Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad W540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad W540

Average customer rating:
3.168 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(191 Reviews) 189
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (191 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
35
3 stars
21
2 stars
31
1 star
45
90 of 191(47%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad W540
Review 1 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Offset mouse pad - AWFUL

Date: December 16, 2014
" Real simple - why on earth would you not align mouse pad in center..... "
Review 2 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Some issues

Date: December 16, 2014
" The PC is marked with Win 8 Pro installed, but it has Win 7 as the operating system. Other than that most features are as advertised. Performance is good as expected. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best purchase ever

Date: December 15, 2014
" Since i replaced the HDD with Intel SSD, it runs smooth, fast, quite, much less heat. The 9-cell battery life is awesome, i can work the whole day without any worries and that means i don't have to carry charger everyday.
Most of the people complain about the keyboard and indicators, i found that it's very minor issue and you get used to it in few days. If you happen to work on multi workstations, typing on keyboard is little confusing but will master it in no time like bi-keyboard. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Overall very good (so far)

Date: December 15, 2014
" The Lenovo Thinkpad W540 is overall a very good laptop. It handles programs which demand a lot from the system well and is fast for general use. I like the feel of the keyboard while typing and the number pad and back-lighting are very helpful. The trackpad is okay for things such as browsing the internet or general use, but for anything more, I would strongly recommend a mouse. The trackpad can be very difficult to use for programs that rely heavily on mouse input (even more than the average trackpad). The anti-glare display makes a huge difference; my previous laptop had a glossy display which made using it when the light source was behind me very difficult. There is almost no reflection of background light, this makes viewing the screen much easier. Lenovo's signature pointing stick is a nice addition, rather than having to reposition my finger constantly on the trackpad, a slight push on the pointing stick moves the cursor effortlessly and-with a bit of practice-pretty accurately. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

I love my Lenovo W540

Date: December 11, 2014
" I have found no downside to this computer yet and i have put it through plenty of tests. The fact that I could get it with Windows 7 Pro is a huge bonus!! "
Review 6 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Good Laptop

Date: December 9, 2014
" Very good laptop, two issues only,
it comes in with some pre installed software that you may not even want.
The Wifi Connections would fail in some networks.
But Still recommend it to buy. Epecially for Engineers.
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Perfect value for money :-)

Date: December 8, 2014
" Hi,
I got this laptop a week ago and it's been awesome.
The display is crisp and bright, start-up time is great and even if i multitask with several applications - there is no lag. Sound quality is great as is the low light camera.
I am very happy till now - keep up the great work.
My only gripe is the massive battery adapter which is bit too heavy to carry around. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Continued Quality

Date: December 8, 2014
" My 2nd W5XX series. Longtime Lenovo user.
I am happy with it.
Many reviews complained of the trackpad and keyboard layout.
I admit it was different, and frustrating - especially the trackpad when I was trying to use it like my old trackpad. Just knowing that it was different helped me understand that I needed to do something different and I working fine now.
Anyway, in the end, I think the negative posts are mostly from people just don't like change. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

A bit disappointed, primarily because of trackpad

Date: December 7, 2014
" I've been using ThinkPads my entire careers while using laptops. They're rugged and reliable. I was always comfortable with a disk I/O light and other indicators. But what I absolutely miss the most is the mousepad that I've been using for years. The trackpoint is still there but the trackpad, well, eventually I'll get used to it but it definitely is not the same. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Hate the mouse

Date: December 4, 2014
" The keyboard is fine, but I absolutely hate the mouse. It is so awkward to learn to use that I just went out and bought an external mouse.
Also, I hate that, because of Windows 8, that the function keys were all reversed. I use programs that use a lot of function keys and now I have to now press two keys to have the same results of pre-Windows 8.0 keyboard.
Other than that, the computer seems to work fine, but the bad mouse design just makes using the computer difficult. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

worse mouse pad ever

Date: December 4, 2014
" new mouse pad is really poor "
Review 12 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Already Problems

Date: December 2, 2014
" Already it is acting erratically. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

portable workstation

Date: December 2, 2014
" Excellent machine for the mobile power user or desktop replacement. Has excellent keyboard feel , eraser mouse on keyboard, which I find much easier to use than the pad (which I disable!), and numeric keypad. I especially like the matte (non-reflective) screen, which, along with the keyboard feel, has been one of the hallmarks of the Thinkpad.
I do feel that Lenovo did cheapen the product by removing the indicator lights I have been accustomed to on my W500 Thinkpad, such as disk activity, power indicator, wireless, bluetooth, and especially caps and num lock. Caps and num lock indicators do appear on the display now, but are not movable and do take screen area. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

great buy

Date: December 2, 2014
" I'm not a computer geek, but am very happy with what I'm acquainted . Thanks for a good product. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Need My Mouse Buttons Back

Date: December 1, 2014
" I have been IBM/Lenovo loyal since my first T20 back in the day and having worn out my W510 I went ahead and got the W540 about 3 months ago with the knowledge that I might be disappointed with the mouse pad.
I was thinking I could used to it and I have to a certain degree but it gets very frustrating at times. I just don't understand what the engineers were thinking with this move. I might replace this machine soon with another line if I continue to be frustrated. I am hoping Lenovo realizes their error and issue a backward compatible mouse pad with buttons. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Pluses and Minuses when compared to older machines

Date: November 27, 2014
" I used to have a W520. The display port is gone in favor of a mini display port or thunderbolt (adapter time). The old drive bay adapter does not fit. The old power adapter does not fit. The old W520 took whatever RAM you threw at it. The W540 needs something very specific. The track pad and keyboard take some getting used to.
On the good side, the unit is thinner and lighter as is the power supply. This is good as the W520 is a beast. Hard to know about performance until I can get some compatible RAM, but so far it seems similar to the W520.
I have only had it a week, so I may change my opinion over time. There are not that many choices for a business notebook that takes 32GB RAM. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Surpassed expectations

Date: November 26, 2014
" Ordered this for a portable SolidWorks computer to use in and out of the office. Didn't expect it to handle large assemblies as well as it does. Plenty fast, great battery life, and highly recommended. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worse purchase ever

Date: November 25, 2014
" I was very excited to order this product with Windows 8, being the happy owner of a W520 with Windows 7 that was getting older. I purchase it for about 3600 $ when it was just released. I have installed MS Office, Adobe, Skype and ChemBio Draw, and before loading any pictures or documents the system crashed on me twice. Then the battery or power supply was defective and I had it one week in repairs. It came back just to make more trouble - unstable system, it falls into hibernate without reason and I cannot bring it back without taking the battery out, and so on. Eventually, I took the old W520 out of the kids' hands and have to look into how to have this monster fixed. Ah, I forgot, it was delivered with the letter H falling out and after the week spent in depot for the power supply incident it came back with the same loose H. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

again with the trackpad

Date: November 24, 2014
" I use windows and linux for my work.
I'd love to be able to middle click using the trackpad as part of the standard linux copy/paste but I can't do that with this trackpad. This has broken my workflow and I'm stuck with an external mouse.
I'd like to easily right click, but I can't do that with this trackpad.
I'd like to double click quickly, but I can't do that with this trackpad.
Gestures are useless, just give us normal clicking options. middle click should be a middle click, not a useless scroll.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Everything but touchpad is ok

Date: November 17, 2014
" Display is not as good FHD display my T520 but very decent. Resolution is just right for Windows 8.1 with 150% scaling. Keyboard is ok. Headphones port is on the left.
Bad: No secondary attachable battery. Hissing sound from speakers. No SSD LED. No color-coding for USB ports. No dedicated Pause key. Issues with UltraBay IV adapter. It does not turn on sometimes with full battery but disconnected AC cable.
Touchpad is important for laptop. And W540 touchpad is plain terrible. It detects movement when typing and it cannot be temporarily disabled via FN hotkey. It stops working randomly (right now it does not work for me). It produces noticeable sound when ‘clicking’ (compare that older Dell Latitude touchpad buttons). Cursor moves during ‘clicking’.
Worst of all, Enter is not blue anymore and RED dot in the logo is actually a LED.
No other glitches discovered. So, if you don’t need touchpad and want just perfect resolution for 15” Windows 8.1 laptop, I would recommend this laptop. "