Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T530 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T530

15.6” powerhouse with productivity-ready features & leading wireless options.

Average customer rating:
3.734 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
9
45 of 64(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T530
Review 1 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Needs word

Date: August 29, 2014
"So we love Thinkpads, *BUT* you messed with the touch pad / track point and you didn't get it right yet. The touch pad is loose and clunky and we miss the physical buttons. I think the change could be OK, but it isn't right yet and you need to get it solid. There should be no wobbliness in the touch pad. And if we are going to get rid of the physical buttons then the experience clicking the pad and corners need to be flawless and right now it is not."
Review 2 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Berney9

Retired

Date: July 28, 2014
"I think this is the best computer I have ever owned. It is not the fastest, but it is the easiest to use and I am very pleased with my purchase.
You sure put out a wonderful product. Keep up the good work."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jason

T530 - Reliable and Fast!

Date: July 27, 2014
"For a Core i5 the T530 performs really well and will definitely beat older generation Core i7 laptops. The laptop is leaps and bounds faster than my recently retired Thinkpad R61 and comes with everything!! Overall this is an excellent choice based on features, price and performance. The only thing I don't like is where Lenovo decided to put the delete key... It's difficult to reach and I accidentally hit the backspace key more times than not."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JerseyMusician

Solid value for the price

Date: July 26, 2014
"This is my 3rd Lenovo. Purchased for my wife, to get her a current system. It will be used for Web access, MS Office, iTunes & one other app (replacing an XP dinosaur). I'll expand the RAM, everything else is fine for what she needs. Personally, I have been very pleased with Lenovo support & product quality in the past."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wtromp

Seems solid, fast and reliable so far

Date: July 10, 2014
"Wish it had a backlit keyboard, and the mouse pad doesn't scroll the page down like my old laptop, but other than that it seems to be a solid machine."
Review 6 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Consumer

Decent laptop

Date: June 27, 2014
"Would be nice to have a better resolution with hdmi port. Touchpad is not the best, but other than that, it's a nice laptop."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ronk

Underwhelming ...

Date: June 14, 2014
"Had a T510 , then a T520 i5-2520, which was a good bump, especially from 32-bit to 64-bit. Thought would go to the T530 i5-3320, and was disappointed. Performance lackluster improvement, with WEI 4.9 over 4.8 for the T520. Memory performance 5.9? Should be at least 7. New keyboard which I like as well as the old, and usb 3.0 is good too. That's all I got new with this upgrade I guess."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scarberian

Excellent Deal

Date: June 9, 2014
"My T530 is a quality product. Where I worked, we all used Lenovo. So, when I retired, a Lenovo was the one that made sense because of my familiarity with the product. All Lenovo products I have used, have been extremely reliable. The only thing I haven't done yet is do a full backup as it appears to be a bit complicated, so have been putting it off. I've had my T530 for just over a year, and I have been extremely pleased with my Laptop. Way to go Lenovo."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
frog

good laptop!

Date: June 8, 2014
"The laptop is very goog!"
Review 10 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
budjo

Disappointed

Date: June 7, 2014
"When it is working I am satisfied with performance. It has locked up several times and the only way I could bring it back was to remove the battery. It has been ok for several weeks but still disappointed with purchase."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
REALLY

Best Purchase Ever

Date: May 29, 2014
"Good deal."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gunner

hate it

Date: May 29, 2014
"its slow. doesnt have a capital on light. it was an older computer that had to have windows 8 installed in it I found out later after I bought it. I have to keep reloading software because trey keep failing example micro office. Hate this computer!"
Review 13 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snoop

Great Product

Date: May 29, 2014
"This is the best computer (T530) I have owned. You have done an excellent job providing ALL the information needed, in the form of the User Guide, to use and enjoy my Lenovo T530 now and in the future. Thank you, for providing a Great product at a fair price."
Review 14 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Niecie

Practical

Date: May 29, 2014
"This is my first laptop purchase, and overall I'm satisfied with the functionality. Sometimes the zoom feature changes the size of the text while using the mouse. It's a decent laptop for my needs."
Review 15 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laci

ThinkPad T530 review

Date: May 28, 2014
"Good: stable, reliable, improved door hinges (screen is not moving after 2 years), easy to disassemble, added 4th usb port, added camera, silent, cold, durable.
Bad:
- white list of hardware (not possible to add new hardware if it is not on white list, tested with Ericsson F5521gw Wireless broadband WAN),
- function keys makes scratches on screen,
- touchpad get worn after few months, cheep look,
- materials could be better, to be more compact,
- Nvidia NVS 5400M.
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sailaway

Great laptop

Date: May 28, 2014
"Fast and sleek. Really like the nice size and positioned speakers, textured mouse pad, and key board feel. Works great, very happy with this purchase."
Review 17 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dutch

Second ThinkPad

Date: May 28, 2014
"When I was laid off a couple of years ago, my employer let me keep my company Lenovo T60. I'd grown quite fond of the machine, so when the display finally quit, I decided to replace it with a newer model. Since I was still unemployed, it had to be affordable. The T530 was not the newest model available, but based on the reservations expressed by some T540 owners, I went with the older model. No regrets. The machine has been serving me extremely well for everything from email to web-surfing to using MS Office and Photoshop programs to live streaming movies. (I opted to keep the factory installed Windows 7 OS rather than installing the option upgrade to 8.) My only complaint thus far is that the built-in microphone seems inadequate for use with Skype."
Review 18 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnJ

A great value in a laptop

Date: May 4, 2014
"Fast operation, even when using memory-eating software like QuickBooks and Photoshop. Came with automatic downgrade to Windows 7 Professional which makes it ideal for business use. Best of all, this ThinkPad has a sturdy feel to it that makes me feel confident while using it. Wish I'd opted for the touchscreen only because I'm getting used to using that feature on my tablets and find myself reaching for the screen occasionally!"
Review 19 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mediaguy
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Terrible decline in build quality.

Date: March 27, 2014
Pros: Processor, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"I had a Thinkpad years ago, which was rock solid. Then I upgraded to this. Everything about the body is flimsy, plasticky, and cheap. Keyboard/lid flexes under even slight pressure, light leaks are everywhere on the display, the lid doesn't close evenly and tightly and now I find out that there's a large group of dead pixels in the middle of the display. Touchpad is small and finicky, and the awful build quality is both frustrating to work with and makes me afraid to use the device. On top of that, it's still thick and bulky, which would be fine if it were still indestructible like my old R61, but it's not."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Christine
Owned Product:1-6 months

The keyboard is really annoying

Date: March 6, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Support, Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Durability
"It's only half an year after I purchased this laptop online, but now I have to have an external keyboard connected to it. It's just because the original keyboard of the laptop is AWFUL. You type out a sentence and then you have to go back and check because there are many letters missing. Why, because the keyboard is not sensitive. This problem is kind of on and off. Sometimes, restarting the computer can help, sometimes not. I don't think I have patience dealing with this keyboard, as such I decided to use an external keyboard. It's about the efficiency of my office work."