Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad U430p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U430p

Average customer rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 of 11(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U430p
Review 1 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nycterina

Lovely product

Date: June 6, 2014
"I bought this ideapad refurbished from Lenovo and I could not be happier with it. I've never tried Lenovo's products before and I am pleased. The backlit keyboard is great, the aluminum casing is strong and sturdy. The laptop is also very light and the battery life is quite good. Internally, the computer does quite well. I have the i3 model and it streams netflix great and runs world of warcraft fantastically on "good" settings. I have not experienced any issues with wifi connectivity or slowness, it does just fine despite my worry that it may not given some of the other reviews I read before buying it."
Review 2 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nick

Idealpad U430p

Date: June 4, 2014
"I thought this would be a wonderful laptop but otherwise. Open the box and it take long time to load all the software, app...touch screen does not work, the screen is loosen from the gray cover (left and right side of the screen). So no happy with the product."
Review 3 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FormerXPUser

Can't find anything

Date: May 28, 2014
"I suspect this is largely a problem of Windows 8.1, not the laptop, but whoever thought it would be a good idea to install an OS that was created for a touch screen on a computer without a touch screen was an idiot. Very annoying to use for a work computer as I cannot easily find things and seem to have little mouse control over when objects slide onto or off screen. I would have returned it except that it's so lightweight and compact."
Review 4 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kaner

Good value, but mouse pad has issues, and freezes

Date: May 3, 2014
"Overall good computer...lightweight, solid frame.
But the mouse will periodically freeze up (it's almost like the computer is processing too much), and also the scrolling with the mouse pad is really jerky and not nearly as smooth as other computers.
But if you are willing to make these tradeoffs it is great value.
Ecstatically looks very similar to apple laptops (which is a great thing), and has a great matte screen (no annoying reflections) and also is nice because it isn't a touch screen (what idiot thought we wanted laptops with touch screens? great on tablets, annoying on laptops)."
Review 5 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lillababa

Good, but unfortunately not Excellent...

Date: April 29, 2014
"Pros: Battery, Keyboard, Weight, Processor, Appearance; Cons: Wifi!!!, Instability
The most serious problem with this ultrabook is the wireless connection instability, it is a big heartgrief for me... Sometimes it is working quite well, but sometimes it is unbearably unstabil. I've tried it at different places, at different routers, I am absolutely perplexed. The laptop is also erratic in functioning.
Despite these quite disturbing things I am content with everything else for the present. The battery is extremely good, with up to 6 hours continous work! The processor is good and relatively quiet. I am really enjoying the keyboard. I am still hoping that the wifi and other instabilities will be fixed somehow.
"
Review 6 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RoadWarrior

Good for money

Date: April 22, 2014
"Like the design and weigth of laptop. Also the keyboard is suprisingly better than my old laptop. Writing is pleasure... Very silent under full load and excellent battery life (Nearly 3x compared to my old laptop)
But the quality of screen isn't so good. Yes, 1920*1080 resolution is high but i didn't like the wieving angles and contrast of display while watching movies with my friends. This beauty needs only better display and a dedicated GPU."
Review 7 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caomaco
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent budget ultrabook

Date: March 14, 2014
Pros: Battery, Durability, Build Quality, Storage, display
Cons: touchpad
"Great design. Feels solid and sturdy, yet light to carry around. The processor and RAM are limited, but great for the price and just enough for what I need - programming, web browsing and movies. The display is matte, so you can use this computer outside in bright daylight without glare.
I installed Fedora 20 (Linux) on it. All Fedora functionality works out of the box on this computer. I installed it in dual-boot mode so that I can still use Windows 8 if needed.
The battery is excellent. In my average use, the battery lasts around 5 hours in Windows 8 and around 7 hours in Linux.
Keyboard feels and types very well. The touchpad is not as good and there are no physical touchpad buttons like Thinkpads have. The right touchpad button is over-sensitive.
Overall very happy with this computer.
"
Review 8 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WYUC
Owned Product:Just got it

Hard-driver Issue at the 1st Day & Other problems

Date: February 21, 2014
Pros: Battery
Cons: Support, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Processor
"It works pretty good in the 1st HOUR, then
1. The touch panel frequently stops working. Although it will start working again after about 10s, it is pretty annoying.
2. I once couldn't access the system after I enter the password, and had to restart it. I finally successfully turn on the laptop after restarting it twice.
3. In the 2nd day, i.e. today, I can hear the noise of the hard driver. I called the tech support, and followed her instruction, but the problem was not solved. And the supporter told me that the NEW computer might have a hard driver issue, and I need to replace one.
"
Review 9 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AJ12
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great and Affordable

Date: November 30, 2013
Pros: Battery, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card
"I purchased this laptop only yesterday and I am quite satisfied. The design looks really great and the typing is seamless. I believe the i3 processor is to slow that is why I purchased the i5 version from Best Buy for only $680. The specs on this computer are outstanding for the price such as the 500 gigabyte hard drive and the 1600 by 900 resolution. The only problem that I have with the computer is it's wireless connection while working in the basement(the receptor was on the 2nd floor) of my home I found that I got no reception but while working in other areas of my home the signal was quite good."
Review 10 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
John
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Very nice laptop for the price

Date: November 27, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Included software, Durability, Screen size, Build Quality
Cons: Wireless card, Processor, Display performance
"Pros:
Metal design is very nice
Battery life is very good
Very fast boot-up (A few seconds)
Many features
Feels very nice when I am carrying it
Can fit easily in my backpacks and easy to carry
Cons:
Wifi a little glitchy and not as strong as my previous chromebook
It's not a touchscreen, I read the description wrong
You can't play high-end games on it (i3 core)
Screen has a little glare and is hard to see the screen from sideways angles
Windows 8 is slightly hard to use
All in all this is a very good laptop for the price of $549.99, I would recommend this to a friend"
Review 11 for IdeaPad U430p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JJ00
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Ultrabook for the Money!!!

Date: October 10, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance, sleek and light, windows 8 exit button, battery manager software
Cons: Wireless card, included bloatware, case defect, first generation clickpad firmware, widi card does not work
"I love this laptop despite having Windows 8. Lenovo was ultra clever when they actually installed an actual exit button to close a window instead of doing the top to bottom window wipe. I love the multi-gesture touchscreen and track pad. I also love the large and comfortable back-lit keyboard. Unlike the 'fruit' branded computer, the edge of the keyboard is smooth and doesn't cut your wrist.
Now for the bad: I could not get Push2TV to work to save my life. I even tried downloading and updating all the software and firmware. Mine also came with a sharp burr on the right side of the case. Additionally I wish the SD card slot would allow the card to be inserted completely."