Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T530 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T530

15.6” powerhouse with productivity-ready features & leading wireless options.

Average customer rating:
3.683 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
9
41 of 60(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T530
Review 1 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wtromp

Seems solid, fast and reliable so far

Date: July 10, 2014
"Wish it had a backlit keyboard, and the mouse pad doesn't scroll the page down like my old laptop, but other than that it seems to be a solid machine."
Review 2 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Consumer

Decent laptop

Date: June 27, 2014
"Would be nice to have a better resolution with hdmi port. Touchpad is not the best, but other than that, it's a nice laptop."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ronk

Underwhelming ...

Date: June 14, 2014
"Had a T510 , then a T520 i5-2520, which was a good bump, especially from 32-bit to 64-bit. Thought would go to the T530 i5-3320, and was disappointed. Performance lackluster improvement, with WEI 4.9 over 4.8 for the T520. Memory performance 5.9? Should be at least 7. New keyboard which I like as well as the old, and usb 3.0 is good too. That's all I got new with this upgrade I guess."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scarberian

Excellent Deal

Date: June 9, 2014
"My T530 is a quality product. Where I worked, we all used Lenovo. So, when I retired, a Lenovo was the one that made sense because of my familiarity with the product. All Lenovo products I have used, have been extremely reliable. The only thing I haven't done yet is do a full backup as it appears to be a bit complicated, so have been putting it off. I've had my T530 for just over a year, and I have been extremely pleased with my Laptop. Way to go Lenovo."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
frog

good laptop!

Date: June 8, 2014
"The laptop is very goog!"
Review 6 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
budjo

Disappointed

Date: June 7, 2014
"When it is working I am satisfied with performance. It has locked up several times and the only way I could bring it back was to remove the battery. It has been ok for several weeks but still disappointed with purchase."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
REALLY

Best Purchase Ever

Date: May 29, 2014
"Good deal."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gunner

hate it

Date: May 29, 2014
"its slow. doesnt have a capital on light. it was an older computer that had to have windows 8 installed in it I found out later after I bought it. I have to keep reloading software because trey keep failing example micro office. Hate this computer!"
Review 9 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snoop

Great Product

Date: May 29, 2014
"This is the best computer (T530) I have owned. You have done an excellent job providing ALL the information needed, in the form of the User Guide, to use and enjoy my Lenovo T530 now and in the future. Thank you, for providing a Great product at a fair price."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Niecie

Practical

Date: May 29, 2014
"This is my first laptop purchase, and overall I'm satisfied with the functionality. Sometimes the zoom feature changes the size of the text while using the mouse. It's a decent laptop for my needs."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laci

ThinkPad T530 review

Date: May 28, 2014
"Good: stable, reliable, improved door hinges (screen is not moving after 2 years), easy to disassemble, added 4th usb port, added camera, silent, cold, durable.
Bad:
- white list of hardware (not possible to add new hardware if it is not on white list, tested with Ericsson F5521gw Wireless broadband WAN),
- function keys makes scratches on screen,
- touchpad get worn after few months, cheep look,
- materials could be better, to be more compact,
- Nvidia NVS 5400M.
"
Review 12 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sailaway

Great laptop

Date: May 28, 2014
"Fast and sleek. Really like the nice size and positioned speakers, textured mouse pad, and key board feel. Works great, very happy with this purchase."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dutch

Second ThinkPad

Date: May 28, 2014
"When I was laid off a couple of years ago, my employer let me keep my company Lenovo T60. I'd grown quite fond of the machine, so when the display finally quit, I decided to replace it with a newer model. Since I was still unemployed, it had to be affordable. The T530 was not the newest model available, but based on the reservations expressed by some T540 owners, I went with the older model. No regrets. The machine has been serving me extremely well for everything from email to web-surfing to using MS Office and Photoshop programs to live streaming movies. (I opted to keep the factory installed Windows 7 OS rather than installing the option upgrade to 8.) My only complaint thus far is that the built-in microphone seems inadequate for use with Skype."
Review 14 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnJ

A great value in a laptop

Date: May 4, 2014
"Fast operation, even when using memory-eating software like QuickBooks and Photoshop. Came with automatic downgrade to Windows 7 Professional which makes it ideal for business use. Best of all, this ThinkPad has a sturdy feel to it that makes me feel confident while using it. Wish I'd opted for the touchscreen only because I'm getting used to using that feature on my tablets and find myself reaching for the screen occasionally!"
Review 15 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mediaguy
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Terrible decline in build quality.

Date: March 27, 2014
Pros: Processor, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"I had a Thinkpad years ago, which was rock solid. Then I upgraded to this. Everything about the body is flimsy, plasticky, and cheap. Keyboard/lid flexes under even slight pressure, light leaks are everywhere on the display, the lid doesn't close evenly and tightly and now I find out that there's a large group of dead pixels in the middle of the display. Touchpad is small and finicky, and the awful build quality is both frustrating to work with and makes me afraid to use the device. On top of that, it's still thick and bulky, which would be fine if it were still indestructible like my old R61, but it's not."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Christine
Owned Product:1-6 months

The keyboard is really annoying

Date: March 6, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Support, Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Durability
"It's only half an year after I purchased this laptop online, but now I have to have an external keyboard connected to it. It's just because the original keyboard of the laptop is AWFUL. You type out a sentence and then you have to go back and check because there are many letters missing. Why, because the keyboard is not sensitive. This problem is kind of on and off. Sometimes, restarting the computer can help, sometimes not. I don't think I have patience dealing with this keyboard, as such I decided to use an external keyboard. It's about the efficiency of my office work."
Review 17 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
otis
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Case issues

Date: February 7, 2014
Cons: Warranty, Durability
"I went above my budget to by the t530. It has generally performed adequately. However, a few months post purchase, a chunk is missing out of the corner of the case (lower left of keyboard, near windows/intel sticker). My computer was never dropped (and if it was, this is not where it would break).
A little searching revealed this is a very common problem on this series of thinkpads (check out various forums). More importantly Lenovo terms this a "cosmetic" issue not covered by warranty.
Looking for durability? I'd say look elsewhere."
Review 18 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sciencemajor
Owned Product:1-6 months

Really Mad

Date: January 7, 2014
"As a science major, I need an integrated camera and it was not until a couple months later that I realized this computer did not have it. Overall, it is a good computer but the picture clearly shows a camera and the description talks about it as well. I love how it functions but I'm really irritated that they won't do anything about replacing the computer when they screwed up."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voio
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

I just love it!

Date: December 7, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
"I love this laptop! I use it every day as high performance mobile workstation, no issues at all."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T530
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LiamScanlan
Owned Product:Less than a week
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Lightening fast. But a bit 'plasticky"

Date: October 17, 2013
Pros: Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, performance on ubuntu
Cons: no non-windows version
"When I first opened the packaging, the laptop did feel a bit plasticky compared to the t61 I had for years, but I got to appreciate the lighter feel after using it for a while.
I immediately threw away the Windows 7 and installed Linux Ubuntu and the machine is lightening fast. I went for the solid state disk drive and the i7 chip. That combination with Ubuntu now is amazing.
It boots from cold to login screen in about 4 or 5 seconds. And login in after that takes about 2 seconds. It's so fast, it feels like a trick.
The backlit keyboard is excellent. That's a fantastic improvement.
I had my last one for 5 years, travelled the world with it and hammered away on it so much, the letters on the keyboard were wearing. That's why I opted for Lenovo again. Unbeatable durability.
"