Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440s

Average customer rating:
3.617 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(379 Reviews) 379
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (379 reviews)
5 stars
126
4 stars
106
3 stars
66
2 stars
38
1 star
43
237 of 379(63%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great but expensive upgrade from T400

Date: January 19, 2015
" With 8GB RAM and the 256GB SSD, this is much faster than my T400 from 12/2009, which the T440s is replacing. T440s fit & finish, sound, and display are all much better than my standard display T400.
The new touchpad is iffy - sometimes the lower right-click is misinterpreted. I'd prefer the 7-row keyboard with the old style indicators of WiFi/power/HDD activity/etc. indicators.
Mine came with 7. I used the recovery disks to go to 8 (and Win Update for 8.1). I can't say I love 8.1 (lots of annoyances in the interface), but 7 is no longer fully maintained by MS.
Expensive, though, with the SSD.... "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Not like it used to be

Date: January 19, 2015
" I tend to keep laptops for many years and it is always a great pleasure to start with a new one. This time it was different. It is a drag figure out how Windows 8 works, and it has some incredible inconveniences which I guess eventual you get used to. They keep messing up the couple of things that were special and good about Windows. This is of course beyond Lenovo. Lenovo however messed up a beautiful line of devices. Specifically, the track pad is a disaster. Very loud click sound, and it is difficult to use the click area perfectly every time. I never needed a mouse with any my laptops until now.It is a fast system, everything works as expected which in this day of age should not be a surprise. I gave ok rating overall but as for many other people a difference in small things like keyboard or pointing device will make or break the experience. It is not like the overall components would be different if you buy a different brand..You need to get the old track pad back. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

One of the best laptops with some minuses

Date: January 19, 2015
" I have FHD IPS screen t440s
- Well made, quality materials and assembly
- Together with X1 this is coolest running laptop I ever seen. Fun not working most of the time, this is HUGE plus for reliability and comfort.
- Relatively good screen, no reflections, sharp and pretty accurate colors. This is not RGB screen level, but good enough for basic photo editing and very good for text (that not always correct for color accurate screens).
===========================
They should work on keyboard and touchpad. Will be great to have high quality RGB screen... Lenovo used good materials, very solid build - but keyboard is not accurate and sensitive enough (missing letters all the time), touchpad is well... not good. I use mouse all the time, so no problems - but road warriors may suffer.
============================
Bottom line : very solid, reliable and flexible business laptop. Fast, quality made, with some keyboard/touchpad issues
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Get it done

Date: January 13, 2015
" I am interested in a good solid workhorse laptop that can go anywhere, be light, have lots of storage, be easy to work with and have at least a little bit of elegance. I used ThinkPads prior to 2000 when I changed to Dell laptops which enjoyed. I recently made the switch back to ThinkPads and this T440s is a great solid machine that has everything I want to get the job done. Because it is all about the job and not so much about the coolness of the technology. Big hard drive, lots of memory, great display, awesome keyboard (I forgot how much I missed that), light and an understated elegance. The always on USB is good for charging my phone when I need it, just the right number of ports, and what seems to be a sturdy case. I have never been a fan of the red track stick or of the pads but they work in a pinch; you can't beat a BT mouse. Overall a great machine (had it for 3 weeks now) and I am impressed with the overall package. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Recovery media and OS licensing needs work

Date: January 10, 2015
" Generally satisfied with Lenovo hardware. New touchpad design takes some getting used to.
Biggest issue is with support. Recovery media is only provided in DVD format, but series no longer has a DVD option to bundle with the laptop. This effectively prevents customers from upgrading to Windows 8 with Lenovo's recovery media unless an external optical drive is purchased. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

T440s

Date: January 8, 2015
" I was so excited to get this new laptop. I reviewed so many others online, but since this was voted the best business laptop, I chose it.
I absolutely hate it. The trackpad is awful. I get frustrated and mad every time I use my new laptop now.
It's embarassing when I cannot figure out how to edit a word document because the trackpad wants to do whatever it wants. It shouldn't be that difficult to use or figure out.
I want a refund. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Business Laptop

Date: January 8, 2015
" I purhcased and returned three other laptops before finding lenovo thinkpads. They are a bit more expensive then a best buy or amazon computer but they work. They have the built in security chip (and their customer service people actually knows what that means). In my opinion you NEED to make at least two upgrades - Increase to a 6 cell battery for 10+ hours travel time, and Add a solid state hard drive. Downsides, touchscreen upgrade is $300 or $350 depending on the model and there is no HDMI port. As a consolation you get 3 USB 3.0 ports. Only owned for a week now but if this holds up I will be coming back for more thinkpads. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid computing

Date: January 5, 2015
" The T series has always been the best of the bunch. The T440s is no exception. The touchpad takes some getting used to but the features it adds once you learn what it is capable of are phenomenal. It has plenty of punch to take on the programs and games I have installed on it with ease. It is lightweight and has great battery life so mobility is easy. The new style power connection is much sturdier than the older connector and the touch screen is very responsive. Overall I am very happy with my purchase. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Amazing purchase but touchpad is a little annoying

Date: January 5, 2015
" Hi my name is Mendy Oirechman and I got a Lenovo T440s for my father and overall I am very satisfied with it it has a very processor at a good price and it's very well built and I like it very much the touchpad is a little annoying just because it's too complicated if you ask me in my opinion it should just be a regular touchpad and it's a great ultra book if you ask me the Lenovo solution center is especially helpfull. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Strength, light weight and efficient

Date: January 5, 2015
" Pros:
- light weight
- good config. almost the best amongst laptops with same size
- good batteries and long chrarge lasting
Cons:
- design and shape is very basic
- sound system gets a little bit noisy in high volumes
- every time it statrs up, after logging in to windows system experinces a glitch. Screen turns off and gets on in less than a second.
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Love my new Thinkpad

Date: January 5, 2015
" I have been a devoted ThinkPad user for decades and my new ThinkPad is fast, easy to use, and lightweight. LOVE IT! "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Love this product

Date: January 5, 2015
" Can't say enough words about this Thinkpad T440. Worth buying. Would recommend all T Series which has really good hardware in those. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Ditto on the "going backward" comments

Date: January 4, 2015
" Have been close to throwing this contraption through the window for all of the reasons in the last review. So clumsy and frustrating. Touch pad is beyond hope re utlility and ease of function. Horrific design. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good product

Date: January 2, 2015
" I would say everything is good (or excellent) about T440s except for its click pad which is really disappointing. But it' not a major problem because you can always use a mouse. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Love the laptop, but not all of the free software

Date: January 2, 2015
" I purchase this laptop because my office gave me one for work and I loved it that much that I purchased one for my personal use. The only thing that I can honestly say that I didn't like was some of the "free" software that was preloaded, like the Nitro Pro 9, Marxthon Cloud and Vimeo. I already had similar software and I didn't appreciate having to remove them. Vimeo specifically was "pushing" me to their site for app purchases instead of using the Microsoft store. Nitro is a competitor of Adobe and after the free trial of Nitro you end up having to download the free Adobe software anyway. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid Laptop

Date: January 1, 2015
" Been using the laptop for about a month now. It's been working great and haven't had any issues. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Amazing except mouse/trackpad

Date: December 31, 2014
" Great performance and amazing sleek form factor. But the trackpad is no good. When typing it gets hit by my palms and the trackpoint is useless because there are no buttons...and the multitouch does not work as one.
If they change the mouse back it'd be a 5. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Almost Perfect

Date: December 30, 2014
" The T440S is a very nice laptop. Fast, light weight, nice screen, very nice back-lit keyboard, super fast start-up. The one MAJOR issue is the trackpad. My wife previously had the ThinkPad Edge and I/we strongly prefer the old trackpad and dedicated mouse buttons. This unit ships with settings that almost make the laptop unusable for internet surfing/browsing. The problem is gesture settings which automatically zoom in and out when least desired. Since I have turned off the zooming gesture, the laptop is working much better, but I still am not a big fan of the new trackpad. This laptop with the old Edge trackpad and dedicated mouse buttons would be phenomenal. I would suggest getting a nice Bluetooth mouse and/or spending a lot of time fine tuning the mouse settings on the laptop prior to heavy use. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Review for T400s

Date: December 30, 2014
" Loved everything about this notebook until... picking it up in your hands just felt nice, almost a mac experience in both design and feel. Thin, light, and keys feel oh so nice! But the main problem was with the trackpad. immediately pressing it you could tell this was not of the same Lenovo quality one would expect! just a giant sized low quality button. My 13 year old asked me if something was wrong with it. Hard to believe someone thought this was a good idea.
This guy says it all in his review and I hope Lenovo pays attention because he hits the nail on the head. Warning: reviewer uses a lot of profanity, but well worth the watch.
Note: I returned my T440s even though I really need one now for consulting. I am hoping they get the next one right!
Note: the prices for this notebook are great so if you can look past the trackpad I say go ahead and buy one.
Check out the review:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jb7p3VkQCOo
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great machine but two issues

Date: December 29, 2014
" I've used ThinkPads for many years for the solid physical construction and reliability. This time I went for the lightweight but still high powered model.
There was much to like such as the the compute performance, low weight, strong battery life.
But two significant issues: 1) WiFi is highly unreliable and sporadically fails and needs to be reset. Hopefully an updated driver will fix this soon. 2) TrackPad is no good. It feels cheap and having to push down a corner for mouse clicks rather than having buttons is a disaster for users like me who don't use a mouse. I can't believe this made it through usability testing.
"