Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo U430p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo U430p

Average customer rating:
3.957 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
18 of 23(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo U430p
Review 1 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Perfect laptop for small business applications

Date: October 6, 2014
"Fast, easy to use, lightweight, great features! After 30 years of using computers and laptops for business, this is one of the best values I have ever seen."
Review 2 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Works good

Date: October 2, 2014
"Pro: battery, weight, startup time
yes, after about one month use, this pc is really good. It can start up very quickly and the battery is good.
Con: sometime the software in it just collapse. I don't know why."
Review 3 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Fine experience

Date: September 29, 2014
"I'm not a computer guy, so perhaps my opinion is somewhat irrelevant, but I like this little guy! First off, it's RED, so you command respect when you carry it into Starbucks. Secondly, it is as sound as a rock--tight and solid; and the backlit chiclet keyboard rocks. Of course, I'm comparing it to a five year old Compaq which is miles behind in innovation, with a real "plastic" feel to it. I didn't rate reliability because I've only used it a week--most things will last a week!"
Review 4 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Awesome Laptop that exceeds my expectations

Date: September 19, 2014
"I purchased a U430 touch in May of 2014 refurbished from Lenovo. It arrived looking just like new.
Performance - handles everything I have thrown at it from movie editing from my GoPro, playing movies and streaming to running business and web development tools with ease. The 4G of RAM has never been an issue. I was going to swap to 8 but no need so far. The machine has a 500G hybrid SSD drive in it which makes for a near instantaneous boot from sleep or cold. The machine always runs cool and the fan is rarely audible.
The touch screen is clear, sharp and works perfect for my tasks and responds quickly and effortlessly. I find though the touch pad is still my favourite input device.
Run time is amazing. I rarely have to charge this thing, it just goes and goes. When plugged in it re-charges briskly. It is only outpaced in run time by our e435 with the optional battery pack.
Overall my satisfaction with this laptop is very high and I would buy it again in a heartbeat it is that good!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Sleek and attractive

Date: September 18, 2014
"I have used only for 3 days now and this is an excellent PC so far and works great! It has good display, sound and speed. And also ample ports. Our other family members like this unit too.
Minor drawbacks with this u430p model is that mine only has hybrid drive and this model does not currently seem to offer pure Solid State Drive. Also it does not have the latest AC wireless network card but uses the slower and older N for WiFi."
Review 6 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great value and performance

Date: September 16, 2014
"Stylish laptop, with great battery life, nice metal chasis, it has a great intel chipset, perfect for everyone, students, children and adults from writing papers to watching movies, and ocasional gaming"
Review 7 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best

Date: September 10, 2014
"Best purchase ever"
Review 8 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Select another computer

Date: September 9, 2014
"I purchased this computer in October of 2013. I have had issues with this computer since I purchased it. I already had a failed motherboard after two months of owning the computer and I have issues with connecting to my university's internet. Along with that the touch screen works whenever it wants. I have had to send my computer back to Lenovo warranty center about three times and I haven't had this computer for a year yet. I'm not sure if I just got a bad unit, but I would never recommend this computer to another student. It is very unreliable. My Dell computer with windows Vista is more reliable."
Review 9 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Great laptop with a bad WiFi card

Date: September 3, 2014
"I bought this for my daughter. It has good performance for the price and has been reliable EXCEPT it has the N7260 Intel wifi card in it that has some major problems. Check the internet for this card and its issues. I cannot recommend the notebook because of its wifi issues."
Review 10 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

very comfortable usage

Date: August 29, 2014
"I bought this computer one month ago. After one-month usage, it has reached the best condition. It was noisy with the fan for one day or two but nowadays it is quite and cool all the time. It provide ideal visual and hearing effect with movies. The internet speed is high. I feel very comfortable working with it."
Review 11 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ScytheM

Value and Performance- The Reason Lenovo Rules!

Date: August 23, 2014
"This computer, my first one, is a beauty. The instant I opened the well-packed box, I made the immediate switch from other designers to Lenovo. It was clear that Lenovo's designers were top-notch, even though the price was fair. I will never forget this purchase in my life, and the impact it made on me. Now I know Lenovo is the right way to go. Arguments include the superfast boot time, high Quad-Core performance, sleek design and finish, and most importantly, portability.
Thanks, Lenovo, for this quality product!
"
Review 12 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mank

Fine Computer

Date: August 20, 2014
"I bought a refurbished unit, and am very pleased . The four stars for features is only because Windows 8 won't let you boot from a USB drive. ( I want to try Linux.) Also, the four on reliability because a week isn't much of a reliability test.
I have been getting about 8 to 10 hours of battery life before a charge is needed. I really like the keyboard's chiclet style keys. No crumbs and dust bunnies in the keys!
The software is fine for the majority of uses, without much bloat.
I've been streaming some television, and everything works smoothly. I can go from room to room, and there's no stuttering even at the edge of my wireless range.
All in all, I'd highly recommend this ultrabook.
"
Review 13 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nycterina

Lovely product

Date: June 6, 2014
"I bought this ideapad refurbished from Lenovo and I could not be happier with it. I've never tried Lenovo's products before and I am pleased. The backlit keyboard is great, the aluminum casing is strong and sturdy. The laptop is also very light and the battery life is quite good. Internally, the computer does quite well. I have the i3 model and it streams netflix great and runs world of warcraft fantastically on "good" settings. I have not experienced any issues with wifi connectivity or slowness, it does just fine despite my worry that it may not given some of the other reviews I read before buying it."
Review 14 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nick

Idealpad U430p

Date: June 4, 2014
"I thought this would be a wonderful laptop but otherwise. Open the box and it take long time to load all the software, app...touch screen does not work, the screen is loosen from the gray cover (left and right side of the screen). So no happy with the product."
Review 15 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FormerXPUser

Can't find anything

Date: May 28, 2014
"I suspect this is largely a problem of Windows 8.1, not the laptop, but whoever thought it would be a good idea to install an OS that was created for a touch screen on a computer without a touch screen was an idiot. Very annoying to use for a work computer as I cannot easily find things and seem to have little mouse control over when objects slide onto or off screen. I would have returned it except that it's so lightweight and compact."
Review 16 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kaner

Good value, but mouse pad has issues, and freezes

Date: May 3, 2014
"Overall good computer...lightweight, solid frame.
But the mouse will periodically freeze up (it's almost like the computer is processing too much), and also the scrolling with the mouse pad is really jerky and not nearly as smooth as other computers.
But if you are willing to make these tradeoffs it is great value.
Ecstatically looks very similar to apple laptops (which is a great thing), and has a great matte screen (no annoying reflections) and also is nice because it isn't a touch screen (what idiot thought we wanted laptops with touch screens? great on tablets, annoying on laptops)."
Review 17 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lillababa

Good, but unfortunately not Excellent...

Date: April 29, 2014
"Pros: Battery, Keyboard, Weight, Processor, Appearance; Cons: Wifi!!!, Instability
The most serious problem with this ultrabook is the wireless connection instability, it is a big heartgrief for me... Sometimes it is working quite well, but sometimes it is unbearably unstabil. I've tried it at different places, at different routers, I am absolutely perplexed. The laptop is also erratic in functioning.
Despite these quite disturbing things I am content with everything else for the present. The battery is extremely good, with up to 6 hours continous work! The processor is good and relatively quiet. I am really enjoying the keyboard. I am still hoping that the wifi and other instabilities will be fixed somehow.
"
Review 18 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RoadWarrior

Good for money

Date: April 22, 2014
"Like the design and weigth of laptop. Also the keyboard is suprisingly better than my old laptop. Writing is pleasure... Very silent under full load and excellent battery life (Nearly 3x compared to my old laptop)
But the quality of screen isn't so good. Yes, 1920*1080 resolution is high but i didn't like the wieving angles and contrast of display while watching movies with my friends. This beauty needs only better display and a dedicated GPU."
Review 19 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caomaco
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent budget ultrabook

Date: March 14, 2014
Pros: Battery, Durability, Build Quality, Storage, display
Cons: touchpad
"Great design. Feels solid and sturdy, yet light to carry around. The processor and RAM are limited, but great for the price and just enough for what I need - programming, web browsing and movies. The display is matte, so you can use this computer outside in bright daylight without glare.
I installed Fedora 20 (Linux) on it. All Fedora functionality works out of the box on this computer. I installed it in dual-boot mode so that I can still use Windows 8 if needed.
The battery is excellent. In my average use, the battery lasts around 5 hours in Windows 8 and around 7 hours in Linux.
Keyboard feels and types very well. The touchpad is not as good and there are no physical touchpad buttons like Thinkpads have. The right touchpad button is over-sensitive.
Overall very happy with this computer.
"
Review 20 for Lenovo U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WYUC
Owned Product:Just got it

Hard-driver Issue at the 1st Day & Other problems

Date: February 21, 2014
Pros: Battery
Cons: Support, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Processor
"It works pretty good in the 1st HOUR, then
1. The touch panel frequently stops working. Although it will start working again after about 10s, it is pretty annoying.
2. I once couldn't access the system after I enter the password, and had to restart it. I finally successfully turn on the laptop after restarting it twice.
3. In the 2nd day, i.e. today, I can hear the noise of the hard driver. I called the tech support, and followed her instruction, but the problem was not solved. And the supporter told me that the NEW computer might have a hard driver issue, and I need to replace one.
"