Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo G780 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo G780

Affordable, multipurpose 17.3" laptop for everyday use.

Average customer rating:
3.784 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
26 of 37(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo G780
Review 1 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good computer, fell apart after a year

Date: October 28, 2014
"I use this model for Photoshop, business and personal use. It runs good but after a year and a half, the computer just cracked near the adapter outlet and right side where it opens. It is disappointing because otherwise I would give it 5 stars."
Review 2 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ryan100

Awesome Laptop

Date: August 16, 2014
"Had this laptop for a couple months now. The performance is super impressive. The speed is great even when RAM is low. Runs quiet and cool for hours, even during high demand applications. Pretty good battery life for such a large screen. Chasis is sturdy, but the screen is maybe a little flimsy. Obviously not the greatest mobile machine but great for the desk, especially with programs that benefit from a large screen. Windows 8 is pretty good, wish it had a better relationship with the windows 7 running in the desktop, but no issues with software. Lenovo computers come with an impressive slew of pre-downloaded programs which is great. My only negative thing to say is that the screen isn't great. It's bright, but not amazing for movies. The touchpad can also get a little hot sometimes, but a slow fan or cooling station solves that. The aluminum interior never gets too hot.
I would recommend this laptop or the G series to anyone. Seriously gets the job done! Well done Lenovo!
"
Review 3 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sdrake74

windows 8?????

Date: May 31, 2014
"great laptop.. however a solid state hard drive and windows 7 are going in as soon as the warranty is up..... windows 8 has way to many things running in the backgroung that i will never use...
support is great however they need to start upgrading to solid state hard drives... the mechanical hard drives are way out of date...
"
Review 4 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Summer

Horrible!!

Date: May 29, 2014
"Just 1 year 3 months into using this computer and it broke. Not reliable at all. So DISAPPOINTED, Lenovo came highly recommended from a friend!
Lenovo has to charge to fix the computer! This will be my first and last."
Review 5 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MB13

Lenovo provides great quality!

Date: May 28, 2014
"After going through three Dells in a short period of time and swearing never again, a friend said try a Lenovo. Great product, runs cool, and great attention to the little details. Will definitely buy another Lenovo when the time comes."
Review 6 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
doeman

love the laptop hate the battery

Date: May 28, 2014
"I love my laptop but the battery does not charge. I purchased February 2013 and used a total of 10 times. The battery originally charged then after that nothing. The forum is great but there seems to be an issue with the battery. I purchased a new one and have a new plug and nothing works. The warranty ran out 1 year to the date of purchase. This should not happen."
Review 7 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Qman
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Works great, despite Windows 8

Date: March 17, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Support, touchpad, windows 8, documentation
"I've had this for several months. Love the Corei7, 8GBs RAM, and large 17" screen, 1TB HD and Wi-Fi are outstanding. Computer has worked like a champ, used every day. Hate the Windows 8 Interface though! "Bad things":lack of documentation. The backing, the touchpad - no way to easily turn it off - especially if using a mouse for those of us with "Heavy thumbs". Even going into the control panel - there is no defined "Off" switch.
All-in-all, a great machine at an outstanding price.
"
Review 8 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mrpcgeek
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome

Date: March 16, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Warranty, Support, Security Features, Included Software, Software compatibility
"Beautifull Laptop. From A pc fan. Best you can get.
Mine is
8gb ram,
i7-3520 @ 2900 ghz,
64 operating win 7
"
Review 9 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
benefit13
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

One element shy

Date: January 3, 2014
Pros: Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card
"I use this computer for routine functions so it's been perfect, except for the network card. It's the only wireless device in the house that can't keep a firm grip on WiFi. We upgrade our stuff all the time so I went in search of a better card, but to date have yet to find one that's compatible. Suggestions, given through a variety of sources, have lead to phantom components. So I live with a laptop that I like, and live with it's flaw. It's been suggested that I replace the card with the same unit, but in that I've seen this same issue reported by others on different forums... no."
Review 10 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TodayisTuesday
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop

Date: November 12, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Weight, mobility
"The only thing that is a downfall is its size, almost too large to carry around, barely able to fit in backpack."
Review 11 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phillip
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Very good machine.

Date: October 21, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Weight, touchpad, speakers, overall design
"All in all a great laptop for a good price. There are some problems though: speakers aren't great, touchpad isn't very good (I use a mouse so it's not a big problem), to big and heavy, not a fan of the black all metal design (collects dust and your skin's oil and is clearly visible). But this is a very fast and powerful laptop. I decided to go with this model because I wanted something that could play games at a reasonable price. For example I've been playing Portal 2 on it at medium to high graphics, Mass Effect 2 at medium graphics, and Dota 2 at high graphics all at a good frame rate. If you can get past the minor flaws I would certainly recommend this laptop."
Review 12 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
yiou
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

the quality is not so good as expected

Date: September 6, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, fan noise
"This laptop equipped with Intel core i7, 8 GM RAM and 1 TB hard drive for about 700 buck is in a reasonable price. However, there are some problems I encounter.
First, the fan is way too noisy!! I think the fan is full of dust. It's only tolerable when you use this laptop in a very noisy park. If you use it in a quiet room, the noise is very annoying. The good thing is, after a week. The noise disappeared. Now the laptop makes no noise at all XD. The fan is still working, just the dust gets removed somehow.
the key popped off!!, the 9-key on the numeric pad in my keyboard actually popped off after just one week after I purchased it!!! However, I try to push it back, and it actually holds the 9-key again. so I do this every time the key pop off.
"
Review 13 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ptwchtr
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7

Impossible to type with the keyboard configuration

Date: September 4, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"This laptop has everything I wanted at a great price. My only complaint is the keyboard configuration. The right shift key is too small and too close to the directional arrows. This along with other keyboard issues makes it impossible to type without having the cursor jump around all over. I end up with parts of sentences embedded where they don't belong or whole lines inadvertently deleted. So, unfortunately, if I have to do any lengthy typing I revert back to my old laptop."
Review 14 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sacking
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Wonderful

Date: August 24, 2013
Pros: Processor, Support, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution
"My HP laptop crashed and the cost of repair was almost like buying a new one, so I looked at Lenovo website after checking out the models at BB and Frys. This is a great computer. Switching between Windows 8 and 7 is easy, and for this old guy, that's nice. Listening to Pandora (Dire Straits) on the Dolby speakers is a real treat. It found my wireless and printer without me having to do anything. Nice. Love this new laptop. Get one! What a deal."
Review 15 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
harry
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

disaster

Date: August 19, 2013
Pros: Processor, Security Features, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Wireless card, Support, Battery, Software compatibility
"I will keep it short. Very good laptop for Windows users. If you plan to use any kind of Linux on it'Lenovo G780 is a nightmare, so dont even think to get this one.Looks like lenovo get sponsored by M-soft..."
Review 16 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chazwarp923
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great for the price

Date: July 31, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software
"I've had this for about a month now as my main computer and it performs great in everything I do (Ex. Photoshop, gaming, coding, etc.) my only gripe is that it does slightly over heat when I'm gaming, I find it best to have it on an elevated surface with vents to allow good airflow, basically just get a good cooling pad and its great. Overall for the price and specs this is a great computer."
Review 17 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Alstair
Owned Product:1-6 months

Hate It

Date: July 23, 2013
Cons: touchpad
"The worst. The touchpad is a nightmare; if you type with two hands, the screen jumps around and will even take you to a different window. But it won't do simple tasks, like scroll up or down or even move your curser."
Review 18 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ZeroVegre
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2.5 GB

Horrible battery life

Date: July 14, 2013
Pros: Weight, Memory, Bluetooth, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Support, Battery
"This laptop works great with no issues on performance at all. My only issue is that the infomration on the battery is a lie. aeven there own tech support said that there is no way the battery could last 6 hours. On standby maybe, but definetly not in use.
The longest I've ever got my battery to last was 2 hours. Hoenestly I feel lied to. I bought mine in December and and very careful about overcharging or whatever."
Review 19 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RajcallmeBob
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Unfriendly, words can't describe.

Date: June 13, 2013
Pros: it doesn't look bad.
Cons: i can't find a pro to compare with.
"No one seems real happy with the Windows 8 business, but after a couple of years, we should be able to figure it out. The Bluetooth mouse that arrived with the G780 is another piece of work. Three of the college grads in the house haven't figured out the download on that. The area around the palm of the right hand when typing seems to put the system in some kind of distress, causing everything to be reduced to micro print. Under no circumstance should this Windows 8, which by the way can't be replaced with something more friendly, be sold to anyone over the age of 55. I wish we had just gotten a $400.00 system from the local Big Box. Advice, run from anything with Windows 8. Don't look back, just keep running. This should make a good paperweight or cat warmer for the winter."
Review 20 for Lenovo G780
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FunMom
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

It's OK but don't ever expect to play a PC game

Date: June 1, 2013
Pros: Battery, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Security Features, Included Software
"The battery life was surprising with the "optimized" setting lasting quite a while. I hate the McAfee software (bloatware really) which is constantly asking for your money with a pop up once an hour.
A giant issue is that either Lenovo or Windows 8 will not allow you to put off restarting after updates. So no matter how important or time critical you task, you will be forced off in 10 minutes.
If you ever want to play games on the PC (the type that involve walking and looking using the mouse like Skyrim, minecraft, and almost all other games), this is not the laptop to buy. There is no way to get the mouse to work while you press on the keyboard. I have a desktop so if I wanted to install a mouse and sit at a table then I wouldn't have bought a laptop."