Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T540p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

Average customer rating:
3.297 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(263 Reviews) 262
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (263 reviews)
5 stars
76
4 stars
57
3 stars
42
2 stars
45
1 star
43
136 of 263(52%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T540p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Love It!

Date: June 30, 2015
" I love this laptop! The keys are very comfortable to use and I like the built in light-up keyboard, especially the feature that allows to adjust the brightness. The startup is quick and I get great wifi reception. The joystick for the mouse is a fun little tool and is slow enough to be accurate but quick enough to be used in place of a separate mouse. The touchpad works great and I am happy that I can click at either the top or bottom corner instead of just at the bottom. The quick keys make it even easier to navigate and adjust the settings to what I want. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

FASTEST ONE I'VE OWNED

Date: June 19, 2015
" I purchased and returned 4 laptops before buying this one. This one I will keep because of the keyboard layout and the speed with which it produces the documents I request. I bought my first computer 1985 and have been using one, of one brand or another, since and this is by far the best. The display is clear and easy on my eyes, again the best of the bunch whether desk or laptop. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointed w/T540p

Date: June 16, 2015
" One thing is the "numlock on" displays on the screen and I couldn't find a way to turn that off without disengaging the numlock. I like the numlock feature on the numeric pad, but I don't need to see that on the screen. Another thing is that there is supposed to be a keyboard backlight according to the online user guide, but that feature isn't on this model. Finally, the place where I purchased this model did not have many choices w/Windows 7 and so I settled on this model even though it seemed too big. After getting it home and using it a few days, I'm finding it's too big especially compared to a Ultrabook model I use at work. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

My Lenovo T540p

Date: June 10, 2015
" I had an old ThinkPad when I was in asset management. Out of the 4 laptops I went through this one stuck out. Last year my HP died and I wasn't in a position to buy a replacement. When I went shopping around recently I did the diligence and read the reviews. Everyone is offering a lot of the same processors, storage and features. I found a small outfit in Minot, ND who deals solely with Lenovo. After my obligatory walk through best buy I decided to support small business and deal with people who were passionate about their products. The spill proof keyboard jumped out immediately. I settled on my T540 because of the price and the support. One detractor that brought it down to 4 out of 5 in two categories is the mouse pad. The pad and the left/right click functions are all one unit so you wind up clicking on all the wrong stuff. Wireless mouse solved that. Otherwise I'm happy to have a Lenovo again. They're tough and reliable and speedy. Recommend the IBM legacy. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Just what I needed!

Date: June 10, 2015
" This is my second ThinkPad for work. I have one that is well over 14 years old and still usable. I let my mom play games on it.
I am not disappointed with my purchase at all. I upgraded everything I could so I could possibly get 14 years out of this one as well.... "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Not thrilled

Date: June 8, 2015
" The mousepad on the Lenovo is the worst I've ever used. The entire mouse pad moves up and down when you want to click on something. Stationary mouse pads with buttons are much better.
It has some annoying features like putting up this huge icon on your desktop when the Numlock key is pressed. You can turn that off but you have to google how to do so. If they feel the need to notify you that numlock and/or capslock are on, they should put a light at the top of the chassis, not have a gigantic numlock or capslock icon on your screen.
I have not had this for long enough to really assess reliability. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Wonerful Computer

Date: June 8, 2015
" I have been using Lenovo computers in my business for 6 years. This one is the best. I did add a solid state drive to it which is superb and we do add features for business but no matter how you configure it, it gets 5 stars from me "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

T-540P, couldn't be happier!

Date: June 6, 2015
" purchased the T540P for my business, and love all it's features! The num. pad was the selling feature for me, and quick link to the calculator was a total value added surprise. The keys are smooth, great size screen, easy to back up, and with a sturdy frame! Good job Lenovo!!! "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great purchase & performance, poor support after.

Date: May 31, 2015
" Software support warranty is inadequate for the pruchase price. Software support issues should be covered for 30/60 days from purchase. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

poor performance for cost

Date: May 28, 2015
" This machine looks great on paper, but was very poor on performance until I installed a 1 TB SSD.
It was taking almost 3 minutes to boot, and very sluggish opening anything, machine is dual core i7, Hd was 500 M 5400 RPM HD, OS Win 7.
Bluetooth is also a serious issue, when it works, only thing that it can really do is connect mouse / keyboard. Audio of anykind does not work, it will connect, but no services can or will be installed. Not even sure how to get any type of " live help " on that one. The mouse pad is almost useless.
Really a bit disappointment for the price and based on what the specs say.
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very good laptop for price

Date: May 28, 2015
" The Lenovo T540 is very good for its price. The keyboard is very user friendly, extra space to rest your palms. The I5 processor is quick to respond with multiple programs opened. Display is crisp and clean. Would recommend to a friend! "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent Laptop for the Professional

Date: May 27, 2015
" I have been purchasing the Lenovo ThinkPad Series Laptops for work. When it came time to purchase a laptop for myself it was an easy decision. If you don't need all the bells and whistles the T540p is the way to go. A will built laptop that you can feel immediately. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Original T540p

Date: May 21, 2015
" I was one of the lucky ones who got an original T540p. The unit I have has a touch pad with buttons. The next generation has a toch pad that rocks with no buttons and trying to right click or left click can be difficult. The third generation is still missing the touch pad buttons, it doesn't rock as much, left click is fine, but you have to do the two finger thing (like a touch screen) to get the right click. Bring back the buttons! "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Buy

Date: May 20, 2015
" I purchased the T540p because it is a work horse. The SSHD was a major selling point. They are much more efficient than the others. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

TOUCHPAD is GARBAGE!!!!

Date: May 19, 2015
" The overall machine is reasonably good, especially for those that use the numeric keypad. However, the Touchpad is a piece of garbage. Where did the mouse buttons go??? The touchpad consistently registers either no mouse click or more than one with a single push.
BRING BACK THE MOUSE BUTTONS!!!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

not a good machine

Date: May 19, 2015
" Regarding the operation system, a number of viruses cannot be removed from the first day I opened it, and still bugs me till now. Besides the touchpad is cumbersome to use. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst design on touch pad

Date: May 17, 2015
" I think the touch pad of Lenovo is the worst design than my previous laptops. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Ehhh

Date: May 5, 2015
" I think I might not be used to Windows 8 but this computer is a lot slower than I thought it would be. The only thing I've downloaded was the office home and student software. But the rest of it seems to be working great. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Big Disappointment

Date: May 4, 2015
" Out of the box... tons of problems.
At first, it wouldn't stop/start correctly. Would hang, indefinitely, getting caught up in updates. When put to sleep, it would say "not shut down correctly."
I took it to tech, and when they disabled the Lenovo software, the starting/stopping worked.
Now... tried to get help with the TERRIBLE TRACKPAD (complete failure), and they can't help me, as we have the Lenovo software shut off.
Terrible. 2nd worst computer of my life. Totally disappointed. This is why everyone is buying Macs... terrible. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

bluetooth issues

Date: April 29, 2015
" I have not been able to turn the bluetooth on and webpage support has been useless. Other than that it is an excellent machine although Iwill probably remove the Lenovo programs as they seem redundant and just tax the system. "