Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop E440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo E440

Average customer rating:
3.938 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 16(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for E440
Review 1 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Just what I was looking for

Date: September 18, 2014
"Having used a ThinkPad for years, I wasn't ready to give up the Trackpoint pointing device when shopping for a laptop. I was glad to find the E440 in my price range. I moved from XP with 2 gigs of ram to Windows 7 and 8 gigs of ram. What a difference. The ThinkPad is SOLID. It never feels fragile, which is important to me because I carry it with me every day. The only slight concern is that the button for the trackpoint is a little uncertain on the "left click.""
Review 2 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

awesome laptop

Date: September 12, 2014
"worth buying, it is very sturdy and comfortable to use"
Review 3 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Horrible Laptop

Date: September 9, 2014
"Had this machine for a little bit over three months, total waste of money!!!!!!!!!
A BRAND NEW LAPTOP with both SOFTWARE and HARDWARE failure that's what I have received from Lenovo! overall rate is zero
"
Review 4 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Palash

E440

Date: July 23, 2014
"This laptop is very nice, good looking and working fine for me. One thing I did not like that is - the keyboard does not come with backlit. If you consider that I strongly recommend you to buy."
Review 5 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mike

Edge E440 - problems on loading printers

Date: July 20, 2014
"The laptop seems fine, except for the problems I'm having with loading peripherals. And the Lenovo technical support staff are totally useless to assist in effecting a fix."
Review 6 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phalloides

Majestic

Date: July 1, 2014
"Another stellar product experience from Lenovo. Travel and presentation ready 14 inch. Chip over clocks magnificently with BIG computational software: crunching data with ease. I cannot function without an optical drive, only wish that Blu Ray was an option. THANK YOU for the 64 bit Windows 7 Pro !!"
Review 7 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gopi

Slick machine

Date: June 14, 2014
"Performs well. Nicely packaged. Only 2 days old and happy with it.."
Review 8 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike

Nice Laptop

Date: May 12, 2014
"This is my 2nd Lenovo, These things are tough and hold up well over time. Very pleased with performance and ease of use."
Review 9 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JCM1

Great buy! Lousy OS!

Date: May 6, 2014
"I have been purchasing and using laptops for the past 15 years. Usually it took a few weeks to get a laptop configured to my preferences. This laptop was the easiest to configure and start using. I had it running in less than a day, however, the new ThinkPad UltraNav Pointing Device coupled with MS Windows 8.0 created the most irritating, annoying, and confusing computer experience I have had since MS Windows Vista. After three days I finally disabled all of the functionality of the UltraNav Pointing Device and have been pleased ever since."
Review 10 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ALanclos

Came Busted after a month of waiting

Date: April 21, 2014
"I received this unit a full month after ordering it. It also came with a defective hard drive. Instead of waiting to send back to the factory, I just purchased a hard drive and installed it. Its working great now."
Review 11 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dave

E440 is a great buy

Date: April 21, 2014
"The Lenovo E440 is the best laptop I have bought, ever. I have replaced laptops every two years since 1984. My last one was an HP Pavillion. The best feature of the E440 is the keyboard. After having the cursor bounce all over the screen on my HP, this is a real relief. I also like the number and variety of sockets on its sides, although I must admit I was shocked not to see a space for my camera's SD card. The screen is clear and sharp.
The only complaint I have is Windows 8. Microsoft changes things for no purpose. Windows 8.1 is counterintuitive and really user unfriendly. An example is that there is no clear way of shutting down Windows! The apps tile page was added to make windows appear like a tablet. It is full baloney apps.
The E440 deserves a better operating system.
"
Review 12 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoKo

Best Laptop Decision!

Date: April 21, 2014
"I researched for weeks the best laptop for my business....I need to be very portable...moving between several offices. Don't let the lightweight move and feel of this machine fool you...it is a workhorse and I couldn't be more pleased with it! Thank you Lenova!"
Review 13 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jeff

Worth the wait? Don't think so

Date: April 19, 2014
"Had to wait over 8 weeks to get this laptop delivered to me. They said numerous times that think pads are made to order and that quality is crucial. Well finally got it and wondering what the fuss is about. Clean design, not many bells or whistles just a typical laptop. Could definitely be lighter and that bothers me more then angry since that's one of two most important items I needed n it ain't so light. Could have bought a cheaper similar unit and received it much quicker."
Review 14 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ivan

Decent computer; screen could be improved

Date: April 19, 2014
"This was issued to me as an alternate work computer for occasional travel (I do most of my work from a much more powerful Thinkstation).
I buy a lot of notebooks for my personal use, so I am quite exposed to what is available in the market.
Pros:
1. Familiar feel and design language
2. Well put-together
3. Fairly lightweight
4. Good keyboard and trackpad
5. Good speaker volume
6. Trackpoint is still there
7. Good software/driver updates
8. Fingerprint scanner
Cons:
1. Poor screen (terrible contrast and viewing angles)
2. Thin and flimsy bottom cover
3. Thick chassis profile looks very dated
"
Review 15 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Consultant

Wretched port placement

Date: April 17, 2014
"Many aspects are what I've come to expect from Thinkpads after almost two decades of using them (and there's a reason I've stayed with the brand). But this machine inexplicably puts ALL the ports on the SIDES of the machine - both left and right. If you prefer to use an optical mouse, which many of us do, and/or often work in limited spaces, you will find this INCREDIBLY annoying."
Review 16 for E440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
E440firstime

E440 1TB HDD only lasts for 12 days

Date: April 16, 2014
"Bought a new E440 on March 18 2014 and installed Windows 7 Home Premium. Few days later on March 30 2014 the system was not bootable producing message saying the HDD was not detected. Took to Lenovo repair center and they figured out that the 1TB HDD (WD) was faulty and after waiting for a week they replaced with a new HDD. What a disappointment that HDD only worked for 12 days .....this must be a quality issue.
I was using a Lenovo T430 earlier and I missed the friendly track pad ...now with the new design it seems it is quite difficult to control where the cursor go ...... trying to familiarize myself though ....
"