Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo Z40 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo Z40

Average customer rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
6
44 of 63(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo Z40
Review 1 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great purchase!!

Date: July 27, 2015
" I was at first hesitant on buying this laptop. I am familiar with HP and Apple products only. I decided to try out a different route. I am GLAD I did! I am very please with the structure, sleekness and overall style. I am even more impressed with the easy setup. It is wayyyyy faster than my HP. I have had this laptop for some time and I have not experienced any difficulties. I would definitely recommend this laptop for any students or just anybody! I will buy another Lenovo product in the future! The only negative is no back light on the keyboard and that's it. "
Review 2 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Very poor design

Date: June 24, 2015
" Unfortunately, I've never had so many issues with a laptop as I've had in the less-than-3 months I've owned a Lenovo z40.
Horrible keyboard to use / terrible usb and connection port placement / dreadful dvd open/close button externally / battery drains quickly...
That's just off the top of my head... "
Review 3 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid Laptop for the price point.

Date: February 24, 2015
" I'm impressed with the hardware and design of this laptop. The battery life is just okay, 4 hours is about the most I've been able to count on, but this is a pretty powerful machine and you won't be waiting on load times. If you aren't going to be doing any heavy gaming I'd even consider this a pretty great choice as a desktop replacement. The problem is this and currently all Lenovo machines come loaded with bloatware. It took me around 2 hours to get rid of all of it, it's such a shame because less savvy users probably won't have the patience or knowledge to do so. The pre-loaded software hampers performance of the machine. To make matters worse Lenovo's OneKey Recovery system stores these files in factory partitions so that if you ever want to reformat your computer all of this will be installed again. This will be my last purchase from Lenovo until they handle their software problems. Let's get a clean Windows option Lenovo, it's time. "
Review 4 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Eh

Date: February 16, 2015
" This computer is nothing more than eh. I'm not impressed with the battery life at all getting about 2 hours of constant use before needing to plug it in. Also am incredibly displeased with the keyboard, I feel like I need to slam on the characters to ensure they type correctly. The screen is already giving me troubles after just 5 months of use. The speakers and mouse pad are also low quality.
However it is a pretty fast computer but that's what I expected from an I7 core. When the screen works right it is clear and easy to read. And it is nice and light to carry around all day.
I would not buy this product again. "
Review 5 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

I now know why this product was on sale

Date: February 10, 2015
" I bought the z40 over 4th of july weekend during a weekend deal. Unfortunately, the computer came with a broken disc drive that must be slammed to close. Additionally, the battery life is far less superior than advertised. After having the notebook for less than 6 months it drains while in sleep mode so whenever I open up the laptop, I have no more battery left. Additionally, it scratches so easily that you'll need to by a laptop sleeve if you expect it to look remotely alright. "
Review 6 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Purchase Ever

Date: January 12, 2015
" I was very excited to buy this product when I came to know about lenovo, but Z40-70 is the worst product I have seen till now. I have been using this product since 4 months, It will be a bad experience if you buy this product. Many of my friends refereed not to buy this product. I do have a hope to buy, as this is a IBM produce. But this gave me a bad experience. This product is equipped with Dolby speakers, only left speaker is working, I have used the latest audio drivers, but still the right speaker is not working. And this product is not user friendly to use. When it comes to performance, as this has core i7 processor I have lots of expectations on this product, but this product doesn't met any of my expectations and efficiency of i7 processor. As I am student, I often use browsers and I am totally irritated when I open a browser, it is slow and takes time to open. As I don't want any of my friends to suffer with this product, my suggestion is to simply avoid this product. "
Review 7 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Product For the Price

Date: January 11, 2015
" This laptop was amazing, just that some games aren't very smooth. "
Review 8 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Laptop Deal

Date: January 10, 2015
" I was surprised after I bought this laptop that it is about 40% off the price of most other i7, 8gb RAM, decent graphics. As a matter of fact, there are no better laptops then this under $1000. However this laptop lacks a lot of features. I would recommend the third model with the i7 and 8gb Ram. The hard drive upgrade to 1tb is not worth $70.
After six months of having this laptop, I have it running blazing fast since I easily installed a 256gb SSD for $120 after buying it. I think Lenovo should include a optional SSD because I had to take out my CD drive.
Now I can't complain because I got this laptop for $400 less, however I found some problems. However most can be fixed for $100 or less.
#1- Low Battery Life, I get a average 3 hours.
Fix- None, levono doesn't sell z40 batteries. :(
#2- Slow Disk Drive
Fix- Go out a buy a SSD for $60-$130, most laptops even in the $1400 don't have a decent SSD.
Pros:
Good Graphics
Glossy Screen
Thin
Light
Good Sound
Aluminum case
USB 3
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Value for the money!

Date: January 8, 2015
" Sleek with multi features! "
Review 10 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I love this laptop. It's everything I needed.

Date: January 8, 2015
" I didn't need the fastest laptop out there, so I went a little lower on my budget. But this thing is amazing for what I paid. I would definitely recommend this to a friend. The battery life is a solid 4.5 hours. Its also fairly light weight and easy to fit into my backpack. I was a little worried the 1.8Ghz processor was slow, but the 4th gen i3 has shown me that this is not the case. It runs faster than my old centrino 2.0Ghz by a looooongshot. "
Review 11 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Better than expected

Date: December 27, 2014
" Fast out of the box, easy setup and a great price. "
Review 12 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best laptop ever

Date: December 14, 2014
" It has everything that you want in it. You better buy this now. If not you wasting your precious time doubting yourself. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

This is one of the best buys that I've made

Date: December 8, 2014
" First of all, I bought the Core i7, 8 GB RAM, NVIDIA GT820M 2 GB, Hybrid 1TB+8GB SSD. And, I love it! I use it for school as well as gaming.
Pros: First, the hole structure / material is very well put together. All of the ports are appreciated especially with an optical drive. Gaming with this computer is decent, I can squeeze 60 FPS with mid - high setting on decently demanding games. The 1080p screen looks razer sharp as well. Also, if you put the OS on the SSD, the laptop boots in under 12 seconds.
Cons: The keyboard is probably the biggest downsides to this product; if you have been using a mechanical keyboard, you will not like this key board because the travel distance is VERY short, but after 2 weeks of using it, it starts to feel natural. Last, the speakers are not great, the main reason being is because they are on the BOTTOM of the computer, so expect to be using other speakers or a headset.
I highly recommend this laptop to students with some gaming wants. "
Review 14 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

good value

Date: December 7, 2014
" I purchased the 2.0 Ghz i-7 model with 8 GB of ram. The performance seems good, quite speedy and not finding any situations where the computer lags. Overall I am pleased with the purchase however there are some aspects that I am not quite happy with, or wish that the computer would include:
- very glossy screen, creates reflections in all lighting conditions. I've frankly never seen a screen which is so reflective. (why do they fit glossy screens to computers?)
- Sound quality and volume is very poor. My smartphone (and netbook) have better speakers.
- Full of bloatware, need to spend some time deleting all the things you do not want, and setting up the computer to your preference.
- Keyboard is nice, however it really needs to be back-lit.
I would give it 3 1/2 stars overall. It does fulfill my want of having a basic laptop with good performance without all the unnecessary features like touch screen and tablet-ish ability! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Average Computer

Date: December 6, 2014
" Excellent computer for the deal I had, serves all of my daily purposes but hesitant about running much more.
Not a huge fan of the mouse as I can confirm it is glitchy. Once in a while, internet won't connect when my peers a few feet away can connect to internet with full connection. Haven't had any major freezing or slowing down yet.
If you're a student and will be taking this laptop with you to class, this might not be the best consideration. I often spend my time going up and down with my brightness depending on the lighting of the room.
As for the sound, it is horrendous at the beginning but I recently had it at 100% as I was further away than sitting right in front of it. Since then, the speakers almost seem to have blown as I am currently listening to music with it set to 60% and it is quiet (I'm sitting right in front of it).
Also, the keyboard is not lit so it is essentially useless unless you are in some kind of light.
Overall, would I buy this again? Probably not. "
Review 16 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Poorly Made

Date: November 25, 2014
" I have never dropped, jarred, or damaged this laptop. That being said, when the speakers were at 100% a rattling/vibration could be heard. There is a spot on the display that is brighter than everything else (a little smaller than a pea). The mousepad is frequently unresponsive in that the mouse will jump all over the place if I attempt to move it. If you wait a minute it'll go back to working though (insanely frustrating). Small factors like these indicate it was cheaply made. That could be the reason the had such a wonderful sale on them when I purchased mine in August. "
Review 17 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent deal for college students

Date: November 22, 2014
" Pros:
Processor speed is enough for any student or entry level programmer
Good for architectural designing purposes also
Has great durability
Value for money
Priced very low for configurations
Keyboard is comfortable
Cons:
Looks are not attractive
"
Review 18 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great product, fits the budget

Date: November 20, 2014
" I have purchased an i7/1TB-8GB SSD version, and I am super satisfied with it. Its quite slim and lightweight. Display quality is quite good, though not the best. Battery life is pretty decent around 4 hours on heavy usage. No warming up issue or unwanted sound from under the hood. Super smooth performance....in short, its awesome!
P.S:Delivery took 2 weeks, but service of UPS was pathetic. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Do not buy this product

Date: November 11, 2014
" I will never buy any lenovo product again. i also discourage people not to buy their product. The mouse pad sometimes does not work. sometimes the screen zoom automatically. The Disk trey does not come out. I need a pin to hit the hole to eject the trey. the battery charge is disaster with out charge it stays like less than 1.30hrs. As core i5 processor when i open many windows the browser hang. SO DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS. "
Review 20 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Laptop for the Price

Date: November 5, 2014
" Pros:
Boots quickly
Fast when running basic applications (chrome, office suite etc.)
Slim and fairly light
Cons:
Screen glare is intense at all times
CD drive instead of more ports (like an ethernet connection...)
Copious amounts of bloatware
Overall: I would buy this laptop again if given the chance. For <$600 (it was on sale for me) you won't find a better laptop. "