Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T540p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

Average customer rating:
2.746 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (114 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
20
3 stars
23
2 stars
29
1 star
26
36 of 114(32%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T540p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Ergonomic disaster- Dont buy!!

Date: November 20, 2014
"Long time Thinkpad T series user.. this'll probably be my last Thinkpad!!
This has a great 3K display but keyboard and trackpad are total deal breakers.
Keyboard:
This has a full numpad keys on the right side taking 1/5th of the keyboard area. I don't know of anyone using numpads these days, at least that should be an optional setting. This weird keyboard setup forces you to angle your body towards left side of the laptop, causing neck pain etc. on long use.
Trackpad:
This has an enormous trackpad. It's often difficult to type without inadvertently triggering trackpad even with trackpad set to disable on keyboard activity. Also there's little rest space for left hand on the keyboard. Often times you'll have your left hand hanging off the left edge of the laptop.
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Plagued with issues

Date: November 19, 2014
"1. The track pad is at best clunky.
2. The power management does not work properly. One the notebook goes to sleep it does not turn back on and you only get a black screen.
3. Screen brightness has never worked.
4. Can not hook up to an external display.
Very poor notebook that will be returned."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

T540p? Please rename E540p

Date: November 18, 2014
"This new T540p is more like a E series laptop. All the quality and premium features you were having with previous T series is gone! I'm a long term fan of the T series but with this new cheap laptop, you are gonna loose many loyal customer. The overall quality is poor, there's many features missing, the touchpad is horrible. Toshiba Tecra, Here I come!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Do Not Buy!!!

Date: November 17, 2014
"This computer is by far the worst computer I've ever owned. Freezes all the time. Drags everything on the screen the mouse pointer touches. Typing stops and cursor moves on its own. Speed is not what was promised. Having a hard time just typing this review. Cursor just vanished. Blue highlights once it comes back and you try to move it to a new location to type. This thing is no good. I'm returning it."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Mediocre Product, but certainly useful

Date: November 16, 2014
"This laptop works -- but that's about it.
It's filled with software that doesn't help you get anything done, but you're afraid to remove it because they might have tied it into Windows at the DNA level.
I miss the three buttons for mouse work that used to come standard with ThinkPads.
At least the hardware works well.
Someday when I don't require interaction with sales types, I'll reload it with an open source OS and it'll rock. Until then, I'll try to work around the pieces that Lenovo added to the OS and hope I don't break things.
The worst issue appears standard with laptops anymore. No installation media -- so you can't even re-install a clean version of the OS."
Review 6 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Shut down problems

Date: November 11, 2014
"I am disappointed in this Lenovo having been a Think Pad owner for many years. It has shut down problems where power light stays on. It also goes into a sleep mode and does not wake up by touching a key. Frustrated!"
Review 7 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Time to find a new computer brand

Date: November 11, 2014
"My firm has been purchasing Lenovo computers exclusively for the last 6 years. We typically purchase 20/year but we are currently looking for a new brand after testing the T540. I purchased 5 and gave them out to staff, within a week every one of them tried to return it saying that the touchpad is unusable. I decided to try it, and I instantly agreed with them which usually doesn't happen. The left click works about 50% of the time and the right click works less than that. I tested all the different settings and all had poor performance. I even called Lenovo support and asked if they had any suggestions, they said to use an external mouse. That's a laughable suggestion, no clue why the old touchpad was done away with but we will never purchase another Lenovo until this issue is fixed."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

ulgy design, although performance is good!

Date: November 6, 2014
"Performance is so good, but its design is not as good as performance. 2.8 of 5 is, in fact, means this model is not successful. W540 has same question.
I do not know why Lenovo has not redesigned this bad model.
In fact, whole PC factories are moving Apple to takeover laptop market. Almost all american students are using and going to buy new Mac. Now, I completely understood why Thinkpad was took over by Lenovo. I also believe that HP and Dell may mostly lose their markets step by step.
Very disappointed is that so amazing Windows system will be historical.
Post-PC time is coming! But, in my heart, I do not want to see Post-PC time. We have no way to help PC because our suggestions have been thrown into trash box. I guess my comment will also be thrown away.
My GOD, please save PC!"
Review 9 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Awesome Laptop!

Date: November 5, 2014
"I LOVE this laptop. The keyboard ROCKS! Feel is wonderful and backlit keys are wonderful. The performance is great. Windows 8.1 is not my favorite, and it has glitches with the sleep mode where if I close the lid, the screen won't come back up. I have to get with Tech support to fix that one!
Other than that, I LOVE it!"
Review 10 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Very large laptop?

Date: November 5, 2014
"This is a very large laptop that did not fit into my backpack. I returned it immediately without using it (although I did initialize Windows). I am sure it is quite capable but I cannot lug this around. Probably more suitable as a 'desktop replacement.' Also I miss the mouse buttons; apparently now one must give the mouse pad a hard tap or tap-tap to emulate the mouse buttons in my old T60. I never did figure this out. Will order a M93p small-form factor desk top with a proper monitor (and a mouse with buttons)."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent product

Date: November 4, 2014
"I really like my new ThinkPad. There were no unpleasant surprises. It booted up beautifully. Everything was well-integrated. One *good* surprise is the full keyboard. That was something I had not paid attention to when ordering. I am a writer and am very fussy about my keyboard. I LOVE this one. The keys are perfect and make typing fast and fluid.
Overall, I'd give it 4.5 stars... The only thing I would've wanted was a sleeker, "sexier" look for the money."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Too different

Date: November 4, 2014
"I don't like the new track pad/buttons "all in one". I don't think I knew that before I bought it and it is confusing. Nor do I like the numbers pad. I know some like it but if you aren't an accountant you don't need it and I'm not...moreover if you aren't used to the keypad being "off center" it is very difficult to get used to. Finally, the "B" key popped off less than a week after I got it. To replace it would have been 5-7 business days. I was sent a new keyboard and then spent $30 to have the keyboard replaced because the link to show me how to do it wasn't functioning.
I've had no less than 6 Thinkpads. This one is disappointing."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent internal components--limited by touch pa

Date: November 2, 2014
"The touch pad -- particularly the right and left 'click' areas. If you use the 'eraser head' to move the cursor and click, it works. Using the touch pad to to move the eraser and click, typically does NOT work. Also the touch pad is hyper sensitive leading to random movements of the cursor and executions. The offset qwerty section (to make room for the number pad) is not a natural feel for touch type users.
This part of the product needs more work by the Lenovo design team!"
Review 14 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Think Pad - O.K.

Date: November 1, 2014
"It may be just the Dealer is responsible for some of the issues I have, but not getting a Hard Copy Manual is unusual. I like the speed of the unit and the features available. Having a problem with shutting down the unit. It will not completely shut off or power down."
Review 15 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent if they go back to the old keyboard

Date: October 29, 2014
"I have a love hate relationship with this ThinkPad. Almost everything about it is great; the screen, the performance, most of the hardware features. But this is the worst keyboard / pointing device I've ever had to deal with on any ThinkPad. Sad thing is they had it just about perfect on the W530, but this new one is awful. The keyboard is off center to the left, which is bad for the typing ergonomics. Worse yet, the new touchpad with no real mouse buttons is awful. As somebody who pretty much uses the trackpoint exclusively, I absolutely hate the fake buttons in the corner of the touchpad. I probably won't buy another ThinkPad unless they at least offer the nice old keyboard as an option. I'd be more than willing to pay extra for it."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Mistake

Date: October 28, 2014
"This product is supposed to provide the best balance between low-cost and high-performance in the area of display graphics. To accomplish that it was supposed to seamlessly implement NVidia Optimus logic. If it does that, which no one in tech support could confirm, and most web reviews answer to the contrary, it does it very poorly. Most particularly, if no one in sales or tech support can handle questions concerning the precise mode of graphics support for each external display port connection, effectively, the product will never work which is why I returned mine after two days of hours of useless phone conversations."
Review 17 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Bad Fingerprint Scanner Idea

Date: October 25, 2014
"The fingerprint reader had to be disabled. It caused the computer to freeze or, take twice as long to get to the password or scan time. It took over a minute to get to scan, if it arrived success fully. 28 seconds to password after it was disabled. I did try disabling and updating and reinstalling the hardware driver and software.
The PowerDVD software was unwanted, unrequired.
I removed numerous redundant applications that were already provided by Windows 7. The result is applications running which are not required slowing the system down.
Why not offer a clean system?
Personally, providing a better preforming system is better than providing a bunch MADITORY software, bells and whistles.
You can still offer such things with your system but, make them optional. The concept of free stuff is great for those that want or need it."
Review 18 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Very disapointed

Date: October 23, 2014
"- Cheap plastic case
- Case is not flat, computer does not rest properly and evenly on a table (one corner stays in the air!)
- Palmrest area noisy when palms move
- Tiny (almost invisible) FKeys (unusable)
- Noisy Trackpad (loud click sound)
- Trackpad impossible to use (buttons ?)
- unreachable DVD open button
- fragile DVD tray
- General design is bulky and cheap looking.
Globally : very uncomfortable to use.
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great for office / home work

Date: October 23, 2014
"Great and relatively light. To much going around can be a little hard."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Powerful Mobile Computing

Date: October 22, 2014
"Pros:
Very powerful computer.
The 3K screen is absolutely gorgeous.
Matte display.
All solid state (no spinning hard drive) results in a very responsive experience.
A real VGA port: no more mucking about with conversion dongles.
Quiet. Under high load, a fan can be heard, but thanks to the large air vent, physical thickness of the laptop and good design, the noise is minimal and the cooling is effective.
Cons:
The Lenovo T series laptop has a bulky-looking package, made of not-very-slick-looking plastic. It is very thick, and has aesthetically harsh edges. That's a big difference with the rounded edges and brushed aluminum finish of some competing laptops.
No keyboard backlight.
Other thoughts:
Nipple mouse. lol
Windows 8.1 comes pre-installed with a whole bunch of Lenovo software. I haven't used the software long enough to know if this is bloatware or useful software.
If you don't need the high-end components, go with the (slim and sleek) X series."