Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T530 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T530

15.6” powerhouse with productivity-ready features & leading wireless options.

Average customer rating:
3.565 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
8
29 of 46(63%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T530
Review 1 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mediaguy
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Terrible decline in build quality.

Date: March 27, 2014
Pros: Processor, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"I had a Thinkpad years ago, which was rock solid. Then I upgraded to this. Everything about the body is flimsy, plasticky, and cheap. Keyboard/lid flexes under even slight pressure, light leaks are everywhere on the display, the lid doesn't close evenly and tightly and now I find out that there's a large group of dead pixels in the middle of the display. Touchpad is small and finicky, and the awful build quality is both frustrating to work with and makes me afraid to use the device. On top of that, it's still thick and bulky, which would be fine if it were still indestructible like my old R61, but it's not."
Review 2 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Christine
Owned Product:1-6 months

The keyboard is really annoying

Date: March 6, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Support, Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Durability
"It's only half an year after I purchased this laptop online, but now I have to have an external keyboard connected to it. It's just because the original keyboard of the laptop is AWFUL. You type out a sentence and then you have to go back and check because there are many letters missing. Why, because the keyboard is not sensitive. This problem is kind of on and off. Sometimes, restarting the computer can help, sometimes not. I don't think I have patience dealing with this keyboard, as such I decided to use an external keyboard. It's about the efficiency of my office work."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
otis
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Case issues

Date: February 7, 2014
Cons: Warranty, Durability
"I went above my budget to by the t530. It has generally performed adequately. However, a few months post purchase, a chunk is missing out of the corner of the case (lower left of keyboard, near windows/intel sticker). My computer was never dropped (and if it was, this is not where it would break).
A little searching revealed this is a very common problem on this series of thinkpads (check out various forums). More importantly Lenovo terms this a "cosmetic" issue not covered by warranty.
Looking for durability? I'd say look elsewhere."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sciencemajor
Owned Product:1-6 months

Really Mad

Date: January 7, 2014
"As a science major, I need an integrated camera and it was not until a couple months later that I realized this computer did not have it. Overall, it is a good computer but the picture clearly shows a camera and the description talks about it as well. I love how it functions but I'm really irritated that they won't do anything about replacing the computer when they screwed up."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voio
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

I just love it!

Date: December 7, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
"I love this laptop! I use it every day as high performance mobile workstation, no issues at all."
Review 6 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LiamScanlan
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Lightening fast. But a bit 'plasticky"

Date: October 17, 2013
Pros: Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, performance on ubuntu
Cons: no non-windows version
"When I first opened the packaging, the laptop did feel a bit plasticky compared to the t61 I had for years, but I got to appreciate the lighter feel after using it for a while.
I immediately threw away the Windows 7 and installed Linux Ubuntu and the machine is lightening fast. I went for the solid state disk drive and the i7 chip. That combination with Ubuntu now is amazing.
It boots from cold to login screen in about 4 or 5 seconds. And login in after that takes about 2 seconds. It's so fast, it feels like a trick.
The backlit keyboard is excellent. That's a fantastic improvement.
I had my last one for 5 years, travelled the world with it and hammered away on it so much, the letters on the keyboard were wearing. That's why I opted for Lenovo again. Unbeatable durability.
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dadoronron
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Trave/study/versatile

Date: October 12, 2013
Pros: Battery, Processor, Support, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution
Cons: Wireless card, incompatable driver update
"I travel at least once a month for work and the battery life has allowed me to use it consistently on the trips while flying. I purchased the NVIDIA NVS 5400M Graphics and the Lenovo Mini-DisplayPort to DVI-D Adapter Cable (Single Link) and using the adapter and VGA I am able to hook up 2 external monitors which makes it much easier as I reference articles while I am doing my studying with the multi-monitor capabilities.
The only problem I had was an issue with my wireless. The tech looked at it and sent out a new wireless card. I looked a little more in depth and determined the problem started when I had a new driver for Access Connections pushed to my system. I uninstalled it and reinstalled it. After that I have had had no further issues with my system."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BILLYBOB
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Thinkpad T-530

Date: October 6, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"Great system, fast & reliable, love it so much I purchased two (2)."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chevy05
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Glad I Got Mine Before The Next Series

Date: September 28, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Warranty, Security Features, Included Software, Software compatibility
"Long time Dell user that did not like the new models with the key pad. The key pad takes up too much room, and now Lenovo's next models will also have a key pad. I have followed the IBM/Lenovo business notebooks for years and after reviewing a number of options, I chose the T530 as I wanted a Windows 7 computer. Very happy with my choice. The keyboard is different but I am getting use to it. Just got back from a trip and the Intel wireless performed great with no problem recognizing and connecting to 3 different motel wireless systems. The Intel video and the 1600 X 900 screen is sufficient for my use. Only complaint is the junk software such as Norton, Core and their own utilities. This is an expensive 15.6" notebook, but it is a solid notebook."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
n2ubp
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Does what I need and more

Date: September 5, 2013
Pros: Battery, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Weight, Keyboard/peripherals
"Purchased a t530 with Win 7 Pro to replace a T41 with the typical video failure. Nice display, runs cool, battery lasts what seems to be forever compared to my T410 and older t61p. Keyboard look and feel are okay once I got used to it but still miss the keys that should be there like Print Screen. Wireless works well with my in home ASUS RT-N66U router. Audio lacks mids and bass but good enough for what I do with it. Display does not get washed out by sun when I use it on the back porch. A little heavier than expected. Purchased additional memory after the initial purchase."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
murphy
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

I received a lemon

Date: July 30, 2013
"I bought this T530 to replace my aging HP laptop. I chose Lenovo for its reputation for quality and its praise from the tech community. I configured this T530 model with several upgrades and add-ons. I use this computer to run my healthcare business with over 150 employees. Long story short, I've had the computer for 24 hours and it has crashed a total of 4 times (Blue Screen of Death). I'm sending it back for a replacement. Not happy with my experience thus far..."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
twenty3sky
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Can handle anything I throw at it.

Date: July 19, 2013
Pros: Warranty, Processor, Support, Durability, Video card, Wireless card, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"I've now had my t530 for a year and its been great. I have owned thinkpads exclusively since 1998 and this is my fifth one. With 16GB ram and 3 monitors running with the docking station, this machine handles whatever I throw at it. Photoshop, Indesign, Illustrator, 10 excel windows, 20 chrome windows, 2 Db's running and a VM ubuntu session can all run at the same time without missing a step. I love the old thinkpad keyboards but I like the backlit function on this one."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bala
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Very good machine, with a few caveats

Date: July 14, 2013
"Excellent build, great display (HD+), nice feeling keyboard, and high quality look and feel. Windows 8 is fantastic (instant on from sleep, quick boot, etc).
A couple of negatives. Keyboard design is not optimal - with so much space on the side being consumed by the speakers, I keep hitting the CAPS LOCK when I'm supposed to press the "A" key.
Battery is loose.
Battery life is nowhere close to the claims. Expect about 2.5 hrs on a 6 cell with WiFi on and medium load on the machine.
Overall, excellent machine, and good value for money."
Review 14 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LXR84
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Keyboard & Miniport Issues

Date: June 15, 2013
Cons: Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals
"There seems to be a consensus that the new style keyboards are inferior to the earlier style. I couldn't agree MORE...Very disappointed in the unfriendly handling of what was once a major selling point.
Also having problems with the WAN Miniport. It has failed. Which means I don't have wireless capabilities and according to the numerous complaints in the forums, this seems to be a big time problem that Lenovo has yet to offer a solution. Heck...my Lenovo SL500 was far and away a much better machine..."
Review 15 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Exceptional Laptop

Date: June 8, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
"Have had my T530 since last fall and have had NO problems or concerns. When not traveling, I use this laptop connected to a 23" Acer monitor, surround sound Bose 5.1 speakers and a wireless keyboard and mouse (Logitech) in my home office. This laptop stays on virtually 24/7 and performs flawlessly. Laptop is quiet, fast has great sound, video, USB 3 ports (as well as ports for practically anything you would want to plug into it), great keyboard when not plugged into wireless keyboard (have always loved the navigational track ball/nipple) and is of quality construction. All MS Win 7 and Lenovo driver updates download and are installed without problems, etc. In short - love this machine!!!"
Review 16 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Raunak
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Not so good purchase for the money spent

Date: May 26, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility
"1. The wireless off/on button on the left hand button does not work. Once it is turned off, the system fails to recognize wireless networks after it is turned on. It need to restart the system to connect to the wifi.
2. The wifi driver installed on the system was too old. It fails to recognize certain wireless networks altogether.
3. While using this laptop to code on remote server, a button pressed is displayed 100-200 times on the screen. This issue is not seen with other computers with the same server/vnc session.
5. I failed to play a CD in the CD-ROM. There is noise of CD spinning inside the hardware, but it does not show up on my computer. Failed to enable it via BIOS.
Overall, It was bad experience with this machine till now. Be careful before you get your hands on this machine."
Review 17 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rbattag
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Lemon twice

Date: May 25, 2013
Cons: Warranty, Support, Display performance
"After using Thinkpads for roughly 20 years ( as an IBMer) I could not believe the lemon you sold me.
1st shipment arrived DoA with a LCD that did not turn on. 2nd shipment seemed fine for 1.5 months and then a discolored line appeared on the LCD.
Shipped to support only to be told that the LCD was cracked, not in the warranty and they asked $750 to replace it. The lady on the phone was pretty clear when I asked her if she thought it was fair - she said "I do this all day long." A clear indication that Lenovo now sells broken/expensive Thinkpads and tries to collect more money for repairs. SHAME ON YOU LENOVO. This is what I get for being loyal to my own company. Never again .....
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PapyYosh
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

I will do it again

Date: April 18, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Included Software
"That laptop is awesome. I'm running it with an i7 and a SSD. That machine is rock solid. I had few WiFi issues until latest updates. I have been using Lenovo for my business for ever. Just got this one as a personal machine and I will do it again."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mike
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Problems problems problems!

Date: April 13, 2013
Pros: Battery, Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Build Quality, Durability, motherboard quality
"I bought 6 Thinkpads so far from IBM to Lenovo. This one is by far the worse of them all. When the computer works, it's fine but as soon as problems start, you are plagued with them. This is going to be my third motherboard replacement in 2 months!
It's unacceptable that a company like Lenovo doesn't do anything to compensate clients who bought a lemon.
I couldn't possibly recommend this product or any other for that matter considering all the issues I am having."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bummer
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Why oh why change the keyboard layout?

Date: April 4, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Software compatibility
"Bought a T530 with fast processor, high-res display. Lenovo won't let me leave a long enough review to make any sense. so, just stay away from this, and all other Thinkpad machines. Their quality (jusding from 20 years of owning at least 15 of them between myself & my wife), is terrible today."