Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad W540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad W540

Average customer rating:
3.12 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (117 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
19
3 stars
13
2 stars
21
1 star
28
53 of 117(45%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad W540
Review 1 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Engineering Machine

Date: August 29, 2014
"The performance is on par with my CAD Desktop! I use 3D design and simulation software and it handles them all effortlessly. The Solid State Drive really speeds things up and the fingerprint scanner makes typing passwords so last century. I have quite large hands and long fingers so I have not had any of the problems other reviewers have reported with accidental clicks on the keypad. I do however use a wireless laser mouse most of the time instead of the touchpad.
Okay now for the bad/good news. From the very first time I used the computer I had problems. It would not wake from sleep and had to be hard rebooted and then about 5 days into using it, it failed to move past the splash screen. I called tech support and they overnight sent me a box to return the unit for warranty work. It took a day and they overnighted the fixed machine to me the next day. It has been working fine ever since the repair. Awesome support, which sadly I cannot say with other brands as of late.
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Purchase

Date: August 29, 2014
"Works well for all the tasks I need done. Great machine."
Review 3 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great with one huge issue.

Date: August 28, 2014
"This laptop could be 5 stars and amazing, this design is very nice except the designers have put in a macbook style touchpad without any buttons. This is a terrible idea for a business class laptop because business users cannot stand buttonless trackpads! If this is not improved next year my entire company will be forced to switch to a model or manufacturer with hardware touchpad buttons! Replace the buttonless trackpad with a trackpad with buttons in the next model and it will be great once again!"
Review 4 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Investment

Date: August 28, 2014
"By far the best laptop I've ever owned.
Bit on the pricey side of the spectrum, but well worth it.
Doesn't come with much bloatware, which is great, and if you get the SSD + HDD combo (which is what I got) its great.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lars

Reliable workhorse that gets the job done

Date: August 27, 2014
"Upgraded from a W520 because I need lots of computing power when running several virtual machines simultaneously and the W540 really gets those VMs flying.
It is very well built and seems to have the same reliable performance that I have come to know from my previous ThinkPads.
The only thing that took some time to get used to was the new touchpad, but in contrast to several others who find the new touchpad useless, I actually find it very good _after_having_read_the_guide_on_how_to_use_it_correctly_!
The only thing I could want I was to get touch functionality on the screen, but for me, that is just a "nice to have" and not a prerequisite.
Finally, I can tell that after our company standardized on ThinkPad W-series five years ago, we have not yet had a W5XX hardware failure. We have 15 ThinkPads that have travelled with us over most of the world and been treated pretty harshly, but still they keep on working.
Highly recommended!"
Review 6 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rkausar

Bad design

Date: August 26, 2014
"The laptop is a power house. It is perfect for power user, the battery life is good. As far as mechanical performance is concerned, it's great. But, that's as far as it goes. It becomes a typing nightmare because of the design/location of the track-pad. If you don't want to carry external keyboard and mouse, don't buy this product. The overall chassis is extremely flimsy, it seemed to me the CDROM dive would break every time I tried to mount a disk. The housing of the LCD panel is poorly designed. There's a considerable amount of gap between the LCD screen and the frame; dust particles easily seeps inside the panel and you can't clean it inside. The keyboard lights aren't symmetrical, in the dark you would see the upper keys while the bottom keys aren't lit properly. Overall design of this laptop is pretty bad. But if they were to follow the W520 design, I wouldn't have returned the machine after a week."
Review 7 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caffeineyellow5

Powerful, Usefull, Somewhat annoying

Date: August 25, 2014
"I ordered this laptop because it is the nicest 'beast' that could be customized for an all purpose needs portable PC. For every task I have given it, it performs great at and I expect that to continue until Windows forces us all off of 8.1. With office tasks, video editing, and even internet broadcasting and conference calling, it can do it all at the same time. The somewhat annoying comes in when you consider the number pad forces the keyboard to the left side and is not centered with the screen. This either forces you to look at the screen from an angle, slightly twist your wrists to type, or get an external keyboard (and who needs that with a perfectly good one staring right at you?) And then there is the touch-pad, which is sold to be very intuitive and can do single or multi-fingered swipes and taps, but in reality most of the time when you hit the touchpad you get either no result or you get a left-click wherever you hit it. And good luck trying to find the scroll area at all."
Review 8 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marco

Great Product and Powerfull

Date: August 24, 2014
"Great power very nice performance is a really machine. After have this notebook you probably not like have another notebook :)"
Review 9 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lennart

Why does my new W series feel cheap!?!?!?!??!

Date: August 19, 2014
"I just upgraded from W510 and I'm still not convinced it really was an upgrade!
Why do some keys feel awful and not sturdy (feels like they have too much play in slot or sthg?
There is a light for Fn keys, but where are the lights for caps lock, HDD and wifi?
I type a lot and use trackpoint a lot also. I used to be able to rest my thumbs on left and right button respectively. Now there are so many misclicks it's crazy! Also, why can't I turn off middle click scroll any more???? Why does the new case flex so much and feel like I'm using a $400 dollar computer not a $2000 workstation that I bought????? Why is the new power plug square and doesn't even sit that well out of the box!! If this is where Thinkpads are going, I'm gonna switch back to something else. Because this is just ridiculous. New build quality on W540 is ridiculous!
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jack

Bad keyboard and touchpad

Date: August 7, 2014
"This is definitely one of the worst design out of lenovo (IBM) for the keyboard and touchpad. The niumpad on keyboard is a totally useless and aesthetically bad design (off-center). The keyboard also feel tactically dumb compared to earlier W/T series (W510, W520). The touchpad is even worse - every time I feel like pushing a wall - major distraction in my work flow.
Lenovo is screwing up its own flagship product - I am not longer buying any until such basic things are fixed."
Review 11 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HardwareGuy

New keyb and mouse are maybe the weakest points

Date: August 4, 2014
"Seems Lenovo W540 sacrificed too much functionality in pro of a sleeker design. Worthy? No and it was a mistake. W is designed to meet high demanding IT or high end computing professionals.
Mouse and Keyboard: HORRIBLE!
Is a pain when you miss leds for Caps Lock, WiFi, HDD, BT and other leds, specially when entering sensitive passwords and you can't recognize if you are on Caps Lock.
My developers keep complaining about the incorporated "bed click". Since the whole touch surface is now a button (no more left, right HW buttons), when you try to make a click, you need to apply force with the same finger you are locating the mouse, the pointer moves inevitably making fat finger mistakes. On fat finger Windows 8 interface is all good. Now, try to enlarge a layer in 1 pixel in Photoshop and you'll spend half an hour something that took under a minute before.
W line Thinkpads SHOULD have the choice of Windows or Linux. We develop for IBM and Oracle and have to pay for an OS we don't use!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shoaib

Excellent

Date: July 30, 2014
"I don't understand all the hate for this laptop. The keyboard is different, yes, but it's not worse, and it's nice to have a numpad. It's very functional. The blinking lights are gone, but in my opinion, this is a good thing. I am glad not to have those distractions while using the computer. Some have complained that that makes it "not a workstation suitable for professionals", but as a professional software engineer of low latency systems, I don't know what they're talking about. The screen is simply excellent. It's rare to find such a nice screen with antiglare properties. Last, I think the touchpad is actually nice. It's large enough that it feels like using a giant touchscreen, and the pressable button on it hasn't bothered me the way I expected it would.
As good as it is, I'd like to have seen some mouse buttons for the trackpad (or at least an optional configuration to allow this). Lights for caps lock and num lock would also have been nice. The ThinkLight will also be missed."
Review 13 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thanhng39

Best WorkStation Ever

Date: July 30, 2014
"Wow! With that I can do anything I want! Purchased ones!"
Review 14 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
troisdsolide

Good value but need a mouse

Date: July 29, 2014
"I purchase that computer last March, the computer is fast, the graphic card is great for CAD applications. The first computer I received had to be return, the mouse pad was not working and I didnt have an external mouse... tryied to upgrade the OS... work somehow... useless if need to work on it without a mouse like in a plane... I contacted Lenovo Canada, I great service. The replaced the computer... somehow it took over a month to get the first computer and about 2 weeks to get the replacement... As also a MAC user, the mouse pad on the Lenovo is terrible. Hard to click on item. I just don't like it. Otherwise, the system with the HHD drive is great."
Review 15 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rkegan

A Tragic Disappointment

Date: July 27, 2014
"The ThinkPad in 12 yrs I returned out of sheer disappointment. The offset, one piece trackpad is absurd. Professionals want a proper 5 button trackpad. The W540 sacrifices good ergonomic design in an attempt to look "modern". The gentle slope in front of the wrist rest made typing more comfortable, now it's given way to a hard, blocky edge that cuts into your wrists. Form over function. The clamshell design kept the laptop securely closed and sealed off from dust and things in your bag. Now it's flat as a board. The texture of the body is smooth and shows scratches and fingerprints, before it was more matte and much more resilient. Returned this and bought a new W530 while I still could and I couldn't be happier. Design is superior, quality is noticeably better too. Lenovo, please ask your LONG TIME, LOYAL ThinkPad customers what they want, not these focus groups. use the IdeaPad line if you want to play with "modern" design and try to woo the Best Buy crowd."
Review 16 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
byThekid

Best Mobile Workstation Period

Date: July 24, 2014
"I absolutely love the W540 it has not failed me yet"
Review 17 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kassad

Great workstation, not meant for casual users

Date: July 20, 2014
"This machine exceeded my expectation in a few key areas:
- performance (runs smoother and more quickly than I expected; i7 @ 3.7 ghz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD, K2100M Quadro card)
- Display quality: the 3K IPS is incredible
- Emissions: totally silent
- Keyboard: far better than what I heard and far better than my old Macbook Pro. The numpad is absolutely incredible and very well placed (contrary to some opinions) and is a great addition for productivity
- Ports: the lightning connector, 4 USBs, MPCIE, M.02, and even the VGA make for a great set of expandability tools
- Construction quality is good, but not as good as Apple. Still far superior to Dell, HP, Toshiba, etc.
Cons:
- This machine does have a bad track pad. Believe it. If you use tap to click then it's about 90% less bad, but still a little buggy at time. Lenovo could definitely have improved here.
That said, this is certainly a workstation meant for power users and it performs exceedingly well as such."
Review 18 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
haithem

excellent

Date: July 10, 2014
"best labtop i ever seen i like to get one :("
Review 19 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aals99

Great Small Business Laptop

Date: July 10, 2014
"I love this laptop as well as it's docking station. I run my entire business directly from this machine and it is absolutely wonderful. I couldn't be happier. I've always owned Thinkpads and always will!"
Review 20 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
unhappyUser

bizarre position of keys

Date: July 10, 2014
"The alpha-numeric keys are not centered relative to the screen because about 1/5 of the keyboard is taken up by a numeric pad. As a result, my hands are positioned on the wrong keys all the time when I type. Not sure why a numeric pad is given more importance than the practicality and ease of use of the other keys. I now have to position myself to the left of the keyboard in order to reach the right keys.
Can't tell how to cut&paste, it's non-intuitive or not working properly.
"