Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E440

Average customer rating:
3.439 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
11
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
4
22 of 41(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E440
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Slow

Date: July 13, 2015
" I bought this computer 5 weeks ago and pretty much feel like I've wasted my money. Unfortunately it's too late to return it. Out of the box, you would expect a new computer to be fast and responsive.
With windows 8.1, there is a 'home' button to click in order to shutdown the computer or access some programs - What I consider to be equivalent to the Windows/Start button. When I click 'home', it takes 5-10 seconds for the box to pop up.
Also, it's not uncommon for the mouse to completely freeze for 5-10 seconds if a webpage is loading or something is processing in the background. I've done all of the system updates and nothing helps.
I'm new to windows 8.1, but seems like I shouldn't be having this problems. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

First laptop

Date: June 27, 2015
" My first laptop evet. I didn't buy laptop for any one certain reason so it is doing me just fine. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Factory Software

Date: June 6, 2015
" Dear Lenovo,
the factory software is terrible in your laptop, it keeps hanging and is not at all reliable, if i decide to format and reinstall the laptop the USB's dont work and keeps disconnecting my external hard drives even if i have installed all the drivers and software from your support site. for a business PC it has a good price but overall, i would have paid a little more money to get an HP Pro Book or Elitebook.
I am hoping that this can be resolved immediately as i have about 50 of these laptops at work. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Buy!

Date: June 5, 2015
" On time and as ordered. Fast boot. My software loaded without issues. Happy to get Win-7 as it matches our desktop. Also happy to see a free offer of Win-10 from Microsoft.
Had some difficulty with the trackpad as it is different than others I've used. Used my mouse until I configured it with the "gesture" feature off which is more comfortable for me.
If you are loading a bunch of software and files, remember to "unhide" the hidden folders and files in the file system first. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Poor Performance

Date: June 3, 2015
" I had to upgrade to an ssd drive to improve performance "
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best laptop purchase ever.

Date: May 8, 2015
" I originally purchased for work but now my kids use it for homework. It is very durable to make it through 10 year old triplets. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Reliable workhorse -- requires some adjustment.

Date: May 7, 2015
" I had an IBM Thinkpad about 10 years ago and always thought highly of it. My last three laptops were 2 Dells and 1 HP, the last crashed after less than two years of service. I researched the available options and found that the Lenovo Thinkpad with a Windows 7 Pro, 64 bit OS was the best option to replace the HP. I find that this Thinkpad keyboard and tracker are requiring a greater adjustment than I remember from the earlier IBM Thinkpad, however, I am sure that within another week or two the adjustment should be made and I expect to be very happy with my purchase. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Hooked on TrakPoint so it is good for the money..

Date: April 7, 2015
" Slow with incomplete/skimpy keyboard and indicators (i.e. disk activity, etc...); otherwise good "chiclets" keyboard except for the TrakPoint "buttons" and its incomplete (compared to other Lenovo ThinkPads) functionality. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

bloatware

Date: April 1, 2015
" Too much bloatware software installed "
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Fresh and New

Date: March 30, 2015
" REally enjoy my new laptop. Faster is good. Wonder if there's a 'how to' manual on web to ease some of the 'where is the, or how do I' questions.
All in all a great machine! "
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great for a senior citizen!

Date: March 27, 2015
" The keyboard and touchpad are exceedingly convenient, even for a senior, while the ability to protect the computer's contents with a fingerprint is a real boon to all who are forgetful. Equally useful is that that same feature can be used to protect the content of a password vault, thereby completely restoring the forgetful user's ability easily to access web sites.
Of only slightly less significance is the fact that the button atop the keyboard mouse lever can easily be removed, thereby signnificantly reducing its accidental use. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great for what I need

Date: March 23, 2015
" Use this laptop for a very small business,and have found the product to be as advertised. I was particularly impressed with processor speed as I use a Dragon voice recognition program, and the Think Pad handles this very well. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Good guts, but isn't as reliable as I hoped

Date: February 6, 2015
" Got my ThinkPad two months ago, works great with Fedora 21 (the touchpad even works better than on windows).
Unfortunately last week the display started acting up whenever I tried to adjust the viewing angle. No doubt the display cable is shorted out, which seriously makes me question the workmanship. I expected much better out of a ThinkPad. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

No wifi

Date: February 2, 2015
" I brought this laptop paying 46k in India there is no wifi device installed. Total disappointment. Am really saddened... even a 3k mobile these days have wifi these days "
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

NO HEADACHES - What's Not To Like?

Date: January 28, 2015
" Does everything it promises, right out of the box. (Running Win7 Pro with 8 gb ram upgrade.) Portable, powerful and reliable. I bought mine direct from CUK (they also vend on AMAZing;) and couldn't be happier with the bang for the buck (=Value) and customer service. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

dismal display

Date: January 15, 2015
" horrible display, black is not black, text is hard to read, even after multiple sessions of recalibrating contrast gama and brightness
Very heavy for its size
Cannot easily type without moving cursor. track pointer is not typical lenovo and does not allow user to click or select
keyboard is solid but noisy
fingerprint reader works well when it starts but many times it just doesnt load
Lenovo software is iffy and support is absent
I regret this purchase. My 5 year old asus is a moch better machine though the specs are much lower "
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Early Review of E440 after couple of days

Date: December 19, 2014
" The overall rating for a brand new E440, just after a couple of days, was unsatisfactory due to scuff marks on the unit & power adapter and a one year warranty that was for 10 months only. The scuff marks was already there upon opening the box and the 10 months was a mistake by the manufacturer. These two things led me to question whether it was new or not. The review may not be a fair assessment of the E440 but it does say something about the quality of it. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Love my Lenovo laptop

Date: December 11, 2014
" I bought a ThinkPad E440 with 14" screen and Windows 7 for use primarily as a travel and presentation laptop. It's a nice size and has all the features I like in a bigger laptop. Perfect for my needs! "
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Don't Waste Your Money

Date: December 2, 2014
" Weak and slow. Don't waste your money on this model for a business machine. The track pad is big and clunky. Might as well go get a cup of coffee if you restart the machine. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Worth the cost

Date: November 4, 2014
" The SSD drive has its advantages it boots fast, you can open several tabs, skype and other programs and it responds quickly.
Webcam is terrible, it stays black and white even though there's enough light in the room.
To play games it doesn't respond well, because there's not graph board and the processor is an pentium i5 which will be outdated soon.
Overall is a good pc because of the SSD drive with a nice response. It has focused on quality and product inside the machine instead of design, which is great! I love this about Lenovo! Ugly design but good machinery. However, for little more money you could combine both: design and machinery.
Price is still a little high for the bad design Leonovo offers, but good pricing comparing to others. Had I had more money I would have bought other computers instead of this one. Probably a nice HP (which I hate to the guts HP machines) with some really good features the Leonovo did not have it, such as 16 RAM, 256 SSD, Graph memory board, etc.
"