Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Z40 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Z40

Average customer rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
20 of 27(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Z40
Review 1 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

What a beast!

Date: September 15, 2014
"This thing is absolutely crazy fast, it runs everything smoothly and quick. I got mine this week where is a week sale (highest model i7 1 terrabite HDD and 8G SDD + more for 659.00) this is just an absolute steal"
Review 2 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good computer with some areas for improvement

Date: September 15, 2014
"It took forever for them to ship but once they did it got her pretty quickly. The sound definitely needs improvement, but still good as long as you are nearby. I expected i7 to have no issues with speed, I was wrong. There is a lot of buffering for videos and loading time for websites. It might be all of the pre loaded on apps they have on here (still trying to get rid of them all). Battery life could be better, but its pretty standard for all laptops now. It is a solid laptop, great size and weight. Windows 8 definitely takes time to learn. I do wish they had color options."
Review 3 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Absolutely Great for the Price

Date: September 13, 2014
"I bought the 500GB+8GB SSHD, 8GB of RAM, and i7-4510U processor version of the Z40, and paid $690+ tax.
Let me just say, this was an amazing purchase. Great graphics card, great processor, AMAZING SCREEN. And AMAZING VOLUME( when you turn on the Dolby equalizer which some people don't know about).
An amazing entertainment/office laptop. Maybe not the best for hardcore gaming, but definitely great for everything else.
Keep it up Lenovo!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Fits our Needs

Date: September 11, 2014
"We needed a portable laptop for our family. We saw some other computers but this one had the best processor for a good price. I would highly recommend this computer."
Review 5 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent Laptop PC

Date: September 11, 2014
"I bought the Z40 (i7 8GbRam 1TB HD, win 8.1 64 bit, Nvidia GT card) as it offers light weight, easy portability and has all of the processing power I need for the kinds of numerically intensive applications that I run. Pricing was very competitive.
Order processing and delivery was a little tricky but the sales staff was excellent and very helpful in correcting my order and delivery time.
Keep in mind that software support is not included in the 1 year warranty. It is a chargeable service. I did get into some trouble where I had to roll back the most recent WIN 8.1 update which caused my IE and Chrome browsers to stop working. Easily correctable but you need to be familiar with WIN OS."
Review 6 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

cool

Date: September 7, 2014
"This is really good, the price is best suited to the product.I feel this a very good one for the money i spent on it."
Review 7 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

cool nice laptop

Date: September 3, 2014
"this is excellent laptop.fast and quiet"
Review 8 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

All around good laptop

Date: August 30, 2014
"I spent a truly ridiculous amount of time laptop shopping before I purchased this model, and now I've had a month compare it to three others I use regularly.
Thoughts:
-Battery life much better than expected once I switched from high performance mode
-The touchpad seems to have some difficulties, even after lowering the sensitivity
-The speakers are at the bottom front of the laptop which is just terrible placement if it's sitting on anything or you're trying to hold it
-Still fairly large and heavy of a laptop - better than my old one, but not an ultrabook by any means (size is actually similar overall to my old 15.4" laptop)
-When you open the top the hinge goes all the way to the base of the laptop, making it difficult to adjust the screen angle if the laptop is sitting on something
-No backlit keyboard
-Battery and DVD drive feel slightly flimsy.
-Laptop attracts fingerprints constantly
Overall, it's a great performing laptop, but there are some design issues to consider."
Review 9 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Worth it

Date: August 29, 2014
"I bought the Lenovo z40 for $630 (Tax Included)
I use it to play games, and so far it has been pretty satisfactory, running Fallout: New Vegas and Bioshock 1 on highest graphics without any issues. The audio and screen are slightly lackluster but they didn't cause too much of a problem. The keyboard is also pretty small, but I got used to all this pretty fast.
Def. Worth the money.
"
Review 10 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Everydaysocloudy

Great price, poor build

Date: August 27, 2014
"The laptop itself is amazing for the price, but there is a HUGE flaw in the laptop with windows 8.1. This is likely due to the incompatibility of the lenovo wifi card with windows 8.1 causing constant wifi drops."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sam2100

Best purchase ever

Date: August 25, 2014
"i ordered on July 4th and it took a little longer to receive it. It is excellent laptop, fast, quiet, and light. i am happy with it so far. No complains with the money spent on."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dave

High quality product for the money you pay

Date: August 25, 2014
"I bought Z40 few weeks ago and it is doing great so far. High quality screen with high resolution. Light enough to carry it with yourself anywhere. I got the Core i5 one with 8GB RAM which is really good for me. if you need more CPU, you can buy the core i7 one. I didn't want to spend extra $180 to upgrade only the CPU. Another good thing about Z40 is the Gforce graphic card on it. Integrated graphic cards like Intel will use RAM during operation which will affect your laptop performance and make it slow when you do graphic works or when you play a game.
Startup is comparably fast, however it depends on what you installed on your laptop and what you select to be run during startup (more software to run during the startup = slower start up for your laptop).
I also like to have DVD drive on my laptop. That is why I didn't buy the idea Pad. Don't forget about the speakers which are the best I have seen so far.
Overall, very happy with my purchase (specially When you buy it on SALEEEEE)"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ntiheesh

chap and best laptop

Date: August 24, 2014
"very powerdul with i7 and very reliable"
Review 14 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alexyunmoney

Best Budget Laptop for College Students

Date: August 18, 2014
"Had my eye on this laptop since I'm starting college. After almost waiting 4 weeks for this to ship, it finally arrived. It has all the specs you need for you to complete ur work whether its multimedia or just regular school work. NOTE: When is says 1 Tb + 8 gb ssd, its not an actual ssd you can move files to. Its a hybrid drive,, so basically whatever applications or files you use the most, the computer will automatically move it to the "ssd" which is basicaly a n 8gb cahce. good buy. 5 stars"
Review 15 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vivek

Awesome

Date: August 15, 2014
"Nice Laptop"
Review 16 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Freelancer

Good powerful machine

Date: August 9, 2014
"After waiting for two weeks to recieve this machine I finally received it in the mail about five days ago. My last two computers had aluminum shells so this computer has taken a bit of getting used to. Despite this the machine seems pretty sturdy and defiantly quieter than my last computer.
So far my only complaint about this system is that It seems to have trouble booting up after I close the lid. It will start to boot and then it will just randomly shutdown. After pushing the power button again it starts fine. I am think that this is a bios problem so hopefully Lenovo will patch it later.
As far as the machine goes I don't know if you can do a whole lot better for the price and power that comes with this machine."
Review 17 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JonB

Came Broken

Date: August 7, 2014
"I ordered my laptop via the 4th of July Weekend deal for what was quite a good deal. The laptop specs are quite decent - i7 processor, 500gb of memory and 6gb of ram (though some of these specs may change based on the model chosen).
Some important specs that fall short and are not advertised very well.
1) The sound is "ok". This is advertised as a media laptop but I wouldn't expect to watch movies with friends unless two people were sitting on the couch.
2) My laptop came with the CD drive broken. This alone is cause for serious concern and may cause potential buyers to reconsider their purchase.
3) The screen looks like it could easily break off after considerable
"
Review 18 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
miranda

Works as Expected

Date: July 30, 2014
"I paid for a mid range gaming laptop and that is exactly what I got. Of course I can't play the newest games on the highest resolution but I can play everything I care about. And this computer isn't loud or bulky at all so I can still use it in lectures."
Review 19 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MRJCS

Overall...a good buy!

Date: July 27, 2014
"Onekey recovery s/w doesn't function if the factory-set partition is altered!! To add up to it...the pack doesn't come with Win8 Disc..not even the Prd key is shared!!
And...Lacks back-lit keyboard & blu-ray drive.
Considering the h/w for the price..it feels as a good buy:-)"
Review 20 for IdeaPad Z40
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Falcon

Fantastic Laptop

Date: July 22, 2014
"I've had it for a week now and have had no problems. Windows 8.1 runs smoothly and the SSHD loads programs quickly. The dedicated Nvidia graphics card allows for casual gaming while not running the price of a high-end gaming rig. The 14" screen sounds smaller than it is, and the keyboard is easy to adapt to. Overall its a great laptop. My only dislike is that the processor heats up quickly, but propping up the back or getting a cooling mat solves that issue easily."