Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T540p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

Average customer rating:
2.828 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(134 Reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (134 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
22
3 stars
27
2 stars
33
1 star
29
48 of 134(36%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T540p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good computer

Date: December 18, 2014
" Screen is wonderful. The performance is great. Windows 7.0 is my favorite,good "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Exxcept 0one critical fact

Date: December 17, 2014
" I rated the Lenovo T540p highly. I am very happy with the laptop. Feel is awesome. It is a little heavier than I thought it would be. That's on me. The screen is great, the keypad is my favorite feature. Some of the preset secondary use buttons are perfectly chosen. some of the reviews complained about the click pad. I LOVE IT! I got used to it in two days and there are plenty of settings offered if you need to change the way it reacts to certain touches. It acts like part mouse, part touch screen. I need to buy the new HDMI adapter. Some of the Lenovo software is a mere duplicate of the Windows software.
My complaints are only with Lenovo themselves. It took four days for an "escalation specialist" to contact me. However, He did. He was great. He he made the difference of me returning the computer because of the way I was treated previous to him. I am happy with the laptop itself. I am most upset by the Lenovo sales and service team because they mislead me about one critical fact.
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

VERY DISAPPOINTED

Date: December 17, 2014
" I received this laptop 2 days ago & shipped it back to them yesterday. It's flimsy design did not impress me . I felt like more of a toy than a real laptop & for the price I expected a little more. I was really surprised by it too. This was not my first Lenovo. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Everything I expected

Date: December 16, 2014
" Great combination and fast! "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

The T-Series Is Now Just Like An Edge!

Date: December 16, 2014
" Bought a Thinkpad T540p on Cyber Monday because it seemed to be a great deal! And I thought since it was a T-series it would be a big improvement over my Thinkpad Edge 14. Received it and immediately discovered why the price was so low - the T540p is just like an Edge now! Same off center chiclet keyboard, same missing status lights for hard drive activity, charging etc. and same missing discrete buttons for volume, wireless, etc. as an Edge. Same cheap feeling plastic as an Edge. But even my old Edge 14 has real buttons to click and a real center scroller! Now for me this T540p is not a total waste because the price I paid for it was about the same as that for an Edge E540. Plus my T540p will be used primarily as a desktop replacement so I can use a mouse to offset the loss of real clickers and that terrible trackpad. BUT I can see why someone who owns a real Thinkpad would be very, very upset with this T540p - it is not a real Thinkpad anymore, just a souped up Edge. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

You get what you pay for

Date: December 15, 2014
" Price was very competitive but it's clear this is a bare bones machine. System is pretty slow and while the screen has a decent resolution, the viewing angle and contrast is very poor - my previous Thinkpads had much better quality screens. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Just one more thing...

Date: December 15, 2014
" The machine is great-- strong, stable, everything I expect from Lenovo.
But where is the HDMI port? "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good laptop for the Value

Date: December 15, 2014
" I bought this laptop to run windows and linux on because I am a developer and I have a mac desktop at home, but this is a good laptop to test things on and run other apps on. The price is great for the specs, here are the honest pros and cons of the T540P.
Pros:
- The keyboard feels really good.
- HD display is nice.
- Performance is very good, fast processor, adequate ram for my needs.
Cons:
- Touchpad is very hard to use, you will need a mouse with this.
- the power connection & ethernet is in the back and is like a 'USB' type design, this is bad because it could snap off on an uneven surface, like a Lap.
Other than those things, overall I am happy with it because it serves my needs. Hopefully it lasts a couple years so I can get my moneys worth out of it. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Below Expectations

Date: December 14, 2014
" I have used and owned Thinkpads and been a lover of trackpoint for over 20 years, and am disappointed in my new Thinkpad T540P. 1) new keyboard design is very different from my previous T530 and was difficult to pick up and use without considerable thinking about where the keys are. 2) Most annoying are the new trackpad buttons that are used with trackpoint do not perform reliably. Sometime the buttons work and sometimes not, especially when relocating the cursor, double clicking, and when trying to scroll. 3) although the specs are much better than my previous T530, the performance of the system appears significantly slower. 4) without realizing it the standard video graphics, which I ordered, had significantly lower resolution than the standard on the previous T530 and therefore has larger fonts and takes more screen space. This degrades the usability considerably for me. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointed with newly designed mouse

Date: December 13, 2014
" I have been a Thinkpad user since IBM produced their first Thinkpad and have loved the pointing stick 'mouse'. Unfortunately, expecting the same, I purchased the TP-540 which has a good number of features at a very affordable price. However, I returned the product the day I received it - the mouse was completely unusable for me. No matter what settings I made for the Trackpoint, I was unable to use the 'mouse'. My hand had to reach across the pad and required too much pressure and force to get it to click. Very frustrating. Have looked at every new TP and the design is all the same. Sadly, this ends my purchase for the Thinkpad series. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Review of Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

Date: December 10, 2014
" I just love the action of the ThinkPad trackpad. In the past, I've only used a mouse with my computers. I was afraid that it would be a difficult adjustment to make with the trackpad, but I like it even better than using a mouse. Thank you so much for a really good design that is a real pleasure to use!
Regards,
Steve Hemphill "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Professional

Date: December 10, 2014
" This is a great computer. It fits my needs for graphics design and also speed. The processor works great with it and the RAM from my old ThinkPad. It saved me a lot of money on buying new RAM. The keyboard does take a little getting used to since I had a T520. But the backlit part is great for when I am working late and I sometimes I like working without the light on. But one downside it if your fingers have a little oil or greasy dirt on them it really shows up on the keys. But the computer runs flawlessly. I do miss having the latch on the screen but the hinges keep it shut securely. I love having the number pad on the side too. That is great to have sometimes. Over all it is a great computer. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Perfect.

Date: December 10, 2014
" I was hesitant on this purchase because of the negative review about the track pad, the fact that the keyboard is shifted, and the keys are are little different.
On my old T400 I always used the track ball. Now, I use it 20% of the time. The first day I used the new T540 I was completely comfortable and find that the track pad is so nice, I don't need to use the track ball as much. I love the key board and can type much faster.
A+ "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Love The Speed

Date: December 10, 2014
" I have been using HHD computers for quite some time and they are good for most things but when I began to run multiple accounting programs at the same time they would slow down tremendously. This system runs SSD and up to this point, this system has remained "crisp" and it functions like a champ running the multiple programs and the internet at the same time! I'm glad that I did the research and made the investment "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

This is not a Think Pad

Date: December 7, 2014
" Our company has just began replacing our Think Pad T520's with the newest 540. We would all like to keep our T520's. First of all the Lid latch is now gone. D-Drive suddenly disappears. Only comes back if we turn the unit upside down, remove the large cover, remove a smaller stainless screw on the left, then pop out and reinstall the drive???? The Square USB looking power plug (who's idea was that) does not always seem to connect so the battery goes dead. At least seems to be dead, in order to power up the laptop we had to remove the battery, reinstall the battery and then charge the unit. The case appears cheap and over the CD drive it does not even snap together. Looks like the beloved Think Pads are gone, hello new era of cheap. Perhaps they (Lenovo) made a deal with Walmart. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Problem with the computer

Date: December 2, 2014
" Ihave problems with this computer since the purchase. it is presently under repair. Probably the hard drive defect. This situation causes many problems in my work. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

T540p replacement for T510

Date: November 28, 2014
" I have been using thinkpads since my 701 with the butterfly keyboard!! I have kept a habit of a new one every four years since, went from the 701 to an I410 to an R32 to a T60, to a T510 and now the T540P. I have always been impressed with the quality and support of each machine, and probably will continue my trend. However, there are some things I do not like on the T540P, even after only having it a few days:There are no status indicator lights, the display output is now a mini, another cable to buy.. there does not seem to be a compatible 12V power supply available, there is no eSATA port, and the new style trackpoint buttons will take some getting used to. On the good side, the keyboard is MUCH better than my T510, this is the best display yet on any laptop I have owned, seems sturdier than the 510 as well. I will have to decide on the access doors on the bottom, the one for the hard drive seems flimsy. From my limited experience, it seems to be a capable machine. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Completely Useless for Right-Handed People

Date: November 27, 2014
" I used this laptop for two days. My first impression was that its a powerful, fast and beautiful looking laptop.
However after using the laptop for a while, I found a major design flaw. I am right-handed and touch-pad on this laptop is on left side which made it difficult for me to use the laptop. After using the laptop for 30 mins, I encountered pain in my neck and back. I cannot believe how any right-handed person can use this laptop for 7-8 hours a day at work. This is the least user-friendly laptop I have ever worked on. Therefore, its very difficult for right-handed people to use this laptop.
Different studies have shown that percentage of right-handed people on earth are somewhere between 75-95% as compared to left-handed only 5-%15. I cannot believe Lenovo screwed this up so badly.
Lenovo should either keep touch-pad in middle or make two models one for right-handed (touch-pad on right side) and other for left-handed (touch-pad on left side) people. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Just OK

Date: November 26, 2014
" I like my T540, but I would not call it anything but a upper moderate level computer. I upgraded the memory to 16, but it still lags when I run more than 2 programs at the same time. I am still trying to decide which laptop I will be purchasing for my team. The jury is still out. It does well if I don't demand to much of it... "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Touchpad Crazy

Date: November 22, 2014
" I have always purchased Thinkpads in the past because of the keyboard and Touchpad. This touchpad is very frustrating. I am disappointing that Lenovo did not take more time to perfect this product. "