Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad W540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad W540

Average customer rating:
3.039 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
16
3 stars
9
2 stars
18
1 star
28
45 of 102(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad W540
Review 1 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
byThekid

Best Mobile Workstation Period

Date: July 24, 2014
"I absolutely love the W540 it has not failed me yet"
Review 2 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kassad

Great workstation, not meant for casual users

Date: July 20, 2014
"This machine exceeded my expectation in a few key areas:
- performance (runs smoother and more quickly than I expected; i7 @ 3.7 ghz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD, K2100M Quadro card)
- Display quality: the 3K IPS is incredible
- Emissions: totally silent
- Keyboard: far better than what I heard and far better than my old Macbook Pro. The numpad is absolutely incredible and very well placed (contrary to some opinions) and is a great addition for productivity
- Ports: the lightning connector, 4 USBs, MPCIE, M.02, and even the VGA make for a great set of expandability tools
- Construction quality is good, but not as good as Apple. Still far superior to Dell, HP, Toshiba, etc.
Cons:
- This machine does have a bad track pad. Believe it. If you use tap to click then it's about 90% less bad, but still a little buggy at time. Lenovo could definitely have improved here.
That said, this is certainly a workstation meant for power users and it performs exceedingly well as such."
Review 3 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
haithem

excellent

Date: July 10, 2014
"best labtop i ever seen i like to get one :("
Review 4 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aals99

Great Small Business Laptop

Date: July 10, 2014
"I love this laptop as well as it's docking station. I run my entire business directly from this machine and it is absolutely wonderful. I couldn't be happier. I've always owned Thinkpads and always will!"
Review 5 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
unhappyUser

bizarre position of keys

Date: July 10, 2014
"The alpha-numeric keys are not centered relative to the screen because about 1/5 of the keyboard is taken up by a numeric pad. As a result, my hands are positioned on the wrong keys all the time when I type. Not sure why a numeric pad is given more importance than the practicality and ease of use of the other keys. I now have to position myself to the left of the keyboard in order to reach the right keys.
Can't tell how to cut&paste, it's non-intuitive or not working properly.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Samiam

W540 machine is good trackpad is bad

Date: July 7, 2014
"we recently purchased several W540's as replacements for w530's and found that they have an additional keypad on the keyboard that caused the track pad to be moved to the left which makes it extremely hard to use. We have had to disable the trackpad because of the errors it was causing."
Review 7 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Traveler

Crash

Date: July 7, 2014
"After spending days getting it set up and loading all of the software I need for my job I got to use it for 2 weeks before I had to take my first trip. Just before I left I noticed it did a couple of 'funny' things but nothing serious. Left for the trip (of course out of the country) and it ended up crashing, and crashing hard. I was able to run in safe mode for a while and pull files off but that was it. Came back and sent it in to Lenova. Ended up with a new motherboard and hard drive. I did get it back in four days!
Last one was a 4 year old T500, that's why we stayed with a thinkpad. Not sure about the next one now."
Review 8 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Undergrad22

Frustrated

Date: July 6, 2014
"I ordered this laptop as a graduation present for myself. I wanted a powerful computer with a large screen because I am going to school for engineering. Complaint #1: I ordered the laptop with Windows 8 with a free downgrade to 7, but it came with 7 installed. I called Lenovo and they didn't offer to do or help with anything. Complaint #2: The pre-installed desktop gadgets do not work. Lenovo tried to help fix the problem but was only willing to go so far. Instead they transferred me to a company that offered to fix the problem for a large fee. This made me really angry considering I still had about 350 days left on my 1 year warranty. Complaint #3: After having the computer for about 2 months I already have a dead pixel in the middle of the screen. I haven't contacted Lenovo about this problem yet. I hope they will offer to replace the screen, but alas... my expectations are so low at this point I kinda doubt they will do anything.
I expected more after paying $1600 for this laptop."
Review 9 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AsiOT

Pleasantly Surprised!

Date: July 3, 2014
"I own the W540 with i7, 4700 processor, 2880x1620 IPS LED display, K2100 graphics, 16GM 2DIMM, 500GBHD 7200RPM, 16GB SSD MHD, and DVD.
I have some computer knowledge, but I'm no techy. I needed a work horse; something that would get wireless outside/inside the office; security and speed b/c I do a lot of research and do a lot on the road. I can have 10-16 windows open and have no lag - easy!
I had this computer NOT even 1 week when I locked it up and froze it! Not a problem. I reset it to factory settings and I was up and running again. I had to make 1 compromise - a larger laptop than what I expected b/c I needed a numerical keypad to use daily. Surprisingly enough it's not as heavy as I thought it would be. The first day I had it I watched a movie on it and was impressed with the sound and picture. The speed on this computer is exceptional and there is no lagging. I like the fingerprint reader so my files stay secure; the 2 years extra warranty package is worth it!
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
David

The worst business laptop I've ever used

Date: July 3, 2014
"Let me put it in this way: the only good thing of this laptop is the weight and plastic material.
Now let me start with the problems:
CTRL key in the wrong place,
no light for the caps or num lock,
unusable touch pad,
no light for the disk,
no connection on the back, just on the side,
unusable back lit keyboard,
never boots when docked,
card reader on the right side leaves the 2/3rd of the card out where you probably have your mouse making it uncomfortable to use.
Of course, all this might not matter depending on the usage.
Now I'm stuck with this laptop for 3 years due to company policy.
For business use, I wouldn't recommend it."
Review 11 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mikey

Average

Date: July 1, 2014
"Not a bad machine. With almost nothing installed after two days it's already started crashing and closing programs by itself. The gadgets have also already gone "buggy" and stopped working. I think this machine is going to have severe problems in the not to distant future. If that's the case, then they are definitely NOT worth the money!"
Review 12 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aalok

Extremely bad design with trackpad

Date: July 1, 2014
"I am a thinkpad user since past 10 years. Never had to ever think twice about buying a lenovo/thinkpad. You just know it's built to last.
Pro's: Performance. Credit where it's due and this renders my audio production/editing software like hot knife through butter.
Con's: TRACKPAD !!!!! its just a BIG giant button ! completely unusable. No buttons and the travel is so deep that after a point my wrists start to hurt. With my previous W500 I could sit through the night and not feel a thing. With the W540, within 30 minutes I began to feel tired constantly having to press on that trackpad since audio work entails a lot of clicking and fine adjustments."
Review 13 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimS

Terrific, fast machine

Date: July 1, 2014
"After having to use desktops for the last 14 years for the necessary horsepower, it is nice to finally have a portable workhorse. The SSD primary drive is incredibly fast, the webcam works great, the docking station works well and the keyboard configuration is pretty good. I have been using it for about 3 weeks now for .NET and Flex development and it is great.
My only complaints are the sensitivity of the touchpad (clicks too easily) and scroll gesture not scrolling as easily as expected."
Review 14 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DrChuck

Great machine

Date: June 28, 2014
"I have had my machine for about a week, so no comments yet about durability, but this is definitely a nice piece of hardware. It is really solid, and ergonomically well thought out. The screen, keyboard, etc. all work well. I touch type at dictation speeds, and I'm ok with the keyboard response although it took a couple of hours to get used to. (The negative reviews about the keyboard layout are a mystery to me.) I do find the touch pad a little clunky, but I'm getting used to it. Power is ample - I use multiple virtual machines (a couple of versions of Windows and a couple of Linuxes) at a time on seriously heavy engineering and scientific crunching, and with 32 Gigs of memory it cranks away quite nicely. Twin solid state drives are a real plus, and battery life is pretty good for what it is. Highly recommended as a cruncher! Also, the folks at Lenovo have (on average) been great - intent on helping me make the right choice, and solving any issues."
Review 15 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bobby

One step forward two steps backward

Date: June 28, 2014
"The new form factor and weight of the W540 is an improvement. It's a great addition to have removed the speakers and enlarged the keyword these are the only positives.
Now the other changes make this machine absolutely awful and unusable as a true 'moible workstation'
1) Trackpad IS THE WORST piece of hardware I have ever used. It just doesn't work right! Making the trackpad bigger was a good idea but the new system where the entire trackpad is clickable just doesn't work, when you click it moves the mouse, apple got it right, lenovo didn't.
2) Then the two finger scrolling is just bad but then again it's always sort of been on windows compared to apple. In photoshop this new trackpad is 100% unusable.
3) F1/F2 keys are now also sound up and down keys this is just bad, I'm constantly working in software that needs the F keys and also listening to music.
4) The hard disk activity indicator is gone, this was the few positive of pc vs mac, now gone too
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NCEngineer

Very annoying keyboard - missing mouse buttons

Date: June 24, 2014
"This is a very unpleasant machine to work on.
The keyboard and screen are not aligned. The center of the keyboard is a couple inches to the left of the center of the screen (what insane person approved this design??????). It's like sitting at a desktop where the monitor is permanently stuck 2 inches to left of center.
And the mouse buttons are gone. all that's left is a large "track pad" that serves as the mouse buttons - the entire pad depresses and you have to press pretty hard to get it to click - so it slows down work and wears out my thumbs. AND it's loud. Everyone within a couple cubes can hear EVERY MOUSE CLICK.... Again - what insane person approved this? very annoying... EXTREMELY annoying. I would not buy or recommend this machine to anyone."
Review 17 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nave

Wonderful machine

Date: June 23, 2014
"Overall great machine.
Positives: The processor is very fast. I always have great wifi connection, but go for the dual band esp. if you attend college. 8GB of RAM is great; you can upgrade that (& nearly everything else) if need be. Writing speeds are fantastic; everything downloads faster than I have ever experienced. Battery life IS GOOD. People crying about battery life either have abused their battery/spend their entire days watching movies. Yesterday my charge lasted 8+ hours; I downloaded Itunes, watched a movie, surfed the web, played music & let it sit some. Beats its competitors. The keyboard is FANTASTIC; its quick, durable & the backlight is great. Finally, the screen is beautiful; hardly any glare & still everything looks great. Fan isnt loud at all.
Negatives: The trackpad is a pain; its too reactive and I prefer having the buttons. Buy a mouse. Not so visually appealing & slightly heavy.
Awesome purchase; recommended to anyone needing a fast machine for a great price."
Review 18 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dascomo

Not worth the price I paid

Date: June 23, 2014
"I was a very happy W700 owner but needed to switch to a new, smaller laptop after 5 years. I bought this W540 in February 2014 with all the top-of-the-line options. After 4 months, I can say the computer does the job (intensive Photoshop retouching of very large files from the Nikon D800e) but there have been a number of quality issues that have really annoyed me. The wireless card has a shorter range, and disconnects much more than a 3 year-old Macbook Pro card. There have been odd and inconsistent compatibility issues with the external NEC monitor I have. It seems to be some sort of conflict with the Lenovo software that manages the laptop screen. Also, the power management software is glitchy--doesn't remember my unplugged/battery power settings and dims the screen despite my choice otherwise. The operating system is 4 months old and already the computer cannot restart, only shut down. I will be reloading the operating system soon. And lastly, the system runs very very hot."
Review 19 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jesse

TOOL FOR WORKING

Date: June 22, 2014
"I think all the bad reviews are because folks bought the wrong computer for what they doing. This machine is a tool for working. Among such laptops, it is far and away the best. The W540 has the DNA of the W series all over it, with some wonderful improvements. The off center keyboard is perfect for command line software, such as Autocad and Rhino, using the mouse in concert with key entry. The track pad is huge, its a great improvement on the old one. Lenovo made this machine specifically to optimize the work flow of an architect/engineer/designer. If you are one of those people, buy this machine. If you are not, do not buy this machine. You will hate everything about it because you dont understand the purpose of it. Thanks Lenovo for breathing new life into the W series. It is far away the ultimate portable workstation."
Review 20 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hCPA

Exceeded my expectations

Date: June 19, 2014
"This is by far the best laptop I have ever had or used. The keyboard has a great feel, the screen is crystal clear with high resolution for viewing multiple windows, and it is very fast (comparable in everyday use to my extremely high end i7 desktop). The battery seems to have a very long life, and the machine is light enough to be much more portable than my previous laptop. Overall, a finely built machine, well-suited to it's purpose as a serious business laptop."