Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E440

Average customer rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
2
13 of 24(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E440
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Love my Lenovo laptop

Date: December 11, 2014
" I bought a ThinkPad E440 with 14" screen and Windows 7 for use primarily as a travel and presentation laptop. It's a nice size and has all the features I like in a bigger laptop. Perfect for my needs! "
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Don't Waste Your Money

Date: December 2, 2014
" Weak and slow. Don't waste your money on this model for a business machine. The track pad is big and clunky. Might as well go get a cup of coffee if you restart the machine. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Worth the cost

Date: November 4, 2014
" The SSD drive has its advantages it boots fast, you can open several tabs, skype and other programs and it responds quickly.
Webcam is terrible, it stays black and white even though there's enough light in the room.
To play games it doesn't respond well, because there's not graph board and the processor is an pentium i5 which will be outdated soon.
Overall is a good pc because of the SSD drive with a nice response. It has focused on quality and product inside the machine instead of design, which is great! I love this about Lenovo! Ugly design but good machinery. However, for little more money you could combine both: design and machinery.
Price is still a little high for the bad design Leonovo offers, but good pricing comparing to others. Had I had more money I would have bought other computers instead of this one. Probably a nice HP (which I hate to the guts HP machines) with some really good features the Leonovo did not have it, such as 16 RAM, 256 SSD, Graph memory board, etc.
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

E440

Date: November 4, 2014
" I have owned more than 10 notebook computers. I like the weight of the E440, for a portable that is it's single best feature. I don't like the touch/click pad; it is noisy and mechanical and, no doubt, prone to failure. I don't like it that there is no HDD light, it is impossible to tell if the system is busy without a progress bar or disk activity light. The display hinges are too light and will end up being a problem with long-term use. Overall I don't know if I could get a better unit for the price that I paid but I am disappointed enough in the E440 that if I needed another unit I would shop other brands hard before I bought another one. JM "
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointing

Date: November 3, 2014
" just purchased e440 laptop. found out out it had a bad hard drive..hadn't even used it a single time.
a great disappointment.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Value But..... Ergonomic Issues!!!!

Date: November 3, 2014
" My fifth Thinkpad since IBM T60P. I usually buy T Series and X series but I needed optical drive and T440 has none
First impressions:
E440 feels more like an IdeaPad, but dressed up in a Thinkpad suit (TrackPoint, color scheme, water resistant keyboard).
Pros: Battery Life with 62Wh battery / Decent Keyboard with Good Key Travel and Bounce / Overall Value
Neutral: TN weak Screen backlight - colors are not that vivid and feel washed out/ No backlit keyboard. (understandable at price point - not deal breaker)
TERRIBLE: CLICKPAD (1-piece clickable trackpad w/ 5 virtual buttons) ergonomics. When using red pointer stick TrackPoint, we usually rest thumbs (both R & L hand) on the Trackpoint buttons. But w/ no real buttons, the Clickpad senses two fingers clicking when I meant to left click only (clickpad can't determine which finger clicked) . I have to lift my right thumb up each time I want to make a left click on the Clickpad) "
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Edge E440

Date: October 15, 2014
" This is my first experience with Lenovo. That being said, I was skeptical about it. So far so good. The 14" screen is a little small for my aging eyes, I should have gotten a larger screen. All in all the small amount of time that I have used it, it has been fine. No problems with the computer at all. It's lighter than the others I have dealt with and has all the features I would want. The fingerprint reader is the only thing I had an issue with, only because I didn't know how to use it. It does not come with any literature either, which to me wasn't a good thing, but you can access it online. I think it is a fine machine for school (what I'm using it for). I have paid twice as much for far inferior laptops. I think I will grow to love it. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Stay away

Date: October 13, 2014
" I would recommend that you stay away from the lower end lenovo models. Overall clunky design, feels cheaply made and FILLED with bloatware!
I returned the product for another make and model. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Just what I was looking for

Date: September 18, 2014
" Having used a ThinkPad for years, I wasn't ready to give up the Trackpoint pointing device when shopping for a laptop. I was glad to find the E440 in my price range. I moved from XP with 2 gigs of ram to Windows 7 and 8 gigs of ram. What a difference. The ThinkPad is SOLID. It never feels fragile, which is important to me because I carry it with me every day. The only slight concern is that the button for the trackpoint is a little uncertain on the "left click." "
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

awesome laptop

Date: September 12, 2014
" worth buying, it is very sturdy and comfortable to use "
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Horrible Laptop

Date: September 9, 2014
" Had this machine for a little bit over three months, total waste of money!!!!!!!!!
A BRAND NEW LAPTOP with both SOFTWARE and HARDWARE failure that's what I have received from Lenovo! overall rate is zero
"
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Palash

E440

Date: July 23, 2014
" This laptop is very nice, good looking and working fine for me. One thing I did not like that is - the keyboard does not come with backlit. If you consider that I strongly recommend you to buy. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mike

Edge E440 - problems on loading printers

Date: July 20, 2014
" The laptop seems fine, except for the problems I'm having with loading peripherals. And the Lenovo technical support staff are totally useless to assist in effecting a fix. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phalloides

Majestic

Date: July 1, 2014
" Another stellar product experience from Lenovo. Travel and presentation ready 14 inch. Chip over clocks magnificently with BIG computational software: crunching data with ease. I cannot function without an optical drive, only wish that Blu Ray was an option. THANK YOU for the 64 bit Windows 7 Pro !! "
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gopi

Slick machine

Date: June 14, 2014
" Performs well. Nicely packaged. Only 2 days old and happy with it.. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike

Nice Laptop

Date: May 12, 2014
" This is my 2nd Lenovo, These things are tough and hold up well over time. Very pleased with performance and ease of use. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JCM1

Great buy! Lousy OS!

Date: May 6, 2014
" I have been purchasing and using laptops for the past 15 years. Usually it took a few weeks to get a laptop configured to my preferences. This laptop was the easiest to configure and start using. I had it running in less than a day, however, the new ThinkPad UltraNav Pointing Device coupled with MS Windows 8.0 created the most irritating, annoying, and confusing computer experience I have had since MS Windows Vista. After three days I finally disabled all of the functionality of the UltraNav Pointing Device and have been pleased ever since. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ALanclos

Came Busted after a month of waiting

Date: April 21, 2014
" I received this unit a full month after ordering it. It also came with a defective hard drive. Instead of waiting to send back to the factory, I just purchased a hard drive and installed it. Its working great now. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dave

E440 is a great buy

Date: April 21, 2014
" The Lenovo E440 is the best laptop I have bought, ever. I have replaced laptops every two years since 1984. My last one was an HP Pavillion. The best feature of the E440 is the keyboard. After having the cursor bounce all over the screen on my HP, this is a real relief. I also like the number and variety of sockets on its sides, although I must admit I was shocked not to see a space for my camera's SD card. The screen is clear and sharp.
The only complaint I have is Windows 8. Microsoft changes things for no purpose. Windows 8.1 is counterintuitive and really user unfriendly. An example is that there is no clear way of shutting down Windows! The apps tile page was added to make windows appear like a tablet. It is full baloney apps.
The E440 deserves a better operating system.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoKo

Best Laptop Decision!

Date: April 21, 2014
" I researched for weeks the best laptop for my business....I need to be very portable...moving between several offices. Don't let the lightweight move and feel of this machine fool you...it is a workhorse and I couldn't be more pleased with it! Thank you Lenova! "