Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Helix or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Helix

11.6" Helix combines the performance of a business Ultrabook™ with the mobility of a 10-finger touch tablet. Includes detachable keyboard base.

Average customer rating:
3.783 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
5
33 of 46(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Helix
Review 1 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Executive

Has changed my life

Date: August 10, 2014
"As head M&A for a multinational, often travelling, the Helix has changed my life. I am now fully paperless.
It is fully functional with great power also in tablet mode.
Some improvement potential : mobile GSM shall allow for 4G, touchscreen sometime freezes and requires restart.
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Teofrostus

Inaccurate touch screen and poor service

Date: July 18, 2014
"When making my purchase 8 months ago, I searched the market for tablet laptop hybrids for my work. I required a tablet to draw diagrams for students which I could later save and email to them or post on our course website, while still having the functionality of a personal computer for my research materials. To do this, I required the precision of a digitizer pen.
Unfortunately, my experience with this device and Lenovo's customer service has had nothing but problems. While the original shipping problems may be understandable, the quality of the touchscreen and digitizer accuracy is not.
Even after running the pen calibration multiple times, the pen's accuracy is in general off by over 5mm. This becomes especially pronounced near the edges of the screen, where the inaccuracy can grow as large as 1cm. While the website for this product advertises "Precise control with digitizer pen support," the product itself does not exhibit any such precision."
Review 3 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bondwellnicetry

Poor performacnce tablet

Date: May 30, 2014
"If you want a reliable tablet then buy a Surface. The Helix has been promoted as a tablet/computer. Not so. We fell for it and now having to replace all our sales reps computers. Just not capable of running business third part software like CRM's or working with our up to date server. To bad nice looking unit."
Review 4 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Telectromatico1990

excellent team

Date: May 28, 2014
"Improved product which could add more profits hadrware level, sufiente forced labor mobility and an indispensable tool if you are a user of high corporate level.
A propeller comfortable with my machine I can only say that the warranty is 3 years are exceptional internationally.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DanA

Regretable Purchase

Date: May 28, 2014
"The quality of Lenovo has really suffered in the past couple of years. In my case, I had to have the detachable keyboard replaced twice in the first 4 weeks. The SSD is constantly throwing errors. Minimal ports. The docking station that you have to use can't deliver power to the laptop so when you dock you have to plug in the docking station and power every time you want to dock. The touchpad is a disaster in usability. It feels so cheap. If you ever need to replace the SSD, you will need a medical degree just to operate on this thing. So forget about upgrading anything. The video card only supports 1920x1080 max. The machine runs hot. As cool as this units seems, it just isn't worth it. The multi-touch screen is so far below by 3rd gen iPad."
Review 6 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed

Terrible experience

Date: May 27, 2014
"My Helix only lasted for 6 months and became unusable with a flickering screen and a mind of its own. It was repaired - with everything lost! And now its operating temperature is far too hot. I am too afraid to use it any more - I do not trust it."
Review 7 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
telectromatico

Excellent!!

Date: May 23, 2014
"Very Good"
Review 8 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prem

Best Hybrid

Date: May 21, 2014
"Initially I bought a Thinkpad Yoga Business multimode and that was one of worst computers purchases I have ever done. Anyways, after a series of problems and breakdowns reported, Lenovo sales department was great enough to replace my Yoga with a Thinkpad Helix i7. This is a great machine and all functionalities works as expected. I would surely recommend this product."
Review 9 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kevin

It should have been better.

Date: May 13, 2014
"To begin with I received a unit with a defective hard drive so that didn't help matters. Secondly, I was disappointed to discover that the fans really seemed to struggle to keep the Helix at a nice temperature. My unit get hot very quickly and the fans were a little loud for a ThinkPad. Thirdly, the new touch pad is really just terrible. The size is fine, but the way the entire pad clicks by sinking down so far drove me crazy. I don't understand why Lenovo seems to have gone with this design and it has really turned me off to their products. I really wanted to like this product, but I was really just underwhelmed.
Pros: Sturdy build, touchscreen with pen, convertible from laptop to touchpad, size, anti-glare screen.
Cons: Touch pad, poor cooling, mediocre battery, Windows 8.1"
Review 10 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BenT

Superior concept, but buggy beyond excuse

Date: April 2, 2014
"Here are the complaints:
1) Bluetooth disappears when you pull the tablet off the keyboard. Hard boot is the only thing that brings it back.
2) It's impossible to precisely calibrate the pen. The calibration is worse the closer you get to the edge of the screen (almost impossible to write right next to the edge).
3) Touch pad clicking often right clicks when a left click is intended (it has a hard time differentiating).
4) The TrackPoint (red mouse nub) occasionally drifts.
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tracer

Great idea, horrible execution

Date: April 1, 2014
"I've had Helix since launch. I've owned the X41t and X200t before it.
Lets see what Lenovo got right:
Great form factor
excellent high DPI IPS display
amazing battery life for Intel's last generation architecture
Lenovo got so much more wrong:
Loud fan noise
Trackpad force required to press is too great and click is too loud
Trackpoint users have to click on the trackpad for buttons. The left click is too far away. Missing middle button
It's impossible to calibrate the Pen interface so that you have consistent pen input across the screen.
Battery life comes at the cost of weight. this notebook is incredibly heavy for its size
No SD card slot
I've had the "keyboard dock" fail and replaced
Overall, I would not recommend this tablet PC. Wait for the second generation."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
offworldexpress
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Convertible

Date: March 25, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Screen size, Storage
"I have had the helix for a year now and there some things I would like to say. First off it is great and all those who complain are wrong. Those people complaining about the fan, well its the only tablet I have found that is i7, so stop complaining. Those who said things about 3d graphics are wrong. I have no issue with Skyrim and all that. In fact I am a game developer with unity 3d, and the helix shows outstanding performance. Those complaining about memory, I have the biggest software's known to man running on my helix, and I still got 80gb left. And finally there is no issue with the ports, I run 30 usb devices in my studio, and the helix has got no problem with it. So I will end saying
best 2000 ever spent, buy it"
Review 13 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wowme
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome Buy

Date: March 19, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Memory, Input/Output compatibility
"I was hesitant about buying a Lenovo product, but they were the only company that has a a tablet with I7 processor. I needed a tablet that could handle the work I needed to do. I bit the bullet and decided to purchase one, it was one of the best decisions I've made. I love it. I have replaced my workhorse PC with this tablet. I upgraded to 8.1 and I'm thinking about converting our entire environment to windows 8. The battery life is great and there are awesome apps available as well. I wish there were more USB ports. Memory only goes up to 8GB RAM too bad it can't expand to 16GB"
Review 14 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aslam
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Sturdy, mobile, and reliable

Date: March 10, 2014
Pros: Battery, Durability, Memory, Build Quality, Display resolution
"Purchased this when it first came out. Battery life is very good with the base on. The detachable screen works well in tablet mode, albeit slightly heavy to hold for a long time. Nice and light for a laptop. Feels solid with or without the keyboard. Gets a bit warm, but it does not need a laptop cooler since the unit gets warm behind the screen, not at the base. I work in a hot dusty environment and have not had any problems with overheating. Only disadvantage - no SD card slot. Could use more hard drive space (already has 256GB), but that's not realistic for this small size- yet. I'm very happy with this unit. It should serve me well for many years to come."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pete
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Not as good as expected

Date: March 5, 2014
Pros: Battery, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Storage, Wireless card, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Screen size, Display performance
"I was very happy with my 3+ years old ThinkPad, and hence ordered this latest and the greatest. It is a good concept but the product itself is not living up to the expectations. For instance, it overheats (you may not be able to hold the tablet on your hand very long); its Wi-Fi connection drops our constantly (while other computers staying connected). I wish I had returned it. Now it is too late and I have to live with it... Also, it has an odd screen ratio that will not work nicely/crisply with any screen resolution other than the default one."
Review 16 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeltez42
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Love This Thinkpad - Solid Business Laptop

Date: February 12, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: no fingerprint reader
"I have had this since July 2013. The only thing this is missing in the finger print reader. I run intensive software like GIS and CAD. Yes, I totally tricked this out. Wish this could have had more memory (16gb) and a bigger hard drive, but hey, my professors are jealous because my "tablet" runs computations and models faster than our servers. They fell of their chairs when they found out it was also a laptop.
It does run a bit hot from time to time but I rarely use it as a tablet and I live in a cold climate. I really have not had any other problems with it so far. It also travels well."
Review 17 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sunny
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Best

Date: January 27, 2014
"Nice production"
Review 18 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bill
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:512KB

Awesome hardware but Windows 8.1 a killer

Date: January 21, 2014
Pros: Weight, Build Quality
Cons: Software compatibility
"I so wanted a convertible touch laptop/tablet -- and the hardware is awesome. A typically great Lenovo. BUT I returned it with regret because Windows 8.1 is SO BAD it was useless. Windows crashed. It DOES NOT play nice with g-mail, Google calendar, I-tunes and several other products I rely on because those companies have refused to make Windows 8 versions. The interface is clunky but I didn't mind that. It crashed consistently. I even called microsoft about those issues and their "solution" was for me to move all of my e-mail, calendar and music onto their systems and software. That was not an acceptable solution for me. Microsoft is doomed until it makes a version of Windows that works and plays well with others"
Review 19 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaveStarpoint
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Wow: A Total WINNER in Business

Date: January 20, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Warranty, Support, Weight, batteries disconnect
"I am a corporate trainer and travel 40 weeks a year globally. I am tough on tablets. I have been an early adopter from the beginning. Tablets have always had their limits and issues. My last tablet before the Helix was a Surface Pro. The Surface Pro did not really live up to the job and had serious flaws for the business user. I purchased the Lenovo Helix. Perfect in all ways! This machine is awesome. It over-delivers. It is tough, perfect when operating in my presentations and designed to please. The only issue was the batteries can disconnect inside the machine. I paid $100 and got that fixed and it has not been a problem since. But screen, power, quality and toughness are outstanding. I love this machine and will one day just upgrade to the next. I am sold on Lenovo! Homerun machine."
Review 20 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cori
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Memory:4 GB or more

Flexible Tablet and multipurpose device

Date: December 22, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Input/Output compatibility
"The mouse click is different than other Thinkpads. I wish it had the same setup on the T430, where there were separate clicking functions with a clear left and right clicking button. I wish there was a tutorial on exactly where to click to get the desired results. Often I click nothing happens. (press the 5 position clickpad - don't even know what they are)
I wish it had a full size Micro SD card slot.
Net: Net is that this is a nice machine for the purpose of having a true tablet and laptop in one. Users will need to carry around a little bag of accessories. These include the new charger, an mini HDMI to VGA adapter, an SD reader.
I like the feel of the keyboard. The stylus is very nice for drawing."