Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440s

Average customer rating:
3.587 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(269 Reviews) 269
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (269 reviews)
5 stars
91
4 stars
66
3 stars
53
2 stars
28
1 star
31
165 of 269(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

I miss you Dell

Date: August 28, 2014
"Have used a dell for the previous 8 years before the company began transitioning. Initial experience is very disheartening. Noticeable system instability issues compared to dell. Had the capability to run duo 80MB files on a dell and now have my Thinkpad regularly crashing with 36kb files.
I also am an avid user of the Ctrl key in excel. I still dont understand why a company would move the Ctrl key. I can see thy corrected this on the higher end models."
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ConsultantMan

Be Empowered

Date: August 25, 2014
"Switching over from a Mac and yes, for good. The 440S is faster quitter and much lighter than my mac book pro.
Its a machine that you can start office apps, in a second, literally.
It is quiet, you never hear the fan, its light, remove the extra battery and it becomes super light.
This is the best laptop i have ever had."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LosAngeles

TP used to be a trendsetter, not a follower...

Date: August 21, 2014
"Since I use several Thinkpads professionally and at home, my upgrades have allowed me use every model since the T60. Thinkpad has a rich history of innovation; however, there appears to be some initiative to consumerize or mainstream the product through its redesign; however, for your enterprise business users, this has resulted in a reduction of utility. Case in point, the replacement of the physical Trackpoint buttons with a single Trackpad is not an effective design. (See your customer forums for extensive discussions of this topic.) Is this why Lenovo has its own line of computers for this type of experimentation? Leave Thinkpad alone. If I wanted a Mac, I would have bought one.
I really like my T440s, it's silent as can be, super fast, excellent display, everything perfect, except that horrible mouse. I HATE that. Give us back the physical mouse buttons and I'll be happy.
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prash

Why no button on touchpad?

Date: August 18, 2014
"I have been using thinkpad machines for quite a while. Love the size and portability of 440s, but the no button on touchpad is extremely annoying. reallly bad design. right click never works correctly because the pointer moves. tried all options, but in vain."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewer6

Initial Review

Date: August 15, 2014
"My initial thoughts on the T440s is that the laptop feels solid and sturdy when you pick it up, but the track pad has to be one of the worst around. It feels cheap and even sounds cheap when you click it. It takes a while to even feel comfortable using it. The rest of the laptop seems great! The keyboard feels great to type on, it starts up from off or sleep very fast. The fan is barely noticeable. I like the fact that you can do a hot swappable battery exchange. I purchased the 3 cell and 6 cell so battery life is not an issue. Overall I think the T440s will be good, I am just not sure what Lenovo were thinking with this track pad!!! I just hope it lasts as long as the rest of the laptop."
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KKaurin

Review of T440s

Date: July 20, 2014
"When moving from a T510 to this new T440s, there are a few things I had to get used to.
Negative:
Smaller screen and smaller text.
Price was pretty high because everything is maxed out.
The new touch pad is a good large size, but removing the buttons at the top is a step backward. Sometimes when I use the trackpoint the left mouse button on the touch pad doesn't register because my thumb is too close to the middle button area. This can be frustrating. The buttons up top on my t510 were better.
Positive: light weight. Amazing battery life! I love being more mobile, knowing that I have about 17 hours at my disposal.
I ordered the fastest i7, 12gb memory, and 512 gb ssd. It is very responsive and fast. Yet it has never heated up.
The touch screen is responsive, but windows 8.1 takes a while to get used to.
Great keyboard & backlight.
Wish: If they would morph this into a 14 inch yoga type model, it would be an even better laptop/tablet.
Overall, I'm satisfied and a happy customer!
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CiscoKid85

Horrible track/click pad

Date: July 19, 2014
"Lenovo took a perfectly good laptop and ruined it with the integrated track/click pad. I don't know why companies insist on following Apple down this path. It's a huge sacrifice to usability and ergonomics. I would stay away from the T440's and buy a use T430 on eBay. Better value/$ and you get the added benefit of the old (easier to use) click/track pad."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sunny

Thinkpad T540p

Date: July 18, 2014
"Had some issues regarding sleep function, but was resolved by updating the Graphic Card Driver and mainly the Fingerprint reader driver. Since then its quite awesome."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mryanaz

T440P

Date: July 18, 2014
"I am a long-time TP fan so my bias is generally positive. The build quality is great. Sturdy but without lots of weight. I am very happy with my choice. I was not pleased with Windows 8 but 8.1 has helped a lot. Bit of an issues with TrackPoint. I now have it working without going to sleep but it still lags a lot; button pushes are not immediately reflected on-screen. Will continue to look for a better driver."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
knd115

Great machine!

Date: July 17, 2014
"This computer was given to me as a healthcare provider to use. I did not personally purchase it so I can not review pricing and promotions. However, the computer is a good size. A little heavy, but I am not sure if they added and extended life battery which may have increased the weight. Keyboard is easy to use. I do not use the touch screen very often as we still use windows 7. The pen takes some getting used to as that is not unusual for any device. Overall great machine. I do not like the matte black on the outside as it always looks dirty and keeps finger prints."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NIRC

NIRC

Date: July 16, 2014
"It's a little heavy with the larger battery, but the lug is worth the benefits of this top-notch little honey."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kansas

First laptop I have purchased

Date: July 15, 2014
"Still getting use to it but am quite satisfied at this point."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnG

Finally, an ultrabook that REALLY docks

Date: July 15, 2014
"The best notebook I've ever owned, EXCEPT for the lack of mouse buttons to go with the trackpoint. My briefcase would be half a pound lighter, but I have to carry a mouse because the touchpad as mouse buttons doesn't work. In ALL other respects, however - you can't pry it out of my hands unless Lenovo comes out with a new model with real buttons, in which case I'll be first in line (as long as it works with a real dock). I've had to buy 5 more when the senior execs saw it."
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phil

The worst laptop I ever had

Date: July 14, 2014
"I had to replace my $2K Lenovo laptop for the third time!
- some keyboard keys don't return smoothly
- no internet access if you plug-in network cable and have also Wi-fi on, need to restart the computer
- stops charging randomly
- no way to see if the laptop is charging or not when not on, not even a simple indicator on the AC charger!
- touchpad is the worst thing on the laptop - no way to select a text easily, not user friendly, doesn't work as a regular touchpad with left/right buttons
- long wait for customer service and tech support,
- and many other little issues
If you are looking for a user friendly product to stay productive, this is not a laptop for you.
I will never buy a Lenovo laptop again!
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
proprod

Tablet 2

Date: July 14, 2014
"Just gets a little slow at times, the problem is having a hotrod laptop mostly and then stepping back a bit to the tablet. Great Portability."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chicagogal

Great tablet

Date: July 14, 2014
"I have been using this Lenovo Thinkpad for about a month now. It is a great tablet so far. I can print from this tablet with wireless printer I have. It is very close to laptop. There is a USB port for thump drive but cannot connect to an external hard/DVD drive. The other complain I have is no Word or Excel included so I cannot open doc or xls document."
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DanR

Had serious software problems starting up

Date: July 12, 2014
"Tablet comes with Windows 8 but has a free upgrade to Windows 8.1. Initially software requires that you upgrade windows 8 before you can upgrade to 8.1. My tablet would not download and install the Windows 8 files. On attempting, it would fail and attempt to roll back to previous version and would get stuck. I had to restore system to initial packaging 3 different times. Finally I searched on line and found numerous articles about this problem and after much hit and miss trying of various fixes, finally got 8.1 to load and upgrade. Tablet works fine now so far but for the first week, it was a most frustrating experience. Lenova has to know of this problem but has not fixed it yet."
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
joer

touch screen+track point+pad = confusion

Date: July 11, 2014
"I just returned the T440s after owning it for 1 month. I am a consultant and have always had a think pad. I decided to try the t440s with touch screen and I had such a bad experience that just returned it. On the plus side it has amazing battery life, supper quiet and fast. on the down side. try widening a row in excel and forget it, all of the pluses go away. If you do alot of excel and power point this is not the laptop for you!"
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luis

Why walk away from a good thing.

Date: July 11, 2014
"I believe that they finally got it right with the X230T. I had previous versions of the concept; X61, X200, X201, and upgraded for business reasons as needed.
In fact my business is expanding and a bought up five (5) units. Because Lenovo is no longer selling or supporting the units beyond the manufacturer warranty, I purchases extended warranties from the online vendor.
The X230 runs cooler, longer (I get eight (8) hours of use on my i7), and remains a robust frame. Why on earth Lenovo would abandon such a product makes no sense to me.
I recommend the x230 without any reservations. I hope that Lenovo will have a change of mind regarding product support."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Toolman

Excellent machine

Date: July 11, 2014
"Best computer I've had, out of 10 or so. Fast, easy keyboard. Only issue is touch pad moves off point before you click. Works fine with a mouse."