Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo Z40 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo Z40

Average customer rating:
3.979 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
3
35 of 47(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo Z40
Review 1 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Poorly Made

Date: November 25, 2014
"I have never dropped, jarred, or damaged this laptop. That being said, when the speakers were at 100% a rattling/vibration could be heard. There is a spot on the display that is brighter than everything else (a little smaller than a pea). The mousepad is frequently unresponsive in that the mouse will jump all over the place if I attempt to move it. If you wait a minute it'll go back to working though (insanely frustrating). Small factors like these indicate it was cheaply made. That could be the reason the had such a wonderful sale on them when I purchased mine in August."
Review 2 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent deal for college students

Date: November 22, 2014
"Pros:
Processor speed is enough for any student or entry level programmer
Good for architectural designing purposes also
Has great durability
Value for money
Priced very low for configurations
Keyboard is comfortable
Cons:
Looks are not attractive
"
Review 3 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great product, fits the budget

Date: November 20, 2014
"I have purchased an i7/1TB-8GB SSD version, and I am super satisfied with it. Its quite slim and lightweight. Display quality is quite good, though not the best. Battery life is pretty decent around 4 hours on heavy usage. No warming up issue or unwanted sound from under the hood. Super smooth performance....in short, its awesome!
P.S:Delivery took 2 weeks, but service of UPS was pathetic."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Do not buy this product

Date: November 11, 2014
"I will never buy any lenovo product again. i also discourage people not to buy their product. The mouse pad sometimes does not work. sometimes the screen zoom automatically. The Disk trey does not come out. I need a pin to hit the hole to eject the trey. the battery charge is disaster with out charge it stays like less than 1.30hrs. As core i5 processor when i open many windows the browser hang. SO DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS."
Review 5 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Laptop for the Price

Date: November 5, 2014
"Pros:
Boots quickly
Fast when running basic applications (chrome, office suite etc.)
Slim and fairly light
Cons:
Screen glare is intense at all times
CD drive instead of more ports (like an ethernet connection...)
Copious amounts of bloatware
Overall: I would buy this laptop again if given the chance. For <$600 (it was on sale for me) you won't find a better laptop."
Review 6 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

best purchase ever

Date: November 3, 2014
"this laptop is very awesome"
Review 7 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good purchase! Very happy!

Date: November 2, 2014
"Good: Very nice laptop. Well equiped. Nicely crafted. Works very well with Intel i5 and Windows 8.1. Very satisfied!
Bad: battery only 4 hours"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

NOT recommended - Lenovo Z40 59425583

Date: October 26, 2014
"My review didn't show up, so I'm reposting. Both my original and replacement laptops were damaged! Wasn't worth my time waiting. I couldn't play any games.
Pros
- Very thin
- Battery lasted 3 hrs 16 mins before hitting 10% on dim brightness
- Nice picture quality
- Dolby Digital Plus enhanced sound system
- Optical drive
- Trackpad gestures (2 finger scroll)
- A 2.0 USB port on the left and right
Cons
- 1080p resolution on 14” monitor = TERRIBLE DPI scaling! At 1080p, some program windows were clear, others blurry. Had to use 1366x768 resolution at 100% DPI scaling
- Network adapter (Realtek RTL8723BE wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC) NOT dual band compatible
- Windows 8.1
- Optical drive couldn't boot from CD properly
- Slow computer. CPU usage spiked to 60% opening multiple Windows Explorer windows
- My external HDD caused massive lag but shouldn't have
- Max screen brightness and sound were pretty low
- Cheap keyboard covering that actually depressed while typing on the left side
"
Review 9 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

It possess all the feature that i need

Date: October 25, 2014
"It is a good product with an optic disk and works great."
Review 10 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

So much potential but returning

Date: October 25, 2014
"Hello Lenovo Cons: 1) The glared/highly reflective screen will be a problem in any light. 2) Wireless connection problems after a few weeks, dropped from 50Mbps to 5Mbps--good luck getting to the root of the problem if you are not a professional. 3)Poor battery life. Only positive is there are no hot spots or heating up from running multiple programs or media on this computer. Good luck finding support on this as there are no easy fixes and hassles."
Review 11 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Superb laptop

Date: October 10, 2014
"Works perfectly. Excellent value for money. Highly recommended."
Review 12 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Love it XD

Date: October 10, 2014
"The one i got was the highest end Z40 model you can get and i got it actually early from the 10-12 business days it said it would come at
had it for about a week and i love it i had a lenovo before a old one (P580 model) and they are both great
this one is much better and i love it it can run all the games i like like minecraft skyrim spore league and other games like those
since there aren't a lot of reviews for the Best z40 lenovo sells i will tell you
Basically if you want to do light gaming (generally) then its perfect for you (i do gaming, hw, internet) but if you want a laptop for heavy gaming or that can handle bigger games then do get the Y40 or Y50 (razer blade 14 is the Best in my opinion) BUT with the price when i got it 669 it is the best deal out of all the PC world in my opinion"
Review 13 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

A fairly good buy

Date: October 10, 2014
"When i got this laptop i used it day in and day out, ive had it for about 3 months now and ive had no problems with it, the only thing id want to change about it is the hand rest, where you put your hand when you are using wasd, its a rigid edge, it isnt curved and the corner can be annoying, if you are planning to use it at a desk or in a sitting position then you shouldnt have problems with it. This laptop rocks, i got the 8gb ddr3l ram, 2gb ddr5 video card,
1Tb hybrid, 1920x1080 version. if you are looking for a laptop for on the go gaming than this is a good fit for you, keyboard is nice, but the 1080p isnt very justified because it cant run games at that resolution and have a good fps. i was a windows 7 user so i had to get accustomed to it but windows 8 shouldnt be a reason to avoid buying this. All in all a good on the go laptop, i use it for videos and gaming and it hasnt had trouble with either since ive got it.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Amazing performance

Date: October 9, 2014
"Pros:
- Amazingly fast! great for gaming (Take my word for it)
- Nice and comfortable keyboard
- Screen looks stunning
Cons:
- Sound is alright..
- Short battery life
- The screen looks and feels cheap..(Plastic around the screen)
Basically a computer that excels in everything except for battery life."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Lemon computer

Date: October 2, 2014
"excitement over new computer died soon after it froze for 5 times in the first month. Commons problems were rebooting did not work, internet was not recognized even though it was connected, and lost files. The computer started working again after I turn it off and on again. This is NOT how a new computer should work (maybe after 3 years of use you might expect this problem not after 1 month)."
Review 16 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Cheap !

Date: October 2, 2014
"Its a great computer for the price , a high performance laptop!"
Review 17 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Awesome Laptop

Date: September 23, 2014
"The best laptop I have ever purchased in my life. Very good product with an affordable price and the performance is just mind blowing. Very good to watch movies."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Amazing PC for the Price

Date: September 22, 2014
"This laptop has exceeded my every expectation.
The NVIDIA GPU makes the graphics on the PC are amazing. BattleField 3, and other games run at near 25 fps on medium settings. (I have the i7 1tb combo) Worth it for the price.
"
Review 19 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent Product

Date: September 22, 2014
"Lenovo must be appreciated for providing efficient, affordable, and competitive product suitable not only to students but to professionals as well. This light-weight product comes with 4th Generation i7 Intel Core processor and 8GB RAM. It is an excellent product to be gifted for reliability and enjoyment with cherishing moments."
Review 20 for Lenovo Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Fantastic computer for a lower budget

Date: September 20, 2014
"I got this new laptop two weeks ago and I've used it every day since then. It's really great! I also use it to game, and it's pretty good, though I don't play hugely intensive games.
2 things I'm /not/ so pleased about:
1) the number of random, useless apps and programs I had to uninstall when I first got it- A bunch of programs that kept turning on whenever I turned on my laptop would pop up, but they were only useful if I paid for the subscription service. Looking at you, MyPCBackup.
2) Good god the battery life is basic. Even on power saver mode I'm lucky if I get 3 hours of basic web browsing before it's at or below 20% battery life. If you have the budget, I'd strongly suggest investing in a better battery, especially if you're in a situation where you can't keep your laptop plugged in.
Overall, it's great! I got this thing for a great price, and the performance is super fast! Thanks Lenovo for putting out a great laptop at a great price"