Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo Z40

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo Lenovo Z40

Average customer rating:
3.87 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
6
48 of 69(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo Z40
Review 1 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

This laptop is really awesome

Date: January 27, 2016
" I am using this laptop from past one year. as this is high end series laptop with great features and processing power I havent face single issue with this laptop. Battery is long lasting, fast processing excellent graphics allows me to play every high end game. This laptop never gets slow "
Review 2 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA, United States

Pretty good

Date: January 15, 2016
" I've had this laptop for a while. It handles everything very well. However, my only dissatisfaction is the screen; the screen is just too weak. I have to look head on at the screen to get a clear picture, and any other angle makes me see only the reflection off the screen. Otherwise, good laptop. "
Review 3 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ohio, United States

Warranty replacement for y470

Date: January 13, 2016
" While the plastic shell is more durable than the y470 that it replaced under their warranty, I am disappointed with this computer. The speakers are weaker, in a worse location and at one point I had a software issue that temporarily rendered them useless. The "guts" are the closest stock match to my older y470, which is why I was given this one as rreplacement. It gets the basic jobs done but at the same rate I wouldn't buy this computer again. I also had many other windows 8.1 related issues which were resolved after I spent an additional $100 for tech support. Windows 10 seems to be going well since it was upgraded.
USB ports lack power, and the battery run time is awful. It wasn't bad when it was new but within 6 months, I was lucky to get 45 min - 1 hour on a full battery. "
Review 4 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kolkata, West Bengal, India

good

Date: January 4, 2016
" i bought this a month ago and am so happy........... "
Review 5 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Wantagh, NY, United States

Poor wifi

Date: November 14, 2015
" I am happy with this laptop, except for the Wi-Fi. It is less sensitive than the Wi-Fi on my phone, and often drops even strong connections. Other than that it is an excellent laptop for the price. "
Review 6 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good laptop with some downsides

Date: August 13, 2015
" I'm pretty happy with the machine overall. It runs well, is fast and lightweight, and handles my gaming with ease.
My biggest complaint would be with the trackpad. Perhaps my machine just had a fluke, but within a month of owning this machine, the left button on my trackpad sunk in. Now when I click I can feel that something's broken, and sometimes it will remain clicked in even after I have let go.
Also, I wasn't aware of the fact that this machine doesn't have a backlit keyboard, or any other indicator lights (such as for power or battery). If I had known this, it might have swayed me away from buying this specific model.
With those complaints in mind, everything else about the machine has made me pretty happy so far. I'm curious to see how durable the hardware is, and how long it will last me. "
Review 7 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great purchase!!

Date: July 27, 2015
" I was at first hesitant on buying this laptop. I am familiar with HP and Apple products only. I decided to try out a different route. I am GLAD I did! I am very please with the structure, sleekness and overall style. I am even more impressed with the easy setup. It is wayyyyy faster than my HP. I have had this laptop for some time and I have not experienced any difficulties. I would definitely recommend this laptop for any students or just anybody! I will buy another Lenovo product in the future! The only negative is no back light on the keyboard and that's it. "
Review 8 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very poor design

Date: June 24, 2015
" Unfortunately, I've never had so many issues with a laptop as I've had in the less-than-3 months I've owned a Lenovo z40.
Horrible keyboard to use / terrible usb and connection port placement / dreadful dvd open/close button externally / battery drains quickly...
That's just off the top of my head... "
Review 9 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid Laptop for the price point.

Date: February 24, 2015
" I'm impressed with the hardware and design of this laptop. The battery life is just okay, 4 hours is about the most I've been able to count on, but this is a pretty powerful machine and you won't be waiting on load times. If you aren't going to be doing any heavy gaming I'd even consider this a pretty great choice as a desktop replacement. The problem is this and currently all Lenovo machines come loaded with bloatware. It took me around 2 hours to get rid of all of it, it's such a shame because less savvy users probably won't have the patience or knowledge to do so. The pre-loaded software hampers performance of the machine. To make matters worse Lenovo's OneKey Recovery system stores these files in factory partitions so that if you ever want to reformat your computer all of this will be installed again. This will be my last purchase from Lenovo until they handle their software problems. Let's get a clean Windows option Lenovo, it's time. "
Review 10 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Eh

Date: February 16, 2015
" This computer is nothing more than eh. I'm not impressed with the battery life at all getting about 2 hours of constant use before needing to plug it in. Also am incredibly displeased with the keyboard, I feel like I need to slam on the characters to ensure they type correctly. The screen is already giving me troubles after just 5 months of use. The speakers and mouse pad are also low quality.
However it is a pretty fast computer but that's what I expected from an I7 core. When the screen works right it is clear and easy to read. And it is nice and light to carry around all day.
I would not buy this product again. "
Review 11 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I now know why this product was on sale

Date: February 10, 2015
" I bought the z40 over 4th of july weekend during a weekend deal. Unfortunately, the computer came with a broken disc drive that must be slammed to close. Additionally, the battery life is far less superior than advertised. After having the notebook for less than 6 months it drains while in sleep mode so whenever I open up the laptop, I have no more battery left. Additionally, it scratches so easily that you'll need to by a laptop sleeve if you expect it to look remotely alright. "
Review 12 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Purchase Ever

Date: January 12, 2015
" I was very excited to buy this product when I came to know about lenovo, but Z40-70 is the worst product I have seen till now. I have been using this product since 4 months, It will be a bad experience if you buy this product. Many of my friends refereed not to buy this product. I do have a hope to buy, as this is a IBM produce. But this gave me a bad experience. This product is equipped with Dolby speakers, only left speaker is working, I have used the latest audio drivers, but still the right speaker is not working. And this product is not user friendly to use. When it comes to performance, as this has core i7 processor I have lots of expectations on this product, but this product doesn't met any of my expectations and efficiency of i7 processor. As I am student, I often use browsers and I am totally irritated when I open a browser, it is slow and takes time to open. As I don't want any of my friends to suffer with this product, my suggestion is to simply avoid this product. "
Review 13 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product For the Price

Date: January 11, 2015
" This laptop was amazing, just that some games aren't very smooth. "
Review 14 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Laptop Deal

Date: January 10, 2015
" I was surprised after I bought this laptop that it is about 40% off the price of most other i7, 8gb RAM, decent graphics. As a matter of fact, there are no better laptops then this under $1000. However this laptop lacks a lot of features. I would recommend the third model with the i7 and 8gb Ram. The hard drive upgrade to 1tb is not worth $70.
After six months of having this laptop, I have it running blazing fast since I easily installed a 256gb SSD for $120 after buying it. I think Lenovo should include a optional SSD because I had to take out my CD drive.
Now I can't complain because I got this laptop for $400 less, however I found some problems. However most can be fixed for $100 or less.
#1- Low Battery Life, I get a average 3 hours.
Fix- None, levono doesn't sell z40 batteries. :(
#2- Slow Disk Drive
Fix- Go out a buy a SSD for $60-$130, most laptops even in the $1400 don't have a decent SSD.
Pros:
Good Graphics
Glossy Screen
Thin
Light
Good Sound
Aluminum case
USB 3
"
Review 15 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Value for the money!

Date: January 8, 2015
" Sleek with multi features! "
Review 16 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this laptop. It's everything I needed.

Date: January 8, 2015
" I didn't need the fastest laptop out there, so I went a little lower on my budget. But this thing is amazing for what I paid. I would definitely recommend this to a friend. The battery life is a solid 4.5 hours. Its also fairly light weight and easy to fit into my backpack. I was a little worried the 1.8Ghz processor was slow, but the 4th gen i3 has shown me that this is not the case. It runs faster than my old centrino 2.0Ghz by a looooongshot. "
Review 17 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than expected

Date: December 27, 2014
" Fast out of the box, easy setup and a great price. "
Review 18 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best laptop ever

Date: December 14, 2014
" It has everything that you want in it. You better buy this now. If not you wasting your precious time doubting yourself. "
Review 19 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is one of the best buys that I've made

Date: December 8, 2014
" First of all, I bought the Core i7, 8 GB RAM, NVIDIA GT820M 2 GB, Hybrid 1TB+8GB SSD. And, I love it! I use it for school as well as gaming.
Pros: First, the hole structure / material is very well put together. All of the ports are appreciated especially with an optical drive. Gaming with this computer is decent, I can squeeze 60 FPS with mid - high setting on decently demanding games. The 1080p screen looks razer sharp as well. Also, if you put the OS on the SSD, the laptop boots in under 12 seconds.
Cons: The keyboard is probably the biggest downsides to this product; if you have been using a mechanical keyboard, you will not like this key board because the travel distance is VERY short, but after 2 weeks of using it, it starts to feel natural. Last, the speakers are not great, the main reason being is because they are on the BOTTOM of the computer, so expect to be using other speakers or a headset.
I highly recommend this laptop to students with some gaming wants. "
Review 20 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good value

Date: December 7, 2014
" I purchased the 2.0 Ghz i-7 model with 8 GB of ram. The performance seems good, quite speedy and not finding any situations where the computer lags. Overall I am pleased with the purchase however there are some aspects that I am not quite happy with, or wish that the computer would include:
- very glossy screen, creates reflections in all lighting conditions. I've frankly never seen a screen which is so reflective. (why do they fit glossy screens to computers?)
- Sound quality and volume is very poor. My smartphone (and netbook) have better speakers.
- Full of bloatware, need to spend some time deleting all the things you do not want, and setting up the computer to your preference.
- Keyboard is nice, however it really needs to be back-lit.
I would give it 3 1/2 stars overall. It does fulfill my want of having a basic laptop with good performance without all the unnecessary features like touch screen and tablet-ish ability! "