Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New! or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!

Colorful 13.3" Ultrabooks and super-slim laptops.

Average customer rating:
2.474 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
7
6 of 19(32%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
Review 1 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Purchase

Date: September 20, 2014
"Very disappointed. I bought this in May 2013 and had to return to factory for repair in July 2013 for solid state drive replacement. After I received it, my son mention to me that one of the hinges is not working right, the screen was hard to open and close and you can see the hinge at the bottom causing the base to open. I thought it was not a big deal because I did not want to return again. Now the hinge is broke and the screen separated. I tried calling Lenovo couple of times but they said that warranty expires in April although I have seen this issue since last year. I got a quote for repair and it will cost more than what I paid for. So after a year of use, this computer is broke."
Review 2 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mari

worst laptop ever!

Date: August 20, 2014
"Had to reinstate to factory setting within 1 month of purchase. The mouse/trackpad losses function often and then you have to keep reinstalling the program to make it work. Black screen when you restart from sleep means you have to force a shut down by pressing hard on the power button and then restarting the system. Everything you are working on before is lost as a result. Wi fi is not reliable. For the price there are better computers on the market. Don't buy!"
Review 3 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sunil

Worst laptop

Date: July 24, 2014
"overall a very bad option to buy this . . ."
Review 4 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Chrsp63

Terrible!!!!!!!

Date: April 29, 2014
"I only had U310 for approximately 5 months and I am very disappointed to say the lease! I have to manually shut it down and that's not all. Just recently my laptop started getting very warm then it started making a loud buzzing noise. Absolutely unhappy with this U310. I bought it at Staples and I will be returning it...at least try. Otherwise if anyone has any suggestions on how to get my money back I would very much appreciate it. So unhappy with lenove!!!"
Review 5 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jackw

Lenovo Ultrabook U310

Date: April 28, 2014
"We have had nothing but problems with this laptop from when we bought it. The wireless card is not working again. We have had just under 1 year. We are taking it back. Very disappointed"
Review 6 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TaymA
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Have had it for over a year - Not Good

Date: February 19, 2014
"I have had my U310 ideapad running Win 8 (and upgraded to Win 8.1) for about 1.5 years. I'm not happy with it at all. I have had several problems including a LONG boot time (like 4 minutes) and no shut down (I need to do a hard shut down each time). Lately my WiFi has been dropping in and out while my other devices on the same network work just fine. Overall: Do not Recommend this laptop. POOR quality."
Review 7 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kishor
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Disappointed

Date: December 31, 2013
Pros: Weight, Screen size
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Bluetooth, Software compatibility, Processor
"It was good to see the design and the advertised battery life of 5-6 hours.
But in reality
1. Terrible wifi issues after upgrading to Windows 8.1. It does not connect easily, especially after waking up from hibernate.
2. The worst sound quality. After upgrading to windows 8.1, I had to degrade the driver to its old version to get it working.
3. Annoying fan with processor temperature always above 50 degree centigrades (SpeedFan). Guess! what the processor speed then!
I am new to USA and could not find an easy way to return the product. I don't feel easy to talk with costumer support due to my poor speaking English.
Please suggest me a way that I can Return the product."
Review 8 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seattle
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Memory:4 GB or more

Cannot recommend

Date: December 14, 2013
Cons: Wireless card
"I was very excited to receive this laptop, since I had to move off a Mac for work. The weight and screen size were good, laptop responsive and I could get used to Win8 quirks. At home, it worked fine until the first time I put it to sleep. It dropped wifi and took about an hour to reconnect. Since then, it has been almost impossible to reconnect wifi and we find it is a well known issue. Our other devices have no issue, and I am using laptop in the same room as the router. Unfortunately, we will have to return this laptop."
Review 9 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mike
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3

Big downgrade for Lenovo

Date: April 7, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Support, Battery, Processor
"This computer has been a disappointment from the start. Biggest problems:
1) Webcam never worked, had it replaced 3 times and the motherboard once, but nothing helped.
2) Often freezes while surfing the web. Just won't react to mouse clicks for about 40 seconds. Happens about once an hour.
3) Mouse is poorly made, right click and select options are hyper sensitive so it's very frustrating
4) Battery life is around 2 hours, maybe 3.
5) Very weak wireless card - sit next to many others who get great internet (and my phone does) while Lenovo won't connect and/or has the slowest internet connection around. Awful.
The positives are that the recovery is fast, it is light and sleek, and generally has good ergonomics.
The computer was cheap but I regret the decision to purchase it."
Review 10 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mit1
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Worst Computer I've ever owned

Date: January 7, 2013
Pros: Weight
Cons: Warranty, Memory, Support, Included Software, Software compatibility, Processor, Build Quality, Durability
"I purchased this computer for graduate school in September and couldn't have had a worse experience. Within two weeks of purchasing, I had to have a replacement sent because of a "scramble screen" that took three weeks to arrive. In December, it stopped booting and when I received it back from the repair depot (another week and a half), it still wasn't fixed. For approximately 25% of the time I've owned this computer I haven't actually been able to use it and spent over $100 of my own money having files recovered. I sincerely regret this purchase and can't recommend it to anyone."
Review 11 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dori
Location:Fort Myers, FL
Owned Product:1-6 months

Ultrabook...or not.

Date: December 10, 2012
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Wireless card, Battery
"I think this is an good laptop...but a good ultrabook? maybe not. It's appearance is great. Its quite thin and I like the white inside and the cherry blossom cover, although it has been mistaken for a mac book..but that could be a good or bad thing! I bought this for college, but I can hardly use it there because it has issues connecting to WiFi anywhere outside my house. I also have to carry the charger around because the battery life only lasts about 4 hours. Aside from the light weight, I can't think of another reason to call this an Ultrabook. Definitely a good laptop, but don't expect Ultrabook qualities."
Review 12 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thedude33
Location:Washington, DC
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Best laptop on the market!

Date: November 4, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Battery, Processor
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"the U310 stays true to the Lenovo name and quality. this is my third Lenovo, but my first one for personal use and I have truly become a lenovo enthusiast. The laptop is perfect ...very fast (must faster than my X220 with similar specs), sleek (beautiful styling and solid) and extremely portable. Only wish they had the "nubbin" as they do in the thinkpads."
Review 13 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
michuser
Location:Michigan
Owned Product:Less than a month

Major wireless issue

Date: September 14, 2012
"I had great hopes for this computer. It is beautiful and the specs are great for the price, but there is a major wireless issue where the computer either gets a very weak signal compared to other computers, or drops the wireless frequently. Unfortunately since most people use wireless almost exclusively these days, this is a major issue. I have trouble just staying connected to very basic websites which are mostly text. This issue has been mentioned hundreds of times on the lenovo support forums, but it seems as of now there is no fix and no recall. I would not recommend this computer."
Review 14 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tina
Location:Connecticut
Owned Product:Less than a month

My new favorite laptop!!!

Date: September 14, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Storage
"When my computer broke, I instantly starting look at new ones. At that time Lenovo only and the U300s out, which was definitely pricey for my liking and income, but it had everything I wanted. MacBooks were out of the picture so I was very excited when I found out about the U310. After reading various reviews about problems with the Wifi, scratching, and other problems I was wary about whether I would get a "good" one or not. I watched many review videos and studied the specs over and over. I asked for it for my birthday and I absolutely love it. Its perfect. Its super light and easy to carry to school and home, and the battery life if definitely better than my other laptop. I dont have to plug it in every hour. The battery obviously doesnt reach the claimed 8 hours (depending on what you do) but I've been able to get a good 6 hours out of it web surfing, maybe 5 while watching movies. There is no CD drive however but its super easy to grab an external one if you need it that bad. The design is so pretty, I got mine in Aqua blue and the color is bright and vibrant complete with a smooth aluminum cover. The inside is white and dirt resistant so far that I've had it (for about a month)! The sound quality is great! With my headphones plugged in I only need the volume on the lowest click. Its great for blasting music or watching movies with friends. The HDMI port is so useful, something I'm glad they decided to include. And the chicklet keyboard has good key travel and I rarely find my hand disrupting the glass touch pad. I love how the whole touchpad clicks down, but still shows a distinction between the left and right clicker. It starts up super fast, instant resume is great when you just need to put it to sleep, and the screen is very bright which is great if you're outside. The only thing that I would say about the screen is it tends to be reflective, but thats no problem. You just have to tweak it until you find the right spot for optimum viewing. I love everything about and its perfect for school, home, and in between. I would definitely recommend it!"
Review 15 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AirmemLilyKat
Location:Hialeah,Fl
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i5

Great laptop but could be better

Date: August 30, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Build Quality, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Battery
"I bought this in June when it first came out.
I have to say I love the design and color on this machine it is Gorgeous i bought the aqua blue over the Sakura pink mostly because a review said it was far more stunning than the other. ^_^ . Anyhow the keyboard is comfortable to type on i wish it had a backlit Keyboard and as for the mouse pad it works beautifully . the computer it self runs quiet and can get a bit warm after long use but not enough to cause any discomfort.
If there one thing i love and hate about this computer i have to say its the screen. Its a lovely HD screen but i wish it could be brighter. i compared it to a samsung that i previously bought about a year ago and it was a big difference.
My other problem with this computer is the battery. This sucker can more or less run 5 hrs if you just surfing the internet and not really doing anything really big but even to get that much time you have to lower the brightness or you'll murder the battery really quick. oh and expect the power brick to get really hot to the touch. i don't know why but mines just heats up really badly.
now as for the speakers i have to say like them they can get loud but loud enough you can understand what is still being said in a movie or song. I read another review that said they where having problems with the wifi as of the writing of this review I've had no problem with the wifi.
All in all this is a good buy for anyone who needs to be portable you get a good bang for your buck since it very light weight, comes with hdm,i usb 3.0 and runs quiet. its very well designed with a keyboard that is comfortable to type on with a mouse pad that wont go all over the place when your wrist slides over it. it only con is battery and even though it had a beautiful 13.3 hd screen it could be a little brighter than what it is now."
Review 16 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
matmi
Location:Boston, MA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great value Ultrabook but WiFi is seriously flawed

Date: August 5, 2012
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Wireless card
"I can tell you all about the features of this laptop and why I bought it, but it makes more sense why as of currently you should _not_ buy this laptop: there is an issue with this laptop (as well as the U410) which prevents it from achieving proper WiFi speeds, especially on 802.11n networks. It does not seem like an easy fix for Lenovo as the problem has been around for almost two months. On 802.11b and g networks it seems to be ok."
Review 17 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bolol
Location:Boston, MA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium

Great Laptop but released with wireless issues

Date: August 5, 2012
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Wireless card
"I was a big fan of the first release of this laptop but after purchasing one I have had issues with the wireless adapter. A simple search on the internet would reveal the issues that many people are having.
If it was not for this issue, I would have given this laptop a great score, but currently, many people are stuck with laptops that have wireless which doesn't work."
Review 18 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chicoeagle
Location:Oho
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2 GB

finally

Date: July 26, 2012
"I am impressed! Really like the lightweight/mobility of this ultra. Fast and reliable without a lot of unnecessary programs."
Review 19 for IdeaPad U310 Ultrabook™ - New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TWhite
Location:Soldotna, Alaska
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Purchase

Date: July 25, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage, price, appearance
"I bought this ultrabook after days of comparing notebooks and ultrabooks from Lenovo among other brands. This is the second Lenovo laptop that I've bought, and I couldn't be more pleased with this ultrabook.
It's ultra fast, ultra portable, ultra stylish, and ultra practical!!! This U310 was purchased for my spouse but I have yet to give it to her because I can't give it up quite yet. There are too many great things to say about this ultrabook, from the speed of the i5 processor, to the perfect 13.3" screen that is not too small to see and not too big to be bulky, to the thin and and lightweight size that's so portable you barely notice it. Also the looks of the soft blossom pink metallic cover with the smooth lines and white inside are the most stylish looking ultrabooks out there, and feel of the keyboard is very smooth and the most comfortable that I've tried. The software and programs that come with it are nothing less than what I expected from Lenovo's previous laptops. It comes with the coolest and most useful programs that are easy enough for anyone to use.
For the price compared to what you get from other brands, I personally believe this is the ultra deal of the year! Trust me, I've done the research and testing for you!
"