Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440s

Average customer rating:
3.575 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(402 Reviews) 402
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (402 reviews)
5 stars
131
4 stars
110
3 stars
69
2 stars
43
1 star
49
247 of 402(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Wifi issues

Date: April 24, 2015
" Everything was working until the annual warranty ran out. Thought it was the modem or router--bought new ones. Still, The wi-fi and Ethernet connectivity is spotty. Such that I seem to clog all other pcs on any network I'm on. Shutting the wi-fi off/on is the only cure, but it keeps recurring every 20 min or so. When I'm on networks with Apple products, it just slows them way down until I disconnect/reconnect. All drivers are updated. Will try to replace the wireless card and see if that fixes it. Grrr "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Another fantastic computer -

Date: April 24, 2015
" but for some reason, we keep going backwards. Lenovo still makes the best machines. and I love my new 440s, but like my T431s it has no buttons that I can use with the truly awesome trackpoint and keyboard. The lack of ESata that my three previous thinkpads featured means my major database copies and images take much, much longer. This is a great computer - if I didn't have to carry a Bluetooth mouse just for the buttons. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Laptop, Bad Wifi

Date: April 20, 2015
" I love most of this laptop. Good Build Quality, great screen, enough ports. HDMI would have been nice.
Unfortunately I purchased this laptop for its Linux compatibility. I read quite a bit about Lenovo taking pride in the Linux support. Unfortunately it did not have the Intel Centrino wifi adapter. Sadly it had the very poor Realtek RTL8192EE which has issues connecting to wifi in linux, and no real driver support. I have to use a USB adapter because of it.
I love everything about this laptop. Except that.
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointed

Date: April 9, 2015
" My previous 2 laptops were Lenovos. My last one, T420s, was a great machine. I so I did not hesitate to upgrade to T440s when I needed a laptop. I can only say that this has been a frustrating and totally disappointing experience. My 2 big problems have been the touch pad which works poorly, requiring multiple taps tin the upper left to get it to respond. Their wifi connectivity is also inferior. When my laptop has been idle, the connection just doesn't go dormant-it gets lost totally. The Lenovo Access connections utility can't "find" my wireless router forcing me to restart the computer. Both of these ar productivity killers "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Touchpad right and left click buttons difficult

Date: April 7, 2015
" I picked up the T440s in December. I wanted something lighter than my T520.
Pros: The light weight is nice. About half. The screen resolution is better, I am still adjusting to the smaller screen. The keyboard seems more responsive and easier to type on.
Cons: The right and left click buttons are built into the touch pad. To make the clicks work, you have to touch the upper outside of the touchpad. That makes the right and left click buttons twice as far apart than my T520.
The left click button on the touchpad has had troubles and finally gave up. I have to use an external mouse now to be able to work. I called in for service (I have onsite next day) It has been a week now and they are still trying to find a replacement part! Since I fly a lot for work, that means I can not do work until they find and put in the part.
The touchpad is really sensitive, and it will make the mouse move around while I am trying to type. I turned it off and still am getting movement. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Purchase ever

Date: April 3, 2015
" Its the best computer that I ever had "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Terrible computer

Date: March 29, 2015
" I have had this computer for a year, and it has been a problem from the start. The sales team was fantastic, but the good experience stopped the minute the PC arrived. First of all the "buttons" on the touchpad don't work - 50% of the time the right button doesn't click - so I had to get a mouse. Ridiculous. I had network adapter problems right after the computer arrived, and tech support knows nothing. My local computer company finally fixed the problem for free (because it was so simple). About a month after purchase, the screen started to fail. I have a vertical white line down the centre of the screen, and now a year after purchase, two additional ones are appearing. I could have it fixed under warranty, but I would lose work time. Now, a year after purchase, 2 of the USB ports won't recognize devices that are plugged in.
This is the least reliable laptop I have ever had, and the cost to me, as a sole proprietor, is work-time. I would never recommend a ThinkPad. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid Purchase

Date: March 28, 2015
" I especially love the dual battery system which allows me to switch the removable battery without loosing power. I only wish I had purchased a touch screen version. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Having a bad experience with t440s

Date: March 27, 2015
" I bought this laptop over apple's MAC about 10 months ago (USA). During this period I've had numerous problems with this laptop :- this laptop has Wi-Fi problem ( Wi-Fi drops frequently, sometimes even stops responding ), the LCD is not strong enough (it looks like manufacturing defects), the battery also doesn't last long, and mostly the OS is very buggy. I take care of my laptop very much-- I don't install unnecessary programs., I don't even visit unnecessary websites, but still I had to format t440s 3 times & reinstall windows because of multiple issues. Also, The Blue Screen of Death is normal on this laptop. Sometimes in the middle of programing, BSD appears and Boom!!!! "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid laptop, but...

Date: March 26, 2015
" I made this the standard Windows laptop for the company because I think the Thinkpad T series still has the best keyboard around, and is also one of the few product lines that still has a trackpoint. My previous company used the T430 as the Windows laptop for the same reason. I like the low weight and build quality seems good. However, we've encountered several downgrades in the "upgrade" to the T440S.
1) The clickpad, which is poor at best (travel seems too long, poor responsiveness especially when right clicking). To be fair, it seems to read gestures reasaonably well. I've largely adjusted to it, but it is an ongoing irritant.
2) Elimination of dedicated buttons for the trackpoint (same issues with responsiveness)
3) Wifi issues - seems that you need to uninstallthe Intel Proset software, then reinstall the drivers to get the wifi card to work properly after waking up the machine from sleep. Other users have been having bewildering wifi-related issues as well
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

T440s downhill

Date: March 23, 2015
" Have been ordering and supporting Lenovo machines for 8 years (over a thousand in this timeframe)- very disappointed with the T440s - The T430s were great - The T440s has issues with frequently coming up to black screen - (issue not related to the Microsoft critical update causing similar) - loss of the optical drive was too soon for Business uses and the UltraNav touchpad needs separate buttons again (bouncing around in a truck or train while using the machine is difficult enough) "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Amazing laptop.

Date: March 21, 2015
" Light, reliable, super quiet, doesn't heat up -- plus fantastic performance. Nice, high quality build -- the keyboard and the machine in general feel robust and pleasant to the touch. I've been a desktop person for many years, but I started working away from my desk a lot more after getting t440s. Screen resolution is great. It's also nice to able to swap 3 cell and 6 cell batteries easily, depending on what your day will be like (although even 3 cell battery is plenty -- I get 5-6 hours of solid work with high brightness routinely out of it). Fingerprint ID is also very convenient for quick passwordless logons.
My specs: i7 with 160gb SSD. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Really good laptop

Date: March 21, 2015
" Excellent product. I use it for work and also personal usages. I am happy with it. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Horrible laptop go with another company

Date: March 1, 2015
" My school bought one for every teacher and studen so far I've run through 6. I've had 3 battery issues 1 SSD dying 1 keyboard broken and 1 that pretty much melted.
1 thing I love though is how much punching it survives everytime something goes wrong I bash the keyboard till it works. And it works everytime.
The trackpad is impossible to use.
The keyboard is so cheap keys constantly break/fall off.
The screens are horrible can't view them from ANY angle.
The battery lasts about 4 hours which is no good for a 9 cell battery laptop.
The so called SSD is really slow peak read/write is 110/50 MB/S and takes a good few mins to boot into windows 7.
The Lenovo drivers it comes with are just useless or don't work.
The laptop has a horrible CPU (4200U mine has) non turbo speed is 1.6Ghz and turbo Is 1.9Ghz once thermal throttling and voltage throttling come out to play.
They also cost a lot to get replaced or fixed. Please don't ever but this laptop unless Lenovo pay you to take one. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

fan error (((

Date: February 16, 2015
" Fan error!
How many years Lenovo cant fix this problem!
Extremely disappointed "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

T440s

Date: February 10, 2015
" I have owned the T440s for about 6 months. This is also my first laptop (college student).
Battery (9 cell): great, go literally all day, gives little lift
Keyboard: standard Lenovo, great
Click pad: touch sensitive wise, fantastic, the click travel too big though
Touch screen: great, don't expect to write like a digitized pen would of course, but good for when you need it.
Fingerprint scanner: get it, minimum troubles
Build Quality: fantastic durability, some cosmetic issues around the screen (not screen itself but what holds the screen)
Performance: I have the I-7 processor,12 GB Ram, SSD. Boots in about 10-12 seconds. Runs like a dream.
Back light display: good, bleed a little too much but not that big of a problem
Connectivity: I use mini DP to HDMI for my needs. Works fine.
Sound: great for general needs. Movie, get speakers
Out of the box change> graphics properties, > power> display power saving technology to off. You will understand once go from dark to light screen. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Decision Ever

Date: February 10, 2015
" I bought the T440s based on reviews from other sites. How I wished I read these ones by actual users. It's unusable with Win 8.1. Freezes all the time and slow when not frozen. I have it on restart most times. Irony: I'm typing this review on my iPhone rather than on the PC because once again, Im trying to restart it. I wouldn't wish this PC on my enemy. Not just that evil. It's completely useless. Wish I could get my money back "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Ubuntu Linux Development Box

Date: February 4, 2015
" I picked this system since I wanted an i7 Haswell with an SSD and 12GB of RAM, but didn't want to pay for a MacBook Pro. The RAM was a big one: most "ultrabooks" seem to top out around 8GB, but I run virtual machines all day so I wanted a little more. It came with Win8.1, which I am dual-booting, but I use Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr 99% of the time.
I've been very happy with the performance, battery life, keyboard, and everything else so far. It's lightweight and extremely quiet. I only have two complaints, and they both have more to do with Linux support than the laptop itself:
1. The touchpad/clickpad/trackpad/whatever takes some tweaking to get a good feel in Ubuntu. It's too sensitive, and the palm detection leaves something to be desired. Some Google searches got me to a workable state though.
2. Ubuntu does not handle the high resolution 1920 x 1080 screen very well. It does not do the nice "retina" style pixel scaling, so some applications have almost unreadable tiny text! "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

According to my research...

Date: February 4, 2015
" I researched this product by reading 6 professional reviews and a ton of consumer reviews. See the result video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G-8Eeg7MJHg "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Overwhelmed with mediocrity

Date: February 3, 2015
" I will start by saying that I am probably being generous to Lenovo, considering my experience. That said, here is my evaluation:
Positive:
-Great boot time
-Very light weight
-Decent battery time
-Good keyboard
Neutral:
-Windows 8 (base model)
-No CD-ROM drive (base model)
Negative:
-SHODDY (see below)
-Lenovo is horrible to deal with (see below)
-Expensive considering the points above
I bought the T440s two months ago. After a good initial start, aside from Win 8 pop-up issues, my lcd cracked after 3 weeks and light ware. Whatever Lenovo advertizes about durability is garbage. I might as well have been staring at the screen too hard (I didn't drop it, pick it up by the screen, etc). Getting it fixed was no easy task either. Lenovo scheduled a repair, sent the serviceman the wrong parts, had me ship them the laptop, told me that the warranty did not cover the break, and then finally conceded to give me an 'exception' after weeks of angry phone calls. How about make a better laptop? "