Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T540p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

Average customer rating:
3.229 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(218 Reviews) 217
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (218 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
49
3 stars
36
2 stars
39
1 star
37
105 of 218(48%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T540p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Good but not great

Date: February 13, 2015
" I've had a Lenovo ThinkPad from 2009-12. It was a great laptop. However, I just purchased a T540p and it's really great except for the fact that the audio (speakers) have a hiss or a buzz coming from them. The only way to make the noise go away is to mute the volume. On mute, the computer is amazing. When I want to listen to something, the hissing noise is extremely annoying. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Better Value Elsewhere

Date: February 10, 2015
" I was given a top of the line T540p by my company and was immediately put off by the low resolution display and probably the worst track pad I have ever encountered.
Overall the laptop is quite feature laden, but it feels like a fully loaded Nissan Versa. Sure it's reliable, but you don't want to be caught dead with one.
Even with the RAM maxed out at 8GB, the whole thing feels lethargic when multi-tasking. There are better options out there. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst ThinkPad I ever have just because of ...

Date: February 3, 2015
" As a ThinkPad owner since 1995, I owned at least 7 thinkpads. Every one was improvement over the previous one. This new one is the same. Everything is better than my last one.
EXCEPT the touchpad .
It does what you intend to do only when it likes to.
A left click may need to click 3-4 times.
Using the middle key is like hit and miss.
Right click sometimes end up left click.
At first I thought I will eventually get a handle of it so I did not return it. What a BIG mistake.
After a month of uses and play with different settings of the touchpad, it makes little improvement.
At time I just want to get a hammer to smash the touchpad
The experience is like given a top of the line Porsche only find out that the gear just shifted against your will occasionally. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Happy with Purchase

Date: January 28, 2015
" This is my second Lenovo laptop (had T420) and was a bit skeptical about the bad reviews, especially about the trackpad. After using it for almost a month, I can say that it was a great purchase. The computer runs smooth, it's very fast, and the trackpad isn't nearly as bad as other reviews. I'd strongly recommend. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Laptop for CAD work

Date: January 27, 2015
" This laptop is a great value. With the bright 1080P 15.6" display CAD work is a pleasure. The keyboard feels solid and the key travel rivals my desktop. The large display allows a numeric keypad yet the package size and weight are very reasonable. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent Purchase

Date: January 26, 2015
" We purchased three laptops this year and they were all the T540P. We purchased because of the ability to customize the laptop for the performance we wanted, the price, and the ability to dock the unit to a docking station. We are very happy with the performance of our laptops. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

SO close to being great but ends up simply average

Date: January 22, 2015
" I've used Lenovo Laptops for years now and for two years had a T530P that was awful. When I received a T540P at my new employer it was with some trepidation that I fired it up...
Specs:
Core i5 @ 2.50Ghz
500GB 7200RPM drive
8GB of RAM
Intel HD Graphics
Lowest spec LCD
The good:
The 4th Gen Core i5 is a great processor and its 4 core compute is so close in workhorse performance to the gen 3 i7 as makes no odds. The Intel HD graphics are competent for the price and works great for everything I need it to do. Wireless performance is WAY better than the T530P and is nice and solid. Even the horror story of Access Connections seems to be a whole lot better.
The Bad:
No USB Ports at the back!
Gigabit Ethernet is "ok"
Standard LCD is JUST AWFUL! I wish laptop manufacturers would stop saving $20 per laptop and gouging customers. Put a proper LCD in the thing as standard! 1366 x 768 is dreadful. 2001 called and it wants its screen resolution back!
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Touchpad bad

Date: January 21, 2015
" I've been a thinkpad faithful for over 20 years, the red trackpoint is a huge reason why. This new touchpad lenovo developed is a definite negative. I bought this t540p because of the $650 price tag, and don't regret it because its a thinkpad, great screen, great everything, but, when it comes to using it, it is really heavy. It is really heavy to click on the entire touchpad with the thumb over and over if you use the trackpoint like I do. If you use the touchpad, it's ok, but it is not an Apple. The new X1 carbon generation is back with the single right/left click buttons for the trackpoint, I'm assuming lenovo realized the "new" touchpad wasn't a good innovation after all. I would wait to see if the new models are coming out with the trackpoint buttons the way it used to be, much lighter.
In fact I'm writing this review from my previous model X-series.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A solid computer

Date: January 20, 2015
" I have the 3k screen and swapped out the low end hard drive with a Samsung 850 SSD 512GB. It runs wonderfully, and I get about 7-9 hours on a battery charge.
However, it is frustrating that Lenovo decided to remove the ability to charge extra batteries with the dock. Or decided to eliminate the external chargers to have extra batteries on hand.
Also, why wouldn't they have the UltraBay battery work with this machine??
Overall, I like this machine a lot, and it runs everything VERY fast. However, to change something to the point where all charging options are no longer available, in an arguably business oriented computer that would be taken on business trips and meetings, seems a little short-sighted. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

stay away

Date: January 18, 2015
" I have had more problems with this machine in less than 6 months than with any other PC i have encountered in my entire life. My previous laptop was also a lenovo so I had high hopes for this one but unfortunately they were dashed & I will probably end up buying a replacement before the end of the year. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent Purchase

Date: January 17, 2015
" Very good laptop, i would recommend to every one, specially comparing with other Brand same class.. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Barely functional, bad design

Date: January 15, 2015
" I have been trying the new touchpad for months but still have problem using it. The touch is very imprecise and it's so large and overly sensitive that my thumb hitting the spacebar would sometimes change the cursor position.
The wireless card is also a weak link in the system, it drops connection often. Google shows may users having the same problem. I sorely missed the separate function keys. Because I need them and also adjust my speakers often. The docking station is not long enough that my laptop wobbles when I type.
I wish there is an usb port on the back so I can plug in semi-permanently the micro usb for a mouse. I have already broke a couple of them when I slip the laptop into my carrying case. Having them on the side rubs against the case.
None of these issues occurred in my T530. It's hard to imagine how Lenovo could miss the mark so much within 1 model year. For me, I will not buy another laptop with a similar touch pad. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

All the good, overshadowed by the interface

Date: January 12, 2015
" The computer seems nice and fast. The only issue is the Touchpad, which is easily the worst I've experienced (although I've only ever had maybe 5 laptops). You can't click without the mouse moving. The buttons are not only integrated with the pad, but because of the way they did it, it is extremely difficult to click the mouse without the mouse moving. I upgraded from an aged Thinkpad R61, and I couldn't believe the Thinkpad line had taken such a step back. I suppose if you're a true old-timer you can use the Trackpoint joystick, but even then you have to deal with not having buttons. All in all I'd say look somewhere else if you're worried about using your laptop's touchpad. Other than that I like the keyboard, the computer seems pretty fast out of the gate, and the screen is pretty nice. No idea on battery life yet.
Other cons:
Wireless card seems a bit flaky, it keeps dropping my wireless although I have full signal strength.
The new square power plug is annoying. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Blue Screen, less than a year old

Date: January 12, 2015
" As I write this review, I'm hoping the T540P is still under warranty, since after it went bluescreen on me all of a sudden, the unit will not turn on. I've had the laptop as a backup, and hence it was seldom used. Now it is dead. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

First Lenovo experience

Date: January 11, 2015
" My laptop experience has been almost entirely Toshiba (with a brief excursion into Dells several years ago). I am delighted with the Lenovo, by comparison to my most recent Toshiba. My experience has been of a decline in other laptop quality over time (despite supposed technical advancement)...especially with the most recent Toshiba (tendency for the pointing system to lock up, funny feeling keyboard). My new Lenovo is light and almost miraculously responsive. I've moved over! (Sticking with Windows 7, though!). "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Computer great, unfortunately delivery wasn't

Date: January 11, 2015
" Computer works reliably; keyboard has good feel, screen resolution good, graphics ok, fast enough to do some serious computational tasks. Convenient size and relatively easily portable, good battery life and the numeric keypad is a big plus for financial tasks.
Delivery was painful as importation was delayed by over a week by customs. Lenovo Mexico can do better than that. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Might return it

Date: January 11, 2015
" Pros: - keyboard has great response
- good size and weight
- love the port arrangement
Cons: - trackpad is terrible, doesn't work as expected half the time
- screen does not have a functional viewing angle
- power cord jack in back is inconvenient
- did I mention how bad the trackpad is?
- comes with plenty of Lenovo bloatware
- no longer as good as the IBM thinkpads
Nitpickings: - I wish the power button shut the computer down or at least brought up a menu
- some function keys have confusing pictures or are just unnecessary
- the USB 3.0 ports are not blue
Musings: -should have added the backlit keyboard
Basically, I bought this computer because of the ridiculous sale and the free, no-questions-asked return policy. I'm still undecided about whether or not I want to send it back. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Robust compared to my T61

Date: January 11, 2015
" Everything is great except for the trackpad. Sometimes it thinks I want to right click when I want to left click. Not getting the hang of it yet, I guess. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Stayed in my budget

Date: January 10, 2015
" This laptop is starting to grow on me. I purchased it to stay within my budget and still have a machine that could be upgraded at a future date. It came with a 500GB HDD that I replaced with a 480GB SSD I had purchased earlier. That was an easy swap and made a noticable difference in boot time and responsiveness in photo/video editing. I have recently bought the HDD Ultrabay adapter and put the original HDD back in the laptop for additional storage.
The battery it came with provides 2 to 4 hrs of run time depending on how much graphics power is being used. The Intel 4600 Integrated graphics accelerator does a decent job, but does tend to drain the battery when providing 3D acceleration. The good news is that larger batteries are available (the removable battery is one reason I bought this model).
The only real drawback I've found so far is that the USB 2.0 jack on the right side is slightly sloppy. I've attached a couple different devices to it and both cables seem to have a loose fit.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Laptop Review T540P

Date: January 10, 2015
" As always a solid performer, the screen is bright and the keyboard feels solid as I would expect from Lenovo but why did you change the touch pad. The laptop has been fantastic but getting used to the strange operation of the touch pad has taken some getting used to.
Boot up time is typical for most laptops and the battery life is what I had expected for the smaller battery cell size that I had ordered.
The WIFI capability and blue tooth was easy to set up and ran also as expected.
I was really surprised on how fast the device was shipped also which was a pleasant surprise. Kudos to Lenovo.
All in all a good buy for the features I requested except for that lousy touch pad. I certainly hope that this is not the future from Lenovo. if it is I may need to think about a different suppler for my continued laptop needs. And by the way this is my 5th laptop from Lenovo/IBM over the last 10 or 12 years. Thanks. "