Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440s

Average customer rating:
3.582 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(294 Reviews) 294
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (294 reviews)
5 stars
99
4 stars
72
3 stars
58
2 stars
31
1 star
34
179 of 294(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Good Laptop for the price

Date: October 28, 2014
"My first Thinkpad was purchased in 2000 and it was with me for 5 years and then I moved on to different laptops that were not as reliable nor came close to Thinkpad, hence after my VAIO .. i went back to thinkpad as it was most logical choice and I love it."
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Nice machine but you will want to buy a mouse

Date: October 28, 2014
"First the good things.
The T440 has the same look and robustness as other ThinkPads I've purchased. Battery life is very good (up to 5 hours) even when using the default battery.
Now the bad things.
The touch pad is hyper sensitive - even after using windows tools to calm it down and it is so "klunky" to click it reminds me of a WW2 morse code keyer, can you say "dit dit dah dah"?. Fortunately I ordered a wireless mouse along with the T440 so I use the installed touch pad as little as possible.
One other annoyance is there is no keyboard light on this model. I assumed there would be, my mistake I guess.
The issue with the touch pad has taught me a lesson. In future I will ensure I see and use a specific model of laptop before I purchase."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I love my new ROCK

Date: October 21, 2014
"After my G540 had hinge death, I realized that I should have a ThinkPad. The feel of this machine and the way it works for me lives up to the legend for me.
One thing, this machine is smaller than I thought it would be. Much lighter, much thinner than I was expecting. That is a good thing. I did not realize I was drooling over and got a UltraBook. Lenovo made one that is solid as a rock and runs very well."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

New Lenovo T440s

Date: October 19, 2014
"I have been a Lenovo (and previously IBM) user and track point screen navigator fan for many years - at least 6 laptops + purchased. To say I am disappointed in this machine is an understatement. The replacement of the previously separate left and right mouse buttons by the click pad (clank pad actually) was, in my opinion, a BIG mistake. The operation of the left click function is unreliable and the noise made by the pad when clicking is such that it could not possibly be used in a meeting situation -way too noisy. The convenient keyboard illumination light has disappeared. The disk activity light is also gone along with the WiFi/wireelss light. Even the Velcro band that secures the power cord is so short it will only "swallow" the DC cord. The AC cord and power supply itself can not be accommodated in the bundle. It could be on my T-420s and on my earlier machines."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Unsure?

Date: October 16, 2014
"It works like a laptop? I selected it with a focus on long term durability, so we'll see. The touch pad ont he keyboard is really hard to figure out though- I have to use a mouse. It's very lightweight and the keyboard is nice- overall no other complaints yet!
Also, obviously, windows 8.1 is the most confusing and frustrating thing ever. I accidentally get sent to the app area regularly and can't find my way out!"
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Needs to be addressed

Date: October 15, 2014
"I would recommend based on experience with previous model. To early to tell with new laptop. The touch pad is a departure from previous models and it is something that should be revisited. It is very touchy. After several days it is still not as easy to use as the separate buttons (click and right click). I am also worried about the long term durability."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

The keyboard is a joke....

Date: October 14, 2014
"Our company uses this as one of standard laptop. And the keyboard constantly got stuck. And the keyboard is very loud like a kid's toy keyboard. You should go to store to try it out to know what I mean. It is completely a joke to make such keyboard for a professional brand. It ruins the ThinkPad name brand. This is the worst Thinkpad (actually worst Laptop) I have ever used."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo ThinkPad Review

Date: October 10, 2014
"I'm pleased with my new Lenovo ThinkPad. It's irritating, however that I'm being forced to use their version of Adobe."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A novice PC laptop user

Date: October 9, 2014
"Mine is for a doctor's office. I can carry it from room to room with ease. The display is excellent (1960 x 1020). The keyboard is fantastic."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

REALLY, REALLY LIKE

Date: October 9, 2014
"If the computer would love me back I would say I love this machine."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Mostly Like

Date: October 8, 2014
"I've bought thirty or more of these units so I do like them. They are nice and light. They are also one of the few that offer a built in card reader. My main gripe is the touchpad. I don't like it at all so the first thing I do is connect a wireless mouse. Good laptop, gets a little pricey when you add some upgrades."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Had high hopes.. Dissapointed

Date: October 6, 2014
"I previously used a Dell Lattitude E6400 for work and this machine was a work horse so my expectations for the T440s were high. I've been using the T440s for a month now and until now I'm bitterly disappointed. From the troublesome Wi-Fi network adapter that doesn't work or intermittently disconnects to the touchpad that feels cheap I don't know where to start. I mean.. the laptop works and the keyboard is fine but for such an expensive machine I expected a lot more."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good to use for the next two years

Date: October 6, 2014
"Its good if you dont play games"
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

T440s

Date: October 6, 2014
"Can Not Play a Disc , must buy another add on product to do so.
I Did not know before I ordered - so just know this about the t440s, I wish sales would have told me.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent ultrabook -t440s

Date: October 3, 2014
"This laptop is excellent in its utility. its for those who like the thinkpad value and brand.i had a W530 -(i7,16gb,ssd) earlier and loved the thinkpad frame. I have had this one for a month now. the t440s is ultraportable with very good backup in the normal 3-cell back battery . Can't imagine the backup i'm gonna get when i order the 6-cell as a backup. that would mean a whole day without plugging it in.
There are only 2 things i didn't like in t440s -- 1) the new clickable touchpad - removal of the buttons at the top of touchpad for use with trackpoint is an inconvenient change. 2) you can only get a maximum of 12GB because 4GB RAM is soldered to the board. i wish they had more RAM.
However, even with these limits , its the best thinkpad frame - 14" not too large not too small. the perfect keypad scale. Like that they got rid of the hard buttons for volume and mic.
Absolutely love it."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Flimsy compared T420/430

Date: October 1, 2014
"The mouse left and right buttons are missing but the whole mouse pad moves so you can right click and left click by clicking the corners of the mouse pad.
Great idea, in practice its hopeless to use.
To make things worse, the whole mouse pad is mirror like slippery so good luck keeping the cursor in one place while you click, especially right click.
I like Thinkpads but this is designed by someone who has not used it.
Its not all bad - Battery life is great. Try before you buy. Not anything like T420 or before.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Horrible as a stand alone laptop.

Date: September 29, 2014
"Overall the T440 is an adequate machine for business in terms of power, speed, ease of use, durability, etc. However, the mouse built into the keyboard is far inferior to prior Lenovo's and ThinkPads. The new on board mouse is clunky, unreliable, has too much tolerance and generally doesn't perform well. If you buy this machine, use it with a separate mouse or don't use it at all. It is a shame to see the downgrade of this feature in what used to be a main reason I bought Lenovo's and ThinkPads."
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Track pad is a disaster. Stay away!

Date: September 21, 2014
"Lots of things are great or good about the T seris. The X1 Carbon, too. But the new track pad that Lenovo has is a disaster. Many of us in the company are insanely frustrated with the new pad -- everyone has gone to an external mouse. What a step backwards! the T430S I have still has real buttons and hence is just fine. The new T440S, my X1 Carbon and other new models where the buttons are deleted for the track pad will frustrate you! Find a laptop with real buttons!
Oh, you may not like the rubberized plastic on the case, because it shows fingerprints right away."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Like everything but the cursor pad

Date: September 19, 2014
"The cursor pad is too sensitive so many times when attempting to click/double click it moves the cursor. Especially when great precision is needed to click small objects. Other than that it's a great upgrade from my HP 8440."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Almost perfect

Date: September 16, 2014
"I have a loaded unit with the touchscreen, 12GB RAM, and a 512GB SSD. The screen is very good, especially for a 14" FHD touch. I like the sound quality and the nice small power brick. Performance overall is good, although switching from a energy saving to a high-performance power plan does not always restore full speed to the CPU.
My number one complaint is the graphics chip (Intel 4400). Performance is adequate, but I have stability problems with my HDMI external monitor on a docking station which crashes once a day. Video quality through the standard VGA connector is poor. Disconnecting and then reconnecting to the docking station magnifies some desktop items by 25% for no reason.
The standard battery is nice from a size and weight POV. I get 3+ hours running the "balanced" plan. The high-capacity battery, which adds a bulge and a bit of weight, provides 11+ hours of reasonable use, which is great.
Despite the minor issues, I love this laptop, especially for travelling."