Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T431s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T431s

14" premium Ultrabook with new design & optimized ThinkPad TrackPad.

Average customer rating:
3.292 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
5
15 of 24(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T431s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Leftcoast

Overpriced

Date: May 28, 2014
"Keyboard had a key pop off
Mouse pad difficult to work with when right clicking to copy/paste
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
seanlin

very good but a little bit expensive

Date: May 5, 2014
"Have been using it for nearly six months, I am still impressed by its light weight and good performance. The material it uses makes it lighter and thinner, however, also make it not that sturdy as a cost. When pressing the border below the keyboard, I will feel a little bit frail, especially round the left lower corner. Another problem is the touch pad, that is really a not a good design I think, when pressing the touch pad, it will make noise. I tried my friend's Thinkpad X1, the touch pad on it works quietly and very well. There will never be a computer satisfies everybody, but in general, this one is a very good one."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LongThinkPadUser
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Awful Wi-Fi connectivity

Date: March 20, 2014
Pros: Weight, Video card, Screen size
Cons: Wireless card
"I fell for this to replace my t420s (x201, x60 before). I read a lot before purchasing.
The Wi-Fi is absolutely horrendous! I actually returned my first one because the Wi-Fi was so bad, then months later settled on another one thinking it was just a one-off problem.
Immediately I searched sites/threads to manually update the wireless drivers. It is better, but still much worse than my older computers and smart phones.
Considering how important Wi-Fi is to being productive with a computer, this is very disappointing.
I strongly advise AGAINST purchasing this computer because the Wi-Fi regularly losses its connection. I tether via my phone to get data.
The positive is that I can connect two external monitors each at 1920x1080 resolution."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jarojaro
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Memory:4 GB or more

Basic idea good, but spoiled with drawbacks

Date: March 15, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, ergonomics
"If you move the mouse by trackpoint, then you have to physically click the touchpad. Clicking the touchpad requires much more strength than the separate buttons, and the required strength is more than your thumb can be expected to provide without provoking a good case for Repetitive Strain Injury (RSI). You hands, especially your thumbs, get tired very fast from clicking the touchpad when using the trackpoint for mouse movements, and that makes RSI a very obvious result."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
carucio
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Impossible to upgrade wifi!

Date: February 25, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Build Quality
Cons: Wireless card, upgradability, not future proof
"I've been relatively happy with my t431s but today I have found with huge disappointment that Lenovo prevents (through an hardware whitelist in the BIOS) to upgrade the Wireless LAN card in this and most other Thinkpads.
It seems absolutely ridiculous to me that Lenovo would just disallow me to switch to a wireless AC card, especially when I'm just trying to go from the Intel 6235 that came with the laptop to an almost identical Intel 7260.
So should I buy a new laptop just to enjoy faster backups to my NAS? This is quite a shame and reason for me to lower my overall rating from 4 to 2 stars.
Lenovo please release a new BIOS that allows AC cards to be used.. I have purchased this machine and it's my right to keep it up to date with good, reliable hardware upgrades!!
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nobody
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

t431s vs t400s

Date: December 18, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, low noise, long battery life
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, clickpad
"I own a t400s and recently bought a t431s. Both run under Linux. A big plus of the t431s is its low power consumption (ca 8W vs 12W under light use) and consequently long battery life. Moreover, it's very quiet and the screen has visibly better contrast if gamma-corrected (gamma=0.8).
The clickpad on the t431s is a step backward --- it's difficult to use and makes more noise than the dedicated buttons on the t400s. Another concern is the missing capslock LED and the F-key labels, which are difficult to read.
The 16:9 screen size of the t431s noticeably reduces the usable vertical display size, even though there are 900 pixels in this direction (the same as on my t400s). The pixels are about 10% smaller so that letters come out smaller or, when scaled, occupy more vertical space."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CoachLJS
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Thinkpad so far, 4th for me

Date: December 6, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Support, Durability, Memory, Build Quality, Display resolution
"I love the T-431s. Light, easy to carry, long battery life, good screen, great keyboard. This is my 4th ThinkPad and I'd never go back to another brand. I'm a writer, public speaker, faculty member and independent business owner. Love the 1T hard drive. Hated windows 8, so I re-imaged the operating system back to Windows 7. The microphone driver didn't work until a quick call to tech support fixed it. I use it mostly in my office in its dock with a big monitor and external keyboard, but taking it with me for meetings, classes, lectures is a breeze."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Raymond
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo T430

Date: November 11, 2013
Cons: Warranty, Support, Build Quality, Durability
"This is the third laptop I purchased from Lenovo in the past three years. I was kind of satisfied with it until I got half screen on my display after five-month occasional usage. The technician claimed that the screen was physically damaged so it was not covered under the product basic warranty. Although there is neither crack on the surface of the screen nor any sign of physical damage to the covers of the laptop, the technician still accused me for physical damage of the screen. Make sure to buy the extended warranty when you purchase laptop from Lenovo, or if something goes wrong you would be blamed for whatever reason that did not ever happen. Anyway, I will NOT buy anything from Lenovo again.
Good bye Lenovo!"
Review 9 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ITSupportGuy
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Death Of The Thinkpad?

Date: October 26, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Bluetooth, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: new touchpad design
"Lenovo is going to lose their Thinkpad user base due to the redesign of the touchpad. I, along with my clients, are Thinkpad only users for 10+ years. The touchpad redesign removed the familiar mouse buttons. Now integrated in the touchpad, it makes it noisy, requires lots pressure to click & if you have the touchpad enabled, your cursor moves off target when clicking.
This redesign renders the T431s unusable for me & those who took the 431s plunge with me upon release. After much effort none of us could adapt to this terrible redesign. We were all left with pain in our thumbs and loss of productivity.
If this design stays in new Thinkpad models, I'm afraid I will be looking for another brand for myself & my clients. That's 30+ laptops a year! Many other IT managers will feel the same."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lenovovictim
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Probability of failure: 50%

Date: October 14, 2013
Cons: Warranty, Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Processor, Durability
"Probability of Lenovo's premium model (T431s) not working is 0.5! One out of two laptops of each order I placed refuses to work! And the other ones are no less! Driver re-installation is an important task of my day and mouse pad is a horrendous copy of Apple's Macbook!
Lenovo's T431s is on my mind 24X7! You guys have superior QA - thanks a ton!"
Review 11 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wilson
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Hello Quality Control, is someone therer?

Date: October 4, 2013
Pros: Weight, Support, Durability, Storage
Cons: Build Quality
"I got a vertical line on the right side of the screen right after I open the box, dead pixel!!! How did this went through the Lenovo's Quality Control. Is someone fell asleep? This is a brand new thinkpad right out of the box from the manufacture. I am so upset with this poorly unacceptable issue with this product.
On the other hand, customer service was able to send me a replacement thinkpad but I have to wait for another week before I can see it. Thanks Lenovo's customer service. Sadly, I may have to say good bye to Lenovo for such issue."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julian
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent and elegant notebook

Date: September 28, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Support, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, cool design!
Cons: it would be nice to have one more usb port
"I am delighted with my ThinkPad T431s. The keyboard is phenomenal, and so is the trackpad. Fast, quiet (it makes almost no noise), extremely light, with a pretty decent screen resolution and a relatively long battery life (about six hours and a half), the T431s is also a cool-looking laptop. Its understated elegance will certainly catch the attention of people who might feel turn off by the boxy, somewhat boring looks of, say, the T430. I've been a Mac user for many years. I've gone lenovo, and don't regret it a bit."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BadKeyboard
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core 2 Quad
Memory:2.5 GB

Keyboard Disappointment

Date: September 15, 2013
Pros: Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Bluetooth, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility
"I can't believe they changed they keyboard ?
The pgn up and pgn dw - are in the page back and page forward ?
Strange -
If I wanted an Apple - I would buy an apple"
Review 14 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rohan
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

best thinkpad after IBM thinkpad (t60)

Date: September 13, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Support, Included Software, Display performance
"Good deal for money and similar profile as Macbook (i.e think, sleek, light weighted and good battery life around 4-5 hrs on 80% brightness and on wifi with moderate workload). New touchpad is bit annoying at first than once you will learn how to use it you will love it.If you are a student than please don't care about configuration all Ultrabooks are having similar if you are not any gamer it will work for day to day use.I strongly recommend windows 8 edition.the screen contrast is ok and feels hot after 2-3 hours of use."
Review 15 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thinkpader
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo, why messed up the Trackpoint?

Date: September 9, 2013
Pros: Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: trackpoint, trackpoint red caps
"Lenovo laptop users buy the Thinkpad manily for the keyboard, track pad and the trackpoint. But the trackpoint absolutely needs three physical buttons! A flat surface does not work, especially when holding the trackpoint and the middle section for scrolling. Gesturing, swiping, finger scrolling should be for the screen only, not for the trackpad. Please do not go the Apple way. Sometimes, it's best to leave things alone, especially the trackpoint and the three physical buttons. Also, where are the extra red caps? Can't be that expensive to include two extra red caps. Pluses? Design, workmanship, matte screen (yes!) and keyboard."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kbhd
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

annoying mouse pad

Date: September 9, 2013
"I have been using think pad before lenovo bought from ibm. I am surprise to see that will make a change that will make user experience of using mouse pad worse. I am not sure what designer what thinking while designing the mouse pad. it is just annoying to hear a noise when to press it for a click."
Review 17 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Islandboi11
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Memory:4 GB or more

decent Laptop

Date: August 24, 2013
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Included software, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: two usb ports not enough
"I have always been a ThinkPad person ever since my first T22 in 2000.
My first initial issue with my T431S was the palm rest getting too warm but after disabling the Turbo Boost/Maximum processor down a notch from 100% to 85,It feels comfortable enough.
I had issues with the touch pad, but again after personalizing it to my liking in the mouse control panel, it was just wonderful.
Wished there was just one more USB port though.
Bottom line the laptop is excellent. Just wished whatever is under the right palm rest to make it this warm was places somewhere else instead. If there is another ThinkPad of similar size weight etc., and it cost an arm and a leg and the palm rest was comfortably cool, I'd get it"
Review 18 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
janocomp
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

New Touchpad/Trackpoint design has ruined T431s

Date: August 14, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Durability, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: new touchpad design
"The T-Series has been my laptop choice going back to the T21. I'm a Trackpoint guy and have been almost 15 years now.
Well, the trusty Trackpoint has been destroyed with this new touchpad design. It's that simple. They took away the buttons and you now must use the touchpad as the left/right click buttons. I've tried - it's horrible. My hand is in pain from trying to make it work. Going back to a T430s.
If you're a Touchpad person then this may be perfect for you. I don't see it though.
I'd absolutely love this laptop if it wasn't for the new touchpad design. They tried to fix what wasn't broke!"
Review 19 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matthew
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Better than Macbook Pro

Date: July 23, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Software compatibility, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, trackpad
"I am going to be a college freshman. I was really close to going mac just because the features are unmatched for the price. Then, I found Thinkpad. This is easily the best windows laptop on the market. I have not been able to give it more than it can handle and use it for all sorts of music, programming, video, and office apps. The display is professional. Windows 8 took me about a week to get used to. The trackpad is really good although I must admit it isn't quite as robust as mac. In my opinion, the keyboard is better, although it takes a little more than the mac. This this laptop just honestly beat out the mac I was going to buy. I was at a meeting the other day with 5 mac users and one of them said "I didn't know PC's could look that good.""
Review 20 for ThinkPad T431s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Calthron
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Snappy Laptop

Date: July 20, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Durability, Bluetooth, Storage
Cons: Video card, Memory
"Purchased the T431S fully loaded, 12GB RAM, 256GB SSD, iCore7-3687U... for my son to use in middle school (required). Quick laptop.. It works well with the optional docking station, and multiple monitors. At home connected to 25" 1920x1200 display and the laptop screen can be open or closed and the primary desktop display re-configures according (nice).. The Intel 4000 is satisfactory. There is no good reason to offer iCore 5 processors, IMHO. If the price is competitive, I would recommend it fully loaded. If selecting Windows 8.x - be sure to go to Stardock.com and get Start8, this will dramatically improve your Windows experience (configure for Win8 Apps to return to desktop on exit). Lenovo doesn't default Win8 when ordering - for good reasons."