Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Z40 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Z40

Average customer rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
9 of 14(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Z40
Review 1 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alexyunmoney

Best Budget Laptop for College Students

Date: August 18, 2014
"Had my eye on this laptop since I'm starting college. After almost waiting 4 weeks for this to ship, it finally arrived. It has all the specs you need for you to complete ur work whether its multimedia or just regular school work. NOTE: When is says 1 Tb + 8 gb ssd, its not an actual ssd you can move files to. Its a hybrid drive,, so basically whatever applications or files you use the most, the computer will automatically move it to the "ssd" which is basicaly a n 8gb cahce. good buy. 5 stars"
Review 2 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vivek

Awesome

Date: August 15, 2014
"Nice Laptop"
Review 3 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Freelancer

Good powerful machine

Date: August 9, 2014
"After waiting for two weeks to recieve this machine I finally received it in the mail about five days ago. My last two computers had aluminum shells so this computer has taken a bit of getting used to. Despite this the machine seems pretty sturdy and defiantly quieter than my last computer.
So far my only complaint about this system is that It seems to have trouble booting up after I close the lid. It will start to boot and then it will just randomly shutdown. After pushing the power button again it starts fine. I am think that this is a bios problem so hopefully Lenovo will patch it later.
As far as the machine goes I don't know if you can do a whole lot better for the price and power that comes with this machine."
Review 4 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JonB

Came Broken

Date: August 7, 2014
"I ordered my laptop via the 4th of July Weekend deal for what was quite a good deal. The laptop specs are quite decent - i7 processor, 500gb of memory and 6gb of ram (though some of these specs may change based on the model chosen).
Some important specs that fall short and are not advertised very well.
1) The sound is "ok". This is advertised as a media laptop but I wouldn't expect to watch movies with friends unless two people were sitting on the couch.
2) My laptop came with the CD drive broken. This alone is cause for serious concern and may cause potential buyers to reconsider their purchase.
3) The screen looks like it could easily break off after considerable
"
Review 5 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
miranda

Works as Expected

Date: July 30, 2014
"I paid for a mid range gaming laptop and that is exactly what I got. Of course I can't play the newest games on the highest resolution but I can play everything I care about. And this computer isn't loud or bulky at all so I can still use it in lectures."
Review 6 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MRJCS

Overall...a good buy!

Date: July 27, 2014
"Onekey recovery s/w doesn't function if the factory-set partition is altered!! To add up to it...the pack doesn't come with Win8 Disc..not even the Prd key is shared!!
And...Lacks back-lit keyboard & blu-ray drive.
Considering the h/w for the price..it feels as a good buy:-)"
Review 7 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Falcon

Fantastic Laptop

Date: July 22, 2014
"I've had it for a week now and have had no problems. Windows 8.1 runs smoothly and the SSHD loads programs quickly. The dedicated Nvidia graphics card allows for casual gaming while not running the price of a high-end gaming rig. The 14" screen sounds smaller than it is, and the keyboard is easy to adapt to. Overall its a great laptop. My only dislike is that the processor heats up quickly, but propping up the back or getting a cooling mat solves that issue easily."
Review 8 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mozja

nice looking hardware, below average performance

Date: July 11, 2014
"Purchased for my sister, hoping 8 gigs of memory and the hybrid drive would mean a snappy machine.
Unpacked a very tidy, suprisingly light and quiet machine, unfortunately despite removing the few pre-installed applications I found the machine pretty sluggish in both starting up and app responsiveness.
I can't recommend this laptop."
Review 9 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ming

caution

Date: July 6, 2014
"few problems
1.right handside use is to hard to use,hard to push in and hard to push out. also dvd-rom has problems.
2.14' monitor with 1080p is terrible. my eye feel terid for using it like even 5mins. everything is small.
3. 1TB +8g hybird is uselees, rather like 1tb hard dive +8g ssd"
Review 10 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Odette

Very Impressed!

Date: July 1, 2014
"I bought this laptop on a Memorial Day Sale and let me say, it's amazing! It does everything I want it to do without a problem. Gaming with it is pretty seamless. It can run Skyrim on high graphics without hiccup-- absolutely gorgeous!
The only thing with running high-graphic games like Skyrim is that the laptop does run very hot. I'm going to buy a cooling pad to reduce potential damage, so use caution.
I wish this laptop came in a 15.6" because I enjoy having the option of using a 10-key number pad and a larger screen would make the gaming experience even better, but 14" isn't awful.
It's lightweight, and still has the DVD/CD drive which most laptops are slowly phasing out. Love it!"
Review 11 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Newmexdex

Z40- Solid value

Date: June 29, 2014
"Very well balanced unit. Good performance with i7 processor. 500gb solid state drive is fast. Windows 8 is not mature yet. Many difficult to find features. Battery life is decent at about 3plus hours. Overall a solid basic laptop."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Paras

Value for money

Date: June 23, 2014
"Value for money"
Review 13 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hobo420

Huh! another laptop with nothing.

Date: June 5, 2014
"Pros:
Old nvidia graphics.
Somewhat fast processor
Un-backlit keyboard.
Nice glared screen (i cant see anything under heavy light)
1TB for $719.
Dude where is JBL sounds?
FAntastic old resolution.
Cons:
READ THE PROS because it will be cons as well.
"
Review 14 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Syed

good config in best price

Date: May 29, 2014
"good config in best price"