Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad U510 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U510

An affordable 15.6" Ultrabook with a long-life battery

Average customer rating:
3.621 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
4
18 of 29(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U510
Review 1 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pheonixxfoxx

Out with the old...

Date: April 12, 2014
"While I do really like this laptop, there are some flaws. The keyboard takes getting use to and I am not sure I ever will?! There is no CD ROM drive. While I know a lot of music/video is going digital, I still have a ton of CDs I need to add to my iTunes. The laptop I bought went on sale right after I purchased it. Thank goodness I have purchase protection with my credit card.
Now that the negatives are out of the way, how about some positive? My new Lenovo runs cool, my old Dell laptop use to run hot! I plugged in my speakers and was blown away by the amazing sound. Starting up and shutting down the computer is lightning fast."
Review 2 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skipper

Excellent machine for old man wth 8.1

Date: April 9, 2014
"I started with 8.0 and it didn't work. they gave me a new computer with 8.1 and it is wonderful.
Tqskipper-Cheyenne
"
Review 3 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jessyka
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Love it!

Date: March 25, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software
"My dad surprised me with this laptop for graduation. It's been the best computer I've ever owned! The touchpad has a bit of a learning curve, but it becomes easier to use once you figure it out.
I haven't had any of the problems that the lower ratings have mentioned. Although there is some bloatware that comes pre-installed, it's easily removable."
Review 4 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SFTech
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Wasted our money on 6 of these

Date: March 3, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Durability, trackpad
"Thought these would be good for our students so we bought 6. All of them had that terrible trackpad issue where its just too sensitive or not sensitive enough. Very inconsistent for a piece of technology that has been around for years. You would think it would just work but it seems over done with too many features. I have already sent 3 back for RMA and the rest we just use now as dvd players hooked up to external keyboard and mouse. BTW the keyboard feels like its mounted to aluminum foil. Its so flimsy. Spend a bit more and get something that does not have the same brand trackpad as these. Lenovo, thanks for allowing us to waste our students money on your dvd players that look like laptops."
Review 5 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rickatine
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Product

Date: February 10, 2014
Pros: Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"Everything is good except the track pad and the ...which is crazy sometimes. spent a few hours with tech people and different installed drivers :( I just bought a mouse to solve the problem...
Also, Wireless doesn't turn back on when you put it in airplane mode so you have to restart it sometimes. Otherwise great product for the price...fast and I use it for Photoshop and rendering for designing products...not sure if it will handle the 3d design programs yet"
Review 6 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
argent
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Touchpad works BAD

Date: January 16, 2014
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
"The touchpad it's jummpy and do clicks by its own. This problem it's so annoying at the point you can't use it. I tried updating the drivers but was useless. I know that a lot of people have the same problem with lenovo's ultrabooks, and if it's a hardware issue, you won't be able to fix it. The keyboard build quality it's not so great. I heard some people have wireless card problems with this model. Also it's a bit heavy. I would not recommend it because of the hardware problems."
Review 7 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ISS8383
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Some Problems There

Date: December 7, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Support, Battery, Included Software, Software compatibility
"In overall I am happy with the purchase, it looks great with backlight keyboard, light weight, plentyful of features and .. small problem like always jumping mouse (cannot figure out why, soon will see the service) and wi-fi signal could not be found and after uninstalling some programs it is all right now."
Review 8 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Charm
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good computer for a good priize.

Date: November 23, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Durability, Screen size, Build Quality
Cons: Storage, Video card, Warranty, Battery
"I love this computer is beautifull and responsive. I Some people complain about the keyboard but for me it's ok I have to say that the screen rubs the keyboard when you close it so I keep the little piece of fabric that came in to place in between every time I close the lid, just for extra security since a crystal clean screen is important to view details. It really don't scratch the screen but leaves some marks that the keyboard was too close those marks wipe away as soon as you clean it with a tissue."
Review 9 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kalifornia
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Serious Wifi Issues

Date: November 16, 2013
Pros: Screen size
Cons: Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals
"Using this for the second day after receiving it. Wifi issues are serious. The internet connectivity is very unreliable. Also the computer looks great but the keyboard feedback is not OK -- can never be sure if you are using enough pressure. Also, the mousepad is off center and favors people who use their left hand to navigate. Sorry Lenovo, but I should have listened to everyone else who wrote a review and commented on the wifi issues. My 5 year old toshiba is better than this."
Review 10 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rob1
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:3 GB

Pretty Good

Date: November 10, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"I am using this for work and it works great. The only problem has been the touchpad I believe is so sensitive that my cursor jumps around as I type. I have deleted many characters as I have been typing. Thankfully you can disable the touchpad and computers have an undo function. Other than that I was worried about a review that said there was glare on the screen. There is no glare."
Review 11 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2454
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

an excellent purchase

Date: October 17, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Security Features, Included Software
"this is an excellent purchase. I would not think twice about buying this laptop.i like the design.this product is extremley light. i like the backlit keybord.i wish it had an optical drive."
Review 12 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
eioctans
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

unreliable components

Date: September 21, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Wireless card, Support, Battery, Included Software, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"The plastic case is not solid and cheaply made. Really bad user experience:
- Keyboard is jumpy when typing
- Doesn't delivery a good and precise typing experience
- Problem with palms touch track pad while typing.
Unreliable drivers:
- wasting lots of time to reinstal and manually upgrade a lot of drivers for its devices
- wifi signal is poor even after correct and upgrade the up to date WLAN driver in Lenovo website
"
Review 13 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rangel
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Not an Option

Date: September 10, 2013
Pros: Battery, Processor, Memory, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Warranty, Wireless card, Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Durability
"This is not a reliable laptop. I've had to reinstall software, reconfigure the system, and restore data from backups 3 times since the day of the purchase"
Review 14 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
staralgebra
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Reasonable purchase

Date: September 2, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Security Features, Memory, Build Quality, look
Cons: Wireless card, no optical drive
"I ran into the same problem with broken wireless connection once. What I did was to restore the system and turn off the windows update. After that I have not had any issue with wireless so far for weeks already. So I am sure it was not a hardware problem.
Mine did not come with a optical drive which I expected to have from the photo gallery the website shows. A little disappointment there since I hoard lots of DVDs."
Review 15 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karan47
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Purchase Ever

Date: June 2, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Durability, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Weight
"The Lenovo U510 is an amazing computer with its i7 processor and graphics cards Nvidia GeForce1gb. I recommend it for school students as it is very portable and easy to use. The battery life is very long up to 8hrs. Better than the U410."
Review 16 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wang
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Worst Laptop I've ever owned

Date: May 25, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
"Wireless issues render the laptop useless. Wireless keeps turning off and there is no button to turn it on. The Airplane mode option does not turn it on. Wireless card is sometimes not detected at all. Had to rebuild to factory default. Now I get the smiley face Blue Screen of Death every time I use it. Would not recommend this laptop even to my enemies."
Review 17 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
techgeek77
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Avoid!

Date: May 21, 2013
Cons: Wireless card, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Build Quality, Screen size, Durability
"great sleek design, but has wifi connectivity issues. keyboard takes a little getting used to since its a chiklet keyboard with small and thin buttons. laptop screen and body appear flimsy and not sturdy - very plasticky.
comes with zero bundled software.
expected it to be much lighter for an ultrabook. its almost 5 lbs.
"
Review 18 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fair
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Our experience has been great

Date: May 3, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Keyboard/peripherals
"We bought one while on sale locally and have been very very pleased with it. It boots fast, no wifi issues at all and yes, the resolution could be better, but it is good. We use it for MSOffice aps and Quick Books and no problems at all. If we want a movie, we use a TV or go to the theatre. We are not gamers.
The keyboard seems kind of flimsy, but it is also a very light machine, so I think something had to give. We cannot use the old monitor because it is no HDMI, but that is OK.
So far....so good. I think it is SOLD OUT for a reason."
Review 19 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gunlover13
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

best purchase made

Date: April 9, 2013
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Battery
"This laptop is the best computer I've ever had. It is very reliable. It has very cool features"
Review 20 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Burnie
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

This is so dialed in!

Date: March 28, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance
"I love the fact that it looks so sleek and that it has a kind of MacBook design, but waaay cooler. It starts up fast, is very light weight, and gets you great value for your money (i.e. loads of memory and added functions). The touchpad? It's all good. You can set it to be very responsive or not- mine was already set to be very responsive out of the box. For some people, it takes some getting used to, but I was able to use it without any challenges. I actually enjoy the functions of the keypad but it takes some tactile intelligence which some people evidently lack. If you want a sleek, sharp and fast computer that has been very thought out and "dialed in", buy this computer. You won't regret it."