Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440s

Average customer rating:
3.611 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(342 Reviews) 342
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (342 reviews)
5 stars
116
4 stars
89
3 stars
65
2 stars
32
1 star
40
210 of 342(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best purchase

Date: December 17, 2014
" Wonderful "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent laptop

Date: December 13, 2014
" This is my 4th Thinkpad laptop. Everything is what I expected after I did the research about it. I own X200, X220 & T420. All my Thinkpad laptops are reliable and still working. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Awesome feaures and very useful for travelers

Date: December 12, 2014
" started replacing my laptop users with the Lenovo Thinkpad T440s and I'm not disappointed.
Fast, lightweight and having excellent internal and external battery, this notebook will become your best tool and it will improve your productivity.
Highly recommended, you will not go wrong with a Lenovo laptop "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good, with some flaws.

Date: December 11, 2014
" Essentially the T440s is excellent, but for the money you spend, it's still a bit rough around the edges. For instance, until you have the drivers fully upgraded (run Lenovo Updates, then run the Windows Update drivers), the Synaptics trackpad / trackpoint combination is perversely unreliable and is essentially unusable. Even with updates, the middle button scroll is erratic.
Second, the T440s is ridiculously lightweight on internal battery only. However, on this mode, the T440s' battery life is cut down to around 3-4 hours, so it might be better if the internal battery were upsized to 4 cell and the default small battery were 2 cell instead. Beyond that, there is no battery cover; it would be great to be able to run the T440s with battery cover only.
Lastly, the keyboard surface does not give sufficient traction and one's fingers slip constantly. Perhaps it would be good for it to have a textured surface. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Frustrated

Date: December 9, 2014
" I've only used the computer for a week now so maybe I just need to get used to it. I am having a ton of trouble navigating with the touch pad. I tried to refine it in the control panel but it is just not user friendly. Cursor jumps all over and the dragging challenging to handle. My wrists were killing me after using it for the first day. Also the click of the touch bad is really deep and makes a little noise. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Live and learn (T440S I7)

Date: December 8, 2014
" I wish I would have done more research prior to purchasing the T440S. It performs as it should but is pricey for what you get and I needed something quick because I had been hired on with a new employer who told me to go out and purchase what I needed to set up my work station. The idea was to run with a good processor, enough RAM memory with a SSD. The challenge was doing this in a dock-able package so I could set up to work from home on occasion.
Unfortunately I didn't have time to research what I needed and I ran out to find what I knew which was a Think Pad format. Now that I have had a few months to look around and think I should have at least shopped the unit pricing down because $2,400.00 is just too much for this box. If I had been smarter about my set-up I would be working from a Microsoft Surface Pro 3 with the I7 processor and 512SSD using their dock with multiple monitors. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Going backwards

Date: December 8, 2014
" Why does Lenovo keep on worsening a great product line?
Why is the keyboard layout completely screwed up in recent models, instead of the standard design we had up to the T400?
Where did the physical Ultranav buttons go? The new ones are an ergonomic catastrophy.
Where did the lock on the display lid go?
Where did the status LEDs go?
Where did the Thinklight go? It had so many more uses than just to shine light on the keyboard...
Why do I need tools to open the UltraBay?
Why do all the electronics reside on a single PCB now, making replacement of faulty hardware expensive?
Is it all to save 10 bucks in production cost per unit? It is a true shame where the Thinkpads are going. They used to be business machines. I switched from the current T440 back to a T420, and I hope it will run for a long time. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Good Purchase

Date: December 7, 2014
" I got the Lenovo T440s and it is probably the best laptop I have owned. I like it way better then my previous laptop (which in fact was a Macbook).
The features are great. Does take a little getting used to but the overall result is great. Love using it. Very portable, also has a very long battery life which I love.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good laptop

Date: December 7, 2014
" Overall it is a good laptop. With additional memory and better version of the processor this machine is very quick. The only issue I have its the windows 8.1. Some of the apps are not working how it supposed to,lets say netflix. I like the big touch pad. It is very easy to move around the screen, and do all the windows tasks. I don't use red dot joysticks too much so I don't care about the middle button on the touch pad. Keyboard back light is nice, but sometimes when you sit at different angle, the light from under the keyboard is just pounding in to your eyes. Finger scan security works great, you can register multiple fingers. I would give 5 stars, but windows 8.1 need to be fixed. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenova

Date: December 5, 2014
" So far so good. It is now my main business computer so I only use it at the office. It has been fast and reliable thus far. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Save your money

Date: December 5, 2014
" I've used Thinkpads for the last 17 years and this is by far the worst laptop I've ever used. The computer freezes at least once per week. The keyboard doesn't have well defined right and left click buttons they are both embedded on the built in mouse. Its horrible, i'll never buy another thinkpad with this same set up. Very disappointed in the overall product, especially for the price. Much better thinkpads available than the T440s. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

good laptop, I don't like track point

Date: December 4, 2014
" They've made a bad mistake with that track point. I don't like how heavy the button for the mouse is. I rarely use the track point anymore because of how badly it has been designed in this version.
Also, the wireless internet keeps disconnecting all of a sudden for no reason.
I would have really liked that laptop if it wasn't for the above cases I mentioned. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Never believe in Lenovo

Date: December 4, 2014
" 1.The sound of hard disk is really large, continuously! I need to change it to SSD.
2.The OS is crashed the next day I received it. The screen shows "Please wait" for an hour and I can only forced shutdown!
By the way, my friend who also purchased it during the Thanksgiving day found problems in her keyboard.
I will never buy any products from Lenovo again! "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great product!

Date: December 2, 2014
" This laptop is an absolute perfect machine other than the horrible touchpad. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Track pad makes way too much noise

Date: December 2, 2014
" We just got at T440s and when you click on the tack pad it makes a really loud clicking sound. It is really disturbing to people nearby. It is very noticeable in meetings. Not sure how this cheap sounding component is being utilized on what is otherwise a nice machine. I would consider another laptop before buying this one, just because of the sound it makes. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Office & Home UltraBook

Date: November 30, 2014
" Lenovo did it again. T440S is one of the BEST Lenovo product that I owned after X301, T60 & T41.
Keyboard I love it………………………. No other brands can match it.
Lenovo may need to improve touchpad similar to other UltraBooks.
My T440S Configuration:
Performance: i7 CPU
OS: Windows 7
SSD: 512GB
RAM: 12GB DDR3
My T60 is still going strong after 10 years of daily use. No other brand can survive that kind of daily usage from multiple members.
My T41 is still going strong after 13 years of daily use. No other brand can survive that kind of daily usage from multiple members. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very strong and light laptop

Date: November 30, 2014
" Liked the keyboard, the style of the laptop. It is relatively light for it's features. Very powerful machine that I would definitely recommend to a friend.
Less liked the touch pad, after using the old style touch pad, a little strange that the whole pad moves when I just right\left click it.
The price is also wasn't the strong point (expensive).
Overall, reliable business laptop! "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great machine

Date: November 29, 2014
" Very fast, very light. Solid construction. Great keyboard. A great product. Will recommend to everyone. Lenovo is great to do business with. Arrived on time. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Thinkpad T440s

Date: November 28, 2014
" I received the T440s about a month ago to replace my aging T410. I initially was not going to purchase this computer based on all the negative comments. However, after looking at other company offerings I could not find one that I liked better. To address some of the negative comments: First, I am not a big fan of the new trackpad but it does work. It just takes some getting used to. I use an external mouse most of the time now where I never used an external mouse on my T410. I also miss the status lights. Removing them was also a mistake in my opinion. The bottom line - I am very happy with this computer so far and I am very glad that I did not listen to all the negative posts. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Mostly Excellent

Date: November 26, 2014
" I am quite happy with my ThinkPad T440. I write a lot and the keyboard is very comfortable. I like the tracking stick, though I prefer the wireless mouse. My only two beefs are that the right-click section of the track pad is unreliable. Also the shift key doesn't consistently give me capital letters. Other than that, it is quick and, with the exception of the two elements above (one of which is easily remedied with my wireless mouse) I am completely satisfied. "