Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo Y500 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo Y500

Powerful 15.6" gaming and multimedia laptop with dual graphics models or other Ultrabay options to to easily add more functionality.

Average customer rating:
3.991 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 star
13
89 of 118(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo Y500
Review 1 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

proud owner

Date: October 4, 2014
"+ Full gaming laptop with msata that makes it a incredible hiend machine. Use driver solution for full driver updates ant rool out
- heck the price is a bit out there"
Review 2 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crazydreamland

power machine for gaming and design/audio

Date: May 31, 2014
"this laptop is top notch in almost every way, with the ability for upgrading procesor network card video x2 or other add ins like dvd hd ect. you can over clock video and bios. i have had this system since 2013 and it still ranks at the top for perfomance and i have yet to update the cpu or network card or the ssd. so many options."
Review 3 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hero

Fantastic Gaming Laptop!

Date: May 29, 2014
"pros: Graphics, Processor, Software, Keyboard, Screen Size/Resolution, Ultrabay, Speakers
cons: Weight, Battery, Mouse pad, Slow Startup, Heavy Charger, Smudges, Webcam/Mic
This is a great laptop for anyone who wants a high-end gaming laptop w/o paying for one. This can rival $2000+ gaming laptops. The graphics are WOW and so fast. The speakers are great, esp w/ bass. The keyboard is comfortable and clean,typing and gaming on it is satisfying. The LEDs make it look rad.
There are a few minor things not so great. The webcam isn't super. The mouse pad is cheap and not very sensitive. Sometimes has slow startups. The battery is not made to last long and it can't play games well when not charging. The charger is a brick and the laptop is heavy. The outside of the laptop shows all smudges
"
Review 4 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy

Best Purchase Ever

Date: May 21, 2014
"I like. It has no problems. The touch pad is fine on fine along with everything else on the laptop.
Very happy.
"
Review 5 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sammi

A Deal not to regret

Date: April 17, 2014
"I purchased a lenovo y500 with SLI Nvidia GT 650M. It has a fancy red backlit keyboard and an intel core i7 processor that's 2.40GZ. The display resolution is beautiful full 1920x1080. The computer is fast and good for some gaming. I have played skyrim, dishonored, tomb raider 2013, the sims 3, Max Payne 3 all on med-high settings. The fan is good and for the most part the computer stays cool. Only downside is when gaming having the computer plugged in with the power brick charger is a MUST!! If not plugged in their is extreme lagging!! But once plugged in its fine :) another neg was my computer came with windows 8 which took a while for me to adjust to after being used to having win 7. Windows 8.1 is now out and updating from 8 to 8.1 is a MUST! Overall good laptop"
Review 6 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alphawolf

Y500 Review

Date: April 8, 2014
"This was a great purchase, I got it for gaming and it hasn't failed me for a single game, only downsides were the hard drive (I believe) crapped out after a year and the touchpad wasn't great. Sent it in for repairs which was a bit like pulling teeth, but the machine was great. Love it and would recommend it."
Review 7 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keone
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Gaming Laptop

Date: February 16, 2014
Pros: Memory, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Weight
"This laptop has been great for gaming. It runs all of my games including crysis 3 on 1920x1080 resolution with above average settings. Its even better for everything else. My only complaint is that the battery life isn't the best but for how powerful this thing is it makes sense. Its also a bit bulky if you plan on taking it to class with you. But other than that it's great!"
Review 8 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dking92
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

The best beast of its class in market...

Date: January 8, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Weight
"Guyz...had dis lappie in june,2013....must say....i m spellbound by itz performance....itz a piece of perfection....except dat i messd it up a lil by keeping avast free antivirus....had to re-install windows 1 time...(i installe quick-heal pro later)....but then even no performance lag....just the kind of dream lappie i wanted....in shorts....for every extreme hard-core gamers out there....this is the best lappie within 70k....thumbs upppppp for lenovo & its mind-blowingly,awsumly amazing products...."
Review 9 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mezo
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

amazing laptop in 2013 & 2014

Date: January 1, 2014
Pros: Processor, Memory
Cons: Input/Output compatibility
"this laptop is amazing for gaming and watch films"
Review 10 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nene
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Performance and Graphics Capable

Date: December 19, 2013
Cons: touchpad
"The entry of Lenovo Y500,Core i7 processor with 8GB Ram and 2GB makes up for great performance. The general moulding looks robust for handling. My only reservation is about the mouse pad/touchpad. It does'nt look that solid. If feels too soft and suggy.
On the whole looks great."
Review 11 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnInRI
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great gaming laptop

Date: December 15, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: lack of ultrabay accessories
"I bought two of these for my children, and the Y500 is an astoundingly good gaming machine for the money. The only real disappointment has been the lack of available accessories for the Ultrabay. I had hoped to add a Blu-ray or DVD player but the only accessories are a second graphics card (which came with the laptop) and a second hard drive."
Review 12 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
teedotlynn
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Amazingly great performance

Date: December 3, 2013
Pros: Processor, Durability, Memory, Video card, Screen size, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Weight
"The Lenovo Y500 is a fantastic laptop, and it's an affordable one for people like me who are on a tight budget.
I wanted a gaming laptop and everything else that was even remotely decent was just too expensive. Now I can run WoW on ultra settings (which I couldn't do on my old laptop).
It's a great laptop for everything else, too, everything runs great on it."
Review 13 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Br4veSirRobin
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Added the 2nd GT750

Date: November 22, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, ultrabay
"So to continue with my previous review I ordered the 2nd GT750 ultrabay card. It didn't Sli right away so I googled it and the firmware needed updated which is available on Lenovo's site. Restarted and NVidia control panel allowed SLi and now this thing just beat my best DESKTOP 3dmark11 benchmark score. Granted it's an old OC'd Q6600 and two GTX 580's in SLi. This is one of the best lappy purchases I have ever made. The ultrabay is a great idea and I hope Lenovo keeps the concept.
Ciao!
"
Review 14 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
incarnate
Owned Product:1-6 months

Never again Lenovo

Date: November 11, 2013
"Had my Lenovo for about 6 months now and I pretty much hate it. There have been so many problems ranging from hardware problems (earphones not being detected) to software issues (random freezing/slow-down, random crashing), I am just so disappointed in Lenovo, I really miss my ASUS. Never again."
Review 15 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fares
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

i bought it with 789$

Date: November 4, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Included software, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Battery, Screen size, Durability, the bezel around the screen, 5400 rpm hdd, the keyboard are not good for gamers, too many plastic feel
"my specs
core i7 3630qm
gt750m ddr5
8gb ram
1tb hdd
design of this laptop for gamers is very bad
trackpad should have 2 click shown not hidden
screen should have thinner bezel
overheating with single gpu what will happend in sli ?!?!!
"
Review 16 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trigeminal
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good value, reliable

Date: October 21, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Durability, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Weight
"Good value for the specs included, can easily compete with more expensive entertainment laptops.
Battery life is not the best.
"
Review 17 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mike
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

amazing buy

Date: October 21, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Weight
"fantastic performance;beautiful build;value for money;no such problems with mouse;a great and a must buy;only thing is that it is a bit bulky"
Review 18 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
shaynef81
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

problem child

Date: October 13, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Bluetooth, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Storage, Warranty, Wireless card, Memory, Support, Battery, Security Features, Included Software, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability, camera
"lame prob after prob still have not been able to use integrated camera as it appears unconnected"
Review 19 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PipUnderscore
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Laptop

Date: October 7, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage
Cons: mouse pad a bit disfunctional
"I got this laptop and I really loved the looks of it. The red backlit keyboard goes great with the dark black body. As for performance, stunning. I'm able to run most games at maximum settings and it runs fine. The fan will kick up a bit and it will get a bit warm but it isn't necessary to have everything maxed out. I had very few problems with it. I had some minor problems such as the mouse pad not working. It starts to go out of control after a bit. I just started using a mouse and disabled the mouse pad. also the always on usb did stop working but later on started working again and has been fine ever since. The battery isn't the best but then again it is a gaming laptop so there's no surprise there. This a great laptop and well worth it."
Review 20 for Lenovo Y500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pinka
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Top Notch

Date: September 29, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, upgrade-ability
Cons: Weight
"I've had my Y500 for a little over 7 months now, and it's amazing. Gaming is awesome on it and I'm considering grabbing the ultrabay upgraded graphics for future games too. It's a little weighty, but since I keep it in a back-pack at school, it's really not that bad. This thing doesn't break a sweat even under pretty intense loads. Battery is pretty good too, it gets me through a couple classes before I need to charge it, but there are almost always power outlets in my classrooms anyway."