Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T540p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

Average customer rating:
2.77 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
16
3 stars
21
2 stars
27
1 star
21
32 of 100(32%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T540p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent if they go back to the old keyboard

Date: October 29, 2014
"I have a love hate relationship with this ThinkPad. Almost everything about it is great; the screen, the performance, most of the hardware features. But this is the worst keyboard / pointing device I've ever had to deal with on any ThinkPad. Sad thing is they had it just about perfect on the W530, but this new one is awful. The keyboard is off center to the left, which is bad for the typing ergonomics. Worse yet, the new touchpad with no real mouse buttons is awful. As somebody who pretty much uses the trackpoint exclusively, I absolutely hate the fake buttons in the corner of the touchpad. I probably won't buy another ThinkPad unless they at least offer the nice old keyboard as an option. I'd be more than willing to pay extra for it."
Review 2 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Mistake

Date: October 28, 2014
"This product is supposed to provide the best balance between low-cost and high-performance in the area of display graphics. To accomplish that it was supposed to seamlessly implement NVidia Optimus logic. If it does that, which no one in tech support could confirm, and most web reviews answer to the contrary, it does it very poorly. Most particularly, if no one in sales or tech support can handle questions concerning the precise mode of graphics support for each external display port connection, effectively, the product will never work which is why I returned mine after two days of hours of useless phone conversations."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Bad Fingerprint Scanner Idea

Date: October 25, 2014
"The fingerprint reader had to be disabled. It caused the computer to freeze or, take twice as long to get to the password or scan time. It took over a minute to get to scan, if it arrived success fully. 28 seconds to password after it was disabled. I did try disabling and updating and reinstalling the hardware driver and software.
The PowerDVD software was unwanted, unrequired.
I removed numerous redundant applications that were already provided by Windows 7. The result is applications running which are not required slowing the system down.
Why not offer a clean system?
Personally, providing a better preforming system is better than providing a bunch MADITORY software, bells and whistles.
You can still offer such things with your system but, make them optional. The concept of free stuff is great for those that want or need it."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Very disapointed

Date: October 23, 2014
"- Cheap plastic case
- Case is not flat, computer does not rest properly and evenly on a table (one corner stays in the air!)
- Palmrest area noisy when palms move
- Tiny (almost invisible) FKeys (unusable)
- Noisy Trackpad (loud click sound)
- Trackpad impossible to use (buttons ?)
- unreachable DVD open button
- fragile DVD tray
- General design is bulky and cheap looking.
Globally : very uncomfortable to use.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great for office / home work

Date: October 23, 2014
"Great and relatively light. To much going around can be a little hard."
Review 6 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Powerful Mobile Computing

Date: October 22, 2014
"Pros:
Very powerful computer.
The 3K screen is absolutely gorgeous.
Matte display.
All solid state (no spinning hard drive) results in a very responsive experience.
A real VGA port: no more mucking about with conversion dongles.
Quiet. Under high load, a fan can be heard, but thanks to the large air vent, physical thickness of the laptop and good design, the noise is minimal and the cooling is effective.
Cons:
The Lenovo T series laptop has a bulky-looking package, made of not-very-slick-looking plastic. It is very thick, and has aesthetically harsh edges. That's a big difference with the rounded edges and brushed aluminum finish of some competing laptops.
No keyboard backlight.
Other thoughts:
Nipple mouse. lol
Windows 8.1 comes pre-installed with a whole bunch of Lenovo software. I haven't used the software long enough to know if this is bloatware or useful software.
If you don't need the high-end components, go with the (slim and sleek) X series."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Love this machine

Date: October 21, 2014
"I love this laptop. It is my 3rd Lenovo that I have purchased and have had very little problems with any of them. It is durable, reliable and portable. My only one complaint is the CAPS LOCK key. There is no indicator to let me know if it is ON or OFF. Otherwise, it is an excellent machine and I love it."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Latest Thinkpad T series

Date: October 21, 2014
"As usual, the T series laptop is an excellent device with all the appropriate features for a top of the line laptop.
The touchpad has some odd quirks compared to previous T series models which will take some getting use to. The older touchpads were much easier to use, but with time, maybe this changed version will feel comfortable.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Not what it could be

Date: October 19, 2014
"It has a good processor, display, battery, & plenty of memory. it's even fairly light weight for what it is.
In use it has serious problems.
The lack of CapsLock and NumLock lights is stupid. Icons on the screen make the screen effectively smaller.
The lack a disk activity light is an annoyance esp. when doing major calculations.
The construction is not impressive for what should be a high end machine. I've had one service call so far (which was handled quickly) about an intermittently non-functioning power button & will have to try again as the problem has returned.
The USB connectors are sometimes flaky though that could be a software issue.
On the whole I should have spent more time looking before I bought it.
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Race Team Inventory and Communications

Date: October 16, 2014
"The Lenovo so far has been a very efficient and worker friendly laptop. The ease of windows and its programs have assisted me organizing and keeping a correct on hand of our inventory. i would recommend this product to others as a work or personal machine. I look forward in learning in what other ways I can better use my machine. Thanks for a great product."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Great computer, major issues

Date: October 14, 2014
"I've had the computer for about 30 days. I use it everyday for work. I run CAD, excel, email, and internet on the machine, and for those applications it works great. After I got the computer and it downloaded and installed 83 updates from Microsoft, it hasn't been able to shut down without pressing the power button. Then it gives me the "windows did not shut down properly" screen all the time. It also freezes when the screen saver turns on. I can't be without the computer for a day, or I would have sent it back. Not sure if it is your issue, or Microsoft, probably Microsoft. All told, I spend almost $1700 on this laptop, and it's driving me nuts."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid Machine - Except trackpad

Date: October 13, 2014
"If you know and like lenovo Thinkpad you will not be disappointed- EXCEPT for the trackpad.
If you use a mouse with your laptop then you are probably fine.
If you rely on the trackpad as your primary interface - make sure you try this out before buying it.
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Bought 2 - camera didn't work in either one

Date: October 13, 2014
"I bought two T540ps for college students. The built-in webcam didn't work in either one of them out of the box. One has been sent for warranty repair and the other one needs to go.
Also, having used Thinkpad computers for almost twenty years (I've had four generations), I was very disappointed with the new button-less track pad area. I specifically bought thinkpads because of the track point. It's here, but there aren't any mouse buttons to press, just a nebulous area of the track pad. Bad move!
"
Review 14 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

The New Keyboard Is a Nightmare

Date: October 11, 2014
"The addition of the numeric pad to the keyboard layout is a disaster for users. Using the built-in keyboard puts you in an awkward position, and it's simply unusable when in confined spaces like an airplane seat. I was recently eligible to upgrade my work laptop this model, but I declined the upgrade and am currently looking for another solution, either an older model or a different laptop altogether."
Review 15 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Much worse than previous models

Date: October 11, 2014
"My first Thinkpad was a T42 of my company. It survived several accidental drops and worked so very well that I felt it unbreakable.
Then, I bought a Lenovo C3000 N100. Although it is not a Thinkpad, it has been working without malfunction any kind. A champion of reliability.
The only reason for me to upgrade is that it is with Windows XP and Microsoft refuses me to go on using Skype.
I don't like this Thinkpad T540p.
1) Touchpad is terrible. I don't understand why don't use the "traditional one."
2) When I am using several different programs, CPU usage will be 90% and I have to shut down some of them. I insert another memory ram to make it totally 8G. Still the same. I don't understand why it is worse than my 1G C3000?
3) The feeling is bad. When you move it from one place to another, it sounds like something loose inside, totally different from the excellent feeling of T42.
I have been recommending Lenovo laptops to anyone I know but now I doubt if I will go on doing that.
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

best yet

Date: October 9, 2014
"I love my new Lenovo....I especially like the keyboard, its really easy to use...I spend several hours a day on my Lenovo and am happy with it.
I have attached my mouse as I just cannot get used to the other device built into the computer.
thanks for a great job.
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Purchase ever..

Date: October 5, 2014
"I have used Lenovo computers for about 15 years for home and for business. I bought 2 T540 for my office and I don't think I will ever buy Lenovo again. Lenovo has lost touch with reality and Lenovo is not what it used to be. One of the computers was shipped with issues and it won't even start and the response for Lenovo was wait for a box that we will send in the mail and then wait for us to fix it (Yes a brand new computer)."
Review 18 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I love Lenovo T series products.

Date: September 28, 2014
"The fit and finish of the Lenovo T series is incredible, it is equal to the Apple at 1/3 of the price."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Lenovo laptop yet

Date: September 17, 2014
"No HDD LED for activity - can never tell if you hard drive is even spinning / initializing.
Caps/Num lock on-screen display only active within Windows.
New AC port (square) standard is horrible, purchased 300 laptops and already seen +15 with defective ports.
Generally feels cheap in your hands. Revised TrackPad is absolutely horrible, had to purchase external USB mice for all of our staff, even after configuring and fine tuning properly.
I've deployed over 4000 IBM / Lenovo laptops over 8 years...these are the worst purchase yet :("
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Poor ergonomics and a step towards lower quality

Date: September 16, 2014
"Good performance, but the ergonomics are terrible. If you like to keep your fingers on the home keys and use the TrackPoint and mouse buttons the new "ClickPad" touchpad on this device will drive you insane unless you disable the touchpad. The touchpad and mouse buttons are integrated into one piece resulting in your mouse moving when you move your thumb over to left-click on the touchpad.
Signs of cost-costing are everywhere including:
- Super-thin materials and soft screws on the hard drive and memory covering door
- Thinner casing material overall that increases flex of all parts of case
- Zero status lights (no hard disk, battery or wireless lights)
- No latching mechanism for the display
- Flimsy, fixed CD tray
Also bad: the change to the AC power adapter plugs. Have extra 20v adapters from previous generation Lenovo laptops? Too bad, while voltage and amperage are identical to the previous generation of power adapters, they changed the plug to a rectangular design."