Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop USB Port Replicators or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)

Average customer rating:
2.6 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
12
10 of 30(33%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
Review 1 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BellevueTech

Works Fine, just get latest drivers

Date: April 9, 2014
"a coworker got a new PC and this was lying around, used it for my Lenovo twist, installed the drivers and was good to go, It is not a dock, it is a port replicator, now I have two monitors, a mouse, a headset and a key board, and only the power and replicator are plugged into my twist. running windows 8.1 64 bit,"
Review 2 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hangover24
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Works as advertised

Date: March 28, 2014
"Make sure you install the drivers from the CD.
Works great with my windows 7 Lenovo X1 Carbon laptop, connected to 2 monitors, speakers, key board, mouse.
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Greg
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2 GB

Not Good

Date: March 20, 2014
Pros: sleek
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Software compatibility
"I'm running and X1 carbon windows 7 64 bit and have had all sorts of trouble with this. Internet doesn't connect when I re-dock. Doesn't obey and windows configuration settings. Slow. As others have noted I've tried a number of drivers and can't seem to get anything to work right."
Review 4 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nowwb
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

when it works it works fine...you cannot rely on

Date: March 16, 2014
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: driver issues
"I have this docking station since 3/4 year...it started out okay...takes long time to connect (2-3 minutes) and you cannot work immediately...than it all got worse...now it takes half a day to connect...some driver issue...I have a new hobby searching for drivers & installing & unistalling them...If you want a thing that just does what it is expected to do and you don't want to look after this tís the wrong thing...If it works it's just great 2 displays extra...you can have the display from the laptop, the display from the mini-display port and aditionally these two displays from the dock...awesome...if it would work without any driver issues...."
Review 5 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DuvallUser
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Be Afraid of this device

Date: March 14, 2014
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals
"Dual monitors worked fine but i made 8 DVD coasters and never got the USB ports to work without significant lag. Incredibly frustrating 8-months experience after deleting all Win 8.1 USB devices and reinstalling, updating firmware and software. Just installed a Targus dual monitor USB 3.0 port replicator and for the first time am able to use my keyboard and mouse AND rip a DVD at the same time. STAY AWAY from this device. What a resented waste of time and money."
Review 6 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
pefbdm
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro

Be careful

Date: March 7, 2014
Cons: Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Software compatibility
"I needed to use my laptop monitor with 2 external monitors and was given this to try. It serves the function I need but I do miss not powering the laptop from the docking station and not having one button power on in the docking station. One very annoying issue is that I use a Jabra wireless headset and no matter if I plug into the docking station or the laptop while on the docking station my phone connection is horrible. Nothing I've tried short of not using the docking station will fix the problem. Not sure I would have purchased this product with my money."
Review 7 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SurfaceProUser
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Works as advertised

Date: March 3, 2014
"No issues, works like a champ with Win 8.1 and Surface Pro. Daily user in enterprise setting using Surface for all business related tasks, dual monitors."
Review 8 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DisappointedCustomer
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Skip This One

Date: February 27, 2014
"This is not a docking station -- it is simply a place to plug in some peripherals. You can't even plug in a second monitor. Do not buy this."
Review 9 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bart
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

worst docking station imaginable

Date: February 19, 2014
"There are so many things wrong with this:
It ships with a 12 V adapter whereas a20 V adapter is required. It takes weeks for Lenovo to send the right adapter.
several USB ports do not work. Sometimes it does not recognize the keyboard, then I need to stick that USB directly into the computer.
The computer does not transition well between stand-alone laptop and docked with 2 additional projectors. It needs help every time to tell which display is what, and then when you undock it scrambles it again.
Many other things are wrong with it. Lenovo sent me a new one after two months, and it had similar but different problems.
conclusion: a waste of time"
Review 10 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DrFranken
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Worst Dock Ever

Date: December 22, 2013
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Support, Input/Output compatibility, network performance
"Lenovo's web site said my detailed review of the unit's problems was too long so I'll summarize:
This Unit is AWEFUL in every way. DO NOT BUY."
Review 11 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RandyCPU
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro

Poor Reliability, Terrible Device

Date: December 9, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Display resolution
"This device does not work for me.
I know that it isn't really a dock and that It wouldn't power my X1 Carbon Touch.
But it keeps dropping out and resetting, about every 10 minutes. When this happens I lose everything: Audio, network, mouse, keyboard and both monitors.
This is so disruptive. And my computer is useless without it because of the lack of useful IO ports.
"
Review 12 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dang
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Not a dock!

Date: December 5, 2013
Pros: size
Cons: no laptop charging, no displayport, no remote laptop power on
"With the new T series laptops we needed to start getting new docks to go with them. I am very disappointed with this product. It is not a dock as we know it. It cannot power the laptop so you still have to plug your laptop in under the desk. It cannot switch on the laptop so you need to open your laptop lid to switch on the laptop. There are only DVI display connectors that have never really been highly used and are being replaced by DisplayPort. Why aren't there DisplayPort sockets?"
Review 13 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pazuzu
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

USELESS

Date: October 29, 2013
"If it works or not for your computer and setup is totally random. I've tried every driver available from lenovo for my ideapad, for windows 8 and now windows 8.1 and dock drivers from both lenovo and displaylink.
NOTHING MAKES IT WORK AS INTENDED.
Mouse pointer jerks. Graphics blurs. And when downloading something (NIC is used) it basically stops updating the picture and all of the above is much worse. DON'T SELL THE PRODUCT UNTIL IT WORKS."
Review 14 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
wwmc
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

MAC address info

Date: September 5, 2013
"With X1 Carbon, since it does not have an ethernet connection, your IT dept might use the dock's MAC address to network your computer. Since a replacement dock will have an different MAC address, it will not connect to the internet/network."
Review 15 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NotMyRealName
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Title

Date: August 3, 2013
"Some people here clame that they get poor video performens.
I wonder if they have updated there laptops and the firmware.
Anyway, i use this doc with my Thinkpad X1. i have two monitors on the dock, and one connected to th laptop. I'm able to run full HD movies on both screens connected to the doc. sadly i have to play games on the monitor connected to the laptop, sice there's a short delay on the monitors connected to the doc.
It's awesome, get it"
Review 16 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
iacob
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not quite

Date: July 30, 2013
Cons: Display resolution, Display performance, Durability
"I have this with my x1 carbon at work. At first I found the video performance poor. But I've found this to be related to the power management on the laptop itself. If I choose the "balanced" power management option the video performance is really poor. But if I change to "power source optimized" everything is fine. Not sure why.
Also had problems with cursor accuracy. But after moving the wireless dongle to one of the USBs at my monitor this seems better.
So now it works ok, but I would expect more out of the box performance from Lenovo."
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hondafan
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Poor Performance

Date: July 25, 2013
"Every day it is something else with this dock. Mouse is jerky, monitor display and color resolution pixelates randomly until power off/power on of dock. Sound fluctuates. Most recently, I'll lose Ethernet and USB port usage at random times of the day until dock is rebooted. The device gets very hot too, which could part of the problem."
Review 18 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DPage
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7

Very Disappointed

Date: June 4, 2013
"I'm very disappointed with this dock. The only thing it actually does is to allow me to use a larger external monitor. It will not allow me to access my network via my network cable--I have to plug in directly to my Ultrabook. Also, it will not allow me to use external speakers--I have to plug the audio directly to my Ultrabook. Worst of all, it will not allow charging of my Ultrabook. I'm wondering why I even have this device; it is NOT worth $179.00!"
Review 19 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mcbain
Owned Product:Less than a month

Very Good

Date: May 24, 2013
"I am writing the review to comment on others who have experienced erratic mouse movement when using wireless devices. I too had some erratic motion with my Bluetooth adapter. It appears to be some interference with the wireless radio of the usb dongle. A simple 1 foot usb extension cord proved a perfect solution.
The devices works perfectly with my dual monitors, usb 3 drive, speakers, and Logitech mx5500 keyboard and mouse."
Review 20 for ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock (US)
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JDS547
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:3.5 GB

Be Aware

Date: May 15, 2013
Cons: Software compatibility
"This dock will not work with an Idea Pad laptop. I just purchased a new Idea Pad and this dock. What was really frustrating was the technical support contacts, both Idea Pad and Think Pad said it was the other sections problem. I spent 2+ frustrating hours on the phone with this situation. Finally, Lenovo is taking it back for a credit. This information should have been stated on the site with the item."