Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo G580 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo G580

Affordable, multipurpose 15.6" laptop for everyday use.

Average customer rating:
3.51 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
20
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
17
64 of 102(63%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo G580
Review 1 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

lenovo G580

Date: December 5, 2014
" Bought this Lenovo G580 at Best Buy after about 2 mths of use the whole back of the screen opened up. Best BUY declared manufacturer problem. I sent it back to Lenovo paying $25 to ship it and $187 to repair it . Yes it worked for a week and then back to the drawing board -it detached again . LENOVO wants $99 to try to fix it "
Review 2 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

so far so good.

Date: December 5, 2014
" Only had it a few days. "
Review 3 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Got a lemon

Date: November 30, 2014
" We have Lenovo computers at work and they work fine. Got one at home and have had nothing but problems with it. Took several trips from the tech to replace several malfunctioning parts in my Idea Desktop. Took months to be able to get on the internet. Thank heavens I had a Toshiba laptop also so I could actually get some work done. My Lenova locks up a lot, still have lots of problems with it but won't call them again - tired of wasting my time. This was first Lenova personal purchase - never again. "
Review 4 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Another G580 with network adapter issues

Date: November 23, 2014
" Purchased 04/2012 with Windows 8, unit performed flawlessly. With the battery life optimizer option, which doesn't take the battery to full charge, it provides 1.5 hours of unplugged service. After a year the G580 began dropping the wireless internet connection. Tech support was helpful; after hours with 3 different techs the unit was repaired under warranty.
Later, I upgraded to Win 8.1 and immediately had connectivity issues. No longer under warranty, I checked blogs and Lenovo's site for a solution. It appears that several people had the same problem with Windows 8 and 8.1. Restoring the G580 to factory load (Win 8) didn't solve the problem.
In summary, Lenovo took care of the problem while under warranty. I should have checked what drivers they installed during the warranty repair. If there is another hardware issue with the adapter, I am not inclined to spend and money on this unit. I will purchase a replacement laptop when the frustration level hits my limit. "
Review 5 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Best to buy

Date: November 8, 2014
" I bought this laptop in 2011. Its overall performance is really excellent. Very limited shortcut keys. No hardware problems. Nice keyboard, enjoys typing on it.
Drawbacks:
1. Very poor casing. Screen lid is not so tight and it waves just for fan speed. Not so tight when closing. Even after closing the lid it easily moves.
2. Very delicate casing. Screw holders will break easily. The plastic mesh near the cpu exhaust broke first within a year I bought the laptop. This drawback is common in this model laptop. I have seen 4 of my friends having the same laptop had the same problem.
3. When a charger was connected to the laptop (if there is no earthing), I sense power on the metal palm rest.
Still Lenovo, a computer giant, has to improve their casing.
To the budget and performance this is preferable. "
Review 6 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Bad Hard drive

Date: October 30, 2014
" I bought this laptop for my girlfriend's son. Right out the box, it seem to take a very long time to boot. This got progressively worse over time. After about a year, it stopped booting altogether. I used the Recovery disks but after booting once, it hung again. Eventually I figured out that it was bad hard drive. After putting a new one in, the laptop finally boots as quickly as it should. I'm fairly certain that the hard drive was faulty from the start. Other issues that I've encountered are the power management software telling me that the battery is not a genuine Lenovo even though it's the battery that came with the laptop. Now that the hard drive has been replaced and some of the bloatware removed, the laptop is working much better although I really don't like the touchpad. "
Review 7 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

REALLY A WORST LAPTOP

Date: October 17, 2014
" This was my first laptop which i used almost for a year now the laptop does not charge properly maximum charges upto 60%. yesterday i used it for 2 hours and the laptop got switched off and not switching on again i took it to the service center they said the motherboard got damaged and its better to buy another instead of repairing this.
SO PLEASE DO NOT PURCHASE LENOVO PRODUCTS..
"
Review 8 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

G580

Date: October 17, 2014
" I love it. Fast and efficient. Shuts down really fast.
The 8.00 GB memory and 890.00 GB of hard drive is plenty of capacity.
"
Review 9 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Horrible

Date: October 6, 2014
" The most horrible purchase I've ever made : a big big big problem with WIFI card, permanent connections and disconnections... In brief, run away !!!
(sorry for my english...)
"
Review 10 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

SMART LOOK AND SMART WORK

Date: October 4, 2014
" Hi. i would to like say about LENOVO G580 IDEAPAD laptop its just like amazing if u looking for cost effective and long duration work running with amazing no doubt,i am using 2 years since no minor issues. wonderful display,spakers,graphic card,keypad, webcam everything good.
My recommendation those who do it.
a complete product running with stunning performance. good luck
"
Review 11 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Recently dissatisfied

Date: September 29, 2014
" 4 months ago, decided to buy a Good computer, as my friend suggested, and I trust him, man knows the thing, I choose to get a Lenovo laptop. So that's what I did, went to local Argos and get one. It look good at the start, I liked a whole idea about it - color, keyboard , screen , everything was brilliant until I started to notice that something isn't going as was expected. Eventually I end up with totally new from look, never even dropped or damaged computer which I can not switch ON! Screen just stuck on black! It's interesting how different are companies and how they choose to sent their products to shops even if they aren't at the best condition! It's important to say that my previous experience wasn't that bad . Bought a TOCHIBA companies laptop from the same shop and it was going like new for more than a 2 years... Well , thanks Lenovo ;) "
Review 12 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Awesome Product

Date: September 24, 2014
" I have been using this for nearly 10 months, dint faced any problem. Fast performance and worth buy.
Go for it..... "
Review 13 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Not enjoying the use of Windows 8

Date: September 9, 2014
" I don't like all the changes besides swipes on the mouse pad. The move to Apps is not a smooth adjustment like that of a touch screen tablet.
This computer takes a long time to start up and do just about anything with any software. I did an upgrade to 8.1 and now things like the built in camera software don't work.
I'm not sure why this has to be difficult. I've been using computers since the late eighties and some of those were faster by comparison. "
Review 14 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

durable and good performance

Date: September 8, 2014
" i used this laptop for 2 years and i am a college student. so for the money i paid i think i got the best. its very durable it has been wimme to so many places. it would be in my back pack and i would accidentally throw it around, but it has endured those beatings impressively well. when i comes to the performance i run solid works premium with no lag what so ever and the games as well. one more thing is, this laptop so quiet, for a laptop this size i a have seen other brands make alot of sound but not this. this laptop is awesome "
Review 15 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

BUILD QUALITY IS POOR

Date: September 5, 2014
" Although this laptop is pretty fast, the sound has stopped working due to a hardware problem only after a year of having the laptop. very disappointed. "
Review 16 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

review of lenovo G580 laptop

Date: September 4, 2014
" I have owned this laptop for over 2 years and I still use it every day. I think Lenovo makes a quality product, but its not perfect. over a year ago, while still under warranty, the keyboard started to malfunction. Almost half of the keys stopped working. I sent the unit to a repair facility where they replaced the keyboard. They also replaced the entire hard drive after it tested weak. I commend the repair facility for their commitment to good customer service. The laptop has been performing well to this day! "
Review 17 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
skiing

Troublesome

Date: August 25, 2014
" hard "
Review 18 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
samuel

Brilliant Performance

Date: August 14, 2014
" Wonderful performance and LED display I recommend the Lenovo series and I will fo rnow on always go with lenovo laptops and its other products. "
Review 19 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halexa

It's nice

Date: July 17, 2014
" This laptop is really fast, and since I upgraded to windows 8.1 I like it a lot better. I wish I knew how to disable the edge swipes and it would be perfect!! "
Review 20 for Lenovo G580
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CREATOR

Necessity

Date: July 7, 2014
" It's a good computer for home use. "