Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Z40 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Z40

Average customer rating:
4.108 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
29 of 37(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Z40
Review 1 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Superb laptop

Date: October 10, 2014
"Works perfectly. Excellent value for money. Highly recommended."
Review 2 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Love it XD

Date: October 10, 2014
"The one i got was the highest end Z40 model you can get and i got it actually early from the 10-12 business days it said it would come at
had it for about a week and i love it i had a lenovo before a old one (P580 model) and they are both great
this one is much better and i love it it can run all the games i like like minecraft skyrim spore league and other games like those
since there aren't a lot of reviews for the Best z40 lenovo sells i will tell you
Basically if you want to do light gaming (generally) then its perfect for you (i do gaming, hw, internet) but if you want a laptop for heavy gaming or that can handle bigger games then do get the Y40 or Y50 (razer blade 14 is the Best in my opinion) BUT with the price when i got it 669 it is the best deal out of all the PC world in my opinion"
Review 3 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

A fairly good buy

Date: October 10, 2014
"When i got this laptop i used it day in and day out, ive had it for about 3 months now and ive had no problems with it, the only thing id want to change about it is the hand rest, where you put your hand when you are using wasd, its a rigid edge, it isnt curved and the corner can be annoying, if you are planning to use it at a desk or in a sitting position then you shouldnt have problems with it. This laptop rocks, i got the 8gb ddr3l ram, 2gb ddr5 video card,
1Tb hybrid, 1920x1080 version. if you are looking for a laptop for on the go gaming than this is a good fit for you, keyboard is nice, but the 1080p isnt very justified because it cant run games at that resolution and have a good fps. i was a windows 7 user so i had to get accustomed to it but windows 8 shouldnt be a reason to avoid buying this. All in all a good on the go laptop, i use it for videos and gaming and it hasnt had trouble with either since ive got it.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Amazing performance

Date: October 9, 2014
"Pros:
- Amazingly fast! great for gaming (Take my word for it)
- Nice and comfortable keyboard
- Screen looks stunning
Cons:
- Sound is alright..
- Short battery life
- The screen looks and feels cheap..(Plastic around the screen)
Basically a computer that excels in everything except for battery life."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Lemon computer

Date: October 2, 2014
"excitement over new computer died soon after it froze for 5 times in the first month. Commons problems were rebooting did not work, internet was not recognized even though it was connected, and lost files. The computer started working again after I turn it off and on again. This is NOT how a new computer should work (maybe after 3 years of use you might expect this problem not after 1 month)."
Review 6 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Cheap !

Date: October 2, 2014
"Its a great computer for the price , a high performance laptop!"
Review 7 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Awesome Laptop

Date: September 23, 2014
"The best laptop I have ever purchased in my life. Very good product with an affordable price and the performance is just mind blowing. Very good to watch movies."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Amazing PC for the Price

Date: September 22, 2014
"This laptop has exceeded my every expectation.
The NVIDIA GPU makes the graphics on the PC are amazing. BattleField 3, and other games run at near 25 fps on medium settings. (I have the i7 1tb combo) Worth it for the price.
"
Review 9 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent Product

Date: September 22, 2014
"Lenovo must be appreciated for providing efficient, affordable, and competitive product suitable not only to students but to professionals as well. This light-weight product comes with 4th Generation i7 Intel Core processor and 8GB RAM. It is an excellent product to be gifted for reliability and enjoyment with cherishing moments."
Review 10 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Fantastic computer for a lower budget

Date: September 20, 2014
"I got this new laptop two weeks ago and I've used it every day since then. It's really great! I also use it to game, and it's pretty good, though I don't play hugely intensive games.
2 things I'm /not/ so pleased about:
1) the number of random, useless apps and programs I had to uninstall when I first got it- A bunch of programs that kept turning on whenever I turned on my laptop would pop up, but they were only useful if I paid for the subscription service. Looking at you, MyPCBackup.
2) Good god the battery life is basic. Even on power saver mode I'm lucky if I get 3 hours of basic web browsing before it's at or below 20% battery life. If you have the budget, I'd strongly suggest investing in a better battery, especially if you're in a situation where you can't keep your laptop plugged in.
Overall, it's great! I got this thing for a great price, and the performance is super fast! Thanks Lenovo for putting out a great laptop at a great price"
Review 11 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

What a beast!

Date: September 15, 2014
"This thing is absolutely crazy fast, it runs everything smoothly and quick. I got mine this week where is a week sale (highest model i7 1 terrabite HDD and 8G SDD + more for 659.00) this is just an absolute steal"
Review 12 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good computer with some areas for improvement

Date: September 15, 2014
"It took forever for them to ship but once they did it got her pretty quickly. The sound definitely needs improvement, but still good as long as you are nearby. I expected i7 to have no issues with speed, I was wrong. There is a lot of buffering for videos and loading time for websites. It might be all of the pre loaded on apps they have on here (still trying to get rid of them all). Battery life could be better, but its pretty standard for all laptops now. It is a solid laptop, great size and weight. Windows 8 definitely takes time to learn. I do wish they had color options."
Review 13 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Absolutely Great for the Price

Date: September 13, 2014
"I bought the 500GB+8GB SSHD, 8GB of RAM, and i7-4510U processor version of the Z40, and paid $690+ tax.
Let me just say, this was an amazing purchase. Great graphics card, great processor, AMAZING SCREEN. And AMAZING VOLUME( when you turn on the Dolby equalizer which some people don't know about).
An amazing entertainment/office laptop. Maybe not the best for hardcore gaming, but definitely great for everything else.
Keep it up Lenovo!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Fits our Needs

Date: September 11, 2014
"We needed a portable laptop for our family. We saw some other computers but this one had the best processor for a good price. I would highly recommend this computer."
Review 15 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent Laptop PC

Date: September 11, 2014
"I bought the Z40 (i7 8GbRam 1TB HD, win 8.1 64 bit, Nvidia GT card) as it offers light weight, easy portability and has all of the processing power I need for the kinds of numerically intensive applications that I run. Pricing was very competitive.
Order processing and delivery was a little tricky but the sales staff was excellent and very helpful in correcting my order and delivery time.
Keep in mind that software support is not included in the 1 year warranty. It is a chargeable service. I did get into some trouble where I had to roll back the most recent WIN 8.1 update which caused my IE and Chrome browsers to stop working. Easily correctable but you need to be familiar with WIN OS."
Review 16 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

cool

Date: September 7, 2014
"This is really good, the price is best suited to the product.I feel this a very good one for the money i spent on it."
Review 17 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

cool nice laptop

Date: September 3, 2014
"this is excellent laptop.fast and quiet"
Review 18 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

All around good laptop

Date: August 30, 2014
"I spent a truly ridiculous amount of time laptop shopping before I purchased this model, and now I've had a month compare it to three others I use regularly.
Thoughts:
-Battery life much better than expected once I switched from high performance mode
-The touchpad seems to have some difficulties, even after lowering the sensitivity
-The speakers are at the bottom front of the laptop which is just terrible placement if it's sitting on anything or you're trying to hold it
-Still fairly large and heavy of a laptop - better than my old one, but not an ultrabook by any means (size is actually similar overall to my old 15.4" laptop)
-When you open the top the hinge goes all the way to the base of the laptop, making it difficult to adjust the screen angle if the laptop is sitting on something
-No backlit keyboard
-Battery and DVD drive feel slightly flimsy.
-Laptop attracts fingerprints constantly
Overall, it's a great performing laptop, but there are some design issues to consider."
Review 19 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Worth it

Date: August 29, 2014
"I bought the Lenovo z40 for $630 (Tax Included)
I use it to play games, and so far it has been pretty satisfactory, running Fallout: New Vegas and Bioshock 1 on highest graphics without any issues. The audio and screen are slightly lackluster but they didn't cause too much of a problem. The keyboard is also pretty small, but I got used to all this pretty fast.
Def. Worth the money.
"
Review 20 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Everydaysocloudy

Great price, poor build

Date: August 27, 2014
"The laptop itself is amazing for the price, but there is a HUGE flaw in the laptop with windows 8.1. This is likely due to the incompatibility of the lenovo wifi card with windows 8.1 causing constant wifi drops."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.