Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller

Ultraslim 27" all-in-one with multitouch display.

Average customer rating:
3.85 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
15 of 20(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
Review 1 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ElRapidoServecom
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Memory:4 GB or more

Great machine

Date: September 2, 2013
"is one of the best one... too bad I bought it at best buy and the mouse was not in box and the keyboard did not work at all..."
Review 2 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
tommyhlw
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

good advertisment...

Date: February 26, 2013
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Processor, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, multitouchscreen, using as table, tv-tuner, hdmi-in and out
Cons: Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Software compatibility, ext. remote receiver, ext. donlge for wireless keyboard & maus, 2xusb3.0 2xusb2.0, one key recovery, speaker
"The Lenovo software is quite cheap and the OneKeyRecovery sadly a useless tool.
As well I don't like that's called All-in-One and you get an external USB-Receiver for the remote and an USB dongle for the input devices. It's wasting 2 to of 4 USB Ports (Bluetooth?)
But still I was at first happy with the PC even the speakers where not good (I usually use my external speakers so I didn't care). Watching movies, playing touch games with friends on a table surface and doing my daily work with a big screen.
After a while the PC couldn't shut down anymore (blackscreen and fans keep turning on). 100% sure it's a hardware releated problem cause I setup the system new, tried severeal alternive OS and reseted the BIOS soft and hard. No Bios-Update available. Supporthotline couldn't help me too."
Review 3 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wessam
Location:New York
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great purchase

Date: November 28, 2012
Cons: external remote receiver
"I purchased this All-in-one A 720 with windows 7 and upgraded it to windows 8 pro. Everything worked fine, all drivers were upgraded, Lenovo also has a website to download drivers for windows 8. 1- The only thing that I noticed is the scroll of internet explorer is not as fast as it was, I mean when you touch the screen up or down it does not go as fast as it should be.
2- Also I think the remote receiver should be included inside the machine not with an external USB plug in.
Rather than that it is a great machine, the colors are great, you may need to go to the video card settings to modify the colors little bit if you want. Of course the best of this A 720 is the angle of the monitor that can go all the way down, which is every body else noted in their reviews.
I cannot find anything negative to say about this machine. I will post an update when I spend more time with it, if I noticed anything negative.
"
Review 4 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RonG
Location:NH
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

No Win 8 support

Date: November 24, 2012
Pros: elegant design
Cons: no wino 8 touchpad support
"touchscreen does not support Win 8"
Review 5 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wessam
Location:Long Island, New york
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great but not there yet.

Date: November 21, 2012
Cons: Display resolution
"I bought this machine with windows 7 pre-loaded and I upgraded to windows 8 pro with no problems at all, everything works fine, I have the i7 processor, 8 GB RAM, 2 GB NVidia Graphics, 1 TB 5400 RPM HD.
First : The design is great, thin screen, it folds down, but the angle of lifting the screen up or down without the arm is not wide enough, try the Del XPS and you will know what I am talking about.
Second: The down side of this machine is the screen resolution, I compared this machine to my 5 years old laptop screen, and the colors of my old laptop is much better, even it is less resolution than this one, I was disappointed to see the fading colors comparing to my old HP laptop. So if you are looking for this all in one, go to any Microsoft store and see it first, I did that already before I purchase mine.
Third: The speed of the HD is fine even with 5400 RPM, that is not really a big problem, but something to consider as well compared to SSD or 7200 RPM.
forth: the remote control that comes with the machine has an external receiver plugged in USB, I think it should be a build in, for the price of this machine.
Fifth: The speakers are kind of weak, or have no strong base, but it is acceptable, but again could be better.
That is it really, other than that the machine is great.
"
Review 6 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ShouldhaveboughtanApple
Location:London
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Windows 8

Date: November 1, 2012
"The machine is good on Windows 7 but having bought it under the assumption that it was built for Windows 8 it came has a huge disappointment to learn that several major adjustments are needed to upgrade to the new OS. In the end I gave up because of anticipated more disasters if I did manage to get it installed.
From my experience, it's good but best avoided or get a machine with W8 pre-installed.
Shame really. Lenovo have missed a good opportunity to really prove themselves with this one."
Review 7 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hglsrlfgh
Location:Ryazan, Russia
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Nice machine

Date: October 8, 2012
Pros: Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Processor, touchscreen
Cons: Storage, display color palette, built-in speakers
"I had a difficult choice between this model and B540p. The last one is a much more powerful machine with a desktop-type CPU, large and fast 7200 RPM HDD, better video card, and lower price. I preferred A720 however.
There were a few reasons. Perhaps the main reason was that A720 looks more reliable. For example, the power consumption for A720 is just 150W (vs. 250W for B540p). Lower power means less dust inside the machine after a year of using. The other thing is HDD's mounting position. In the most of All-In-One desktops (including B540p) the HDD is mounted behind the monitor. Since the monitor is always inclined the HDD's axis is angled to the horizontal and vertical surfaces. 3.5" HDD rotating at 7200 RPM is affected by serious gyroscopic forces which may shorten its life time. In A720 the HDD is mounted into the horizontal rest which is the best position.
In addition to reliability I like A720 for its screen size and resolution. Since I'm working mostly with raster graphics it's important to see individual pixels on the screen. 27" with 1920x1080 resolution is ideal for my purpose. Touchscreen is a "must have" feature for Windows 8. 10-point capacitive touch fits Windows 8 perfectly. Build quality of A720 is very good. The only small complaint is about setting the matrix in the monitor frame - it's slightly inclined horizontally in my machine. The keyboard and mouse are pleasing. The overall design of the A720 machine is extremely nice.
What's not so nice is the color palette. The default palette is terrific pale bluish. First of all you should enter BIOS (press the F1 key during rebooting) and switch to another color profile using the Novo Vision button. If you switch the color profile while you aren't in BIOS this change will be lost after the next reboot. Also, you'll have to use the NVIDIA Control Panel to increase the color digital intensity and maybe something else. All these don't help very much though. My old IPS monitor shows so much better colors. Even my old TN monitor shows something more vivid. BTW: The type of display matrix in A720 is definitely not TN because the viewing angles are wide at any direction and the colors don't invert.
Another bad story is the built-in speakers. They are just not suitable for anything other than Windows sounds. That's not a big deal, of course. Just connect the outer acoustic system. My last but one complaint is about HDD's size and performance. 500 GB with 5400 RPM is by far not the best combination. I'd like to replace it with 512 GB SSD. That's not critical for my tasks however. And the last. It's a pity that Lenovo don't provide the separate Cut/Copy/Paste buttons on their keyboards. They can save much time for office workers. Who needs those media-player buttons?
It would be honestly to treat A720 as a stylish middle-to-high level laptop with the large touchscreen and without the battery which works out the best as the regular office machine."
Review 8 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildcat
Location:Chicago, IL
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

I'm getting rid of the 27 inch iMac

Date: September 10, 2012
Pros: Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Weight
"I really like this model for the built in TV tuner and also the sound is good. I bought one for work and now I'm going to buy one for home and sell the iMac. The main reason being that I use mine as a television and the TV tuner works flawlessly with Windows. This is not the case on a Mac. Also the speakers are better on the Lenovo."
Review 9 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JWCTW
Location:California
Owned Product:Less than a month

Poorly Designed with SDD Drive

Date: September 5, 2012
Pros: Screen size, Display performance
Cons: Memory, Processor, Storage, Software compatibility
"Do NOT buy the A 720 version with the 64 GB SSD Drive. I have now had to send two computers back. The A720 with SSD drive is set up with the “C” drive being the 64 GB SSD drive and the “D” drive is the 1 TB hard drive. HOWEVER, everything automatically saves to the C drive. Thus, my computer crashed after the C drive was filled up in two seconds. After untold hours on the phone with numerous Lenovo technicians, the only option is to “jerryrig” the computer going through all kinds of extra steps to bypass your desktop on the “C” drive and force programs and files to save on the D drive, but: (1) not every program/file allows you to bypass the C drive (2) when there is a misstep in the process, the C drive crashes, and (3) why should this have to happen? I am not a computer whiz that can install a new SSD drive with more capacity and why I should after spending $1,700. I even hired a computer tech to come out at another $300 and he told me there was no way to partition the computer differently. So, the second one is back too. All of this is so unfortunate as the machine is beautiful, and if you can operate your entire computer on only 64 GB (e.g., only one program), it works like a charm."
Review 10 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Raaj
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Desktop has Return.

Date: August 18, 2012
Pros: Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Weight, Storage, noise form hd
"I have not used a desktop in last 5 or more years at home.. it just did not provided any value for me in terms of power or usability.
I Have been following windows 8 development since last year. Upon saw Lenovo A720 review at ces 2012, I instantly knew that this PC is going to set standard for new generation of desktop both in design and usability.
Touch screen is essential nowadays. windows 8 could not have find a better partner in hardware and it makes all the sense if you are going to get windows 8 you need Lenovo A720.
I have used windows 8 RC and now I have put official build of windows 8 and luv every Tile of IT.
Next Phase would be getting my apps from android on to Windows 8 or start building mine own apps.
Note: I was able to use windows 7 64 bit drivers with the exception of few.
Stick to SSD. 5400 RPM Disk needs to be replaced. Hopefully Lenovo will provide firmware and drivers update soon for this PC.
First PC I received was making some buzz sounds had to replace
Overall , I am very satisfy with PC."
Review 11 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Viking
Location:Barcelona
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Getting closer

Date: August 5, 2012
"Lenovo is getting closer, but not there yet.
The core demands havet really been adressed, neither in this product from Lenovo nor in the media center PC. All-in-one is a good idea, but unflexible. User is locked to the screen which comes in the package.
1) No HDMI
2) No battery
3) User locked on the screen which comes with the package
4) No bay for exchangeable/optional DVD/BluRay Drive
5) Dedicated graphics card is not optional
The above might be a new product, or weakness of existing products.
What is missing is a device with battery, HDMI, Wi-Fi, cool running, minimum i3-2310M, optional dedicated graphics card, exchangeable/optional drive.
Use:
As missing CPU/PC for TV sets for Internet access and streaming movies ( since TV sets cant offer Internet the next 2-4 years ahead ), Multimedia Center, Desktop PC replacement ( companies and private use ) - having "UPC power backup".
Especially having a unit for company use, where PC typically is not switched off, power consumption=money, and quite convinient to have a power backup.
Apparently no manufaturer is offering this obious solution ?
We are using Lenovo notebooks as both desktop PC replacement ( atached keyboard + mnouse + monitors ), media PC, as normal notebook."
Review 12 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kkmd

GREAT COMPUTER!

Date: July 1, 2012
"I've had many computers and manufacturers, towers and laptops, but nothing compares to this great wide, touch screen all in one. Lightening speed, great graphics, no extra equipment, wires. Set up is a snap, printer, modem..took a couple minutes....just great :-)"
Review 13 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Olderguy

I can see clearly now

Date: June 24, 2012
"I received the A720 this past Wednesday. Setup was a snap (the batteries are even included for the keyboard and mouse). There were a ton of windows updates, then I uninstalled the third party antivirus and put Microsoft Security Essentials and was ready to rock!
As someone whose eyesight isn't what it used to be, I don't want any more than 1920x1024 resolution even on a huge 27" screen - everything is big and clear. There's no no clutter from a separate CPU and all the cables, and it can do dual duty as a TV by attaching it to your cable box with the HDMI input, and, it plays blu-ray (if configured that way). Very versatile and compact for what it can do.
I like that the screen is glass, so it's easy to clean fingerprints with a microfiber towel without worrying about scratching the soft plastic screen most displays are made of. Lenovo also has the highest reliability rating for PC manufacturers two years in a row, so I hope to keep this one for a long time - it has top notch specs that won't go obsolete soon.
The only limitation is that if you are into the latest 3d shooting games, the graphics power as mine was configured, even with the GT630 and 2 GB of vram is not anything like a kepler or 7970, so you won't get high frame rates, but it will run any 2d applications with lightning speed, as the GT630 is a mid-range discrete graphics solution from Nvidia fully capable of any multimedia HD work. For the price, it's awesome.
This baby is very fast and the touch is very responsive. For someone who has a hard time seeing the fine print on a computer screen, this is the one to get!"
Review 14 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PortlandMan

Very nice machine

Date: June 19, 2012
"I'm convinced that for at least several weeks I have the best home computer you can get. This A720 is beautiful, works great out of the box, is fast, and the touch screen is very usable. Although sometimes I, or someone using the system with me, will touch the screen while pointing at a picture and we will navigate there inadvertently. Worth the "oops". The family fights over this one. The sound is pretty good out of the base too, but I got a pair of USB speakers, which are better. Get one if you can afford it."
Review 15 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rajesh

Great system with a couple of minor issues

Date: June 18, 2012
"I received my system 2 weeks ago. I am very happy with it. I was wowed by the size of the screen. I installed windows 8 release preview, and it works like a breeze.
I have only two issues with the system
Touch flick gestures are jerky. If you hold and slide,its perfect, but flicks are not. Hopefully a software or firmware update will resolve it.
Second is the 5400 RPM hard disk speed. Of course I bought it knowing this beforehand. Rest of the system is too good to not buy it because of this minor downside."
Review 16 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
astrocramp

Beautiful design, one flaw

Date: June 7, 2012
"I've built my own computers since the 90's, and this is the first computer I've purchased from a vendor since the first Pentium came out. I bought it for the design - a very attractive and functional all-in-one, featuring Core i7 Ivy Bridge, and a very interesting touch technology that will be perfect for Windows 8.
The first thing I did was replace the hard drive with a 256GB SSD, the machine was easy to open and access everything (HDD, CPU, optical driver, RAM) if you like to monkey with these things. To install all the drivers, the machine comes with a handy driver disk which installs all the drivers Windows 7 doesn't install automatically - very nice.
A few minor issues - the machine doesn't come with a software accessories disk, which for this special multi-touch machine is critical. If you don't wipe the hard drive it's not an issue, but a power user who wipes the drive will miss all the multi-touch games, touch front end, blu-ray player, etc. After spending 30 minutes on the phone with support, they finally figured out that these software accessories are only accessible if you use the restore disk from Lenovo - a major problem if you like your own OS installs.
The other minor issue - the keyboard arrived without the battery cap. Basically the machine would have been unusable, except that I had extra keyboards lying around. Lenovo's shipping me a new keyboard however, so problem isn't a big deal for me.
So far I like the machine, and aside from the irritating lack of a software accessory CD, the only flaw is the monitor. 1920x1080 is simply not high enough resolution for a 27" screen. It's probably good enough for most people for light personal use and media watching, but if you use the machine all day for work you'll miss extra pixels available on a 2560x1440 display. With a higher resolution display, this would be THE machine to have, nothing else would come close - I can't say enough about the design and ease of access."
Review 17 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
geckoking

wow..awsome..worth the purchase

Date: June 7, 2012
"So I receive my unit today and I am impressed. The weight and size of the screen is very impressive. Windows 7 works very well but I'm going to load windows 8 preview on it soon. The 10 finger touch is very responsive and accurate. I went ahead and loaded the windows 7 touch surface pack and it has some of the best software to display this system. I just love how it folds down flat.. I recommend this system anyone who need an all in one machine. Plays blu rays, cpu, tv, and can even connect a xbox 360 to it.. keep an eye on the price if you decide to get one as lenovo release coupon promotions and if your a student, check the price there also."
Review 18 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SbuxReg

GREAT AIO PC!

Date: June 6, 2012
"My IdeaCentre A720 just arrived yesterday much to my delight. I love this thing! The design is beyond aesthetically pleasing! Below I will list the Pros and cons.
Pros:
Solid Metal Construction
Great Hardware Inside
Great Preloaded Software for the touch screen
10pt Multi touch is AWESOME
Cons:
Built in Speakers are beyond inadequate (this was remedied by a USB sound card which allows me to use my old surround sound setup)
Screen Resolution could be higher
Only 4 USB ports. (when you have the standard remote, the enhanced remote lenovo sells, and a wireless mouse and keyboard that uses 3 spots. This was remedied by a 4port USB hub i already had on hand)
Only a 5400 RPM HDD. (what gives?)"
Review 19 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dealmanager

for the price of it..

Date: June 2, 2012
"It's worth it with the TV tuner model, i--e Model 25647CU, as I can hook up to any device to it and enjoy cinematic view of my photo or videos. Astounding picture clarity, I am spending less or no time in front of my 52" Sony Bravia LEDHDTV. Of course the specs are better there, yet my sitting so close to this 27" inc screen seems to be 70"+ screen, yep, there is that Vow factor, to make me feel less remorseful for the money spent on this."
Review 20 for IdeaCentre A720 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CChow

small and slower hard drive

Date: May 29, 2012
"the hard drive is too small as todays needs for so many downloads and pictures. It also has lslower hard drive and there is no way it can be upgrade the hard drive"