Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad W540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad W540

Average customer rating:
3.272 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(239 Reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (239 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
47
3 stars
25
2 stars
36
1 star
52
121 of 239(51%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad W540
Review 1 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Workstation for someone on the go

Date: March 27, 2015
" This thing is awesome! I can run all Adobe photoshops, Lightroom, and elements without a problem. I primary bought this to run CAD and I must say I have never had solidworks run on a computer so fast. Worth every penny, just wish the battery lasted longer. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Lighter, quieter and cooler!

Date: March 26, 2015
" My old Dell laptop has seen better days and gave out when I got my new ThinkPad. Even though it is bigger than my Dell, it's about the same weight. Because of the SSD drive, it boots up quickly and hardly makes any noise and runs cooler too!
The only issue I have with it is the sensitivity of the track mouse and touch pad when I type. I have reduced the sensitivity to its lowest setting and the cursor still jumps from time to time. Pretty annoying. They should have a setting where it turns them off when there's typing being done. My Dell had that setting.
A "feature" that takes getting used to is the Fn key along with the Fx number to not select a particular function. For example. If you want to mute the speakers (which sound pretty nice), press just the F1 key, but if you want to press F1 you have to also press the Fn key. I use Fx keys a lot in my line of work.
One nice feature are the short cut keys along the top of the key pad. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

AVID THINKPAD FAN AND LENOVO DEALER BUT....

Date: March 25, 2015
" I am a dealer and Thinkpad user for 15 years. I purchased this W540 to replace me T520 Thinkpad and while it is fast, the keyboard layout is not good. While I can adapt pretty well to the keyboard being offset, the TrackPoint is just a disaster. It simply put is not usable to me and I now have to use an external mouse and I am a laptop/computer dealer and repair center. Lenovo NEEDS to sell a replacement touchpad that is a direct take off for the standard Thinkpads. Literally it is beyond difficult to even use the mouse and while I opted for the 32GB of RAM and the very high resolution display which are nice, if I can't use the mouse why have a laptop. I regret buying it and as a Lenovo dealer myself, the next laptop I purchase if it is like this will not be a Lenovo. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Performance and Portability

Date: March 25, 2015
" I've always been a fan of the ThinkPad brand because of it's durability and familiar design. The W540 takes this to the next level with a built-in key pad and 3K display. I opted for the 256 GB SSD and I am very happy with my decision to have traded storage space for performance. THIS THING IS SUPER FAST!!! "
Review 5 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Almost feels like a downgrade

Date: March 4, 2015
" I moved from a W530 to the W540 and actually hung onto the W530 for months thinking I would move back to it. I like that the W540 is thinner and lighter than the previous model, but there are enough things that I do not like that make me long for the older unit. The elimination of the mouse buttons for wobbly trackpad button system is probably the biggest single annoyance. I curse at that anytime I am using the system without an external keyboard for more than five minutes. And maybe I am old school, but I use the function keys more than I use features on them and so having the default be the latter seems dumb. Both systems use Windows 7 and I had fewer problems with the W530. One dock I have is on a KVM. The W530 could dock and boot without switching the display to it and come up at the right resolution. The W540 never does that unless I switch the display before I power it on. The display on it is great. The USB seems a bit twitchy. Screwing down the UltraBay is mixed. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great laptop

Date: February 13, 2015
" I use this for my work. It's a bit pricey, but is very fast and gets the job done. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Nothing good to say about this laptop.

Date: February 3, 2015
" * Flimsy chassis.
* Cheap keyboard with leaky back-light.
* Poor monitor viewing angle.
* Unreliable drivers.
* Useless dock.
* Intermittent power supply.
The chassis flexes a lot, so much that the monitor is distorted at the bottom. The keyboard feels mushy and cheap, on top of that the led light leaks so much from the bottom of the keys that it drowns out the letters. If the laptop goes to sleep while docked only the external monitor will wake and if you disconnect from the dock you get a permanent black screen. Only reconnecting to the dock will get you a monitor you can use to reboot after which the laptop monitor will work again. If you un-dock and re-dock the battery will stop charging and once the battery runs out the laptop will turn off. The only way to remedy this is to unplug the power supply, remove the battery, wait a few minute, replace the battery and reboot. Oh, and the PANTONE calibrator is not recognized by the OS. Updating the drivers did nothing. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Fair to midland

Date: January 30, 2015
" An i7 has good runtime performance with adequate memory. Don't skimp on memory. Choose the best display available and so far so good. But you might hate the offset keyboard. I'm a developer and rarely need a keypad. Probably the most damning part of the design is the integrated touch-pad. It is awful. Trying to use a tilting pad as a mouse-button is a horrible idea. It looses the tactile feel and your finger can easily slide off the target when your going for the "push". One good thing about Lenovo is the warrantee service. You might need it. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Unreliable, disappointing

Date: January 27, 2015
" I've had Lenovo Thinkpads for the past ten years, starting with a trusty T61P, moving onto a W510, and finally ending on this W540.
Specifications-wise the W540 is superior to the W510 that I replaced. The trackpad, however has completely changed, making it utterly useless. The physical buttons have been removed; instead you can 'click' the entire trackpad. The zones are poorly delineated and inconsistent. I have had to use a separate mouse, which makes the computer useless when traveling.
Further, four months after purchase of this computer, my W540 wouldn't wake from sleep. When I tried to reboot it, the computer wouldn't boot. I was forced to reformat the computer and reinstall everything, but the computer still wouldn't recover from sleep sometimes. When I sent it in for warranty repair, they formatted the computer and reinstalled Windows. This didn't help the issue AT ALL.
The W540 has been a major disappointment to me. I do not recommend it at all. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Bad touchpad is a deal-breaker

Date: January 23, 2015
" I have used Thinkpads for years. I was issued one of these by my company for development work. The touchpad is among the worst I've ever used and is the reason I have stashed this company-owned machine in a drawer and now use a personally-owned T430 in its place.
The touchpad has three major problems: first, it's in the wrong place; second, both its tap and physical click features are clunky; finally, the drivers for multitouch events (scroll, drag) are buggy. The result is that typing causes errant mouse movement and mis-clicks. Dragging windows around is not easy, and ordinary clicks are slow and inaccurate. I've had these experiences in both the bundled Windows instance and in Linux. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

BEST.COMPUTER.EVER

Date: January 23, 2015
" I will definitely tell all my friends about this computer. its fast all the time and I still am able to play a few games when I am not supposed to.
good job Lenovo you've created one of the best computers yet "
Review 12 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great, EXCEPT . . .

Date: January 22, 2015
" You'll love this laptop's materials, style, speed, and appearance. BUT, what you won't like is the silly cost-cutting that Lenovo undertakes with the W-series. The one thing that I absolutely HATE about this machine is the lack of indicator lights. Missing the CAPS LOCK indicator light and the NUM LOCK indicator lights was a poor choice and makes the keyboard virtually unusable for certain tasks, since the on-screen display is delayed. Not having a charging indicator lamp also leaves one wondering if the laptop is charging or charged when it is off. For about $1.50, Lenovo could have made a perfect machine. I would gladly pay $5 to have my indicator lamps. What gives? "
Review 13 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

W540 first impressions

Date: January 15, 2015
" My W540 is the second Thinkpad W series (first was the W500) I have owned. My usage is for programming, photo editing, and general use. Since I do not play real time games, I did not need a super high end video card. However, ram, SSD, and the color calibration feature are important, as is the finger print reader. Having used HP and other finger print readers, the W540 is the best I have used, and is capable of capturing the print on the first pass. The color calibrator works well for my photo editing (Adobe Lightroom) too. The high resolution 3k display is equal to the Apple retina display (I have a MacBook Pro Retina also), and at first, the text was too small (especially explorer and lightroom), but setting a custom text size of 200% solved that as well. The W540 did not come with lots of junk apps loaded, so that was a good plus. The touch pad is usable, but is not the best (since I use a mouse, that is not an issue. Great computer and highly recommended. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Faulty Dock

Date: January 13, 2015
" Received my W540 and accompanying dock and the USB connectors on the dock do not work when the computer is docked. I have spent a ridiculous amount of time on the phone with customer service (often transferred between service groups). They have sent me 3 dock (none have fixed the problem) and I just had a specialist replace the Motherboard (did not fix the problem either). The docking station is an overly complex design that clearly has some issues connecting with the W540. This has been a colossal time waste. The PC itself seems decent at this point but this compromises the usefulness and productivity of the system for me.
Extremely dissapointed "
Review 15 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good specs, not great value

Date: January 13, 2015
" I bought the Lenovo W540 back in the summer for school. I am an engineering student so I needed a computer with a lot of power. Mine was customized with 16 GB RAM, NVIDEA K1100, Windows 7, 256 GB SSD, replaced optical drive with 500 GB HDD. The computer runs very quickly: it boots up in <30 seconds. There is plenty of power to run CAD software smoothly. I never have any issue with lag when I am doing 3D modeling. I really like the functionality of the computer.
Several things do bother me about this computer. For starters, the quality of the shell has gone down significantly from earlier models. My dad has an older Lenovo laptop and it is built considerably more sturdy than this one. Secondly, the keyboard has the "fn" key right where the control key is on nearly every other keyboard known to man. The last major issue is the screen. It has good resolution, but the colors are not good at all. I have it connected to a monitor and the colors aren't even close to the same. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Purchase Ever

Date: January 11, 2015
" Honestly, I had a wonderful experience using my new W540. It starts so fast and the screen looks so beautiful. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Horrible Touch Pad!

Date: January 8, 2015
" I am in the process of setting up my 1 wk old Lenovo, & my biggest challenge has been figuring out Windows 8.1. So far I have one huge complaint about the laptop itself. The touchpad is horrible. I have played with sensitivity settings & disabled the circular motions, but the pad is still very jittery. There are no separate rt and left buttons, so requires hard push at corners of the touchpad to use these features. Clicking makes cursor jump off, so you end up with a wrong selection. Annoying! Can't operate touchpad with one hand. I will have to go back to wireless mouse, inconvenient! Also, keyboard backlight is minimal. There is only a faint row of light along # keys. Not useful in the dark. Typing on the keyboard is very comfortable. Palms rest on either side of touchpad, all keys are within easy reach of small hands. I would have appreciated an enclosed informational flyer, diagram with basic startup info, and any other important notes and online reference locations to get started. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Its very good!

Date: January 7, 2015
" I bought at black friday, it great. large screen, strong performance, read0, the best laptop. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Dear computer, I hope I never hurt you

Date: January 6, 2015
" I am an all-out 3D rendering fiend. So far the w540 has lived up to my insane expectations and rendering settings. I wish higher-end quadro cards were available on this model but the k2100m does well (I have to note that the GT750M, which seemed to perform a little better in CAD on a past laptop, is a fraction of the price but we can take that up with nvidia ;))
All in all: it is the most powerful laptop I could configure among the major laptop makers out there and has an elegant balance of sturdiness and attention to detail. The feel of basic interactions (opening the screen, typing, clicking with the trackpad) is pleasant and well-considered, which makes the simple act of using it satisfying.
The body is as sturdy as you can get with composite materials, short of going the route of an all-aluminum body. To my horror I dropped the laptop down the stairs the second day I had it and it emerged unmarked and undamaged although I don't advise repeating that yourself.
Fantastic screen. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

The Best Laptop Ever

Date: January 5, 2015
" Good professional notebook offers powerful professional graphics with durable materials. "