Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Multifunction Keyboards or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)

Average customer rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 of 23(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
Review 1 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheCoon
Location:Eastchester, NY
Owned Product:Less than a month

Nearly perfect

Date: December 1, 2012
"It is very usable yet more compact than it looks online. The overall shape and keyboard layout are well thought of, the feeling of the keys is nice and does not feel congested, the design is excellent apart from one thing: the mouse is difficult to use at high resolution screens especially by people with slim fingers. The motion of passing over the mouse sensor has to be repeated too many times, and it simply takes too long to get there. Below the mouse sensor is the scroll sensor which is large and very well designed but the two sensors should have the opposite sizes. A larger sensor should have been given for the mouse, a trackpad with good resolution/sensitivity. A trackpad as large as it can fit without changing the shape, and a smaller stroller below. A small wheel scroller would take less space than the current sensor and would fit perfectly below a trackpad. I believe that would make the ideal controller. So if I could suggest something to the Lenovo engineers, would be to put a trackpad on this thing and a small wheel below without changing the overall shape and please put it on the market soon!
So my advice for the consumer is: if your fingers are not too thin and if your resolution is not too high,... get it.
"
Review 2 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ricardo

Does the job...

Date: May 24, 2012
"It does the job as described. My A/V equipment is in a closet and the signal goes through the door/wall from about 10 feet, no problem. Unfortunately, the backlight feature, which was a must for me, is way too short. The light stays on for about two seconds. Most of the time I have not found the key I'm looking for. This pretty much negates the backlight feature in my mind."
Review 3 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drycon

My technology needs and laziness is very Satisfied

Date: March 18, 2012
"This is an amazing product, I'm a college student and I use my desktop computer as a tv all the time. I always found it a huge pain to have to get up from my futon to turn the volume up and down (especially when I was snuggling with my girlfriend). I looked a product like this two years ago and couldn't find one that was comparable. The previous model did not have a backlight which made it useless for watching a movie in the dark. Ihave owned this product since november 2011, and have been completely satisfied with it."
Review 4 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seattleite

Fantastic Controller for HTPC

Date: March 11, 2012
"This controller is awesome! The backlightimg is great, and you can scroll the screen by touching the area below the optical mouse. Great dedicated keys for multimedia functionality including volume controls, and a keyboard with characters placed where you'd find them on a normal keyboard. Highly recommended!"
Review 5 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Maloosheck
Location:Sterling, VA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

The range is a disaster

Date: February 16, 2012
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals
"I am generally a big fan of Lenovo products, but this one is one big disappointment. I use it with my HTPC located probably 15 feet away from my coach. And it seems to be too far, because I get constant interruptions in both mouse pointer movement and any typing activities. It is like the batteries were running out except they are brand new. I am going to try it with a different USB BT dongle, but so far it is a disaster."
Review 6 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ralph
Location:texas
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

never change something who work

Date: February 15, 2012
"I have the 5901 and 5902 I buy the 02 for the back light and the scroll under the tack pad . my back light key does not work ,the tracking ball by far better than the touch pad , the left and right better to use in 01,the keys disposition better in 02. finaly i return the 02 for another maybe a problem just with the one i get."
Review 7 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TabletPCOwner
Location:Knoxville, TN
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

will exchange for another and update performance

Date: February 9, 2012
"I got this device after my old N5901 a great device that its only lacking was not backlit keyboard, other than that...it was about perfect. I dropped my pc with the nano doggle still on it and is now stuck and broken. I bought the new N5902 because I needed the backlit keyboard and it seemed better in everyway.
I installed the device and for some reason I am having connectivity issues. letters are left out of words and its almost like I have to wake up the device before I do anything because the mouse or any key input doesnt respond right away...could be a way to save battery life I guess.
The other problem is with the mouse...is the OFN (optical Finger navigation), I miss my track ball. For some reason it doesnt work with my right thumb, its fine with my left but its just doesnt react well to the other. If only the mouse pad part was multi-touch or had the classic IBM red eraser head or that old track ball."
Review 8 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
security
Location:Ontario, Canada
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core 2 Quad
Memory:2 GB

Innovative technology at it's best!

Date: January 18, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Battery
"The Lenovo N5902 has a great multitude of mobile adaptations to our standard keyboards and mice. The sensor on the mouse is pin point accurate and the keyboard layout is comparable to your everyday keyboard which is also backlit! This device makes things convenient when using it for presentations or even browsing the internet. The remote itself is very ergonomic and light weight which makes this one of the most practical remotes I've ever used. Although it may take a little time to get used to, this device hands down gets a 5 stars. This review has been written by the Lenovo N502."
Review 9 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ramsdmr
Location:Kansas
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

another great product!

Date: December 23, 2011
Pros: Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, backlight
"I ordered a lenovo notebook in November and have been using it connected to our HDTV via HDMI to watch online content, and wanted a remote that could control functions from the couch. I finally went with the lenovo N5902 after doing some research on available remotes. I am so glad I went with this remote as it is amazing! The design feels so good in your hand and the backlight is great. Mouse and scroll functionality is really good as well, and no software to install. I am sold on Lenovo products!!"
Review 10 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brian
Location:Seattle
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent Product

Date: December 13, 2011
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Durability, Software compatibility, Build Quality
"I'm using the remote to type this review. i really like the finger sensor and scroll sensor. Mechanical sensors like trackballs seem to get dirty and inaccurate much more quickly. This sensor is more like a touchpad. i would disagree that it needs to be bigger from a previous review. i like that size so I know my thumb is exactly in the middle of the pad. It makes fine movements very easy with one finger. The lack of a middle mouse button is annoying. I don't use PF keys much, but it would have been nice if they buried the functionality somewhere. Overall a fantastic product for the price point. I plan on getting another one to use at work. The only irritating thing is that Lenovo insists on shipping by UPS adult signature required. On relatively inexpensive products like this I wish they would not require anything. Having to pick up at the UPS location is not convenient."
Review 11 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Xchn
Location:Toronto. Canada
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate

Mouse pointer isn't so good

Date: December 6, 2011
"1. Fix the pointer. Make it 2xbigger. I'm at the max sensitivity and can't get across the screen in one swipe. It's just too slow and low res
2. Right in the middle of left and right click, include a middle click button. Yes it's important, I use it all the time
3. you need to put a power button for the computer to shut off. Oreven a combination like function + key is good. At least include something. Most Logitech keyboards include a sleep button!
4. Keys are placed in square blocks. I realize this is a design choice to cram more keys in but I think it's better to place key correctly and combine the less useful keys
5. Escape key should be at top left
6. Media buttons are hard to access when holding with one hand. Consider moving to the sides below the long left and right clicks, so your thumb can easily click play pause when you pick it up. Think of it like a remote. Which is what people will buy this for.
7. Build quality. It's good. But shake it and you'll hear some rattle. Press a key and it feels a little odd, or maybe just need some getting use to. Battery cover is loose. Tap it and you'll notice a tiny gap issue that makes it less than tight fit.
I'm writing this long list because I think Lenovo is very close to making the perfect keyboard mouse combo. I look forward to your next revision"
Review 12 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AYHT
Location:Washington DC
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2 GB

Awesome Remote Keyboard

Date: December 4, 2011
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
"This works gret, just plugged it in, few secs of driver instrall and good to go. Using with windows 7 and Windows vista laptops, interaction is flawless. Like a previous reviewer says, the lighting is slighlty uneven, but noting to really affect the performance of it in the dark"
Review 13 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
geekyogurt
Location:Nebraska
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Nearly Perfect!

Date: November 3, 2011
Pros: Weight, Build Quality, Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, track pad that clicks, scroll feature
"I just got it and it's nearly perfect.
It needs a slightly larger trackpad area and more even backlighting and that's it... it really is nearly perfect. The keyboard special keys are in non standard places but it's not like you're going to use it to write a love letter.
If you are thinking about saving money and getting the N5901 seriously think again because the N5902 is completely worth the extra cash. The scroll feature below the clickable trackpad is solid gold!
"
Review 14 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pouria
Location:Ottawa
Owned Product:Just got it

Excellent Device

Date: October 31, 2011
"It contains all the necessarily keys with such a good quality.
It is very handy and enjoyable to work with.
I got it for my projector when I connect my laptop to the projector and want to watch the movies.
It doesn't require any drivers to be installed.
I would definitely recommend it to everyone.
I got it on sale for $39.99.
But be patient it takes time to receive it."
Review 15 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HTPCman
Location:Mpls, MN
Owned Product:Less than a week

N5902

Date: October 14, 2011
Cons: back light time
"I bought this for the back light feature. Unfortunately, the back light stay-on-time is way too short (just a couple seconds)! What's worse, the stay-on-time cannot seem to be adjusted by the user. Shouldn't it be the user's choice?
If Lenovo won't allow it, I hope they will see their way clear to add a couple more seconds to the time in future models.
"
Review 16 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kurt
Location:new york
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows XP Professional
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:1 GB

mobile keyboard

Date: October 5, 2011
"Great keyboard, portable , long wireless range,
Responsive and light. Durable and solid.
Use it all the time , no hiccups , no regets
This was one of those good decisions.
Ps The brand name should put the cherry on the cake."
Review 17 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TxPCGuy
Location:Texas
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows XP Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Remote for HTPC

Date: September 29, 2011
"I like the size and feel of the remote and the full keyboard (that is # of keys, not size.) Maybe because I got used to my Blackberry keyboard, but even my fat fingers had no problem on the keys. Ditto the trackpad.
A great buy!"
Review 18 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lowrider12
Location:Chicago
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB

love it

Date: September 28, 2011
Pros: Software compatibility, Input/Output compatibility
Cons: not sure what a drop on the concrete will do to it
"I resisted this at first because it didn't have a full trackpad, and I tried a different company's version of the combo mouse/keyboard.
I like this Lenovo one because
* no configuration. custom dongle included. These worked instantly on Linux Fedora 15, no need to worry about hidd process or establishing a bluetooth connection or anything.
* it stays on longer than it takes for a TV show to get to the next commercial break. nothing worse than having to wake a keyboard up for 10-15 seconds into the commercials.
* batteries are removable/replaceable
* an actual sliding power switch on the bottom
* very complete set of keys, you can even hit keys like <Alt>-<Tab>
* illuminates (if you're into that sort of thing)
* has a page-scrolling feature below the mouse
* keys actually click
The only downers I've found so far are
* the <ESC> key is not the absolute top-left key
* the mouse is a little kludgy - wish the dot (that you slide your finger upon) was bigger
"
Review 19 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barkdust
Location:Oregon
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

A signficant improvement

Date: September 22, 2011
Pros: Weight, Software compatibility, Build Quality
Cons: marginal manual
"I have the earlier model N5901 as well. It served the purpose of an HDTV/Multimedia controller well. But this is so much better. The backlighting alone is worth the upgrade. The no fingerprint finish is better. The optical trackball works better than the old trackball and it is much quieter. For once a manufacturer listened to its customers and really improved on the design. As far as the seriously negative review posted by someone else, all I can figure is that they didn't turn it on. This device is outstanding for the purpose. (Don't get it for a chat keyboard or for typing much more than URL's and passwords.)"
Review 20 for Lenovo Multimedia Remote N5902A (WW-md)
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FatFingers
Location:West Lafayette, Indiana
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows XP Professional
Memory:1 GB

Perfect Size, Does the Job!

Date: September 21, 2011
Pros: convenience, ease of setup, special keys, vertical scrolling feature
Cons: red lettering on some keys hard to read
"I wanted something that would control my kitchen media display without hogging precious counter space. This remote fit that requirement exactly! Not only is it a good replacement for a keyboard but with the addition of the scrolling surface, provides one of the easiest handheld mouse replacements I have used.
Several of the features make it even more useful. The browser key, volume control keys and the large left and right mouse click-bars contribute to its functionality.
Sure, the keyboard is small, but I'm not a fast typist anyway and I'll gladly make the trade off for more desktop surface area. Besides, I'm not planning on writing emails or long documents from my media PC.
I like it so much, I just ordered a second one for my other media PC."