Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

ThinkPad T540p Laptop

Average customer rating:
3.284 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(289 Reviews) 288
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (289 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
65
3 stars
45
2 stars
47
1 star
50
150 of 288(52%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T540p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The Worst ThinkPad I ever had in 20 years

Date: February 9, 2016
" Having this piece of trash for a year, a new feature pops up.
It automatically type the letter "b" whenever I use the track point.
It's time to get from other to forget the nightmare I had for the past 12 months.
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Indiana, United States

Quirky

Date: February 2, 2016
" I have had my T540p for just under one year. I purchased it with Windows 7 because my other Thinkpad (which was one year old) had Windows 8 which I found challenging to use. The new Lenovo is used lightly with Windows 365 for Business and the One Drive Business. I have yet to be able to get the camera video and sound to work for web-based meetings, and despite using limited space for storage (I store on the cloud) I have challenges with lags, startup delays, and overall quirks. Currently, I cannot get my sound icon to respond at all when clicked. This has happened before with other icons- they will disappear from the menu or not respond. Additionally, I find the computer freezes quite frequently. I recognize I am not a computer wiz, but I would have expected basic features to work. Some issues may be related to the Microsoft 365 interface or to interfacing with the cloud. My other Thinkpad won't let me open word or PDF documents from email?? I loved both of them at first, but the challenges with basic operations on two computers within the first year causes me doubt (and lots of frustration). I do like that it is sturdy and has a great keyboard. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Blue Screen of Death within 4 hours

Date: January 2, 2016
" Took this out of the box Christmas afternoon; was customized for my son, who is an engineering student. He downloaded Chrome, Firefox, and one game and got the blue screen of death that evening. We were able to send it back, hopefully for a full refund, so we are happy with customer service. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH, United States

What a Disappointment

Date: January 1, 2016
" I have owned multiple Thinkpads since 1996 and this is the first time I have been disappointed. Reasons:
1. By adding a ten key pad to the keyboard you ruined one of the best features of the Thinkpad, namely the keyboard feel. The new keyboard is smaller and not good for my big hands. Plus having a ten key pad on a laptop is useless.
2. You changed the power plug adapter from prior models and I can no longer use my old ones as spares.
3. You moved the ethernet connect point to the back of the PC where it gets in the way of other office equipment.
4. There is no HDMI capability
Finally, this is one of the most expensive laptops relative to competition and I used to be willing to pay the price because of prior reputation and my personal experience.
No more Im sorry to say....
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Keyboard layout very disappointing

Date: December 16, 2015
" The computer is fast, great screen clarity. Unfortunately the keyboard layout is very disappointing e.g. trackpoint is not as well centered as my Lenovo T520, there is a numbers key pad which adds width to the keyboard but is not helpful,
the page up and down key location are not at the top, and several other issues.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lutz, FL, United States

Overall Review

Date: November 13, 2015
" It's hard to tell when rhw Caplock is on. I like the ease of key board. The Screen is very nice. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Coast, FL, United States

ThinkPad T540p - excellent choice!

Date: November 13, 2015
" Had choice between a dell or a Lenovo at work, I chose the Lenovo because I have both a Lenovo desktop and laptop at home and have had no problems. Same with this computer. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA, United States

Highest quality

Date: November 1, 2015
" I have owned probably all the ThinkPads since the beginning. This T540p beats them all in regards to quality. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Aus

Powerful package and nively customisable

Date: October 16, 2015
" Solid build, good keyboard. Bright high res 3K display. Runs quietly and does not get too hot. As other reviews have said the touchpad is rubbish, I almost always use a mouse but if I were using the touchpad all the time it would be awful. Speakers are poor quality. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Such an upgrade

Date: October 5, 2015
" Once I actually received my laptop, I started using it immediately. I was using a 6 year old laptop before I got the T540p and this is a huge upgrade from what I was using, I wouldn't have been able to do my schoolwork the entire semester with my other one. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Still have some specific problems

Date: October 4, 2015
" Difficult to find user guide. Difficult to keep outside monitor attached or to attach automatically despite having set the machine up to keep it attached and startup automatically. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Failed Twice

Date: October 2, 2015
" Initial impressions of this laptop were that it was rather flimsy or "cheap" feeling. The case and touch pad do not give the sense of quality product. It has seemed to work pretty well right up until it just quits. Right in the middle of presenting a powerpoint on TWO different occasions it has gone dark. No rebooting, no power. Gone. It is headed in now for its second repair for the same issue, and can not be relied upon to do presentations! Lemon. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Service and performance issue

Date: October 2, 2015
" I would not recommend this laptop. I had it less than 4 weeks when I had trouble shutting down (it said it had found an error it needed to correct). Then the laptop would not power on until the error was corrected - and this required a complete reset of the machine (wiping out all my files and necessitating reinstall of Windows). I called Lenovo for help and they had me run a diagnostic which indicated no hard drive issues, ie, they won't take it back. I now have an app installed to backup all my files but I am not optimistic that this equipment is going to be reliable. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop, but bulky

Date: September 30, 2015
" The laptop is of great build quality, great performance, and excellent battery life. I may have been better suited for the slightly smaller T440P laptop, though I do like the separate numeric keybad available on this one. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The worst laptop I have ever bought

Date: September 11, 2015
" I bought this product several months ago. It made me frustrated at the very beginning. Although it has an i7 processor, the boot up is really slow and the running speed is just so so. It always blocks during running that I have to long press the power button to force it to shut down, and what's worse, it always blocks at the Thinkpad page before going into the Windows when I start it. And I send it back to the technical support to be fixed for 2 times. But this issue keeps occurring again and again. It really makes me crazy when I spend almost 1-2 hours to force a shut down and start up each time when it is unable to start up. It is really a waste of my time, let alone my work. Honestly, I never used any laptop that is worse than this one before. I do not want it anymore. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent laptop, bad touchpad

Date: September 3, 2015
" Overall, this is a perfectly acceptable laptop. I like the fast boot times in particular, and the laptop's performance is quite responsive.
The thing I dislike the most, by far, is the touchpad. It is placed a little too close to the left side of the machine. I have normal-sized hands, and in normal typing position my palm touches the pad. This means that if I have tap to click turned on, sometimes attempting to type something in Word leads to the cursor randomly highlighting portions of text or opening an unwanted menu. It doesn't happen too often (maybe once or twice an hour), but it's irritating and shouldn't happen at all.
I could turn off tap to click, but I'm used to it from other laptops and it's a tremendous hassle to turn it on and off and on again all the time. If they created a keyboard shortcut to turn it on and off or re-jiggered the laptop to move the touchpad an inch or so to the right, that would fix the issue. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

refurbished T540P

Date: August 31, 2015
" I have been using this laptop for about 2 weeks and have found no problems. I thought I would download Windows 10 because I have never used Windows 8 and do not like that so I decided if I had to learn a new one go for the newest but so far I have had no success. Otherwise everything works find. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall Great Laptop

Date: August 30, 2015
" Great laptop, performance is awesome, features excellent, my only "complaint" is the touchpad lacks a dedicated click button, but the click is actually pushing the touchpad itself, this is generally ok but if you need precision clicks (like for graphics designer or something like that) you will have a hard time using the click and keeping precise pointing, you will need a mouse. But overall it's still a great laptop. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

ok laptop

Date: August 23, 2015
" i am an IT professional and this model caught my eye. i customized it for a low price but optimizing on some critical hardware to allow me to do my job better. i opted for the (as it was written on the site when ordering) 3.2Ghz processor. When i got it and it was going pretty slow, i checked the system properties page it said that it was a 2.6,...not what i had ordered. i inquired with lenovo about this and they responded it was a 3.2 Ghz. Their justification was that 2.6 was it's baseline and that with turbo boost enabled, it would push it up to 3.2Ghz. This being done to conserve power. so i enabled it and it did respond faster but they neglected to tell the public that it is essentially a 2.6 with on demand overclocking which really doesn't help the speed all that much as compared to if it was 3.2Ghz all the time. which i was pretty disappointed about. Other than that, from what time i have used it, it is not a bad laptop for the average non-technical person. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not the same as other 15 inch T laptops

Date: August 19, 2015
" I've been using Lenovo laptops for years and in particular the 15 inch models. My current laptop is 4 years old and I decided to upgrade. I was terribly disappointed with the new laptop especially with the keyboard which felt awkward and cramped due to Lenovo squeezing a number keypad into the keyboard. One of my favorite things about Lenovo laptops is the comfortable keyboard but this new laptop was something entirely different. My other major complaint was that this laptop got very hot which I've never experienced with any of my other Lenovo laptops. The end result is I decided to return the new laptop and make due with my old one. Hopefully by the time it gives up the ghost Lenovo will have changed their minds about cramming a number keypad into the keyboard. "