Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T540p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

Average customer rating:
3.266 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(241 Reviews) 240
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (241 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
52
3 stars
39
2 stars
40
1 star
42
122 of 241(51%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T540p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Purchase Ever

Date: April 20, 2015
" I am totally in love! I love my Lenovo and consider it an investment. My work is fast and efficient. Took it to work at my second job and it was wonderful! "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very nice computer

Date: April 20, 2015
" Still have not used all of the features yet but everything so far is excellent. The computer is a well build machine. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Bad Choice

Date: April 17, 2015
" I purchased this brand from a recommendation from a co-worker. My current computer is an HP that I really like, but had to upgrade as it is 5 years old. My Lenovo arrived later than first told. It did not run properly from the day I received it and after two weeks now it won't even turn on. I contacted the support dept and they are sending a box so I can send it in to be repaired - IT IS BRAND NEW and already needs repair. I will have to wait a while and see if it will work. SO far, I will NEVER get a Lenovo again. I really would like to return it and go get another HP. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Lemon

Date: April 16, 2015
" I had problems with this computer from the start. I purchased it because I thought I could rely on it for my business. Sent it back twice. First time it needed a new hard drive, wireless, mother board, etc. No loaner to use in the meantime. Wasn't going to reward poor quality with a follow-on purchase. Bought a competitor's product since I was frustrated and felt I couldn't rely on my Lenovo. Now what was to be my primary computer is a backup.
All that said, Lenovo customer service in Atlanta was helpful and quick with shipping boxes. And was quick with the return the second time. Although the first send-back cost me over a week. The second was only a few business days with a weekend in the middle. But what was there to replace at that point? Seemed they didn't confirm it worked properly after replacing the parts the first time.
Not happy with this product but some others seem to work okay. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great product with great features

Date: April 13, 2015
" I love this Lenovo! excellent product, lightening fast, and great screen, at a great price.
I am also buying this same computer for all of my sales guys.
Nothing about it I do not like!
I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a office or home office computer. I do not use for any gaming, so I cannot rate the gaming performance, but as a reliable business computer it is great!
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Thinkpad T540p

Date: April 10, 2015
" All that I had expected and happy to keep Windows 7 Pro and have SSD hard drive installed with extra RAM "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great laptop

Date: April 10, 2015
" Found a lot of bad reviews online but more great ones. I have nothing but great reviews for it. It does everything I want it to do.
Rick
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Happy

Date: April 8, 2015
" Love:
Backlit keys.
Great battery life.
Good speed.
Don't like:
Clickpad trackpad...though it's better than the lenovo Home models. The clickpad has a few MM of travel when you click it.
The first one I got had a bad clickpad...the clickpad wouldn't "click". Lenovo overnighted a new clickpad assembly. I would buy again.
Pre-Sales couldn't tell me if it had a M.2 slot for little SSD hard drives, but it does and I installed a cache drive. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good value for a really good computer

Date: April 8, 2015
" ThinkPad has one of the best performance in the market of PC portable computers "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Overall good, touchpad poor

Date: April 5, 2015
" Although with a pretty good configuration, the computer is slow at times (e.g. when multitasking or when the video card is required).
The battery holds what it promises. Keyboard is good, and with useful „Fn” shortcuts on the upper row, but lacks the „Menu” button (like right click).
The worst feature by far is the touchpad: if it would function properly, it would probably be the best feature (multitouch, rotate, vertical and horizontal scroll, full vertical movement, etc.), but it is blocking and unresponsive at a annoying rate, especially when changing repeatedly between windows.
The fingerprint reader is a useful login option and works fine. A last interesting feature is the SIM slot behind the battery, so you won't have to care about the internet USB modem. I advice you to ask for full driver installation before buying, otherwise some of the drivers are hard to find on the internet (although the system should search and find them automatically).
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great ThinkPad

Date: April 3, 2015
" Just purchased the T540p with Intel Core i7. Performs beautifully and fast! Graphics are amazing and the sound quality is awesome. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Machine!!

Date: April 3, 2015
" The step by step customizing column went smoothly and is a great feature on the factory website! Lot's of great communication from company after ordering,I was updated on status several times and unit arrived earlier than quoted in great packaging! Machine was easiest machine I have ever set-up!! It had a great feel to it and has performed flawless!! I use this machine in the field as a TOOL it is sturdy !! Great back-lit keyboard !! "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Windows 7

Date: April 1, 2015
" The machine is great. But, Microsoft has done it again by changing certain features to make it harder to use old programs. I finally got my old HP printer to function on Windows 7. And Lotus SmartSuite is installed now with the help of a support group of Lotus users via an IBM Corp WEB site. Not sure yet what to think about Lenovo's Nitro 9 substitute for Adobe Reader. The question is, "Why has Lenovo invested in this?" Adobe Reader is a standard. The other Lenovo software works well and makes certain functions more easy to use.
Cheers! "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

The tradition continues.

Date: April 1, 2015
" This is my third ThinkPad over the years and I would expect that it would perform as reliably as the first two. It does everything I would expect and need it to do and the screen is great for these eyes that are not what they used to be. It is rugged and durable. I did not even hesitate to buy this new one due to the flawless performance of my previous ones.
A great laptop.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great all in one-old school

Date: March 30, 2015
" Exceptional value for what you get. I have purchased 4 of these for our company for users who don’t mind a little extra weight but can get the CD/DVD and 14 in screen. I would get the i5, 8 gig ram and extended battery. Users have been very pleased- 10 plus hours of battery life.
This is a true laptop.
IT Admin 19 years
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Function and Style

Date: March 28, 2015
" I have had four Lenovo laptops, three of which are running like the day they were purchased. I recently purchased the Lenovo T540p and did so for a reason.
I am not after frills, gadgetry and fluff......I am after reliable function with attention toward aesthetics that places me in comfort at my machine. The lines and curves are clean and simple with a frame that is solid but not bulky or heavy..........it is a true ThinkPad.
I am a writer and find the action of the T540p keys have a response that makes typing a smooth almost effortless procedure. This machine is surprisingly fast with the core i5 and is open to installing 12 more gigs of Ram.
Along with writing I have Photoshop and a hefty Canon software to retouch raw photos which are large volume pictures. The T540p never blinks. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Touchpad Hard to Get Used To

Date: March 24, 2015
" It makes sense that right and left click buttons would not be needed, but I am having alot of trouble getting used to the touchpad operation generally. It's feel, it's manner of responding to double clicking, doesn't feel definitive and it seems as if the cursor placement drifts in a way my old HP did not. I am spending time readjusting the cursor positioning through my finger touch which is annoying. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Nightmare!!!!

Date: March 24, 2015
" I have purchased Lenova T540p (Serial Number # in Kuwait paying Kuwait Dinar 355/=.
From day 1, the problem started.
- First being, the charging was not proper and found out that the charger was faluty within a week's time
- battery back up time, less than 1 hour
- Windows crashed multiple times
- poor service, all the data stored in the laptop was lost as the Service Technician was least bothered to recover the data.
In my life, I will not purchase a LENOVA product, even if it is given free of cost. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

T540p a professional garbage

Date: March 21, 2015
" I bought Lenovo T540p February 2014. The system board is dead and just out of warranty. Good timing. for $1000 bucks, it just last one year. It was not stable in one year use, freeze, not awkae from sleep "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Average, but has potential for better.

Date: March 20, 2015
" The Lenovo tools are handy and useful. I love the super fast boot-up.
The screen display quality needs improvement, after a week of work utilization it developed a 'stuck/dead' pixel and the color rendering is bothersome to the eyes -- no matter how much adjustments I make to the display it still seems to not be quite right.
I wish Lenovo had an option for an AMD Radeon graphics card instead of Nvidia. The stock item makes the laptop sluggish and tends to crash the CAD software I utilize for work. "