Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad W540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad W540

Average customer rating:
3.118 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(127 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (127 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
21
3 stars
13
2 stars
24
1 star
30
58 of 127(46%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad W540
Review 1 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

ThinkPad W540

Date: September 17, 2014
"Excellent quality, price point and features."
Review 2 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

This computer is poorly built and unreliable.

Date: September 16, 2014
"I purchased one of these and immediately returned it. The plastic casing was warped and the keyboard was not placed properly. The laptop crashed repeatedly and the hard drive failed. All of this within a few moments of ownership. Best avoided at all cost. Lenovo customer service are just unhelpful - it is almost as if they are trained to be unhelpful!"
Review 3 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Why are you constantly trying to run "Scheduler"

Date: September 14, 2014
"Every 15 minutes this piece of junk asks for permission to run a Scheduler. Every 15 minutes, and sometimes again and again, I have to say "NO". What on earth do you need to capture from my Laptop. It's min now, can you let go? Unless I am contacted with the exact details for removing this endless torment, I will write on every online site on earth to tell them all about the intrusive junk you sell. This is the worst personal computer I have ever purchased. No, I won't recommend this junk to anyone."
Review 4 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I had high expectations and this pc is even better

Date: September 13, 2014
"For all of you complaining about the touchpad, come on! People are writing so much about this one little thing I was actually worried about it when I bought. But, really, I got no idea what the complaint is about. It does NOT get in the way when writing at all. And the numpad, I love it.
I expected it to be way heavier and thicker than it atually is.
Mine is running with 4930MX i7, K2100 nvidia, 16gb RAM and I use it as the main PC when working at the music studio, recording whole bands playing together. And I also use it for playing MMO online. Performance is huge on this PC. I have NO performance restraints.
The only downside is sometimes it might get hot beneath your left palm, but either I got used to it after a few months or I got my settings right because it hasn't been uncomfortably hot for a long time.
I also run with two SSDs so this machine has everything it could have, I can't imagine a more powerful notebook, and it is priced way cheaper than rivals from HP and from DELL.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

TrackPointer Almost Useless on this model

Date: September 12, 2014
"The redesign of the TrackPointer has made this option almost useless. Trying to combine the two buttons into the Trackpad was not well thought out. It is very difficult to find the exact spot to left click with the left thumb. And forget about the right click.
I don't know what Lenovo is thinking when they make these kinds of changes. I'm sure cost was a driver but customers that have historically bought ThinkPads use the TrackPointer and expect it to work.
There are other annoying changes (mentioned in other reviews) but this one is a killer for me."
Review 6 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Some problems

Date: September 12, 2014
"My W540 came with a malfunctioning Intel WiFi card and has been returned to Depot repair.
I do not like the UltraNav right-left buttons on this machine, they require clicking at the right and left extreme sides of the top edge of the Touchpad, unlike on my E520, which has separate right and left buttons.
Overall the machine is fast and solid."
Review 7 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

I decided not to buy

Date: September 10, 2014
"I was going to buy a mobile workstation, I checked Dell M4800 and Lenovo W540, I do like Lenovo thinkpad laptops, I used T series for years.
But this one is ridicous, the trackpad, totally useless for an engineer.
It looks more like a toy than a tool.
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

W540 laptop for Solidworks

Date: September 7, 2014
"I bought this laptop specifically for Solidworks and have not been disappointed. I bought the recommended graphics card and memory. No problem with 60mb files.
I'm not a fan of Windows 8.1, but am getting used to it. The touchpad on this computer is a bit touchy for me, I prefer a mouse, especially for cad work. Two finger scrolling is nice, once you get used to it.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Totally worth it

Date: September 6, 2014
"I am very satisfied with what I have received.
I mainly bought this computer for school for CAD'ing because it was recommended to me by a coworker, but I'm also a gamer. My experience with the graphics card upgrade from the Quadro K2100 2GB is excellent, even though at the beginning I was hesitant whether or not to take it out and install a GeForce gtx 780, but this is very good and lovely.
Another huge advantage I would prefer this is the Lenovo programs they have, under the battery feature you are able to control the turbo whatsoever, which in my case is extremely beneficial. I have a friend who got something else not a Lenovo but his upgrades are all better than mine . Ex. 16 GB RAM, GeForce gtx 780, i7- 4930, 1 TB HDD etc. etc. I had 8 GB RAM, Quadro K2100 2 GB, i7- 4800, 500 GB HDD
but the advantage of mine is that I get to control the turbo, and he can't so when we both are gaming I wouldn't have frame lag.
The screen is matte black so not reflections anymore!! VERY LOVELY
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Trackpad in the history of mobile computing

Date: September 2, 2014
"The negative:
The Trackpad on this device is the worst Trackpad ever designed in the history of mobile computing. It is 100% unusable and has forced me to always have to carry an external mouse. Had I known the Trackpad worked like it currently does I would not have purchased the laptop.
No HDMI output on the laptop, requires a docking station/port replicator for HDMI.
Battery juts out the back side instead of being flush with the rest of the device.
Positive:
It's the lightest notebook I have found that supports 32GB of RAM
The Display looks great."
Review 11 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Engineering Machine

Date: August 29, 2014
"The performance is on par with my CAD Desktop! I use 3D design and simulation software and it handles them all effortlessly. The Solid State Drive really speeds things up and the fingerprint scanner makes typing passwords so last century. I have quite large hands and long fingers so I have not had any of the problems other reviewers have reported with accidental clicks on the keypad. I do however use a wireless laser mouse most of the time instead of the touchpad.
Okay now for the bad/good news. From the very first time I used the computer I had problems. It would not wake from sleep and had to be hard rebooted and then about 5 days into using it, it failed to move past the splash screen. I called tech support and they overnight sent me a box to return the unit for warranty work. It took a day and they overnighted the fixed machine to me the next day. It has been working fine ever since the repair. Awesome support, which sadly I cannot say with other brands as of late.
"
Review 12 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Purchase

Date: August 29, 2014
"Works well for all the tasks I need done. Great machine."
Review 13 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great with one huge issue.

Date: August 28, 2014
"This laptop could be 5 stars and amazing, this design is very nice except the designers have put in a macbook style touchpad without any buttons. This is a terrible idea for a business class laptop because business users cannot stand buttonless trackpads! If this is not improved next year my entire company will be forced to switch to a model or manufacturer with hardware touchpad buttons! Replace the buttonless trackpad with a trackpad with buttons in the next model and it will be great once again!"
Review 14 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Investment

Date: August 28, 2014
"By far the best laptop I've ever owned.
Bit on the pricey side of the spectrum, but well worth it.
Doesn't come with much bloatware, which is great, and if you get the SSD + HDD combo (which is what I got) its great.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lars

Reliable workhorse that gets the job done

Date: August 27, 2014
"Upgraded from a W520 because I need lots of computing power when running several virtual machines simultaneously and the W540 really gets those VMs flying.
It is very well built and seems to have the same reliable performance that I have come to know from my previous ThinkPads.
The only thing that took some time to get used to was the new touchpad, but in contrast to several others who find the new touchpad useless, I actually find it very good _after_having_read_the_guide_on_how_to_use_it_correctly_!
The only thing I could want I was to get touch functionality on the screen, but for me, that is just a "nice to have" and not a prerequisite.
Finally, I can tell that after our company standardized on ThinkPad W-series five years ago, we have not yet had a W5XX hardware failure. We have 15 ThinkPads that have travelled with us over most of the world and been treated pretty harshly, but still they keep on working.
Highly recommended!"
Review 16 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rkausar

Bad design

Date: August 26, 2014
"The laptop is a power house. It is perfect for power user, the battery life is good. As far as mechanical performance is concerned, it's great. But, that's as far as it goes. It becomes a typing nightmare because of the design/location of the track-pad. If you don't want to carry external keyboard and mouse, don't buy this product. The overall chassis is extremely flimsy, it seemed to me the CDROM dive would break every time I tried to mount a disk. The housing of the LCD panel is poorly designed. There's a considerable amount of gap between the LCD screen and the frame; dust particles easily seeps inside the panel and you can't clean it inside. The keyboard lights aren't symmetrical, in the dark you would see the upper keys while the bottom keys aren't lit properly. Overall design of this laptop is pretty bad. But if they were to follow the W520 design, I wouldn't have returned the machine after a week."
Review 17 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caffeineyellow5

Powerful, Usefull, Somewhat annoying

Date: August 25, 2014
"I ordered this laptop because it is the nicest 'beast' that could be customized for an all purpose needs portable PC. For every task I have given it, it performs great at and I expect that to continue until Windows forces us all off of 8.1. With office tasks, video editing, and even internet broadcasting and conference calling, it can do it all at the same time. The somewhat annoying comes in when you consider the number pad forces the keyboard to the left side and is not centered with the screen. This either forces you to look at the screen from an angle, slightly twist your wrists to type, or get an external keyboard (and who needs that with a perfectly good one staring right at you?) And then there is the touch-pad, which is sold to be very intuitive and can do single or multi-fingered swipes and taps, but in reality most of the time when you hit the touchpad you get either no result or you get a left-click wherever you hit it. And good luck trying to find the scroll area at all."
Review 18 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marco

Great Product and Powerfull

Date: August 24, 2014
"Great power very nice performance is a really machine. After have this notebook you probably not like have another notebook :)"
Review 19 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lennart

Why does my new W series feel cheap!?!?!?!??!

Date: August 19, 2014
"I just upgraded from W510 and I'm still not convinced it really was an upgrade!
Why do some keys feel awful and not sturdy (feels like they have too much play in slot or sthg?
There is a light for Fn keys, but where are the lights for caps lock, HDD and wifi?
I type a lot and use trackpoint a lot also. I used to be able to rest my thumbs on left and right button respectively. Now there are so many misclicks it's crazy! Also, why can't I turn off middle click scroll any more???? Why does the new case flex so much and feel like I'm using a $400 dollar computer not a $2000 workstation that I bought????? Why is the new power plug square and doesn't even sit that well out of the box!! If this is where Thinkpads are going, I'm gonna switch back to something else. Because this is just ridiculous. New build quality on W540 is ridiculous!
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jack

Bad keyboard and touchpad

Date: August 7, 2014
"This is definitely one of the worst design out of lenovo (IBM) for the keyboard and touchpad. The niumpad on keyboard is a totally useless and aesthetically bad design (off-center). The keyboard also feel tactically dumb compared to earlier W/T series (W510, W520). The touchpad is even worse - every time I feel like pushing a wall - major distraction in my work flow.
Lenovo is screwing up its own flagship product - I am not longer buying any until such basic things are fixed."