Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Multifunction Keyboards or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)

Average customer rating:
3.964 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
22 of 28(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
Review 1 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
zee0101
Owned Product:1-6 months

Look Elsewhere

Date: January 31, 2014
Cons: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Durability
" The left mouse click paint was peeling off. I rubbed the right click button and to my surprised, the paint started to peel off there too. This is when I should have known this was a cheaply made product, but decided to keep it. After weeks of using it, I was somewhat satisfied with it although it had some major limitation. Such as range, durability, feel, and performance. I can't be more than maybe 8 feet away from the USB receiver. The remote including all buttons are made of cheap plastic. The backlit buttons are poorly illuminated (looks like one tiny led bulb is placed in the center which causes the keys around the corner to be poorly illuminated). Typing with the keyboard is a nightmare. The feeling is all wrong and often I find keys duplicating at least 10 times although pushed once. "
Review 2 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LenRas
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Celeron
Memory:4 GB or more

Very good product but already obsolete

Date: June 5, 2013
Pros: Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Software compatibility
" The N5902 is an excellent item if you are using Windows XP through Windows 7. The function keys are very handy. Data input is best for people with small thumbs. The single scroll bar takes some getting used to but then is fine. Bluetooth is stable and reliable, unlike the old infrared connections.
Unfortunately, Microsoft changed all the rules with Win 8, which begs for a touchscreen remote. N5902 cannot grab an app at the top and drag it all the way to the bottom to close. The mouse pad is too small. It can't easily zoom in and out like a touchscreen. It just doesn't have the functions and flexibility needed to control Win 8 properly.
"
Review 3 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Laptop
Owned Product:Less than a week

Not working

Date: April 23, 2013
" I purchase this wireless keyboard it only allow me 1 feet away not 30 feet. I change the battery but that did not work . Anyone care to help ? "
Review 4 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TheDogsCar
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months

Worth buying ... but has limitations

Date: July 21, 2012
" I have had this for a few months now ... and really like it. If you can buy it on sale. I would definitely say, 'buy it'. Otherwise, wait for the next model. Since, it does have some problems.
The mouse is lame. If you go into your computers settings, you can adjust the cursor to be more, or less, sensitive. If you make it more sensitive, so you can move across the screen in one swipe ... then it is not precise (e.g. easily check a box). If you slow it to be precise ... then it takes numerous swipes to get the cursor across the screen. Be prepared to get a lot of thumb exercise!
The back lit panel is nice ... but not nearly bright enough to be useful. In a dim lit room, you barely can tell it is on. If I planned to use it in a pitch black room, it would be great ... but since I always use it with a monitor/TV, it is only helpful when the monitor/TV screen is very dark. I find it helpful about 5% of the time. I use rechargeable AA's, and would rather replace them more often, to get it much brighter!
It misses 10% of key strokes. I have given up using it to enter passwords ... and even though I am 6 feet from its dongle; if there is anything in the way (e.g. my knee), then 20% of the time it temporarily drops the connection.
As I wrote this ... I realized it sounds like I hate it. I do not. It has replaced my mouse, and I now only use my keyboard to enter passwords, or write long thoughts; like this review ... If Lenovo makes the changes I suggest. I could also get rid of my keyboard, and flashlight. "
Review 5 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
frischn
Location:Houston, Tx
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB

Nice product, could be improved

Date: July 13, 2012
Pros: Software compatibility
" If I had to choose a few things to improve with this keyboard, first I would say that it needs a much better mouse function. Why wouldnt they use their red trackpoint as the mouse? The sensor doesnt pick up smooth tracking and is very jumpy to use. Second I would change the keyboard layout slightly. Mainly the bottom row of keys, they are shifted too far to the left and causes many typos compared to a normal layout where the bottom row is shifted to the right almost a full key.
All around I like the product, for the price it was worth it. But if this product cost any more I would have to say I would return it and just buy a wireless keyboard.
Also, if I were to suggest a redesign of the joystick type mouse handle, I would say to utilize a similar design to a N64 center joystick. Even using a similar directional stick would be a very nice addition.
Looking forward to what could be redesigned on an N5903 model.
"
Review 6 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nameLess67

difficult to use when using the mice sensor.

Date: June 18, 2012
" I've used the N5901 for over a year now and decided to pickup the upgraded N5902 for use. Read the feature and love the backlit Keyboard and scroll sensor.
But when in use, the most difficult control is the mouse sensor. Compare to the old version where as it was a ball, it was intuitive to use. But this model uses a flat touch sensor with very limited sensor area.
From the beginning when I touch the sensor, I found it very difficult to move or control the pointer in all direction. Especially in small step. I would have to re-position, or repeat my thumb movement to achieved a movement.
Comparing to the old module, I did not have so much difficulty when in use. Control was effortless.
Overall, I'm very disappointed due to the mice control. Very difficult to use. Its was nice to see new technology to be implemented, but when it become impractical it became useless.
So I decided to returned it back to store and continue using the old model effortless. "
Review 7 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Biesty

Big Improvement

Date: June 1, 2012
" I have owned a media PC for about 6 years and at one point owned the old Lenovo remote and didn't like it. The left/right click buttons were in the way and I wasn't stoked on the old track ball. Also I needed a backlit keyboard. The new click buttons as well as the backlit keyboard sold me on this. I love the scroll feature as well. I just started using this today and have to say I'm pretty happy with it and it's my new Media PC remote. I have another media PC upstairs and will probably replace my Logitech DiNovo Mini with this remote as well. The full qwerty keyboard makes a huge difference and the DiNovo doesn't have that. It's not as easy to operate compared to a qwerty. I would like to see a larger track ball now that it's actually a touch pad and that would bring it to 5 stars. Another thing I'd like to see is a re-chargable battery on board but it's not a big deal. I'll just buy a 4 pack of re-chargable batteries and switch them out. All in all this is a good remote that would recommend to friends. "
Review 8 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ricardo

Does the job...

Date: May 24, 2012
" It does the job as described. My A/V equipment is in a closet and the signal goes through the door/wall from about 10 feet, no problem. Unfortunately, the backlight feature, which was a must for me, is way too short. The light stays on for about two seconds. Most of the time I have not found the key I'm looking for. This pretty much negates the backlight feature in my mind. "
Review 9 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drycon

My technology needs and laziness is very Satisfied

Date: March 18, 2012
" This is an amazing product, I'm a college student and I use my desktop computer as a tv all the time. I always found it a huge pain to have to get up from my futon to turn the volume up and down (especially when I was snuggling with my girlfriend). I looked a product like this two years ago and couldn't find one that was comparable. The previous model did not have a backlight which made it useless for watching a movie in the dark. Ihave owned this product since november 2011, and have been completely satisfied with it. "
Review 10 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seattleite

Fantastic Controller for HTPC

Date: March 11, 2012
" This controller is awesome! The backlightimg is great, and you can scroll the screen by touching the area below the optical mouse. Great dedicated keys for multimedia functionality including volume controls, and a keyboard with characters placed where you'd find them on a normal keyboard. Highly recommended! "
Review 11 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Maloosheck
Location:Sterling, VA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

The range is a disaster

Date: February 16, 2012
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals
" I am generally a big fan of Lenovo products, but this one is one big disappointment. I use it with my HTPC located probably 15 feet away from my coach. And it seems to be too far, because I get constant interruptions in both mouse pointer movement and any typing activities. It is like the batteries were running out except they are brand new. I am going to try it with a different USB BT dongle, but so far it is a disaster. "
Review 12 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ralph
Location:texas
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

never change something who work

Date: February 15, 2012
" I have the 5901 and 5902 I buy the 02 for the back light and the scroll under the tack pad . my back light key does not work ,the tracking ball by far better than the touch pad , the left and right better to use in 01,the keys disposition better in 02. finaly i return the 02 for another maybe a problem just with the one i get. "
Review 13 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TabletPCOwner
Location:Knoxville, TN
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

will exchange for another and update performance

Date: February 9, 2012
" I got this device after my old N5901 a great device that its only lacking was not backlit keyboard, other than that...it was about perfect. I dropped my pc with the nano doggle still on it and is now stuck and broken. I bought the new N5902 because I needed the backlit keyboard and it seemed better in everyway.
I installed the device and for some reason I am having connectivity issues. letters are left out of words and its almost like I have to wake up the device before I do anything because the mouse or any key input doesnt respond right away...could be a way to save battery life I guess.
The other problem is with the mouse...is the OFN (optical Finger navigation), I miss my track ball. For some reason it doesnt work with my right thumb, its fine with my left but its just doesnt react well to the other. If only the mouse pad part was multi-touch or had the classic IBM red eraser head or that old track ball. "
Review 14 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
security
Location:Ontario, Canada
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core 2 Quad
Memory:2 GB

Innovative technology at it's best!

Date: January 18, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Battery
" The Lenovo N5902 has a great multitude of mobile adaptations to our standard keyboards and mice. The sensor on the mouse is pin point accurate and the keyboard layout is comparable to your everyday keyboard which is also backlit! This device makes things convenient when using it for presentations or even browsing the internet. The remote itself is very ergonomic and light weight which makes this one of the most practical remotes I've ever used. Although it may take a little time to get used to, this device hands down gets a 5 stars. This review has been written by the Lenovo N502. "
Review 15 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ramsdmr
Location:Kansas
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

another great product!

Date: December 23, 2011
Pros: Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, backlight
" I ordered a lenovo notebook in November and have been using it connected to our HDTV via HDMI to watch online content, and wanted a remote that could control functions from the couch. I finally went with the lenovo N5902 after doing some research on available remotes. I am so glad I went with this remote as it is amazing! The design feels so good in your hand and the backlight is great. Mouse and scroll functionality is really good as well, and no software to install. I am sold on Lenovo products!! "
Review 16 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brian
Location:Seattle
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent Product

Date: December 13, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Durability, Software compatibility, Build Quality
" I'm using the remote to type this review. i really like the finger sensor and scroll sensor. Mechanical sensors like trackballs seem to get dirty and inaccurate much more quickly. This sensor is more like a touchpad. i would disagree that it needs to be bigger from a previous review. i like that size so I know my thumb is exactly in the middle of the pad. It makes fine movements very easy with one finger. The lack of a middle mouse button is annoying. I don't use PF keys much, but it would have been nice if they buried the functionality somewhere. Overall a fantastic product for the price point. I plan on getting another one to use at work. The only irritating thing is that Lenovo insists on shipping by UPS adult signature required. On relatively inexpensive products like this I wish they would not require anything. Having to pick up at the UPS location is not convenient. "
Review 17 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Xchn
Location:Toronto. Canada
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate

Mouse pointer isn't so good

Date: December 6, 2011
" 1. Fix the pointer. Make it 2xbigger. I'm at the max sensitivity and can't get across the screen in one swipe. It's just too slow and low res
2. Right in the middle of left and right click, include a middle click button. Yes it's important, I use it all the time
3. you need to put a power button for the computer to shut off. Oreven a combination like function + key is good. At least include something. Most Logitech keyboards include a sleep button!
4. Keys are placed in square blocks. I realize this is a design choice to cram more keys in but I think it's better to place key correctly and combine the less useful keys
5. Escape key should be at top left
6. Media buttons are hard to access when holding with one hand. Consider moving to the sides below the long left and right clicks, so your thumb can easily click play pause when you pick it up. Think of it like a remote. Which is what people will buy this for.
7. Build quality. It's good. But shake it and you'll hear some rattle. Press a key and it feels a little odd, or maybe just need some getting use to. Battery cover is loose. Tap it and you'll notice a tiny gap issue that makes it less than tight fit.
I'm writing this long list because I think Lenovo is very close to making the perfect keyboard mouse combo. I look forward to your next revision "
Review 18 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AYHT
Location:Washington DC
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2 GB

Awesome Remote Keyboard

Date: December 4, 2011
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
" This works gret, just plugged it in, few secs of driver instrall and good to go. Using with windows 7 and Windows vista laptops, interaction is flawless. Like a previous reviewer says, the lighting is slighlty uneven, but noting to really affect the performance of it in the dark "
Review 19 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
geekyogurt
Location:Nebraska
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Nearly Perfect!

Date: November 3, 2011
Pros: Weight, Build Quality, Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, track pad that clicks, scroll feature
" I just got it and it's nearly perfect.
It needs a slightly larger trackpad area and more even backlighting and that's it... it really is nearly perfect. The keyboard special keys are in non standard places but it's not like you're going to use it to write a love letter.
If you are thinking about saving money and getting the N5901 seriously think again because the N5902 is completely worth the extra cash. The scroll feature below the clickable trackpad is solid gold!
"
Review 20 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HTPCman
Location:Mpls, MN
Owned Product:Less than a week

N5902

Date: October 14, 2011
Cons: back light time
" I bought this for the back light feature. Unfortunately, the back light stay-on-time is way too short (just a couple seconds)! What's worse, the stay-on-time cannot seem to be adjusted by the user. Shouldn't it be the user's choice?
If Lenovo won't allow it, I hope they will see their way clear to add a couple more seconds to the time in future models.
"