Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440s

Average customer rating:
3.592 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(319 Reviews) 319
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (319 reviews)
5 stars
107
4 stars
82
3 stars
61
2 stars
31
1 star
38
196 of 319(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Dont Purchase Ever

Date: November 24, 2014
"Lenovo Think pad Doesnt have provition for DVD Drive. DVD Drive is basic think, It should be there in design.I got T440 from my Office. I very much Disappointed after seeing. And also 2 USB Port. This not a corporate laptop."
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Be sure to update software/drivers

Date: November 22, 2014
"Bought this model refurbed and it had win 8.0 and bios from back in May. After updating to 8.1 and bios n drivers the product feels a lot better. Let me explain: the touchpad used to be gritty when it comes to two finger scrolling. After updating Synaptics driver it feels smoother. There's a lot of tweaking for me, including going into bios and switching the fn key with the ctrl key (thank goodness they included this). I think most changes I had to do related to the touchpad gestures to fit my liking.
Performance of computer is quick n quiet with the ssd. The fan kicks in when thinking but it's only obtrusive because you're going from a dead silent laptop to then hearing something.
My only complaints are no led indicators for hdd and wifi and that Lenovo doesn't include a battery limiter to stop the battery from reaching 100%. For users who leave their laptop docked all day everyday the battery will degrade faster when left at 100%. I did find a third party app.
Keyboard is bomb."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

great computer

Date: November 21, 2014
"I really like how thin it is, how easy to use"
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid so far

Date: November 21, 2014
"Have only been using the T440s for a couple of days, but my impression so far is very good. I was nervous about the keyboard changes, but am very impressed; typing is excellent and the function keys across the top row are very useful. The trackpad is large and accepts gestures well. My only complaint is that when you are tapping to click (instead of depressing the "button"), the trackpad sometimes makes an odd almost clattering noise; it's as though the button beneath the pad is a bit loose (only at the bottom, not at the top). Screen is excellent, performace is excellent. So far I'm very pleased."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Overall

Date: November 20, 2014
"Just add more ram as it comes with 4 GB and can take 16 GB."
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Purchase & Service ever

Date: November 19, 2014
"I am amazed with how fast, light & intuitive my t440s is. I am so very glad I chose Lenova. I am a technology novice & I customixed mine b/c I wanted Windows 7 & more storage space. From start to finish my rep helped me design an optimal computer. She could have easily oversold me but did not. Lenova service cannot be beaten. I did not upgrade battery charge & have gotten just what they advertise-8+ hours of charge. I read the reviews with the common complaint about the trackpad. I am so glad I decided to order anyway. I figured if I had to use a mouse that would be okay b/c the rest of features overrode this. BUT, the trackpad is one of my favorite features even w/out the buttons. It is easy to use and I customized mine in under 5 minutes! I do not understand the bad reviews. The t440s' features are over the top and easy to use. They have made me a tech whizz. This computer out beats any on the market at any price level. Do not hesitate to order one. Lenova support /accessibility #1!"
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Wonderful machine!

Date: November 16, 2014
"This is my 4th Thinkpad, and it's the best one ever! I've tried other laptops, but have always come back to trusty Thinkpads. I know I could have paid less for something else, but the perfection of this machine was worth it.
Critics and other users who trash the T440s honestly don't know what they're talking about. Its light weight, great size, lightning speed, bright screen, and all-day battery life have truly changed MY workday life. Thanks, Lenovo!"
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Small Issues But Overall a Good Purchase

Date: November 16, 2014
"Just a couple of things to report on the Lenovo T440s, I find I miss a couple of things on the keyboard, first the three button control that substitutes for the mouse keys and scroll button. The current (new?) method of using the touch-pad is a bit, well, touchy. It is more difficult to use. I also miss the browser page back/forward buttons which I found so useful in my R61i. One other thing I find a little baffling is instructions for using the "sleep" button which does not exist on my keyboard.
Other than a small not unexpected issue or two like getting the laptop to hibernate (apparently resolved by a reboot) I am very satisfied with my T440s. It is nice and light, performs quickly with a minimum of fuss and has an excellent screen to match a wonderful feeling keyboard.
I also purchased Lenovo's Thinkpad Ultra Dock which makes using this laptop much more convenient. I only wish it had more than one HDMI port.
Over all I am happy with my purchase."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

not usable

Date: November 14, 2014
"great performance battery life. when this laptop goes to hibernate or the screen cuts off it will not come back on the only way to use it again is to let the battery die or do a hard start. it did this the very first time I turned the computer on. Lenovo has no fix and tech support is no help at all its totally worthless as far as im concerned and it will be going back soon."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

For Linux: Nearly Perfect,Except for Clickpad,

Date: November 13, 2014
"I am upgrading from a Lenovo T41 running Ubuntu. I decided that for my new computer I would make the switch to Arch linux.
Aside from some clickpad issues described below (which I believe will be mostly alleviated once certain bugs with the linux driver are worked out) this is a solid ultrabook: Light, long battery life, solid keyboard, SSD makes boot super fast, and most hardware works without issue on the current linux kernel.
CLICKPAD ISSUES:
As others have complained about, the Trackpoint with the clickpad is clunky to the point of almost being not usable. I needed to tweek the synaptic driver settings for the middle and right click regions which are still not working great. Middle click scrolling is also currently impossible. Also, there is currently (3.17.22.-1-ARCH) a bug where releasing the clickpad does not send a release to the mouse, This leads to a lot of annoying inadvertent highlighting which wipes the middleclick-paste buffer in linux.
All said, a good purchase."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Decent machine

Date: November 12, 2014
"I purchased a fully loaded T440S in January, it has been solid; I am a power Excel user so I lately invested in extra RAM, which has certainly helped. My one disappointment is the battery, I was expecting it to last more than 10 months, but alas it is toast. And not covered by warranty....."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Fantastic Purchase Ever

Date: November 10, 2014
"This laptop is amazing. Such an upgrade from my macbook pro. Definitely worth it. Great college laptop."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good but touchpad a fail....

Date: November 10, 2014
"The reason I have always bought Think pads is the touch point navigation (little red mouse). I am not a fan of touchpads. This model the touchpad is built into one large unit without the older two buttons for left and right clicks. I have found that no matter what setting I use a right click turns into a left click which is extremely frustrating when working with large data Excel files or simple commands. Nice machine but touchpad is an epic fail!"
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent computer with stupid UX annoyances

Date: November 10, 2014
"First of all: excellent performance. Good screen resolution (1080p) in a 14" form factor. Whish it were higher, but 1080p is a good start. Chicklet keyboard is fine.
Here's what is ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE:
- Single button "soft mouse buttons". Seriously, Lenovo? It's awful. It feels awful. It feels cheap. And it's hard on my wrists. Go back to physical buttons.
- No LED on the caps lock? Really? So the only way I know if it's on when I type passwords is when the password box hints at me?
- There's NO indication that the unit is CHARGING? Three short blinks on the LED on the back of the screen does NOT COUNT AS A USER INTERFACE INFORMING ME THE COMPUTER IS CHARGING.
I wish I could say that these three things were things I could blow off, but they're pretty awful. I'm considering returning it."
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Coders beware!

Date: November 10, 2014
"This will be my 12th Thinkpad to date. I've owned the T440S for about 6 months now. Overall the experience has been great with one glaring exception.... ClickPad is terrible. Sorry Lenovo but you really screwed up on this one. If I could return the unit I would.
Constantly having my cursor moving around. Very difficult to make small movements, and to make it worse the clickpad is noisy. It sounds cheap. I'm in a room with professional coders using their mac books and they all think ( and comment ) my T440s is a "piece of junk" because of the cheap sounds that come from me "clicking". In my shame I went with an external mouse. Love carrying around an extra piece of equipment just to circumvent the clickpad.
For the record, I've went back to my W530 and plan to place the T440s on ebay."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Click pad not suitable for business use

Date: November 7, 2014
"The touchpad/clickpad is buggy, noisy, clunky and infuriating, and renders an otherwise fine machine unusable in common business contexts.
Rather than pressing a small button to click and select, as on earlier Thinkpads, you must click the entire 3" x 4" clickpad. Because it has a large mass and size, is floppy and acoustically resonant, and requires a large travel to make a click, it makes a loud "thunk" with each click.
This loud clunk is extremely distracting to neighbors if you use the machine in a meeting or to take notes during a talk. I initially had people get up and move away from me, and now I have to sit in the back of the room.
The second problem is that the touchpad does not click and select text properly and reliably. You must click it way off at the right edge - i.e., far to the right of where the "right click button" was on the older Thinkpads, which requires a large rotation of the wrist and thumb, causing fatigue and pain after extended use."
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

It is very good

Date: November 6, 2014
"It is very light, nice when I saw it in the first time. The severice of Lenovo is also very well, I suggest you choose Thinkpad."
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst purchase ever

Date: November 5, 2014
"I got a brand new one and the brightness keys are not working. In addition, I can't even change the brightness from the settings menu. I looked around the web and updated a bunch of relevant drivers (which is a ridiculous thing to do for a brand new laptop) but none fixed the issue. It's very frustrating and I'm very disappointed."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I love this laptop

Date: November 4, 2014
"Replaced Sony ultrabook with t440s. The difference between the 2 products is shocking.
The t440 layout of the ports is well-thought out and the range of ports is amazing. The screen is divine. There really wasn't much difference in the size of the Sony and t440, but I needed reading glasses to see the Sony desktop. I have no problem reading the t440 desktop even though everything is set at small scale.
The only problem that I have is with the trackpad though I suspect that this is a problem with the way I write. Despite being right-handed, I write as if I am left-handed (hand curved inward). I imagine that a right-handed person who writes with the hand extended straight from the wrist would be able to use the pointer and trackpad simultaneously with much greater ease.
My only complaint (after a couple of weeks of using), is that I would prefer Windows Ultimate to Pro. Maybe that complaint should be directed against Microsoft."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

An amazing system

Date: November 4, 2014
"I am enormously pleased with my T440s. It's amazingly solidly-built despite being very light. As someone said, it feels like a slab of magnesium. The screen is just amazing, bright and clear with great contrast. The keyboard redesign has gotten some bad press, but undeservedly: it's a joy to type on, and is much better than my old ThinkPad W700 and MacBook Pro. The touchpad has also gotten bad press, and in this case it's justifiable: the touchpad is honestly not great, but fortunately I use the TrackPoint exclusively, so I don't mind. The whole thing is very fast and has no trouble handling my fairly demanding workload (usually involving several virtual machines). I've also had none of the product defects that people have mentioned. It runs Linux like a dream; I'm using Debian Jessie and everything is supported out of the box (but be careful to get the Intel wifi). It's expensive but worth it; I would buy this again.
I hope that this product will be a template for future ThinkPads!"