Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo G580 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo G580

Affordable, multipurpose 15.6" laptop for everyday use.

Average customer rating:
3.412 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (114 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
22
3 stars
13
2 stars
15
1 star
22
68 of 114(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo G580
Review 1 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not worth the money

Date: July 18, 2015
" I bought this laptop due to its reasonable prize. However it gives me a lot of problems after windows updates. Sometimes there is no volume. I have to shut down and restart a number of time hoping for the volume to come back, other times without plugging in the power supply the screen goes dark even with full brightness and full battery. I bought 2 years ago but the problem started after the 7th month and it continues to be so. I googled end no of times to resolve the issue,finally in the end its not worth it. Now i have problems with wireless internet connection. I have to disconnect and reconnect for signal a no. of times in a day and the problem lies with the computer after the window OS updates. "
Review 2 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a pleasant experience

Date: June 9, 2015
" Lenovo pre-installs a bunch of useless software, including malware that is dangerous to your system. The only way to have a Lenovo laptop that runs properly, you have to format the hard drive and start fresh. The thing is the only way to do that, legally, is to purchase Windows full retail version, or pay a monthly fee to Lenovo to get the recovery disk. This is the past PC I will ever buy, I'm switching to Mac. "
Review 3 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

NEVER BUY LENOVO

Date: June 1, 2015
" guys i really cant stress this enough, i have completely stopped purchasing lenovo products, because they are made in such a way it only lasts for a little while, i bought 2 laptops, both lenovo and pretty new, and newest models too... They stopped working within 3 weeks or so... if you want a good laptop, go for acer, or dell, anything but lenovo, i hate this company, i have wasted literally almost 1000 dollars for those two laptops tht didnt even last... if you dont want to waste money go for any other company than this... anything is better than lenovo "
Review 4 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This laptop has failed me

Date: May 18, 2015
" This laptop has failed me. "
Review 5 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great - when it works

Date: May 6, 2015
" My G580 came with a faulty keyboard and the SD card reader only worked intermittently.
After 5 months the motherboard started to fail and after 7 months it was accepted back for warranty repair.
It was finally returned with a replacement but also substandard keyboard with different faulty keys, the SD card-reader's plastic cover had been removed but not replaced and it still only worked intermittently. The new processor only worked at 35-40% of its original speed.
The laptop came back configured in, I think, Polish. I was helped to get it back to its original state but I still get the occasional message in Eastern European
"
Review 6 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Can't connect to wi-fi

Date: April 8, 2015
" Was able to connect to wifi when I had AT&T but now I have switched to Mediacom and I have had to buy a long ethernet cable to plug into the modem because I am unable to coonect through the wi-fi. I have read the instructions but they are not working for me. Can you please help me? "
Review 7 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

G580 with Window 7

Date: March 29, 2015
" Junk....so disappointed in this machine...had it since Aug 2013, and the machine has completely failed...tech thinks it is the motherboard....The machine has only been turned on infrequently, because I bought it as a backup for my Sony desktop...and to travel with (although it never left my desk) "
Review 8 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good one

Date: February 23, 2015
" nice laptop but problem with batterry...it doesnt gets heated up in normal usage like others do.. "
Review 9 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

title is bad lenovo g580

Date: January 7, 2015
" i purchase these lap lenovo g580 in november 2013 after 1 year november 2014 and 2 months lap was damaged the screen . screen was shaded . i am going to lenovo service center the guys will say . 15000rs needed . i purchase this lap only 32000rs . what i do ? "
Review 10 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

my first laptop, and i didn't regret buying it

Date: January 5, 2015
" I have a Lenovo G580, it is reliable, fast, and a really good computer. One little thing is annoyng me: The casing of the display, because it is not that great quality, but everything else is really great :-) "
Review 11 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't live without

Date: December 27, 2014
" Pros
Speakers/audio system, HD display/graphics, design, high speed, warranty, durability
Cons
battery, wifi card, touch pad
I've had it two years. I had a problem with the wifi card, but since it's been fixed , it has worked perfectly. The speakers are amazing for a laptop. It is extremely fast for streaming. Honestly, I'm attached. "
Review 12 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Battery Problem

Date: December 27, 2014
" I have owned the laptop for more than a year now. the battery now charges us to 60% and does not move up beyond this. I replaced the battery pack and the problem still persists.
Any useful tips would be much appreciated as I intend to get the machine formatted.
"
Review 13 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

lenovo G580

Date: December 5, 2014
" Bought this Lenovo G580 at Best Buy after about 2 mths of use the whole back of the screen opened up. Best BUY declared manufacturer problem. I sent it back to Lenovo paying $25 to ship it and $187 to repair it . Yes it worked for a week and then back to the drawing board -it detached again . LENOVO wants $99 to try to fix it "
Review 14 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

so far so good.

Date: December 5, 2014
" Only had it a few days. "
Review 15 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Got a lemon

Date: November 30, 2014
" We have Lenovo computers at work and they work fine. Got one at home and have had nothing but problems with it. Took several trips from the tech to replace several malfunctioning parts in my Idea Desktop. Took months to be able to get on the internet. Thank heavens I had a Toshiba laptop also so I could actually get some work done. My Lenova locks up a lot, still have lots of problems with it but won't call them again - tired of wasting my time. This was first Lenova personal purchase - never again. "
Review 16 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Another G580 with network adapter issues

Date: November 23, 2014
" Purchased 04/2012 with Windows 8, unit performed flawlessly. With the battery life optimizer option, which doesn't take the battery to full charge, it provides 1.5 hours of unplugged service. After a year the G580 began dropping the wireless internet connection. Tech support was helpful; after hours with 3 different techs the unit was repaired under warranty.
Later, I upgraded to Win 8.1 and immediately had connectivity issues. No longer under warranty, I checked blogs and Lenovo's site for a solution. It appears that several people had the same problem with Windows 8 and 8.1. Restoring the G580 to factory load (Win 8) didn't solve the problem.
In summary, Lenovo took care of the problem while under warranty. I should have checked what drivers they installed during the warranty repair. If there is another hardware issue with the adapter, I am not inclined to spend and money on this unit. I will purchase a replacement laptop when the frustration level hits my limit. "
Review 17 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Best to buy

Date: November 8, 2014
" I bought this laptop in 2011. Its overall performance is really excellent. Very limited shortcut keys. No hardware problems. Nice keyboard, enjoys typing on it.
Drawbacks:
1. Very poor casing. Screen lid is not so tight and it waves just for fan speed. Not so tight when closing. Even after closing the lid it easily moves.
2. Very delicate casing. Screw holders will break easily. The plastic mesh near the cpu exhaust broke first within a year I bought the laptop. This drawback is common in this model laptop. I have seen 4 of my friends having the same laptop had the same problem.
3. When a charger was connected to the laptop (if there is no earthing), I sense power on the metal palm rest.
Still Lenovo, a computer giant, has to improve their casing.
To the budget and performance this is preferable. "
Review 18 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bad Hard drive

Date: October 30, 2014
" I bought this laptop for my girlfriend's son. Right out the box, it seem to take a very long time to boot. This got progressively worse over time. After about a year, it stopped booting altogether. I used the Recovery disks but after booting once, it hung again. Eventually I figured out that it was bad hard drive. After putting a new one in, the laptop finally boots as quickly as it should. I'm fairly certain that the hard drive was faulty from the start. Other issues that I've encountered are the power management software telling me that the battery is not a genuine Lenovo even though it's the battery that came with the laptop. Now that the hard drive has been replaced and some of the bloatware removed, the laptop is working much better although I really don't like the touchpad. "
Review 19 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

REALLY A WORST LAPTOP

Date: October 17, 2014
" This was my first laptop which i used almost for a year now the laptop does not charge properly maximum charges upto 60%. yesterday i used it for 2 hours and the laptop got switched off and not switching on again i took it to the service center they said the motherboard got damaged and its better to buy another instead of repairing this.
SO PLEASE DO NOT PURCHASE LENOVO PRODUCTS..
"
Review 20 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

G580

Date: October 17, 2014
" I love it. Fast and efficient. Shuts down really fast.
The 8.00 GB memory and 890.00 GB of hard drive is plenty of capacity.
"