Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo Z40 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo Z40

Average customer rating:
3.942 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
4
37 of 52(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo Z40
Review 1 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best laptop ever

Date: December 14, 2014
" It has everything that you want in it. You better buy this now. If not you wasting your precious time doubting yourself. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

This is one of the best buys that I've made

Date: December 8, 2014
" First of all, I bought the Core i7, 8 GB RAM, NVIDIA GT820M 2 GB, Hybrid 1TB+8GB SSD. And, I love it! I use it for school as well as gaming.
Pros: First, the hole structure / material is very well put together. All of the ports are appreciated especially with an optical drive. Gaming with this computer is decent, I can squeeze 60 FPS with mid - high setting on decently demanding games. The 1080p screen looks razer sharp as well. Also, if you put the OS on the SSD, the laptop boots in under 12 seconds.
Cons: The keyboard is probably the biggest downsides to this product; if you have been using a mechanical keyboard, you will not like this key board because the travel distance is VERY short, but after 2 weeks of using it, it starts to feel natural. Last, the speakers are not great, the main reason being is because they are on the BOTTOM of the computer, so expect to be using other speakers or a headset.
I highly recommend this laptop to students with some gaming wants. "
Review 3 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

good value

Date: December 7, 2014
" I purchased the 2.0 Ghz i-7 model with 8 GB of ram. The performance seems good, quite speedy and not finding any situations where the computer lags. Overall I am pleased with the purchase however there are some aspects that I am not quite happy with, or wish that the computer would include:
- very glossy screen, creates reflections in all lighting conditions. I've frankly never seen a screen which is so reflective. (why do they fit glossy screens to computers?)
- Sound quality and volume is very poor. My smartphone (and netbook) have better speakers.
- Full of bloatware, need to spend some time deleting all the things you do not want, and setting up the computer to your preference.
- Keyboard is nice, however it really needs to be back-lit.
I would give it 3 1/2 stars overall. It does fulfill my want of having a basic laptop with good performance without all the unnecessary features like touch screen and tablet-ish ability! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Average Computer

Date: December 6, 2014
" Excellent computer for the deal I had, serves all of my daily purposes but hesitant about running much more.
Not a huge fan of the mouse as I can confirm it is glitchy. Once in a while, internet won't connect when my peers a few feet away can connect to internet with full connection. Haven't had any major freezing or slowing down yet.
If you're a student and will be taking this laptop with you to class, this might not be the best consideration. I often spend my time going up and down with my brightness depending on the lighting of the room.
As for the sound, it is horrendous at the beginning but I recently had it at 100% as I was further away than sitting right in front of it. Since then, the speakers almost seem to have blown as I am currently listening to music with it set to 60% and it is quiet (I'm sitting right in front of it).
Also, the keyboard is not lit so it is essentially useless unless you are in some kind of light.
Overall, would I buy this again? Probably not. "
Review 5 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Poorly Made

Date: November 25, 2014
" I have never dropped, jarred, or damaged this laptop. That being said, when the speakers were at 100% a rattling/vibration could be heard. There is a spot on the display that is brighter than everything else (a little smaller than a pea). The mousepad is frequently unresponsive in that the mouse will jump all over the place if I attempt to move it. If you wait a minute it'll go back to working though (insanely frustrating). Small factors like these indicate it was cheaply made. That could be the reason the had such a wonderful sale on them when I purchased mine in August. "
Review 6 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent deal for college students

Date: November 22, 2014
" Pros:
Processor speed is enough for any student or entry level programmer
Good for architectural designing purposes also
Has great durability
Value for money
Priced very low for configurations
Keyboard is comfortable
Cons:
Looks are not attractive
"
Review 7 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great product, fits the budget

Date: November 20, 2014
" I have purchased an i7/1TB-8GB SSD version, and I am super satisfied with it. Its quite slim and lightweight. Display quality is quite good, though not the best. Battery life is pretty decent around 4 hours on heavy usage. No warming up issue or unwanted sound from under the hood. Super smooth performance....in short, its awesome!
P.S:Delivery took 2 weeks, but service of UPS was pathetic. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Do not buy this product

Date: November 11, 2014
" I will never buy any lenovo product again. i also discourage people not to buy their product. The mouse pad sometimes does not work. sometimes the screen zoom automatically. The Disk trey does not come out. I need a pin to hit the hole to eject the trey. the battery charge is disaster with out charge it stays like less than 1.30hrs. As core i5 processor when i open many windows the browser hang. SO DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS. "
Review 9 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Laptop for the Price

Date: November 5, 2014
" Pros:
Boots quickly
Fast when running basic applications (chrome, office suite etc.)
Slim and fairly light
Cons:
Screen glare is intense at all times
CD drive instead of more ports (like an ethernet connection...)
Copious amounts of bloatware
Overall: I would buy this laptop again if given the chance. For <$600 (it was on sale for me) you won't find a better laptop. "
Review 10 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

best purchase ever

Date: November 3, 2014
" this laptop is very awesome "
Review 11 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good purchase! Very happy!

Date: November 2, 2014
" Good: Very nice laptop. Well equiped. Nicely crafted. Works very well with Intel i5 and Windows 8.1. Very satisfied!
Bad: battery only 4 hours "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

NOT recommended - Lenovo Z40 59425583

Date: October 26, 2014
" My review didn't show up, so I'm reposting. Both my original and replacement laptops were damaged! Wasn't worth my time waiting. I couldn't play any games.
Pros
- Very thin
- Battery lasted 3 hrs 16 mins before hitting 10% on dim brightness
- Nice picture quality
- Dolby Digital Plus enhanced sound system
- Optical drive
- Trackpad gestures (2 finger scroll)
- A 2.0 USB port on the left and right
Cons
- 1080p resolution on 14” monitor = TERRIBLE DPI scaling! At 1080p, some program windows were clear, others blurry. Had to use 1366x768 resolution at 100% DPI scaling
- Network adapter (Realtek RTL8723BE wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC) NOT dual band compatible
- Windows 8.1
- Optical drive couldn't boot from CD properly
- Slow computer. CPU usage spiked to 60% opening multiple Windows Explorer windows
- My external HDD caused massive lag but shouldn't have
- Max screen brightness and sound were pretty low
- Cheap keyboard covering that actually depressed while typing on the left side
"
Review 13 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

It possess all the feature that i need

Date: October 25, 2014
" It is a good product with an optic disk and works great. "
Review 14 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

So much potential but returning

Date: October 25, 2014
" Hello Lenovo Cons: 1) The glared/highly reflective screen will be a problem in any light. 2) Wireless connection problems after a few weeks, dropped from 50Mbps to 5Mbps--good luck getting to the root of the problem if you are not a professional. 3)Poor battery life. Only positive is there are no hot spots or heating up from running multiple programs or media on this computer. Good luck finding support on this as there are no easy fixes and hassles. "
Review 15 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Superb laptop

Date: October 10, 2014
" Works perfectly. Excellent value for money. Highly recommended. "
Review 16 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Love it XD

Date: October 10, 2014
" The one i got was the highest end Z40 model you can get and i got it actually early from the 10-12 business days it said it would come at
had it for about a week and i love it i had a lenovo before a old one (P580 model) and they are both great
this one is much better and i love it it can run all the games i like like minecraft skyrim spore league and other games like those
since there aren't a lot of reviews for the Best z40 lenovo sells i will tell you
Basically if you want to do light gaming (generally) then its perfect for you (i do gaming, hw, internet) but if you want a laptop for heavy gaming or that can handle bigger games then do get the Y40 or Y50 (razer blade 14 is the Best in my opinion) BUT with the price when i got it 669 it is the best deal out of all the PC world in my opinion "
Review 17 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

A fairly good buy

Date: October 10, 2014
" When i got this laptop i used it day in and day out, ive had it for about 3 months now and ive had no problems with it, the only thing id want to change about it is the hand rest, where you put your hand when you are using wasd, its a rigid edge, it isnt curved and the corner can be annoying, if you are planning to use it at a desk or in a sitting position then you shouldnt have problems with it. This laptop rocks, i got the 8gb ddr3l ram, 2gb ddr5 video card,
1Tb hybrid, 1920x1080 version. if you are looking for a laptop for on the go gaming than this is a good fit for you, keyboard is nice, but the 1080p isnt very justified because it cant run games at that resolution and have a good fps. i was a windows 7 user so i had to get accustomed to it but windows 8 shouldnt be a reason to avoid buying this. All in all a good on the go laptop, i use it for videos and gaming and it hasnt had trouble with either since ive got it.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Amazing performance

Date: October 9, 2014
" Pros:
- Amazingly fast! great for gaming (Take my word for it)
- Nice and comfortable keyboard
- Screen looks stunning
Cons:
- Sound is alright..
- Short battery life
- The screen looks and feels cheap..(Plastic around the screen)
Basically a computer that excels in everything except for battery life. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Lemon computer

Date: October 2, 2014
" excitement over new computer died soon after it froze for 5 times in the first month. Commons problems were rebooting did not work, internet was not recognized even though it was connected, and lost files. The computer started working again after I turn it off and on again. This is NOT how a new computer should work (maybe after 3 years of use you might expect this problem not after 1 month). "
Review 20 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Cheap !

Date: October 2, 2014
" Its a great computer for the price , a high performance laptop! "