Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Z510 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Z510

Average customer rating:
3.301 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
18
48 of 83(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Z510
Review 1 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frustrated

bad choice

Date: August 27, 2014
"I would go with any other brand besides Lenovo. I know the company has a reputation for hard drive crashes, I didn't expect it to happen within the first 2 months of owning the machine. I lost all my documents including the expensive install of the Microsoft office. I now have to re-buy office.
This machine is not worth the price. I suggest you look elsewhere for a laptop.
"
Review 2 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mcluvin707

Excellent value for a great price when on sale!

Date: August 17, 2014
"I bought this laptop a few months back and I have not been disappointed! It has run pretty much everything I've thrown at it well enough, although I had to overclock the GPU to do everything better. I haven't had any problems so far that haven't been my fault. Windows 8.1 is a decent program, but it takes some getting used to. This laptop would work great for a gamer on a budget, and I am currently talking with a friend about getting a laptop and i am recommending this product wholeheartedly. Good job Lenovo!"
Review 3 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superswagsoldierftw

A good purchase but bad display.

Date: August 16, 2014
"Pros: Computer quality, keyboard, power, looks.
Cons: Display, DVD drive.
This is my first computer that I have ever had so I was very excited when I got it. Overall, I am happy with the purchase. The only things I don't like are the display and DVD drive. The DVD drive problem might be Windows 8.1., but I don't know. It won't let me play videos, and it trys to download and write. Or so it says. It won't download either though. The display is only 720p. Considering that it is a 15.6 inch screen, it should be at least 1080p. Or maybe 1440p. It should at least be configurable to get those specs. That is all I have to say about that. But it has a powerful processor(Mine is an i7.) It got a nice keyboard, good graphics card, and a decent track pad. It also looks awesome. Anyway, thanks for reading.
"
Review 4 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jacky

High Performer

Date: August 8, 2014
"+ super configuration for such a price
+ good processor and graphics
+ BATTERY LIFE: i get 4-6hrs for average use
+ less heating and sound
- clock speed @2.20Ghz which is not that satisfactory (2.5ghz on g560- introduced 4 years back)
* internet speed is affected by win8.1 os. u can speed up by some simple tricks. just google it:)"
Review 5 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VenuGopal

Depends on you

Date: August 3, 2014
"First of all,Machine looks good .The color and backlit keyboard(not best but Okay) .Battery ,Display,Supporting of High-End games,USB 3.0,No Heat issues,Silent fan(doesn't make sound but you may feel little vibration while playing game , though you will hardly notice),Sound(Best around this price) are good Points
Problems:the keys are not as good as they look .. After 6 months of my use , many of keys which i am using slightly went down(I Carefully checked and the difference is minute and hardly disturbing),Little annoying noise when listen to music at 100% sound (i don't know perfect reasons but i actually keep my lappy upside down while listening ,maybe dust had went through) .
Hope it helps :)
"
Review 6 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Programmer

worst performance

Date: August 1, 2014
"its the worst laptop i used until now
bad performance with many many problems
with 32X or 64x systems it was no difference
i tried many times to find the problem but i cant.
This will be the last time i will by any of lenovo products
"
Review 7 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Johnny

Worst laptop..Please don't buy this laptop

Date: July 28, 2014
"Quality is very less...Many problems with the battery"
Review 8 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kals

A budget laptop but don't buy if u can afford more

Date: July 28, 2014
"Hi,
Got this laptop a couple of weeks back and I realize now of making a mistake.
Cons: 1st and foremost, the mouse pad is horrible. The wireless network connections always seems to be finding some sort of problem. The build quality is not great and the edges are so sharp it might even cut your wrist while you are working. The performance is not good especially with Win 8. Internet connection is slow and update seems to be too slow. The battery capacity is below par level.
Pros: Sound quality is brilliant. Display quality is considerably good for this price. HD display is good. Very good graphic card and makes you extra happy if you are gaming freak. Light weight and sleek design, good looking too. Easy to use inbuild softwares."
Review 9 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Somu

Disappointed

Date: July 23, 2014
"I recently purchased this product ( 4 months ago). It worked fine for a month. Now the performance is bad. My battery got spoilt within 4 months and had to get it replaced. No doubt the Lenovo support team sent a new battery immediately but a battery getting spoil within 4 months is really bad.
Also, the mouse gets stuck in between. No locked, it gets stuck and you need to restart the system to get it fine.
I have also started facing heating problems.
Overall, wasn't a good buy for me!
"
Review 10 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yash

Ok i am happy not reluctant but happy

Date: July 20, 2014
"i have i7 4 th gen and Web cam is hd???? No, quality is not good but the processor and speed all things are good the backlight keyboard is awsome nvidia 740m is best for gaming this are the pros and cons are the battery life oh my god it is worst man only 2 to 3 hrs max, the screen is i think is ratina display and it is horrible because have to make a display brightnesss full."
Review 11 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Moondeep

Worst Product I have purchased

Date: July 18, 2014
"I have bought 2 Lenovo machines in my life and both have problems. I will never buy Lenovo again."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
haojiezhu

Amazing laptop

Date: July 14, 2014
"Bought a refurb Z510 in outlet store with top of the line configuration - i7 4700mq, 8Gb RAM, 1T Harddrive, and 1080p screen, for only $360. It's thinner than I expected, sturdy, speedy, quiet most of the time. The integrated Intel HD 4600 is not a power house for gaming but can surprisingly handle many 2~3 year old 3D games decently at 720p and medium setting, like Mass Effect 2 or Tomb Raider 2013. Obviously, I would prefer a dedicated graphic card, like nvidia geforce 755m gt. But at $360, I really can't complain anything. So far, I haven't found any defect on this refurb."
Review 13 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SriK

Poor Battery Life

Date: June 29, 2014
"This laptop is good except poor battery life. If we charge the battery full, it will only last for less than 2 hours. It is frustrating to keep on charging."
Review 14 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SirMan

Sort of good purchase

Date: June 22, 2014
"There are some good things and some bad things about this computer; Good thing: It doesn't cost very much. Bad thing; The hard drive is a 5400 RPM hard drive, which means if you want a really good performance, you need to put in a new hard drive.
Doing this however, is extremely difficult on this computer. When I tried it ended thinking I had completely removed the hard drive and it wouldn't boot up. Another bad thing; It only comes with 4 gigabytes of ram. This is extremely low for a computer. If you plan to buy a computer for power, if you are willing to upgrade it(With the risk of having to take it to a professional), this would be a good choice. But take note, taking it to a professional may cost more than it is worth.
Would suggest this to someone? Maybe.
"
Review 15 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bookkeeper

Great Products -Almost perfect

Date: June 14, 2014
"Quality reliable, sturdy product so far. Love options to pick options/features needed/wanted. Complaints:
Keyboard isn't rigid; it"bounces" when you type. Not a serious issue but takes a bit to get used to.
Also related to the keyboard, as a bookkeeper the separate numeric keypad is not "standard" (below the #1 key is the right arrow instead of a zero). This causes me to make a lot of errors so I use an external keyboard whenver possible. I don't understand why they wouldn't have made it stardard since I assume most people that need and pay extra for the numeric keypad are used to the standard format.
Would also like an additional USB port.
"
Review 16 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
beeque

too sleek and sharp, physically

Date: June 4, 2014
"its too sharp and pointed on the edges and. uncomfortable to rest hands on while using the keyboard."
Review 17 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeniorFromTheCold

the keyboard feels "fragile"

Date: June 2, 2014
"The one thing I did nott like is the keyboard's touch; my fingers fall heavily on it and I was not pleased with the feeling... until I get used to it.
Besides that, this laptop responds quickly and I really appreciate the backlit keyboard."
Review 18 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
zalzane

shoulda bought a thinkpad

Date: May 31, 2014
"I'm a programmer who was looking for a laptop computer for a 3-month extended business trip abroad.
I didn't have the same contrast issues some of hte other reviews mentioned, however I noticed that the color quality is reaaaallllyyyy poor.
The keyboard is "decent" - there's nothing special about it that makes it very good. My one HUGE beef with it is that the right shift button is much smaller than shift buttons on typical keyboards. With how I type, I almost always overshoot the shift button on this keyboard and hit the up-arrow-key, which is what takes up most of the space the shift button is missing.
apparently my review is too long. basically: the touchpad is trash and the laptop is much uglier than the site photos lead you to believe"
Review 19 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reynard333

Lenovo wins

Date: May 31, 2014
"I really like the Lenovo compared to my Dell. So many great features. I would recommend it to all my friends."
Review 20 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gangadhar

Good Purchse

Date: May 28, 2014
"Pros: Good performance, nice processor, good memory, can run most of the major software like Datastage, Teradata, etc.. Can add additional RAM for better performance.
Cons: Touchpad, Volume, Display screen surrounded with plastic doesn't look good."