Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T540p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

Average customer rating:
2.587 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
10
3 stars
15
2 stars
23
1 star
18
21 of 75(28%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T540p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aaron

Great business laptop

Date: August 14, 2014
"I've been using the T540p for business purposes for the past 2 months. So far I am very impressed!
Performance is excellent and the PC has great features, with one exception. I prefer real buttons for left and right click. However, I almost always use it with a docking station and wireless keyboard and mouse.
Overall I would rate this as one of the best laptops I have ever used.
I absolutely recommend!"
Review 2 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
klempet

Dissapointed

Date: August 12, 2014
"Being an avid Thinkpad buyer and buying them for years for our company, I purchased one T540p to check if it will be a suitable replacement for our old machines. I made a good decision to buy just one, since this is simply not a Thinkpad anymore. Yes, it is that bad.
First, pros: Performance is Ok, as is 3K screen.
Cons: Each and every egronomic, functional and usability change made on the housing is to the worse. The removal of status LED lights, volume buttons, Wifi switch, screen latches and trackpad buttons really affects usability. Cdrom is now non-removable?!? I have simply no good words for new touchpad - this issue alone is a deal breaker. I miss clicks all the time and my hand starts to hurt after as little as 15 minutes of use. I started to carry a mouse with me again - something I haven't been doing for years. Keyboard would maybe be OK if not for the unnecessary shift to the left.
If this is the direction Thinkpads will take, this is sadly the last we've ever bought."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Duckster

New Trackpad is HORRIBLE

Date: August 5, 2014
"I've been using Thinkpads since over a decade ago with the R40, and one of the biggest draws of them is the red trackpoint ("nub").
With the latest changes, Lenovo turned the trackpad into a single solid button, which does not work at all with the red nub. They've tried to copy Apple's trackpad, but have completely failed at it because they do not recognize that users who use the trackpoint don't care at all for the trackpad, and just want the trackpoint to well.
With the unibutton design, I cannot get it to right click reliably at all while using the trackpoint. What is wrong with having discrete, dedicated buttons?
I actually preferred using the trackpoint for all of the dozen plus Thinkpads I've bought over the years, until this latest generation. It was so infuriating to use that I ended up buying a mouse.
While I love the reliability and performance of Thinkpads, this ergonomic change is just too annoying and I will never purchase another Thinkpad until it gets changed."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brian

Good for the price

Date: July 30, 2014
"I bought a few of these laptops for work in a corporate environment, and they seem to work pretty good overall. The built in track pad is horrible and makes the laptop hard to use. This is the reason why I gave it an overall 2 star rating. If Lenovo put a track pad similar to the T530 then the laptop would be much better. This is hands down the worst part of the laptop, but if you use an external mouse most of the time then it is fine.
I also installed an SSD hard drive on each laptop which gave them a huge performance gain."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exfan

Avoid this laptop at any cost

Date: July 29, 2014
"Being a follower and a big fan of Lenovo T-series laptops for the last 9 years, I'm now thinking about switching to HP as they are the second choice for corporate laptops in my firm.
This laptop
- Has worst possible design ever
- Has keyboard which is unusable as it is shifted towards the left edge of laptop
- Has numpad area which is useless
- Has no sound at all. Literally! My 6-years old ASUS has better sounding than this piece of garbage. Really awfull
- Very bad microphone and camer. Better use your smartphone to make videochats
- Has trackpad...well, it would better not have it at all. I mean, blank area would fit much nicer than what (cannot think about proper term for the thing) they have put there
Personal question to Lenovo's management - as I presume, the engineers who created such an abomination are fired already, but have they paid it back to you with their own money for lost creditability? I'm really interested to know..."
Review 6 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jake

Most Problematic Computer I've Ever Owned

Date: July 23, 2014
"I give this computer one star because I have had non-stop issues with it since I purchased it. Applications have crashed constantly, it is slow (despite upgrades such as additional RAM and SSD), and i haven't stopped having issues with the track pad.
I decided to pursue costumer service after a friend used my computer and said: "Jake, how do you get anything done on this thing?" After hearing that, I realized I shouldn't put up with this thing and all of its issues.
DESPITE ALL OF MY ISSUES WITH THE MACHINE, I WILL SAY LENOVO HAS INCREDIBLE COSTUMER SERVICE, AND IT IS FOR THIS REASON THAT I AM WILLING TO GIVE THEM ANOTHER CHANCE. Perhaps I just got a lemon.
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LostCustomer

Ergonomic Disaster

Date: July 22, 2014
"Received my T540p just last week and the keyboard design is a horrible joke. It's shoved so far to the left that my left hand hangs off the laptop surface when I type. I've had two Z-series models prior to this and have had good service. However, this design is so pitiful that the laptop experience is now dismal. Combined with all the peripherals I purchased, I'm stuck with a $2000 mistake. Lenovo has lost a customer, I will no longer recommend Lenovo, and I won't be back. This is really disappointing."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nickname

Missing the quality of the former T-Series

Date: July 16, 2014
"Dear Lenovo T-Series engineers. The T540p notebook is no longer worth to be called T-Series. It is very disappointing as a long term T-Series user to experience this lack of quality, features, ..., and on top malfunctions regarding drivers. All that what has made a T-Series is gone. Once customers are disappointed as I am, you will hardly get them back."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JamesZhu

Great Thinkpad overall

Date: July 7, 2014
"This is my sixth Thinkpad, from T43 to T540p. Most of them are in T series, while only one is in E series. I love the reliable and long-time duration. I customized this T 540p, with i7-3700MQ, 8G RAM, but without 3K screen and fancy new sytle keyboard.
Pros:
1. reliablitiy and hard as a rock
2. processing speed
3. detailed design in keyboard
4. Screen can fold to 180 degree, and not cover the battery, leaving the room for the bigger battery
Cons:
1. a little heavy, but acceptable with price and 15.6 screen
2. newly-designed touchpad, OK to process with single hand, but not really good to touch and not OK with most users' habits
3. newly designed battery plot and electricity plug, not compatible with the older generations of Thinkpad products, adding extra costs for replacement of accessories
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mattsj

Why fix if it isn't broken!!

Date: June 23, 2014
"I ABSOLUTELY hate the new mouse/track pad. The CDROM is no longer swappable with just a latch. You have to unscrew the main bottom cover, then unscrew the CDROM then slide it out. External SATA support has been removed. No lights for status (what is my wifi, HDD, etc. really doing??) and the physical switch for turning on/off wifi is gone. The keyboard now includes a number pad and when I’m on an airplane (and this is a BIG laptop in cramped coach) the keyboard is offset to the left. The camera is still not able to be tilted. The latch to lock the lid closed is also removed, so now if you carry it wrong, it will pop open (I almost dropped the thing twice!)
And the WORST of all, is the new power connector (rectangular versus circular.) EVERYWHERE I go conference rooms have the Lenovo standard circular power connector. I have the full HD display 1920x1080 which means tiny icons, and windows 7 can’t scale the icons well. But really the power adapter really makes me mad!
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
InfiniteSquadron

Best Laptop Ever

Date: June 18, 2014
"What a fantastic laptop! It has always lasted me and done me good. Definitely recommended for users!"
Review 12 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TommyG

Worst possible laptop you could buy

Date: June 6, 2014
"Made of cheap material. Frequently gets stuck when starting up on the "Power on self test" screen (the first thing you see when you switch it on. Mouse/trackpad often doesnt recognise clicks. No way to determine left click from right - this laptop is pretty much useless without an external mouse. Docking station - doesn't recognize external monitor is plugged in until windows is loaded (bios issue - not windows issue). Doesnt shut down properly. Doesnt always go into sleep mode when power button pressed. Sometimes when put in sleep mode will end up going fully shut down on its own and when you try to switch it back on will go into a full boot, at the end of which windows tells you the machine was not shut down properly. There simply could not be a poorer quality laptop out there."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nathalie

Trackpad - the real truth

Date: May 31, 2014
"I decided to get the Thinkpad, despite the poor reviews on the trackpad.
I love the Lenovo trackpad. I believe the reason people dislike it so much is because they do not know how to use it, which is very reasonable given how the old trackpad used to work. It does take a bit of effort to figure out, and it helps if you have previous experience with a mac. But this trackpad actually works better than Apple's. It takes minimal effort to use, and all it needs is a gentle tap. There is hardly ever a need to actually click it, unlike the mac that does require you push on it. What lenovo needs to do is simply provide users instructions on how to use the trackpad, or post a youtube video.
I suspect that with time, Lenovo will outdo the mac. Apple you've got some serious competition here!!!!!!!"
Review 14 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SmBusDude

Sales Great - Tech Support Crew Terrible

Date: May 29, 2014
"A wonderful experience with the sales people at Lenovo - well trained, seemed to care about my needs. I had a problem, possibly a bad chip set - but in fixing Technical Support was the worst I have encountered. So glad I did not buy an extended warranty as I understand you call the same place (Atlanta) for all Tech Work. They have no second level of support. A very frustrating experience and told different things by each next person I got when calling back in to try and solve the same problem. Very much a waste of time to call Tech Support."
Review 15 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
StuckWithIt

Not bad - but not great.

Date: May 28, 2014
"This is an OK laptop. The build quality seems ok however it has the worst touch pad I have ever used and for this reason alone I would not purchase it. They have moved the position of the buttons and made them part of the touch pad making it extraordinarily difficult to use. In addition the Lenovo bloat ware that comes with the machine is of little or no value."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kliffy

Awful Bulit quality

Date: May 26, 2014
"Feels like a cheap DELL or Acer! this is by no means a ThinkPad plastic is week and feels and sounds hollow of centered keyboard Is terrible! Sent mine back and bought Macbook Pro Retina"
Review 17 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OfficeUser23

Avoid if possible

Date: May 26, 2014
"Being a user of the T510 for 3 years I was expecting a decent upgrade on receiving my T540p. What a horrible mistake. How can a engineer sign-off on the track pad, while typing a document you can easily touch the touchpad with your palms and thereby selecting multiple lines and deleting it while continuing writing. The touchpad left/right buttons must also be specifically pressed with less than a 1mm margin for error. There is no night light and no HDD light to have a idea that the laptop is busy. I'm a utterly disgusted and disappointed customer."
Review 18 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simi

Good buy but be careful with driver selections

Date: May 12, 2014
"The ThinkPad 540p laptop is a good buy and operates very efficiently. I have Linux operating system installed with Ubuntu software and a virtual box containing Windows 8.1 and Windows XP. If using Linux with Ubuntu software, be careful with the driver selections. The selection of a Realtek driver will cause problems in setup for wireless connections."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tjhynek

Real Good Computer

Date: May 12, 2014
"Excellent computer for the processing and the features. The only thing that I would change on it is how when the laptop is closed it shuts down on its own. I have it hooked up to another monitor for use at work and have to use a deck of cards to prevent it from shutting down on me. If there is a trick for this, please let me know!"
Review 20 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MovinOn

Declining quality...

Date: May 8, 2014
"I've used, recommended, and resold Thinkpads since the 90's. Probably sold 50 of them last year. I'm an indepedent small business consultant. It seems the move from the 430/530 to 440/540 reduced quality and eliminated features. They've taken premium out of their premium laptop lineup. No more audio controls. No keyboard light. Apparently they couldn't afford to put in a hard drive light or Wifi light or wifi switch, although the price is similar to the 430/530, the quality and features have simply declined. I'll be rounding up the competition and looking for better value/features. Think I've sold a half dozen of new lineup, NO ONE likes the new trackpad/eraser head - Lenovo has sacrificed their signature! Looking to find a better recommendation."