Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440s

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad T440s

Average customer rating:
3.567 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(420 Reviews) 420
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (420 reviews)
5 stars
137
4 stars
113
3 stars
72
2 stars
47
1 star
51
257 of 419(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Englewood, NJ, United States

I tossed a post it

Date: January 12, 2016
" I tossed a post it on the keyboard and 3 keys flew off. Now I have to purchase a new keyboard. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX, United States

Problem

Date: November 9, 2015
" I bought it in January. Now am having problems and sent it for repair. The problem (a series of four beeps when I take it off the ThinkPad dock) is still there. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Thinkpad or Stinkpad

Date: October 16, 2015
" I had a T520 for 5 years and loved the computer. It never failed me and I abused the computer dropping it on to cobblestone streets from 5 feet, running it 10-14 hours every day of the week and tossing it around like some old shoe. But after 5 years I was running out of hard drive space and thought before I have a hard drive failure it was time to move on. I got a T440 with a 1Terabite HD Windows 7Pro & 16Gig of RAM. This new T440 will now be known as the stinkpad and I will compare it against the T520 known as the thinkpad
Great touch pad thinkpad yes stinkpad no
HDMI on new stinkpad – no
Nice LED to light up keyboard on overnight flights thinkpad yes stinkpad no
Excellent battery life without having to ramp-back screen brightness and performance Thinkpad yes stinkpad no
Great keyboard layout thinkpad yes stinkpad no
Trying to think of ways to get rid of computer even though it is only 5 months old stinkpad yes thinkpad no
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Lenovo Notebook EVER!!!

Date: October 3, 2015
" I am IT professional, using this for calculations, presentations of reports etc.
This notebook is totally unusable:
- not responsive CLICK BUTTONS - HOW COULD YOU HAVE PRODUCED THIS TOUCHPAD WITHOUT MOUSE NOT USABLE
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Business Laptop

Date: September 6, 2015
" This laptop is perfect for anyone who need plenty of quick power in a thin laptop. Not only does this have power, but many multimedia ports, making this great for someone who is mobile and needs to be able to connect to external monitors etc. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slower than expected

Date: September 4, 2015
" I think this is a great machine from a size and weight standpoint and the screen is also quite good. But beyond spreadsheets and other office applications, it did not have the horsepower I needed.
Adobe Lightroom runs very slowly and that is a real disappointment, since I travel and use this for photography when on the road. I am not sure if an i7 chip would make it work better, but this one is pretty bad.
So for basics, it is OK, for photography, it is below par. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Slowest, worst computer I've ever bought

Date: September 2, 2015
" It is a complete piece of trash that is slower than the basic e420 model. Would not recommend to anyone, and complete waste of money. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Frustrating to operate

Date: September 1, 2015
" The good:
- lightweight
- good battery time
- keyboard easy to type on
- Screen clear
The frustrating:
- the touchpad. When left or right clicking, you have to hit it just right. When concentrating on developing text graphics, you may have to hit the touchpad multiple times. I had it replaced and sensitivity adjusted. It almost went airborne a few times.
- If I have outlook, internet open, three word documents, then try to open another document, it will show it as a shadow on the info bar. I have to close something to open the new document. I have had slower machines with less memory respond better.
- I keep finding preloaded apps to turn off or to takeoff.
- I wanted to try a lighter weight machine to carry around. This unit is light, but the screen is too small for me (that was my bad) and it is missing a CD drive (also my bad) but is frustrating.
If I could turn this in for a different machine, I would "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Expensive for what you get!

Date: July 30, 2015
" At approx 1.200 euro and with an i5 one would expect a laptop that would be reliable, fast, easy & intuitive to use....
After 3months of normal use, it started producing scripts, slowed down considerably...
Complete recovery did not improve performance considerably....
Should I be better off with a lower cost one? Feature that triggered my purchase decision was low weight, but is that enough to pay such a price?
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Company laptop

Date: July 24, 2015
" It is a good laptop. Light, good battery life, but still a bit slow for me "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

More bugs than any computer I've owned.

Date: July 9, 2015
" I've been using the T440s for 18 months for business and pleasure. It sees use every single day. I like the look and feel of the Lenovo. The hardware appears to be made to last and looks professional.
The bad? I've had problems with glitches almost from day one. Most notably, the touchpad no longer works. I use a mouse. Also, the computer is also prone to freezing up, it's slow to start up from sleep or "off". The wifi interface regularly fails to connect to available networks.
It came installed with Windows 7 Pro. I'm looking forward to trying Windows 10 to see if it runs better.
I probably wont be buying another Lenovo. Not worth the premium price. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Worst Laptop User Interface

Date: June 23, 2015
" As usual every new thinkpad version has more problems as compared to its previous versions.
Power on button moved to corner. You must be used to not keeping your fingers there while holding the laptop or else shutdown.
Basic functions keys from 1 to 10 has been made as secondary even though they are more frequently used. So now you have to press function key i.e. 3 keys at once to use the basic functionality.
lenovo thinks people use more of the multimedia keys rather then basic operation keys.
Mousepad also very bad with just one plate used for all mouse functions and you need to practice it before getting used to it. No separate mouse keys provided.
Battery also is of bad quality and getting worn much faster then 430s.
Looks like lenovo has its own logic and its laptop standards is made not with customers preference but customers are expected to change their preference to adopt Lenovo standards.
Lenovo designs its laptops user interface not by experts but by some cobbler/sweepers.
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Replacement for my old DELL 13.1

Date: June 16, 2015
" In general I like it. I did not realize the T440s was 2 year old technology. Battery life is poor, 5 hours.
I like the feel and the layout. Weight is great. Screen good.
The built in support messages are poor. It tells me there is a missing driver and gives me a number but does not tell me the device.
"
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst purchase ever

Date: June 2, 2015
" I was forced to buy this computer by my school, and I will never willingly buy another Lenovo computer again in my entire life. Crashes all the time, takes forever to start up, even from sleep mode, and is extremely susceptible to viruses. I only give it a 1 star rating because 0 stars isn't an option. If you're looking to buy a computer, DO NOT buy this one.
Sent from my iPhone "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ThinkPad T440

Date: June 2, 2015
" Fast little machine. Compact, lightweight and slim - exactly what I was looking for. The keyboard is more comfortable and easier to type on than my desktop keyboard. Would highly recommend! "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good choice

Date: May 26, 2015
" This is my second thinkpad (previous one was stIll an IBM). I absolutely loved it - it was upgradable and pretty much indestructible. My number one requirement with the new PC was that it was reliable/high quality. Looking at the other reviews of the t440s I was very concerned about getting a bad screen or hating the touchpad. I was also considering switching to a Mac since they tend to be reliable and I use the PC for personal use only. In the end the Mac just didn't feel sturdy enough or look like it could take a beating like the thinkpad (I travel A LOT). The model I got has a wonderful screen (the colors are a bit too saturated and I need to adjust that). It's very light and quiet. The battery lasts longer than expected and the PC doesn't heat up at all. The touchpad takes getting used to but I do not understand the big deal some people are making. The keyboard of course is wonderful. I still need to go through the programs to get rid of the bloatware. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

verygoodperformance

Date: May 24, 2015
" Stable and light. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Business Computer So Far

Date: May 15, 2015
" I wouldn't purchase without a recommended solid state HD. Like my title states, best business laptop I have ever handled. Light, sturdy, fast, sleek.
Lenovo features make updates and monitoring system fast & easy. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Purchase!

Date: May 13, 2015
" Just recieved my new T440s last week, very easy to set up.. I Love that machine is very slim & light weight, not heavy and bulky..which is very convenient for on-the-go..Battery life is impeccable.. Don't have to charge for hours!! Only feature that I'm not too fond of is the touchpad on this model but I will eventually get use to it.. overall I think this is a very sleek & well designed machine for my needs. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

To new to tell

Date: May 7, 2015
" So far this product is fantastic, however every laptop I have ever owned is great for the first 3 months. I will post another review after using the laptop for a few months. I LOVE IT SO FAR! The processor is unreal, the weight is very low, the graphics are good so far. I will be using this as a "GO TO" computer so it will be my desktop and my laptop so we shall see. I am also using a 3D modeling package so I am curios to see if it is bogged down. Let the challenge begin. Check back in 3 months and I will tell you if its a paperweight or true engineering TOOL! "