Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440s

Average customer rating:
3.579 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(394 Reviews) 394
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (394 reviews)
5 stars
129
4 stars
109
3 stars
66
2 stars
41
1 star
49
243 of 394(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Having a bad experience with t440s

Date: March 27, 2015
" I bought this laptop over apple's MAC about 10 months ago (USA). During this period I've had numerous problems with this laptop :- this laptop has Wi-Fi problem ( Wi-Fi drops frequently, sometimes even stops responding ), the LCD is not strong enough (it looks like manufacturing defects), the battery also doesn't last long, and mostly the OS is very buggy. I take care of my laptop very much-- I don't install unnecessary programs., I don't even visit unnecessary websites, but still I had to format t440s 3 times & reinstall windows because of multiple issues. Also, The Blue Screen of Death is normal on this laptop. Sometimes in the middle of programing, BSD appears and Boom!!!! "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid laptop, but...

Date: March 26, 2015
" I made this the standard Windows laptop for the company because I think the Thinkpad T series still has the best keyboard around, and is also one of the few product lines that still has a trackpoint. My previous company used the T430 as the Windows laptop for the same reason. I like the low weight and build quality seems good. However, we've encountered several downgrades in the "upgrade" to the T440S.
1) The clickpad, which is poor at best (travel seems too long, poor responsiveness especially when right clicking). To be fair, it seems to read gestures reasaonably well. I've largely adjusted to it, but it is an ongoing irritant.
2) Elimination of dedicated buttons for the trackpoint (same issues with responsiveness)
3) Wifi issues - seems that you need to uninstallthe Intel Proset software, then reinstall the drivers to get the wifi card to work properly after waking up the machine from sleep. Other users have been having bewildering wifi-related issues as well
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

T440s downhill

Date: March 23, 2015
" Have been ordering and supporting Lenovo machines for 8 years (over a thousand in this timeframe)- very disappointed with the T440s - The T430s were great - The T440s has issues with frequently coming up to black screen - (issue not related to the Microsoft critical update causing similar) - loss of the optical drive was too soon for Business uses and the UltraNav touchpad needs separate buttons again (bouncing around in a truck or train while using the machine is difficult enough) "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Amazing laptop.

Date: March 21, 2015
" Light, reliable, super quiet, doesn't heat up -- plus fantastic performance. Nice, high quality build -- the keyboard and the machine in general feel robust and pleasant to the touch. I've been a desktop person for many years, but I started working away from my desk a lot more after getting t440s. Screen resolution is great. It's also nice to able to swap 3 cell and 6 cell batteries easily, depending on what your day will be like (although even 3 cell battery is plenty -- I get 5-6 hours of solid work with high brightness routinely out of it). Fingerprint ID is also very convenient for quick passwordless logons.
My specs: i7 with 160gb SSD. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Really good laptop

Date: March 21, 2015
" Excellent product. I use it for work and also personal usages. I am happy with it. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Horrible laptop go with another company

Date: March 1, 2015
" My school bought one for every teacher and studen so far I've run through 6. I've had 3 battery issues 1 SSD dying 1 keyboard broken and 1 that pretty much melted.
1 thing I love though is how much punching it survives everytime something goes wrong I bash the keyboard till it works. And it works everytime.
The trackpad is impossible to use.
The keyboard is so cheap keys constantly break/fall off.
The screens are horrible can't view them from ANY angle.
The battery lasts about 4 hours which is no good for a 9 cell battery laptop.
The so called SSD is really slow peak read/write is 110/50 MB/S and takes a good few mins to boot into windows 7.
The Lenovo drivers it comes with are just useless or don't work.
The laptop has a horrible CPU (4200U mine has) non turbo speed is 1.6Ghz and turbo Is 1.9Ghz once thermal throttling and voltage throttling come out to play.
They also cost a lot to get replaced or fixed. Please don't ever but this laptop unless Lenovo pay you to take one. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

fan error (((

Date: February 16, 2015
" Fan error!
How many years Lenovo cant fix this problem!
Extremely disappointed "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

T440s

Date: February 10, 2015
" I have owned the T440s for about 6 months. This is also my first laptop (college student).
Battery (9 cell): great, go literally all day, gives little lift
Keyboard: standard Lenovo, great
Click pad: touch sensitive wise, fantastic, the click travel too big though
Touch screen: great, don't expect to write like a digitized pen would of course, but good for when you need it.
Fingerprint scanner: get it, minimum troubles
Build Quality: fantastic durability, some cosmetic issues around the screen (not screen itself but what holds the screen)
Performance: I have the I-7 processor,12 GB Ram, SSD. Boots in about 10-12 seconds. Runs like a dream.
Back light display: good, bleed a little too much but not that big of a problem
Connectivity: I use mini DP to HDMI for my needs. Works fine.
Sound: great for general needs. Movie, get speakers
Out of the box change> graphics properties, > power> display power saving technology to off. You will understand once go from dark to light screen. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Decision Ever

Date: February 10, 2015
" I bought the T440s based on reviews from other sites. How I wished I read these ones by actual users. It's unusable with Win 8.1. Freezes all the time and slow when not frozen. I have it on restart most times. Irony: I'm typing this review on my iPhone rather than on the PC because once again, Im trying to restart it. I wouldn't wish this PC on my enemy. Not just that evil. It's completely useless. Wish I could get my money back "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Ubuntu Linux Development Box

Date: February 4, 2015
" I picked this system since I wanted an i7 Haswell with an SSD and 12GB of RAM, but didn't want to pay for a MacBook Pro. The RAM was a big one: most "ultrabooks" seem to top out around 8GB, but I run virtual machines all day so I wanted a little more. It came with Win8.1, which I am dual-booting, but I use Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr 99% of the time.
I've been very happy with the performance, battery life, keyboard, and everything else so far. It's lightweight and extremely quiet. I only have two complaints, and they both have more to do with Linux support than the laptop itself:
1. The touchpad/clickpad/trackpad/whatever takes some tweaking to get a good feel in Ubuntu. It's too sensitive, and the palm detection leaves something to be desired. Some Google searches got me to a workable state though.
2. Ubuntu does not handle the high resolution 1920 x 1080 screen very well. It does not do the nice "retina" style pixel scaling, so some applications have almost unreadable tiny text! "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

According to my research...

Date: February 4, 2015
" I researched this product by reading 6 professional reviews and a ton of consumer reviews. See the result video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G-8Eeg7MJHg "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Overwhelmed with mediocrity

Date: February 3, 2015
" I will start by saying that I am probably being generous to Lenovo, considering my experience. That said, here is my evaluation:
Positive:
-Great boot time
-Very light weight
-Decent battery time
-Good keyboard
Neutral:
-Windows 8 (base model)
-No CD-ROM drive (base model)
Negative:
-SHODDY (see below)
-Lenovo is horrible to deal with (see below)
-Expensive considering the points above
I bought the T440s two months ago. After a good initial start, aside from Win 8 pop-up issues, my lcd cracked after 3 weeks and light ware. Whatever Lenovo advertizes about durability is garbage. I might as well have been staring at the screen too hard (I didn't drop it, pick it up by the screen, etc). Getting it fixed was no easy task either. Lenovo scheduled a repair, sent the serviceman the wrong parts, had me ship them the laptop, told me that the warranty did not cover the break, and then finally conceded to give me an 'exception' after weeks of angry phone calls. How about make a better laptop? "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Laptop, problem touchpad.

Date: February 2, 2015
" I want my old laptop back. The touch pad is terrible. Want someone to fix this issue, which my IT dept said cannot be fixed. Was frustrated in the first 5 minutes of using it. Tried to type a word doc which took me over an hour. The touch pad sends the cursor wherever it wants. Absolutely disappointing. I don't know how I am going to get my work done with this inept machine. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Hard Drive problems quite common

Date: February 1, 2015
" Hard Drive has completely died on me twice in 6 months. Two weeks after getting my new computer my hard drive got the click of death. Got a new one and it died six months after. I am not unique in this case. 5 HDs required replacement in my department alone. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good machine with bad new touch pad design

Date: January 31, 2015
" The new design of touchpad is so bad from previous ergonomic good keys. If you get a good machine but not ergonomic to use. This makes the machine useless. Some bad new generation design makes it totally annoying to professional people. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great but expensive upgrade from T400

Date: January 19, 2015
" With 8GB RAM and the 256GB SSD, this is much faster than my T400 from 12/2009, which the T440s is replacing. T440s fit & finish, sound, and display are all much better than my standard display T400.
The new touchpad is iffy - sometimes the lower right-click is misinterpreted. I'd prefer the 7-row keyboard with the old style indicators of WiFi/power/HDD activity/etc. indicators.
Mine came with 7. I used the recovery disks to go to 8 (and Win Update for 8.1). I can't say I love 8.1 (lots of annoyances in the interface), but 7 is no longer fully maintained by MS.
Expensive, though, with the SSD.... "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Not like it used to be

Date: January 19, 2015
" I tend to keep laptops for many years and it is always a great pleasure to start with a new one. This time it was different. It is a drag figure out how Windows 8 works, and it has some incredible inconveniences which I guess eventual you get used to. They keep messing up the couple of things that were special and good about Windows. This is of course beyond Lenovo. Lenovo however messed up a beautiful line of devices. Specifically, the track pad is a disaster. Very loud click sound, and it is difficult to use the click area perfectly every time. I never needed a mouse with any my laptops until now.It is a fast system, everything works as expected which in this day of age should not be a surprise. I gave ok rating overall but as for many other people a difference in small things like keyboard or pointing device will make or break the experience. It is not like the overall components would be different if you buy a different brand..You need to get the old track pad back. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

One of the best laptops with some minuses

Date: January 19, 2015
" I have FHD IPS screen t440s
- Well made, quality materials and assembly
- Together with X1 this is coolest running laptop I ever seen. Fun not working most of the time, this is HUGE plus for reliability and comfort.
- Relatively good screen, no reflections, sharp and pretty accurate colors. This is not RGB screen level, but good enough for basic photo editing and very good for text (that not always correct for color accurate screens).
===========================
They should work on keyboard and touchpad. Will be great to have high quality RGB screen... Lenovo used good materials, very solid build - but keyboard is not accurate and sensitive enough (missing letters all the time), touchpad is well... not good. I use mouse all the time, so no problems - but road warriors may suffer.
============================
Bottom line : very solid, reliable and flexible business laptop. Fast, quality made, with some keyboard/touchpad issues
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Get it done

Date: January 13, 2015
" I am interested in a good solid workhorse laptop that can go anywhere, be light, have lots of storage, be easy to work with and have at least a little bit of elegance. I used ThinkPads prior to 2000 when I changed to Dell laptops which enjoyed. I recently made the switch back to ThinkPads and this T440s is a great solid machine that has everything I want to get the job done. Because it is all about the job and not so much about the coolness of the technology. Big hard drive, lots of memory, great display, awesome keyboard (I forgot how much I missed that), light and an understated elegance. The always on USB is good for charging my phone when I need it, just the right number of ports, and what seems to be a sturdy case. I have never been a fan of the red track stick or of the pads but they work in a pinch; you can't beat a BT mouse. Overall a great machine (had it for 3 weeks now) and I am impressed with the overall package. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Recovery media and OS licensing needs work

Date: January 10, 2015
" Generally satisfied with Lenovo hardware. New touchpad design takes some getting used to.
Biggest issue is with support. Recovery media is only provided in DVD format, but series no longer has a DVD option to bundle with the laptop. This effectively prevents customers from upgrading to Windows 8 with Lenovo's recovery media unless an external optical drive is purchased. "