Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad S431 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad S431

14" style optimized for Windows 8, with new ThinkPad TrackPad, OneLink technology, RapidCharge battery, & more. Available in Silver & Gunmetal with Sandblast Aluminum finish.

Average customer rating:
3.92 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
17 of 25(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad S431
Review 1 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Armac

Disappointed... Very Disappointed

Date: July 2, 2014
"I bought this Lenovo Thinkpad based on reputation. I've been disappointed. It was advertised as having:
Ports:
HDMI
Network (RJ-45)
Audio Line Out
USB 2.0: 2
USB 3.0 2
It has 2 USB 2.0 ports, not a total of 4. That was overcome by the purchase of an Ankor 4 port hub. But that's not the real problem. This unit drops my wifi connection 10 to 20 times a day, this from a distance of less than 10 feet from the hub. Simply signing on again doesn't solve it. I have to do a complete shutdown and then boot from scratch. I have three other computers, one an old Pentium, and have never had this problem. That's disgusting from a laptop that cost almost $900. Because I'm a freelance writer and need a dependable computer for travel and writing, I thought I'd have a winner with this Thinkpad. I was wrong.
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nima

useless touchpad

Date: June 19, 2014
"There are good things about this laptop but the touch pad is so horrible that it out ways everything else.
The touch pad for this laptop may be the worst piece of technology i have ever dealt with. Worst of all it cannot be disabled!!! If you do not have a portable mouse and keyboard you might as well not turn this laptop on. Our company provided this laptop to several employees and across the board everyone had the exact same complaint.
1. The touch pad is way too close to the keyboard, you have to either split you hand awkwardly or keep them uncomfortably high or you engage the mouse while typing
2. The left and right mouse buttons are built into the touch pad, if you try to click on something %90 of the time the pointer moves and you select something else
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT"
Review 3 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rcpro

Terrible trackpoint, poor wifi, good build quality

Date: June 11, 2014
"Pros:
- good build quality
- very fast boot up and smooth operation with i5 and SSD drive
Cons:
- terrible trackpoint. I have used trackpoint (red dot mouse) on many ThinkPad laptops, and this one is horrible. It is integrated with the touchpad and often fails to left click.
- WiFi reception is unacceptable. I can't stream FLAC audio files when sitting right beside the router (need to connect Ethernet to avoid skipping). When using at longer distances from the router, it gets 1-2 bars and can't even browse the internet. Meanwhile my work laptops (x1 carbon and T410) get 5 bars.
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
tigger

Touch Pad

Date: May 29, 2014
"Loud, bouncy...it rattles.
I cannot stand using it and with a 14" ultrabook, there is no way I will use an external mouse.
Why, in such an otherwise great little computer, would Lenovo install such a cheap touchpad?
Google a You-Tube video and hear someone else's same issue.
Neither Lenovo nor my computer guru can fix it...both suggested I return it...
tigger
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michael

Good notebook for business user

Date: May 29, 2014
"My employer purchased the S431 as a replacement for my 7 year old ThinkPad X61 Convertible Tablet. I very much like the screen size and performance--boots up quickly. Typically it is used for MS Office applications when on the go. At first the new island style keyboard did not seem as nice as the older style ThinkPad keyboard to which I'd become accustom; I've used ThinkPads since 1994. It has since grown on me. The only things I'd change about the S431 would be a slightly brighter screen and to have the dedicated "mouse" buttons for the TrackPoint in lieu of the touch pad. I have disabled the Touchpad and use the TrackPoint only. Overall a very nice notebook."
Review 6 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bobby

Fair product

Date: May 28, 2014
"I purchased this product because I needed a fast, easy-to-use PC to work on the go and was able to log into my office's server remotely. I upgraded the processor to the i5 due to recommendation by our companies IT dept however I was disappointed with its performance for the additional cost. The product takes a longer-than-normal-time booting up and waking from being asleep. It is very solid-construction and the screen resolution very crisp and clear.
I would probably not purchase this product again if I had the opportunity, I would spend the extra $300 and get a mac air, I've had very good experiences and longevity with those products in the past."
Review 7 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Broker

Dud

Date: May 28, 2014
"I replaced my wonderful T61 with Excel. The S431 seems okay in terms of reliability, but I hate the touch pad. In combination with Windows 8, this is the worst computer I have owned in terms of ease to operate and compatibility with my existing hardware. I am seriously considering replacing it with an Apple product which I find much more consumer friendly and easy to operate."
Review 8 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Converted

Never switching again!

Date: May 28, 2014
"I will never switch manufacturers again. Lenovo has done it! I love the technology built into it, and the device is solid. It feels like it's made from high-quality material, and that may be true, but I like how it feels, so I love it.
I enjoy how streamlined the features are, and although I don't use the Red mouse button feature that much on the keyboard, I can see how it would come in handy.
Lenovo has taken this to a new level!
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AaronT2014

My S431

Date: May 28, 2014
"I love the design and functionality of the laptop. Everything is great. But the only, minor, drawback is the track-pad. The entire pad moves which makes it difficult and a little awkward. Besides that, this is a great, powerful laptop."
Review 10 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steven

Surpassing Expectations

Date: May 19, 2014
"I purchased the S431 off Lenovo's Outlet website for considerably less than I had ever seen it in the past. I was in the market for an i5 processor with an SSD and the 1600x900 HD+ screen. It was listed at the same price as models with the i3 processor, the lower resolution screen, and the standard hard drive. The item description also stated that there was no fingerprint reader but there is.
I think someone made a mistake on their end and I got out with ~$300 in savings."
Review 11 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
walking8

Leniovo S431 Thinkpad Ultrabook

Date: April 24, 2014
"Great, fast, light weight laptop. Used PCMover to move everything from my 32 bit laptop. Had to make a few adjustments for the 64 bit OS. Very quick boot up and no problems so far. I use a wireless mouse-hate touch pads, although this one works fairly well. Running Win 7 Pro."
Review 12 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tiger2836

Returned with regret

Date: April 6, 2014
"Used S431 for about a week and returned it. Laptop has many great features but two significate flaws outweigh the benefits.
First, there's just one memory slot. Not only that means no upgrade option it also makes impossible to run memory in dual channel mode. For integrated graphics that is significant and permanent reduction in performance.
Amount of bloatware and Lenovo utilities is insane. If you don't remove them initial 4GB is RAM will be 75% utilized after system startup leaving almost no memory for user applications. After extensive cleaning I cleaned 50% of RAM which is still low when you have just 4GB.
Secondly, display (1600x900) is fine for dark room but in a bright light (indirect sunlight, indoors) it's very hard to see what on the screen.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
calbeargrylls
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Buy

Date: February 27, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, charges very fast
Cons: Wireless card, Bluetooth
"I purchased the S431 in September 2013 and have been using it daily for about six months now. I purchased the SSD, i5, and HD screen, and I could not be happier."
Review 14 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Student
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7

Great Student Computer

Date: February 20, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
"I bought this computer for university and have no regrets whatsoever. It meets all my program requires, is lightweight, and never fails on me. I practically live off of this laptop. The battery life is good for as much as I use it, it never makes noise or produces an extreme amount of heat. I've used the backlit more than I thought I would; great for late studying and dimmed lecture rooms. My only concern was not having a disk drive, but I hardly ever need one. When I do, I have Lenovo's external disk drive.
One of my USB ports acts up sometimes, but I think that's just from extensive use. Another weird con is that the surface retains fingerprints easily. Clean often!
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dave
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent laptop, great Quality

Date: January 22, 2014
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card
"This laptop is phenomenal. Great build quality with a magnesium aluminum alloy body, rigid hinge, great keyboard and trackpad which is responsive and definitive for clicking and mouse actions.
I chose the laptop with the 128gb SSD, i3, 4gb of RAM, and standard HD screen. While the speed is noticeably different from my custom home built PC (i5 3570k) this laptop is perfect for using anywhere, and is extremely reliable. Another good thing to note is that the HDD, or RAM are easily upgradable through the bottom of the laptop."
Review 16 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fairland90
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Best ultrabook under $700

Date: November 24, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Video card, Display performance
"S431 is the best ultrabook one can get under $700. A perfect alternative to a macbook. I recommend the SSD hard drive for S431. It definitely improves the overall performance of this laptop. Also consider to upgrade the processor to i5, if you emphasize the processing speed."
Review 17 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gree1397
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

S431

Date: October 16, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"My father has been using a Lenovo for a few years now and only had good things to say about. So, when my other laptop died I jumped on the opportunity to try a new brand. I was blown away by the S431. This is my first ultrabook and I absolutely love it. The backlit keyboard is a nice change of pace. This machine doesn't make a noise when it is on. With the SSD, boot time is lightning fast. With the USB 3.0 having media on an external HDD is perfect. I am a student and the portability is so wonderful. It's pretty light and it feels wonderfully sturdy with a quiet keyboard that doesn't distract others in the lecture. I love it."
Review 18 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jilted
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Not-So-Cheap Laptop, Cheap Quality

Date: September 19, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility
"The wireless card stinks. Don't waste your money. Get the T430s"
Review 19 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
noco
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great for the Price

Date: September 17, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Battery
"I have a desktop for home; I bought this laptop for school/work use and travel. I do programming in programs like SAS and R, so I needed something with a fast processor, 8 GB of RAM and Windows 7, but also something relatively light. This was the perfect compromise for me in terms of price vs performance (I'm a graduate student, so I didn't have a ton of money to spend). The battery life is decent (4-6 hours for me), but 8 hours would have been nice. I have the HD+ (900p) screen; the colors aren't the best I've seen, but for business/work/school use, it's perfectly adequate. The keyboard is comfortable and the trackpad is good for a trackpad. This is the only ultrabook I was able to find under 4 pounds that included an I7 processor, 8gb RAM, dedicated GPU, and an SSD for under $1200."
Review 20 for ThinkPad S431
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oleg
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Quality laptop with could-be-better-battery

Date: September 13, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, lack of vga
"Overall this is a great laptop, and it definitely suits its price well. Feels firm and incredibly durable. Mine is i-7 with 8 gb of ram. Performance has been outstanding so far. Heat was never an issue for me with this machine, although I loaded it pretty heavily. It handles any hd video just fine. The only reason I gave 4 stars is for battery. With active content consumption (checking e-mail, with wi-fi always on, watching hd-videos, and installing applications) battery drained in 3 hours. However, I am sure, with a normal days load the battery will last 4.5-6 hours as described. It lacks VGA port, which is a con particularly for me.
Overall, it is very nice laptop, with GREAT keyboard and cool design.
"