Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Z510 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Z510

Average customer rating:
3.347 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
19
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
15
44 of 75(59%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Z510
Review 1 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Somu

Disappointed

Date: July 23, 2014
"I recently purchased this product ( 4 months ago). It worked fine for a month. Now the performance is bad. My battery got spoilt within 4 months and had to get it replaced. No doubt the Lenovo support team sent a new battery immediately but a battery getting spoil within 4 months is really bad.
Also, the mouse gets stuck in between. No locked, it gets stuck and you need to restart the system to get it fine.
I have also started facing heating problems.
Overall, wasn't a good buy for me!
"
Review 2 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yash

Ok i am happy not reluctant but happy

Date: July 20, 2014
"i have i7 4 th gen and Web cam is hd???? No, quality is not good but the processor and speed all things are good the backlight keyboard is awsome nvidia 740m is best for gaming this are the pros and cons are the battery life oh my god it is worst man only 2 to 3 hrs max, the screen is i think is ratina display and it is horrible because have to make a display brightnesss full."
Review 3 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Moondeep

Worst Product I have purchased

Date: July 18, 2014
"I have bought 2 Lenovo machines in my life and both have problems. I will never buy Lenovo again."
Review 4 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
haojiezhu

Amazing laptop

Date: July 14, 2014
"Bought a refurb Z510 in outlet store with top of the line configuration - i7 4700mq, 8Gb RAM, 1T Harddrive, and 1080p screen, for only $360. It's thinner than I expected, sturdy, speedy, quiet most of the time. The integrated Intel HD 4600 is not a power house for gaming but can surprisingly handle many 2~3 year old 3D games decently at 720p and medium setting, like Mass Effect 2 or Tomb Raider 2013. Obviously, I would prefer a dedicated graphic card, like nvidia geforce 755m gt. But at $360, I really can't complain anything. So far, I haven't found any defect on this refurb."
Review 5 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SriK

Poor Battery Life

Date: June 29, 2014
"This laptop is good except poor battery life. If we charge the battery full, it will only last for less than 2 hours. It is frustrating to keep on charging."
Review 6 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SirMan

Sort of good purchase

Date: June 22, 2014
"There are some good things and some bad things about this computer; Good thing: It doesn't cost very much. Bad thing; The hard drive is a 5400 RPM hard drive, which means if you want a really good performance, you need to put in a new hard drive.
Doing this however, is extremely difficult on this computer. When I tried it ended thinking I had completely removed the hard drive and it wouldn't boot up. Another bad thing; It only comes with 4 gigabytes of ram. This is extremely low for a computer. If you plan to buy a computer for power, if you are willing to upgrade it(With the risk of having to take it to a professional), this would be a good choice. But take note, taking it to a professional may cost more than it is worth.
Would suggest this to someone? Maybe.
"
Review 7 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bookkeeper

Great Products -Almost perfect

Date: June 14, 2014
"Quality reliable, sturdy product so far. Love options to pick options/features needed/wanted. Complaints:
Keyboard isn't rigid; it"bounces" when you type. Not a serious issue but takes a bit to get used to.
Also related to the keyboard, as a bookkeeper the separate numeric keypad is not "standard" (below the #1 key is the right arrow instead of a zero). This causes me to make a lot of errors so I use an external keyboard whenver possible. I don't understand why they wouldn't have made it stardard since I assume most people that need and pay extra for the numeric keypad are used to the standard format.
Would also like an additional USB port.
"
Review 8 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
beeque

too sleek and sharp, physically

Date: June 4, 2014
"its too sharp and pointed on the edges and. uncomfortable to rest hands on while using the keyboard."
Review 9 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeniorFromTheCold

the keyboard feels "fragile"

Date: June 2, 2014
"The one thing I did nott like is the keyboard's touch; my fingers fall heavily on it and I was not pleased with the feeling... until I get used to it.
Besides that, this laptop responds quickly and I really appreciate the backlit keyboard."
Review 10 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
zalzane

shoulda bought a thinkpad

Date: May 31, 2014
"I'm a programmer who was looking for a laptop computer for a 3-month extended business trip abroad.
I didn't have the same contrast issues some of hte other reviews mentioned, however I noticed that the color quality is reaaaallllyyyy poor.
The keyboard is "decent" - there's nothing special about it that makes it very good. My one HUGE beef with it is that the right shift button is much smaller than shift buttons on typical keyboards. With how I type, I almost always overshoot the shift button on this keyboard and hit the up-arrow-key, which is what takes up most of the space the shift button is missing.
apparently my review is too long. basically: the touchpad is trash and the laptop is much uglier than the site photos lead you to believe"
Review 11 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reynard333

Lenovo wins

Date: May 31, 2014
"I really like the Lenovo compared to my Dell. So many great features. I would recommend it to all my friends."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gangadhar

Good Purchse

Date: May 28, 2014
"Pros: Good performance, nice processor, good memory, can run most of the major software like Datastage, Teradata, etc.. Can add additional RAM for better performance.
Cons: Touchpad, Volume, Display screen surrounded with plastic doesn't look good."
Review 13 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neo1

Good Windows upgrade

Date: May 28, 2014
"Powerful, sleek and lightweight laptop for a reasonable price. I love it using everyday.
Windows 8.1 navigation took some to get used. Now I feel that it's not that bad. Initially had issues with WiFi connectivity. Reason being my router was 5 years old. After adding latest 801.n router, no more dropped connections.
Features I love:
1. Back lit keyboard
2. Reversed function keys for volume and brightness controls.
3. Speed
4. Fitness, Netflix Apps from Windows 8.1
Nice to have improvements:
1. Mouse pad location being a right hand user. Center location would be appropriate.
2. The edges need to be smooth. While working being seated on my recliner, the sharp edges cause some discomfort on the arms.
3. Webcam is blurry.
Still gets 5 stars for: i7, 8GB 1TB back lit and light weight."
Review 14 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
joey

Hate it

Date: May 28, 2014
"there is something wrong with it from day 1 and I cant figure out how to get service.
the battery looses its charge in 12 hours even when its completely shut off.
the internet down load is slow
"
Review 15 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ohmygosh

Done with Windows!

Date: May 28, 2014
"The Z510 hardware is okay I guess. Have had no issues with that since purchase. However, I am so frustrated with Windows 8 that I really don't have anything positive to say.
The new format is not easy to navigate, even after trying to give it some time. Still cannot attach pictures to emails, which is ridiculous and no one has been able to help at Lenovo or Microsoft. So many of the other features and navigating between are frustrating.
About a month after this purchase, we purchased our first Mac and have fallen in love. Apple will get all of our future business, it's worth the money.
"
Review 16 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MakarovZachaev

Simply amazing, the best choice!

Date: May 25, 2014
"Not only is the hardware impressive, there is custom-built Lenovo software installed designed for your laptop. For example, if you want to keep your battery at 50%-60% while you sleep, you can plug in your charger and select that option. Another example, Lenovo OneKeyStudio let's you change the audio profile and visual profile of your screen to accommodate your task, watching a movie? Switch it to 'Movie Mode'. Listening to music? Switch it to 'Music Mode'. Oh and the sound is absolutely beautiful with JBL! Speakers and Dolby Home Theater at your disposal.
Lastly, when you buy this laptop, you are not only buying a great piece of hardware, you are buying a team of dedicated professionals guiding you through your Lenovo experience.
"
Review 17 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed

Lasted 3 months!

Date: May 20, 2014
"Loved it for the first 2 months then the battery started shutting itself off at all levels of charge and without any warning. Service tried to fix but couldn't so now after only four months I've had to send it in for repairs. $700 for a laptop that didn't last 6 months! If they wanted my repeat business they would have replaced it. Next time I'll go with another company instead."
Review 18 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
unclesam

so close to being good

Date: May 16, 2014
"Got model with 1900x1080 screen, 8GB RAM, and 1TB HD. It performs quite well, the build quality is high. However, the keyboard is inferior to that of a thinkpad. The trackpad is execrable... the drivers are impossible to dial in...the cursor jumps all over or is unresponsive. The screen is very nice, although the viewing angles are just mediocre. The included broadcom wifi card is painfully slow and is not upgradable. I almost really like it...probably should have held out for a thinkpad."
Review 19 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fazee

Lenovo sent me broken laptop! Worse purchase ever

Date: May 16, 2014
"The laptop that was shipped didn't work. Had a hardware failure. Gave a blue screen on boot up. Called tech support and they diagnosed it as hard disk malfunction.
Very bad experience. Lenovo should do a better job of testing their products before shipping them to their customers.
"
Review 20 for IdeaPad Z510
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
naidu

Worst Purchase Ever

Date: May 16, 2014
"I got a Z510 59387057 purchased on feb of 2014 and I should say it is the worst machine I have ever purchased...
Owing to processor(core i5 4200m) frequency getting stuck at 770Mhz when started in battery mode, it offers very pathetic performance... This frequency problem is common to almost all machines of this model but only those who have done close monitoring of CPU frequency can recognize this issue...
refer: lenovo forums if u don't believe
To add up the hardware components used also seem to be pretty cheap like the RAM seems to be from hyundai electronics
Even the lower cost model G510 seems to better in terms of performance than this..."