Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad W540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad W540

Average customer rating:
3.081 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
17
3 stars
12
2 stars
20
1 star
28
49 of 111(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad W540
Review 1 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caffeineyellow5

Powerful, Usefull, Somewhat annoying

Date: August 25, 2014
"I ordered this laptop because it is the nicest 'beast' that could be customized for an all purpose needs portable PC. For every task I have given it, it performs great at and I expect that to continue until Windows forces us all off of 8.1. With office tasks, video editing, and even internet broadcasting and conference calling, it can do it all at the same time. The somewhat annoying comes in when you consider the number pad forces the keyboard to the left side and is not centered with the screen. This either forces you to look at the screen from an angle, slightly twist your wrists to type, or get an external keyboard (and who needs that with a perfectly good one staring right at you?) And then there is the touch-pad, which is sold to be very intuitive and can do single or multi-fingered swipes and taps, but in reality most of the time when you hit the touchpad you get either no result or you get a left-click wherever you hit it. And good luck trying to find the scroll area at all."
Review 2 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marco

Great Product and Powerfull

Date: August 24, 2014
"Great power very nice performance is a really machine. After have this notebook you probably not like have another notebook :)"
Review 3 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lennart

Why does my new W series feel cheap!?!?!?!??!

Date: August 19, 2014
"I just upgraded from W510 and I'm still not convinced it really was an upgrade!
Why do some keys feel awful and not sturdy (feels like they have too much play in slot or sthg?
There is a light for Fn keys, but where are the lights for caps lock, HDD and wifi?
I type a lot and use trackpoint a lot also. I used to be able to rest my thumbs on left and right button respectively. Now there are so many misclicks it's crazy! Also, why can't I turn off middle click scroll any more???? Why does the new case flex so much and feel like I'm using a $400 dollar computer not a $2000 workstation that I bought????? Why is the new power plug square and doesn't even sit that well out of the box!! If this is where Thinkpads are going, I'm gonna switch back to something else. Because this is just ridiculous. New build quality on W540 is ridiculous!
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jack

Bad keyboard and touchpad

Date: August 7, 2014
"This is definitely one of the worst design out of lenovo (IBM) for the keyboard and touchpad. The niumpad on keyboard is a totally useless and aesthetically bad design (off-center). The keyboard also feel tactically dumb compared to earlier W/T series (W510, W520). The touchpad is even worse - every time I feel like pushing a wall - major distraction in my work flow.
Lenovo is screwing up its own flagship product - I am not longer buying any until such basic things are fixed."
Review 5 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HardwareGuy

New keyb and mouse are maybe the weakest points

Date: August 4, 2014
"Seems Lenovo W540 sacrificed too much functionality in pro of a sleeker design. Worthy? No and it was a mistake. W is designed to meet high demanding IT or high end computing professionals.
Mouse and Keyboard: HORRIBLE!
Is a pain when you miss leds for Caps Lock, WiFi, HDD, BT and other leds, specially when entering sensitive passwords and you can't recognize if you are on Caps Lock.
My developers keep complaining about the incorporated "bed click". Since the whole touch surface is now a button (no more left, right HW buttons), when you try to make a click, you need to apply force with the same finger you are locating the mouse, the pointer moves inevitably making fat finger mistakes. On fat finger Windows 8 interface is all good. Now, try to enlarge a layer in 1 pixel in Photoshop and you'll spend half an hour something that took under a minute before.
W line Thinkpads SHOULD have the choice of Windows or Linux. We develop for IBM and Oracle and have to pay for an OS we don't use!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shoaib

Excellent

Date: July 30, 2014
"I don't understand all the hate for this laptop. The keyboard is different, yes, but it's not worse, and it's nice to have a numpad. It's very functional. The blinking lights are gone, but in my opinion, this is a good thing. I am glad not to have those distractions while using the computer. Some have complained that that makes it "not a workstation suitable for professionals", but as a professional software engineer of low latency systems, I don't know what they're talking about. The screen is simply excellent. It's rare to find such a nice screen with antiglare properties. Last, I think the touchpad is actually nice. It's large enough that it feels like using a giant touchscreen, and the pressable button on it hasn't bothered me the way I expected it would.
As good as it is, I'd like to have seen some mouse buttons for the trackpad (or at least an optional configuration to allow this). Lights for caps lock and num lock would also have been nice. The ThinkLight will also be missed."
Review 7 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thanhng39

Best WorkStation Ever

Date: July 30, 2014
"Wow! With that I can do anything I want! Purchased ones!"
Review 8 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
troisdsolide

Good value but need a mouse

Date: July 29, 2014
"I purchase that computer last March, the computer is fast, the graphic card is great for CAD applications. The first computer I received had to be return, the mouse pad was not working and I didnt have an external mouse... tryied to upgrade the OS... work somehow... useless if need to work on it without a mouse like in a plane... I contacted Lenovo Canada, I great service. The replaced the computer... somehow it took over a month to get the first computer and about 2 weeks to get the replacement... As also a MAC user, the mouse pad on the Lenovo is terrible. Hard to click on item. I just don't like it. Otherwise, the system with the HHD drive is great."
Review 9 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rkegan

A Tragic Disappointment

Date: July 27, 2014
"The ThinkPad in 12 yrs I returned out of sheer disappointment. The offset, one piece trackpad is absurd. Professionals want a proper 5 button trackpad. The W540 sacrifices good ergonomic design in an attempt to look "modern". The gentle slope in front of the wrist rest made typing more comfortable, now it's given way to a hard, blocky edge that cuts into your wrists. Form over function. The clamshell design kept the laptop securely closed and sealed off from dust and things in your bag. Now it's flat as a board. The texture of the body is smooth and shows scratches and fingerprints, before it was more matte and much more resilient. Returned this and bought a new W530 while I still could and I couldn't be happier. Design is superior, quality is noticeably better too. Lenovo, please ask your LONG TIME, LOYAL ThinkPad customers what they want, not these focus groups. use the IdeaPad line if you want to play with "modern" design and try to woo the Best Buy crowd."
Review 10 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
byThekid

Best Mobile Workstation Period

Date: July 24, 2014
"I absolutely love the W540 it has not failed me yet"
Review 11 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kassad

Great workstation, not meant for casual users

Date: July 20, 2014
"This machine exceeded my expectation in a few key areas:
- performance (runs smoother and more quickly than I expected; i7 @ 3.7 ghz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD, K2100M Quadro card)
- Display quality: the 3K IPS is incredible
- Emissions: totally silent
- Keyboard: far better than what I heard and far better than my old Macbook Pro. The numpad is absolutely incredible and very well placed (contrary to some opinions) and is a great addition for productivity
- Ports: the lightning connector, 4 USBs, MPCIE, M.02, and even the VGA make for a great set of expandability tools
- Construction quality is good, but not as good as Apple. Still far superior to Dell, HP, Toshiba, etc.
Cons:
- This machine does have a bad track pad. Believe it. If you use tap to click then it's about 90% less bad, but still a little buggy at time. Lenovo could definitely have improved here.
That said, this is certainly a workstation meant for power users and it performs exceedingly well as such."
Review 12 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
haithem

excellent

Date: July 10, 2014
"best labtop i ever seen i like to get one :("
Review 13 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aals99

Great Small Business Laptop

Date: July 10, 2014
"I love this laptop as well as it's docking station. I run my entire business directly from this machine and it is absolutely wonderful. I couldn't be happier. I've always owned Thinkpads and always will!"
Review 14 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
unhappyUser

bizarre position of keys

Date: July 10, 2014
"The alpha-numeric keys are not centered relative to the screen because about 1/5 of the keyboard is taken up by a numeric pad. As a result, my hands are positioned on the wrong keys all the time when I type. Not sure why a numeric pad is given more importance than the practicality and ease of use of the other keys. I now have to position myself to the left of the keyboard in order to reach the right keys.
Can't tell how to cut&paste, it's non-intuitive or not working properly.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Samiam

W540 machine is good trackpad is bad

Date: July 7, 2014
"we recently purchased several W540's as replacements for w530's and found that they have an additional keypad on the keyboard that caused the track pad to be moved to the left which makes it extremely hard to use. We have had to disable the trackpad because of the errors it was causing."
Review 16 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Traveler

Crash

Date: July 7, 2014
"After spending days getting it set up and loading all of the software I need for my job I got to use it for 2 weeks before I had to take my first trip. Just before I left I noticed it did a couple of 'funny' things but nothing serious. Left for the trip (of course out of the country) and it ended up crashing, and crashing hard. I was able to run in safe mode for a while and pull files off but that was it. Came back and sent it in to Lenova. Ended up with a new motherboard and hard drive. I did get it back in four days!
Last one was a 4 year old T500, that's why we stayed with a thinkpad. Not sure about the next one now."
Review 17 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Undergrad22

Frustrated

Date: July 6, 2014
"I ordered this laptop as a graduation present for myself. I wanted a powerful computer with a large screen because I am going to school for engineering. Complaint #1: I ordered the laptop with Windows 8 with a free downgrade to 7, but it came with 7 installed. I called Lenovo and they didn't offer to do or help with anything. Complaint #2: The pre-installed desktop gadgets do not work. Lenovo tried to help fix the problem but was only willing to go so far. Instead they transferred me to a company that offered to fix the problem for a large fee. This made me really angry considering I still had about 350 days left on my 1 year warranty. Complaint #3: After having the computer for about 2 months I already have a dead pixel in the middle of the screen. I haven't contacted Lenovo about this problem yet. I hope they will offer to replace the screen, but alas... my expectations are so low at this point I kinda doubt they will do anything.
I expected more after paying $1600 for this laptop."
Review 18 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AsiOT

Pleasantly Surprised!

Date: July 3, 2014
"I own the W540 with i7, 4700 processor, 2880x1620 IPS LED display, K2100 graphics, 16GM 2DIMM, 500GBHD 7200RPM, 16GB SSD MHD, and DVD.
I have some computer knowledge, but I'm no techy. I needed a work horse; something that would get wireless outside/inside the office; security and speed b/c I do a lot of research and do a lot on the road. I can have 10-16 windows open and have no lag - easy!
I had this computer NOT even 1 week when I locked it up and froze it! Not a problem. I reset it to factory settings and I was up and running again. I had to make 1 compromise - a larger laptop than what I expected b/c I needed a numerical keypad to use daily. Surprisingly enough it's not as heavy as I thought it would be. The first day I had it I watched a movie on it and was impressed with the sound and picture. The speed on this computer is exceptional and there is no lagging. I like the fingerprint reader so my files stay secure; the 2 years extra warranty package is worth it!
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
David

The worst business laptop I've ever used

Date: July 3, 2014
"Let me put it in this way: the only good thing of this laptop is the weight and plastic material.
Now let me start with the problems:
CTRL key in the wrong place,
no light for the caps or num lock,
unusable touch pad,
no light for the disk,
no connection on the back, just on the side,
unusable back lit keyboard,
never boots when docked,
card reader on the right side leaves the 2/3rd of the card out where you probably have your mouse making it uncomfortable to use.
Of course, all this might not matter depending on the usage.
Now I'm stuck with this laptop for 3 years due to company policy.
For business use, I wouldn't recommend it."
Review 20 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mikey

Average

Date: July 1, 2014
"Not a bad machine. With almost nothing installed after two days it's already started crashing and closing programs by itself. The gadgets have also already gone "buggy" and stopped working. I think this machine is going to have severe problems in the not to distant future. If that's the case, then they are definitely NOT worth the money!"