Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad L540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad L540

Average customer rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 15(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad L540
Review 1 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

works and functions well

Date: November 13, 2014
"does what it says it will, runs fast."
Review 2 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

good looking laptop

Date: October 9, 2014
"so far looks very good"
Review 3 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Replacement with SSD

Date: September 30, 2014
"I smashed the screen of my previous Lenovo Laptop and decided to replace it rather than repair it. Upgrades I love: 256 GB SSD and number pad to right of keyboard.
Changes I don't care for: USB 3 port is not coded with blue tab and marking are Very Hard to Read (black on black does not work for senior eyes even with cataract replacement). Place for smartcard - not ordered is wide open, there should be a dummy to keep "stuff" out.
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Not Happy

Date: September 14, 2014
"This computer was advertised as having a battery that provides up to 11 hours of life. It never comes close to that fully charged, ranging anywhere from 2+ hours to 7+ hours. Within minutes the time remaining fluctuates up and down every few minutes. I never know how much time is left. I've sent it back twice; once got a new battery, once got a new systems board.The second time I specifically asked the techs to sit and watch the time remaining for 5 minutes before sending it back to me to ensure that it was resolved; they obviously didn't do this as the problem is not fixed. No one from Lenovo followed up to assure my satisfaction. Cord from plug to charging device is TOO SHORT, making it difficult to use the computer while charging without that heavy box tugging on the cord and the plug. Cursor jumps all over the place, even after adjustments, making it time-consuming for someone who types and edits documents all day. Bad service for a big price."
Review 5 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Not my best purchase!

Date: August 31, 2014
"I have always liked Lenovo in the past, but I would not recommend this laptop due to the mouse pad and trying to "right click" an item. Very difficult to accomplish. My old Lenovo had two different buttons to right click. It would have been so helpful to know this instead of having to run out and buy a mouse to use."
Review 6 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neeti

A little over priced, but of high quality

Date: August 10, 2014
"I bought this computer for school. I tended to lean towards Lenovo because I figured they'd have the same great quality as IBM. I for the most part was correct. The laptop did function as expected. It was of a high quality firm plastic, & had the features I had requested. HOWEVER, when initially using the laptop I found that had a 'network adapter' which had to be replaced. The WiFi would work for about 25 min before disconnecting. This was dealt by the great technician that I received who fixed the problem (replaced the card). I believe that this issue is standard in all computers of this model because my friend who also bought this had the same exact problem. This is my first Lenovo computer and I am pleased. It was a little overpriced by $300. It could have also used a touchscreen in the price. The display is not the best, but as a business computer it provides what is necessary. The computer is also VERY THICK, like the laptops 10 years ago. But the fingerprint reader is worth it."
Review 7 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LosOsos

Disappointed

Date: July 21, 2014
"Having had and liked several Think Pads with the little red cursor ball for business use, I opted for a new one for personal use. I must say that I am disappointed. The touch pad is "clunky" and the machine seems slow to respond. I had serious internet connectivity problems at first but my husband, a computer professional, found a fix on-line. (one that was suggested by other Lenovo users with a similar issue)"
Review 8 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrJan

Great Performance, price, value and features

Date: July 15, 2014
"Great Performance,
price,
value and
features
I recommend this laptop.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
firsttimelenovo

First Laptop

Date: June 30, 2014
"This is my first laptop so I don't have anything else to compare it to but I'm very pleased with this product. The case has a few sharp edges but other than that it's great. I got the bigger battery and have enjoyed the longer life. I usually can get 8-10 hours out of it. The keys are excellent. I really like the spacing and the feel. I chose to get Windows 7 instead of 8 and am glad I did. So far this has been a great laptop."
Review 10 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SEPTEMBER

GREAT VALUE - FOR ME

Date: June 7, 2014
"I PURCHASED THIS PRODUCT TO FUNCTION AS A DEDICATED CHESS COMPUTER. FOR ME, THIS COMPUTER PERFORMS 2 FUNCTIONS ONLY:
1. PLAYING INSTRUCTIVE AND CHESS PLAYING PROGRAMS FOR STUDY AND PREPARATION/PRACTICE. IT PLAYS ALL EUROPEAN-BASED PROGRAMS, WHICH IMHO, ARE TOP-NOTCH.
2. PLAYING CHESS AGAINST OPPONNENTS "ON LINE" FOR TRAINING GAMES.
THIS COMPUTER IS PERFECT FOR THESE PURPOSES. THIS UNIT IS PERFECT. LENOVO STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL IN MAKING THIS PURCHASE.
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jody

Not so much

Date: June 4, 2014
"The hardest system I have every tried to operate"
Review 12 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shari

Great Purchase!

Date: May 20, 2014
"This is a very functional laptop. My only complaint is the Windows software takes up half the hard drive capacity. Not sure if I need all that's on there but I haven't had the opportunity to deep dive into it. Windows 8 takes a little getting used to but I really like the app based functionality intermingled with classic windows technology.
Graphics are great and all my programs run exceptionally well with the 16G of RAM!
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SATISFIED

GREAT PURCHASE

Date: May 19, 2014
"Excellent machine. It does it all. The only negative feature I found is the release button for the DVD drive. Because it is too low and hidden. And sometimes requires lifting the machine to see it.
Otherwise, a truly GREAT laptop, worth every penny.
"
Review 14 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katherine

Very Excited!

Date: May 19, 2014
"I wanted a tough, durable computer so I knew that Lenovo was the right brand for me. This laptop is very cool, with many great features!"
Review 15 for ThinkPad L540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
toro

almost great

Date: April 12, 2014
"nice large screen . . . fast . . . but the mouse pad is very cheap compared to what the T400 had."