Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad W540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad W540

Average customer rating:
3.298 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(252 Reviews) 249
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (252 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
49
3 stars
27
2 stars
38
1 star
53
130 of 252(52%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad W540
Review 1 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fast computer- Horrible touchpad & other features

Date: August 25, 2015
" Was issued this computer for work. This works very well with the resource intensive databases I work with.
However, the touchpad is so bad it's unusable (I have to carry a mouse with me). It's been replaced already, but it still doesn't work. It's a common complaint about this model- I hope Lenovo has fixed it. I would not recommend this computer on the touchpad alone.
The SD card does not work- even after Lenovo's constant suggestion to re-install the driver. This too is a very common complaint about this model.
The docking station is hit and miss. It appears to be a poor fit- it's tricky to get on, and will disconnect it it gets tapped. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is my 6th Thinkpad

Date: August 24, 2015
" Except for the touch pad it is great.
I have disabled the touch pad because it did strange things when ever I was typing. I rest my hands on the bottom of the keyboard and my hand movements were picked up as commands. That is the only reason for the 3 stars overall. My rating of the touch pad would be 1 star. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Laptop overall

Date: July 27, 2015
" The W540 works great overall but has one standing issue. The fingerprint reader doesn't control the power up or wake from sleep functions. (Using Windows 7-64bit OS factory install) "
Review 4 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Positive review

Date: July 15, 2015
" I'm very happy with my ThinkPad W540. If I could, I would buy another one. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice fast quiet laptop

Date: July 13, 2015
" I bought this laptop to use with a Perseus software-defined radio. This very sophisticated radio requires the laptop to have a fast clock speed (to allow it to record the entire AM radio dial at once) and a fast quiet disk (to allow the data to be written to the hard drive in real-time without generating heavy RF interference to drown out the incoming signals). The W540 is the best laptop I have found for this radio. The eSSD hard drive is small (only about 200GB, of which almost half was already consumed by system overhead) but it is FAST and QUIET - perfect for the demands of the application I needed it to run. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Why this is my last Lenovo laptop

Date: June 1, 2015
" I have been a user of Thinkpad/Lenovo laptops for many years. Many reasons why I liked them. That is, until the W540 arrived.
Build quality and overall ergonomic design? Not so good: no clamshell lid, trying to open one of the ports in the bottom for an upgrade broke one of the clips, cdrom can't be ejected, impossible to really clean the fan without major dissassembly, no activity indicator lights, etc.
The keyboard has a useless number keypad and has been shifted to the left. The trackpad click is VERY LOUD. And it has no buttons. Unbelievable. To tell the truth I should have returned the laptop right away. The lack of REAL physical buttons is a no go.
The fan is also loud and whinny compared to previous models. The noise has a definite pitch which makes it very annoying.
The architecture of the graphics subsystem is a pain and not Linux friendly (no hardware multiplexer for the two systems??).
On the other hand the machine is fast. Not enough for me to come back... "
Review 7 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Issues never end

Date: June 1, 2015
" I received this W540 as a warranty replacement for a W520 which kept having issues almost continuously (compatibility issues with Windows, update, and hardware issues). The new W540 has had one major issue right off the bat: it will not display the screen on an external monitor -- until the right Lenovo Update comes along. Then it works for a while and stops working again. I have had this PC since February and have had 3 episodes of not being able to use my larger monitor. This is the longest so far, 2 weeks at least. I keep trying to update, but no luck. Initially, Lenovo sent me a replacement docking station, but of course, it wasn't a hardware issue, so I sent that back. This is simply unacceptable -- for any product, but especially a high-end product. The only feature that works really well for me is the matte screen which will work outside. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thoughtfully Designed

Date: May 21, 2015
" From the anti-glare screen, backlit-keyboard, and even the included software which some will certainly label bloatware, this machine speaks attention to the customer's needs as a user.
The touchpad is amazing. However, it takes some getting used to as the entire pad depresses like a single button. There are zones on the pad to press to left or right click.
The touchpad's functionality and capacity for customization far surpasses any other touchpad I've encountered. There are zones in each corner of the pad you can customize to do things like turn up volume or maximize the window. It accepts 1,2,3,and 4 finger gestures. Has vertical and horizontal scroll zones, accepts 2-finger tap for opening the context menu, and sliding around with 3 fingers is just like using the middle mouse button of a 3-button mouse. All these settings are adjustable.
I uninstalled the imitation start menu that comes installed because it's too slow to open up, I use "classic shell" instead.
Well done Lenovo. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Confused

Date: May 15, 2015
" I really like the laptop and what it offers, but it seems to be unreliable, BUT I'm not sure if that is because I purchased it through Amazon. It's supposed to be brand new, but I already have a crack in one of my USB ports, which I will be calling Amazon about because that is just not right, and 2, when I had an IT consultant look through it, he said there were some internal errors with the system already. Is there a possiblity that I was sold a refurbished laptop? Is there a way to tell whether this product has been previously used? I am disappointed because I've always been a Lenovo user, but I've heard some talk about its quality degrading, and I was hesitant to believe that until I received this unit. Hope to hear from Lenovo regarding a possible solution.
Thanks "
Review 10 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Had to have the hard drive replaced

Date: April 8, 2015
" The first 4 months were rough until the hard drive got replaced...now it's great! "
Review 11 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thoughtful Design

Date: April 8, 2015
" The monitor is bright and clear. The colors are very nice.
The speakers are loud enough and the bass is okay if you change dolby to music mode.
The keyboard feels very smooth. Has useful extra functions on the function keys and four extra buttons above the numpad. Keystrokes are smooth and quiet.
The touchpad is smooth, accurate, and easy to use. The momentum feature makes it very easy to get from one side of the screen to the other. The gestures and multi-finger swiping are accurate and useful. Unfortunately the latest Synaptic driver ruined the momentum feature so I had to do a system restore to get the old driver back. Hopefully the momentum issue is addressed with the next update.
The fingerprint reader is too slow, even after the latest update. It starts up just fine when the computer first starts up, but after returning from sleep mode it takes about 15 seconds until the reader will activate.
Performance, reliability, usability, and comfort have been exceptional.
Questions? "
Review 12 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop

Date: April 1, 2015
" I puirchased this laptop to use for work and for college. it is versitile and powerful. Bootup time is less than 3 seconds from cold start to use. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful and Durable Laptop Ever

Date: March 30, 2015
" Very powerful and durable product I have ever purchased. Lighter than last generation while performance is better! "
Review 14 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Workstation for someone on the go

Date: March 27, 2015
" This thing is awesome! I can run all Adobe photoshops, Lightroom, and elements without a problem. I primary bought this to run CAD and I must say I have never had solidworks run on a computer so fast. Worth every penny, just wish the battery lasted longer. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lighter, quieter and cooler!

Date: March 26, 2015
" My old Dell laptop has seen better days and gave out when I got my new ThinkPad. Even though it is bigger than my Dell, it's about the same weight. Because of the SSD drive, it boots up quickly and hardly makes any noise and runs cooler too!
The only issue I have with it is the sensitivity of the track mouse and touch pad when I type. I have reduced the sensitivity to its lowest setting and the cursor still jumps from time to time. Pretty annoying. They should have a setting where it turns them off when there's typing being done. My Dell had that setting.
A "feature" that takes getting used to is the Fn key along with the Fx number to not select a particular function. For example. If you want to mute the speakers (which sound pretty nice), press just the F1 key, but if you want to press F1 you have to also press the Fn key. I use Fx keys a lot in my line of work.
One nice feature are the short cut keys along the top of the key pad. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AVID THINKPAD FAN AND LENOVO DEALER BUT....

Date: March 25, 2015
" I am a dealer and Thinkpad user for 15 years. I purchased this W540 to replace me T520 Thinkpad and while it is fast, the keyboard layout is not good. While I can adapt pretty well to the keyboard being offset, the TrackPoint is just a disaster. It simply put is not usable to me and I now have to use an external mouse and I am a laptop/computer dealer and repair center. Lenovo NEEDS to sell a replacement touchpad that is a direct take off for the standard Thinkpads. Literally it is beyond difficult to even use the mouse and while I opted for the 32GB of RAM and the very high resolution display which are nice, if I can't use the mouse why have a laptop. I regret buying it and as a Lenovo dealer myself, the next laptop I purchase if it is like this will not be a Lenovo. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Performance and Portability

Date: March 25, 2015
" I've always been a fan of the ThinkPad brand because of it's durability and familiar design. The W540 takes this to the next level with a built-in key pad and 3K display. I opted for the 256 GB SSD and I am very happy with my decision to have traded storage space for performance. THIS THING IS SUPER FAST!!! "
Review 18 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Almost feels like a downgrade

Date: March 4, 2015
" I moved from a W530 to the W540 and actually hung onto the W530 for months thinking I would move back to it. I like that the W540 is thinner and lighter than the previous model, but there are enough things that I do not like that make me long for the older unit. The elimination of the mouse buttons for wobbly trackpad button system is probably the biggest single annoyance. I curse at that anytime I am using the system without an external keyboard for more than five minutes. And maybe I am old school, but I use the function keys more than I use features on them and so having the default be the latter seems dumb. Both systems use Windows 7 and I had fewer problems with the W530. One dock I have is on a KVM. The W530 could dock and boot without switching the display to it and come up at the right resolution. The W540 never does that unless I switch the display before I power it on. The display on it is great. The USB seems a bit twitchy. Screwing down the UltraBay is mixed. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop

Date: February 13, 2015
" I use this for my work. It's a bit pricey, but is very fast and gets the job done. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad W540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Nothing good to say about this laptop.

Date: February 3, 2015
" * Flimsy chassis.
* Cheap keyboard with leaky back-light.
* Poor monitor viewing angle.
* Unreliable drivers.
* Useless dock.
* Intermittent power supply.
The chassis flexes a lot, so much that the monitor is distorted at the bottom. The keyboard feels mushy and cheap, on top of that the led light leaks so much from the bottom of the keys that it drowns out the letters. If the laptop goes to sleep while docked only the external monitor will wake and if you disconnect from the dock you get a permanent black screen. Only reconnecting to the dock will get you a monitor you can use to reboot after which the laptop monitor will work again. If you un-dock and re-dock the battery will stop charging and once the battery runs out the laptop will turn off. The only way to remedy this is to unplug the power supply, remove the battery, wait a few minute, replace the battery and reboot. Oh, and the PANTONE calibrator is not recognized by the OS. Updating the drivers did nothing. "