Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T540p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

Average customer rating:
2.717 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
14
3 stars
19
2 stars
26
1 star
20
28 of 92(30%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T540p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Not what it could be

Date: October 19, 2014
"It has a good processor, display, battery, & plenty of memory. it's even fairly light weight for what it is.
In use it has serious problems.
The lack of CapsLock and NumLock lights is stupid. Icons on the screen make the screen effectively smaller.
The lack a disk activity light is an annoyance esp. when doing major calculations.
The construction is not impressive for what should be a high end machine. I've had one service call so far (which was handled quickly) about an intermittently non-functioning power button & will have to try again as the problem has returned.
The USB connectors are sometimes flaky though that could be a software issue.
On the whole I should have spent more time looking before I bought it.
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Race Team Inventory and Communications

Date: October 16, 2014
"The Lenovo so far has been a very efficient and worker friendly laptop. The ease of windows and its programs have assisted me organizing and keeping a correct on hand of our inventory. i would recommend this product to others as a work or personal machine. I look forward in learning in what other ways I can better use my machine. Thanks for a great product."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Great computer, major issues

Date: October 14, 2014
"I've had the computer for about 30 days. I use it everyday for work. I run CAD, excel, email, and internet on the machine, and for those applications it works great. After I got the computer and it downloaded and installed 83 updates from Microsoft, it hasn't been able to shut down without pressing the power button. Then it gives me the "windows did not shut down properly" screen all the time. It also freezes when the screen saver turns on. I can't be without the computer for a day, or I would have sent it back. Not sure if it is your issue, or Microsoft, probably Microsoft. All told, I spend almost $1700 on this laptop, and it's driving me nuts."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid Machine - Except trackpad

Date: October 13, 2014
"If you know and like lenovo Thinkpad you will not be disappointed- EXCEPT for the trackpad.
If you use a mouse with your laptop then you are probably fine.
If you rely on the trackpad as your primary interface - make sure you try this out before buying it.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Bought 2 - camera didn't work in either one

Date: October 13, 2014
"I bought two T540ps for college students. The built-in webcam didn't work in either one of them out of the box. One has been sent for warranty repair and the other one needs to go.
Also, having used Thinkpad computers for almost twenty years (I've had four generations), I was very disappointed with the new button-less track pad area. I specifically bought thinkpads because of the track point. It's here, but there aren't any mouse buttons to press, just a nebulous area of the track pad. Bad move!
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

The New Keyboard Is a Nightmare

Date: October 11, 2014
"The addition of the numeric pad to the keyboard layout is a disaster for users. Using the built-in keyboard puts you in an awkward position, and it's simply unusable when in confined spaces like an airplane seat. I was recently eligible to upgrade my work laptop this model, but I declined the upgrade and am currently looking for another solution, either an older model or a different laptop altogether."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Much worse than previous models

Date: October 11, 2014
"My first Thinkpad was a T42 of my company. It survived several accidental drops and worked so very well that I felt it unbreakable.
Then, I bought a Lenovo C3000 N100. Although it is not a Thinkpad, it has been working without malfunction any kind. A champion of reliability.
The only reason for me to upgrade is that it is with Windows XP and Microsoft refuses me to go on using Skype.
I don't like this Thinkpad T540p.
1) Touchpad is terrible. I don't understand why don't use the "traditional one."
2) When I am using several different programs, CPU usage will be 90% and I have to shut down some of them. I insert another memory ram to make it totally 8G. Still the same. I don't understand why it is worse than my 1G C3000?
3) The feeling is bad. When you move it from one place to another, it sounds like something loose inside, totally different from the excellent feeling of T42.
I have been recommending Lenovo laptops to anyone I know but now I doubt if I will go on doing that.
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

best yet

Date: October 9, 2014
"I love my new Lenovo....I especially like the keyboard, its really easy to use...I spend several hours a day on my Lenovo and am happy with it.
I have attached my mouse as I just cannot get used to the other device built into the computer.
thanks for a great job.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Purchase ever..

Date: October 5, 2014
"I have used Lenovo computers for about 15 years for home and for business. I bought 2 T540 for my office and I don't think I will ever buy Lenovo again. Lenovo has lost touch with reality and Lenovo is not what it used to be. One of the computers was shipped with issues and it won't even start and the response for Lenovo was wait for a box that we will send in the mail and then wait for us to fix it (Yes a brand new computer)."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I love Lenovo T series products.

Date: September 28, 2014
"The fit and finish of the Lenovo T series is incredible, it is equal to the Apple at 1/3 of the price."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Lenovo laptop yet

Date: September 17, 2014
"No HDD LED for activity - can never tell if you hard drive is even spinning / initializing.
Caps/Num lock on-screen display only active within Windows.
New AC port (square) standard is horrible, purchased 300 laptops and already seen +15 with defective ports.
Generally feels cheap in your hands. Revised TrackPad is absolutely horrible, had to purchase external USB mice for all of our staff, even after configuring and fine tuning properly.
I've deployed over 4000 IBM / Lenovo laptops over 8 years...these are the worst purchase yet :("
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Poor ergonomics and a step towards lower quality

Date: September 16, 2014
"Good performance, but the ergonomics are terrible. If you like to keep your fingers on the home keys and use the TrackPoint and mouse buttons the new "ClickPad" touchpad on this device will drive you insane unless you disable the touchpad. The touchpad and mouse buttons are integrated into one piece resulting in your mouse moving when you move your thumb over to left-click on the touchpad.
Signs of cost-costing are everywhere including:
- Super-thin materials and soft screws on the hard drive and memory covering door
- Thinner casing material overall that increases flex of all parts of case
- Zero status lights (no hard disk, battery or wireless lights)
- No latching mechanism for the display
- Flimsy, fixed CD tray
Also bad: the change to the AC power adapter plugs. Have extra 20v adapters from previous generation Lenovo laptops? Too bad, while voltage and amperage are identical to the previous generation of power adapters, they changed the plug to a rectangular design."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Love the T series

Date: September 9, 2014
"I support 5 of the T540s and they are living up to their excellent reputation. They have great software and driver support. They live through being hauled out of the office everyday then just place it back on the docking station and your people are off and running."
Review 14 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Great machine but ....

Date: September 3, 2014
"but why do you insist on forcing Micro$oft down our throats. give us the option to load whatever OS we want or need without paying the Micro$oft tax.
I need a new portable but the decider will be whether I can buy it with, no OS, DOS or Linux. almost any leading Linux is better than any version of Micro$oft"
Review 15 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Keyboard layout = ???

Date: September 2, 2014
"I just tested out the new T540p laptop (upgrading from a T520 laptop). I am completely dumbfounded with the new T540p layout. Why do I need a huge keypad on the right hand side? Where did the function keys go? Where is the traditional trackpad with the useful buttons?? (note I typically use the mouse knob). Lastly, and this is the worse part, why is the keyboard offset to the left so my left hand falls off the keyboard? Lenovo pls re-evaluate the UX on these laptops. I used to really like your laptops but they seem to be going downhill!"
Review 16 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fracap69

awesome display, with some drawbacks

Date: August 22, 2014
"I've been using Thinkpad T series since 2002, my last one was a T510 which was becoming too slow for its duty. Reviews where at least mixed, but I've decided to go for the T540p with 3k display. Now I've used it daily for 3 months and I'm not disappointed.
The display is awesome, nothing less. I use it at 1920x1080 but it has a quality of text and image which is unachievable by a FHD display. It rocks.
The keyboard has a good feeling, I probably prefer it from the old. The layout of the keyboard is questionable, page up and page down are very difficult to use, numeric pad is ok but not great. Touchpad has a great feeling but I miss the two buttons. It's not true you don't have Functions buttons, you can switch to ald mode with Fn+Esc!
Don't know if it's a software problem or a power supply issue, but sometimes it dims down display brightness and it is annoying.
With Windows 7 I had a conflict with Windows Explorer which was really annoying, I've moved to Windows 8 and all is ok. (tbc)
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AJWest05

Great Machine!

Date: August 20, 2014
"This is my first ever Lenovo brand machine and wow I am impressed, this laptop is built to last! I love the very sturdy build of this laptop, the build materials are top notch. The battery life is great, the trackpad is the best I've personally had in a laptop and the tactile feel of the keyboard just feels amazing on the hands. I get fatigued easily when typing on a keyboard but not with this one, the placement of the keyboard gives adequate room to rest your hands. Great machine overall especially for the productive types! Definitely recommend."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aaron

Great business laptop

Date: August 14, 2014
"I've been using the T540p for business purposes for the past 2 months. So far I am very impressed!
Performance is excellent and the PC has great features, with one exception. I prefer real buttons for left and right click. However, I almost always use it with a docking station and wireless keyboard and mouse.
Overall I would rate this as one of the best laptops I have ever used.
I absolutely recommend!"
Review 19 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
klempet

Dissapointed

Date: August 12, 2014
"Being an avid Thinkpad buyer and buying them for years for our company, I purchased one T540p to check if it will be a suitable replacement for our old machines. I made a good decision to buy just one, since this is simply not a Thinkpad anymore. Yes, it is that bad.
First, pros: Performance is Ok, as is 3K screen.
Cons: Each and every egronomic, functional and usability change made on the housing is to the worse. The removal of status LED lights, volume buttons, Wifi switch, screen latches and trackpad buttons really affects usability. Cdrom is now non-removable?!? I have simply no good words for new touchpad - this issue alone is a deal breaker. I miss clicks all the time and my hand starts to hurt after as little as 15 minutes of use. I started to carry a mouse with me again - something I haven't been doing for years. Keyboard would maybe be OK if not for the unnecessary shift to the left.
If this is the direction Thinkpads will take, this is sadly the last we've ever bought."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Duckster

New Trackpad is HORRIBLE

Date: August 5, 2014
"I've been using Thinkpads since over a decade ago with the R40, and one of the biggest draws of them is the red trackpoint ("nub").
With the latest changes, Lenovo turned the trackpad into a single solid button, which does not work at all with the red nub. They've tried to copy Apple's trackpad, but have completely failed at it because they do not recognize that users who use the trackpoint don't care at all for the trackpad, and just want the trackpoint to well.
With the unibutton design, I cannot get it to right click reliably at all while using the trackpoint. What is wrong with having discrete, dedicated buttons?
I actually preferred using the trackpoint for all of the dozen plus Thinkpads I've bought over the years, until this latest generation. It was so infuriating to use that I ended up buying a mouse.
While I love the reliability and performance of Thinkpads, this ergonomic change is just too annoying and I will never purchase another Thinkpad until it gets changed."