Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad L540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad L540

Average customer rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 of 23(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad L540
Review 1 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointing

Date: June 28, 2015
" When the laptop came, it looked great. No scratches, physically flawless. When I turned it on and made the admin account, I found out that the touchpad couldn't work. I thought it was a temporary issue, so it didn't bother me as much. I was a mouse user. I rebooted it, and then the keyboard stopped working too! I'm getting ready to return it. :( "
Review 2 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Glad I bought IT!

Date: June 22, 2015
" I am thrilled with the speed and the reliability of the l540. I love the fact that I could get Windows 7! Yeah! I dont like Windows 8! So far it has been a very durable and easy to use computer! "
Review 3 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid performer

Date: May 9, 2015
" The L540 laptop is built solidly, sets up easily and is easy to use. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great replacement

Date: April 29, 2015
" After being burned with a touch screen all-in-one that was garbage out of the box (not a Lenovo product), I was looking for something that would start up fast and work without issues, no need for anything slick looking. This is the primary computer for a family of four with school-age kids (photos, music, Word/Excel documents). So far (2 months), the L540 (with a 258GB solid state hard drive) has proven to be all that I need. It starts fast and functions as a moderately expensive laptop should. The design (offset keyboard, swipe pad) takes a little getting used to. My only beef is that Windows 8.1 creates a lot of WiFi and wireless printing connectivity issues. I have to consistently run an assessment of WiFi connectivity to connect to the internet. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Better than I had hoped for

Date: January 11, 2015
" I haven't had to buy a laptop in at least 5 years. I researched the best I could - I had unusual priorities since I really use it as a desktop and don't care about battery time. I wanted a solid state hard drive for fast startup, lots of RAM - I configured it myself. Turned out perfectly! Not a lot of junk programs to take off - everything transferred over effortlessly. What a joy...thanks Lenovo. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Linux Laptop.

Date: January 6, 2015
" I installed Ubuntu 14.10 Mate and everything works, (except the middle button of the track-pad which is not that big of a deal). The only complain I have is that this doesn't work with 14.04 ubuntu. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good so far!

Date: December 1, 2014
" Thus far it has lived up to my expectations. The screen is big and bright (matte, which I prefer), with excellent color. The keyboard keys are raised and separated from each other, which may annoy some, but the adjustment only took me an hour or so. I do worry that dust will get in underneath them though. My biggest complaint is the touchpad. It's large, which means the base of my thumbs brushes against it when I type, so the cursor will occasionally move or click on something while I have paused typing. It also is raised on a pressure sensor; thus every time you click on something the pad *clicks* loudly. It's annoying. They added a 10-key to the side of the keyboard, which I actually really like. I thought it would make it awkward to have the keyboard (and touchpad) slid to the left side of the screen instead of centered, but it's not been an issue at all. Minus the touchpad I would recommend it in a heartbeat, especially if you get it at the Outlet price! "
Review 8 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

As Advertised

Date: December 1, 2014
" I am pleased with my decision to purchase the L540 w/ Pro Dock. It performs as advertised. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

works and functions well

Date: November 13, 2014
" does what it says it will, runs fast. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

good looking laptop

Date: October 9, 2014
" so far looks very good "
Review 11 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Replacement with SSD

Date: September 30, 2014
" I smashed the screen of my previous Lenovo Laptop and decided to replace it rather than repair it. Upgrades I love: 256 GB SSD and number pad to right of keyboard.
Changes I don't care for: USB 3 port is not coded with blue tab and marking are Very Hard to Read (black on black does not work for senior eyes even with cataract replacement). Place for smartcard - not ordered is wide open, there should be a dummy to keep "stuff" out.
"
Review 12 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Not Happy

Date: September 14, 2014
" This computer was advertised as having a battery that provides up to 11 hours of life. It never comes close to that fully charged, ranging anywhere from 2+ hours to 7+ hours. Within minutes the time remaining fluctuates up and down every few minutes. I never know how much time is left. I've sent it back twice; once got a new battery, once got a new systems board.The second time I specifically asked the techs to sit and watch the time remaining for 5 minutes before sending it back to me to ensure that it was resolved; they obviously didn't do this as the problem is not fixed. No one from Lenovo followed up to assure my satisfaction. Cord from plug to charging device is TOO SHORT, making it difficult to use the computer while charging without that heavy box tugging on the cord and the plug. Cursor jumps all over the place, even after adjustments, making it time-consuming for someone who types and edits documents all day. Bad service for a big price. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Not my best purchase!

Date: August 31, 2014
" I have always liked Lenovo in the past, but I would not recommend this laptop due to the mouse pad and trying to "right click" an item. Very difficult to accomplish. My old Lenovo had two different buttons to right click. It would have been so helpful to know this instead of having to run out and buy a mouse to use. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neeti

A little over priced, but of high quality

Date: August 10, 2014
" I bought this computer for school. I tended to lean towards Lenovo because I figured they'd have the same great quality as IBM. I for the most part was correct. The laptop did function as expected. It was of a high quality firm plastic, & had the features I had requested. HOWEVER, when initially using the laptop I found that had a 'network adapter' which had to be replaced. The WiFi would work for about 25 min before disconnecting. This was dealt by the great technician that I received who fixed the problem (replaced the card). I believe that this issue is standard in all computers of this model because my friend who also bought this had the same exact problem. This is my first Lenovo computer and I am pleased. It was a little overpriced by $300. It could have also used a touchscreen in the price. The display is not the best, but as a business computer it provides what is necessary. The computer is also VERY THICK, like the laptops 10 years ago. But the fingerprint reader is worth it. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LosOsos

Disappointed

Date: July 21, 2014
" Having had and liked several Think Pads with the little red cursor ball for business use, I opted for a new one for personal use. I must say that I am disappointed. The touch pad is "clunky" and the machine seems slow to respond. I had serious internet connectivity problems at first but my husband, a computer professional, found a fix on-line. (one that was suggested by other Lenovo users with a similar issue) "
Review 16 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrJan

Great Performance, price, value and features

Date: July 15, 2014
" Great Performance,
price,
value and
features
I recommend this laptop.
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
firsttimelenovo

First Laptop

Date: June 30, 2014
" This is my first laptop so I don't have anything else to compare it to but I'm very pleased with this product. The case has a few sharp edges but other than that it's great. I got the bigger battery and have enjoyed the longer life. I usually can get 8-10 hours out of it. The keys are excellent. I really like the spacing and the feel. I chose to get Windows 7 instead of 8 and am glad I did. So far this has been a great laptop. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SEPTEMBER

GREAT VALUE - FOR ME

Date: June 7, 2014
" I PURCHASED THIS PRODUCT TO FUNCTION AS A DEDICATED CHESS COMPUTER. FOR ME, THIS COMPUTER PERFORMS 2 FUNCTIONS ONLY:
1. PLAYING INSTRUCTIVE AND CHESS PLAYING PROGRAMS FOR STUDY AND PREPARATION/PRACTICE. IT PLAYS ALL EUROPEAN-BASED PROGRAMS, WHICH IMHO, ARE TOP-NOTCH.
2. PLAYING CHESS AGAINST OPPONNENTS "ON LINE" FOR TRAINING GAMES.
THIS COMPUTER IS PERFECT FOR THESE PURPOSES. THIS UNIT IS PERFECT. LENOVO STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL IN MAKING THIS PURCHASE.
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jody

Not so much

Date: June 4, 2014
" The hardest system I have every tried to operate "
Review 20 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shari

Great Purchase!

Date: May 20, 2014
" This is a very functional laptop. My only complaint is the Windows software takes up half the hard drive capacity. Not sure if I need all that's on there but I haven't had the opportunity to deep dive into it. Windows 8 takes a little getting used to but I really like the app based functionality intermingled with classic windows technology.
Graphics are great and all my programs run exceptionally well with the 16G of RAM!
"