Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440s

Average customer rating:
3.592 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(265 Reviews) 265
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (265 reviews)
5 stars
90
4 stars
66
3 stars
51
2 stars
27
1 star
31
164 of 265(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KKaurin

Review of T440s

Date: July 20, 2014
"When moving from a T510 to this new T440s, there are a few things I had to get used to.
Negative:
Smaller screen and smaller text.
Price was pretty high because everything is maxed out.
The new touch pad is a good large size, but removing the buttons at the top is a step backward. Sometimes when I use the trackpoint the left mouse button on the touch pad doesn't register because my thumb is too close to the middle button area. This can be frustrating. The buttons up top on my t510 were better.
Positive: light weight. Amazing battery life! I love being more mobile, knowing that I have about 17 hours at my disposal.
I ordered the fastest i7, 12gb memory, and 512 gb ssd. It is very responsive and fast. Yet it has never heated up.
The touch screen is responsive, but windows 8.1 takes a while to get used to.
Great keyboard & backlight.
Wish: If they would morph this into a 14 inch yoga type model, it would be an even better laptop/tablet.
Overall, I'm satisfied and a happy customer!
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CiscoKid85

Horrible track/click pad

Date: July 19, 2014
"Lenovo took a perfectly good laptop and ruined it with the integrated track/click pad. I don't know why companies insist on following Apple down this path. It's a huge sacrifice to usability and ergonomics. I would stay away from the T440's and buy a use T430 on eBay. Better value/$ and you get the added benefit of the old (easier to use) click/track pad."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sunny

Thinkpad T540p

Date: July 18, 2014
"Had some issues regarding sleep function, but was resolved by updating the Graphic Card Driver and mainly the Fingerprint reader driver. Since then its quite awesome."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mryanaz

T440P

Date: July 18, 2014
"I am a long-time TP fan so my bias is generally positive. The build quality is great. Sturdy but without lots of weight. I am very happy with my choice. I was not pleased with Windows 8 but 8.1 has helped a lot. Bit of an issues with TrackPoint. I now have it working without going to sleep but it still lags a lot; button pushes are not immediately reflected on-screen. Will continue to look for a better driver."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
knd115

Great machine!

Date: July 17, 2014
"This computer was given to me as a healthcare provider to use. I did not personally purchase it so I can not review pricing and promotions. However, the computer is a good size. A little heavy, but I am not sure if they added and extended life battery which may have increased the weight. Keyboard is easy to use. I do not use the touch screen very often as we still use windows 7. The pen takes some getting used to as that is not unusual for any device. Overall great machine. I do not like the matte black on the outside as it always looks dirty and keeps finger prints."
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NIRC

NIRC

Date: July 16, 2014
"It's a little heavy with the larger battery, but the lug is worth the benefits of this top-notch little honey."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kansas

First laptop I have purchased

Date: July 15, 2014
"Still getting use to it but am quite satisfied at this point."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnG

Finally, an ultrabook that REALLY docks

Date: July 15, 2014
"The best notebook I've ever owned, EXCEPT for the lack of mouse buttons to go with the trackpoint. My briefcase would be half a pound lighter, but I have to carry a mouse because the touchpad as mouse buttons doesn't work. In ALL other respects, however - you can't pry it out of my hands unless Lenovo comes out with a new model with real buttons, in which case I'll be first in line (as long as it works with a real dock). I've had to buy 5 more when the senior execs saw it."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phil

The worst laptop I ever had

Date: July 14, 2014
"I had to replace my $2K Lenovo laptop for the third time!
- some keyboard keys don't return smoothly
- no internet access if you plug-in network cable and have also Wi-fi on, need to restart the computer
- stops charging randomly
- no way to see if the laptop is charging or not when not on, not even a simple indicator on the AC charger!
- touchpad is the worst thing on the laptop - no way to select a text easily, not user friendly, doesn't work as a regular touchpad with left/right buttons
- long wait for customer service and tech support,
- and many other little issues
If you are looking for a user friendly product to stay productive, this is not a laptop for you.
I will never buy a Lenovo laptop again!
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
proprod

Tablet 2

Date: July 14, 2014
"Just gets a little slow at times, the problem is having a hotrod laptop mostly and then stepping back a bit to the tablet. Great Portability."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chicagogal

Great tablet

Date: July 14, 2014
"I have been using this Lenovo Thinkpad for about a month now. It is a great tablet so far. I can print from this tablet with wireless printer I have. It is very close to laptop. There is a USB port for thump drive but cannot connect to an external hard/DVD drive. The other complain I have is no Word or Excel included so I cannot open doc or xls document."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DanR

Had serious software problems starting up

Date: July 12, 2014
"Tablet comes with Windows 8 but has a free upgrade to Windows 8.1. Initially software requires that you upgrade windows 8 before you can upgrade to 8.1. My tablet would not download and install the Windows 8 files. On attempting, it would fail and attempt to roll back to previous version and would get stuck. I had to restore system to initial packaging 3 different times. Finally I searched on line and found numerous articles about this problem and after much hit and miss trying of various fixes, finally got 8.1 to load and upgrade. Tablet works fine now so far but for the first week, it was a most frustrating experience. Lenova has to know of this problem but has not fixed it yet."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
joer

touch screen+track point+pad = confusion

Date: July 11, 2014
"I just returned the T440s after owning it for 1 month. I am a consultant and have always had a think pad. I decided to try the t440s with touch screen and I had such a bad experience that just returned it. On the plus side it has amazing battery life, supper quiet and fast. on the down side. try widening a row in excel and forget it, all of the pluses go away. If you do alot of excel and power point this is not the laptop for you!"
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luis

Why walk away from a good thing.

Date: July 11, 2014
"I believe that they finally got it right with the X230T. I had previous versions of the concept; X61, X200, X201, and upgraded for business reasons as needed.
In fact my business is expanding and a bought up five (5) units. Because Lenovo is no longer selling or supporting the units beyond the manufacturer warranty, I purchases extended warranties from the online vendor.
The X230 runs cooler, longer (I get eight (8) hours of use on my i7), and remains a robust frame. Why on earth Lenovo would abandon such a product makes no sense to me.
I recommend the x230 without any reservations. I hope that Lenovo will have a change of mind regarding product support."
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Toolman

Excellent machine

Date: July 11, 2014
"Best computer I've had, out of 10 or so. Fast, easy keyboard. Only issue is touch pad moves off point before you click. Works fine with a mouse."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rick

Great Work/Windows Tablet

Date: July 10, 2014
"I have waited for quite some time to purchase a tablet that is priced right and will do what I need. This tablet is it. Running Windows 8 Pro, I can run all of my applications that I need for work. The hardware seems sufficient for my needs also, as I am not a gamer. I have already recommended this tablet to others as a great alternative to their current tablets that do not run Windows and therefore cannot run applications meant for Windows."
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alex

As good or better than the one I owned before

Date: July 9, 2014
"I am happy that my new Lenovo requires very little learning curve. I like having Winows 7, didn't want Windows 8 as that is reviewed badly. Like the inside cd disc insert for buring discs with images, as I am an artist. Quite fast. A real workhorse I am told."
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
StevenNYC

Toil and Trouble

Date: July 9, 2014
"My previous buys (Apple Desktop Lenovo laptop) were up and running in about one hour. My new Carbon (gen 2) touchscreen with Windows 8.1 took an estimated 20 hours before I could even begin to feel comfortable with 8.1 which appears designed to be for a tablet.
The X1 has a cursor gone wild, i.e., it fired up programs and web links simply by passing the cursor over the link even without clicking the trackpad. I called twice. The second time, I was told to send the X1 in for service. I came back in 1 1/2 weeks but the problem was not solved. A lesser problem with two rubber support pads under the machine was also not solved.
I called again and was told to send a second time for a new system board.
Maybe it will come back repaired this time.
PS: The old keyboard (on the W500) is much more comfortable to use."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ender

What have then done to the keyboard and keys?

Date: July 8, 2014
"I have owned Lenovo laptops since 2000 (this is my fifth) and am greatly disappointed in the keyboard experience on this latest T series 440s. The keys provide a seriously degraded typing experience and I strongly object to the elimination of dedicated left and right click buttons for a single huge clickable trackpad. Clicking it is like pressing an unusually large spacebar. Accompanying this annoyingly heavy press that is required is too strong of a sound that is a bit distracting. What's worse is that often when pressed it does not even reliably result in an accurate action on the screen (it usually take a couple click for instance to get the cursor to be moved to a new line). Please Lenovo bring back your old keyboard and individual left/right (and even center) selector buttons."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed

BRING BACK THE BUTTONS!

Date: July 6, 2014
"I got a T530 less than two years ago and I love it. I have 3 primary criteria in selecting a laptop - the display, the keyboard, and the pointing device. Lenovo was rated the best at all of those and my T530 met my expectations. When I needed another computer, I thought all I had to do was go to Lenovo to get the good, solid, no-nonsense business machine I wanted. I ordered the T540 and was thoroughly disappointed. The screen and keyboard are still what I expected, but the removal of dedicated trackpoint and touch pad buttons and integrating those functions into the touch pad is a loser. This definitely falls into the "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" category. Not only is it a bad idea to combine these functions, but the implementation is also poor. I'm returning the T540 and won't buy another Lenovo."