Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad W540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad W540

Average customer rating:
3.287 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(247 Reviews) 244
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (247 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
48
3 stars
26
2 stars
37
1 star
53
127 of 247(51%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad W540
Review 1 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Why this is my last Lenovo laptop

Date: June 1, 2015
" I have been a user of Thinkpad/Lenovo laptops for many years. Many reasons why I liked them. That is, until the W540 arrived.
Build quality and overall ergonomic design? Not so good: no clamshell lid, trying to open one of the ports in the bottom for an upgrade broke one of the clips, cdrom can't be ejected, impossible to really clean the fan without major dissassembly, no activity indicator lights, etc.
The keyboard has a useless number keypad and has been shifted to the left. The trackpad click is VERY LOUD. And it has no buttons. Unbelievable. To tell the truth I should have returned the laptop right away. The lack of REAL physical buttons is a no go.
The fan is also loud and whinny compared to previous models. The noise has a definite pitch which makes it very annoying.
The architecture of the graphics subsystem is a pain and not Linux friendly (no hardware multiplexer for the two systems??).
On the other hand the machine is fast. Not enough for me to come back... "
Review 2 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Issues never end

Date: June 1, 2015
" I received this W540 as a warranty replacement for a W520 which kept having issues almost continuously (compatibility issues with Windows, update, and hardware issues). The new W540 has had one major issue right off the bat: it will not display the screen on an external monitor -- until the right Lenovo Update comes along. Then it works for a while and stops working again. I have had this PC since February and have had 3 episodes of not being able to use my larger monitor. This is the longest so far, 2 weeks at least. I keep trying to update, but no luck. Initially, Lenovo sent me a replacement docking station, but of course, it wasn't a hardware issue, so I sent that back. This is simply unacceptable -- for any product, but especially a high-end product. The only feature that works really well for me is the matte screen which will work outside. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Thoughtfully Designed

Date: May 21, 2015
" From the anti-glare screen, backlit-keyboard, and even the included software which some will certainly label bloatware, this machine speaks attention to the customer's needs as a user.
The touchpad is amazing. However, it takes some getting used to as the entire pad depresses like a single button. There are zones on the pad to press to left or right click.
The touchpad's functionality and capacity for customization far surpasses any other touchpad I've encountered. There are zones in each corner of the pad you can customize to do things like turn up volume or maximize the window. It accepts 1,2,3,and 4 finger gestures. Has vertical and horizontal scroll zones, accepts 2-finger tap for opening the context menu, and sliding around with 3 fingers is just like using the middle mouse button of a 3-button mouse. All these settings are adjustable.
I uninstalled the imitation start menu that comes installed because it's too slow to open up, I use "classic shell" instead.
Well done Lenovo. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Confused

Date: May 15, 2015
" I really like the laptop and what it offers, but it seems to be unreliable, BUT I'm not sure if that is because I purchased it through Amazon. It's supposed to be brand new, but I already have a crack in one of my USB ports, which I will be calling Amazon about because that is just not right, and 2, when I had an IT consultant look through it, he said there were some internal errors with the system already. Is there a possiblity that I was sold a refurbished laptop? Is there a way to tell whether this product has been previously used? I am disappointed because I've always been a Lenovo user, but I've heard some talk about its quality degrading, and I was hesitant to believe that until I received this unit. Hope to hear from Lenovo regarding a possible solution.
Thanks "
Review 5 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Had to have the hard drive replaced

Date: April 8, 2015
" The first 4 months were rough until the hard drive got replaced...now it's great! "
Review 6 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Thoughtful Design

Date: April 8, 2015
" The monitor is bright and clear. The colors are very nice.
The speakers are loud enough and the bass is okay if you change dolby to music mode.
The keyboard feels very smooth. Has useful extra functions on the function keys and four extra buttons above the numpad. Keystrokes are smooth and quiet.
The touchpad is smooth, accurate, and easy to use. The momentum feature makes it very easy to get from one side of the screen to the other. The gestures and multi-finger swiping are accurate and useful. Unfortunately the latest Synaptic driver ruined the momentum feature so I had to do a system restore to get the old driver back. Hopefully the momentum issue is addressed with the next update.
The fingerprint reader is too slow, even after the latest update. It starts up just fine when the computer first starts up, but after returning from sleep mode it takes about 15 seconds until the reader will activate.
Performance, reliability, usability, and comfort have been exceptional.
Questions? "
Review 7 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Laptop

Date: April 1, 2015
" I puirchased this laptop to use for work and for college. it is versitile and powerful. Bootup time is less than 3 seconds from cold start to use. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Powerful and Durable Laptop Ever

Date: March 30, 2015
" Very powerful and durable product I have ever purchased. Lighter than last generation while performance is better! "
Review 9 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Workstation for someone on the go

Date: March 27, 2015
" This thing is awesome! I can run all Adobe photoshops, Lightroom, and elements without a problem. I primary bought this to run CAD and I must say I have never had solidworks run on a computer so fast. Worth every penny, just wish the battery lasted longer. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Lighter, quieter and cooler!

Date: March 26, 2015
" My old Dell laptop has seen better days and gave out when I got my new ThinkPad. Even though it is bigger than my Dell, it's about the same weight. Because of the SSD drive, it boots up quickly and hardly makes any noise and runs cooler too!
The only issue I have with it is the sensitivity of the track mouse and touch pad when I type. I have reduced the sensitivity to its lowest setting and the cursor still jumps from time to time. Pretty annoying. They should have a setting where it turns them off when there's typing being done. My Dell had that setting.
A "feature" that takes getting used to is the Fn key along with the Fx number to not select a particular function. For example. If you want to mute the speakers (which sound pretty nice), press just the F1 key, but if you want to press F1 you have to also press the Fn key. I use Fx keys a lot in my line of work.
One nice feature are the short cut keys along the top of the key pad. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

AVID THINKPAD FAN AND LENOVO DEALER BUT....

Date: March 25, 2015
" I am a dealer and Thinkpad user for 15 years. I purchased this W540 to replace me T520 Thinkpad and while it is fast, the keyboard layout is not good. While I can adapt pretty well to the keyboard being offset, the TrackPoint is just a disaster. It simply put is not usable to me and I now have to use an external mouse and I am a laptop/computer dealer and repair center. Lenovo NEEDS to sell a replacement touchpad that is a direct take off for the standard Thinkpads. Literally it is beyond difficult to even use the mouse and while I opted for the 32GB of RAM and the very high resolution display which are nice, if I can't use the mouse why have a laptop. I regret buying it and as a Lenovo dealer myself, the next laptop I purchase if it is like this will not be a Lenovo. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Performance and Portability

Date: March 25, 2015
" I've always been a fan of the ThinkPad brand because of it's durability and familiar design. The W540 takes this to the next level with a built-in key pad and 3K display. I opted for the 256 GB SSD and I am very happy with my decision to have traded storage space for performance. THIS THING IS SUPER FAST!!! "
Review 13 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Almost feels like a downgrade

Date: March 4, 2015
" I moved from a W530 to the W540 and actually hung onto the W530 for months thinking I would move back to it. I like that the W540 is thinner and lighter than the previous model, but there are enough things that I do not like that make me long for the older unit. The elimination of the mouse buttons for wobbly trackpad button system is probably the biggest single annoyance. I curse at that anytime I am using the system without an external keyboard for more than five minutes. And maybe I am old school, but I use the function keys more than I use features on them and so having the default be the latter seems dumb. Both systems use Windows 7 and I had fewer problems with the W530. One dock I have is on a KVM. The W530 could dock and boot without switching the display to it and come up at the right resolution. The W540 never does that unless I switch the display before I power it on. The display on it is great. The USB seems a bit twitchy. Screwing down the UltraBay is mixed. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great laptop

Date: February 13, 2015
" I use this for my work. It's a bit pricey, but is very fast and gets the job done. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Nothing good to say about this laptop.

Date: February 3, 2015
" * Flimsy chassis.
* Cheap keyboard with leaky back-light.
* Poor monitor viewing angle.
* Unreliable drivers.
* Useless dock.
* Intermittent power supply.
The chassis flexes a lot, so much that the monitor is distorted at the bottom. The keyboard feels mushy and cheap, on top of that the led light leaks so much from the bottom of the keys that it drowns out the letters. If the laptop goes to sleep while docked only the external monitor will wake and if you disconnect from the dock you get a permanent black screen. Only reconnecting to the dock will get you a monitor you can use to reboot after which the laptop monitor will work again. If you un-dock and re-dock the battery will stop charging and once the battery runs out the laptop will turn off. The only way to remedy this is to unplug the power supply, remove the battery, wait a few minute, replace the battery and reboot. Oh, and the PANTONE calibrator is not recognized by the OS. Updating the drivers did nothing. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Fair to midland

Date: January 30, 2015
" An i7 has good runtime performance with adequate memory. Don't skimp on memory. Choose the best display available and so far so good. But you might hate the offset keyboard. I'm a developer and rarely need a keypad. Probably the most damning part of the design is the integrated touch-pad. It is awful. Trying to use a tilting pad as a mouse-button is a horrible idea. It looses the tactile feel and your finger can easily slide off the target when your going for the "push". One good thing about Lenovo is the warrantee service. You might need it. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Unreliable, disappointing

Date: January 27, 2015
" I've had Lenovo Thinkpads for the past ten years, starting with a trusty T61P, moving onto a W510, and finally ending on this W540.
Specifications-wise the W540 is superior to the W510 that I replaced. The trackpad, however has completely changed, making it utterly useless. The physical buttons have been removed; instead you can 'click' the entire trackpad. The zones are poorly delineated and inconsistent. I have had to use a separate mouse, which makes the computer useless when traveling.
Further, four months after purchase of this computer, my W540 wouldn't wake from sleep. When I tried to reboot it, the computer wouldn't boot. I was forced to reformat the computer and reinstall everything, but the computer still wouldn't recover from sleep sometimes. When I sent it in for warranty repair, they formatted the computer and reinstalled Windows. This didn't help the issue AT ALL.
The W540 has been a major disappointment to me. I do not recommend it at all. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Bad touchpad is a deal-breaker

Date: January 23, 2015
" I have used Thinkpads for years. I was issued one of these by my company for development work. The touchpad is among the worst I've ever used and is the reason I have stashed this company-owned machine in a drawer and now use a personally-owned T430 in its place.
The touchpad has three major problems: first, it's in the wrong place; second, both its tap and physical click features are clunky; finally, the drivers for multitouch events (scroll, drag) are buggy. The result is that typing causes errant mouse movement and mis-clicks. Dragging windows around is not easy, and ordinary clicks are slow and inaccurate. I've had these experiences in both the bundled Windows instance and in Linux. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

BEST.COMPUTER.EVER

Date: January 23, 2015
" I will definitely tell all my friends about this computer. its fast all the time and I still am able to play a few games when I am not supposed to.
good job Lenovo you've created one of the best computers yet "
Review 20 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great, EXCEPT . . .

Date: January 22, 2015
" You'll love this laptop's materials, style, speed, and appearance. BUT, what you won't like is the silly cost-cutting that Lenovo undertakes with the W-series. The one thing that I absolutely HATE about this machine is the lack of indicator lights. Missing the CAPS LOCK indicator light and the NUM LOCK indicator lights was a poor choice and makes the keyboard virtually unusable for certain tasks, since the on-screen display is delayed. Not having a charging indicator lamp also leaves one wondering if the laptop is charging or charged when it is off. For about $1.50, Lenovo could have made a perfect machine. I would gladly pay $5 to have my indicator lamps. What gives? "