Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad W540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad W540

Average customer rating:
3.13 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(146 Reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (146 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
25
3 stars
15
2 stars
26
1 star
35
67 of 146(46%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad W540
Review 1 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

If you write code - don't buy a W540

Date: October 16, 2014
"My personal laptop is the W530. Great machine and works as a main developer workstation. I also had a W530 at my last job. The W540 however sucks for two main reasons: 1) The trackpad is virtually unusable 2) The number pad on the side pushes the main keyboard over so you can't sit centered in front of your screen and just type without hitting wrong keys. Worst design ever. Maybe it would work for someone who punches numbers in spreadsheets all day, but if you write code, choose a different model."
Review 2 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Beautiful laptop - Trackpad well...

Date: October 15, 2014
"I have to say i love this laptop! When I got it i was overall very pleased. However, I can see why people complain about the track-pad. It's bigger than normal and takes some getting use to and it almost has a mind of its own I believe (eg: clicks when it wants to). If this laptop came equipped with the old style track pad i would say it was perfect. But overall I am happy with my purchase."
Review 3 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Almost perfect

Date: October 15, 2014
"Pros: Fast, track pad touch features, reliable,
Cons: Dead pixel out of the box, Bluetooth randomly disconnects, junk software
First of all, disappointed to find a dead pixel out of the box. I would normally send it back or get it fixed but I need the laptop for school and cant afford the downtime. Oh well.
The best thing about it is how fast it is. I upgraded to 16 GB ram and a 128 GB SSD. I run OpenFOAM CFD in a virtual Ubuntu environment and it blazes through the computations.
I dislike the track pad click, feels cheap and inconsistent. The touch features are great however so I usually don't use the click. I also use a Bluetooth mouse often but it occasionally disconnects for no apparent reason and there doesn't seem to be a way to start the Bluetooth application without restarting the computer.
Every laptop I've ever purchased is full of the manufacturers junk software and Lenovo is no different. Its not hard to remove, just a hassle.
Overall very satisfied with the laptop.
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

SLOW...why??...who knows

Date: October 15, 2014
"Looking at the specs on this machine, it should be very fast. It is not. Core i7, 16GB RAM. This machine takes longer to start than a $300 Acer I bought 3 years ago, and there's certainly less software on this machine than the Acer.
There's no hard-drive activity indication. Sometimes it sits there and does nothing, and I have no idea if it's accessing the drive, or what.
Thunderbolt connector...no thanks. I'd much rather have an HDMI connector (or 2), instead of having to buy a bunch of unreliable adapters to go from Thunderbolt to something else.
Big touch pad with no separate buttons...this feature is also no good. I'd much rather have a standard touch pad with the two buttons.
On the plus side, the battery life on this thing is very good.
My suggestion: buy something else."
Review 5 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Fantastic Machine!

Date: October 12, 2014
"I'm not sure how many ThinkPads I have had but first one had a monochrome display, back in 1993 or so. So this is by no means my first, and it won't be my last. The W540 3k display is beautiful and it has a truly outstanding keyboard. Keyboards are one of the things I have always felt set the ThinkPads apart - for a touch typist a bad keyboard is crippling! I read some of the reviews where people complained about it being off-center to accommodate the 10-key pad but while I do notice it, it doesn't bother me. And I have had no trouble with the touchpad either. Overall, the feel of this keyboard is the best one ever. Really. It took absolutely no getting used to.
The 3k display is outstanding. I do wish it were also a touchscreen; this would be a great improvement for the next generation. I mostly use this machine in the docking station with a large extended display, but when I use the ThinkPad alone the touchscreen would be very nice to have."
Review 6 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Love it, but touchpad makes it hard to use

Date: October 11, 2014
"I've used it for several months, and love it for almost everything. Big RAM capacity, the workstation video card, good battery life, and the screen make this a winner for me. I even like the keyboard and the number pad. People complain that it puts the keyboard off center, but most use multiple monitors anyway so that's not an issue.
Thinkpad service is a huge bonus - I can't have down time!
The only negative is the touchpad. Unfortunately it's a negative that bothers me constantly as I use the laptop, so it does a lot to sour the experience of an otherwise excellent product. The pad is a large chunk that is imprecise and has poor feedback. It takes several tries to get a right click or a double click to register correctly. That alone is frustrating, but it's particularly annoying when used with the trackpoint. I have given up using the pad or trackpoint and MUST use a mouse. Lose 1 star for the dismal touchpad, +4 for everything else!
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good specs in poor covering

Date: October 8, 2014
"I will tell only the bad things, since the rest is pretty ok for me:
1. Biggest problem if mine is that the plastic covering over and under the optical drive is bends. And you don't even have to apply a big pressure on it. That part of the case feels really cheap and vulnerable. I didn't expect such cheap assembly from any laptop, not to talk about that this is 'famous' Lenovo.
2. Furthermore the touchpad is hard to use with the trackpoint, as many other people mentioned it.
3. Keyboard backlight leaks.
5. Home & End buttons completely misplaced, as they should be right beside PgUp & PgDn buttons, in order to ensure easy navigation.
6. F# keys have to be used with Fn, which is counterintuitive. (or use Fn lock)
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Purchase

Date: October 7, 2014
"Positive: Easy to use, excellent battery life, full keyboard, touch pad, basic design, speakers, looks durable.
Negative: No Status indicators (HDD, Bluetooth, Wireless Connection), HDMI input, but in general very good computer.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

You THINK visual is import? Wait until you touch i

Date: October 1, 2014
"I wrote my thoughts about the Lenovo W540 in a post on LinkedIn:
You THINK visual is import? Wait until you touch it! - http://linkd.in/1ru0kXR
If you want to hear my very first encounter with a ThinkPad read:
“THINK” before you throw! - http://linkd.in/YSGyIC
If your lazy then here are some quick thoughts:
I have used IBM, now Lenovo, ThinkPads for over 21 years. And even though they have evolved over the years I find that Lenovo continues in much of the original innovations that IBM had intended.
I believe most of the issues have been on the operating system side and over time those issues become distant memories as Windows corrects and patches. Remember XP PRO how no one wanted to move from it? Will that wasn't always the case.
But to get my review about the keyboard you must read the above post "You THINK visual..."
Thanks!
David Lee
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent buy!

Date: September 30, 2014
"The thinkpad w540 is a laptop i bought for my last year of college and will carry over into my career as a financial planner when i graduate next year. So far it has handled all of my class assignments flawlessly, and has plenty of RAM to go around. The screen has great resolution, and it starts up in seconds. Not to mention i really enjoy the button layout, the lock key accessibility, as well as the internet and file open keys above the numberpad. I also really enjoy the numberpad being added to this laptop, as many laptops do not have a numberpad."
Review 11 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Negative changes from previous models

Date: September 26, 2014
"While there are definitely some performance improvements, the overall interface changes make this a downgrade from previous models. I have a W530, W520, & T61, so I have a good perspective to provide feedback.
The GOOD:
Faster CPU
Better battery power density - although slice battery was not available
Optical bay drive option available
Higher screen resolution
The BAD:
No TrackPad buttons - although this may look sleeker, "FOR THOSE WHO DO," this means we are stuck with a clumsy interface and no longer have the option to use the middle mouse button (necessary for CAD) without an external mouse. This means lower productivity on planes, trains, etc.
No dedicated volume, mute buttons
No display lights (battery, wireless, caps lock, etc.)
No wireless switch - potential security risk?
No screen latch
I would go on, but there is a char limit.
In summary, Lenovo shouldn't have transferred decision-making powers from the engineers to marketing without better understanding their customers."
Review 12 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Constant Freezing Crashing out of the Box

Date: September 26, 2014
"Very disappointed with this very pricey machine. Windows 8 is an absolute dog of an operating system. This is not a touchscreen laptop and most of what windows 8 is offering seems irrelevant and poorly suited to a workstation which was ostensibly bought for its horsepower.
The computer has had constant nagging problems with crashing and freezing up, unresponsive even to ctrl-alt-delete. I went with the cheaper screen with 1920x1200 resolution and I regret it enormously. Fonts look blurry and pixelated.
This machine is not a pretty machine to look at, which can be forgiven, given that it was bought with performance as the top priority."
Review 13 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

i love the computer hate the new touchpad

Date: September 25, 2014
"i have been a user of ibm and lenevo thinkpads for over 10 years. love the no nonsense all business approach to their laptops. Great business laptop with the backlit keyboard as an very needed feature for late night computing at home and away. the one feature I dislike almost to the point of sending the item back is the redesign of the touchpad with no independent left and right mouse buttons. what was wrong with the old design? I do love the trackpoint, will not get a computer without it. the computer is a beast and handles the any and all workloads!!"
Review 14 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Gets Over the Bar

Date: September 24, 2014
"Good processing power on Haswell CPU architecture. Numeric keypad is stupid. Ergonomics of offset track pad due to stupid numeric pad is unhelpful and a bad design decision. I run Ubuntu Linux and the solution for me is to turn off track pad in ubuntu system settings. I find this track pad issue fairly minor. Compared to my great W520 the W540 is lighter and also has uefi and overall it's a good mobile workstation."
Review 15 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

worst laptop experience to date

Date: September 24, 2014
"At my previous job I used a Dell Precision. I was excited to try the W540 (Type 20BG) because of the form factor and the large single button trackpad. The W540 arrives and I am utterly disappointed from the start. The case and screen feel hollow and cheap, and there is a decent amount of flex around the chassis. The chicklet keyboard is horrible. There is a hollow feel with every key stroke and the texture of the keys allows build up of grease to where there is almost no friction, and fingers slip easily. The track pad is difficult to use and is more of a hindrance than the Precision's tiny pad with two buttons. I have yet to perform CPU/GPU intensive tasks on this computer, yet it runs very slow at times. I think driver support is poor compared to Dell. The 1920x1080 screen has bad viewing angles and is a pain to look at. I dread having to remove this thing from its dock and use it as a laptop. Oh, and you can't get a dock with dual DVI... The thing feels cheap all around!"
Review 16 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid professional computer

Date: September 21, 2014
"The keyboard is comfortable and consistent. I love the fingerprint scanning for security, and I appreciate the backlit keyboard. The performance seems good."
Review 17 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

this is the worst mouse configuration ever!

Date: September 21, 2014
"it makes the whole computer practically unuseable! I sent it back -- it is terrible. I'm not sure why they changed it but this new one is just awful."
Review 18 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Unusable touchpad

Date: September 20, 2014
"I am long time Thinkpad user and this laptop seems to be ok. The major concern was about the keyboard, but after some time it seems more or less ok. Numeric pad is useless (I am not an accountant). The primary disappointment is touchpad. After 2 weeks the left 'button' stop working. Almost impossible to clixk on a button, select a control, etc. Eventually I have to switch to mouse."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

So far I'm not impressed

Date: September 17, 2014
"I got my new computer and took it to a tech to help me set it up.
Once home I tried to download a PDF program. It wouldn't download and a rep came on the line and told me he would check my computer. It was riddled with viruses and was only working about 10% speed.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

ThinkPad W540

Date: September 17, 2014
"Excellent quality, price point and features."