six years ago (Core 2 Duo, T7200 2.0 GHz, 1 GB RAM, 128 MB ATI Graphics Card, 120 GB HDD), but it has been too bulky and too heavy for my shoulders, apart from being slow. As an academic -- in humanities, not in engineering -- working in a university and now doing graduate studies, I walk and travel a lot with my backpacks, so my old Z61m needs more rest at home and I like my T430s: literally much slimmer and lighter than my Z61m. ThinkPad X1 Carbon is also very light, but it lacks a built-in Ethernet port. Moreover, to date, X1 Carbon does not provide i7+8GB RAM in its configuration -- either i7+4GB RAM or i5+8GB RAM. Lenovo allows me to configure T430s with i7+(at least) 8GB RAM.
I only miss a 16:10 screen. All ThinkPads are now 16:9. My late "sweety 1680x1050" screen -- it was dead 2 years ago :( -- of my relatively very durable Z61m might now smile in heaven for its wider viewing angle and spacious -- recall its 16:10 ratio -- than that in T430s. I read some comments on the graininess of T430s screen. Well, while it is (marginally) true, so far it doesn't bother me. Most importantly, its matte screen prevents it from reflecting too much light inside or outside a bright room.
I wish I had T530 or W530, too. Its 15.6-inch FHD screen in one of its possible configurations exceeds that of my 15.4" Z61m. Quad core processors are also available for T/W530. But as a road warrior, T430s is way more suitable for me. It's not too small as the 12.5" ThinkPad Twist or X230(t) for my purpose and preference.
Having a Thunderbolt port in T430s -- with an integrated graphics Intel HD 4000; not with NVidia Optimus -- is a great investment. The backlit keyboard besides the ThinkLight is my favorite! I don't mind the chiclet-style keyboard at all. After all, it's ThinkPad, and to me whether it's chiclet or not, ThinkPad keyboard feels and looks better than other non-Lenovo laptops I have tried and/or owned. Above all, I have enjoyed the red TrackPoint, which is absent in most other PCs as well as in Mac! -- objectively speaking. With the TrackPoint, I don't have to move my hands to the touchpad to navigate Windows and other applications.
Maybe because I love classical music, I also love anything vintage, including the way T430s looks, which maintains the classic black, boxy design of ThinkPad since years, if not two decades, ago. Looking "fancy" and "stylish" may be preferable for some people, which they find absent in ThinkPads, but such fanciness and stylishness do not appear classic; at worst, they seem like toys, not laptops whose aesthetic value I cherish. Way to go, Lenovo ThinkPad, especially T430s!
Concerning classical music, Dolby Home Theater v4 boosts my enjoyment with listening to Beethoven symphonies, piano sonatas, and concertos. Well, do not depend on T430s's built-in speakers, but use at least a decent pair of headphones. The Dolby rocks! My AKG K240 55-ohm headphones are sufficiently amped with the Dolby system. My Z61m's audio system can't amplify my headphones adequately, btw.
128 GB SSD + 500 GB HDD 7,200 rpm combine the best of two-storage worlds. The SSD is very snappy, thanks to my 8 GB RAM and i7 processor, too, and the HDD allows me to store many, many things!
Included software is actually okay, so long as my SSD's storage space is not reduced by more than 25%. Can't I have the option to get Windows 7, Skype, Adobe Reader, and Lenovo-related software only and nothing else, for example?
Last but not least, I hope my T430s will be at least as durable as my old Z61m."
Review 35 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AddedSSD
Location:San Antonio, TX
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Added SSD, now Super Fast

Date:24 November 2012
"After extensive research, I determined that this computer could provide me everything I wanted for the least amount of money (I upgraded the screen resolution, added a camera, and added a card reader). It came down to me getting this over an IdeaPad U410. I liked the way the U410 looked, and was impressed by its specs, but ultimately chose the T430s because of the longer battery life and better screen resolution. I am very happy with my purchase.
I previously was issued a Lenovo laptop for my consulting job, and was happy with its performance. It would be nice to have a cool looking apple computer, but it would have cost significantly more, and honestly, I am much more comfortable with the Windows environment. I looked at other PC brands, but most seemed to have issues with the keyboard or touch pad, which are strong points for Lenovo computers. So far, I am very satisfied with the performance of my new T430s.
I also added a 256 gb SSD on my own because it saved me a significant amount of money to do this on my own. Because it took me so long to figure out how to get the SSD up and running, I figured I would detail how I did it in this review.
I followed the instructions in the Lenovo T430s user guide to create recovery disks (to install the Windows 7 operating system and my drivers on the new SSD). To do this, I went to Start ➙ All Programs ➙ Lenovo ThinkVantage Tools ➙ Factory Recovery Disks, then followed the directions on screen. This created one recovery disk and three driver disks (my computer is equipped with a DVD burner, so I was able to burn this data to four disks).
I then took out my old hard drive and inserted my new SSD. When the ThinkPad logo was displayed, I repeatedly pressed the F12 key until the Boot Menu window opened, and followed the on screen instructions. At this point, the SSD was up and running.
My next issue was to get the Windows updates to work properly. Initially, I was getting the error "Failure configuring Windows updates reverting to original." I scoured the internet, searching for a fix, including Microsoft's "Fixit" program, and couldn't get rid of this error. Then I found a YouTube video that fixed my problem ([...]).
To solve the problem, I went to Start ➙ All Programs ➙ Windows Update and updated only one of the 39 available updates. The update I ran was: KB2647753. This update was able to load. I then was able to run the remaining 38 updates. I now believe that my SSD is properly installed, and my operating system is working properly.
If I would have known this method for setting up my SSD, installation probably would have taken about 3 or 4 hours. Because I'm not very technically savvy, it ended up taking me a couple of weeks to figure everything out. The Lenovo user guide was pretty helpful. It gave instructions on where the hard drive is located and how to remove the hard drive."
Review 36 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blaze
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Thinkpad So Far

Date:17 November 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"Very bright and sharp LED high def display. The 4 pound weight makes a big difference on long days. The new keyboard's excellent design is a pleasure to use. The backlit keys are also very cool. I would recommend the SSD for speed and low power consumption
Cons: Can't find the perfect 14" Thinkpad brand carrybag.
I have owned several Thinkpads over the past 17 years. The thin T430S is simply awesome, especially with the full voltage speedy CPU's."
Review 37 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Redfire
Location:san francisco, CA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not standard 2.5" HD

Date:15 November 2012
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Build Quality, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Storage, Included Software, Software compatibility
"Overall this is a pretty good business computer and value, way better than the Dell selections. However, the T430s use a thinner 2.5" hard drive than the standard. I purchased an Intel 330 SSD and it won't fit into the laptop. Apparently it uses a thinner HD. Please beware of this!
Also when you try to install the Windows updates after opening the box, it will fail. The trick is to install half of the updates at a time. Then another half and another half. Eventually you will be able to install all of the updates. Not sure if this is a MS or Lenovo problem."
Review 38 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5627605
Location:china
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:2 GB

very nice

Date:05 November 2012
Pros: Warranty, Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Bluetooth, Weight, Battery
"Thin, optional configuration is very cost-effective,and Price discount than elsewhere."
Review 39 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jeffbui
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo has lost a longtime customer

Date:04 November 2012
Pros: Warranty, Durability, Display resolution, Processor
Cons: Video card, Battery, Included Software, Display performance
"I've been using Lenovo/IBM notebooks for over a decade always opting for their higher end notebooks, usually denoted with the "p" designation. My favorite was the T42P, a thin and light notebook with a great GPU and display. I've stuck around all these years due to their use of the Trackpoint, great keyboard and build quality.
The T430s is the right form factor but it gets mostly everything else wrong. By far, my biggest complaint is Lenovo's choice of display. Mine was specced with the HD+ display but it has to be among the worst displays I have ever laid my eyes on. Colors were so washed out and inaccurate that I felt it was impossible to view it at the correct angle. I tried adjusting gamma and saturation to improve the display but they weren't enough to make it acceptable. Viewing angles are terrible as well. Lenovos were never known to have great displays (outside of their W series) and I put up with it for years but for a notebook in this price range, it should at least have a decent display. Something that you stare at for hours a day should not be prioritized this low.
The great feeling keyboard is gone, replaced with a mushy feel now. There's a ton of extraneous software present. I'm not sure if it's because of all the bloatware present but Windows update has continuously failed to update the computer out of the box. The enhanced experience 3.0 contributes to amazingly quick boot up times in combination with an SSD.
The models offered with the Core i7 are not available with a dedicated GPU. This is actually good because the NVS 5200M doesn't offer much performance over the Intel IGP and the use of an external GPU would hurt the meager battery life even more. i7 models come with a Thunderbolt port but I was unable to test it. Keep in mind there are competitors that offer substantially more GPU performance in thinner packages.
This will be my last Lenovo notebook unless they substantially improve their line. The IPS display in the X230 is a step in the right direction."
Review 40 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Merlin
Location:Indiana
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop for travelling

Date:31 October 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Display resolution
"Love my new T430s laptop (2 week delivery). The HD display is bright. The smaller computer size is somewhat of a compromise, but I use the laptop primarily for editing photos when I travel, so the lighter weight will help reduce backpack weight. I did order the T430s with minimum memory and 500 GB 7200 HD that I removed and replaced with Crucial 16 GB RAM and 512 GB SSD (thin body). Used ThinkVantage to make factory backup (boot + 3 DVD image) to install on Crucial SSD. Easy to upgrade to maximum RAM and HD speed and size large enough to store photos. Purchased ThinkPad SATA Drive 9.5mm bay adaptor II to hold original 500 GB hard drive for backup storage in DVD bay. This is my 4th Lenovo laptop."