Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad W540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad W540

Average customer rating:
3.085 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (153 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
27
3 stars
15
2 stars
28
1 star
38
68 of 153(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad W540
Review 1 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Last Thinkpad for me

Date: October 28, 2014
"Long time fan of Thinkpads. Bought the W540. Beautiful screen, but the touchpad is so bad, that I can not use this machine at all. I was a trackpoint user for years, the "virtual buttons" are so poorly done that the trackpoint is not usable, which leaves using the trackpad - which is horrible. The ergonomics of this machine is so poor that I went and bought a Mac. Too bad it is too late to get my money back on this one."
Review 2 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Poor keyboard choice

Date: October 27, 2014
"I don't understand why Lenovo has decided to go with this style keyboard. It is not practical or necessary for a laptop. Who uses number pads? For software developers, like myself, it's uncomfortable to have the keyboard offset. The W530 (which I own) is a great computer. The W530 is solid, good sound, great performance, no problems. Why change something that works great? I really don't understand."
Review 3 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid Performer

Date: October 21, 2014
"I have been a Lenovo user for a long time and I like many of the changes made to their lineup to create the W540. My only negative would be the touchpad, it is harder to use than the previous version with completely separate buttons. I am getting used to it quickly, though. It is lightning fast and I like the new keyboard."
Review 4 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Not so good.

Date: October 20, 2014
"When I first got this I thought it would be high end.
As for Screen and Processor it performs well but for some reason the disk gets bogged down even thought it is a SD drive. The drive is a samsung MZ7TD256HAFV and it's throughput sucks. Its really no faster than your typical 7200 rpm drive for some reason. Mouse pad sucks and is not friendly at all. Occasionally the wireless card will not connect and I have to disable/enable it.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good product - Bad Mouse Design Change

Date: October 20, 2014
"This is a good computer - lots of power, and still has (almost) all the good Lenovo features that have kept me coming back. This is my fifth ThinkPad. But there is one glaring exception to my satisfaction - I have read this criticism from others too. The new trackpoint/mousepad design on the laptop itself. Really badly engineered. It just doesn't work most of the time. I can get it to "click" about half the time, but I cannot drag an icon by holding down the left mouse button.
You really should go back to the old set-up.
I use mine most of the time at a desk with a full keyboard, big monitor and auxiliary mouse, so it's not that big of a deal. But for people who use it as a laptop most of the time, they may have to carry a travel mouse to be able to get it to work efficiently.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointed with this W-series laptop

Date: October 20, 2014
"I am a system engineer for a small-ish department of software engineers, and we have been using the W5x0-series laptops for several years now - starting with the W510 and now ending with the W540. I recommended this laptop to a college who was looking to purchase several laptops for his division, and I recommended the W540 because the W530 was just recently discontinued. I figured how much could they have changed between revisions? The last few iterations have been very similar to the original W510.
It turns out I was wrong to make that assumption. The W540 touchpad is so frustrating that it inspired me to come here and write this review. They've abandoned the two pairs of right/left click buttons (one for touchpad users and one for the trackpoint users). Right clicking, left clicking, clicking and dragging, scrolling and just plain moving your mouse are all on one giant clickpad... and it is just completely unusable. Do yourself a favor and avoid this laptop!"
Review 7 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

W540

Date: October 17, 2014
"The computer is a nice size and weight but that is where I feel the value stops. I have actually had two of them already and about every six (6) weeks something goes wrong or needs replaced. I am just so thankful that I bought the on-site warranty as it would have been gone more than it was at home. The plastic used in the keyboard is very poor quality as I'm now on my third (3rd) keyboard because the color has worn off the spacebar and when the backlight is on, it would shine in my face when I was typing at night. It seems I have had one problem after another with it. This last time, they sent me a keyboard that feels a bit different than the previous 2 (original + 1 replacement). Granted, I do a lot of typing on it so, I guess that may be the reason that the keyboards have lost their color/markings. As for the overall workings, I suppose that has been okay but not great.
I would have sent it back for a refund if I had of had another computer that I could trust but I didn't."
Review 8 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

If you write code - don't buy a W540

Date: October 16, 2014
"My personal laptop is the W530. Great machine and works as a main developer workstation. I also had a W530 at my last job. The W540 however sucks for two main reasons: 1) The trackpad is virtually unusable 2) The number pad on the side pushes the main keyboard over so you can't sit centered in front of your screen and just type without hitting wrong keys. Worst design ever. Maybe it would work for someone who punches numbers in spreadsheets all day, but if you write code, choose a different model."
Review 9 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Beautiful laptop - Trackpad well...

Date: October 15, 2014
"I have to say i love this laptop! When I got it i was overall very pleased. However, I can see why people complain about the track-pad. It's bigger than normal and takes some getting use to and it almost has a mind of its own I believe (eg: clicks when it wants to). If this laptop came equipped with the old style track pad i would say it was perfect. But overall I am happy with my purchase."
Review 10 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Almost perfect

Date: October 15, 2014
"Pros: Fast, track pad touch features, reliable,
Cons: Dead pixel out of the box, Bluetooth randomly disconnects, junk software
First of all, disappointed to find a dead pixel out of the box. I would normally send it back or get it fixed but I need the laptop for school and cant afford the downtime. Oh well.
The best thing about it is how fast it is. I upgraded to 16 GB ram and a 128 GB SSD. I run OpenFOAM CFD in a virtual Ubuntu environment and it blazes through the computations.
I dislike the track pad click, feels cheap and inconsistent. The touch features are great however so I usually don't use the click. I also use a Bluetooth mouse often but it occasionally disconnects for no apparent reason and there doesn't seem to be a way to start the Bluetooth application without restarting the computer.
Every laptop I've ever purchased is full of the manufacturers junk software and Lenovo is no different. Its not hard to remove, just a hassle.
Overall very satisfied with the laptop.
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

SLOW...why??...who knows

Date: October 15, 2014
"Looking at the specs on this machine, it should be very fast. It is not. Core i7, 16GB RAM. This machine takes longer to start than a $300 Acer I bought 3 years ago, and there's certainly less software on this machine than the Acer.
There's no hard-drive activity indication. Sometimes it sits there and does nothing, and I have no idea if it's accessing the drive, or what.
Thunderbolt connector...no thanks. I'd much rather have an HDMI connector (or 2), instead of having to buy a bunch of unreliable adapters to go from Thunderbolt to something else.
Big touch pad with no separate buttons...this feature is also no good. I'd much rather have a standard touch pad with the two buttons.
On the plus side, the battery life on this thing is very good.
My suggestion: buy something else."
Review 12 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Fantastic Machine!

Date: October 12, 2014
"I'm not sure how many ThinkPads I have had but first one had a monochrome display, back in 1993 or so. So this is by no means my first, and it won't be my last. The W540 3k display is beautiful and it has a truly outstanding keyboard. Keyboards are one of the things I have always felt set the ThinkPads apart - for a touch typist a bad keyboard is crippling! I read some of the reviews where people complained about it being off-center to accommodate the 10-key pad but while I do notice it, it doesn't bother me. And I have had no trouble with the touchpad either. Overall, the feel of this keyboard is the best one ever. Really. It took absolutely no getting used to.
The 3k display is outstanding. I do wish it were also a touchscreen; this would be a great improvement for the next generation. I mostly use this machine in the docking station with a large extended display, but when I use the ThinkPad alone the touchscreen would be very nice to have."
Review 13 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Love it, but touchpad makes it hard to use

Date: October 11, 2014
"I've used it for several months, and love it for almost everything. Big RAM capacity, the workstation video card, good battery life, and the screen make this a winner for me. I even like the keyboard and the number pad. People complain that it puts the keyboard off center, but most use multiple monitors anyway so that's not an issue.
Thinkpad service is a huge bonus - I can't have down time!
The only negative is the touchpad. Unfortunately it's a negative that bothers me constantly as I use the laptop, so it does a lot to sour the experience of an otherwise excellent product. The pad is a large chunk that is imprecise and has poor feedback. It takes several tries to get a right click or a double click to register correctly. That alone is frustrating, but it's particularly annoying when used with the trackpoint. I have given up using the pad or trackpoint and MUST use a mouse. Lose 1 star for the dismal touchpad, +4 for everything else!
"
Review 14 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good specs in poor covering

Date: October 8, 2014
"I will tell only the bad things, since the rest is pretty ok for me:
1. Biggest problem if mine is that the plastic covering over and under the optical drive is bends. And you don't even have to apply a big pressure on it. That part of the case feels really cheap and vulnerable. I didn't expect such cheap assembly from any laptop, not to talk about that this is 'famous' Lenovo.
2. Furthermore the touchpad is hard to use with the trackpoint, as many other people mentioned it.
3. Keyboard backlight leaks.
5. Home & End buttons completely misplaced, as they should be right beside PgUp & PgDn buttons, in order to ensure easy navigation.
6. F# keys have to be used with Fn, which is counterintuitive. (or use Fn lock)
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Purchase

Date: October 7, 2014
"Positive: Easy to use, excellent battery life, full keyboard, touch pad, basic design, speakers, looks durable.
Negative: No Status indicators (HDD, Bluetooth, Wireless Connection), HDMI input, but in general very good computer.
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

You THINK visual is import? Wait until you touch i

Date: October 1, 2014
"I wrote my thoughts about the Lenovo W540 in a post on LinkedIn:
You THINK visual is import? Wait until you touch it! - http://linkd.in/1ru0kXR
If you want to hear my very first encounter with a ThinkPad read:
“THINK” before you throw! - http://linkd.in/YSGyIC
If your lazy then here are some quick thoughts:
I have used IBM, now Lenovo, ThinkPads for over 21 years. And even though they have evolved over the years I find that Lenovo continues in much of the original innovations that IBM had intended.
I believe most of the issues have been on the operating system side and over time those issues become distant memories as Windows corrects and patches. Remember XP PRO how no one wanted to move from it? Will that wasn't always the case.
But to get my review about the keyboard you must read the above post "You THINK visual..."
Thanks!
David Lee
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent buy!

Date: September 30, 2014
"The thinkpad w540 is a laptop i bought for my last year of college and will carry over into my career as a financial planner when i graduate next year. So far it has handled all of my class assignments flawlessly, and has plenty of RAM to go around. The screen has great resolution, and it starts up in seconds. Not to mention i really enjoy the button layout, the lock key accessibility, as well as the internet and file open keys above the numberpad. I also really enjoy the numberpad being added to this laptop, as many laptops do not have a numberpad."
Review 18 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Negative changes from previous models

Date: September 26, 2014
"While there are definitely some performance improvements, the overall interface changes make this a downgrade from previous models. I have a W530, W520, & T61, so I have a good perspective to provide feedback.
The GOOD:
Faster CPU
Better battery power density - although slice battery was not available
Optical bay drive option available
Higher screen resolution
The BAD:
No TrackPad buttons - although this may look sleeker, "FOR THOSE WHO DO," this means we are stuck with a clumsy interface and no longer have the option to use the middle mouse button (necessary for CAD) without an external mouse. This means lower productivity on planes, trains, etc.
No dedicated volume, mute buttons
No display lights (battery, wireless, caps lock, etc.)
No wireless switch - potential security risk?
No screen latch
I would go on, but there is a char limit.
In summary, Lenovo shouldn't have transferred decision-making powers from the engineers to marketing without better understanding their customers."
Review 19 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Constant Freezing Crashing out of the Box

Date: September 26, 2014
"Very disappointed with this very pricey machine. Windows 8 is an absolute dog of an operating system. This is not a touchscreen laptop and most of what windows 8 is offering seems irrelevant and poorly suited to a workstation which was ostensibly bought for its horsepower.
The computer has had constant nagging problems with crashing and freezing up, unresponsive even to ctrl-alt-delete. I went with the cheaper screen with 1920x1200 resolution and I regret it enormously. Fonts look blurry and pixelated.
This machine is not a pretty machine to look at, which can be forgiven, given that it was bought with performance as the top priority."
Review 20 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

i love the computer hate the new touchpad

Date: September 25, 2014
"i have been a user of ibm and lenevo thinkpads for over 10 years. love the no nonsense all business approach to their laptops. Great business laptop with the backlit keyboard as an very needed feature for late night computing at home and away. the one feature I dislike almost to the point of sending the item back is the redesign of the touchpad with no independent left and right mouse buttons. what was wrong with the old design? I do love the trackpoint, will not get a computer without it. the computer is a beast and handles the any and all workloads!!"