Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E440

Average customer rating:
3.406 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
4
17 of 32(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E440
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Fresh and New

Date: March 30, 2015
" REally enjoy my new laptop. Faster is good. Wonder if there's a 'how to' manual on web to ease some of the 'where is the, or how do I' questions.
All in all a great machine! "
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great for a senior citizen!

Date: March 27, 2015
" The keyboard and touchpad are exceedingly convenient, even for a senior, while the ability to protect the computer's contents with a fingerprint is a real boon to all who are forgetful. Equally useful is that that same feature can be used to protect the content of a password vault, thereby completely restoring the forgetful user's ability easily to access web sites.
Of only slightly less significance is the fact that the button atop the keyboard mouse lever can easily be removed, thereby signnificantly reducing its accidental use. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great for what I need

Date: March 23, 2015
" Use this laptop for a very small business,and have found the product to be as advertised. I was particularly impressed with processor speed as I use a Dragon voice recognition program, and the Think Pad handles this very well. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Good guts, but isn't as reliable as I hoped

Date: February 6, 2015
" Got my ThinkPad two months ago, works great with Fedora 21 (the touchpad even works better than on windows).
Unfortunately last week the display started acting up whenever I tried to adjust the viewing angle. No doubt the display cable is shorted out, which seriously makes me question the workmanship. I expected much better out of a ThinkPad. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

No wifi

Date: February 2, 2015
" I brought this laptop paying 46k in India there is no wifi device installed. Total disappointment. Am really saddened... even a 3k mobile these days have wifi these days "
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

NO HEADACHES - What's Not To Like?

Date: January 28, 2015
" Does everything it promises, right out of the box. (Running Win7 Pro with 8 gb ram upgrade.) Portable, powerful and reliable. I bought mine direct from CUK (they also vend on AMAZing;) and couldn't be happier with the bang for the buck (=Value) and customer service. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

dismal display

Date: January 15, 2015
" horrible display, black is not black, text is hard to read, even after multiple sessions of recalibrating contrast gama and brightness
Very heavy for its size
Cannot easily type without moving cursor. track pointer is not typical lenovo and does not allow user to click or select
keyboard is solid but noisy
fingerprint reader works well when it starts but many times it just doesnt load
Lenovo software is iffy and support is absent
I regret this purchase. My 5 year old asus is a moch better machine though the specs are much lower "
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Early Review of E440 after couple of days

Date: December 19, 2014
" The overall rating for a brand new E440, just after a couple of days, was unsatisfactory due to scuff marks on the unit & power adapter and a one year warranty that was for 10 months only. The scuff marks was already there upon opening the box and the 10 months was a mistake by the manufacturer. These two things led me to question whether it was new or not. The review may not be a fair assessment of the E440 but it does say something about the quality of it. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Love my Lenovo laptop

Date: December 11, 2014
" I bought a ThinkPad E440 with 14" screen and Windows 7 for use primarily as a travel and presentation laptop. It's a nice size and has all the features I like in a bigger laptop. Perfect for my needs! "
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Don't Waste Your Money

Date: December 2, 2014
" Weak and slow. Don't waste your money on this model for a business machine. The track pad is big and clunky. Might as well go get a cup of coffee if you restart the machine. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Worth the cost

Date: November 4, 2014
" The SSD drive has its advantages it boots fast, you can open several tabs, skype and other programs and it responds quickly.
Webcam is terrible, it stays black and white even though there's enough light in the room.
To play games it doesn't respond well, because there's not graph board and the processor is an pentium i5 which will be outdated soon.
Overall is a good pc because of the SSD drive with a nice response. It has focused on quality and product inside the machine instead of design, which is great! I love this about Lenovo! Ugly design but good machinery. However, for little more money you could combine both: design and machinery.
Price is still a little high for the bad design Leonovo offers, but good pricing comparing to others. Had I had more money I would have bought other computers instead of this one. Probably a nice HP (which I hate to the guts HP machines) with some really good features the Leonovo did not have it, such as 16 RAM, 256 SSD, Graph memory board, etc.
"
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

E440

Date: November 4, 2014
" I have owned more than 10 notebook computers. I like the weight of the E440, for a portable that is it's single best feature. I don't like the touch/click pad; it is noisy and mechanical and, no doubt, prone to failure. I don't like it that there is no HDD light, it is impossible to tell if the system is busy without a progress bar or disk activity light. The display hinges are too light and will end up being a problem with long-term use. Overall I don't know if I could get a better unit for the price that I paid but I am disappointed enough in the E440 that if I needed another unit I would shop other brands hard before I bought another one. JM "
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointing

Date: November 3, 2014
" just purchased e440 laptop. found out out it had a bad hard drive..hadn't even used it a single time.
a great disappointment.
"
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Value But..... Ergonomic Issues!!!!

Date: November 3, 2014
" My fifth Thinkpad since IBM T60P. I usually buy T Series and X series but I needed optical drive and T440 has none
First impressions:
E440 feels more like an IdeaPad, but dressed up in a Thinkpad suit (TrackPoint, color scheme, water resistant keyboard).
Pros: Battery Life with 62Wh battery / Decent Keyboard with Good Key Travel and Bounce / Overall Value
Neutral: TN weak Screen backlight - colors are not that vivid and feel washed out/ No backlit keyboard. (understandable at price point - not deal breaker)
TERRIBLE: CLICKPAD (1-piece clickable trackpad w/ 5 virtual buttons) ergonomics. When using red pointer stick TrackPoint, we usually rest thumbs (both R & L hand) on the Trackpoint buttons. But w/ no real buttons, the Clickpad senses two fingers clicking when I meant to left click only (clickpad can't determine which finger clicked) . I have to lift my right thumb up each time I want to make a left click on the Clickpad) "
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Edge E440

Date: October 15, 2014
" This is my first experience with Lenovo. That being said, I was skeptical about it. So far so good. The 14" screen is a little small for my aging eyes, I should have gotten a larger screen. All in all the small amount of time that I have used it, it has been fine. No problems with the computer at all. It's lighter than the others I have dealt with and has all the features I would want. The fingerprint reader is the only thing I had an issue with, only because I didn't know how to use it. It does not come with any literature either, which to me wasn't a good thing, but you can access it online. I think it is a fine machine for school (what I'm using it for). I have paid twice as much for far inferior laptops. I think I will grow to love it. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Stay away

Date: October 13, 2014
" I would recommend that you stay away from the lower end lenovo models. Overall clunky design, feels cheaply made and FILLED with bloatware!
I returned the product for another make and model. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Just what I was looking for

Date: September 18, 2014
" Having used a ThinkPad for years, I wasn't ready to give up the Trackpoint pointing device when shopping for a laptop. I was glad to find the E440 in my price range. I moved from XP with 2 gigs of ram to Windows 7 and 8 gigs of ram. What a difference. The ThinkPad is SOLID. It never feels fragile, which is important to me because I carry it with me every day. The only slight concern is that the button for the trackpoint is a little uncertain on the "left click." "
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

awesome laptop

Date: September 12, 2014
" worth buying, it is very sturdy and comfortable to use "
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Horrible Laptop

Date: September 9, 2014
" Had this machine for a little bit over three months, total waste of money!!!!!!!!!
A BRAND NEW LAPTOP with both SOFTWARE and HARDWARE failure that's what I have received from Lenovo! overall rate is zero
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Palash

E440

Date: July 23, 2014
" This laptop is very nice, good looking and working fine for me. One thing I did not like that is - the keyboard does not come with backlit. If you consider that I strongly recommend you to buy. "