Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop USB Port Replicators or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US

Average customer rating:
2.617 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
19
16 of 47(34%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
Review 1 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent dock when OneLink isn't supported

Date: October 27, 2014
"This is an excellent general-purpose dock. It will work on any computer that has a USB 3.0 port available, including non-Lenovo computers (drivers available at the DisplayLink site). It's the only dual-DVI dock available for computers without a OneLink port, like the Yoga series. Connection to the computer is via one USB 3.0 cable, and you have to power the computer and dock with separate power supplies. But that's a small price to pay for dual 1920x1200 monitor support with enough spare USB ports to connect all your stuff.
My company uses a number of these docks on a daily basis and they work flawlessly to drive 2 monitors, keyboard, mouse, sound, thumb drives - all without any video lag. Yes, if your computer has a OneLink port (available on most ThinkPads), a OneLink dock is a more elegant solution, but if not, this is the way to go. I have personally used both the USB 3.0 dock and OneLink Pro dock, and they function identically.
You won't be disappointed with the USB 3.0 dock."
Review 2 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst docking station

Date: October 19, 2014
"don't buy thjis"
Review 3 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

No use for Carbon X1 - get a OneLink Dock instead!

Date: September 8, 2014
"I recently got this with a X1 Carbon (which was another disaster in itself) for work. As other reviewers have stated it's next to useless, you need two power supplies, two links to the laptop and it will not power up the computer from the button on the top without the laptop being open. If you buy the other dock the "One Link" it is far better with only one PSU, one cable and full support for power down from the dock."
Review 4 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
West5757

Not worth the time

Date: August 14, 2014
"I ordered this when I bought my computer and after I set it up I was highly dissapointed. It is called a docking station without the ability to power the computer. I wanted a docking station so I could hook up in the office without connecting wires and then take the computer away when I needed to leave. My external keyboard does not work when plugged into the back of the station and the ethernet is horrible. I had to hook it straight into the computer. It is basically being used as a USB Hub."
Review 5 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luke

6 Months In

Date: August 11, 2014
"I have been using this with my X1 Carbon for about 6 months now. I could not be more happy. I am running 2 1080p DVI monitors, USB powered speakers, keyboard, 1TB USB WD drive and wireless track pad without issue. I highly recommend purchasing an additional power supply for your laptop to pair with this device to make your life easier. I regularly unplug/plug back in my laptop while it is on or waking up from sleeping with no issue. For those having issues, follow these steps to enjoy the product as it was meant to run:
1. Plug everything in to your laptop
2. Install Lenovo's driver for the 3.0 Dock
3. Install the 0A33970 firmware update
4. Install Lenovo's USB 3.0 host driver
5. Install DisplayLink's driver over Lenovo
For those having issues after following the above steps, you may try updating the following few things on your laptop.
1. Update your video driver.
2. Check for a BIOS update.
3. Make sure you don't have legacy port replicator software still installed.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Benny

Very Nice

Date: August 6, 2014
"Been using this product with the Helix for 8 months and it has work superbly. I have two Acer touch screens plugged into the USB 3.0 ports. The only issue I have had is once in a while (on a cold boot) the external monitors are refreshed a little slowly and no LAN, I simply cycle the power on the unit and everything is working as it should."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TampaBusy

Caused Boot Errors with Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro

Date: July 29, 2014
"Lenovo recommended this dock as compatible with the Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro, but after two days of getting boot errors, I sent it back. Had to unplug the hub every time I wanted to close or power down my pc or else I got a usb boot error. It also didn't recognize my hdmi visio monitor with vga or dvi even with the driver. No hdmi ports available. Performance was slow and I only had a wifi keyboard mouse, 1 monitor, and Ethernet plugged into the hub."
Review 8 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gary

ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock

Date: July 18, 2014
"I can see from reading through the list that some have had problems. I'm not sure why. After I removed it from the box, I followed the instructions and downloaded the latest drive and firmware for the device and plugged it in. I'm using it with a Yoga 2 Pro at work and the Ethernet, VGA, and USB ports all work fine. The only thing I've noticed is that my Microsoft Natural 7000 keyboard does not like to have it's USB plugged into the device. So that gets plugged into the USB 2.0 port on the Yoga. Everything else I have used, thumb drives, hdd, backup, etc works normally. The system does a nice job of supporting the monitor too. No complaints on my end it much nicer working with all my normal desk components."
Review 9 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
invworld

Works for me

Date: July 1, 2014
"This dock has worked perfectly for me and has made my Yoga2 Pro even more useful and versatile. You plug it in and it works: end of story. I do alot of business travel and work at home, and the dock makes the transition seamless. Love this computer!
Some reviewers said that the dock didn't supply power: I don't understand their problem, as the dock charges the computer quickly and effortlessly. All ports work well, resolution on desktop monitor adusts automatically. Yes, the LED on the dock takes a long time to turn on, so you might be pressing the power button needlessly until you figure it out, but I think the dock works great. It even charges my iphone when it's turned off.
No, it's not some whiz-bang piece of tech that's going to do your work for you while you're playing Call of Duty with your bro's, but its a very useful piece of hardware that works as soon as you plug it in."
Review 10 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byclue

It's not a dock!

Date: June 5, 2014
"I'm not sure why Lenovo is calling this a dock. It's a port replicator and not a very good one at that.. This "dock" does not supply power to your laptop. No hdmi or mini display port? If all you need to is mouse keyboard and DVI monitor then get other brand that are better value."
Review 11 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nokya

After a month usage

Date: June 2, 2014
"Works okay for the basic docking of a mouse and a screen. Once you start adding a good webcam and conecting the dock to a gigabit ethernet port, things just go wild as bandwidth does not seem to be enough to transmit all the information.
Unless strictly required, I would rather recommend buying a USB port hub, an ethernet-to-USB dongle and an HDMI-to-display-port dongle. Total cost is the same, plus you get the freedom of carrying the two dongles in your laptop bag for a negligeable weight."
Review 12 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JoshuaB

No HDMI Options

Date: May 29, 2014
"Lenovo doesn't offer a dock/port replicator for the Helix that has HDMI ports. They have DVI ports. Funny thing is their monitors have HDMI and VGA, not DVI."
Review 13 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname

Worst docking ever

Date: May 27, 2014
"Our company purchased a few thousand or even more of these mini docks. Be honest, it may not even work Lenovo's own laptop. So search it in google, read people's comments before you make the purchase."
Review 14 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Willie

Not A Dock

Date: May 14, 2014
"It may be a fine port replicator. I don't know. I don't need one. I need a docking station. These are going back. I'm in the market for a new IT guy. I only gave it 3 stars because I don't blame Lenovo for the aggravation. Except for calling it a Dock."
Review 15 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
notstupid

Great little product

Date: May 12, 2014
"We initially tested one of these for use and ended up with about 20 of these in our offices. Lenovo driver support is great (as usual). Everything came out of the box with the appropriate adapters. It's easy to set up (if you follow directions). It's fast and best of all, it's very reliable.
Works great for dual-monitors (we connect to two Dell U2412M's using DVI connectors). They're a tad expensive but you get what you pay for.
Some faculty started using them for having dual-desk setups: one desk is set for sitting down and the dock pushing keyboard, mouse and video to second desk where they stand up. Creative use for this which made me chuckle."
Review 16 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mynameisrod

don't bother with this

Date: May 12, 2014
"It doesn't power the notebook and have to get under the desk to plug the notebooks power supply in. And the monitor doesn't always come on without switching off and on and off and on. Overall it was quicker before I got this."
Review 17 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HeavyLaptopUser

Below average at best

Date: April 22, 2014
"Not a docking station. For the $200 I paid, I'd expect that it be able to charge my laptop while plugged in, but that's not the case. Wireless USB mouse doesn't work in slots. Requires updating drivers to work and some patience. Very disappointing product - avoid it if you can."
Review 18 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BellevueTech

Works Fine, just get latest drivers

Date: April 9, 2014
"a coworker got a new PC and this was lying around, used it for my Lenovo twist, installed the drivers and was good to go, It is not a dock, it is a port replicator, now I have two monitors, a mouse, a headset and a key board, and only the power and replicator are plugged into my twist. running windows 8.1 64 bit,"
Review 19 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hangover24
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Works as advertised

Date: March 28, 2014
"Make sure you install the drivers from the CD.
Works great with my windows 7 Lenovo X1 Carbon laptop, connected to 2 monitors, speakers, key board, mouse.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock US
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Greg
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2 GB

Not Good

Date: March 20, 2014
Pros: sleek
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Software compatibility
"I'm running and X1 carbon windows 7 64 bit and have had all sorts of trouble with this. Internet doesn't connect when I re-dock. Doesn't obey and windows configuration settings. Slow. As others have noted I've tried a number of drivers and can't seem to get anything to work right."