Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T540p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

Average customer rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(212 Reviews) 211
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (212 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
49
3 stars
35
2 stars
38
1 star
36
101 of 212(48%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T540p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

SO close to being great but ends up simply average

Date: January 22, 2015
" I've used Lenovo Laptops for years now and for two years had a T530P that was awful. When I received a T540P at my new employer it was with some trepidation that I fired it up...
Specs:
Core i5 @ 2.50Ghz
500GB 7200RPM drive
8GB of RAM
Intel HD Graphics
Lowest spec LCD
The good:
The 4th Gen Core i5 is a great processor and its 4 core compute is so close in workhorse performance to the gen 3 i7 as makes no odds. The Intel HD graphics are competent for the price and works great for everything I need it to do. Wireless performance is WAY better than the T530P and is nice and solid. Even the horror story of Access Connections seems to be a whole lot better.
The Bad:
No USB Ports at the back!
Gigabit Ethernet is "ok"
Standard LCD is JUST AWFUL! I wish laptop manufacturers would stop saving $20 per laptop and gouging customers. Put a proper LCD in the thing as standard! 1366 x 768 is dreadful. 2001 called and it wants its screen resolution back!
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Touchpad bad

Date: January 21, 2015
" I've been a thinkpad faithful for over 20 years, the red trackpoint is a huge reason why. This new touchpad lenovo developed is a definite negative. I bought this t540p because of the $650 price tag, and don't regret it because its a thinkpad, great screen, great everything, but, when it comes to using it, it is really heavy. It is really heavy to click on the entire touchpad with the thumb over and over if you use the trackpoint like I do. If you use the touchpad, it's ok, but it is not an Apple. The new X1 carbon generation is back with the single right/left click buttons for the trackpoint, I'm assuming lenovo realized the "new" touchpad wasn't a good innovation after all. I would wait to see if the new models are coming out with the trackpoint buttons the way it used to be, much lighter.
In fact I'm writing this review from my previous model X-series.
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A solid computer

Date: January 20, 2015
" I have the 3k screen and swapped out the low end hard drive with a Samsung 850 SSD 512GB. It runs wonderfully, and I get about 7-9 hours on a battery charge.
However, it is frustrating that Lenovo decided to remove the ability to charge extra batteries with the dock. Or decided to eliminate the external chargers to have extra batteries on hand.
Also, why wouldn't they have the UltraBay battery work with this machine??
Overall, I like this machine a lot, and it runs everything VERY fast. However, to change something to the point where all charging options are no longer available, in an arguably business oriented computer that would be taken on business trips and meetings, seems a little short-sighted. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

stay away

Date: January 18, 2015
" I have had more problems with this machine in less than 6 months than with any other PC i have encountered in my entire life. My previous laptop was also a lenovo so I had high hopes for this one but unfortunately they were dashed & I will probably end up buying a replacement before the end of the year. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent Purchase

Date: January 17, 2015
" Very good laptop, i would recommend to every one, specially comparing with other Brand same class.. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Barely functional, bad design

Date: January 15, 2015
" I have been trying the new touchpad for months but still have problem using it. The touch is very imprecise and it's so large and overly sensitive that my thumb hitting the spacebar would sometimes change the cursor position.
The wireless card is also a weak link in the system, it drops connection often. Google shows may users having the same problem. I sorely missed the separate function keys. Because I need them and also adjust my speakers often. The docking station is not long enough that my laptop wobbles when I type.
I wish there is an usb port on the back so I can plug in semi-permanently the micro usb for a mouse. I have already broke a couple of them when I slip the laptop into my carrying case. Having them on the side rubs against the case.
None of these issues occurred in my T530. It's hard to imagine how Lenovo could miss the mark so much within 1 model year. For me, I will not buy another laptop with a similar touch pad. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

All the good, overshadowed by the interface

Date: January 12, 2015
" The computer seems nice and fast. The only issue is the Touchpad, which is easily the worst I've experienced (although I've only ever had maybe 5 laptops). You can't click without the mouse moving. The buttons are not only integrated with the pad, but because of the way they did it, it is extremely difficult to click the mouse without the mouse moving. I upgraded from an aged Thinkpad R61, and I couldn't believe the Thinkpad line had taken such a step back. I suppose if you're a true old-timer you can use the Trackpoint joystick, but even then you have to deal with not having buttons. All in all I'd say look somewhere else if you're worried about using your laptop's touchpad. Other than that I like the keyboard, the computer seems pretty fast out of the gate, and the screen is pretty nice. No idea on battery life yet.
Other cons:
Wireless card seems a bit flaky, it keeps dropping my wireless although I have full signal strength.
The new square power plug is annoying. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Blue Screen, less than a year old

Date: January 12, 2015
" As I write this review, I'm hoping the T540P is still under warranty, since after it went bluescreen on me all of a sudden, the unit will not turn on. I've had the laptop as a backup, and hence it was seldom used. Now it is dead. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

First Lenovo experience

Date: January 11, 2015
" My laptop experience has been almost entirely Toshiba (with a brief excursion into Dells several years ago). I am delighted with the Lenovo, by comparison to my most recent Toshiba. My experience has been of a decline in other laptop quality over time (despite supposed technical advancement)...especially with the most recent Toshiba (tendency for the pointing system to lock up, funny feeling keyboard). My new Lenovo is light and almost miraculously responsive. I've moved over! (Sticking with Windows 7, though!). "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Computer great, unfortunately delivery wasn't

Date: January 11, 2015
" Computer works reliably; keyboard has good feel, screen resolution good, graphics ok, fast enough to do some serious computational tasks. Convenient size and relatively easily portable, good battery life and the numeric keypad is a big plus for financial tasks.
Delivery was painful as importation was delayed by over a week by customs. Lenovo Mexico can do better than that. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Might return it

Date: January 11, 2015
" Pros: - keyboard has great response
- good size and weight
- love the port arrangement
Cons: - trackpad is terrible, doesn't work as expected half the time
- screen does not have a functional viewing angle
- power cord jack in back is inconvenient
- did I mention how bad the trackpad is?
- comes with plenty of Lenovo bloatware
- no longer as good as the IBM thinkpads
Nitpickings: - I wish the power button shut the computer down or at least brought up a menu
- some function keys have confusing pictures or are just unnecessary
- the USB 3.0 ports are not blue
Musings: -should have added the backlit keyboard
Basically, I bought this computer because of the ridiculous sale and the free, no-questions-asked return policy. I'm still undecided about whether or not I want to send it back. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Robust compared to my T61

Date: January 11, 2015
" Everything is great except for the trackpad. Sometimes it thinks I want to right click when I want to left click. Not getting the hang of it yet, I guess. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Stayed in my budget

Date: January 10, 2015
" This laptop is starting to grow on me. I purchased it to stay within my budget and still have a machine that could be upgraded at a future date. It came with a 500GB HDD that I replaced with a 480GB SSD I had purchased earlier. That was an easy swap and made a noticable difference in boot time and responsiveness in photo/video editing. I have recently bought the HDD Ultrabay adapter and put the original HDD back in the laptop for additional storage.
The battery it came with provides 2 to 4 hrs of run time depending on how much graphics power is being used. The Intel 4600 Integrated graphics accelerator does a decent job, but does tend to drain the battery when providing 3D acceleration. The good news is that larger batteries are available (the removable battery is one reason I bought this model).
The only real drawback I've found so far is that the USB 2.0 jack on the right side is slightly sloppy. I've attached a couple different devices to it and both cables seem to have a loose fit.
"
Review 14 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Laptop Review T540P

Date: January 10, 2015
" As always a solid performer, the screen is bright and the keyboard feels solid as I would expect from Lenovo but why did you change the touch pad. The laptop has been fantastic but getting used to the strange operation of the touch pad has taken some getting used to.
Boot up time is typical for most laptops and the battery life is what I had expected for the smaller battery cell size that I had ordered.
The WIFI capability and blue tooth was easy to set up and ran also as expected.
I was really surprised on how fast the device was shipped also which was a pleasant surprise. Kudos to Lenovo.
All in all a good buy for the features I requested except for that lousy touch pad. I certainly hope that this is not the future from Lenovo. if it is I may need to think about a different suppler for my continued laptop needs. And by the way this is my 5th laptop from Lenovo/IBM over the last 10 or 12 years. Thanks. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Trackpad functionality warning!

Date: January 9, 2015
" I bought one of these for my wife for a great price during the 2014 holidays to replace a T61 that was aging. I warned her that people were reacting negatively to the way the Trackpad worked but she said "I'll get used to it". Turns out that after working on it in Word for 15 minutes she was ready to throw it against the wall. The Trackpad was taking user input inconsistently and it was overwhelmingly frustrating. I had her try again after she cooled down and there was still no way it would respond properly to her touches. I spend my days with my hands glued to a T60 and I even had problems with it.
With the 15% restocking fee this experience cost me $100.
With the specs and at the price I got it seems like a great deal, but the Trackpad functionality is completely broken. Plan on using a separate mouse. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

best general

Date: January 9, 2015
" its .graphics card is not good, i suggest youcan get it better we like game also like thinkpad "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

T540

Date: January 8, 2015
" The computer is great. It's my third in the T series. The only thing I miss are the lights for the Cap Lock, and Num Lock functions. Also the HD light made it easy to see if the drive was working away. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great for the Reduced Price

Date: January 8, 2015
" I bought this laptop for $809.10, from the original price of $1510.00. This laptop is light for its size and hardware, but still pretty powerful. It lacks the dedicated graphics card, but does have a Intel 4600 video card so any games pre 2010 are doable. This laptop lacks a light up keyboard, but the screen brightness makes up for that; it's an okay substitute, but not a great one. This laptop is great at its discounted price, but i would not buy it at its full price. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

First laptop for me

Date: January 8, 2015
" Throughout the years I have purchased many laptops for my family, however I have never purchased one for me. My company I was working for always supplied me with a laptop. I found the T540 on a VERY GOOD sale and jumped on it. One of the best decisions I have made in years.
Lenovo, keep up the good work.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Almost very good

Date: January 7, 2015
" My previous Lenovo was a T61P with a trackpad. The trackpad is far superior to whatever they call the mouse combo on the T540p.
I also previously had greater pixel count, and so am a bit less than completely happy with this unit.
"