Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440s

Average customer rating:
3.582 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(411 Reviews) 411
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (411 reviews)
5 stars
135
4 stars
113
3 stars
69
2 stars
44
1 star
50
254 of 411(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Laptop User Interface

Date: June 23, 2015
" As usual every new thinkpad version has more problems as compared to its previous versions.
Power on button moved to corner. You must be used to not keeping your fingers there while holding the laptop or else shutdown.
Basic functions keys from 1 to 10 has been made as secondary even though they are more frequently used. So now you have to press function key i.e. 3 keys at once to use the basic functionality.
lenovo thinks people use more of the multimedia keys rather then basic operation keys.
Mousepad also very bad with just one plate used for all mouse functions and you need to practice it before getting used to it. No separate mouse keys provided.
Battery also is of bad quality and getting worn much faster then 430s.
Looks like lenovo has its own logic and its laptop standards is made not with customers preference but customers are expected to change their preference to adopt Lenovo standards.
Lenovo designs its laptops user interface not by experts but by some cobbler/sweepers.
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Replacement for my old DELL 13.1

Date: June 16, 2015
" In general I like it. I did not realize the T440s was 2 year old technology. Battery life is poor, 5 hours.
I like the feel and the layout. Weight is great. Screen good.
The built in support messages are poor. It tells me there is a missing driver and gives me a number but does not tell me the device.
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst purchase ever

Date: June 2, 2015
" I was forced to buy this computer by my school, and I will never willingly buy another Lenovo computer again in my entire life. Crashes all the time, takes forever to start up, even from sleep mode, and is extremely susceptible to viruses. I only give it a 1 star rating because 0 stars isn't an option. If you're looking to buy a computer, DO NOT buy this one.
Sent from my iPhone "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

ThinkPad T440

Date: June 2, 2015
" Fast little machine. Compact, lightweight and slim - exactly what I was looking for. The keyboard is more comfortable and easier to type on than my desktop keyboard. Would highly recommend! "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good choice

Date: May 26, 2015
" This is my second thinkpad (previous one was stIll an IBM). I absolutely loved it - it was upgradable and pretty much indestructible. My number one requirement with the new PC was that it was reliable/high quality. Looking at the other reviews of the t440s I was very concerned about getting a bad screen or hating the touchpad. I was also considering switching to a Mac since they tend to be reliable and I use the PC for personal use only. In the end the Mac just didn't feel sturdy enough or look like it could take a beating like the thinkpad (I travel A LOT). The model I got has a wonderful screen (the colors are a bit too saturated and I need to adjust that). It's very light and quiet. The battery lasts longer than expected and the PC doesn't heat up at all. The touchpad takes getting used to but I do not understand the big deal some people are making. The keyboard of course is wonderful. I still need to go through the programs to get rid of the bloatware. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

verygoodperformance

Date: May 24, 2015
" Stable and light. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Business Computer So Far

Date: May 15, 2015
" I wouldn't purchase without a recommended solid state HD. Like my title states, best business laptop I have ever handled. Light, sturdy, fast, sleek.
Lenovo features make updates and monitoring system fast & easy. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Purchase!

Date: May 13, 2015
" Just recieved my new T440s last week, very easy to set up.. I Love that machine is very slim & light weight, not heavy and bulky..which is very convenient for on-the-go..Battery life is impeccable.. Don't have to charge for hours!! Only feature that I'm not too fond of is the touchpad on this model but I will eventually get use to it.. overall I think this is a very sleek & well designed machine for my needs. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

To new to tell

Date: May 7, 2015
" So far this product is fantastic, however every laptop I have ever owned is great for the first 3 months. I will post another review after using the laptop for a few months. I LOVE IT SO FAR! The processor is unreal, the weight is very low, the graphics are good so far. I will be using this as a "GO TO" computer so it will be my desktop and my laptop so we shall see. I am also using a 3D modeling package so I am curios to see if it is bogged down. Let the challenge begin. Check back in 3 months and I will tell you if its a paperweight or true engineering TOOL! "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Wifi issues

Date: April 24, 2015
" Everything was working until the annual warranty ran out. Thought it was the modem or router--bought new ones. Still, The wi-fi and Ethernet connectivity is spotty. Such that I seem to clog all other pcs on any network I'm on. Shutting the wi-fi off/on is the only cure, but it keeps recurring every 20 min or so. When I'm on networks with Apple products, it just slows them way down until I disconnect/reconnect. All drivers are updated. Will try to replace the wireless card and see if that fixes it. Grrr "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Another fantastic computer -

Date: April 24, 2015
" but for some reason, we keep going backwards. Lenovo still makes the best machines. and I love my new 440s, but like my T431s it has no buttons that I can use with the truly awesome trackpoint and keyboard. The lack of ESata that my three previous thinkpads featured means my major database copies and images take much, much longer. This is a great computer - if I didn't have to carry a Bluetooth mouse just for the buttons. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Laptop, Bad Wifi

Date: April 20, 2015
" I love most of this laptop. Good Build Quality, great screen, enough ports. HDMI would have been nice.
Unfortunately I purchased this laptop for its Linux compatibility. I read quite a bit about Lenovo taking pride in the Linux support. Unfortunately it did not have the Intel Centrino wifi adapter. Sadly it had the very poor Realtek RTL8192EE which has issues connecting to wifi in linux, and no real driver support. I have to use a USB adapter because of it.
I love everything about this laptop. Except that.
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointed

Date: April 9, 2015
" My previous 2 laptops were Lenovos. My last one, T420s, was a great machine. I so I did not hesitate to upgrade to T440s when I needed a laptop. I can only say that this has been a frustrating and totally disappointing experience. My 2 big problems have been the touch pad which works poorly, requiring multiple taps tin the upper left to get it to respond. Their wifi connectivity is also inferior. When my laptop has been idle, the connection just doesn't go dormant-it gets lost totally. The Lenovo Access connections utility can't "find" my wireless router forcing me to restart the computer. Both of these ar productivity killers "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Touchpad right and left click buttons difficult

Date: April 7, 2015
" I picked up the T440s in December. I wanted something lighter than my T520.
Pros: The light weight is nice. About half. The screen resolution is better, I am still adjusting to the smaller screen. The keyboard seems more responsive and easier to type on.
Cons: The right and left click buttons are built into the touch pad. To make the clicks work, you have to touch the upper outside of the touchpad. That makes the right and left click buttons twice as far apart than my T520.
The left click button on the touchpad has had troubles and finally gave up. I have to use an external mouse now to be able to work. I called in for service (I have onsite next day) It has been a week now and they are still trying to find a replacement part! Since I fly a lot for work, that means I can not do work until they find and put in the part.
The touchpad is really sensitive, and it will make the mouse move around while I am trying to type. I turned it off and still am getting movement. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Purchase ever

Date: April 3, 2015
" Its the best computer that I ever had "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Terrible computer

Date: March 29, 2015
" I have had this computer for a year, and it has been a problem from the start. The sales team was fantastic, but the good experience stopped the minute the PC arrived. First of all the "buttons" on the touchpad don't work - 50% of the time the right button doesn't click - so I had to get a mouse. Ridiculous. I had network adapter problems right after the computer arrived, and tech support knows nothing. My local computer company finally fixed the problem for free (because it was so simple). About a month after purchase, the screen started to fail. I have a vertical white line down the centre of the screen, and now a year after purchase, two additional ones are appearing. I could have it fixed under warranty, but I would lose work time. Now, a year after purchase, 2 of the USB ports won't recognize devices that are plugged in.
This is the least reliable laptop I have ever had, and the cost to me, as a sole proprietor, is work-time. I would never recommend a ThinkPad. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid Purchase

Date: March 28, 2015
" I especially love the dual battery system which allows me to switch the removable battery without loosing power. I only wish I had purchased a touch screen version. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Having a bad experience with t440s

Date: March 27, 2015
" I bought this laptop over apple's MAC about 10 months ago (USA). During this period I've had numerous problems with this laptop :- this laptop has Wi-Fi problem ( Wi-Fi drops frequently, sometimes even stops responding ), the LCD is not strong enough (it looks like manufacturing defects), the battery also doesn't last long, and mostly the OS is very buggy. I take care of my laptop very much-- I don't install unnecessary programs., I don't even visit unnecessary websites, but still I had to format t440s 3 times & reinstall windows because of multiple issues. Also, The Blue Screen of Death is normal on this laptop. Sometimes in the middle of programing, BSD appears and Boom!!!! "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid laptop, but...

Date: March 26, 2015
" I made this the standard Windows laptop for the company because I think the Thinkpad T series still has the best keyboard around, and is also one of the few product lines that still has a trackpoint. My previous company used the T430 as the Windows laptop for the same reason. I like the low weight and build quality seems good. However, we've encountered several downgrades in the "upgrade" to the T440S.
1) The clickpad, which is poor at best (travel seems too long, poor responsiveness especially when right clicking). To be fair, it seems to read gestures reasaonably well. I've largely adjusted to it, but it is an ongoing irritant.
2) Elimination of dedicated buttons for the trackpoint (same issues with responsiveness)
3) Wifi issues - seems that you need to uninstallthe Intel Proset software, then reinstall the drivers to get the wifi card to work properly after waking up the machine from sleep. Other users have been having bewildering wifi-related issues as well
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

T440s downhill

Date: March 23, 2015
" Have been ordering and supporting Lenovo machines for 8 years (over a thousand in this timeframe)- very disappointed with the T440s - The T430s were great - The T440s has issues with frequently coming up to black screen - (issue not related to the Microsoft critical update causing similar) - loss of the optical drive was too soon for Business uses and the UltraNav touchpad needs separate buttons again (bouncing around in a truck or train while using the machine is difficult enough) "