Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad U510 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U510

An affordable 15.6" Ultrabook with a long-life battery

Average customer rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
28 of 45(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U510
Review 1 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Quality is down

Date: September 16, 2014
"I have bought Lenovo v570 three years ago and quality is very solid. So I bought this u510 from futureshop again. The build is not as good as before. Two problems found after 1 year. 1. The fan is kept running with a lot of noise. I thought it is the hard disk non-stopping while I just leave a google page opening. no other app. Later I thought it is just fan turning.
2. Ctrl key on left corner keyboard gets glitch noise everytime. sth wrong with the key caps or inside."
Review 2 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Purchase

Date: September 4, 2014
"Good deal for this price"
Review 3 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kevin

best laptop

Date: July 30, 2014
"i bought this laptop bfore 1 year. wt a laptop :). very stylish bcz of slim design.and as a performance wise awsm lappy.. long battery backup , awsm backli8 keyboard...everytime when i open this laptop in a class, all frnds are told that gonna stolen this lappy.. awsm lappy in 51000."
Review 4 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rick

Excellent device!

Date: July 10, 2014
"I'm in love. The design, the speed and efficiency are all top notch. There should be one in every home!"
Review 5 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer12345

Problematic

Date: July 6, 2014
"Despite great specs and a great price, the Lenovo U510 has been somewhat of a disappointing purchase. My Lenovo U510 has been buggy since its arrival - common themes I experienced that apply to other Lenovo U510 owners are:
1. Faulty stock keypad. Although this problem was easily solved through disabling the keypad and using an external mouse, it seems troubling that a brand new computer should suffer from hardware issues.
2. Sleep mode is nonexistent. Plain and simple, the laptop rarely (if ever) sleeps, and instead will restart itself once the laptop is closed (or if the battery is disconnected for prolonged periods)
3. Screen Brightness. The laptop automatically compensates for dark backgrounds, but fails to fully enhance clarity making dark videos hard to see.
4. Constant Cyberlink Pop Up. A pop up has appeared on my screen every time i move the screen up or down. It seems that there is a problem between the hardware and the software that has not been resolved in this computer.
"
Review 6 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lenneed

great value

Date: July 5, 2014
"My U510 has been mechanically perfect. I'm an older user so my learning curve was steep, my only complaint is Lenovo support is almost non-existant. In summation, a great machine, that I got at a good price, but after that, you are on your own"
Review 7 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Steve

Good machine - except for....

Date: July 1, 2014
"Except for horrible WiFi reception and the fact that sleep mode is flaky, it's a good value and a good performer."
Review 8 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
signman856

touch screen works sometimes

Date: June 19, 2014
"I have had the product for 6 months. now I have to keep on rebooting the machine to get the touch screen to work . bought it at office depot and I cant seem to get anyone at Lenovo or office depot to repair since it is un der warranty"
Review 9 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChiroStl

Solid Laptop

Date: June 9, 2014
"Specs: 4th Gen i7 processor, 8 GB RAM, 15 inch Full HD 1920x1080, Touch Screen, 500GB hard drive.
Have been using this for about a month now. This was a big upgrade from an old Lenovo T51 that finally stopped working after 7 years. The main reason I chose Lenovo again was how happy I was with the last one. As far as this model goes the overall look is great. I didnt know if I would like the island style keyboard but it is great and even has a backlit feature.
Super fast startup time from sleep mode. Resolution is great. The battery life is impressive, but not sure if it matches how long it is advertised to last. The aesthetics/look of Windows 8 is great, but the widgets are not that useful, and usually just use the desktop mode. The only complaint is the hand motion feature is sensitive at times and can bring up unintended screens and commands when using the touchpad. This problem has gotten less as I have used the laptop more and gotten used to it, but it is still annoying.
"
Review 10 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PJ3919

IdeaPad U510

Date: May 23, 2014
"Bought this for my daughter and just loves it!"
Review 11 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doctorlinda

Wonderful Computer

Date: May 17, 2014
"I love my new Lenovo U510. It is fast and easy to learn. Very different from my old Thinkpad and Windows XP but so happy I made the change."
Review 12 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Martin

Great Choice but screen is Weak

Date: May 17, 2014
"I really love this laptop so far. I do feel the screen could be a lot better and it does get dirty rather fast. Might have to get a screen protector. The screen doesn't look as crisp as other laptops at this price, but it isn't a deal breaker."
Review 13 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rickg

Excellent computer

Date: May 12, 2014
"I love it"
Review 14 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rose

great buy

Date: May 10, 2014
"many features for the price."
Review 15 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointed

Awsome.... wait....Nevermind...

Date: April 29, 2014
"Hello, to anyone thinking about buying this machine. I have had mine for a little over a year now and have been impressed as well as disappointed by this machine. I purchased this machine because it had an internal SSD and was supposed to be a quick i5.
Well here are my likes:
Slim
Decent battery life and power on power saver.
Full keyboard
USB3 (nice because for new phones like my iPhone, they need 5 volts to charge properly.)
HDMI
NIC
DVDR
Screen size
Quiet
Cool running (very important as it doesn't cook your lap"
Lit keyboard which is very nice and pleasant.
"
Review 16 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pearl

Literally Falling Apart

Date: April 24, 2014
"The snap component system is pulling itself apart. I don't know if it is change in temperature or what is going on but, as a student paying hefty tuition fees, after only one year I fear I will have to replace it in the near future and after my last computer had a life of 6 years (only failing after a soup incident) I'm very sad to say the least. The Wifi is often in and out. But on the good side it does everything software and hardware wise that I need it for including code and design software and gaming. Keyboard layout is fantastic though, love the backlight and number pad very key. Very easy to set up a little tough to get used to but I was a first time windows user."
Review 17 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pheonixxfoxx

Out with the old...

Date: April 12, 2014
"While I do really like this laptop, there are some flaws. The keyboard takes getting use to and I am not sure I ever will?! There is no CD ROM drive. While I know a lot of music/video is going digital, I still have a ton of CDs I need to add to my iTunes. The laptop I bought went on sale right after I purchased it. Thank goodness I have purchase protection with my credit card.
Now that the negatives are out of the way, how about some positive? My new Lenovo runs cool, my old Dell laptop use to run hot! I plugged in my speakers and was blown away by the amazing sound. Starting up and shutting down the computer is lightning fast."
Review 18 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skipper

Excellent machine for old man wth 8.1

Date: April 9, 2014
"I started with 8.0 and it didn't work. they gave me a new computer with 8.1 and it is wonderful.
Tqskipper-Cheyenne
"
Review 19 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jessyka
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Love it!

Date: March 25, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software
"My dad surprised me with this laptop for graduation. It's been the best computer I've ever owned! The touchpad has a bit of a learning curve, but it becomes easier to use once you figure it out.
I haven't had any of the problems that the lower ratings have mentioned. Although there is some bloatware that comes pre-installed, it's easily removable."
Review 20 for IdeaPad U510
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SFTech
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Wasted our money on 6 of these

Date: March 3, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Durability, trackpad
"Thought these would be good for our students so we bought 6. All of them had that terrible trackpad issue where its just too sensitive or not sensitive enough. Very inconsistent for a piece of technology that has been around for years. You would think it would just work but it seems over done with too many features. I have already sent 3 back for RMA and the rest we just use now as dvd players hooked up to external keyboard and mouse. BTW the keyboard feels like its mounted to aluminum foil. Its so flimsy. Spend a bit more and get something that does not have the same brand trackpad as these. Lenovo, thanks for allowing us to waste our students money on your dvd players that look like laptops."