Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Helix or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Helix

11.6" Helix combines the performance of a business Ultrabook™ with the mobility of a 10-finger touch tablet. Includes detachable keyboard base.

Average customer rating:
3.729 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
18
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
5
40 of 59(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Helix
Review 1 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo Helix

Date: February 28, 2015
" Bought the fully optioned Helix a year ago. Screen rotates 90 degrees when an external monitor is connected. Problem typically resolves after disconnecting and reconnecting 3 times. Occasionally only one reconnect necessary. Occasionally powers off, especially where more than three reconnects. Lenovo service not interested. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Made me a Convert

Date: February 18, 2015
" I've had my Helix for 8 months and love it. I have always been a power user and loyal to Toshiba, but no longer.
Pros: Nice design, and tough - I dropped it in a meeting while making a presentation the first week I had it. The screen popped out of the shell, but I popped it back in with no issues. I use some memory intensive apps and they all perform well. I forgot how much I missed the stick mouse. No need for my iPad but I do wish MS had more apps. Battery life is great for all day long and more.
Cons: No 512GB SSD, No LTE, and Windows 8.1. I loaded Classic Shell to get back my productivity. 2nd generation needs to have 8+GB RAM, 512GB SSD, LTE and pen which is functional
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Bad Keyboard

Date: January 24, 2015
" I bought this for my son for his engineering classes. While the tablet, itself, is great, the keyboard has major issues. The keyboard stopped working 6 months after purchase. The Lenovo customer service did a great job of repairing and sending back to us; however, six months after the repair the keyboard again stopped working. Customer service offered to do the same return and repair, but my son is in the midst of classes and doesn't have the time to wait on repairs. My son did research on the issue and found a reset solution for the problem. At the cost for this unit, the keyboard should have these issues. Should this problem occur again, we were provided numbers and location for walk-in repair sites close to him. I would highly recommend Lenovo customer service but not this unit due to keyboard issues. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Funny price system

Date: January 21, 2015
" I ordered on from the official website after ths-giving, with a big discount. however, disappointed.
1st gen Helix is priced so funny and confusing.
Comparing the price between ThinkPad Helix(Part Number 370133U) and Faster Processing Version, the web price is marked as 3499 USD and 2049 USD seperately. Suppose to have much better features for the previous one? No! No GPS chip found!
The differences are only 4 cell battery VS 3 Cell, 3 year warranty VS 1 year. But that worth 1450 USD on the price difference? Like a joke.
A little noisy. A 10% battery life loss detected when I got it, is this the refurbished version? "
Review 5 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid PC

Date: January 12, 2015
" I actually did not ask for this computer. I wanted a macbook. The computer was a gift. At first I was a little worried, but it is not too bad. Let's look at the cons: heats up badly, fan is audible (not too loud), tablet to pc switch is a little awkward, I had trouble updating to windows 8.1 and my touch screen sometimes doesn't respond to my touch, headphone jack is in a weird position, too expensive, keyboard has that weird nipple thing and no backlight, and the magnetic flap at the back is not the most attractive thing.
Not let's look at the pros: tablet is really nice, fun to take notes with one note, I have the i7 which is an amazing and speedy processor, pretty reliable machine(responsive but has some small hiccups), battery life is good compared to other thin laptops, the build feels expensive, and isn't difficult to keep clean.
So, it's no macbook, but that's fine. It's a powerful little laptop and as a college student in computer engineering, I really like it and recommend it.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Fast wireless performance

Date: January 7, 2015
" With the I7 processor and my 5.0 GHz wireless network, the Lenovo Helix along with its solid state hard drive provides me with fast efficient processing and mobility that out performs my two older Lenovo Think Pads (T420 & T520) on a wired LAN. The duel cameras and portability are especially useful for video sessions with friends and family. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Only a rotatable keyboard dock

Date: January 6, 2015
" Hi,
Sorry for my English.
It's very good 2 in 1 tablet. But if there were a full rotatable keybord dock it will be excellent.
Best regards.
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellentg tool for the money

Date: January 5, 2015
" I had a hard time waiting for the Helix to come out, but it did. I have enjoyed the ability to use it as a Tablet or like I am doing now, as a full function Laptop. The system is configured with the most ram you can get and the largest SD drive at the time. With Windows 8.1 and the Cloud I really am not concerned about running out of space. I feel that the price paid for the performance and flexibility of the Helix is all Lenovo said it would be. The IBM/Intel system can not be beat. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great machine, poor service

Date: January 5, 2015
" Once you start using this machine and trying anything less than a Core i7, you're spoiled. The computer is fast.
The same is not true for their new service philosophy unfortunately.
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Short on features Big on price

Date: December 10, 2014
" well built
but fals advertising on some aspects-
backlit keyboard is advertised in videos on the helix 1st gen - but mine is devoid of that feature
also laptop gets real hot after 3hrs use
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Extreme computing with this super laptop

Date: December 2, 2014
" The Lenovo Helix core i7 is a top performing laptop with good features. Can some one inform me how to get GPS in offline mode in Win 8 or Win 8.1 in Qatar. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Definitely not for anyone who uses it constantly

Date: October 20, 2014
" I have owned the i5 for almost two years now. I am a college student, and use my helix for absolutely everything: notes, homework, watching lectures, recording lectures, running necessary programs for class, playing online games, and watching Netflix. There have been days few and far between that this tablet is actually fully functioning. Programs will randomly stop running for days at a time then will be fine, the tablet will randomly blue screen and reboot itself, and it freezes often. I also am not a fan of the lack of memory space. I often find myself saving a majority of my files on a flash drive because the school programs take up most of the available space. I would definitely not recommend this to anyone who will be completely relying on their computer for school or work. Even as an engineering student, I spend more time trying to trouble shoot and fix this tablet with the school's IT department than I do actually getting work done on it. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very pleased with the Lenovo Helix Ultrabook

Date: October 8, 2014
" The helix allows me to work more efficiently when docked (as a PC) and when needed undocked (as a tablet).
The Helix is a leap in terms of the use of technology.
It is very portable, rugged and feels like it is built to last a long time.
The keyboard is designed well, the height of the keys and feel make it a pleasure to use.
The track pad is also well thought through and is sensitive to the touch and accurate not needing allot of pressure thus less tiring to use compared to others I have experienced. The added features and functionality allow one handed operation. for example using one hand I can select a block of text using the clickable feature of the track pad.
The sound, mic and cameras work well and are of a good quality.
It is very fast to start up and shutdown.
I have put a screen protector on the screen and track pad and still works efficiently and effortlessly. This helps keep the sweat from my fingers from marking up the unit.
All in all I am very happy with the Helix.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Executive

Has changed my life

Date: August 10, 2014
" As head M&A for a multinational, often travelling, the Helix has changed my life. I am now fully paperless.
It is fully functional with great power also in tablet mode.
Some improvement potential : mobile GSM shall allow for 4G, touchscreen sometime freezes and requires restart.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Teofrostus

Inaccurate touch screen and poor service

Date: July 18, 2014
" When making my purchase 8 months ago, I searched the market for tablet laptop hybrids for my work. I required a tablet to draw diagrams for students which I could later save and email to them or post on our course website, while still having the functionality of a personal computer for my research materials. To do this, I required the precision of a digitizer pen.
Unfortunately, my experience with this device and Lenovo's customer service has had nothing but problems. While the original shipping problems may be understandable, the quality of the touchscreen and digitizer accuracy is not.
Even after running the pen calibration multiple times, the pen's accuracy is in general off by over 5mm. This becomes especially pronounced near the edges of the screen, where the inaccuracy can grow as large as 1cm. While the website for this product advertises "Precise control with digitizer pen support," the product itself does not exhibit any such precision. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bondwellnicetry

Poor performacnce tablet

Date: May 30, 2014
" If you want a reliable tablet then buy a Surface. The Helix has been promoted as a tablet/computer. Not so. We fell for it and now having to replace all our sales reps computers. Just not capable of running business third part software like CRM's or working with our up to date server. To bad nice looking unit. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Telectromatico1990

excellent team

Date: May 28, 2014
" Improved product which could add more profits hadrware level, sufiente forced labor mobility and an indispensable tool if you are a user of high corporate level.
A propeller comfortable with my machine I can only say that the warranty is 3 years are exceptional internationally.
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DanA

Regretable Purchase

Date: May 28, 2014
" The quality of Lenovo has really suffered in the past couple of years. In my case, I had to have the detachable keyboard replaced twice in the first 4 weeks. The SSD is constantly throwing errors. Minimal ports. The docking station that you have to use can't deliver power to the laptop so when you dock you have to plug in the docking station and power every time you want to dock. The touchpad is a disaster in usability. It feels so cheap. If you ever need to replace the SSD, you will need a medical degree just to operate on this thing. So forget about upgrading anything. The video card only supports 1920x1080 max. The machine runs hot. As cool as this units seems, it just isn't worth it. The multi-touch screen is so far below by 3rd gen iPad. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed

Terrible experience

Date: May 27, 2014
" My Helix only lasted for 6 months and became unusable with a flickering screen and a mind of its own. It was repaired - with everything lost! And now its operating temperature is far too hot. I am too afraid to use it any more - I do not trust it. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad Helix
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
telectromatico

Excellent!!

Date: May 23, 2014
" Very Good "