Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440s

Average customer rating:
3.588 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(313 Reviews) 313
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (313 reviews)
5 stars
105
4 stars
79
3 stars
61
2 stars
31
1 star
37
191 of 313(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Wonderful machine!

Date: November 16, 2014
"This is my 4th Thinkpad, and it's the best one ever! I've tried other laptops, but have always come back to trusty Thinkpads. I know I could have paid less for something else, but the perfection of this machine was worth it.
Critics and other users who trash the T440s honestly don't know what they're talking about. Its light weight, great size, lightning speed, bright screen, and all-day battery life have truly changed MY workday life. Thanks, Lenovo!"
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Small Issues But Overall a Good Purchase

Date: November 16, 2014
"Just a couple of things to report on the Lenovo T440s, I find I miss a couple of things on the keyboard, first the three button control that substitutes for the mouse keys and scroll button. The current (new?) method of using the touch-pad is a bit, well, touchy. It is more difficult to use. I also miss the browser page back/forward buttons which I found so useful in my R61i. One other thing I find a little baffling is instructions for using the "sleep" button which does not exist on my keyboard.
Other than a small not unexpected issue or two like getting the laptop to hibernate (apparently resolved by a reboot) I am very satisfied with my T440s. It is nice and light, performs quickly with a minimum of fuss and has an excellent screen to match a wonderful feeling keyboard.
I also purchased Lenovo's Thinkpad Ultra Dock which makes using this laptop much more convenient. I only wish it had more than one HDMI port.
Over all I am happy with my purchase."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

not usable

Date: November 14, 2014
"great performance battery life. when this laptop goes to hibernate or the screen cuts off it will not come back on the only way to use it again is to let the battery die or do a hard start. it did this the very first time I turned the computer on. Lenovo has no fix and tech support is no help at all its totally worthless as far as im concerned and it will be going back soon."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

For Linux: Nearly Perfect,Except for Clickpad,

Date: November 13, 2014
"I am upgrading from a Lenovo T41 running Ubuntu. I decided that for my new computer I would make the switch to Arch linux.
Aside from some clickpad issues described below (which I believe will be mostly alleviated once certain bugs with the linux driver are worked out) this is a solid ultrabook: Light, long battery life, solid keyboard, SSD makes boot super fast, and most hardware works without issue on the current linux kernel.
CLICKPAD ISSUES:
As others have complained about, the Trackpoint with the clickpad is clunky to the point of almost being not usable. I needed to tweek the synaptic driver settings for the middle and right click regions which are still not working great. Middle click scrolling is also currently impossible. Also, there is currently (3.17.22.-1-ARCH) a bug where releasing the clickpad does not send a release to the mouse, This leads to a lot of annoying inadvertent highlighting which wipes the middleclick-paste buffer in linux.
All said, a good purchase."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Decent machine

Date: November 12, 2014
"I purchased a fully loaded T440S in January, it has been solid; I am a power Excel user so I lately invested in extra RAM, which has certainly helped. My one disappointment is the battery, I was expecting it to last more than 10 months, but alas it is toast. And not covered by warranty....."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Fantastic Purchase Ever

Date: November 10, 2014
"This laptop is amazing. Such an upgrade from my macbook pro. Definitely worth it. Great college laptop."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good but touchpad a fail....

Date: November 10, 2014
"The reason I have always bought Think pads is the touch point navigation (little red mouse). I am not a fan of touchpads. This model the touchpad is built into one large unit without the older two buttons for left and right clicks. I have found that no matter what setting I use a right click turns into a left click which is extremely frustrating when working with large data Excel files or simple commands. Nice machine but touchpad is an epic fail!"
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent computer with stupid UX annoyances

Date: November 10, 2014
"First of all: excellent performance. Good screen resolution (1080p) in a 14" form factor. Whish it were higher, but 1080p is a good start. Chicklet keyboard is fine.
Here's what is ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE:
- Single button "soft mouse buttons". Seriously, Lenovo? It's awful. It feels awful. It feels cheap. And it's hard on my wrists. Go back to physical buttons.
- No LED on the caps lock? Really? So the only way I know if it's on when I type passwords is when the password box hints at me?
- There's NO indication that the unit is CHARGING? Three short blinks on the LED on the back of the screen does NOT COUNT AS A USER INTERFACE INFORMING ME THE COMPUTER IS CHARGING.
I wish I could say that these three things were things I could blow off, but they're pretty awful. I'm considering returning it."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Coders beware!

Date: November 10, 2014
"This will be my 12th Thinkpad to date. I've owned the T440S for about 6 months now. Overall the experience has been great with one glaring exception.... ClickPad is terrible. Sorry Lenovo but you really screwed up on this one. If I could return the unit I would.
Constantly having my cursor moving around. Very difficult to make small movements, and to make it worse the clickpad is noisy. It sounds cheap. I'm in a room with professional coders using their mac books and they all think ( and comment ) my T440s is a "piece of junk" because of the cheap sounds that come from me "clicking". In my shame I went with an external mouse. Love carrying around an extra piece of equipment just to circumvent the clickpad.
For the record, I've went back to my W530 and plan to place the T440s on ebay."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Click pad not suitable for business use

Date: November 7, 2014
"The touchpad/clickpad is buggy, noisy, clunky and infuriating, and renders an otherwise fine machine unusable in common business contexts.
Rather than pressing a small button to click and select, as on earlier Thinkpads, you must click the entire 3" x 4" clickpad. Because it has a large mass and size, is floppy and acoustically resonant, and requires a large travel to make a click, it makes a loud "thunk" with each click.
This loud clunk is extremely distracting to neighbors if you use the machine in a meeting or to take notes during a talk. I initially had people get up and move away from me, and now I have to sit in the back of the room.
The second problem is that the touchpad does not click and select text properly and reliably. You must click it way off at the right edge - i.e., far to the right of where the "right click button" was on the older Thinkpads, which requires a large rotation of the wrist and thumb, causing fatigue and pain after extended use."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

It is very good

Date: November 6, 2014
"It is very light, nice when I saw it in the first time. The severice of Lenovo is also very well, I suggest you choose Thinkpad."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst purchase ever

Date: November 5, 2014
"I got a brand new one and the brightness keys are not working. In addition, I can't even change the brightness from the settings menu. I looked around the web and updated a bunch of relevant drivers (which is a ridiculous thing to do for a brand new laptop) but none fixed the issue. It's very frustrating and I'm very disappointed."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I love this laptop

Date: November 4, 2014
"Replaced Sony ultrabook with t440s. The difference between the 2 products is shocking.
The t440 layout of the ports is well-thought out and the range of ports is amazing. The screen is divine. There really wasn't much difference in the size of the Sony and t440, but I needed reading glasses to see the Sony desktop. I have no problem reading the t440 desktop even though everything is set at small scale.
The only problem that I have is with the trackpad though I suspect that this is a problem with the way I write. Despite being right-handed, I write as if I am left-handed (hand curved inward). I imagine that a right-handed person who writes with the hand extended straight from the wrist would be able to use the pointer and trackpad simultaneously with much greater ease.
My only complaint (after a couple of weeks of using), is that I would prefer Windows Ultimate to Pro. Maybe that complaint should be directed against Microsoft."
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

An amazing system

Date: November 4, 2014
"I am enormously pleased with my T440s. It's amazingly solidly-built despite being very light. As someone said, it feels like a slab of magnesium. The screen is just amazing, bright and clear with great contrast. The keyboard redesign has gotten some bad press, but undeservedly: it's a joy to type on, and is much better than my old ThinkPad W700 and MacBook Pro. The touchpad has also gotten bad press, and in this case it's justifiable: the touchpad is honestly not great, but fortunately I use the TrackPoint exclusively, so I don't mind. The whole thing is very fast and has no trouble handling my fairly demanding workload (usually involving several virtual machines). I've also had none of the product defects that people have mentioned. It runs Linux like a dream; I'm using Debian Jessie and everything is supported out of the box (but be careful to get the Intel wifi). It's expensive but worth it; I would buy this again.
I hope that this product will be a template for future ThinkPads!"
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good but not great

Date: November 4, 2014
"The machine itself provides robust performance and design. It may not be as sleek as others but I enjoy the semi-matte screen, and am also fine with the new keyboard, although I still prefer the professional ones that were in the original IBM's.
I am definitely struggling with the touchpad. I very much prefer the old buttons.
I have not rated the machine for reliability. The old T machines failed on me with Fan error usually once per year.
Here though is where I am unhappy. The docking station works badly. When first docked, 3 of the USB ports didn't work. I found drivers, but was surprised that I had to on a new machine. Very disappointing though is the long lapsed time to start up. The 440S undocked is instant, but docked can take 2 to 3 minutes to recognise the external devices including the keyboard and mouse. The support team's standard response is to send a new dock, which I have not yet received and don't know whether it will solve anything.
I wish there was a GPU option"
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best deal

Date: November 3, 2014
"i will buy another laptop, whether has anything coupon?"
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Laptop I've Ever Had

Date: November 2, 2014
"I've gone through three computers in the last three years, so I researched for months before getting this one! I really hope it will last, and I have a feeling it will!
It's silent, pretty fast, stays pretty cool, and the keyboard is the best I've ever used (so much so that I'm afraid to use it for fear of breaking it, being such a heavy-handed typist)! I love it! Every other computer company has let me down (sans Apple; those are too expensive), but not Lenovo! It's earned itself another loyal customer!"
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very lightweight, but steadily missing the vision

Date: November 1, 2014
"The good:
> It is very lightweight. Two batteries is an interesting concept.
The bad:
> 4GB soldered means I cannot have 16 GB on my new T440s. I have 16GB on my old T420 and it feels weird to have less memory in a computer that is 4 years newer.
> The new keyboard is better than the one in the T420. My old T60 does have a better keyboard. Please bring back the quality of the old keyboards!
> Hard disk access is very hard now. Before you could simply remove the hard disk after removing some screws, now you have to perform a complicated procedure in order to open the computer and change the hard disk. This also applies to the T440.
The ugly:
The sound card is cheaper than the cheapest phone you can get. Every-time I stop a song in Spotify there is a weird feedback echo that follows.
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

T440s

Date: October 30, 2014
"The laptop is as good as many others in the market.
I purchased it for my work -I am a software developer- and after nearly 15 years using ThinkPads I will not be using them again: the mouse -trackpad actually- is simply not adequate for serious coding.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Good Laptop for the price

Date: October 28, 2014
"My first Thinkpad was purchased in 2000 and it was with me for 5 years and then I moved on to different laptops that were not as reliable nor came close to Thinkpad, hence after my VAIO .. i went back to thinkpad as it was most logical choice and I love it."