Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T540p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

Average customer rating:
3.258 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(252 Reviews) 251
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (252 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
56
3 stars
41
2 stars
43
1 star
43
128 of 252(51%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T540p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent Laptop for the Professional

Date: May 27, 2015
" I have been purchasing the Lenovo ThinkPad Series Laptops for work. When it came time to purchase a laptop for myself it was an easy decision. If you don't need all the bells and whistles the T540p is the way to go. A will built laptop that you can feel immediately. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Original T540p

Date: May 21, 2015
" I was one of the lucky ones who got an original T540p. The unit I have has a touch pad with buttons. The next generation has a toch pad that rocks with no buttons and trying to right click or left click can be difficult. The third generation is still missing the touch pad buttons, it doesn't rock as much, left click is fine, but you have to do the two finger thing (like a touch screen) to get the right click. Bring back the buttons! "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Buy

Date: May 20, 2015
" I purchased the T540p because it is a work horse. The SSHD was a major selling point. They are much more efficient than the others. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

TOUCHPAD is GARBAGE!!!!

Date: May 19, 2015
" The overall machine is reasonably good, especially for those that use the numeric keypad. However, the Touchpad is a piece of garbage. Where did the mouse buttons go??? The touchpad consistently registers either no mouse click or more than one with a single push.
BRING BACK THE MOUSE BUTTONS!!!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

not a good machine

Date: May 19, 2015
" Regarding the operation system, a number of viruses cannot be removed from the first day I opened it, and still bugs me till now. Besides the touchpad is cumbersome to use. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst design on touch pad

Date: May 17, 2015
" I think the touch pad of Lenovo is the worst design than my previous laptops. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Ehhh

Date: May 5, 2015
" I think I might not be used to Windows 8 but this computer is a lot slower than I thought it would be. The only thing I've downloaded was the office home and student software. But the rest of it seems to be working great. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Big Disappointment

Date: May 4, 2015
" Out of the box... tons of problems.
At first, it wouldn't stop/start correctly. Would hang, indefinitely, getting caught up in updates. When put to sleep, it would say "not shut down correctly."
I took it to tech, and when they disabled the Lenovo software, the starting/stopping worked.
Now... tried to get help with the TERRIBLE TRACKPAD (complete failure), and they can't help me, as we have the Lenovo software shut off.
Terrible. 2nd worst computer of my life. Totally disappointed. This is why everyone is buying Macs... terrible. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

bluetooth issues

Date: April 29, 2015
" I have not been able to turn the bluetooth on and webpage support has been useless. Other than that it is an excellent machine although Iwill probably remove the Lenovo programs as they seem redundant and just tax the system. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Dan

Date: April 29, 2015
" Excellent keyboar layout and quality construction. The mouse pad can be difficult to you, and it gets in the way when typing, but I have yet to find a brand that works well. I generally use an external mouse for better productivity and accuracy.
Overall, a very good laptop, one of the best on the market. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Thinkpad T540p Disappointed Owner

Date: April 26, 2015
" I have been a supporter of these laptop for years, I'm a computer tech, and if ever asked about laptops choices, I would always recommended Lenovo (IBM). They have always been the best laptops I used. Now I'm going to have to rethink my choice, I'm disappointed in this laptop for lack of no hard drive status light, the new style touch pad. These two feature have disappointed me that I'm about ready to change my choice in laptop manufacture. I'm really not sure what they were thinking when they decided to remove the hard drive light, a critical troubleshooting tool for any computer tech to help determine activity of the hard drive status. Touch pad is terrible, it has no buttons, you press the pad down (not tap) to select item. If using index fingers then the pinch zoom actives and the display font increases or decreases, because it's made all on one pad. NumLock indicator status, it is on the display, stays there while activated. Has some led's indicators, just not the important ones. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Purchase Ever

Date: April 20, 2015
" I am totally in love! I love my Lenovo and consider it an investment. My work is fast and efficient. Took it to work at my second job and it was wonderful! "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very nice computer

Date: April 20, 2015
" Still have not used all of the features yet but everything so far is excellent. The computer is a well build machine. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Bad Choice

Date: April 17, 2015
" I purchased this brand from a recommendation from a co-worker. My current computer is an HP that I really like, but had to upgrade as it is 5 years old. My Lenovo arrived later than first told. It did not run properly from the day I received it and after two weeks now it won't even turn on. I contacted the support dept and they are sending a box so I can send it in to be repaired - IT IS BRAND NEW and already needs repair. I will have to wait a while and see if it will work. SO far, I will NEVER get a Lenovo again. I really would like to return it and go get another HP. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Lemon

Date: April 16, 2015
" I had problems with this computer from the start. I purchased it because I thought I could rely on it for my business. Sent it back twice. First time it needed a new hard drive, wireless, mother board, etc. No loaner to use in the meantime. Wasn't going to reward poor quality with a follow-on purchase. Bought a competitor's product since I was frustrated and felt I couldn't rely on my Lenovo. Now what was to be my primary computer is a backup.
All that said, Lenovo customer service in Atlanta was helpful and quick with shipping boxes. And was quick with the return the second time. Although the first send-back cost me over a week. The second was only a few business days with a weekend in the middle. But what was there to replace at that point? Seemed they didn't confirm it worked properly after replacing the parts the first time.
Not happy with this product but some others seem to work okay. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great product with great features

Date: April 13, 2015
" I love this Lenovo! excellent product, lightening fast, and great screen, at a great price.
I am also buying this same computer for all of my sales guys.
Nothing about it I do not like!
I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a office or home office computer. I do not use for any gaming, so I cannot rate the gaming performance, but as a reliable business computer it is great!
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Thinkpad T540p

Date: April 10, 2015
" All that I had expected and happy to keep Windows 7 Pro and have SSD hard drive installed with extra RAM "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great laptop

Date: April 10, 2015
" Found a lot of bad reviews online but more great ones. I have nothing but great reviews for it. It does everything I want it to do.
Rick
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Happy

Date: April 8, 2015
" Love:
Backlit keys.
Great battery life.
Good speed.
Don't like:
Clickpad trackpad...though it's better than the lenovo Home models. The clickpad has a few MM of travel when you click it.
The first one I got had a bad clickpad...the clickpad wouldn't "click". Lenovo overnighted a new clickpad assembly. I would buy again.
Pre-Sales couldn't tell me if it had a M.2 slot for little SSD hard drives, but it does and I installed a cache drive. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good value for a really good computer

Date: April 8, 2015
" ThinkPad has one of the best performance in the market of PC portable computers "