Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T540p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T540p

Average customer rating:
3.207 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(227 Reviews) 226
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (227 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
50
3 stars
38
2 stars
39
1 star
41
110 of 227(48%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T540p
Review 1 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great all in one-old school

Date: March 30, 2015
" Exceptional value for what you get. I have purchased 4 of these for our company for users who don’t mind a little extra weight but can get the CD/DVD and 14 in screen. I would get the i5, 8 gig ram and extended battery. Users have been very pleased- 10 plus hours of battery life.
This is a true laptop.
IT Admin 19 years
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Function and Style

Date: March 28, 2015
" I have had four Lenovo laptops, three of which are running like the day they were purchased. I recently purchased the Lenovo T540p and did so for a reason.
I am not after frills, gadgetry and fluff......I am after reliable function with attention toward aesthetics that places me in comfort at my machine. The lines and curves are clean and simple with a frame that is solid but not bulky or heavy..........it is a true ThinkPad.
I am a writer and find the action of the T540p keys have a response that makes typing a smooth almost effortless procedure. This machine is surprisingly fast with the core i5 and is open to installing 12 more gigs of Ram.
Along with writing I have Photoshop and a hefty Canon software to retouch raw photos which are large volume pictures. The T540p never blinks. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Touchpad Hard to Get Used To

Date: March 24, 2015
" It makes sense that right and left click buttons would not be needed, but I am having alot of trouble getting used to the touchpad operation generally. It's feel, it's manner of responding to double clicking, doesn't feel definitive and it seems as if the cursor placement drifts in a way my old HP did not. I am spending time readjusting the cursor positioning through my finger touch which is annoying. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Nightmare!!!!

Date: March 24, 2015
" I have purchased Lenova T540p (Serial Number # in Kuwait paying Kuwait Dinar 355/=.
From day 1, the problem started.
- First being, the charging was not proper and found out that the charger was faluty within a week's time
- battery back up time, less than 1 hour
- Windows crashed multiple times
- poor service, all the data stored in the laptop was lost as the Service Technician was least bothered to recover the data.
In my life, I will not purchase a LENOVA product, even if it is given free of cost. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

T540p a professional garbage

Date: March 21, 2015
" I bought Lenovo T540p February 2014. The system board is dead and just out of warranty. Good timing. for $1000 bucks, it just last one year. It was not stable in one year use, freeze, not awkae from sleep "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Average, but has potential for better.

Date: March 20, 2015
" The Lenovo tools are handy and useful. I love the super fast boot-up.
The screen display quality needs improvement, after a week of work utilization it developed a 'stuck/dead' pixel and the color rendering is bothersome to the eyes -- no matter how much adjustments I make to the display it still seems to not be quite right.
I wish Lenovo had an option for an AMD Radeon graphics card instead of Nvidia. The stock item makes the laptop sluggish and tends to crash the CAD software I utilize for work. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

never buy it

Date: March 14, 2015
" First, I love Thinkpad labtop. I have 2 other thinkpad labtops. However, I cannot accept Thinkpad t540p.
I receive the labtop, but the display had problem. They changed the display but use the extremly old one. The fans kick so noise even though I update and install every drivers they had. The labtop cannot switch on and off speaker when I put the earnphone into audio jack.
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

T540p

Date: March 6, 2015
" The computer is great, but the lights to indicate wireless, bluetooth, and HDD activity are sorely missed. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Foot pedal for a trackpad, no indicator lights

Date: March 2, 2015
" Apparently, the T540p is a triumph of "designers" over actual engineers who understand that a computer is a tool for getting things done, not for winning design awards.
There are no mouse buttons. Instead, you have to press slowly on the trackpad with a force usually reserved for foot pedals, and even then it's dicey as to which mouse button you've activated. Worst. Pointing. Device. Ever.
Most indicator lights are missing. Charging? HDD activity? Why would you ever want to know that?
There's no ON/OFF switch for the radios. Presumably because it's more aesthetically appealing to force users to use a software function.
And the keyboard is shoved off to the left to make room for a number pad and mess with anyone who actually tries to use this laptop in a, well, lap. I don't use a number pad, never met anyone who does, but maybe this was designed for the accounting market?
I can't stand this Thinkpad. I bought it for the high-res display, now I have to sell it and look elsewhere. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Good but not great

Date: February 13, 2015
" I've had a Lenovo ThinkPad from 2009-12. It was a great laptop. However, I just purchased a T540p and it's really great except for the fact that the audio (speakers) have a hiss or a buzz coming from them. The only way to make the noise go away is to mute the volume. On mute, the computer is amazing. When I want to listen to something, the hissing noise is extremely annoying. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Better Value Elsewhere

Date: February 10, 2015
" I was given a top of the line T540p by my company and was immediately put off by the low resolution display and probably the worst track pad I have ever encountered.
Overall the laptop is quite feature laden, but it feels like a fully loaded Nissan Versa. Sure it's reliable, but you don't want to be caught dead with one.
Even with the RAM maxed out at 8GB, the whole thing feels lethargic when multi-tasking. There are better options out there. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst ThinkPad I ever have just because of ...

Date: February 3, 2015
" As a ThinkPad owner since 1995, I owned at least 7 thinkpads. Every one was improvement over the previous one. This new one is the same. Everything is better than my last one.
EXCEPT the touchpad .
It does what you intend to do only when it likes to.
A left click may need to click 3-4 times.
Using the middle key is like hit and miss.
Right click sometimes end up left click.
At first I thought I will eventually get a handle of it so I did not return it. What a BIG mistake.
After a month of uses and play with different settings of the touchpad, it makes little improvement.
At time I just want to get a hammer to smash the touchpad
The experience is like given a top of the line Porsche only find out that the gear just shifted against your will occasionally. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Happy with Purchase

Date: January 28, 2015
" This is my second Lenovo laptop (had T420) and was a bit skeptical about the bad reviews, especially about the trackpad. After using it for almost a month, I can say that it was a great purchase. The computer runs smooth, it's very fast, and the trackpad isn't nearly as bad as other reviews. I'd strongly recommend. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Laptop for CAD work

Date: January 27, 2015
" This laptop is a great value. With the bright 1080P 15.6" display CAD work is a pleasure. The keyboard feels solid and the key travel rivals my desktop. The large display allows a numeric keypad yet the package size and weight are very reasonable. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent Purchase

Date: January 26, 2015
" We purchased three laptops this year and they were all the T540P. We purchased because of the ability to customize the laptop for the performance we wanted, the price, and the ability to dock the unit to a docking station. We are very happy with the performance of our laptops. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

SO close to being great but ends up simply average

Date: January 22, 2015
" I've used Lenovo Laptops for years now and for two years had a T530P that was awful. When I received a T540P at my new employer it was with some trepidation that I fired it up...
Specs:
Core i5 @ 2.50Ghz
500GB 7200RPM drive
8GB of RAM
Intel HD Graphics
Lowest spec LCD
The good:
The 4th Gen Core i5 is a great processor and its 4 core compute is so close in workhorse performance to the gen 3 i7 as makes no odds. The Intel HD graphics are competent for the price and works great for everything I need it to do. Wireless performance is WAY better than the T530P and is nice and solid. Even the horror story of Access Connections seems to be a whole lot better.
The Bad:
No USB Ports at the back!
Gigabit Ethernet is "ok"
Standard LCD is JUST AWFUL! I wish laptop manufacturers would stop saving $20 per laptop and gouging customers. Put a proper LCD in the thing as standard! 1366 x 768 is dreadful. 2001 called and it wants its screen resolution back!
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Touchpad bad

Date: January 21, 2015
" I've been a thinkpad faithful for over 20 years, the red trackpoint is a huge reason why. This new touchpad lenovo developed is a definite negative. I bought this t540p because of the $650 price tag, and don't regret it because its a thinkpad, great screen, great everything, but, when it comes to using it, it is really heavy. It is really heavy to click on the entire touchpad with the thumb over and over if you use the trackpoint like I do. If you use the touchpad, it's ok, but it is not an Apple. The new X1 carbon generation is back with the single right/left click buttons for the trackpoint, I'm assuming lenovo realized the "new" touchpad wasn't a good innovation after all. I would wait to see if the new models are coming out with the trackpoint buttons the way it used to be, much lighter.
In fact I'm writing this review from my previous model X-series.
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A solid computer

Date: January 20, 2015
" I have the 3k screen and swapped out the low end hard drive with a Samsung 850 SSD 512GB. It runs wonderfully, and I get about 7-9 hours on a battery charge.
However, it is frustrating that Lenovo decided to remove the ability to charge extra batteries with the dock. Or decided to eliminate the external chargers to have extra batteries on hand.
Also, why wouldn't they have the UltraBay battery work with this machine??
Overall, I like this machine a lot, and it runs everything VERY fast. However, to change something to the point where all charging options are no longer available, in an arguably business oriented computer that would be taken on business trips and meetings, seems a little short-sighted. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

stay away

Date: January 18, 2015
" I have had more problems with this machine in less than 6 months than with any other PC i have encountered in my entire life. My previous laptop was also a lenovo so I had high hopes for this one but unfortunately they were dashed & I will probably end up buying a replacement before the end of the year. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T540p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent Purchase

Date: January 17, 2015
" Very good laptop, i would recommend to every one, specially comparing with other Brand same class.. "